Idaho Hunting Outfitter and Guide Reviews

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Dec 1, 2019

Outfitter Review: Heaven's Gate Outfitters - Riggins ID

Outfitter / Owner: Darwin Vander Esch

Hunter: Bob Umbenhauer

Animals Hunted: not specified

Terrible experience with Heavens gate Outfitters. Booked 1 on 1 hunt but was forced to hunt 2 on 1. There was no effort to correct it. Outfitter never showed up to the trailhead. 14 mile horseback ride in, but had regular hunters walking through our camp. Tent door broken and Hanging open. Camp stove pipe broken in two places and repaired with aluminum foil. Guide told me after not seeing any elk that he hadnít been back there all year. $7000 and no advance scouting 😡. Guide also told me they shot 43 bulls out of that valley 2 years ago! Over hunted??? I think so. The camp cook was held hostage. After committing to one week he asked to get packed out, but the packer was told he would be fired if he packed him out. This outfitter is all about the money do not waste your money with them.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Jan 5, 2019

Outfitter Review: Mile High Outfitters - Challis ID

Outfitter / Owner: Travis and Brenda Bullock

Hunter: Mike and Julie Meloche

Animals Hunted: Elk, Mule Deer

This is the first time we've hunting with Mile High. They came highly recommended. First, I'd like to say to all outfitters, say what mean and mean what you say. This is our number 1 gripe about outfitters. They tell you one thing and then on the day of the hunt, now that you're fully committed, they tell you something else. Travis Bullock with Mile High is no different. We ended up in the camp that he told us we would not be in and he said "hey, you're on vacation, just enjoy it". Ok, we enjoyed it but just be up front about where you're putting your hunters. We showed at the airport at 7:30 and didn't get flown out until noon. He had several hunters going to different camps. Once we all landed at the back country airstrip, we were short one saddle. Our guide asked if I planned to ride and I said of course. Because he insisted that we had enough saddles, one other camp was a saddle short and it had to be flown in later. Upon arriving at the camp sight, Mile High didn't resupply it with necessities. They didn't have an ax to cut additional firewood, no additional white gas for lanterns so we ended up using flashlights, no ropes to tie mannies on mules so we had to take support ropes from inside the tents. They left all the food from a prior hunt and stuff was a mess, old and moldy. But let me say that our cook, Becky, who did bring in fresh food, did an excellent job of organizing and feeding us. Finally, we were told that we would not share a tent because we are a husband and wife team and on the 3rd day of our hunt, they sent a text to tell us the other hunters would be coming to our camp so we could fly out on the same flight. We would have been okay with this but, again, we didn't know it up front.We were guided by Travis Patterson, and I would highly recommend him if he still works for Mile High. He got up at dark every morning, saddled the animals, was very organized, knew the territory, worked hard, and got us on the animals. He never quit. He made the hunt fun. During our hunt, we saw one herd of elk, maybe 20 total. Several white tail and some mule deer. We harvested a bull elk and a mule deer. The hunt was a success due to the excellent guiding. The terrain is steep but manageable if you do some physical fitness training before your hunt you'll be able to reach the animals. They were all high up in the terrain. We rode mules and thought they were excellent. There were hunters camping at the airport which was very close to our camp so we did have other hunters in the area.After we got home, a bill arrived from Mile High for $450.00. The outfitter told us that we owed money to fly our meat out (which went out on the same plane as us). This is one of those things you have to decide if it makes or breaks your decision about hunting with this outfitter. This is the 9th back country hunt we've done and the first outfitter to charge us this fee. It should be included in the $11,000 we paid for this hunt. But, you may feel otherwise. Pete at Middlefork Aviation is fantastic and we will fly with him every back country trip. I suggest you arrange to pay him separately. That is what all the other guides have had us do.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Jul 16, 2018

Outfitter Review: Boulder Creek Outfitters - Peck ID

Outfitter / Owner:

Hunter: Jonathan Cromwell

Animals Hunted: not specified

I particularly wanted a color phase bear so I decided on north central Idaho. I thought I could be a little more selective on a bait hunt. Well, I guess the bears had something to say 'bout that cause they did not show up. Unfortunately, sometimes the animals just won't cooperate thru no one's fault.The area of the Joseph is absolutley breath taking especially to a boy like me from the east coast. The camp itself, on the other hand, leaves a lot to be desired. It's listed as semi modern and only camp he lists with no pics. I now know why. It should be listed as semi primitve.No indoor plumbing at cabins and was told sometimes the main lodge has no running water. Not my idea of accomodations for $3000.00. A tent camp ok, anyplace else, put in a stinkin' bathroom!The guides were knowledgeable but the camp was lot more disorganized than all of my other guided hunts. No formal discussion of plans or even where to go turkey hunting by self. Equipment is old, very old but functional. A climbing sticks to a lock on stand was missing a rung. Anyone shorter than 6'2" would have had a wicked bad time getting into that stand.I never been to a camp where the owner/outfitter never even shows. I guess he lets guides do work and he just collects the $$.On a final note, 3 small bear were taken out of 5 hunters. It was a tough week weather wise. I gave him 2 stars cause he needs to seriously upgrade his camp but the area is spectacular.#

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Sep 26, 2017

Outfitter Review: Middle Fork Lodge - New York City ID

Outfitter / Owner:

Hunter: Mike Meloche

Animals Hunted: Elk, Mule Deer

We've hunted for 6 years with various guides for elk/deer and the Middle Fork Lodge is by far the BEST. We hunted with Cal and Marcus who are outstanding! They know the territory, hunt hard, don't quit, and are excellent at coordinating their efforts for calling and spotting game. The stock they use are excellent and well cared for. Robin, the cook, was excellent too. The best food we've had at any camp; the camp is clean and comfortable. This team is the trifecta of hunting guides! We highly recommend them and the Middle Fork Lodge is lucky to have such a professional, hard working team of people. Excellent guided hunt and we highly recommend them.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Jul 19, 2016

Outfitter Review: Boulder Creek Outfitters - Peck ID

Outfitter / Owner:

Hunter: Earl Campos

Animals Hunted: not specified

Terrible hunt Tim is nothing more than a used car salesman and will promise you the world yet deliver nothing . Camp was ok but my 2x1 guided hunt was more like one guide for 4 hunters. When confronted with the numerous issues he tells me that's hunting . Maybe at his pathetic excuse for an operation but not at others I've been to. Do your self a favor and book elsewhere this outfit is a joke .

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Oct 29, 2015

Outfitter Review: Middle Fork Outfitters - Challis ID

Outfitter / Owner: Ron & Karla Ens

Hunter: Mr. and Mrs. Meloche

Animals Hunted: not specified

We've hunted with this guide twice. Our hunt in 2013 produced a 6x6 bull out of the Falconberry Campsite. Our hunt in 2015 was unsuccessful. This outfitter has outstanding campsites, food, horses, mules. The hunting is remote and the terrain is extremely rugged. You will be riding and hiking in a lot of steep country. In 2013 and 2015 we paid for a 1x1 combination hunt. In 2013 after I killed the elk, my guide was done hunting. I was very disappointed in his lack of effort to continue looking for deer or bear. In 2015 due to the very warm weather the elk had moved up in higher country (we could see them) and the guide did not want to pursue them. On the very last day I asked to go to the top and the closest we got was a 750 yard shot and it was the last day and too late in the afternoon to continue pursuing. My point with all this is if you see game, have your guide get you there. Most of the days we sat on a lower ridge waiting for the easy shot, for game to come across our path and I will not do that again. This outfitter is good but you'll have to push the owner, Ron Ens, to hunt for you. He knows his territory and it is good elk country. One other note, if you like to drink at night - they can put down some alcohol. It is not my gig but I know a lot of hunters who like to party and they will accommodate.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: May 12, 2015

Outfitter Review: Boulder Creek Outfitters - Peck ID

Outfitter / Owner:

Hunter: EDDIE YOUNGBLOOD

Animals Hunted: not specified

HUNT OF A LIFETIME. WOULD HAVE BEEN SATISFIED TO SEE A BEAR ON THIS HUNT. ON DAY 1 HAND 4 BEARS ON BAIT AT ONCE 2 BLACK 1 BROWN 1 BLOND. DAY 2 AND 3 SAW BEARS. MY GUIDE TONY STUCK WITH ME AND ON DAY 4 KILLED A REALLY NICE BEAR. TOOK A LITTLE LONGER WITH MY BOW THE OTHER 5 HUNTERS IN CAMP HAD BEARS DOWN. COULD HAVE KILLED A BEAR ANY DAY WITH A FIREARM. THIS WAS A HUNT OF A LIFETIME FOR ME. FOOD AND GUIDE SERVICE WAS AWSOME. HOPE YOU GET THE CHANCE TO EXPERIENCE A HUNT LIKE THIS SAW ELK AND DEER EVERY DAY BEAUTIFUL COUNTRY. MATT CRAIG HAS A GREAT OPPERATION WILL GO AGAIN

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: May 8, 2015

Outfitter Review: Boulder Creek Outfitters - Peck ID

Outfitter / Owner:

Hunter: Mark Youngblood

Animals Hunted: not specified

My father and I went on a 5 day guided bear hunt at the "joseph Camp" site. This property is some of the nicest hunting property I have ever seen and we saw multiple bears EVERY day. The staff was outstanding and the food was great...we both harvested a color phase bear and had a fantastic time.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Jan 2, 2015

Outfitter Review: Boulder Creek Outfitters - Peck ID

Outfitter / Owner:

Hunter: Randy Lenz

Animals Hunted: Elk, Mule Deer

BCO was a transparent operation. They met the commitments they made during the planning process. Quality and quantity of game were as advertised. Accommodations were a bit less that one might expect for the price, but were adequate. The Joseph Ranch hunt provided beautiful scenery and plenty of quality bulls. Multiple bulls were seen daily. The Mule Deer activity was slower. The bigger bucks were not active in the earlier season. I would recommend the later dates for the combo hunt. The guides worked hard and encouraged hunter input. I will likely return for a future hunt.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Dec 13, 2014

Outfitter Review: Boulder Creek Outfitters - Peck ID

Outfitter / Owner:

Hunter: Sam Thaw

Animals Hunted: Elk, Mule Deer

My brother and I went on this 7 day Elk/muley combo hunt at their "Whitebird Ranch" during their first week of rifle season. Mostly spot and stalk type hunting with the use of an atv as needed. My first western hunt definitely met most of my expectations. The guide that I had was great and worked hard to help me be successful. I was lucky and harvested a 5 x 6 bull elk and a 4x4 Mule deer buck. My brother bagged a nice 4x4 muley. No large bull elk were seen....but we knew this before the hunt since the outfitter was up front and told us this particular ranch was not known for many large bulls. A good honest effort was made by our guide to give us a nice hunt! My only regret was that the week came to an end.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Dec 10, 2014

Outfitter Review: Boulder Creek Outfitters - Peck ID

Outfitter / Owner:

Hunter: Mike Helland

Animals Hunted: Elk

A couple of quick thoughts on our guided hunt with Boulder Creek Outfitters. As background, this was my 3rd time Elk Hunting but the first time with a Bow. I have been hunting whitetail for over 20 years. When booking the Hunt our main concern was the opportunity to find Elk and were willing to forego comforts like hot showers and comfortable beds. For that reason we chose to go farther into the mountains and sleep in small tents (another group used Wall tents with heaters if you are looking for something in between). While that may not be for everyone it definitely was a great experience as we did not see another hunter for 6 days and hunted on some of the most beautiful terrain out there. It is steep and has heavy cover so be prepared. We used horses everyday and even though I had very limited riding experience it worked out fine due to the quality of the animals. Our guide was very professional and had a passion for putting his clients on Elk. He was able to tell when rest breaks were needed and also when he needed to push us to go farther. I had a nice opportunity on a 6x6 elk but was not able to make the kill (most bow hunters know that pain) and my hunting partner shot a smaller bull. I asked a lot of questions in advance and Matt was always honest and prompt in responding. He never promised that we would get an elk but did say if we were willing to work hard he and his staff would try their best to get us an opportunity. Overall it was a great experience and would definitely book another trip with this outfitter.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Dec 5, 2014

Outfitter Review: Boulder Creek Outfitters - Peck ID

Outfitter / Owner:

Hunter: Dale Reavis

Animals Hunted: Black Bear

Accommodations were comfortable and the food was plentiful and very good. The guides are hard working and knowledgeable of the terrain and bear habits. There are a lot of bears on this lease and hunters were bringing in bears every day. Mine was taken on the fourth day of a five day hunt. Always a lot of laughter and good natured smack talk in the old school house. I had a great hunt and collected a beautiful blonde bear.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Dec 4, 2014

Outfitter Review: Boulder Creek Outfitters - Peck ID

Outfitter / Owner:

Hunter: Steve Pometta

Animals Hunted: Mule Deer

I have never booked with an outfitter before and decided to pamper myself this year. My friend and I had a really good hunt and would like to do it again someday. Accommodations were good, not great, but we were comfortable and warm. Plenty of game and great guides that worked their tail off for us. I never saw any trophy size bucks come into camp but the bucks taken were respectable and matched what was advertised. The only reason I could see for not taking a buck would be being too choosy or not being able to connect. The two of us hunted three days to fill our tags, this is big country so be prepared to shoot some longer distances. These guys are good at what they do, take care of you while out in the field and feed you good to. I hope to do it again someday.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Dec 3, 2014

Outfitter Review: Boulder Creek Outfitters - Peck ID

Outfitter / Owner:

Hunter: Jeff Castagnola

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer, Elk, Mule Deer, Black Bear

Since 2005 I have booked this hunt 76 times for myself my brother and friends and colleagues. for groups of up to twelve. I work for a great company and for a number of years this has been somewhat of a corporate retreat for a number of us. in all of these hunts we have had 100% opportunity. we have been 100% successful on elk every time and when we didn't shoot a deer also it was because we were holding out for something bigger or used our deer tag for a bear. The elk we have killed over the years have ranged between 250" and 320" and the mule deer have ranged up to a 196" Boone and crocket officially scored that one of our group shot a few years back.As mentioned these are combo deer and elk hunts and in Idaho a nonresident can use their deer tag for a cougar or bear as well as deer. as a bonus we have killed a number of bears on these hunts up to a true seven footer. What you should expect:A warm place to sleep but not anything fancy.A lot of country (55,000 acres)steep rugged terrain (be in shape)opportunity at trophy quality animals both Elk and Mule deer. I have hunted most of the western states and I return to this ranch over and over because of the animals.because this is such big country you should be proficient at shooting at long ranges to the best of your ability. more important than that is to know your ability and let your guide know what that is.I highly recommend if you are going to spend this kind of money on a hunt that you spend a lot of time at the range shooting and determining your maximum comfortable range.over the years we have brought lets say some less than prepared shooters. They have always gotten these hunters their animals but it makes it a lot harder than it needs to be.If you are looking for a no frills high success rate for quality animals hunt than I would say this is for you.If you are looking for a spa hunt than well maybe not for you

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Dec 2, 2014

Outfitter Review: Boulder Creek Outfitters - Peck ID

Outfitter / Owner:

Hunter: Pete Diny

Animals Hunted: not specified

My buddy and I were looking for HIGH opportunity as possible on 6X6 elk as possible. BOULDER CREEK OUTFITTERS in Idaho delivered! 13 elk hunters in camp, by end of 3rd day 11 6X6 or bigger harvested and the two that didn't get one, each missed! WOW now that is Success!!

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Dec 2, 2014

Outfitter Review: Boulder Creek Outfitters - Peck ID

Outfitter / Owner:

Hunter: Dennis Nicholson

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

My hunt with Boulder Creek started with Matt Craig booking my whitetail hunt in November and extended thru the entire staff. The accommodations are rustic but very comfortable! Three very filling meals were prepared daily with an assortment of snacks available. The guides are very knowledgeable of the country and the game that you are hunting. My guide put me in position several time to harvest a buck and finally I harvest and nice respectable 5 by 5 whitetail just before last shooting time on the second day of my scheduled 5 day hunt.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Dec 2, 2014

Outfitter Review: Boulder Creek Outfitters - Peck ID

Outfitter / Owner:

Hunter: Dennis Nicholson

Animals Hunted: not specified

Boulder Creek Outfitters made my Whitetail deer hunt of a lifetime come true! It all started with Matt Craig setting up my November rut hunt andextended thru the entire staff. The accommodations are rustic but very comfortable, if you went hungry it was your own fault. They prepared three filling meals daily and numerous snacks were available. Their guides are very knowledgeable of the hunting area and the movements of the animals.My guide put me in position several times to take a buck before I decided on the one trophy that I did harvest! I took a respectable 5 by 5 just before last shooting time on my second day of the hunt.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Dec 2, 2014

Outfitter Review: Boulder Creek Outfitters - Peck ID

Outfitter / Owner:

Hunter: Paul Scott

Animals Hunted: Elk, Mule Deer

Great hunt, everyone worked hard. They have elk and work hard to get you on them.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Oct 17, 2014

Outfitter Review: Boulder Creek Outfitters - Peck ID

Outfitter / Owner:

Hunter: Duke Kretschmann

Animals Hunted: not specified

Myself and a buddy just got back from an elk hunt in Idaho. This outfitter and the property we hunted on was fantastic! They claimed we would have a 100% opportunity on a 6x6 elk or larger, they were absolutly correct, my buddy and I both shot nice 6x6 elk on the 3rd day. there was no baloney with these guys, everything they claimed was true which we have found in past to be rare.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: May 12, 2014

Outfitter Review: Boulder Creek Outfitters - Peck ID

Outfitter / Owner:

Hunter: Glen Lovelace

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer, Elk, Mule Deer

My 18 year old son and I drew resident controlled hunt elk and mule deer tags and then bought out-of state whitetail tags. We hired BCO for 7 day hunt and they helped us acheive a grand slam! BCO had excellent, very knowledgable, experienced, and hardworking guides. The food and lodging were adequate and not fancy but, who cares. They drive you to the day's hunting area. The huge area of private ranchland they lease contained more game than one will ever see on public land in the lower 48 states. They prefer you only take mature 6x6 bulls and it appeared the season we were there only one hunter of about 17, unwisely chose a lesser 5x5. We encountered by happenstance the whitetails, primarily during rainy, bad weather. My son shot a nice 10 point--his first whitetai! We both, with some effort, harvested nice mule deer. The country is scenic beyound belief and can be steep. Hunters need to be in moderately good condition. I cannot recommend BCO enough.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Dec 4, 2013

Outfitter Review: Boulder Creek Outfitters - Peck ID

Outfitter / Owner:

Hunter: Dean Parker

Animals Hunted: not specified

Awesome hunt, would recommend to anyone wanting a good trophy whitetail hunt. Great camp, food and guides. Matt runs a top notch outfit

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Dec 1, 2013

Outfitter Review: Boulder Creek Outfitters - Peck ID

Outfitter / Owner:

Hunter: Barry Stillman

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

Very nice hunt. Good accommodations, excellent guides, private land so no outside hunting pressure.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Nov 14, 2013

Outfitter Review: Boulder Creek Outfitters - Peck ID

Outfitter / Owner:

Hunter: Duane Bartholomew

Animals Hunted: not specified

I had a great time with boulder creek outfitters. Hunting on private cattle ranches, not to see any other hunters around for miles was awesome. The game was plentiful and impressive.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Sep 27, 2013

Outfitter Review: Boulder Creek Outfitters - Peck ID

Outfitter / Owner:

Hunter: Scott Robinson

Animals Hunted: Elk, Mule Deer

Things were as advertised. Guides were great, accomodations nice and food was ok.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Jul 30, 2013

Outfitter Review: Boulder Creek Outfitters - Peck ID

Outfitter / Owner:

Hunter: Jim Morrisroe

Animals Hunted: not specified

I booked this hunt for my father-in-law and me while I was deployed to Afghanistan. I chose this outfitter because they were featured on an outdoor show I saw. Matt made it easy for me, and he answered all my questions by email. My father-in-law has arthritic ankles, and he has trouble walking up and down steep terrain. Matt promised he could get him on animals anyway. We had a great hunt and saw a lot of animals. We both ended up bagging nice bucks, and on the same day. Our guides took great care of us, the accommodations were good, and our camp cook kept us satisfied with hot breakfast and dinner, and bag lunches. Our animals were taken care of by guys who know what they are doing. Everyone was friendly, and we made friends with many other hunters during our stay. Matt made sure our meat was shipped to us from the butcher. The area we hunted was beautiful and wild. We also saw many hunters take nice elk and nice whitetails too. I recommend this outfit, and I would like to bring my father-in-law back for another hunt sometime.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Jul 26, 2013

Outfitter Review: Boulder Creek Outfitters - Peck ID

Outfitter / Owner:

Hunter: Jason Sidel

Animals Hunted: Black Bear

I really enjoyed hunting with BCO. They were my first outfitter ever and I chose them because they didn't try to feed me a bunch of stories. Their comments to me were realistic. When I got to camp, we had very good discussions on what our expectations were and they worked with us to meet those. This included size of bear, color of bear, type of stand we were willing to use, our physical abilities, etc. This made the experience really nice. We had three hunters in camp and all three tagged out within the first 3 days (one of us on the first day and the other two hunters saw other bears that they chose not to shoot). The largest bear squared at 6' and was black in color. We had two pretty color phase bears that squared approximately 6' and 5'. These guys worked very hard for us every day from the preparation to getting us into location to the care of the animal. I also liked the fact that they took the time to answer our questions as it was the first bear hunt for all three of us. They might have smiled at the question, but never made us feel foolish for those that we asked. In addition to the hunt, we ate very well during the whole week we were there. I am planning another hunt back to BCO in the future with my kids.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Jul 25, 2013

