Wyoming Hunting Outfitter and Guide Reviews

Submit Date: Dec 23, 2001

Outfitter Review: Flying B Outfitters - WY

Outfitter / Owner: Bill Gauger

Hunter: Gary Miller

Animals Hunted: Deer,Antelope

I have hunted with them several times, I will huntwith them again. A outfitter that has good animalsand a reasonable price a hunt well worth the money

Submit Date: Dec 9, 2001

Outfitter Review: Adventures West - Wyoming

Outfitter / Owner: Keith Hartman

Hunter: Jim Coffrini

Animals Hunted: Mule deer and antelope

I booked a Wyoming combo mule deer/antelope hunt in 2000 with one of many of the quality outfitters Adventures West is associated with. During my trip I saw over 40 bucks that included 4 shooters. A heavy horned 28" 4x3 got away from us and I took my best buck to date a heavy horned 25" 5X4 160 class mulie. I also took a nice 131/2" antelope. My guide was great and I have rebooked for 2002. I would recommend Keith Hartman's service (Adventures West) to anyone who wants a quality hunt at a decent price. Feel free to call me anytime for a reference

Submit Date: Nov 26, 2001

Outfitter Review: Flying B Outfitters - Wyoming

Outfitter / Owner: Bill Gauger

Hunter: Ted Guinn

Animals Hunted: Mule Deer

The outfitter was also my guide which made for very personal service. He takes a small number of hunters, is concerned with wildlife management and work hard to get me on deer every day.

Submit Date: Nov 19, 2001

Outfitter Review: Triple Three Outfitters - WY

Outfitter / Owner: Craig Smith

Hunter: ED OTT

Animals Hunted: MULE DEER ANTELOPE

MY SELF AND RUSS MCALPINE TOOK VERY GOOD ANTELOPE THE FIRST DAY AND TOOK GREAT MULEYS THE NEXT 2 DAYS. A 171" 4X4 AND AWESOME 6X4 THAT MUST HAVE WEIGHTED 300#'S CONSIDERING THAT IT HAS NOT RAINED THERE IN 2 1/2 YEARS THE HORNS ARE DAMN GOOD.

Submit Date: Nov 5, 2001

Outfitter Review: Two Oceans Pass - Wyoming

Outfitter / Owner: John R. Winter

Hunter: Mark Lang

Animals Hunted: ELK

This is a wilderness hunt in units 60 and 70 of the Teton Wilderness area. Be prepared for alot of horseback riding-20 to 25 miles from trail head to camp and daily riding for the hunt. This is also prime bear country-be prepared- several griz were seen. I bagged a nice 6 x 6 bull on the second day.

Submit Date: Oct 28, 2001

Outfitter Review: Wyoming Wildlife Outfitters - Wyoming

Outfitter / Owner: Rob Marosok

Hunter: Mark McCloskey

Animals Hunted: Mule Deer & Pronghorn

The guides did everything possible to locate game. I saw an average of 10 mule deer bucks per day, however most were small. The outfitter stated this was due to the drought the last two years. In any case....4 hunters took 4 mule deer and 4 pronghorn. The other hunters there at the time did not fair as well primarily due to their inability to shoot well. Everyone had chances at animals, just not trophy quality animals. It is beautiful country and worth at least one trip just to see the terrain. In the end...I took a 5x4 mule deer and a very respectable speed goat.

Submit Date: Oct 23, 2001

Outfitter Review: Western Wyoming Outfitters - Wyoming

Outfitter / Owner: Gene Borre

Hunter: Steve Brehob

Animals Hunted: Elk

This was my second hunt with WWO. The hunt began on the 11th of October and was scheduled to go 10 days. I ended my hunt on the 6th day by taking a heavy horned 5x5 that was 44" wide. I saw close to 400 elk in all including one that would score over 350 B&C.Gene and his people are a lot of fun to hunt with. The tent camp is very comfortable and the food is incomparable. I can't say enough. If you are looking for a good hunt with quality people, equipment and horses, contact Gene.

Submit Date: Oct 17, 2001

Outfitter Review: Ron Dubes Wilderness Adv. - Wyoming

Outfitter / Owner: Ron Dube

Hunter: Jamie Edwards

Animals Hunted: Elk

This outfitter offers a true wilderness experience. The camp is an 8 hour ride on horseback from the trailhead so you will get sore, but well worth it. The scenery is beyond description. We saw many elk even though it was 70 degree's. I killed my elk on the second morning that gross scores 358. By the third day 6 out of 8 hunters had their elk. All were 6x6 or better. This was an early season rifle hunt in unit 60. The elk seemed to be bugling everywhere. To enjoy the hunt you must be in shape. We went places the first day that i didn't think was possible on foot. I can't say enough about the staff, they worked very hard to give you the oppurtunity to harvest an elk.

Submit Date: Oct 6, 2001

Outfitter Review: Triple Three Outfitters - WY

Outfitter / Owner: Craig Smith

Hunter: Scott Thimm

Animals Hunted: Mule Deer

Saw 8-16 bucks a day and too many does to count. I shot a 5X6 23" and my father shot a 3X4 with 11" tines. Craig goes out of his way to accomadate you. The experience of the guides is second to none. Great sleeping and eating accomadations. Would definately recommend this hunt to anyone. We will be returning. Please e mail with questions.

