Tennessee Hunting Outfitter and Guide Reviews

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Oct 9, 2015

Outfitter Review: Wilderness Hunting Lodge - Monetery TN

Outfitter / Owner: Alan Wilson

Hunter: Tyler Warren

Animals Hunted: Elk

Fantastic hunt with great guides. Todd and Bruce were my guides for my dad and I and they put us on the elk, both of us shot really nice bulls and with archery equipment! The lodge and meals were top notch as well as the hospitality of the entire staff. If your looking for a great place to hunt exotics, buffalo, elk or hogs this is most certainly the place to be.Tyler W.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Oct 4, 2015

Outfitter Review: Wilderness Hunting Lodge - Monetery TN

Outfitter / Owner: Alan Wilson

Hunter: steve miller

Animals Hunted: Wild Boar

my time here was grate the best ever and I am coming back every year

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Oct 3, 2015

Outfitter Review: Wilderness Hunting Lodge - Monetery TN

Outfitter / Owner: Alan Wilson

Hunter: Bryan Phillips

Animals Hunted: not specified

Great lodge, the best hunting you could ask for and the service is second to none!

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Oct 3, 2015

Outfitter Review: Wilderness Hunting Lodge - Monetery TN

Outfitter / Owner: Alan Wilson

Hunter: Bryan Phillips

Animals Hunted: not specified

Great lodge, the best hunting you could ask for and the service is second to none!

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Nov 18, 2013

Outfitter Review: Wilderness Hunting Lodge - Monetery TN

Outfitter / Owner: Alan Wilson

Hunter: tony piotrowski

Animals Hunted: not specified

One of the best places I have ever hunted. Friendly staff, priced right, and great food and accommodations. I'll go back again and again. The staff works hard for you so that you can accomplish what you set out for. Can't say enough good about this place.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: May 21, 2013

Outfitter Review: Wilderness Hunting Lodge - Monetery TN

Outfitter / Owner: Alan Wilson

Hunter: Big Mistake

Animals Hunted: not specified

Kill Shop. The animals are absolutely not respected. There's nothing for them to eat due to overgrazing by hogs. Elk were skinny at best. Processing is sloppy and unsanitary and I was given much of the wrong meat - stunk like hog when cooked. The meat that I did get was full of gristle and sinew. Hard to believe this operation is permitted to exist or ever has repeat customers.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Sep 16, 2011

Outfitter Review: Wilderness Hunting Lodge - Monetery TN

Outfitter / Owner: Alan Wilson

Hunter: Manuel Matos

Animals Hunted: Elk

My Hunting partner and I planned this hunting trip all summer only to be disappointed. We selected Wilderness Lodge in Monterey, TN. Our first sign of trouble was when the GPS took us to the owners house instead of the Hunting Lodge. His daughter gave us another Map which took us 25-30 miles back the way we came to get to the actual Lodge. Once there, we're met by an older gentleman who actually lives on the premises. HE didn't know we were coming. When asked about food, he told us there was none since we came late. He told us to go across the road to the other lodge and select a room. When we go over to the other lodge, another gentleman comes in and we make small talk. He asked us if we ate and we told him no since we were told there was no food. He tells us there's food on the second floor of the lodge we just came from. We go back only to find the pot empty. Ok, so far, we're batting a 100% Goat screw. The following day, we go to the first lodge and have breakfast and get ready for our hunt. We get asked what we're hunting and we tell the older gentleman what we are there for. He takes us to an area where there's supposed to be Elk Cows and tells us he'll come by and check on us later. 3 hourws later, one of the guides comes by as asks if we had any luck and we tell him no since we've been looking for Elk the whole time. He then finds the only two Elk Cows on the property and takes us there. The cows looked to be about 1-1/2 years old. Since we have no other choice, we take them. The gentleman that shows up with a tractor asks what type of cut we want. I ask what type of cut they have and he says just regular. Ok, no choice so I guess we go with it. We watch when they cut up our harvest the next day and it was atrocious. They package the steaks and seal them and mark the bag as steaks but to look at them, you would not know what kind of steak. Now, there's no Cell phone service out there so we have to use their office phone to call. Right in the open next to the phone, there's a tablet with the names, adresses, credit card numbers, and codes for hunters credit cards. IN THE OPEN where anyone using the phone has access to it. The last night we spend there, a young man comes into our lodge and asked my hunting partner about some free samples he was told to come get. My partner tells him that he knows nothing about it and the young man goes into the processing house and into the freezer without anyone stopping him. Great security huh? I will not recommend this outfitter to anyone.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Sep 16, 2011