Outfitter Review: Boulder Creek Outfitters - Peck ID

Outfitter / Owner:

Hunter: Kyle Ferrulli

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

If I do another guided whitetail hunt I would definately come back here. I shot a nice 4X4 buck on the first morning with guides Shane and Kayle in the Peck area. About a 200 yard shot. Probably a 130 class buck, my first whitetail.I wasn't sure who was more excited, Kayle who spotted the buck or me. I was ecstatic and couldn't believe it happened as quick as it did. I did stay out the rest of the day to tag along with the other hunter who eventually took about the same type of buck. The guides were great. Shane has a lot of knowledge of the area and wants to help you get a nice deer. The terrain is perfect for deer and we seen both muleys and whitetail. If I make it out that way for a hunt again I would like to hold out for a bigger deer knowing thier there.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Jul 24, 2013

Outfitter Review: Boulder Creek Outfitters - Peck ID

Outfitter / Owner:

Hunter: Ron Spomer

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

Easy-going, agreeable guide knew the land, the game and its habits. Used that knowledge to locate a particular buck he'd been seeing while scouting, then to stalk in for a good shot. Stunning country, challenging terrain but guide made hunt as easy, fun and productive as I could hope. He worked well with my wife, too, helping her without undue pressure. We were both comfortable and happy with all aspects of the hunt.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Jul 24, 2013

Outfitter Review: Boulder Creek Outfitters - Peck ID

Outfitter / Owner:

Hunter: Gary Van Cleave

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

This guided hunt was my first. The country was beautiful, the meals were great and the amenities were good. I saw over 100 bucks in my 3 days at BCO, with 20% of these 8 points or better. There was a monster that might have been 14+ but could not get in front of him (across the canyon) to get a better look. Definite wall hangers and some trophies. I would recommend BCO to anyone wanting to get away and enjoy the friendly hospitality and the great outdoors.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Jul 24, 2013

Outfitter Review: Boulder Creek Outfitters - Peck ID

Outfitter / Owner:

Hunter: Jerry Lee

Animals Hunted: Elk, Mule Deer

These guys are great. They cater to your ability and hunting style with their guides and the terrain that you hunt. There were several clients at the lodge and many had different criteria about what made a good hunt - all were pleased with the service that I know of. The country is beautiful and with so much land to cover, we had a different place to hunt each day. This is not necessarily an easy place to hunt because of the extreme terrain. Being in shape is an advantage for the Mule deer and Elk hunts. However, these guys have great access and the ability to get you into the areas where the game are so if that is a problem they will make it work. I have never seen so much area with so much game and so few hunters. You will not regret hunting with these guys.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Apr 1, 2013

Outfitter Review: Elk Springs Outfitters - McCall ID

Outfitter / Owner: Albert Bayer

Hunter: Kevin Meyers

Animals Hunted: Elk, Mule Deer, Black Bear

We had an awesome hunt and one heck of an adventure. Al and Shanna are amazing people and went above and beyond my expectations. The camp and food were great and we were definitely well taken care of. I would definitely recommend Elk Springs Outfitters to anyone who is up for the adventure.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Feb 11, 2013

Outfitter Review: Elk Springs Outfitters - McCall ID

Outfitter / Owner: Albert Bayer

Hunter: Sandy Wright

Animals Hunted: not specified

Al and Shana are fantastic outfitters. They take good care of you. The country is beautiful and rugged. This is a hunt if you want adventure animals are not going to be on the doorstep. But Al keeps his baits up and really works hard for you. The area is secluded and beautiful. Camp is right on the river. First year we went, we had to take a bush plane in, that was worth the whole trip. This year we were able to drive to camp and that is an adventure too.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Feb 10, 2013

Outfitter Review: Elk Springs Outfitters - McCall ID

Outfitter / Owner: Albert Bayer

Hunter: Larry Wright

Animals Hunted: not specified

Great hunt my wife and I had a great time Al and Shana are the best been there two years in a row would love to go back

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Feb 9, 2013

Outfitter Review: Elk Springs Outfitters - McCall ID

Outfitter / Owner: Albert Bayer

Hunter: Russell Orlowitz

Animals Hunted: not specified

Great hunt and truly good folks at Elk Springs! I would highly recommend them to anyone who wants a quality remote spring bear hunt. After over 2 months of researching over 75 outfitters I decided on Elk Springs Outfitters out of McCall Idaho. I liked what they had to say on the web site but still had several questions of my own. I wrote Al & Shana (Owners) several times asking all the questions I and my wife had. My wife was a non-hunter but AL & Shana had no issues with her coming along on the hunt to watch and made her part of the hunt. They responded quickly with direct answers and their answers all proved to be 100% accurate. A real highlight to me is that you or you and your hunting partner are the only two hunters in camp. No other completion so all attention is on you. Also I really liked the fact that Al is the guide and owner so there is no middle man. This spring bear hunt was a fly in trip and they helped with the flight arrangements which was a big help. Once the 30 minute flight was over we met with Shana at the air strip and headed off to camp via ATVs. Camp was just what we expected. Nothing fancy, the hunters stay in a large wall tent with a wood stove and an outhouse about 30 yards away. The main building where meals are cooked and eaten was about 50 yards from the tent so everything is nice and close. Once we got settled in we had lunch and met with Al who was out baiting the sites. He asked what we wanted to do that night and I said hunt so we did. Via ATVs we rode to one of the 5 baited sites that Al baits every day so the bears are there and interested. This site was about a 1.5 mile walk to the site and he showed us the area with the best places to sit etc. Once we felt comfortable Al left going to scout some other areas. He gave me a 2 way radio so if we did get one to call, if not he would meet us at sun down. Short story is I took the first of my two bears that night. A nice black colored bear and we saw a black wolf on the way into the site. For the rest of the hunt I went out every morning with Al (my choice but you do not have too) as he baited the sites just in case a bear was on the baits. Of the 6 mornings we saw bears 5 of the 6 mornings. Of the 5 bait sites we saw bears on 3 of the 5 sites with a total of 8 different bears in 5 days of hunting. Of the 8 bears we saw three where color phased with 2 cinnamon and one chocolate. Al has a few trail cameras on the baits and we saw several other bears via the cameras but not during shooting hours. On the 6th evening I took a cinnamon color bear that I had passed 2 days earlier. Two of the sites are a nice 1.5 mile walk in, one site is about 1/2 a mile walk, one site is no hike at all and the last is about 200 yards. Al will suggest which sites he thinks will be best but it is your choice where to hunt. All sites are accessed via ATVs with the farthest site being about 8 miles from camp. Shana is the camp cook and all the meals where very good and we had plenty to eat every day. The meals changed every day so it was not the same meal day after day. Al did all the skinning of the bears and does a great job. I am having the black bear done in a full mount and the taxidermist was very happy with Al's work. This is a two bear area and the tags are cheap at $32 each. On average these are not huge bears with most being in the 175/200 pound range but we did see one chocolate that was well over 300 pounds but just could not get the shot. Per Idaho law you do not have to take the meat but we did and Al had no issue with that. They have a small freezer run by a generator to keep the meat cold to frozen. In addition to the bears we saw one wolf, several deer and elk and more grouse and chucker's than you could count which sure added to the hunt. During the day Al & Shana had no issues with letting us take the ATVs for a ride to see some of the local sights like the grave yard, old building sites, the river etc. Al and Shana are hard working and very honest folks who love what they do and do a great job. They are there for you and are very flexible and will try and accommodate all your wishes. My wife and I highly recommend them in fact we will be hunting with them again in the fall 2013 for a deer/wolf combo hunt. The only possible negative comment I can say it that the trip/hunt was over to soon.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Feb 8, 2013

Outfitter Review: Elk Springs Outfitters - McCall ID

Outfitter / Owner: Albert Bayer

Hunter: Bob Ainsley

Animals Hunted: Elk, Mule Deer, Black Bear

I cannot say enough about Elk Springs Outfitters I have done numinous hunts in the west and ESO far exceeds all the other outfitters I have used. The camp accommodations are excellent, the quality and number of game is better than any hunt I have been on. Camp food, well donít tell my wife but I ate better in camp then I get at home. Al takes his time to get to know his customers and their expectations and needs of the hunt I have not found a harder working outfitter to put you on game on any of my previous hunts. ESO is the only outfitter I will use for my next western hunting adventure.Bob Ainsley

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Feb 8, 2013

Outfitter Review: Elk Springs Outfitters - McCall ID

Outfitter / Owner: Albert Bayer

Hunter: shawn panick

Animals Hunted: Wolf

If your looking for a hunt in a Wilderness area of ID,i would highly recomend this outfitter.Al anf Shana are two of nicest people and are always willing to go out of there way to ensure you have an enjoyable experience.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Oct 23, 2012

Outfitter Review: Clark Fork Outfitters - Naples ID

Outfitter / Owner: Leon Brown

Hunter: Eric Fluge

Animals Hunted: Elk, Black Bear

I booked a bear, elk, deer hunt with Clark Fork Outfitters beginning Oct 6, 2012 for roughly nine days but was prepared to stay longer if needed. On my first day out, Leon Brown, owner of Clark Fork Outfitters and my-self set out to track a bear. I had the option to hunt over a bait pile but we used hounds the first time out instead. Within the first 6 hours they had me on a bear Ė I took a nice brown/blonde bear. Hunting with hounds was unique to say the least and I'm thrilled to be able to experience it. Four days later my brother joined me for the opening of elk season. Leon was again our guide Ė 2 to 1 hunter/guide ratio was nice. Day one of elk season I shot a 6x6 and hit front shoulder but no vitals. Leon tracked the elk for 2 days by hoof print (the blood dried up) and eventually I got another shot on the elk and put it down. I'm sure most would have given up but Leon was confident that we would get it. The tracking job he did to get that animal was amazing and very much appreciated. Two days later my brother filled his tag with a 5x5 elk and again, Leon was there again to cape it out, quartered it and help pack it out. All the guides at Clark Fork Outfitters are extremely knowledgeable on the species you hunt and area they guide in. The meals were outstanding and snacks and drinks were plentiful. The accommodations were excellent and it didnít take long to feel like I was at home and part of the family.As a whole, the entire trip was worth the time and investment. I highly recommend Leon and his crew at Clark Fork Outfitters if you are looking for relaxing accommodations, friendly atmosphere, aggressive guides and a physical challenge. It was a pleasure, a treat and an experience of a lifetime. Eric Fluge Ė Fargo, North Dakota

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Jul 3, 2012

Outfitter Review: Hamilton Outfitters - Rupert ID

Outfitter / Owner: Jay Hamilton

Hunter: Randall Raziano

Animals Hunted: not specified

Outstanding hunt, great group of guys. Really worked hard with the horses and got me into elk (and moose) every day. Called two different 6 point bulls within 15 yards of me. Cant wait to go back.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Oct 5, 2011