Submit Date: Sep 24, 2001

Outfitter Review: Yellowstone Outfitters - Wyoming

Outfitter / Owner: Lynn Madsen

Hunter: Ron Patterson

Animals Hunted: ELK

Lynn runs a first rate camp in a remote area (60) just outside the south east corner on Yellowstone National Park. The Elk were extremely plentiful and my particular guide worked very hard to help me connect on a (6x6) 340 class bull. In fact all the guides worked very hard and were able to produce eight nice bulls (4 in the 300-class range) for 10 hunters in 70-degree weather. The 2 hunter that did not harvest a bull had several opportunities but were just unable to connect. Also Yellowstone outfitters showed great respect for the wilderness area and run a very clean camp. Just one more thing to note, this is a horseback mountain hunt, so do lots of riding before going and expect a sore backside by the time the hunt is over. Nevertheless it is well worth it and I am looking forward to going back...If anyone needs more info or has questions that they need answers to, just drop me an email

Submit Date: Sep 14, 2001

Outfitter Review: Swift Creek Outfitters - Wyoming

Outfitter / Owner: BJ & Vicki Hill

Hunter: Kirk Lovsness

Animals Hunted: ELK

Great people, they take their elk hunting serious and do an excellent job. Personable service too.They work hard to produce results and will treat you right. Great camp to hunt with.

Submit Date: Sep 7, 2001

Outfitter Review: Big Red's Hunts - Wyoming

Outfitter / Owner: Karl Reed

Hunter: jay jacobs

Animals Hunted: deer

had a good time, but we got ours on the first day so I don't really have a feel for their knowledge.

Submit Date: Aug 31, 2001

Outfitter Review: Adventures West - Wyoming

Outfitter / Owner: Keith Hartman

Hunter: Jim Coffrini

Animals Hunted: Mule Deer

Great Country. Private land, North Eastern Wyoming. Fairly easy country to hunt. Lots of Game. I killed a 25" wide 23" high mule deer on the third day of the hunt. Also killed a 14" antelope on the 5th and last day. Better deer area than antelope. Saw alot of deer. Saw 2 deer larger than the one I shot.

Submit Date: Aug 24, 2001

Outfitter Review: Swift Creek Outfitters - Wyoming

Outfitter / Owner: B.J. & Vicki Hill

Hunter: Kirk Lovsness

Animals Hunted: Elk

Nobody wants to get you an elk like BJ & his guides do. They're very capable and are good guys, they live for elk hunting and enjoy packing bulls back to camp. Good horses and equipment, plenty of good food too. Straight shooters that will treat you right.Great elk country.

Submit Date: Jun 18, 2001

Outfitter Review: Dampier Lodge - Wyoming

Outfitter / Owner: Jim Dampier

Hunter: Ron Bieber

Animals Hunted: Mule,White Deer,Antelope,Elk

I have hunted Wy for about 20 yrs.,and this is truly a great lodge to hunt and relax after a great day in the field,I have hunted with Jim for 3 yrs. had a great hunt each season going back this yr.If you wont a truly trophy good antler animal great food great lodge you owe to your self to call Jim.Fell free to contact me Ron Bieber 610-6826206 EM Kershaw2CS@aol.com

Submit Date: Jun 6, 2001

Outfitter Review: Triangle X Ranch - WY

Outfitter / Owner: Harold Turner

Hunter: Arthur M. Birch

Animals Hunted: ELK

I hunted with my father and harvested a 300 class 6x6 the first day at the spike camp. We hunted hard for three days of our 7 day hunt and never saw another Elk. We were then informed we would have to move to the lower camp because they could not supply us and the horses from lower camp which was still closed to rifle permits. We were told at booking that we could not effectively hunt the management unit from lower camp because it was a 2 hours horseback just to get to the open Unit and another 1.5 hours to get to a huntable spot. That would mean breakfast at 1:30 AM & supper at 11:00 PM if you hunted morning and evening! We were effectivly forced out of the rest of our hunt. Every camp we crossed in the spike camp area was better prepared than our camp. I cannot recommend hunting with an outfitter that lies. Even if I did get a real trophy.

Submit Date: Jun 1, 2001

Outfitter Review: Seven J Outfitters - Wyoming

Outfitter / Owner: Jeff Smith

Hunter: Denis C. Querio

Animals Hunted: Mule Deer, Whitetail Deer

Jeff and his whole organization still rate as the "BEST" outfitter that I and my clients have ever hunted with.If anyone wants a truly trophy class hunt with trophy class animals, antler mass, and the best overall treatment --- then hunt with Seven J Outfitters. You will have a wonderful hunting trip.

Submit Date: May 24, 2001

Outfitter Review: Heart Six Ranch - Wyoming

Outfitter / Owner: N/A

Hunter: David Ross

Animals Hunted: Elk

The guides were young and inexperienced. The owner insisted they had a 100% success rate for shots. This turned out to be totally false, they considered any sighting of game to be a shot opportunity. Camp was well run, hunting was lacking.

