Montana Hunting Outfitter and Guide Reviews

Submit Date: Nov 13, 2002

Outfitter Review: Weare's Outfitting - Montana

Outfitter / Owner: Eric/Julie Weare

Hunter: Lewis Wheeler

Animals Hunted: Elk & Deer

This was the first week of rifle season, we saw 1 legal mule deer at 460 yards and 1 illegal spike elk at 3/4 of a mile. My guide was lost twice that I was aware of and admitted on one day that he hadn't been to this particular site for seven years, not what you want to hear on a one on one hunt. Two 2 year old elk were taken out of 9 hunters. The guides recommended taking shots at any visible part of the animals at ranges from 400 to 600 yards. Both elk shot were wounded at 400 plus yards and then killed when the hunters were able to get another shot, in one instance this took the form of climbing a tree and shooting at the animal for an hour till it was knocked down. The other animal was gut shot while two hunters blazed away at 450 yards, one hunter ran out of shells and the other finally finished the animal at 200 yards. The outfitter and guides also managed to break the antlers on one of the elk by rolling it down a hill after the hunter asked them to be careful because this was his first elk. All in all not a hunt you'd want to pay money to go on.

Submit Date: Oct 18, 2002

Outfitter Review: Flatwillow Creek Outfitters - Montana

Outfitter / Owner: Dwane & Orrin Kiehl

Hunter: Richard Hodges

Animals Hunted: Antelope

I have just returned from my second hunt with Flatwillow Creek Outfitters. Our group of five hunters were 100% successful taking nice antelope bucks includeing one that had a B&C green score of 79". This is a terrific hunt. The area holds an incredible amount of game. Antelope, Mule Deer, Coyote, Gamebirds. They have built a new lodge since my first hunt in 1999 and the accomidations and food are uniformly excellant. The real strength of this outfit is the people. They are knowedgable, extremely hard working, and have a way of blending their abilities with your wishes to provide a really memorable hunt.These are good people and I cannot recommend them highly enough.

Submit Date: Oct 14, 2002

Outfitter Review: Musselshell Outfitters - MT

Outfitter / Owner: Randy Higgins

Hunter: Jeff Pals

Animals Hunted: elk and mule deer

This was not a wilderness hunt. The area I hunted was relatively small when you think of elk hunting, but the animals are definately there. I harvested a beutiful 5x6 on the fourth day. That bull was the fourth bull I had seen in four days.The bull to cow ratio was incredable. This is a great place for a bow hunter to get an opportunity at a herd bull.

Submit Date: Sep 17, 2002

Outfitter Review: Hidden Valley Outfitters - Montana

Outfitter / Owner: Tracy Weyer

Hunter: Justin Trail

Animals Hunted: Mule Deer

Just got back from an archery deer hunt booked through Longleaf Hunting Adventures (Joshua Flournoy) to hunt in South eastern Montana with Tracy Weyer of Hidden Valley Outfitters. Joshua and Tracy did a great job "underrepresenting" the hunt as our expectations were blown away when we got there and started hunting. We saw (an had opportunities at) dozens of whitetails and muledeer. It was mental chaos trying to sift through the hundreds of bucks we saw. I have been in the hunting business for 10 years and have traveled around the globe. Tracy offers the best opportunity at fair chase archery deer and antelope of any where I have been or know of. After spending 7 days with him I have no doubt his rifle hunts are similar in nature!Joshua & Tracy, thanks again for arranging and conducting such a super experience! I look forward to doing it again next year.

Submit Date: May 15, 2002

Outfitter Review: East Fork Outfitters - MT

Outfitter / Owner: Bob Zian

Hunter: Rick dagner

Animals Hunted: Spring Bear

Just my bad choice on hunt date and weather. Still to much snow and early for a bear hunt. Great food and camp in wilderness area. Outifitter worked well and wih me to make all fall into place. I feel Bob gave a 110% to try find and spot a bear. But the weather was to cold and snowy yet. Spotted and seen lots of Elk and deer in the area. I highly recomend Bob, he will defitnetly get you onto the middle of lots a game.

Submit Date: Apr 2, 2002

Outfitter Review: Flatwillow Creek Outfitters - Montana

Outfitter / Owner: Dwane & Orren Kiehl

Hunter: Tom Quaal

Animals Hunted: Mule & Whitetail Deer

November 2001 was the 7th year in a row I have hunted with the Kiehls and it gets better every year. New hunting lodge, new game processing facility. They are upgrading something every year. I took a 26" 5X5 mulie on the second to the last day of the hunt after looking over many excellent mulies and whitetails. Guess I'm getting spoiled after 7 years. Did not draw an antelope tag for 2001 but saw hundreds. Can't wait for the year I draw an elk tag. Huge bulls in the 350 plus class. The new lodge has 6 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, a wet bar, great room with gas fireplace and trophies from North America and Africa. Very excellent accomodations for the most discriminating hunter. Anyone looking for trophy mule deer, whitetail, antelope, or elk would be foolish to pass on this outfitter. Also opportunity for excellent upland bird and waterfowel shooting when you fill your tags. See you there in 2002!

Submit Date: Mar 11, 2002

Outfitter Review: Hidden Valley Outfitters - Montana

Outfitter / Owner: Tracy Weyer

Hunter: Thomas Krenn

Animals Hunted: Mule Deer

To all you deer hunters, I hunted with Hidden Valley Outfitters out of Wibaux Montana for mule deer. In the middle of November,when the Mulleys were just comming into the rut we had seen about 20 mulleys a day a, out of the 20 a couple of trophies were soptted, it was great deer hunting land. Tracey runs a top notch operation I would highly suggest booking a trip with Tracey. I shot a 24 inch mulley and my son shot one on the last day and theres much bigger mulleys out there.

Submit Date: Mar 3, 2002

Outfitter Review: Otter Creek Outfitters - Montana

Outfitter / Owner: Jim/Cindy Wilkins

Hunter: Tony Viator

Animals Hunted: Mule Deer, Antelope

I've hunted with Otter Creek Outfitter's twice. First in 2000 and then in 2001. First hunt with a buddy we both took 25" plus 5x5's(160's B&C). Most days you'll see 100 plus deer with about half being bucks. Second year took 5 friends back to Otter Creek. Everyone harvested bucks. Smallest was 22" 5x5 on last day and largest was 26 1/2" 5x5(178 B&C) also on last day. Both years had tough weather conditiions, hot & dry, it didn't seem to matter. If you don't harvest a good mulie hunting with Jim it's because you can't shoot or are looking for something special. Both years I saw bucks that would make or come close to making B&C record book (long story about why they were not taken). Food, guides and accommedations are top notch. Jim also has some great antelope but I can't seem to draw a tag. Plenty of varmints to shoot after you find a deer. Also offers float trips on the Bighorn for trout. If you are looking for a great mule deer hunt I don't think you could go wrong hunting with Otter Creek Outfitters. You can reach them at (406) 784-6185