Outfitter Review: Wild Idaho Outfitters - ID

Outfitter / Owner: George

Hunter: Tom Metzner

Animals Hunted: Black Bear

I hunted 4 days of a scheduled 5 day black bear hunt with this outfitter out of Challis, Id. Do yourself a favor and stay away from this guy. There were 7 hunters in camp all hunting either bear, elk or dear. In the 4 days I was there, only 2 shots were taken and no tags filled. I understand that an outfitter can't control the game, but his camp was terrible. The food was the worst I've ever seen with a guided hunt. His equipment was substandard. All of the hunters in camp had the same opinion of this guy. They were very experienced elk hunters and all were extremly disappointed in the number and quality of the game as well as the quality of the camp. One hunter left after only 2 days of a 7 day hunt, he was that disgusted.Do yourself a favor, save your money, time and effort and go somewhere else. I gave him 1 star because the form would not let me leave NONE.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Mar 10, 2011

Outfitter Review: LocKey U Outfitters Inc. - Grangeville ID

Outfitter / Owner: Frank and Terri Schmitz

Hunter: Aaron USMC

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer, Elk, Black Bear

Misrepresentation of success rates.→ Advertising misrepresentation of the quality of animals a hunter can expect to encounter. → Frequent stacking of multiple hunters on the same clear-cut. → Illegal baiting of wildlife within that Unit. → Several instances of theft of personal property.→ Vandalism of unattended vehicles parked at the trailhead frequently used by Lockey U Outfitters. → Repeated harassment of non-client hunters. → Dumping of client hunters on roads and clear-cuts rather than in the ďback country.ĒPlease see this site for further info!http://www.lockeyuoutfitters.com

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Dec 19, 2010

Outfitter Review: Boulder Creek Outfitters - Peck ID

Outfitter / Owner:

Hunter: Bob George

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

We had the pleasure of hunting with Tim & Matt Craig in White Bird, Idaho while filming an episode of "Boone and Crockett Country" that will air next season. All I can say is that the Craigs who are the owners of Boulder Creek do it right in every sense of the word. They know their property from top to bottom and know how to change when the weather forces you to change. We encountered 70 MPH winds on one day as well as driving rain and snow on others. When it was all said and done Tim and Matt knew how to get us on some really nice White Tail and most importantly film a great episode. We saw a ton of White Tail as well as some huge Mule Deer. Our tags were for White Tail and thanks to the Craigs we were able to take two really nice White Tail Deer. You may not think of Idaho for White Tail but if your looking for a new adventure from the mid west give Tim or Matt a call. I guarantee you will not regret it. I have had the pleasure of hunting all over the United States and have hunted several properties of Boulder Creek Outfitters for White Tail and Turkey. Each time I have never been disapointed. I highly recommend Boulder Creek Outfitters-Idaho for an enjoyable hunt. Almost forgot we took a 4x4 and a 6x5. Bob George National Sales & Marketing Manager Buck KnivesPost Falls, Idaho

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Oct 31, 2010

Outfitter Review: Russell Pond Outfitters - St. Maries ID

Outfitter / Owner: Joe Cabral

Hunter: GARY FEMC

Animals Hunted: Elk

This outfitter is located in Idaho I will give credit where credit is due. The guides know the area and hunt you hard for the full 6 days, equipment provide was to notched test,cabins,mules, food,etc. I will be back.

Submit Date: May 13, 2010

Outfitter Review: Middle Fork Outfitters - Idaho

Outfitter / Owner: Ron and Karla Ens

Hunter: Fred Solinger

Animals Hunted: mountain lion

I did not harvest an animal...snow conditions were as unfavorable as they could get! It snowed one or two times a little bit but then it melted during the day. Shouldn't do this the middle of February! We hunted hard and cut one track that went through bare ground and over some rock faces...I will head back in December as my license/tag will still be good. Great people, very hospitable and fun to be around!

Submit Date: Mar 14, 2010

Outfitter Review: Heaven's Gate Outfitters - Idaho

Outfitter / Owner: Darwin Vander Esch

Hunter: Mitchell Windham

Animals Hunted: Mule deer

Darwin's daughter was my guide.Dispute started from beginning, booked through McCarthy Adventures and Darwin stated we stole money from him due to his commission he had to pay. I have taken three mulies in 190 range and explained didn't want to kill something small just to kill one. Shot mulie first full day guide guaranteed it was sited week before and biggest one on the ranch, it scored maybe 130. Deer was bedded 428yards. Spent more time instructing on how to tip properly than anything else. I've hunted from Africa to BC and by far the WORST HUNT I have ever experienced. Bank held check by mistake but all he wanted to do was threat suit even when all was corrected. It's nothing but a con unless you want to just shoot something. Told over and over friend could hunt there with heart condition but ground very rough even though I discussed this 3x before booking. Booking agent was no help just didn't want to be bothered after deposits were made. I would have rather given $5,0000.00 to Salvation Army. I'll never hunt Idaho again.

Submit Date: Feb 10, 2010

Outfitter Review: Southfork outfitters - Idaho

Outfitter / Owner: Ralph Hatter

Hunter: Darlene Rodriguez

Animals Hunted: Cougar

Ralph Hatter and his guides worked extremely hard in poor weather conditions to find us our cougar. Mr. Hatter couldn't have been any more accomodating.I would say that Southfork Outfitters goes well beyond what is expected. I would definetly recommend them to everyone. I don't think there is anyone else I would rather hunt with.

Submit Date: Jan 28, 2010

Outfitter Review: Ace Outfitters Idaho - Idaho

Outfitter / Owner: Chad Mohr

Hunter: Duane Watlington

Animals Hunted: Mountain Lion

I hunted mountain lion with Chad in January 2010. 7 day hunt and I killed my lion on the 6th day. Unusually warm and wet weather we had so finding good fresh tracks was challenge, but we had a fresh snow on day five and killed my lion on day 6. Chad and another houndsman Kurt gave 110% effort to get me on a lion. He takes a limited number of hunters each year which insures good populations of game. Highly recomended.

Submit Date: Jan 16, 2010

Outfitter Review: Ace Outfitters - Idaho

Outfitter / Owner: Chad Mohr

Hunter: Sean Pierce

Animals Hunted: Mt. Lion

The people at Ace Outfitters are top notch. Me and my buddy went on a seven day hunt. I killed a 160 pound cat on the second day. Unfortunately my buddy didn't kill a cat due to the weather taking a turn for the worse (warm temps and no snow). But our guides still were able to run cat's on three different occassions even on dry ground (they have awesome dogs). Me and my buddy have already re-booked hunts for next year.

Submit Date: Dec 14, 2009

Outfitter Review: Boulder Creek Outfitters - Idaho

Outfitter / Owner: Tim Craig

Hunter: John O'Dell

Animals Hunted: Mountain Lion

This outfitter does its homework. They put you on game. Guides work extremely hard. I hope to go back for a deer hunt soon.

Submit Date: Dec 7, 2009

Outfitter Review: Boulder Creek Outfitters - Idaho

Outfitter / Owner: Tim & Matt Craig

Hunter: Scott Haugen

Animals Hunted: mule deer, elk, bear, whitetails

I've hunted several species with Boulder Creek Outfitters over the past few years. The country is big and rugged, so come in shape. It's some of the most beautiful land I've ever set foot on, and the knowledge of the staff is top-notch. Plenty of animals and the better shape you're in, the better the odds of filling tags. I'm planning on going back again next season for bear, turkey, deer and elk. I've had many family members on this hunt, and they all loved it...everyone wants to keep going back!

Submit Date: Nov 10, 2009

Outfitter Review: Panhandle Outfitters - Idaho

Outfitter / Owner: Tom Loder

Hunter: Ron Sanger

Animals Hunted: Elk / Bear

I was one of eight hunters who took a bull elk, none of the others even had a sighting in 6 days, 1 hunter took an average whitetail.Wolfs in the area apparently a huge problem in the panhandel hunt area 6-7 of Idaho! I've tried to contact the owner several times since the hunt to have pictures emailed from harvest sight with no responce. Also while at the butcher in Cor'Delene this jerk Tom Loder, the owner bragged to his friend the butcher how he fried my ass the first day out, not knowing I could over hear him.

Submit Date: Nov 5, 2009

Outfitter Review: Shattuck Creek Outfitters - ID

Outfitter / Owner: Amon Molsee

Hunter: William P Sacco

Animals Hunted: Elk, Deer, Bear, Wolf, Cougar

While the Molsee's are very very nice people, it pains me to have to write this, a guide service they are not! The basic Elk/Deer hunt cost $3,800.00 for 7 days. After travel expenses, License's and other fee's total out of pocket cost is around $5,500.00 per person. While the food at camp was great thanks to their wonderful cook "Gabby" the rest of the hunt was an utter disaster. Guide Services are PAID WELL to know where the animals are at. It is the part of hunting I don't have the time to do. It's called "scouting" and a good scout knows where the animals in his area are and where they go in any and all hunting conditions. Shattuck Creek Outfitters exhibited none of these essential qualities. The so called guides drop you off at designated stands/blinds and leave you there for the day. These stands/blinds appear to be placed in the same locations year after year. The one exception was "Luke" who actually stayed with his hunter throughout the day. Hunting pressure in this area also adds to the lack of success since it is public land and the "locked gates" touted by the Outfitter can be driven around on quads which is exactly what he uses. I can understand that not all hunts go the way we want but ask your self this: If you are sitting in an area glassing and notice a very nice size bull elk grazing in small opening about 1000 yards away. Then you notice someone 500 yards to your right standing on the side of a mountain clearing "walking around and throwing sticks over the side" and finding out it is the OWNER of the Guide Service.... well you make the call.

Submit Date: Aug 17, 2009

Outfitter Review: Clark Fork Outfitters - Idaho

Outfitter / Owner: Michael White

Hunter: Len Neeper

Animals Hunted: Black Bear

My friend and I hunted with Clark Fork for spring black bear in 2009. We never saw or met the owner Michael White although I did speak with him on the phone and we did email watch other before the hunt. He leaves all the details to his very capable camp manager Dave Mears. Dave and guides Leon & Tim are all very hard working and knowledge guys. They will, and do, work hard for you. We didn't see many bears because they were being nocturnal and hitting the baits at night.We did however hunt with dogs and this was a new and FANTASTIC experience for me. If you have never hunted bears with dogs you owe it to yourself to go with guys and try it. Tim and Leon seem to be excellent houndsmen. The dogs were successful for me and treed a very, very nice male bear. It took us over 2 hours to hike back to where the dogs had him treed. It was a GREAT hunt!! My partner did not get a bear this trip but it was not from a lack of effort from our guides. That's just hunting.