Submit Date: Apr 28, 2001

Outfitter Review: Big Buck Outfitters - Wyoming

Outfitter / Owner: Brain Beisher

Hunter: Ken Sardegna

Animals Hunted: Pronghorn

This was a birthday trip with a 3-day Antelope hunt for myself and 3 days of trail riding for my better half (OCT 00). I hunted with Brian, the owner, and after several stalks, ended the first day by bagging a 15 inch + Antelope. Brian runs a first class operation and manages it for trophy animals. In the few days that we were there, we saw countless Whitetails and Mule Deer, including some trophy bucks. I recommend them highly.

Submit Date: Feb 27, 2001

Outfitter Review: Boykin Outfitters and Guide service - Wyoming

Outfitter / Owner: Doug Boykin

Hunter: Thumper Boykin

Animals Hunted: Mt. Lion

Doug goes above and beyond the call of a guide. I have hunted with many guides and have not saw someone push as hard to get you a trophy Lion of a life time as he. He and the crew are down to earth and KNOWS this business!I came from Thailand as a client with the odd issue of having the same last name and left as a life long friend, that I will be hunting with him for many years to come! I put in for Elk, mule deer and lopes before I left and found out today that i drew an elk tag! So I will just start counting the days to the season and a big 7x7!

Submit Date: Feb 9, 2001

Outfitter Review: Sunrise Outfitters - WY

Outfitter / Owner: Mike Heins

Hunter: TODD COLLINS

Animals Hunted: ANTELOPE

I HAVE HUNTED ANTELOPE IN 1996 AND 2000 WITH MIKE USING ARCHERY EQUIPMENT. HE HAS GREAT PROPERTY AND PRODUCTIVE BLINDS. YOU WILL SEE TONS OF ANTELOPE ONLY HAVE TO BE CHOOSEY WHICH IS THE HARD PART. HIS WIFE MARY DOES THE COOKING AND IS FIRST RATE. FAMILY ATMOSPEHRE. IF YOU ARE LOOKING FOR A GREAT ANTELOPE ARCHERY HUNT THIS IS IT. SHOTS ARE LESS THAN 30 YARDS AND ANTELOPE ARE PLENTIFUL.

Submit Date: Feb 7, 2001

Outfitter Review: Table Mountain - Wyoming

Outfitter / Owner: Scott & Angie Denny

Hunter: Mike Meigel

Animals Hunted: Antelope

If you're serious about bow hunting for Antelope,this is the place to go.Tons of game. Two of us went and both scored on the first day. We both shot nice bucks. Scott and Angie could'nt have been any more hospitable. !!!DREAM HUNT !!!!!!!

Submit Date: Jan 29, 2001

Outfitter Review: Table Mountain - WY

Outfitter / Owner: Scot Denney

Hunter: Glenn Wong

Animals Hunted: Antelope

The Outfitter ran into some problems during the hunt. The Antelope hunt seemed hurried at time but we did see some fine specimens. It was our goal to harvest a second Doe/Fawn as advertised but found out after our arrival that we were not permitted. Most hunters were happy with their individual hunts. We ran into a problem with trespassers who Scot confronted. Unfortunately, we were with him and the situation became tense. I would recomend this hunt once the kinks are dealt with. Scot and his wife are quality people as well as the staff he had on hand. It was unfortunate that we ran into the the trespassers.

Submit Date: Jan 15, 2001

Outfitter Review: Whitetail Creek Outfitters - WY

Outfitter / Owner: Ray Hulse

Hunter: Chris Nichols

Animals Hunted: Mule Deer

First class from the time you arrive. I hunted the fall of 99 for mule deer. I lost count by the end of the first morning how many quality bucks we saw. The only thing I would do different is go for the opening of bow season, instead of the third week because the animals where starting to get skittish. How many outfitters give you a room in a beutiful rustic lodge with your own hot shower and sattelite tv in every room. Rays wife is an excellent cook and the rest of the staff is there to help with anything you need. Cant wait to go back.

Submit Date: Jan 9, 2001

Outfitter Review: Bear Trak Outfitters - WY

Outfitter / Owner: Pete Dube

Hunter: DOC TEECE

Animals Hunted: MULE DEER ANTELOPE

THIS IS ABSOULTLY A GREAT OPPORTUNITY TO SEE A LOT OF ANIMALS. WE DIDN'T SEE ANY 30" MULIES OR 16" ANTEOPLE BUT SAW SAW GOOD NUMBERS OF MULIES EVER DAY IN THE 24-25" CLASS AND ANTELOPE IN THE 13-14 CLASS WITH THE OCCASIONAL 15".THE GUIDES AND STAFF ARE GREAT AND WILL HARD FOR YOU. QUANTITY OF ANIMALS WAS IN EXCESS OF 100 PER DAY. ALL 4 GUYS IN OUR GROUP SCORED ON 23-25" MULIES AND 13-15 "PRONGS" WITHIN A 5 DAY HUNT.WERE BOOKED FOR A PARTY OF EIGHT IN 2001 WE LIKED IT THAT MUCH. YOU CAN HUNT AS HARD OR AS EASY AS YOU WANT. A GREAT PLACE TO TAKE A BEGINNER OR A OLDER PERSON TO SEE A LOT OF ANIMALS AND GET IN ON SOME ACTION, OR A SEASONED HUNTER WILLING TO WORK A LITTLE HARDER FOR A NICER TROPHY. ALL HUNTING IS DONE ON PRIVATE RANCHS (ONE IN PARTICULAR WAS 78,000 ACRES)OVERALL A REWARDING HUNT AND A GREAT TIME.