Outfitter Review: Wilderness Hunting Lodge - Monetery TN

Outfitter / Owner: Alan Wilson

Hunter: Mike Wall

Animals Hunted: Elk

I really donít know where to begin to describe how disappointed I was with this operation. The website first sent us to the wrong address, we ended up at your house! Then had to drive to the Lodge, his daughter gave us a map so it wasnít the first time that had happened. they need to fix the website, give the right address! When we finally did get there, there was no food, (we got there at 6 pm). Some caretaker told us to go to the lodge next door and asked if we wanted to buy a T-shirt, there was no furniture, the linens stunk, the beds were hard, and we had to search for toilet paper! They knew we were coming for over a month and we were greeted like that. The communication there was a joke, We didnít know who was in charge, who was a guide, who was a hunter, just a bunch of people running around trying to avoid us. When we finally did get to hunt, we make the mistake of shooting the only 2 Cows that were there, they placed them there to harvest, We really didnít realized we were shooting calves from this spring. I canít believe he charged us that much money to shoot a 200 pound cow!!!! Then the processor was so jacked up I couldnít even recognize most of the cuts of meat. Most of the bags were not sealed and the meat inside them was really just that MEAT! The worst cuts Iíve ever seen! Then as a final insult, the processer decided to pull the Ivory with a pair of pliers and ruin the ivory. I had plans to have a Christmas gift made from it, Oh well merry Christmas to the wife huh! But at least he had someone, not sure who, run into the lodge at the last minute selling 20 dollar cheap T-shirts, I guess itís all about the money right. The really funny thing was the numerous vehicles that pulled into the lodge during the night going into the cooler and walking out with stuff, one even came inside the lodge and said ďhe was getting some samplesĒ. Iím glad they didnít get any of my meat, I only ended up with 100 pounds anyway! His operation is a joke and I will be sure to post this on every outfitter review site that will hear it. They donít have to worry about me being back. By the way satellite TV has been around for 30 Years, takes about 30 minutes to install, But they might have to spend some money.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Mar 20, 2011

Outfitter Review: Wilderness Hunting Lodge - Monetery TN

Outfitter / Owner: Alan Wilson

Hunter: john smith

Animals Hunted: Wild Boar

This was my second trip to Wilderness hunting lodge. Last year was a pretty good time. My how things change in a year. I went after black buck antelope and much to my dismay there was only one available. there was one that got brought in when I arrived and it was very nice. I asked which property they were located on and they told me there was one more left in with the buffalo. We went and located it and as I expected it was less than a trophy. I went back and asked the owner how much he wanted for the one that was left. He said that the one that was killed earlier was $2250, and that he would let he hunt the small one for $1500. I thought that sounded pretty strange since the advertised prices on blackbuck said $1200-$1775. Shady to say the least. Needless to say my hunt was declared over. I went up on the other property to see if there was a nice hog worth killing. There were two packs of hogs. they were multi colered, curly tailed, flop eared domestic hogs in the 100 lb. range. There were no true wild boars to be found. apparently they figured out that there is more profit margin in shipping in farm animals and passing them for wild animals. after eating dinner which consisted of hot dogs in a crockpot, I went to bed, packed up the next morning and went home. Two wasted days of my life I'll never get back. And had to pay $300 dollars for it. Never again! If you go bring plenty of money, cause they'll tell you what it cost after you kill it, and you can bet it won't be less than what you were expecting to pay.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Jan 12, 2011