Submit Date: Jul 15, 2009

Outfitter Review: boulder creek outfitters - Idaho

Outfitter / Owner: tim craig

Hunter: Fred Solinger

Animals Hunted: Black Bear

I hunted spring bear in 2005 with BCO. I saw one good bear on the second night with no opportunity as the stands were set up in terrible spots with no concealment. I was archery hunting. On the third day my guide and I headed for the back country and had a blast, however the hunting sucked...no bears, nothing hitting baits...in fact, I helped the guide build some blinds and bait some new spots. The baits were not active and those stands were 30+ yards from the baits and High in small trees!! I am a farrier and the horses were not in good shape...one couldn't be rode out of the woods so I rode a knot head out...there farrier hadn't shown...I know a couple of the animals were kicky...I don't like showing up at those barns either!! The cooks and guides busted their butts and did everything they could. The baits were way over hunted and not active. We have great success in MN bear hunting and we do everything DIFFERENT than Tim does.....Live and Learn....

Submit Date: Apr 8, 2009

Outfitter Review: Korell Outfitters - Idaho

Outfitter / Owner: Chris Korell

Hunter: Stephen V. Chmura

Animals Hunted: couger

Me and my friend each harvested mature cat's the same day on the second day of the hunt, out of the same tree in heavy snow. There was four mature cat's, three in one tree, one in the next tree. absolutely amazing, wouldn't trade this hunt for the world. On the fourth day I harvested a big mature tom bobcat off a mule deer kill, totally amazing. The hunt was demanding, incredible, and simply breath taking. If you don't believe it I have it all on video.

Submit Date: Mar 21, 2009

Outfitter Review: Boulder Creek - ID

Outfitter / Owner: Tim Craig

Hunter: j beitler

Animals Hunted: elk/deer/bear

myself my buddie and his two sons booked this hunt for sept 2008 fly in hunt to area 17. pretty much everything went wrong from the begining, we flew out of hamilton mt. they were late flying us in,only had 1 plane for 12 guys and gear and supplies,which delayed our ride to moose creek,7 1/2 hour horse back ride not like the 3 hours like we were told (2 hours in the dark) camp cook had a dog along couldn't take the walk to camp and went down on the trail had to be rescued 3 days later.the boys guide aaron was very experienced and knew the area and managed to get one of the boys an average 5x5(only 2 bulls and 1 small muley shot out of 3 camps /12 hunters in 6 days) our guide had never hunted this area and got lost(with a gps)everytime we hunted with him, arron had to pack ot the elk which left us with 1 guide(unfamilar to the area) to 4 hunters( he still had a deer/bear tag)and arron didn't return till the next day,yes i saw some beautiful country as tim craig mention to me after my hunt but i wasn't exactly on a sight seeing expedition

Submit Date: Mar 14, 2009

Outfitter Review: Heaven's Gate - Idaho

Outfitter / Owner: Darwin Vander Esch

Hunter: Louis Morales Jr.

Animals Hunted: Elk

The conditions were not ideal for the archery hunt as it was very hot (90's) in the middle of the day and the moon was full. Despite this we got into elk at times but they were not talking as much. Did harvest a decent 5 point on the 3rd day. My buddy got a bear on the last day. Did not see much after that. Darwin runs a very good and organized camp. I believe the quality of the elk there are much better than what we encountered but the conditions played a major role. I still would recommend this place.

Submit Date: Mar 12, 2009

Outfitter Review: Little Wood River Outfitters - Idaho

Outfitter / Owner: Robert Hennefer

Hunter: Steve Woodcock

Animals Hunted: Elk

This was a terrible experience for me. I learned a huge lesson. We were told to expect to take a bull that was between 300-350. My guide told me to shoot a bull that I had reservations about and said that it was a GOOD 5X5 at dusk on the next to last night. I shot it and we got to it and it was a rag head 3X4. I am very disappointed with this outfitter. This outfit was not organized and did not care about us at all. They even got us lost and we had to spend the night out in the middle of nowhere because our guide could not find the horses!!

Submit Date: Mar 3, 2009

Outfitter Review: Boulder Creek Outfitters - idaho

Outfitter / Owner: Tim Craig

Hunter: vernon raymond

Animals Hunted: mountain lion

This is a first class operation. All my expectations were met or surpassed. Everything was well prepared from my first contact with the outfitter to my return to the airport. The guides worked non-stop to make sure I was givena chance to harvest my animal.I have nothing but good things to say. Everything was outstanding!

Submit Date: Feb 21, 2009

Outfitter Review: B bar C Outfitters - Idaho

Outfitter / Owner: Joe Cabral

Hunter: Joe Barrett

Animals Hunted: Bear

Great Hunt! 6 guys in camp and everyone scored. 4 color bears and 2 black. Great guides. Made you feel right at home. Going back for an elk hunt. I would recommend this Outfitter to anyone. No reason to look anywhere else.

Submit Date: Feb 20, 2009

Outfitter Review: Russell Pond / B Bar and C - idaho

Outfitter / Owner: Joe & Inga Cabral

Hunter: Brett Sauder

Animals Hunted: Black Bear

I went on this hunt in 2007 and took a nice 300+ Lbs. Black bear in my first 3 hours out in the woods and spooked another 200+ chocolate walking out. My friend shot one in the first hour and our other friend shot one the next day. There were six guy in camp and we all got a bear. These are some big woods so you need to get in shape and exercise before you head out. The guides were excellent and fun to hang out with. They will put you on game but its up to you to make the shot.

Submit Date: Feb 15, 2009

Outfitter Review: Boulder Creek Outfitter - idaho

Outfitter / Owner: Tim Craig

Hunter: vernon raymond

Animals Hunted: mountain lion

From the moment I was picked up at the airport until I was taken back, the guides had only one thing on their mind and that was to meet my expectations.We would start the day before daylight riding the mountain roads looking for mountain lion tracks that had been made during the night. Once tracks were seen we would turn the dogs loose and the adventure would begin.We would keep the dogs within hearing distance until they treed the cat, at which time we joined them to look over the animal and decide if I would be satisfied to harvest the mt. lion or pass. Clean cabins with all the amenities. A lodge to cook meals that you order. Friendly people that treat you like a friend. A first class operation that I look forward to doing business with again.

Submit Date: Dec 15, 2008

Outfitter Review: Boulder Creek Outfitters - Idaho

Outfitter / Owner: Tim Craig

Hunter: Louie Polish

Animals Hunted: Mtn Lion

We harvested 2 mtn Lion's in 3 days of hunting..Great area to hunt cats..

Submit Date: Dec 15, 2008

Outfitter Review: Boulder Creek Outfitters - Idaho

Outfitter / Owner: Tim Craig

Hunter: Richard Luchterhand

Animals Hunted: Mtn Lion

We had light amounts of snow and still had success. I got my cat on day 2.The lodge,accomadations and guides were great!Looking forward to another hunt with this group.

Submit Date: Nov 12, 2008

Outfitter Review: Heavens Gate - Idaho

Outfitter / Owner: Darwin Vander Esch

Hunter: Allen Sheaffer

Animals Hunted: Elk, Mule deer

Outfitter gave us an hour and a half lecture on how to hunt and general camp rules before we left his house,even down to the point of how to wipe my own rear end, no kidding, he told us to fold a paper towel in quarters so as to save him toilet paper. As for game,not very good,but there were a pack of 8 wolves in the area. My guide was excellent,tried his hardest.

Submit Date: Oct 29, 2008

Outfitter Review: Boulder Creek - Idaho

Outfitter / Owner: Tim Craig

Hunter: Tom Huff

Animals Hunted: Elk

I originally booked the September 2007 elk hunt with Lost Lakes Outfitters as a 1 on 1 hunt. I also talked two of my hunting partners into booing the same hunt dates as a one on one. All of us sent in our deposits early in 2007.Boulder Creek purchased Lost Lakes during the late winter/spring of 2007. I wrote the former owner to make sure nothing would be amiss in our reservations, deposits, hunts dates, etc. I was assurded by Phil that everything would be the same as if I had booked through Lost Lakes. (I had previously booked 2 hunts with Lost Lakes and knew the quality of the hunt I should be receiving). I felt better that my expectations would be met by the new owner.The first indication something was not right was when I received a letter from Tim Craig's organization showing I was now on a 2 on 1 hunt. One of my other partners received the same letter. The other buddy's statment showed he was still on a 1 on 1 and paying the extra fee 1 on 1 guide fee. We were all expectng 1 on 1. I called Tim Craig and spoke with him about the difference in what we had originally booked and what we were now receiving. I told him I had no issue paying the extra 1,000.00 for the 1 on 1 service. He said he couldn't do 1 on 1, couldn't afford to pay the guides for a 1 on 1 and didn't have enough guides for the 1 on 1. He did offer me my deposit back but also assured me that 2 on 1 would still be okay.I decided to go ahead with the hunt since I was the one who talked the other two into going. I was also expecting no more than four hunters in camp, which had been the norm on past hunts. Tim even mentioned the camp would have a total of four hunters.The morning we were to depart, one of my hunting buddies overheard that everyone on the hunt was on a 2 on 1 hunt. He had paid an extra $1,000 for the 1 on 1. He approached Tim Craig and about 1 on 1 and pointed out he had paid extra. Tim's response was to berrate and yell at my friend. Tim said no one paid extra for 1 on 1. Instead of checking with his office to verify the extra fee was paid he proceeded to tell my friend he had a good mind not to let him go on the hunt because he (Tim Craig) was afraid this hunter would spoil the hunt for the others. What a great way to treat a paying customer, who by the way, was in the right and Tim was in the wrong.We also found out there would be a total of 7 hunters in camp. How things change over a few months and in what you were told over the phone.A new twist was also thrown at us when were were told that instead of riding into camp we would now fly part way and have a short 3 hour ride from the landing strip to camp. The flight added 375.00 to the hunt and did not really present any of the added advantages Tim had told us. This was not originally part of the deal when we signed up for the hunt with Lost lakes. It took most of the day for the pilot to fly all the hunters to the base camp. There were more than the 7 going to our hunt. (By the way, keep in mind that if weather prevets take off and your hunt is delayed by a day or more, Tim Craig doesn't care since your hunt can't be extended or any portion refunded due to weather). We arrived by 7am the morning of departure and finally arrived at the landing strip by 2:30 that afternoon The flight was only about 45 minutes. When we arrived the horses were not ready for us to pack up and ride to camp. We waited another hour or more for the camp's previous hunters to pack out so we had horses and mules for the ride pack in.We got to the North Moose camp by 10;30-11:00pm that night. You should try riding/walking down that last moutain in the dark. And the trip was about 7 and a half hours, not the three we had been told.Camp had a cook tent, hunter's tent and guide tent. The issue here was the hunter's tent had space for 6 and there were 7 hunters. The guide tent had space for 4 and there were 4 guides. The cook tent already had the cook (female) with her cot in it. I was the odd man out when it came to tent space. I found a small 2 man tent used to store horse feed out behind the cook tent. The good news I was able to find a cot and set up my bedroll outback in that tent. Not the most comfortable since it was a small tent without a ground cloth or floor. It sufficed as a covered and protected me from the elements but again was not what I expected since the advertisement was for a "heated hunters tent" that I thought I had paid for.My buddy did get his 1 on 1 hunt and was fortunate enough to take a nice 6X6 but I can assure you Tim Craig gave him very bad feelings before we had ever left the ground to fly over and my friend was "down" about the hunt after being yelled at. I know that if Tim had offered him a refund before we left the airport my buddy would have taken it and left. he was feeling bad about the entire encounter.I would be cautious when listening to Tim Craig explain the services you will recieve and can expect on one of his hunts. The good news for my buddy and me was that we both took elk inspite of the poor conditions at camp. We were the only ones out of 7 to take elk, that should tell you something. When I left mid-week, my remaining hunting buddy was expecting his hunt to now be 1 on 1 and for his chances to improve greatly. It actually got worse for him, the hunt went to 3 on 1 and with the increased ratio, little chance of success. In fact they did not see elk the rest of the week hunting in a 4 man group.I would not book another hunt with Boulder Creek based on this one hunt's expereince. I had booked three hunts with Lost lakes because the service (in the past) had been excellent and true to thier advertising. Tim Craig seems to be more intersted in the quantity of hunters on the hunt instead of the quality of the hunt for his customers.