Submit Date: Feb 13, 2002

Outfitter Review: Flatwillow Creek Outfitters - MT

Outfitter / Owner: Dwane Kiehl

Hunter: JOEBEAR

Animals Hunted: antelope

Having been ripped off on 2 previous elk & 2 bear hunts,all archery with different outfitters, I feel compelled to write this endorsement for Flatwillow Creek outfitters. It's great to finally find a outfitter who delivers exactly what he says & more. Dwane the owner, did not exaggerate any part of the hunt or accommodations. I booked a 4 day archery antelope decoy hunt, with a friend coming in from Chicago to meet me for a 2on1 hunt. The 9/11 attack made me the only hunter to arrive in camp to hunt but my friend got his deposit refunded.Having never hunted antelope I was involved in a hunt that was not only fun but imformative. I was treated as a hunter, not as a novice or rookie who had paid for whatever the future would bring.I hunted 1&1/2 days with guide Stewart decoying on 10 different stalks, took 1 shot at a 14" buck thought to be 35yds, but it turned out to be 48yds. Result miss. Had 3 other bucks at about 45yds., but bad angles, no shots taken. Stewart was a great guide and has many trophies to prove his knowledge of hunting.Dwane & I went the rest of that 2nd day with 4 more stalks,& one 15" buck at 40yds., but it was at dusk & bad angle so no shot taken. Dwane was my guide on the 3rd. day with 3 stalks & 1/50yd. shot taken in a 40mph. wind at a 14" buck, miss.The next stalk would produce a 35yd.shot at a nice non-typical buck charging the decoy. Harvested & I named him BIN LADEN.I was guaranteed a shot under 40yds. and got it,and know there would have been more if I had passed on this one.Dwane is an excellent archery guide & his people (guides,friends,&family) were always calling to see how we were doing & informing Dwane as to what they observed at other ranches to make my hunt successful.Flatwillow Creek put 110% effort into my hunt and I would refer them to anyone.Thanks to all at Flatwillow Creek Outfitters.

Submit Date: Feb 10, 2002

Outfitter Review: Rivers Edge Outfitters - MT

Outfitter / Owner: Mike Huff

Hunter: Mel Hein

Animals Hunted: Elk

I didn't shoot a bull but I had several chances. I seen bulls that looked as though they belonged in a park. You just have to prepare yourself for longer shots I just was not prepared.

Submit Date: Feb 10, 2002

Outfitter Review: Slough Creek Outfitters - Montana

Outfitter / Owner: Tim Bowers

Hunter: Dennis D. Tomlinson

Animals Hunted: Elk

Four of our group tagged out on the first day with a 4x5, 6x6, 6x6 and a 6x7. The other two hunters in our group had seen elk and passed on some. We spent the rest of the week fishing on the Slough Creek and the fishing was great. Tim runs a top notch camp with some very good and had working people.

Submit Date: Feb 5, 2002

Outfitter Review: Rivers Edge Outfitters - MT

Outfitter / Owner: Mike/Lisa Huff

Hunter: Todd borst

Animals Hunted: elk

I shot my first elk with the bow.Its something that you will never forget.The foods great and the P.R.Guy realy knows his stuff.Nice muledeer in the area and antelope too..

Submit Date: Jan 10, 2002

Outfitter Review: Bear Track, Inc. - MT

Outfitter / Owner: Pete Dube

Hunter: chris s. carson

Animals Hunted: mulies (archery)

Have been on many guided hunts. First hunt where guide and outfitter made me believe they REALLY knew what they were doing! With honesty!

Submit Date: Jan 2, 2002

Outfitter Review: Hidden Valley Outfitters - MT

Outfitter / Owner: Tracy Weyer

Hunter: Kevin Bremer

Animals Hunted: Mule Deer

This was my second hunt with HVO, I shot another nice mule deer, I will be returning again. Tracy puts on a great hunt, they work extremely hard for the hunters.

Submit Date: Jan 1, 2002

Outfitter Review: Ford Creek Outfitters - Montana

Outfitter / Owner: Liz Barker

Hunter: Mark A Enslow

Animals Hunted: Mule Deer/ Elk

We were told that all guides were seasoned and would work hard to get our game. None of these kids had ever guided before.This outfitter grossely misrepresented this hunt. All we did was hunt with all the locals. Stay away from these guys.

Submit Date: Dec 28, 2001

Outfitter Review: Armells Creek Outfitters - MT

Outfitter / Owner: Mark/Deanna Robbins

Hunter: HAROLD G. MALLO

Animals Hunted: DEER, ANTELOPE

THE WEATHER WAS HOT & DRY SO THE GAME WAS HOLDING UP IN THE TIMBER & BRUSH MOST OF THE DAY SO WE HAD TO KICK THEM OUT, KIND OF TOUGH TO FIND THE BIGGER BUCKS. WE WERE BLESSED WITH RAIN ONE DAY SO WE GOT TO ENJOY THE GUMBO MUD FOR A COUPLE OF DAYS. WE ALL ( 4 HUNTERS )GOT RESPECTFUL BUCKS & I GOT A NICE ANTELOPE ( ONLY ONE THAT HAD A TAG). ON A YEAR THE WEATHER WOULD BE MORE SEASONABLE THERE IS A CHANCE TO TAKE A TROPHY BUCK HERE.

Submit Date: Dec 17, 2001

Outfitter Review: Armells Creek Outfitters - Montana

Outfitter / Owner: Mark & Deanna Robbins

Hunter: Jim Hegeman

Animals Hunted: Pronghorn Antelope

I booked a 3 day antelope hunt which started on 10/14/01. The first morning, after checking the sights on my rifle, we drove on some of the country roads along land that Mark leased for the antelope hunting, as well as some of the 4,000 acres he owns. In the course of the first 2 hours, we had stopped and glassed 4 different herds and after discussing what we had seen, we decided to go back to the second herd we had seen which contained 2 shooter bucks. We relocated the herd and got out ahead of them over a hill and parked. We walked a few hundred yards along the side of the hill and set up for the approaching herd. They came along the side hillaround 200 yds off when they spotted us. A buck with thick bases was trailing the herd and he stopped broadside. He went down at my shot which was aided by the use of shooting sticks and we walked off the shot at 285 yds. The buck green scored at 77-3/8" with 6-1/2" bases which carried up almost 8" to the 4-3/4" prongs. It was 10:30am on the first day and my antelope hunt was over and I was extremely pleased with the buck I had taken. Since I was the only hunter in camp that week, Mark took me around his ranch in pursuit of coyotes and we made a short trip up to the Missouri River Basin 20 miles to the north and observed 9 Big Horn Sheep Ewes, and over 100 elk, including several nice bulls.Deanna served up some great meals and I had a memorable time getting to know Mark and Deanna, as well as their two sons. I would defintely recommend Armells for antelope, elk and mule deer and hopt to visit them again in the future for either mule deer or elk.

Submit Date: Dec 2, 2001

Outfitter Review: Rocking W Outfiiters - Montana

Outfitter / Owner: Bill & Billy White

Hunter: John F Schulte Jr

Animals Hunted: Mule Deer

Overall the hunt was good, the only problems I had was the weather, it was to hot for the time of the year (Nov 13-19) 65-75 and no rain for 10 months. The rut really did not start due to the weather.I did harvest a 4x4 mulie.The outfitter has many ranchs to hunt, so he can change and go to other places to hunt.Would like to go back.

Submit Date: Nov 30, 2001

Outfitter Review: Hidden Valley Outfitters - MT

Outfitter / Owner: Tracy Weyer

Hunter: Matthew K. Kelley

Animals Hunted: Mule Deer

I chose HVO by outfitter reviews like this. I am happy to say I chose wisely. We hunted on huge private ranches and saw tons of bucks; at least 1 shooter buck each day. There were three hunters in camp and we all got 4x4's. Guides did a great job and Tracy's Mom did all the cooking. Didn't see any real Monsters but tons of nice bucks. This could be because it was unusually warm. This was my first time hunting with an outfitter and I couldn't have been happier. If you Choose HVO I don't think you will be sorry. If you need an info go ahead and email me.