Submit Date: Jan 7, 2001

Outfitter Review: Gary Fales Outfitting - Wyoming

Outfitter / Owner: Gary Fales

Hunter: James R. Miller

Animals Hunted: elk

Gary Fales, in my opinion, is only out to make a buck from dedicated sportsmen and is a disgrace to the outfitting industry. I gave him a deposit in the amount of five hundred dollars which was not refunded to me for a hunt that did not take place because of the fires in the area. He called me the day I was supposed to leave for Wyoming to inform me of this, but as a holder of a license to bowhunt elk in Idaho also, I decided to leave for that hunt, which was self-guided, rather than to wait around to see if the officials in Wyoming would reverse their decision. He refuses even a partial refund which I reluctantly agreed upon,( he told me he has to pay a certain amount to the state of Wyoming for each hunter..in my case ninety dollars), after he told me I would receive a full refund! Not having the opportunity to actually hunt from his camp, I cannot comment on what type of hunts he provides, but let it be known what kind of ethics this person has!!

Submit Date: Jan 6, 2001

Outfitter Review: East Table Creek - Wyoming

Outfitter / Owner: Kerry Chadwick

Hunter: Michael Traut

Animals Hunted: elk,mule deer, moose

This camp works very hard to please you. The guides know the area well and where to locate game. This camp has the best mountain horses I have ever been on. The camp is wall tents with wooden floors, wood and or propane heat. The food is very good, if you ever get hungry its your own fault. Its some of most beautiful country you will ever see. A top-notch operation at a very reasonable price.

Submit Date: Jan 1, 2001

Outfitter Review: AJ Outfitters - Wyoming

Outfitter / Owner: Anita Hill

Hunter: Larry Frost

Animals Hunted: Antelope

The guide was great, very knowledgeable, and worked hard to get us on numerous animals of trophy quality.My son and I took Trophy size antelope on the 1st day.I was sorry we did not get mule deer tags as we saw hundreds of Mule Deer some with very large racks.We hunted in area 25 North East of Casper Wyoming.A.J. Outfitters is a small outfitter who specializes in quality hunts.I will definitely go back.

Submit Date: Dec 31, 2000

Outfitter Review: Bald Mountain Outfitters - WY

Outfitter / Owner: Terry Pollard

Hunter: John I. Kittel

Animals Hunted: Elk

The hunt with Bald Mountain Outfitters was exceptional. the accomodations were first class and the hunting and scenery second to none. Our guide put us on 4 quality bulls during the week. An exceptional wilderness Elk hunting experience.

Submit Date: Dec 26, 2000

Outfitter Review: Triple Creek Hunts - WY

Outfitter / Owner: Jim Freeburn

Hunter: Big K

Animals Hunted: Whitetail deer

During this hunt I was after a 140 class whitetail.Most bucks seen were in the 100-130 class with several non-typicals and an occasional nice typical.Antler characteristics in this area include excellent mass and long-tine length.Wide spreads are not as prevelent.We started seeing nice bucks as soon as we stepped off the porch in the morning.Saw 20-30-bucks a day.I shot a 152 class 6x6.Guides seemed a little pushy to tag us out.You just have to let them know who is paying for the hunt!

Submit Date: Dec 26, 2000

Outfitter Review: AJ Outfitters - Wyoming

Outfitter / Owner: Anita Hill

Hunter: Larry Frost

Animals Hunted: Antelope

My son and I hunted in area 25 n.e. of Casper Wyoming, We saw a large number of antelope and our guide kept having us pass on bucks until we spotted Trophy size bucks. We both took trophy size Antelope bucks. My only regret was that we did not apply for Mule deer tags as we saw hundreds of mule deer and some really nice bucks.This is a small but high quality outfitter with excellent guides who have literally been raised in this area and really know and understand the wildlife of the region.

Submit Date: Dec 11, 2000

Outfitter Review: Triple Three Outfitters - WY

Outfitter / Owner: Craig Smith

Hunter: kirk bucko

Animals Hunted: mule deer/ pronghorn

saw 35 bucks first morning shot the 36th. it was a 4+4 25-1/2" spread before lunch.2nd day shot 12" prog horn, had 3-1/2 days left. craig had fishing,horse back riding,prairie dog hunting or just take the a truck and go into town.the amount of animals seen was unreal, if your looking for big horns this the place.

Submit Date: Dec 7, 2000

Outfitter Review: Seven J Outfitters - Wyoming

Outfitter / Owner: Jeff & Deb Smith

Hunter: Denis C. Querio

Animals Hunted: Mule Deer,Whitetails,Antelope

Jeff & Deb Smith run one of the best Trophy hunts that I have ever went to. As a licensed taxidermist, I have sent many hunters to Seven J Outfitters and every one of them raved about the trophy class animals, antler mass,the number of animal seen, the service, and guide quality. If you are truly interested in going on a truly trophy hunt then call Jeff or Deb Smith at (307) 283-3443. You will be in for the hunt of a life time.