Submit Date: Oct 23, 2008

Outfitter Review: Russel Pond - ID

Outfitter / Owner: Joe Cabral

Hunter: Greg Raymond

Animals Hunted: ELK

This was t true wilderness hunt for Elk in Idaho's Unit 10. Rode mules several hours back into the boonies from base camp. Tent camp was setup in a fantastic spot which allowed several drainages to be accessed from it. No shooting was heard the whole trip except from members of our hunting party. There were wolves in the area, but only found tracks of one pair the whole time. I can't emphasize enough how much being in shape can make a difference on a hunt of this type. Everything is either up or down, with hardly a flat place to be found. We saw lots of game, & the guides were very knowledgeable on how to get to them once they were located. I was unable to seal the deal on an Elk myself, but this was the hunt of a lifetime. Defintiely not for the faint of heart! My buddies & I skipped out on getting Deer tags this time, so wouldn't you know, several keeper Mule Deer bucks were spotted well within gun range, & one of my buddies had a 5x5 28-30 inch buck bedded 150 yards from him for a couple of hours! Next time WE WILL purchase Deer tags also.

Submit Date: Sep 18, 2008

Outfitter Review: Boulder Creek Outfitter - Idaho

Outfitter / Owner: Tim Craig

Hunter: Rob Gosney

Animals Hunted: Black Bear

My wife and I went on the fall bear hunt. There were a total of 5 hunters in camp for the 5 day hunt. One hunter got his bear the first hour on the hunt. Betweent the four of us we saw 31 bears in 5 days. This is counting the sow's with cubs. We saw game every day,everything from coyotes to elk to deer, including bear. Neither my wife or myself came home with a bear however i did shoot at two different bears. The only thing i would suggest is to be able to soot out to 300 yards or farther. Three of the hunters did have shots closer than 150 yards. Overall this was a great hunt, coming home with a bear would have been the iceing on the cake.

Submit Date: Aug 19, 2008

Outfitter Review: Southfork Outfitters - ID

Outfitter / Owner: Ralph Hatter

Hunter: MITCHELL GAITHER

Animals Hunted: DEER/ELK

I HAVE BEEN ON 56 OUT OF STATE HUNTS AND RALPH RANKS #1 BY FAR. HIM AND HIS TWO SONS ARE GOOD PEOPLE. THE WEATHER WAS UNBIELEVABLY HOT ANDI STILL SAW ALOT OF GAME. SAW A FEW GOOD BULLSBUT AGAIN THE TEMPS WERE WAY ABOVE NORMAL AND THEELK WERE MOVING AT NIGHT. SAW ALOT OF TURKEY ANDQUIET A BIT OF BEAR SIGN. HE ALSO DOES MT LION HUNTS. THE DEER HUNTING WAS UNBELIVABLE. I AM CONVINCED IT IS THE BEST PLACE IN THE US TO HUNT WHITETAIL DEER. I ONLY HUNT 7 HOURS AND SAW 102DOES AND 58 BUCKS. REMEMBER IT WAS VERY HOT. A FRIEND HUNTED THERE IN NOVEMBER AND HE SAID IN 5 DAYS HE SAW ALMOST 1000 DEER. YES THIS IS FAIR CHASE. I KILLED MY FIRST POPE AND YOUNG THERE. IT IS VERY AFFORDABLE. HE ONLY TAKES 6-10 HUNTERS A YEAR AND THE LAST TIME I TALKED TO HIM HE HAD NOT HUNTED THE PLACE IN 3 YEARS.E-MAIL ME IF YOU NEED MORE INFO.

Submit Date: Aug 4, 2008

Outfitter Review: Russell Pond Outfitter - Idaho

Outfitter / Owner: Joe Cabral

Hunter: Joe

Animals Hunted: Bear

I went in 2007 with 2 other guys and shot my bear the hour on the stand. A friend shot his 3 hours on the stand, and my uncle shot his on Monday. This was our first trip there. There were 6 guys in camp everyone got a bear. Four color phase and two black. Great trip with great people. I would recommend them to everyone.

Submit Date: Mar 11, 2008

Outfitter Review: Boulder Creek Outfitters - ID

Outfitter / Owner: Tim Craig

Hunter: Tom

Animals Hunted: ELK

Tim likes to over book his wilderness hunts and will tell you anything on the phone you want to hear. I should have backed out when I had the chance. The young guides tried hard to cover up their disgust with the camp but it was hard after getting to know them. 7 hours on a horse at night is no fun, a 1 on 1 hunt became 2 on 1 and after the third day it was 1 on 3. 2 elk out of 7 hunters in a camp we were told would hold 4. Guides and cook get high marks for making something out of nothing. His reply after was tough, and one of the guys questioned him at the airport prior to leaving and he threatened to leave him and keep his money. Tim Craig is an ass.

Submit Date: Mar 4, 2008

Outfitter Review: Boulder Creek Outfitters - Idaho

Outfitter / Owner: Tim Craig

Hunter: Dan Renda

Animals Hunted: Elk

This outfitter made a bad impression on decent outfitters.I hunted in 06.The sleeping tents had 12 inches of uncut growth on the floor.I e-mailed Mr. Craig with no reply.When I go to a sport show I seem to talk to other outfitters about this outfitter.Also most of the time we had to cook our own meals due to that the cook had to try to guide and take care of feeding the hunters.

Submit Date: Mar 2, 2008

Outfitter Review: Lochsa River Outfitters - ID

Outfitter / Owner: Sherry Nygard

Hunter: phil eichhorn

Animals Hunted: bear

i hunted with them in june of 2007,it was 1st class from go.They pick me up from the airport and 5 hours later my guide was skinning my 1st bear.Day 2 i passed on 4 bears .Day 3 their guide ernie went with me and sat on that hunt.45 mins later he was tell me to shoot,all i remember was him saying was monster monster shoot shoot,dam he was right.I shot the best bear of my life.It was a purfect 7 foot black with a huge skull.Every bait i hunted was trashed and loaded with sign.Ernie knows his stuff and works very hard to see that i had fun and get the game,and that he did,he was 1st class and i will never forget him,pus he can skin like a champ.The food was unreal,that ms nygard can cook, i think i gain 10 lbs.This was an excellent hunt i will return someday.Ernie stay on your game and find me a big colored bear i know you will. thanks queeny, dwayne ,and ernie for the great time i will be back phil

Submit Date: Feb 2, 2008

Outfitter Review: Middle Fork Outfitters - ID

Outfitter / Owner: Ron Ens

Hunter: Kevin Jeffers

Animals Hunted: ELK/MULE DEER

We were told that we would be in an area that had excellent game. In 7 days of hunting we saw One legal buck. Hiked about 10 miles a day and saw virtually no sign and very few game trails. You could not pay me to go on this hunt again! Packers were very well qualified, but I have never been so disappointed with a hunt! I was told that we would see 100-150 head of elk each day if we hunted hard. I assure you we hunted "hard"! Snow was on the ground and we didn't cut a single fresh elk track. We asked to be packed out early and Killed the 1 buck we saw half way to the stables on the way out. No way would I ever hunt with them again.