Submit Date: Nov 19, 2001

Outfitter Review: Flatwillow Creek Outfitters - MT

Outfitter / Owner: Dwane & Oren Kiehl

Hunter: Joshua Flournoy

Animals Hunted: Pronghorn Antelope

I went on an archery pronghorn antelope hunt with Dwane in September of 2001. The plan was to go when they are traditionally in the rut, and to do some decoying. First morning there was heavy fog and that kept things slow for the first little while that morning, but when the fog lifted, we saw antelope every few minutes. Saw some very nice bucks. Crawled to 150 or so yards from a buck probably in the low 80's, but we couldn't get him to decoy. Tried on several other good bucks that morning, and they just weren't interested yet. Went that afternoon about 30 miles away to a different ranch and they were ready over there. Found a lone buck with does, got to about 100 yards. Popped up the decoy, and here he came on a run. Made a heart shot on him at 24 yards, he ran a half circle less than 100 yards and was done. An awesome experience. If you've never decoyed antelope successfully, you need to try it, it is extremely exciting. You can read the story and see photos of my hunt at http://www.huntinfo.com/livehunts/mtlope/I would very highly recommend Flatwillow Creek Outfitters. Lodging was fantastic, very comfortable for a hunter, with many mounts, furs, etc. Food was great, people were very friendly and know hunting. Highly recommended.

Submit Date: Nov 19, 2001

Outfitter Review: Hidden Valley Outfitters - Montana

Outfitter / Owner: Tracy Weyer

Hunter: Fred D. Waites, Jr.

Animals Hunted: Mule Deer

First timer to hunt mule deer. First time to use a guide service. Have nothing to compare this experience to, however, there were absolutely no negatives in my experience hunting with HVO.

Submit Date: Nov 10, 2001

Outfitter Review: Dome Mountain Ranch - Montana

Outfitter / Owner: Jim Klyap

Hunter: Richard F. Jones

Animals Hunted: Elk,Deer,Black Bear

The Guide worked very hard to find game,but none were found.I would not return here,as there are probably lots of other places with good guides and good camps that also have game.I hunted at Six Mile Camp.

Submit Date: Nov 8, 2001

Outfitter Review: Flatwillow Creek Outfitters - Montana

Outfitter / Owner: Dwane & Orren Kiehl

Hunter: Chuck Leech

Animals Hunted: Elk,Deer

Don't waste your time looking anywhere else. If you want good quality game with even better quality people this is your place.

Submit Date: Nov 3, 2001

Outfitter Review: Scape Goat Outfitters - MT

Outfitter / Owner: Bill Plante

Hunter: Ralph Nestor

Animals Hunted: Elk/Deer

Ripped off again in MT-last attempt there-for more detail email me-tired of lic procedures/cost-self serving/arrogant outfitters who do a lousy job but act as if they were God's gift to hunting world.

Submit Date: Nov 1, 2001

Outfitter Review: Flat Willow Creek - Montana

Outfitter / Owner: Dwane & Oren Kiehl

Hunter: F Roe

Animals Hunted: Mule Deer & Antelope

These guys, their wives, and the guides made a dream come true! I can't imagine a better group. This place is FILLED with game and literally MILES and MILES of hunt land. Hunt from early morning to dark and fill your tag with some wonderful game. I hunted mule deer and antelope along with prairie dogs, coyotes, and birds. Others in our camp got beautiful whitetail and an elk. Special thanks to the Kiehls, Randy and Kevin for going the extra MILES (on foot) to get me two beautiful trophy wall hangers.

Submit Date: Oct 20, 2001

Outfitter Review: A Lazy H - Montana

Outfitter / Owner: Al & Sally Haas

Hunter: Greg Staples

Animals Hunted: Elk / Mule deer

Sally runs an excellent operation. Great stock and crew. Everything you could want and more on a deep woods wilderness hunt. Our car had trouble on the way and she got it fixed while we were in camp. She had coffee waiting after the ride out of the woods. etc, etc . etc.Head guide Greg Funk knows the area and knows how to find elk. He puts in a tireless effort and got people close to legal bulls 4 times. Guide John's hunters never saw an elk during the week.He did spot a 30 inch mule deer though. Johns 1st year as guide. He didnt want to put in an effort. He called it hunting smart. I call it hunting lazy. He might not be back as lazyness doesn't wash with Greg. However, he was responsible and eager to handle his duties as far as camp work and when one of us killed a small mulie. He just had an aversion to walking up hill.Greg is also a trained EMT and when a hunter not with our party shot himself, Greg knew what to do and got the boy out of the wilderness. You are as safe as can be expected with this outfit. Dont worry about outside hunters in this area. Its big country and in a week we saw only 4 locals.Even though no elk were killed we came close 4 times. Which is all you can ask for. If you want a pack in wilderness hunt that is safe with good equipment and people you can depend on, along with a decent chance to kill elk or mule deer, these people have what you want.

Submit Date: Sep 10, 2001

Outfitter Review: Bob Marshall Wilderness Ranch - Montana

Outfitter / Owner: Virgil & Barbara Burns

Hunter: Randy Britt

Animals Hunted: Whitetail

The Bob Marshall Wilderness Ranch runs a great whitetail hunt on public and private land surrounding their lodge. The deer were plentiful. The majority were, of course, does and small bucks but bigger bucks were definitely in the area. Our party left 3 for 4 on trophy deer. The whole experience was enjoyable. The lodge was a nice mountainside cabin with great food. The guides were experienced. My brother and I had a guide who knew the Bob Marshall Wilderness better than most people know thier owns homes. An additional benefit is the quality of taxidermy we found out there. Rob with Mountain Creek deserves a nod for sending show quality mounts back to Virginia.Tactically speaking, I would recommend rattling during the pre-rut and rut. It was, to my liking, the most fruitful way to hunt the bigger bucks.

Submit Date: Aug 28, 2001

Outfitter Review: Central Montana Outfitters - Montana

Outfitter / Owner: Chad Schearer

Hunter: Steve Holley

Animals Hunted: Mule deer, Antelope

We had to deal with the fires but Chad still did an excellent job in spite of the fact that we couldn't camp in his normal area. Saw an amazing number of mule deer.

Submit Date: Apr 24, 2001

Outfitter Review: Musselshell Outfitters - Montana

Outfitter / Owner: Randy/Jennifer Higgins

Hunter: Wayne Fricke

Animals Hunted: mule deer, antelope

Musselshell Outfitters do everything you would ask of an outfitter and more. I have scheduled my fourth hunt with them and I am positive that I will be satisfied with everything.

Submit Date: Apr 24, 2001

Outfitter Review: Musselshell Outfitters - Montana

Outfitter / Owner: Randy/Jennifer Higgins

Hunter: Jon Fricke

Animals Hunted: mule deer, antelope, prairie dog.

I have had two great hunts with Musselshell Outfitters and am going back again next year.

Submit Date: Apr 24, 2001

Outfitter Review: Musselshell Outfitters - Montana

Outfitter / Owner: Randy/Jennifer Higgins

Hunter: Roger Kerr

Animals Hunted: elk, mule deer, merriams turkey

This outfitter and his crew are superb. Very organized and efficient. Professional hunters all the way. Elk, mule deer, whitetail, antelope, merriams turkey, lion, and bobcat. All in large numbers and all in trophy quality. The terrain is beautiful but not high in elevation.