Submit Date: Dec 6, 2000

Outfitter Review: Seven J Outfitters - WY

Outfitter / Owner: Jeff & Deb Smith

Hunter: Mike Roche

Animals Hunted: Whitetail

Jeff and Deb run an absolutely first rate operation. They will do everything in their power to ensure a great hunt. They are very straight shooters, you can trust what they tell you.This is the only outfitter I have ever dealt with, or even heard of, where no one has ever had anything but completely positive things to say.Success rates on good bucks are also very high. Everyone in camp the week I was there got a nice buck, even though the weather conditions were lousy.

Submit Date: Dec 4, 2000

Outfitter Review: J & B Outfitters - Wyoming

Outfitter / Owner: Jim Fritz

Hunter: John Hosier

Animals Hunted: antelope

We had a big snow storm come through the whole time we were there. Jim and the other guide worked hard to find us quality animals. Our visibility was limited but the guides put us on about 125-150 antelope the first day. I shot a antelope that was 14.75 inches long with a nice curl. My partner shot a 14 inch. The amount of game we saw was amazing. If you are looking for a average to better than average antelope for a pretty cheap price ($750) I would definitely recommend J and B outfitters.

Submit Date: Nov 18, 2000

Outfitter Review: Johnson Outfitting - Wyoming

Outfitter / Owner: Dean Johnson

Hunter: Chris Crum

Animals Hunted: Mule Deer

High country tent camp accessed by horseback. Hunting is limited to migrating mulies coming out of Yellowstone and heavily dependent on snow to drive the herd. We had warm weather and thus very few bucks were sighted. Food and scenery were great and horses were well taken care of. Guides were colorful, helpful, easygoing and were cowboys first and guides second. However, based on the repeaters in the camp, guide skills are not critical if the deer are moving.

Submit Date: Nov 11, 2000

Outfitter Review: Dampier's - Wyoming

Outfitter / Owner: Jim & Marilyn Dampier

Hunter: Eric Brown

Animals Hunted: Mule deer

I hunted with Dampier's 9 years ago and wanted to go again, so I was a little depressed when I heard Dampier's had been sold. I tried other places the last 2 years only to have a sub par hunt. When I heard the original owners (Jim and Marilyn) were back I booked a hunt this year and was once again rewarded with an overall excellent experience. I not only took an excellent mule deer but had a great time, a true vacation, while doing it.

Submit Date: Nov 10, 2000

Outfitter Review: Dampier's Lodge - Wyoming

Outfitter / Owner: Jim & Marilyn Dampier

Hunter: Ed Brown

Animals Hunted: Deer & Antelope

Excellent lodge, food, guides & plenty of fine heads to choose from...plenty. Dampier's owned the place for 25 yrs or so, sold it 3/4 yrs ago. The new idiots ran it into the ground, ticked off both hunters & ranchers & blew the area. Dampier's got it back. I'm so glad they have restored it to it's former great place. They really care that you get a nice animal & also that you have a fine trip. Only place I've ever gone to more than once, and I've been there more than a dozen times.

Submit Date: Nov 9, 2000

Outfitter Review: Dampier's Hunting Lodge - Wyoming

Outfitter / Owner: Jim & Marilyn Dampier

Hunter: George Stehle

Animals Hunted: Deer, Antelope, & Turkey

Please note that this lodge has been repossesed byDampier's from previous owner, Paul Orvis. Under Orvis, the name of the lodge wasSolder Creek Lodge. Mr.Orvis is reputed to have defrauded many hunters. Dampier's, the current and original owners maintain a excellent reputation among the hunting community. Dampier had no control or influence in this business while under Orvis'sSolder Creek Lodge. Dampier's Hunting Lodge canbe contacted at (307) 746-4797, or atdampierlodge@vcn.com.

Submit Date: Oct 31, 2000

Outfitter Review: Lone Wolf Outfitters - Wyoming

Outfitter / Owner: Ted Shoumacker

Hunter: Tom Cantlin

Animals Hunted: Antelope

We were to be picked up at the airport and have a truck provided for us for the week ,we had to rent ,a truck,we were to have a trailer for the week,it was a little camper with holes you could crawl through the sinks and shower were rusted ,the toilet had petrafied poop in it. I was put in a blind about 75 yards fron a gunsmith shop where they fired rifles and pistols all day,and ran around in 4-wheelers,and this was a bow hunt? Yes I seen antalope but not with in 500 yards.

Submit Date: Oct 30, 2000

Outfitter Review: Seven J Outfitters - WY

Outfitter / Owner: Jeff & Deb Smith

Hunter: Sean Smith

Animals Hunted: Mule Deer

This is nothing less than an excellent trophy hunt.These people are strait shooters and if you are you will come away with the trophy of a life time.Most important they are hard working honest people thoughout this operation.

Submit Date: Oct 30, 2000

Outfitter Review: S-n-S Outfitters - WY

Outfitter / Owner: Sy Gilliand

Hunter: Bill Green

Animals Hunted: Mule Deer & Antelope

I took my wife on our honeymoon with this outfitter.