Submit Date: Jan 4, 2008

Outfitter Review: Boulder Creek Outfitters - ID

Outfitter / Owner: Tim Craig

Hunter: Steve Griffey

Animals Hunted: spring bear

This is a letter I wrote after our hunt to the owner..... Tim, I have delayed this letter with the hope that you would contact me or Bill Isley. However we havenít heard from you so I thought Iíd go ahead and write to you. First of all I wanted to find out what was going to become of Bill Isleyís trip money. We spoke several times about Bill not being able to make the trip and you assured me that you would work something out that was fair for him. Well, itís been over 2 months and he hasnít heard anything. I wanted to say a couple of things concerning how fair you will be with him. We had 6 hunters and 3 guides in camp our week. You told me it would be 2 hunters per guide. So if Bill would have come, who would have been his guide? By what you told me, you would have had to have another guide in camp. Also it took 2 full loads on the plane to get everyone in. If Bill had come, another plane would have had to come in and out. Our tent was full with the 6 of us so where would he have slept? Just keep in mind these things as well as little things like the food he didnít eat! Billís phone number at work is xxx-xxx-xxxx and at home is xxx-xxx-xxxxI also wanted to bring some things to your attention concerning our week of hunting. Please keep in mind nothing Iím about to tell you has anything to do with the fact I didnít kill a bear. I have hunted for 20 years and do not expect to kill an animal every time I go hunting. I believe a lot of things played a role in the fact I didnít kill anything. Weather being the biggest factor, if you remember we had rain, rain and more rain.The first and one of the biggest disappointments was almost as soon as we got on the ground in camp. Wade informed us that there was only 1 bowhunting stand in place. You knew from day one that Rob and I both were coming to bowhunt. Rob and I worked it out from a coin flip who got to bowhunt and who was going to gun hunt. Even your web site states: "Because of the rugged terrain, tree strands overlooking baits is by far the most successful method and we strategically place the stands to get you the best opportunity possible". However, no one was hunting out of tree stands. All the rifle hunters were expected to hunt from the ground. So were we not given the opportunity to hunt using the most successful method?! Later in the week another stand was put up. I was surprised to see not only the location it was in but how noisy it was. I told John, our guide that if I was trying to deer hunt out of the stand that every deer that approached would have either seen me or heard the stand creaking and squeaking. Again your web site states: "Our gear is of the best quality and our staff and guides are very knowledgeable and experienced to insure both your safety and success while hunting." John informed me that this stand was the first one he had ever put up! The next thing that became evident was how the baits were set up. You told me on more than one occasion that there were markers at the baits to judge how big the bears were. There were no such markers. You also told me we would be supplied with radios to contact the guides. The guides told us they donít give hunters radios. One of the funniest things you told me was not to shoot a bear the first night. Bring your video camera and film all the ones that come in you said. Then show the film to your guide and heíll tell you which one to shoot. It sure sounded good when we were on the phone, but come onÖÖÖÖÖÖÖÖ.Our biggest disappointment came later in the week when we found out that you and the Buckmaster guys were coming to camp. The disposition of the guides changed so dramatically, we (the guys who paid to hunt there) really didnít understand what was going on. The night you all got to camp we were all very surprised that you didnít even come over and say hello or come to ask how things were going! After all, we all spent about $2000.00 with you; a little courtesy hello would have been much appreciated and may have helped our moods. Anyway back to the Buckmasters! Wade had been mine and Robs guide for the first 3 days of hunting. We had really got along great with him and appreciated all he had done for us. Rob and I were both somewhat upset when we were told that he was now going to guide the Buckmaster guys. So Rob and I were split up and would be hunting with other guides. Wade had taken me into a bait that I really wanted to hunt again. Instead I was put on a bait that didnít look like it had been hit for a long long time and it didnít look like it had even been baited for a long time. Also we now had 3 hunters per guideÖexcept the Buckmaster guys. The last day of hunting found us again wondering what was going on. Wade finally came up to us and told us we would be hunting with the other guide again. I insisted on going with him to the bait I wanted to hunt the night before. I could tell he didnít want to take me to that bait, but he did anyway. Wade took me to within a 30 minute walk of the bait and turned me loose with a sack of bait. The rain never let up for almost 3 hours and I finally had enough of being wet and not seeing any bears. So I made my Peace with the mountains, accepted my defeat and headed out to where Wade had told me to meet him. I was a little more than surprised to hear Wade tell me that the Buckmaster guys had killed a Pope and Young class bear. Not only because I had hunted my ass off all week, but because they did it from the ground. Do you remember meeting me on the air strip that night? I walked the whole way out because I was so disappointed. The following morning while waiting for the rain to lift so we could get out. I tried to make conversation with the Buckmaster guys. I was shocked to learn that they did not kill that bear from the ground, but from a tree stand. (Hmmm remember when we were told there was only one tree stand in place for bowhunting?) One of the main purposes of this letter is to let you know how wrong every one of your PAYING hunters thought it was the way we were treated after Buckmasters got to camp. I understand why you would want them to have a good hunt to put on film. Not that those guys careÖbut for future paying hunters that you lure in with the videos that they sell with your name all over them. Tim, you really misled me on several different things concerning how the trip would be, as I pointed out above and I am really whized that I was lied to about only having one bow stand. I really donít understand why you would need to feed me the lines like you did. You already had my deposit money and most of the money for the trip. Why would you need to try to sell me on the trip some more? Iíve since heard the story of some other PAYING hunters from Kokomo who came out to hunt with you. They had a worse trip than we did. I really had a hard time believing how bad their trip went. Maybe I just made the wrong choice in outfitters. I donít know.One other thing that all of us felt bitter about was the cost of the flight in. I know itís expensive to run a camp like yours. But we all felt like there was more concern on getting as much of your stuff in the plane than the hunters and their gear. I'm pretty sure if we were only paying to get ourselves and our gear in, the cost of the flight would have been substantially less.If you care to rectify all of these feelings, Iím all ears. Just remember Iím not the only one upset. If you contact Dixon, Bob, Jeff or Rob you will get the same response. Arnie is the only one who was in camp with us that didnít voice an opinion of the way things went. So in closing, remember, I am an experienced hunter and I want nothing to do with canned hunts. Iím not upset that I didnít kill a bear. I only wanted what I paid for, the best chance I could have to take a bear. Not to be pawned off on a stale bait or to be lied to. I also want to add, I completely enjoyed being in camp with Wade, John, Jarred and Bob. They were all very personable and worked hard for us. Sincerely,Steve Griffey

Submit Date: Dec 28, 2007

Outfitter Review: Boulder Creek Outfitters - Idaho

Outfitter / Owner: Tim Craig

Hunter: Rod Bradley

Animals Hunted: Cougar

I hunted with Tim in December of 07. Conditions were perfect with new snow on the ground. On the second day of the hunt we turned the dogs out on a track and in no time they were barking treed. When I arrived at the tree, what I saw was an absolute monster of a cat. After going over the specifics with the guides, I was able to harvest a cat that scored 15 14/16" which will be placed very high in the record books. What an unbelievable hunt! The guides were excellent, the dogs worked flawlessly and I would highly recommend Tim and Boulder Creek Outfitters.

Submit Date: Dec 3, 2007

Outfitter Review: Kohls Outfitting - Idaho

Outfitter / Owner: Robin Kohls

Hunter: Steve Wilkins

Animals Hunted: Elk/deer

Did a wilderness drop camp(2007) into the selway/bitteroot out of Kooski Id. Nine hour ride into camp in the rain. Last hour in the dark.The guide had just come out from New York that june. Nice kid but had alot to learn.All our gear was wet and the tents leaked. Lanterns wouldn,t light, wood they had stacked was left uncovered and was wet. We were told the four of us would be the only ones that had hunted this area in two years. After he got our money he took 3 people in the week before us. He didn,t even have the courtesy to meet us the morning we rode to camp. Between the four of us we only saw 6 elk,no deer or bear in 7 days of hunting. Did hear wolves several nights. I would not recomend this outfitter. Worst trip I have ever been on.

Submit Date: Nov 22, 2007

Outfitter Review: B Bar C Outfitters - Idaho

Outfitter / Owner: Joe Cabral

Hunter: Chris Vaughn

Animals Hunted: Elk

Had a great archery hunt!! Was within 40 yards of 7 x 7 that scored 380 - 400!! Could not get a shot in the thick cover. Had an excellent hunt and plan on returning in 2008.

Submit Date: Nov 20, 2007

Outfitter Review: Middle Fork Outfitters - Idaho

Outfitter / Owner: Ron Ens

Hunter: Kevin Jeffers

Animals Hunted: Elk/ Mule deer

great camp and accomodations. Saw less game than on any hunt I've ever been on. Hiked miles and miles in the snow each day and was lucky to see a single deer track. A great camping trip in very beautiful country. Very poor quantinty of game though. We did a drop camp and I wouldn't go again if you paid me! perhaps the guided hunts would be better. Very nice people!

Submit Date: Nov 13, 2007

Outfitter Review: Boulder Creek Outfitters - Idaho

Outfitter / Owner: Tim Craig

Hunter: Joe McMurry

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

A friend and I hunted with Tim Craig last September on a five day bowhunt. This was the worst bowhunting paid hunt I have ever been on. There were 9 hunters in camp, and apparently only 9 treestands set up for us to hunt. Scouting for bowhunting was very poor. Out of 9 hunters in five days, only one hunter managed to take a buck. He was on the only water stand on the 9000 acres we had to hunt. Tim and his son left camp after two days, and left in adequate guides to help out with the hunters. There were 2 guides left for 9 hunters. We had to pretty much guide ourselves on a place we knew little about. I was riding with the guides one night after the hunt in a four seater Kawasaki Mule to go pick up one of the hunters from New York. The guides got lost, and we rambled around on the mountainside for 2 hours. The hunter had laid in the road waiting for hours to be picked up after dark. We arrived back at camp very late, and irritated. Once again, this was the worst waste of my hard earned money that I have ever experienced. If you have checked into the hunt, you will know that Tim's hunts are not cheap. Save your money if you are hunting with a bow! I'm sure that you can kill a big buck with a rifle while riding the roads in the canyons in their truck, but what kind of hunt is that?

Submit Date: Nov 12, 2007

Outfitter Review: Kohl's Outfitters - Idaho

Outfitter / Owner: Robin Kohl

Hunter: Joe Hubbard

Animals Hunted: Elk

Drop Camp Elk Hunt. VERY few game, lots of Wolf. Told we would be first in remote camp, not hunted for three years. Paid extra for distance & first to hunt. Week prior to our elk hunt Owner took party to our camp & took two nice bulls. Ourguide was great person, but complete Rookie from N.Y. Did not see Owner until hunt was over, then he told us all the spots we should have hunted to be successful. Tents dripped all week. Our clothes and gear soaked during transport in, wet all week. Would not EVER use again.

Submit Date: Oct 30, 2007

Outfitter Review: Boulder Creek - Idaho

Outfitter / Owner: Tim Craig

Hunter: Vince Ripepi

Animals Hunted: Mule deer

October, 2007A group of 11 of us "booked" the whole camp, with the promise we we have the camp to ourselves. It WASN"T the case. There were 3 guides for the first 1 1/2 days (booked and payed for as a 2 - 1 client to guide ratio (see website) then 4 guides for the rest of the time. My brother and I basically went "self guided" for our deer and we also "guided" our friend to his (neither of us are professional guides). But we did get deer. There were a couple of nights that we didn't get back in time for dinner, and it was all gone. Also the "packed lunches" were lunches that you made yourself the morning you were going out.If you wanted a high success deer hunt, where you will definately see alot of very average deer, with the CHANCE getting something very good (not excellent but very good), and are willing to put up with the other "stuff", then this is the place to go. You will see deer and will get a shot at something, but you are paying a just above average price for more than likely an average deer.

Submit Date: Oct 30, 2007

Outfitter Review: Clark Fork Outfitters - ID

Outfitter / Owner: Mark Berry

Hunter: B. Bertermann

Animals Hunted: elk

Second time around with Mark's outfit. Completed a six day elk/rifle and had a elk on the ground the fourth night out. Also had shooting opportunities prior to that evening. The comaraderie between the guides and staff is fantastic. And all guides do their very best to locate game. The terrain is challenging so be prepared to hunt and hike hard as it will increase your chances on "tagging out". I will return...

Submit Date: Oct 29, 2007

Outfitter Review: Kohls Outfitting - Idaho

Outfitter / Owner: Robin Kohls

Hunter: steve wilkins

Animals Hunted: Elk/Deer

Owner never showed up on the day we loaded up. Didn't give us any ideas where and how to hunt this part of the wilderness.The four of rode 25 miles into the wildeness in a pouring rain and didn't get into camp until an hour and half after dark. We got a late start but they didn't tell us to hold out any lights for the ride in,so it was total darkness. The tents leaked water and all our gear got wet or damp from the pack in. The laterns had trouble lighting because of bad generators.We were told we would be the first ones to hunt this camp in two years. He had a group of hunters in this camp the week before us. In seven days the four of us saw 1 bull and 5 cows and no deer or bear in all this country. The one thing we did hear were wolfs which is why we moved from are old camp around Mcall ID. It looks like ID has a real problem on their hands with this reintroduced predator. I will not hunt this state again until they get this problem under control

Submit Date: Sep 2, 2007

Outfitter Review: Middle Fork Outfitters - Idaho

Outfitter / Owner: Ron Eris

Hunter: Brett Drysdale

Animals Hunted: Elk & Mulie

Excellent hunt super guides small groups fresh areas and camps lots of game. Very rugged country so be prepared to huff and puff.