Submit Date: Mar 13, 2001

Outfitter Review: Musselshell Outfitters - Montana

Outfitter / Owner: Randy Higgins

Hunter: Guy Larango

Animals Hunted: mule deer

This is a very impressive hunt if you are a serious hunter. These are free-ranging animals, this is not a canned hunt. All the guides worked hard to get me a nice trophy. I have hunted all over the US and this was a great hunt. I will be back.

Submit Date: Mar 13, 2001

Outfitter Review: Musselshell Outfitters - Montana

Outfitter / Owner: Randy Higgins

Hunter: Guy Larango

Animals Hunted: mule deer

This is a very impressive hunt if you are a serious hunter. These are free-ranging animals, this is not a canned hunt. All the guides worked hard to get me a nice trophy. I have hunted all over the US and this was a great hunt. I will be back.

Submit Date: Feb 9, 2001

Outfitter Review: Elk Creek Outfitters - MT

Outfitter / Owner: Brent Fritchet

Hunter: TODD COLLINS

Animals Hunted: ELK

BRENT PUTS ON A CLASS ARCHERY ELK HUNT DURING THE BUGLING SEASON. TERRAIN IS TUFF AND ELK CAN BE HARD TO GET ON. HIS GUIDES WORK HARD TO GET THE HUNTER IN POSITION. I SHOT A 5X6 ELK WHILE HUNTING WITH HIM. I WAS THE ONLY HUNTER WHO TAGGED A BULL THE WEEK I WAS IN CAMP. HOWEVER, ALL OTHER HUNTERS HAD SHOOTING - SOME MISSED, SOME HIT. A COUPLE OF THE GUIDES WERE LESS EXPERIENCED THAN OTHERS AND HAD A HARDER TIME FINDING THE GAME. BRENT IS VERY HONEST WITH HIS HUNTERS AND WILL DO ALL HE CAN TO ENSURE A GOOD EXPERIENCE. THE BULLS IN THE AREA ARE BIG BUT THE AREA THEY HAVE TO COVER CAN MAKE SIGHTINGS DIFFICULT ON SOME DAYS.

Submit Date: Jan 13, 2001

Outfitter Review: S&W Outfitters - Montana

Outfitter / Owner: Brad Hanzel/Howard Seymour

Hunter: Nick Cates

Animals Hunted: Elk

Had excellent weather conditions that put literally thousands of migratory elk onto this large private ranch to join its small resident herd. The beautiful mountain terrain they generally access by horseback was left undisturbed as the unpressured elk fed and bed on the flatland at their base. It was way to easy but the guide made it interesting and I was very happy to finally see an elk at less than 500 yards,and to harvest one. I'm sure most years their hunts are more challenging but the guides and their equipment would certainly be up to it!

Submit Date: Jan 13, 2001

Outfitter Review: S&W Outfitters - Montana

Outfitter / Owner: Brad Hanzel/Howard Seymour

Hunter: Nick Cates

Animals Hunted: Mule Deer

Hunted whitetail and mule deer on large private ranch in cental Montana. Spot and stalk from 4x4s and some still hunting. Saw five to ten or more bucks per day. Largest shot by a fellow hunter was a 135 pt. whitetail. I saw one large mule deer twice, but no shooting opportunity. The fifth day I shot a narrow (18inch) but high 5x5 mulie (my largest ever). Great guides, friendly, accomodating to your desires for a good hunt. I never felt pressured to shoot a particular animal. I don't believe they take more than six people in camp at once. Varied terrain from pine forest to planted fields. Talked to one guy who bow hunted here earlier in the year for deer and elk and he had a great time with plenty of opportunities. Game care was excellent: They cape, skin and deliver to processor at no charge.

Submit Date: Jan 10, 2001

Outfitter Review: Scapegoat Wilderness Outfitters - MT

Outfitter / Owner: Bill Plante

Hunter: Michael G. Strickland

Animals Hunted: MULE DEER, GOOSE, UPLAND GAME BIRDS

I have hunted with Bill on his wilderness hunt for elk and took a nice 6x6. I was hunting this time on his ranch/farm. There were three of us hunting mule deer. 2x1 hunter guide ratio. You can shoot either a mule deer or a white tail. I passed on several trophy white tails because I wanted a trophy mule deer. Saw HUNDREDS (yes, I said hundreds) of mule deer in just three days of hunting. One guy shot a nice 4x5 mule deer with eye guards the first day. I passed on several mule deer because they only had 24 inch spreads or were not perfect 5x5s (10 point) with eye guards. I missed a 5x5 with eye guards and a kicker point on the last day of the hunt while he was standing almost still. Third guy missed a huge white tail on the run and passed on a 23 to 25 inch 5x five minutes into the hunt on the first day and does not regret not taking it. He also passed on several good mule deer.

Submit Date: Jan 7, 2001

Outfitter Review: Broken Arrow Lodge - MT

Outfitter / Owner: Erwin & Sheri Clark

Hunter: CHRIS COOK

Animals Hunted: elk, mulies

This hunt took place in Sept. of 1996. I've been on hunts after this on but not in this area. Without a doubt Erwin and Sheri have got to be the most crooked people I have ever meet. They did not even kiss us before they screwed us. My ass still hurts. We arrived in Alder for the opener of archery elk&mule deer season. He told us this was a great time to hunt. Not! I guess he cant control the weather but he could at least be honest about the game we were supposed to see. He said he had seen hundreds of elk the day before. Sure, maybe in another county. When we got ready to go up into the mountains, Erwin had us sign some papers. Little did we know we were signing our lives away. Come to find out later that the papers we signed said that we were responsible for the horses and pretty much anything else we touched. I was also under the impression that he was going to take us into the mountains to set up camp. Yae right! he gave us directions and showed us pictures of where to go.The horses that we had werent broke very well. Half way up the mountain, one horse freaked out, reared up, knocking my buddies dad over, and took off, scattering our gear all over the place. When we found the horse, the saddle and the pannier was trashed and the horse had a few cuts on its leg but was ok. We called Erwin and told him of what had happened. When he got us, we told him we wanted to skip the horses, so he put us on atv's and thats how we hunted till we left.The game was so scarce that we left the hunt 2 days early. But before we could leave, we had to pay over $400 in damage and vet bills! What a crock! They told me if the horse doesn't heal up, I would have to pay to replace it! About 2 weeks after returning home, I called to check on the horse. They said it was doing better every day. A couple of months later they called and said I have to pay $2000 for the horse because it had to be put down! We contacted the Montana Board of Outfitters only to find out Erwin was not a liscenced guide. We kept getting letters saying that if we dont pay, we'll have to go to court. Meanwhile, Erwin had gotten in trouble with the Govt. and eventually he left us alone. As far as I am concerned, he can kiss my ass along with sheri. We were ripped off badly and had a VERY BAD EXPERIENCE. I HOPE NOBODY EVER GOES THERE AGAIN. OUR HUNT WAS ON PUBLIC LAND WHERE I SAW MORE HUNTERS THAN ELK!DONT WASTE YOUR MONEY TO GO HERE!!!!!