Submit Date: Oct 18, 2000

Outfitter Review: Raven Creek Outfitters - Wyoming

Outfitter / Owner: Ken Ford

Hunter: Mark Korb

Animals Hunted: Muledeer and Pronghorn

My Father and I booked the hunt together. In our four day hunt, we saw in excess of 400 muledeer, of which fifteen were 22" 4x4 or better. We also saw over 300 pronghorn, of which (35) were 14" or better. Dad took a 22" 4x5 and a 13" pronghorn. I took a 23" 4x4 that weighed 340lbs and a 13 1/2" pronghorn. We both were holding out for a 15"+ pronghorn,but as Wyoming weather had it, the fog kept us from filling with 15's. There was nothing Dad , I, or any of the other five hunters felt could have been any better. A million thanks to Ken Ford, Shane and Randy Evans, Rueben Ritthaler, and Autumn for making our hunting such a success in every way.

Submit Date: Oct 17, 2000

Outfitter Review: AJ Outfitters - Wyoming

Outfitter / Owner: Anita Hill

Hunter: Chris Frost

Animals Hunted: Pronghorn Antelope

This outfitter is located in Casper, Wy. We hunted Area 25 that has respectable bucks from 13 to 14 inches, although we did see some that pushed 15. The method was spot and stalk and we each took heavy bodied bucks with horn lengths of just under 14 inches and really good mass. We saw plenty of antelopes and plenty of mule deer including some nice 4x4's and 5x5's. This outfitter also guides mule deer hunts.

Submit Date: Oct 11, 2000

Outfitter Review: Whitetail Creek Outfitters - WY

Outfitter / Owner: Ray Hulse

Hunter: JEFF ROGERS

Animals Hunted: MULE DEER /ANTELOPE

I HAD A GOOD TIME HUNTING WITH WHITE TAIL CREEK,AND WAS VERY IMPRESSED AT THE AMOUNT OF DEER ON HIS"20,000 ACRE"RANCH BUT THEY WERE ALL SMALL 2-1/2 YEAR OLD DEER,NOTHING VERY LARGE.BUT WHAT I REALLY DID NOT LIKE WAS THE FEELING THAT THEY DID NOT CARE IF YOU SHOT A GOOD BUCK OR NOT,SHOOT YOUR DEER,FILL YOUR TAG AND GO HOME.AND WAS TOLD THERE WAS ONLY GOING TO BE 7 HUNTERS,AND ENDED UP WITH 20+ HUNTERS IN CAMP.

Submit Date: Sep 21, 2000

Outfitter Review: Werner Ranch - Wyoming

Outfitter / Owner: Jim Werner

Hunter: Cliff Van Hoesen

Animals Hunted: Antelope

I went on an archery antelope hunt. An excellent hunt at a very reasonable price. Everyone was so friendly and helpfull. I can't imagine a better antelope camp anywhere for the price. Met a good group of guys in camp. The meals were outstanding.

Submit Date: Aug 12, 2000

Outfitter Review: Seven J Outfitters - WY

Outfitter / Owner: Jeff Smith

Hunter: Denis C. Querio

Animals Hunted: mule deer, antelope, whitetails

If anyone wants the best possible hunt - contact jeff. Truly a hunt of a life time. Everyone that has gone to seven j outfitters gets the best quality treatment, accomodations, and chances at tropy game. The mass and size of these mule deer are unmatched by anyone.

Submit Date: Jul 13, 2000

Outfitter Review: Whitetail Creek Outfitters - Wyoming

Outfitter / Owner: Ray Hulse

Hunter: Michael Mshar

Animals Hunted: Whitetail & Mule deer

Hunted with Ray, last to years 98' & 99'. Took 160 class whitetail and 140 class Mule deer. Area he hunts is all private and loaded with game. Only negative is he seems to overbook on hunts, promises 10 hunters in camp and ends up with 20+! Everybody gets a deer, but it can get a little impersonal!! If you want to kill a solid buck and can handle crowds in the lodge, you can not go wrong with them.

Submit Date: Apr 10, 2000

Outfitter Review: Boykin Outfitters - WY

Outfitter / Owner: Doug Boykin

Hunter: Tony Machesky

Animals Hunted: Elk

Doug and Debb are real people; A successful hunt ,3 for 3, two cows and a perfect 6x6 with 11 in. royals.Game care was very important to complete the hunt.My hunt with Doug Boykin was great and I am sure next year will be better. " Shop or Hunt " ( Doug Boykin / Tony Machesky )

Submit Date: Feb 20, 2000

Outfitter Review: Bald Mountain Outfitters - Wyoming

Outfitter / Owner: Terry Pollard

Hunter: Jim Ortowski

Animals Hunted: Elk

This was my 5th hunt in 10 years with Terry. The hunts get better every year. In 1999, I saw approx 100 elk. I got my elk the first morning. A real nice 5X5. My biggest was in '89 a 6X7. My cousin (Don Lammers) from Michigan got his elk on the third day ( a 4X5, his first). This was his second year hunting with Terry.Great hunt, food, accomodations, personnel, equipment, horses, area. It cannot be better than this. Will be going again, and again, and again......I can be contacted at jimortow@xmission.com or 435-734-2507.

Submit Date: Jan 29, 2000

Outfitter Review: Diamond Four Outfitters - Wyoming

Outfitter / Owner: Jim Allen

Hunter: Mark Nelson

Animals Hunted: Mule Deer

Mule deer hunt during highly variable conditions. 12" of snow just prior to the hunt with spring like conditions 2 days into the hunt. Plenty of mule deer but we had to look to find a good buck.I passed on 8 or 9 bucks before taking my buck on the 2nd day of the hunt. Jim and his guides did an outstanding job of finding the deer and getting us into shooting position.My wife and I have also hunted antelope with this outfit in prior years. She took a thick 13 1/2" antelope and I took a 14 3/4" one.They are hard working and honest about the quality and quantity of game to expect.