Submit Date: Sep 2, 2007

Outfitter Review: Middle Fork Outfitters - Idaho

Outfitter / Owner: Ron Eris

Hunter: Brett Drysdale

Animals Hunted: Elk & Mulie

Excellent hunt super guides small groups fresh areas and camps lots of game. Very rugged country so be prepared to huff and puff.

Submit Date: Aug 31, 2007

Outfitter Review: Shattuck Creek - ID

Outfitter / Owner: Andre Molsee

Hunter: douglas salmon

Animals Hunted: elk

$36,000 camping trip for me and buddies

Submit Date: Jul 9, 2007

Outfitter Review: Boulder Creek Outfitters - Idaho

Outfitter / Owner: Tim Craig

Hunter: Mike Perkins

Animals Hunted: Black Bear

Guides and staff work very hard to get you on bears. Numerous baits set and checked daily to move you to baits that are being hit. Beautiful country. Great with young people and you feel like family by the time you leave. Spent 8 days hunting tree stands and ground blinds. Saw several bears and most people in camp got bears. Finally harvested a beautiful 19+ inch 300+ lb bear with a huge white blaze on his chest. Only problem is he was so nice I had to get a full body mount done. Two bear area in great country. Can't go wong with Boulder creek.- Mike Perkins

Submit Date: Jul 2, 2007

Outfitter Review: Silver Spur Lodge - ID

Outfitter / Owner: Rick & Deb Koesel

Hunter: Rick Dagner

Animals Hunted: Brar

This was a spring bear hunt over bate. The weather was not the best, one days rain then snowed one day but no one can control that. All the hunters in the lodge had quit active bates and seeing bears. Rick Deb and rest of crew were the best to try make things happen for all. Rateing A++++

Submit Date: May 9, 2007

Outfitter Review: Boulder Creek Outfitters - Idaho

Outfitter / Owner: Tim Craig

Hunter: Travis Mehn

Animals Hunted: Elk

I hunted with Boulder Creek Outfitters this past fall for Archery Elk and had probably one of my most exciting hunts ever. I've hunted with numerous outfitters before and found not only my guide (Wade) to be phenomenal, but the entire experience. We were within bow range of 350+ bulls on almost a daily basis. There was not one day we weren't into the elk! I would recommend Tim and his outfit to my closest friends and family any day.

Submit Date: Mar 3, 2007

Outfitter Review: Boulder Creek Outfitters - Idaho

Outfitter / Owner: Tim Craig

Hunter: Mike Cochran

Animals Hunted: black bear

My son and I hunted 1st week of Sept. 2006. The weather was NOT conducive to a good hunt. Temps. in 90's,full moon,wildfire smoke. This was no fault of the outfitter. My son and I both shot ave. size sow bears the 4th night of a 5 day hunt. Both sows were cinammon color. Camp, cook, other hunters, and 2 of 3 guides were great.The negatives were that the area wasn't advanced scouted prior to our arrival. We spent 2 1/2 days just looking for bear sign. Our guide hadn't been on this ranch for 2-3 years[50,000 acres], and didn't know where he was at 1/2 the time. Plus there was a personality conflict between my son and the guide, and he was getting to me after 4 days, and I'm easy to get along with. My son and I shot our bears on the 4th nite of a 5 day hunt, spot and stalk, by ourselves in a canyon.Overall, the country was beautiful, and had the weather been better, I'm sure we would have seen more bears. We shot the only 2 we saw. I would hunt with BCO again, but would have a serious talk about the quide/advanced scouting.Mike

Submit Date: Feb 11, 2007

Outfitter Review: CLARK FORK OUTFITTER - IDAHO

Outfitter / Owner: MARK BERRY

Hunter: DAVID M. HUBBARD

Animals Hunted: MOUNTIAN LION

THIS IS MY 2nd TRIP. WE GOT IN THE BEST TIME AFTER THE FREEZING COLD WHERE THE LION START COMING OUT. GOT'EM THE FIRST DAY, DEFINETLY THE BEST EXPERIENCE EVER HAD IN 18 YEARS OF LION HUNT. (THANK YOU,MARK). ROUGH COUNTRY, BUT BEAUTIFUL. WONDERFUL HOSPITALITY YOU WILL NEVER FIND ANYWHERE ELSE. I AM BRINGING MY FAMILY SOON. THIS IS PLACE THAT I HIGHLY RECOMMEND FOR MT. LION HUNT, MY GUIDE IS A 2nd GEN LION HUNTER AND GOT SOME GREAT DOG. ALSO TOOK A NICE BOBCAT.

Submit Date: Jan 10, 2007

Outfitter Review: Bear Paw Outfitters - Idaho

Outfitter / Owner: Dale Denney

Hunter: Rick Sickelsmith

Animals Hunted: mule deer

First we were to meet Dale Denney at 9:30 am on Sunday he wasn't there. He showed up at 2:30 pm and we had to help sort out the food. finally leaving at 5:30 pm. we get to camp and nothing was set up. we had to help get the camp ready set up the tent and then find out that none of the heaters worked so we spent the night in my truck just to stay warm. our cook and supposed to be guide had no experience at all. he could not give us any details of the area or where to hunt we had only 1 week to hunt and waisted 2 days scouting the area just to figure out the lay of the land. we tried to contact the but he never responded to our complaints. its been 2 year and i have repeatedly emailed him to get some kind of response or refund. very unorganized and a very poor outfitter. my group could have done this ourselves for half the cost. we did not get what we paid for.

Submit Date: Dec 29, 2006

Outfitter Review: Boulder Creek Outfitting - Idaho

Outfitter / Owner: Tim Craig

Hunter: Bill Miller

Animals Hunted: Mountain Lion

I went on a Mountain Lion hunt with Boulder Creek outfitting. You hunt with Jason and Wade who I believe are great at what they do. They have treed numerous Lions and killed some nice ones! They encourge you to shot big Toms no little females or small toms. They put in long hours to find you the Cat you want. The only trouble i had was getting hold of Tim the owner he is so busy guiding that I had hard time getting my concerns and questions answered. If you want a Cougar give these guys a shot you will not go away disappointed they work hard for you!

Submit Date: Dec 27, 2006

Outfitter Review: Clark Fork Outfitters - ID

Outfitter / Owner: Mark Berry

Hunter: Timothy H. Higgins

Animals Hunted: Whitetail

Mark Berry, the owner, and his family are just incredible and go out of their way to make your experience memorable. My guide, Leon, was very knowledgeable, experienced and just a good fellow to hunt with. I thoroughly enjoyed every day of the hunt and the country is beautiful beyond description. I hunted the week of the rut which put me there over Thanksgiving. On Thanksgiving day I took a beautiful 4x5 chocolate racked buck and enjoyed a wonderful Thanksgiving dinner. I couldn't have asked for more. I am already making plans to return next year.

Submit Date: Dec 21, 2006

Outfitter Review: Boulder Creek Outfitters - idaho

Outfitter / Owner: Tim Craig

Hunter: luigi gaglia

Animals Hunted: whitetail deer

I ve been on whitetail hunts in Kansas and Illinois and I never seen the quality of game on those two hunts combined as I did on this hunt.Bouldercreek is a top notch hunting guide with plenty of quality game and service. Luigi Gaglia N.Y.

Submit Date: Dec 19, 2006

Outfitter Review: Clark Fork Outfitters - ID

Outfitter / Owner: Mark/Jan Berry

Hunter: Tom Price

Animals Hunted: Mountain Lion

Clark Fork Outfitters did an Excellent job. Mark,Jan and family are great. I hunted 3 days to bag a nice Mountain Lion with my Bow.(14 3/4 Green score-Pope&Young).The experience could not have been better. My guide Leon, did an ausome job, so did his team of hounds. They were very prepared for the hunt. The food and service was second to none. I was treated like family. I would recommend them to anyone wanting a first class Outfitter & Facility with chances to see alot of animals in Northern Idaho. Give them a try. You won't be disappointed. Tom Price-Spokane, Washington

Submit Date: Dec 4, 2006

Outfitter Review: Clark Fork Outfitters - Idaho

Outfitter / Owner: Mark Berry

Hunter: Jim Vantress

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

I tried to hunt w/ Mark Berry last year (2005), but was unable, I waited too long to get back with him. I secured two whitetail deer tags for 2006. Called Mark and he gladly made room for me. I drove out from California with only a few days to hunt. Mark put me in an area that had deer. I shot my first of two deer within 2 hours on the first morning. That afternoon, I took my second deer. Both deer were very respectable scoring in the 130's. The meals and accommodations were beyond my expectations. I am planning on returning, with friends no less!! I highly recommend Mark and his operation. He is a first class guy and provides first class treatment!!

Submit Date: Nov 26, 2006

Outfitter Review: Centennial Trails - ID

Outfitter / Owner: Randy Parks

Hunter: chuck manning

Animals Hunted: deer/elk

We booked thru Randy Parks a limited guided hunt where we supplied lodging. We were to have a 2/1 ratio of guides. We never saw a guide and only saw Randy 45 minutes the entire time. This equates to about $4000.00 an hour, so if you think getting screwed by an outfitter is worth that, this is the guy. He has refused to contact me with any satisfaction and according to others who got screwed even worse he has refused to contact them. This guy talks like he is your best friend but beware he will screw you without any issue. If you get a chance to book with him either run away screaming or give your money to charity. This guy is the reason bad stories are told about outfitters. If you want to hear worse get ahold of me and I will give you the gruesome details.

Submit Date: Nov 22, 2006

Outfitter Review: Diamond D Ranch - ID

Outfitter / Owner: Tom Demorest

Hunter: Chris Herlinger

Animals Hunted: Mule Deer/Elk

This hunt was their last scheduled hunt of the 2006 season. Because of the timing the emphasis was on mule deer since it was close to the rut. If I got an opportunity for an elk I was considering it a bonus. As it was I ended up taking a 4X4 elk but couldn't find a mule deer big enough to suit my fancy although I did have opportunities on a few smalller bucks that I passed up. There are some big deer in the area we just never crossed paths unfortunately as the rut seemed to be running a little late this year. Bottom line here is if you want an opportunity at a decent elk go as early in the season as possible and the later hunts give you better odds on a nice mulie buck. Also, they had a big fire burn through a substantial part of the area prior to the season this year which should bode well for hunts in future years.

Submit Date: Nov 14, 2006

Outfitter Review: Clark Fork Outfitters - Idaho

Outfitter / Owner: Mark Berry

Hunter: Linn Urmson Jr

Animals Hunted: Elk

Mark and his Wife treat everyone like old Friends, they are very nice people . His wife cooks the meals, and they are TOP Rate !! Everyone goes out of ther way for you . If you can Hunt,? ther is lots of chances to get your Game. The Guides will get you on to the Game sooner than you are ready. The Hunting area is Vast,steep and rugged ! It pays to get in shape before you go.

Next Page >       Last Page >>

web application and database development by davidcdalton.com