Submit Date: Dec 22, 2000

Outfitter Review: Kootenai High Country Hunting - Montana

Outfitter / Owner: Dave Hayward

Hunter: Ken Padilla

Animals Hunted: Elk, White Tail Deer

The summer fires of 2000 had a significant effect on the wildlife and their habitat. Despite early inquiries regarding the situation, conversations with the outfitters personnel assured many of the hunters that the fire had little effect on the wildlife and habitat. This simply was untrue. None of the 8 hunters during this period saw an elk and very few deer were seen. In convserations around the bunk house, all hunters voiced their displeasure with the hunt.

Submit Date: Dec 21, 2000

Outfitter Review: Snowy Peak Outfitters - Montana

Outfitter / Owner: Jim Powers

Hunter: Barry Moyer

Animals Hunted: Mt. Lion

This was a first rate Mt. Lion hunt with a very knowledgable outfitter & guide, and also excellent dogs. I highly recommend this outfitter!

Submit Date: Dec 20, 2000

Outfitter Review: Sun Canyon Lodge - Montana

Outfitter / Owner: Lee Carlbom

Hunter: Patt Mayfield

Animals Hunted: elk/mule deer

This is a meat hunt not a trophy hunt as I was promised. There were too many other people for a wilderness hunt. I was promised last year after a bad hunt that this year would be better--what can I say?

Submit Date: Dec 20, 2000

Outfitter Review: Elk Creek Outfitters - MT

Outfitter / Owner: Brent Fitch

Hunter: Ed Stratton

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer / Mule Deer / Elk

We hunted with Brent in 1997, we were told the winter prior had been severe and had killed off alot of the game. Elk are hard to come by unless you are willing to travel on foot and/or horse many miles. I saw alot of Whitetail deer, mostly smaller bucks no Mulies or Elk. The second to the last day I shot a small 10pt buck, score approx. 120. My dad missed a nice 150 class WTk or Mulies. 11 guys in camp 7 Whitetail, 1 Elk, 1 Mulie and a few misses.Some nice Elk were spotted but no shots made. Brent runs a great camp, most his guides are very experienced. They will work hard to help you harvest the animal you are after. Great bunch! Mother Nature dealt us a bum card but other than that I would highly recommend them. For more info e-mail me at edstratton@aol.com

Submit Date: Dec 3, 2000

Outfitter Review: Butler Outfitting - MT

Outfitter / Owner: H. Earl Butler

Hunter: PAT LEMIN

Animals Hunted: ELK, DEER

I HUNTED THE LAST WEEK OF NOV. 2000. WE HUNTED HARD EVERY DAY. LEFT BEFORE DAYLIGHT & GOT BACK AFTER DARK. SAW GAME EVERYDAY.EARL WORKED HARD TO TRY TO GET ME INTO GAME, BUT WE HUNTED IN SNOW WITH A CRUST, WHICH MADE STALKING EXTREMELY HARD. DUE TO CRUNCHY SNOW,WE MADE TOO MUCH NOISE & THE GAME HEARD US BEFORE WE GOT CLOSE ENOUGH TO GET A SHOT. I FEEL THAT UNDER THE RIGHT CONDITIONS I COULD OF HAD NUMEROUS SHOTS AT GAME. I AM LOOKING FORWARD TO HUNTING WITH HIM AGAIN.

Submit Date: Nov 30, 2000

Outfitter Review: Big Sky Outfitters - MT

Outfitter / Owner: Tom Brogan

Hunter: TIM W. RAINEY

Animals Hunted: MULE DEER, ELK, WT DEER

OUTFITTER TOLD US 10 TO 12 PEOPLE IN CAMP, THERE WERE 35 AND THAT THERE WOULD BE ONE GUIDE TO 2 HUNTERS. ORIGINALLY THERE WERE ABOUT 6 MEN TO A GUIDE IF YOU CALL QUIDING DROPPING YOU OFF AT THE TOP OF A MOUNTAIN AND TELLING YOU TO MEET THEM AT THE BOTTOM. WRANGLERS AT BEST. THE SADDLES WERE TOO SMALL THE EQUIPMENT IN TERRIBLE SHAPE AND THE DISGRUNTLED QUIDES TRYING TO DO THEIR BEST BUT FAILING BECAUSE OF THE ATTITUDE OF TOM BROGAN.I WOULD HOPE NOONE SHARES THE BAD EXPERIECE THE FOUR OF US SHARED. FINALLY AFTER PROTESTING WE WERE GIVEN A QUIDE PER 2 HUNTERS AND A FOUR WHEEL DRIVE PICKUP ONLY TO SEE DOE AFTER DOE. NO BUCKS, AND AS IF THE LANDS WERE SHOT OUT.........

Submit Date: Nov 28, 2000

Outfitter Review: Black Otter Guide Service - MT

Outfitter / Owner: Duane Neal/Gary Francis

Hunter: DuWayne Johnson

Animals Hunted: elk

Hunted the early bugle wilderness season. Warm weather, heavy timber. LOTS of grizzlies, wolves goats, mule deer. But no elk. In the saddle early, hunted hard all day, out late still no luck. Good livestock and my guide Dave M. was excellent and worked hard to locate elk. Its a tough hunt. Lots of time in the saddle and the trip thru the pass is not for whimps. But,if you work hard you might score. These elk are not guaranteed. Thanks Dave ,I had one hell of a good time!

Submit Date: Nov 26, 2000

Outfitter Review: Hidden Valley Outfitters - Montana

Outfitter / Owner: Tracy Weyer

Hunter: Len Backus

Animals Hunted: mule deer

We 3 hunters each took a buck from 21 to 25 inches. We enjoyed a total of 6 or 7 stalks of 1/2 to 1.5 mile. Unseasonal snow (5 to 10 inches) kept us out of the more remote areas but we did pretty well regardless. Fabulous country, nice people and a dream spot for anyone who enjoys classic spot-and-stalk.I'll be back next year to get one of the 28 to 30 inchers other hunters saw this year.

Submit Date: Nov 14, 2000

Outfitter Review: Circle KBL Outfitters - Montana

Outfitter / Owner: Scott Boulanger

Hunter: KENNY SNYDER

Animals Hunted: ELK

A LOT OF THE AREA WAS IN THE BURNED SECTION OFTHE STATE. SLIGHTLY WARM WEATHER AFFECTED GAMEMOVEMENT. THIS WAS A BROWTINE BULL AREA ANDWE ONLY SIGHTED ONE LEGAL BULL ( 2 RAGHORN AND1 SPIKE REMAINDER WERE COWS/CALFS). SAW SOME GOODWHITTAILS (8PT EASTERN) AND A LOT OF SMALL MULEDEER BUCKS. OVERALL GOOD TRIP WITH NO GAME HARVESTED.

Submit Date: Nov 9, 2000

Outfitter Review: Armells Creek Outfitters - Montana

Outfitter / Owner: Mark Robbins

Hunter: Mike Uppleger

Animals Hunted: Mule deer & Antelope

This was our first guided hunt (dad,brother & I) and we had a great time. We seen a lot of game - deer, antelope, elk, etc.... Mark knows the area very well & is very good at spotting game. We all took good bucks, a 6 x 6, 6 x 5, and a 5 x 3. We only pulled one antelope tag and got a nice one with many other nice ones running around. Marks wife Deanna did all the cooking and we ate very well that week. Marks family took us in as if we were their own for the week, making it a very comfortable and enjoyable hunt. I would recommend this hunt to anyone who loves seeing a large variety of game and a very good chance at some trophy deer, antelope and elk.