Submit Date: Jan 25, 2000

Outfitter Review: Ed Manasse Outdoor Adv. - Wyoming

Outfitter / Owner: Ed Manasse

Hunter: DAVID CARTER

Animals Hunted: PLAINS GAME/DANGEROUS GAME

ED TOOK INTO CONSIDERATION THE FACT THAT THIS WAS A FIRST TIME SAFARI. EVERY DETAIL FROM ARRANGING FLIGHTS, MEDICAL PRIORITIES AND TRANSFERS WERE GIVEN SCRUPULIOUS ATTENTION.OUR PROFESSIONAL HUNTER FRANCOIS DEWITT HAS THE EXPERIENCE TO GLASS AND DETAIL YOUR GAME WITH AN ABILITY THAT IS TRULY FANTASTIC. I FOLLOWED HIS ADVICE AND MY PARTNER BOTH FILLED OUR QUOTA WITH A TOTAL OF 16 ANIMALS, FOUR OF WHICH MAKE ROLAND WARD AND ALL BUT 3 ARE GOLD SCI.

Submit Date: Jan 9, 2000

Outfitter Review: Lone Wolf Outfitters - WY

Outfitter / Owner: Ted Shumaker

Hunter: ERIC ROYER

Animals Hunted: ANTELOPE

MY ANTELOPE BOWHUNT WY LONEWOLF WAS A GREAT SUCCESS. THERE WERE FOUR HUNTERS IN MY PARTY AND THREE OF US CONNECTED, THE OTHER MISSED ON TWO OPPORTUNITIES. ONE OF THE BUCKS HAS BEEN ENTERED INTO THE P&Y RECORD BOOK. IF YOU DO NOT MIND STAND HUNTING NEAR A WATERHOLE I FEEL THERE IS A GREAT CHANCE FOR ANYONE TO HARVEST AN ANTELOPE WITH A BOW! THIS PART OF THE COUNTRY IS ALSO AN OUTSTANDING HISTORIC SIGHT SEEING PARADISE: CUSTERS LAST STAND- MT RUSHMORE- PLENTY OF COWBOY/INDIAN MUSEUMS. ONLY MARGINAL ACCOMADATION IS THE DISTANCE FORM CAMP TO HUNTING AREA. OTHER THAN THAT ITS A GREAT TIME!

Submit Date: Dec 30, 1999

Outfitter Review: Swiftcreek Outfitters - WY

Outfitter / Owner: B.J.Hill

Hunter: Bill Houghton

Animals Hunted: elk

YOU can hunt as hard as body can stand or as easy as you like. Food was great,I will go back again.

Submit Date: Dec 25, 1999

Outfitter Review: Dampier's Lodge - Wyoming

Outfitter / Owner: Paul D.R. Orvis

Hunter: Fred Zech

Animals Hunted: Elk, Mule Deer, Antelope

I was defrauded out of my $3,300.00 deposit and did not get to hunt as Mr. Orvis left the state of Wyoming for Texas after the bank foreclosed on the hunting lodge. Previous owner, Jim Dampier, has taken over the operation. It seems that there are at least 10 other hunters who have also be defrauded out of their hunt deposit monies. If any of you are reading this please contact Jim Dampier at (800)251-9165 or (307)746-4797. We are trying to get the authorities involved to bring Paul Orvis to justice. I can be contacted by e-mail at DHOEKS@worldnet.att.net.Thanks,Fred Zech

Submit Date: Dec 23, 1999

Outfitter Review: Swift Creek Outfitters - WY

Outfitter / Owner: B.J.Hill

Hunter: Mark Enslow

Animals Hunted: Elk

If you like to hunt hard B.J.Hill is the guy you want to book your hunt with.Hourses were good and so was the food.Had the time of my life!We got a nice 6+6.

Submit Date: Nov 24, 1999

Outfitter Review: Lightning Creek Ranch - Wyoming

Outfitter / Owner: Jim Werner

Hunter: grant benson

Animals Hunted: antelope

excellent operation for archery pronghorn. took P&Y bucks in successive years on opening day. you won't find a better operation with better service at a true value.

Submit Date: Nov 19, 1999

Outfitter Review: Raven Creek Outfitters - WY

Outfitter / Owner: Ken Ford/Kent Drake

Hunter: michael stevens

Animals Hunted: mule deer

we saw fifty bucks opening morning. watched one man shoot a nice 4*4 that was still in full velvet. saw 7-9 really trophy mule deer on the move with no position to make a shot. my fathers deer was found lying with a 3*3 on top of a hill. i spotted these two bucks and sent the guide after my father. they got back and he killed the 5*5 when the two deer stood up. while they were getting back there was a really vice 4*4 or beter that blew out of the draw below me while i was covering the deer i wanted my father to kill. the next day i missed a really nice 4*5 and killed a 22'' 4*4 the next day as he blew out from under a rock ledge we were crosing. had a good time and there percent kill i 100% everybody in my group filled ther tags early. it was like shoping for the right mully. thank to kent and kenny. it was a great hunt just to be sitting right by dad when he pulled the trigger. he also was right behind me when i killed mine. he said you got him son. god bless everybody ond safe hunting. go with a faimly member it's great.