Submit Date: Nov 4, 2000

Outfitter Review: Lone Wolf Guide Service - Montana

Outfitter / Owner: Mark A. Baumeister

Hunter: Eric Drenckhahn

Animals Hunted: Elk

Overall, I thought the hunt was overpriced. I saw lots of elk, no shots though. Elk were of the smaller 5x5 type, 2 ˝ yr. old. Mark was very up front about this before I booked. Although 8 out of 12 hunters harvested elk, it really depended on the guide that you were with. Mark guided 5 successful hunters, Lee (2) and Jerry (1). All the guides was very personable, and the food good. Mark is somewhat of the camp dictator. The other guides are afraid to do anything without Mark’s prior approval. Even moving the truck 30’ ahead an OK had to be gotten. Mark isn’t afraid to voice his loud disapproval to the guides or the other hunters. I thought this to be very unprofessional.When elk were spotted, the guides didn’t want to stalk the elk for fear that Mark would disapprove. I guess if they came close to the truck, we may have been able to shoot. We lost one morning chasing poachers, the rest were spent glassing for elk in the truck so that Mark and/or Lee could be on them in the next hunt.I was luck enough to have a guide with a 4-door rig. Others were cramped in the front seat of a pickup. Tight quarters for three 225+ lb. men and gear.I wouldn’t recommend this hunt at current prices, unless you could guarantee to hunt with Mark or Lee. Otherwise you would be far better off to go somewhere and get a trophy for the same money.

Submit Date: Oct 30, 2000

Outfitter Review: Big Sky Outfitters - Montana

Outfitter / Owner: Tom Brogan

Hunter: eric england

Animals Hunted: elk, deer

I have been on 3 previous guided hunts with other outfitters. I booked this hunt as a guided hunt as well, but this was far from a guided hunt. We were taken to a spot and dropped to hunt on our own on public land. this is not what I call a guided hunt. 25 hunters in camp after being told before hand that the number would not be greater than 8 at a time. Our guide if you could call him that could not even find the pickup points where we were supposed to meet him, much less field dress a mule deer that my buddy harvested. Being put out on public land i saw more hunters than game. My partners and i booked a guided hunt on private property but what we got was ripped off.

Submit Date: Oct 29, 2000

Outfitter Review: Flying Diamond Guide Service - Montana

Outfitter / Owner: Jack/Martin Davis

Hunter: Chuck Hill

Animals Hunted: Elk/mule deer

There was only one shootable elk and one shootable mule deer between my brother and I and we each had an elk/mule deer tag. I have hunted in areas that had much more game than here. This is not to reflect the amount of effort that Jack put into the hunt. He worked every minute of the day to find the game which just wasn't there. It is my opinion that with Jacks hard work and Martins cooking in a different area this would be a first class hunt. In other words the outfitter gets an "A" while the amount of game gets a "C-". We only filled one tag of four and put in 6 days of hard hunting.

Submit Date: Oct 16, 2000

Outfitter Review: Flatwillow Creek Outfitters - Montana

Outfitter / Owner: Dwane & Oren Kiehl

Hunter: Jon & Kim Finck

Animals Hunted: Antelope

Dwayne, Oren and their families made us feel right at home. My wife and I both took antelope plus prarie dogs and got shots at coyotes. These guys know how and where to hunt for what you are looking for. Game of all kinds were everywhere. Never seen anything like it anywhere else. If you want to hunt sunup to sundown for a combination of game, this is the bunch to do it with, and have fun doing it. This was our first experience with an outfitter and we need look no further. Thank you! Dwane & Oren and the whole bunch at Flatwillow Creek Outfitters for making our 40th birthdays' excursion something to remember. We will be back!

Submit Date: Oct 15, 2000

Outfitter Review: Black otter - Montana

Outfitter / Owner: Duane Neal

Hunter: mike

Animals Hunted: Elk

The experience that I and the 3 other hunters had on this hunt was disapointing and the worst hunt of my life.The conditions on this trip were so poor and dangerous that the four of us have filed a complaint with the board of outfitters in the state of Montana.please anyone that is looking for an outfitter stay clear of this one.

Submit Date: Oct 15, 2000

Outfitter Review: Rich Ranch Outfitters - Montana

Outfitter / Owner: Jack Rich

Hunter: Mike Storey

Animals Hunted: Elk/Deer

Cost is a little more than the competition but the experience of the guides and staff makes it worth the price. The elk hunting is the best, but don't go for the wilderness hunt expecting a mule deer, very few if any.

Submit Date: Oct 5, 2000

Outfitter Review: S & W Outfitters - Montana

Outfitter / Owner: Brad Hanzel/Howard Seymour

Hunter: Bill Laidly

Animals Hunted: Elk, Deer (Whitetail and Mule), and Antelope

Good outfitter, worked hard, excellent population of mature bull Elk, many deer, but average to below average racks

Submit Date: Aug 4, 2000

Outfitter Review: Doonan Gulch Outfitters - MT

Outfitter / Owner: Russ Greenwood

Hunter: JEFF DENNARD

Animals Hunted: Mule Deer

HUNTING WAS HARD DUE TO THE ABNORMALLY HOTWEATHER. BUT HAD AN EXCELLENT TIME AND BAGGEDMY MULEY, A NICE 4 BY 4 ,SHARP TAILS AND TURKEY.WOULD HUNT AGAIN.

Submit Date: Aug 3, 2000

Outfitter Review: Hidden Valley Outfitters - MT

Outfitter / Owner: Tracy Weyer

Hunter: Bud Meadows

Animals Hunted: Mule deer, Antelope

Hunted with HVO in 1998 and got a 14" antelope the first day at lunchtime. In 1999, got a beautiful 25" 5 X 4 mulie, and saw several much bigger. Have already booked for 2001 with two buddies from Alabama and my younger sister from Massachusetts. Tracy Weyer is a top shelf guy, and his brother Terry and guide Donnie are two of the best guides I've ever met. The food is home cooked by Tracy's mom, and the ranches they hunt are huge and contain some monster mulies. The toughest part of the hunt is deciding how picky you want to be when you see a big mulie standing in your sights. The Weyers treat you like family, and that's why I'm going back a third time.

Submit Date: Jul 29, 2000

Outfitter Review: Hidden Valley Outfitters - MT

Outfitter / Owner: Tracy Weyer

Hunter: Kevin Bremer

Animals Hunted: Mule Deer & Antelope

Tracy his brother (Terry) put on one of the best hunts I have been on. The game was abundant and hospitality was outstanding. I will be back in 2001. Drop me a note if you want more info!!

Submit Date: Jul 21, 2000

Outfitter Review: Hidden Valley Outfitters - Montana

Outfitter / Owner: Tracy Weyer

Hunter: Wayne Proffit

Animals Hunted: Mule Deer / Antelope

Tracy was very accomodating. Had some great hunting ranches. We went early and was told that more and bigger game would be seen doing the rut, which would be hard to imagine. He was very knowledgable of hunting area. I had a little trouble shooting at first but he was very patient with me. Book a trip with Tracy and I don't think you will be sorry. It was four of us and we all tagged out, Mulies and Antelope by the fourth day.

Submit Date: Jul 12, 2000

Outfitter Review: Flatwillow Creek Outfitters - Montana

Outfitter / Owner: Dwane & Orren Kiehl

Hunter: Tom Quaal

Animals Hunted: Mule & Whitetail Deer, Antelope, Prairie Dogs

I have hunted with this outfitter for 6 years in a row. This is a top notch outfit with excellent game populations and great trophy quality. In addition to the deer, antelope, and elk, there is excellent upland bird and waterfowel hunting. There is also a private trout lake on the property for the hunters to enjoy. For the prairie dog hunters who like to burn powder, I would highly recommend booking a hunt. Many dog towns to shoot till your barrel melts.

Submit Date: May 29, 2000

Outfitter Review: Brewer Ranch Hunting - MT

Outfitter / Owner: Steve Brewer

Hunter: D. Gan

Animals Hunted: Antelope / Mule deer

Everything about the hunt was even Better than expected with our party's success rate at 100% Caution: Diamond Willow Taxidermy in Forsyth, MT has proven to be a major disappointment! Paid upfront and got nothing but grief and lies. Not very professional

Submit Date: Apr 13, 2000

Outfitter Review: Doonan Gulch Outfitters - Montana

Outfitter / Owner: Russ Greenwood

Hunter: Terry Receveur

Animals Hunted: Merriams Turkey

Had 15 strutters in front of me in 3 days. Most were young birds because I went the first week and the boss gobblers were with the hens. Saw several mature birds at a distance. Russ knew where the turkeys lived. Overall a nice hunt.

Submit Date: Mar 15, 2000

Outfitter Review: Central Montana Outfitters - Montana

Outfitter / Owner: Chad Schearer

Hunter: Jim P.

Animals Hunted: Elk/Mule Deer/Whitetail Deer

Lots of small deer, ducks, geese, pheasants, and trout. Few elk. Too much money for quality of game.

Submit Date: Feb 20, 2000

Outfitter Review: Armells Creek Outfitters - Montana

Outfitter / Owner: Mark Robbins

Hunter: Rolf Zimmermann

Animals Hunted: Elk, Mule deer

If your looking for a 300 class bull or better, this is the place to go! Mark limits the number of hunters per year so theres always going to be trophy animals around. All but one of the elk I saw were 300 or better. Unfortunatly I could never get a good shot.( bowhunting) Be prepared to do some walking. We averaged about 5 miles a day, which isn't bad unless your going through the infamous "Gumbo". The food was plentiful and some of the best you'll ever have. Deanna works as hard as Mark. This is an outfit that will do its best to try and get you an animal. If you do your part you cant loose.

Submit Date: Feb 10, 2000

Outfitter Review: Scapegoat Wilderness Outfitters - Montana

Outfitter / Owner: Bill Plante

Hunter: Michael G. Strickland

Animals Hunted: elk, black bear, mule deer

I went in the last week of October in 98. Just found this web site. Bill is the owner and also guides for his outfit. This was a dry warm fall with no snow. Still saw three large herds of elk. I took a nice 6x6 and passed on a nice 5x5 mule deer. lots of mule deer. The herds contained larger bulls than the one I shot but they were not as willing to give a perfect shot at 100yds. There were 4 hunters including me. One guide to two hunters. Everybody shot but one person who passed on a mule deer and also could not get a clean shot at a huge 6x6. Mule deer came into camp everyday. No black bears were seen. Only a grizzly.

Submit Date: Feb 6, 2000

Outfitter Review: J Cross Outfitter - MT

Outfitter / Owner: Wylie Fraser

Hunter: Ryan Flair

Animals Hunted: Elk, Deer, Antelope

I went on a Elk Bow hunt and had a shot at 360 class bull and saw one even larger. We were into elk every day and finally on the last day I took a nice bull. With Antelope we saw hundreds and hundreds with many quality Bucks. On deer we saw many animals both Whitetail and Mule with having opportunities at 180 class bucks. The outfitter has great knowkledge and expereice. He know the animals and the enviorment. There is no horse back annd relaitively easy walking a great hunt for those who are not in gresaat physical shape ofr health. Along with big game you will have the opportunity to fish and hunt birds. I reccommend this great Montana experience. You call or fax for your free video and brochure. 406-585-1288

Submit Date: Jan 29, 2000

Outfitter Review: Aremell's Creek Outfitters - MT

Outfitter / Owner: Mark Robbins

Hunter: Paul Gatens

Animals Hunted: mule deer, antelope

This hunt involves a lot of walking so you better have good boots, but the deer are plentiful. We went the first week of the season and the weather was way too warm (50 - 60). The deer weren't moving, but the guides knew where to look for them. Saw a nice buck the first hour of the first morning, but debated on whether to shoot it. It didn't wait for us to decide. It ended up being the biggest one we saw. My buddy got a nice 5x4, I got a 20" 4x4 on the last morning. My Dad didn't get one, but passed on several small 4x4's. We saw plenty of quality antelope bucks, but none of us drew tags. If you cqan get a tag, they can get you a shot at a nice antelope. We also bird hunted during the middle of each day. The ranch is full of grouse, sage hens, and partridge and we had a blast with them. We even did a little rabbit hunting as well. This is a great place to go for someone who loves to hunt.

Submit Date: Dec 16, 1999

Outfitter Review: Doonan Gulch - Montana

Outfitter / Owner: Russ Greenwood

Hunter: Bennett Parker

Animals Hunted: Mule Deer

There were three of us hunting for five days and saw only one buck with horns over 6". The owner had done no scouting and the guides needed a hand written map to get to the hunting area because they had never been there. I was even sent to a stand that had a dead bloated cow not 20 yards from it. Don't waste your money on Doonan Gulch, trust me it's a waste.

Submit Date: Dec 13, 1999

Outfitter Review: Hidden Valley Outfitters - Montana

Outfitter / Owner: Tracy Weyer

Hunter: Bud Meadows

Animals Hunted: Mule Deer

This was my second hunt with HVO. In 1998, I hunted the October opener, but this year I hunted during the mulie rut. I shot a beautiful 25" 5 X 4 mulie, but saw 5 or 6 much bigger. It was classic "spot & stalk" hunting, with many of the bucks spotted from 1 to 2 miles away. HVO has exclusive hunting leases on 3 huge ranches, and we stayed in their new bunkhouse on their home ranch. My hunting partner had shots from 55 and 58 yards at bucks lots bigger than mine. The first shot misfired and the second shot centered a spindly juniper bush that the buck was standing behind. While we were there, 3 bucks of 30" were spotted. I'll be going back again in 2001.

Submit Date: Nov 26, 1999

Outfitter Review: RamsHorn Outfitters - MT

Outfitter / Owner: Audie Anderson

Hunter: Tom R. Thorsen

Animals Hunted: Elk

My third hunt with this outfitter but the first time in this camp. Previous hunts were in another location and primarily for Mule Deer. This time we went for Elk and I was accompanied by my son and a friend...we were all successful.As the week progresses, Audie (the Outfitter) focuses his attention on those that have not yet scored. He is interested in their success.An excellent hunt and I would recommend it to anyone that doesn't mind a little work.

Submit Date: Nov 9, 1999

Outfitter Review: Flatwillow Creek Outfitters - Montana

Outfitter / Owner: Dwane & Orren Kiehl

Hunter: Richard Hodges

Animals Hunted: Mule & Whitetail Deer, Antelope

I just returned from a Deer/Antelope hunt. The people are terrific. The food is great, and the accommadations are very good. This is a game rich area with many very good Mule Deer and Whitetail. My guide was excellent and I was fortunate enough to take a very nice Mule Deer and Antelope, as did my hunting partner. I highly recommend this outfitter.