Submit Date: Oct 29, 1999

Outfitter Review: Western Wyoming Outfitters - WY

Outfitter / Owner: Gene Borre

Hunter: Steve Brehob

Animals Hunted: Elk

Camp is set about 5 miles up Cottonwood Creek near Lookout Mountain, NE of Jackson. Hunted Dog Creek, Elkhorn, Moosehorn, Steep Creek, Sohare and Deer Creek. We were there the 3rd week of season and the weather was absolutely horrible for hunting. With the rut over and warm temperatures, we consequently saw few elk. Hunters the weeks before when weather was colder went 100% on bulls. We did however see unbelievable numbers of moose, with a 48" and 49" Shiras taken. We also saw all color phases of black bears and had daily opportunities, had I been carrying a tag. Grizzly were also present and 5 were sighted the week before we got to camp. Guides pack and elk bugle were eaten by a grizzly the day before we arrived in camp. Some good mule deer bucks were also seen.My guide worked very hard to put me on a good bull, the weather didn't cooperate and unfortunately it just didn't happen. We hunted hard for 7 days on horseback...on the mountain tops before daylight and back to camp well after dark, probably rode over 100 miles and never saw another hunter.Horses, camp and food were the best I have ever seen. Everyone in camp was friendly and hospitable, we were treated like royalty.I will definately go back again.

Submit Date: Oct 27, 1999

Outfitter Review: Sweetwater Outfitters - WY

Outfitter / Owner: Ray Dennis

Hunter: Robert Williams

Animals Hunted: Antelope

Submit Date: Oct 7, 1999

Outfitter Review: Bald Mountain Outfitters - WY

Outfitter / Owner: Terry Pollard

Hunter: Mark Curtis

Animals Hunted: ELK

An excellent experience for this type of adventure. The food, accomadations, stock, staff, guides and atmosphere of the hunt was second to none. I felt that for an archery hunt I was more than welcome and we found the game and set-up fast and each bull was worked to produce close encounters (not just shot opportunities). If you get hungery it is not because Bald Mountain failed to put the food in front of you. Excellent cooking and quality of food is the rule. When guides can produce two nice 5x bulls for my partner and I with a bow that is super outstanding service. Bald Mountain showed great respect for the wilderness area. Thanks to Terry for such a great service and to his son Travis for calling in those fine bulls!!!

Submit Date: Sep 28, 1999

Outfitter Review: Bald Mountain Outfitters - Wyoming

Outfitter / Owner: Terry Pollard

Hunter: Rick Austin, DVM

Animals Hunted: ELK (archery)

My friend and I each got nice 5X5 elk. They are bowhunters and know how to get you in close. I was very impressed with their knowledge of the area and the animals. If you bowhunt, and want a Bull Elk, it would be hard to do better than BMO.

Submit Date: Sep 15, 1999

Outfitter Review: John Henry Lee - WY

Outfitter / Owner: John Henry Lee

Hunter: grant benson

Animals Hunted: elk

solid outfitter in a good area for elk. most guide are excellent. good livestock and accomodations. knows how to work for bowhunters.

Submit Date: Aug 11, 1999

Outfitter Review: Lone Wolf Outfitters - Wyoming

Outfitter / Owner: Ted Shomacher

Hunter: Bill Steele

Animals Hunted: Pronghorn Antelope

Ted didn't like talking to the hunters after he got the remaining $$$ you owed him. He would take off before sun up and be back after dark. I hunted with a muzzleloader and shot my goat on the first day of the hunt at the urging of my guide, this is so they don't have to feed you for the hole week. I had friends hunt the very next week for mule deer and they say this was the worst guided hunt they have ever been on. this was my first GH so I didn,t Know any better. The head guide told my friend that he was allowed 2 hours to fill a antelope tag and 4 hours if it was a combo hunt. nuff said

Submit Date: Jul 2, 1999

Outfitter Review: Ron Dube's Wilderness Adv. - Wyoming

Outfitter / Owner: Ron Dube

Hunter: Michael Scarola

Animals Hunted: Mule Deer

Ron runs a first rate camp. All of the personnel from the guides to the cook,to the wranglers were the type of people you enjoy spending time with. My guide worked hard for me, and was a real gentleman. I passed on a shot at a pretty nice mulie on the morning of the fourth day, and my guide still hunted hard for me after that. This mule deer hunt is a migration hunt, so you need the big snows to help move them. I went the second week, and saw game everyday. Altogether I saw about 80 deer, with about 15 being bucks. Since I was holding out for a pretty nice head, the deer I passed on had about a 26" spread, but I had just seen one that went about 30" inches, but I wasn't able to get a shot at it. I had been told that most seasons when the weather is right you can see 50 - 80 deer per day. The season runs for two weeks, with 8 hunters in camp per week. It is a horseback mountain hunt, so do alot of riding before going. This hunt was my first out west, and I it was pretty much all that I had hoped it would be. If anyone needs more info or has questions that they need answers to, just drop me an email or call me at the address below.

<< First Page       < Previous Page

web application and database development by davidcdalton.com