Submit Date: Sep 3, 1999

Outfitter Review: Sun Canyon Lodge - Montana

Outfitter / Owner: Lee Carlbom

Hunter: Phil Sulkosky

Animals Hunted: Deer/Elk

Assured deer/probable elk. I shed my "Guide" and had highest success (3 point buck & spike bull)One "guide" out of three not inexperienced/lazy. No hunter coordination. Clients went home without meat while guides filled out. Probably decent outfitter for drop camp, but hunting pressure high in area. Fair meat hunt if aggressive hunter. Probably better hunt for the money available. Nice people taking advantage of "dudes".

Submit Date: Aug 24, 1999

Outfitter Review: Spotted Bear Ranch - Montana

Outfitter / Owner: Kirk Gentry

Hunter: Monte Leath

Animals Hunted: Elk, Black Bear

Beautiful scenery, very knowledgeable and hardworking guides. The ranch facilities are excellent and the food is good. I felt that my guide, Pat Clanton, would go 24 hours a day if necessary to find the right game for me. I saw a lot of game and had my choice of shots, but I never felt hurried.

Submit Date: Aug 10, 1999

Outfitter Review: Sourbrine & Sons - Montana

Outfitter / Owner: Sourbrine

Hunter: Marshall Floyd

Animals Hunted: elk/deer

Mr. Sourbrine and his sons are nice folks, but they are hard of hearing. There were four hunters in the outfit myself included. Three of us wanted to get a mule deer first and then go after the much harder to score on elk. The guides listened to this but it didnt seem to sink in as we never started where the mule deer were at. We started up at the top of the mountains in the morning and by the time we got to the sage hills where all the mule deer were, it was dark or right at it. I did take a shot at a mule deer and the muzzle flash blinded me because of the low light. I was told that I hit it and it rolled down the hill. We couldnt find it that night so we returned in the morning to find the deer. Before we got to the location, we saw around 5 muley bucks that I would have loved to shot, but I had one on the ground and I was determined to find it. The guide did say however that if I wanted to shoot one to go ahead but I didnt. We never did find the deer I had shot the evening before, only found a few drops of blood. I later shot a small whitetail on the next to the last day of the hunt, only to have some meat to take home. One of the other guys shot a whitetail for pretty much the same reason. He propped off the cab of the Suburban we were riding in from a public road. (I didnt agree with that) None of us saw a legal bull the entire week. We saw some cows and calves but no bulls other than one spike that I saw on the last day. Our guides on the other hand, saw huge bulls almost every day, but then they would go into some woods before any of the hunters could see them, and never be seen again?????(go figure) This wasnt what I thought my once in a lifetime elk hunt would be like, I was dissapointed as well as the other hunters in my group. I think this outfitt could improve on his set up greatly if only he would listen to his guests and try to accomodate their requests first. They were nice folks, and fed you very well. The sleeping was in a remodeled garage with 4 bunk beds, bathroom, kitchen sink and coffee maker. It was good enough to bathe in and sleep good in. That was some long tough walking all day long, sometimes up to an hour or more after dark to get down to the truck at the bottom of the mountain.

Submit Date: Jul 22, 1999

Outfitter Review: Wilderness Lodge - MT

Outfitter / Owner: n/a

Hunter: Marvin Briggs

Animals Hunted: Elk, deer

Had my deposit with the outfitter for over a year and show up a day prior to my hunt date only to find out he is selling out to some guy from Chicago that was not even familiar with the area. A lot of emphasis is placed on this outfits guideschool and the "placement" of their guides. It seems like they give jobs to those that aren't hired elsewhere and these folks left behind were definately not the cream of the crop especially since the camp was full of bowhunters and only one guide had ever bowhunted. My guide was from Ohio and seemed much more comfortable behind the wheel of his 4WD then out in the mountains. He even got lost halfway through the hunt. Saw few elk but alot of nice Whitetail bucks. The guides didn't want to pursue the deer since they felt that everyone wanted their elk "first" I believe the truth was that they were saving the bucks for the rifle hunters in the next season. I was the only hunter to score an elk or even get a shot. Took a cow on the second to the last day. Had forgot my camera in camp so my guide offered to take pictures with his but never sent me copies even after 3 requests. Best part of the trip was the lodge, lodge staff, and food- all of which were A-1. They should bill themselves more as a resort than a hunting lodge as they were the only staff that were competent!

Submit Date: Jul 20, 1999

Outfitter Review: Wilderness Connections - Montana

Outfitter / Owner: Bill Walker

Hunter: Major Frank Woods (USMC)

Animals Hunted: Elk + Black Bear

Hunted both elk and black bear with these guys. The elk hunt was a fall hunt and the bear trip was done in the spring. I took a 5x6 bull elk on the 4th day of my 7 day rifle hunt. Saw a good number of elk and two other larger bulls that would not allow me to take a shot that I was comfortable with. Saw about 200 cows and small bulls during my stay. This is a hard hunt, and you'd better be in shape to do real well. Horses are used , but mostly just to get into camp and back out. Hunting is on foot. Overall, a very good hunt. They treat you like family and you leave feeling like you will return. My bear hunt was successful on the 5th day of my 7 day hunt. I took a decent 200 lb black bear. Again, a very good overall hunt. The weather was great and game was certainly to be found. I recommend everyone to book their Montana hunt or fishing trip with Bill W. and Wilderness Connections Ltd. He's a small operation and that's what keeps him good in my opinion. I'm going on one of his saltwater fishing trips to Thailand in 2000 too! His mail address is: P.O. Box 2241, Hamilton, MT 59840Webpage: http://www.inergy.com/wildwood Email: wildwood@rmdbs.net

Submit Date: Jul 12, 1999

Outfitter Review: Wilderness Connections - Montana

Outfitter / Owner: Bill,Bob,Douglas Walker

Hunter: H. R. Williams

Animals Hunted: Elk, Whitetail, Black Bear

Our hunt was booked with Two Bear Outfitters through Wilderness Connections. a great bunch of guys. well experienced. great elk areas. lots of game, on my last hunt with them in september, we were in elk herds every day with bulls all around us being normal. good trophy potential. the whitetail and black bear are good too. but elk is the prime motive to book with this crew. i've taken two bulls with them. both were true wall-hangers. bill w. also handles fishing trips to thailand. i recommend that trip too.

Submit Date: Jul 4, 1999

Outfitter Review: Hidden Valley Outfitters - Montana

Outfitter / Owner: Tracy Weyer

Hunter: Bud Meadows

Animals Hunted: Antelope, Mule Deer

Shot a beautiful antelope first day at lunch time. Saw THREE trophy mulies, came close but was not successful in pulling the trigger on them. Did shoot at a 140 class whitetail the last day. I'm going back this November during the rut (11/99) Great hunt at reasonable prices with super guides.

Submit Date: Jun 28, 1999

Outfitter Review: Wildlife Adventures - Montana

Outfitter / Owner: Rick Wemple

Hunter: Dave Renner

Animals Hunted: Black bear

As a veteran spring bear hunter, I know what to look for. This operation was first class. Our guide worked extremely hard, we thought he was a goat. The lodge and accomodations were top notch, as were the people. I would recommend this outfitter to anyone and will be hunting with them in the future. Please contact me as a reference.

<< First Page       < Previous Page

web application and database development by davidcdalton.com