Outfitter Review: Wilderness Hunting Lodge - Monetery TN

Outfitter / Owner: Alan Wilson

Hunter: Ted Greene

Animals Hunted: Wild Boar, Bison

The good: I traveled to Tennessee to hunt bison. The price and the reviews lured me there. The lodges were great, the people were terrific, and the food was home cooked. The bad: The prices did not exactly jive with the prices we were quoted on the phone but Alan was not around, and we were within $200 of our expectations. We were told that they had a "fat cow" and a "slim bull" in our price range..My buddy selected the fat cow since he was looking for meat, and while i was looking for the same, i also wanted my bison to be a bull. We managed to bag our bison on the first day using black powder rifles, and my bull was easily twice the size of my buddies cow....a bit of tension ensued since we paid the same price. Once butchered, my buddy ended up with twice the meat that i got....strange! The guides made good on that and provided me with meat left behind by trophy hunters to make up for it, so i really couldn't complain, and they gave me a free fallow doe hunt...nice! The ugly: My other buddy wanted to bag a wild boar with his 1911 .45acp. I went along as backup with my .45. We were met about 200 yards into the woods by a Russian boar in the 200lb range, with 4 inch tusks and missing an ear! He was quite possibly the ugliest creature i had the misfortune to run across, and he was foul tempered. He proceeded to charge us and after 6 rounds of .45 acp to the shoulders and head, he dropped at my feet...yeah, he decided to try and kill me... Nothing tame about this boar.. In all, our crew bagged two bison, a watusi, a Russian boar, two fallow deer(mine taken with my trusty .45), and a sika deer. Was everything perfect, no, did we care, nope. We had the time of our lives. We will return to hunt again, but next time i will be hunting with my recurve bow. Even though we only used one for the bison, the guides were awesome. The nicest group of guys I've ever spent time around.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Jan 10, 2011

Outfitter Review: Wilderness Hunting Lodge - Monetery TN

Outfitter / Owner: Alan Wilson

Hunter: pig hunter

Animals Hunted: Javelina

Well this is a hunting perverse so it fenced in I expected this. But what I did not expect was the animals even the "wild" boar were tame to the point it you shot one the others would stand there remaining 20 yards from you. The guides and owner gave us know real info. We finally ask the owner what to do and he said just go in the gate across the street. When we did there were people just walking around the woods with guns we encounters several other hunters while on out walk. (Saftey) The lodge was nice but this place was not run very well. We got more info from other hunters than guides as to other gates to enter the hunting area. The breakfast and lunch was good but dinner was not to good. All the boar are castrated and none of the pigs had tust big enough to protrude to outside the lips. This made it impossible to tell the sex of the pig. Then it came time to slaughter my pig which I planned on getting mounted the cape was cut to short for a shoulder mount even though I told and wrote it on the tag. When I got my meat home and was going to cook some it was labeled wrong. Ribs labeled as ham streak and so on. This place seem to be run with the least effort possible to keep the doors open. I regret spending $900 dollars on this hunt.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Jan 3, 2011

Outfitter Review: Wilderness Hunting Lodge - Monetery TN

Outfitter / Owner: Alan Wilson

Hunter: Shag Baker

Animals Hunted: Elk, Bison

Firstly, let me preface this by saying this is a preserve hunt. The animals are in a high fence enclosure and if that is not your style and/or you have issue with that, this is not the place for you to hunt.So, on to the review.We, my brother and I, arrived at about the time everyone was going home for the day, so things were a bit hectic. We did finally get greeted by our guide Bruce (more on him in a second) and settled in for the night. There was food in a crockpot for the hunters, along with an assortment of drinks, tea and water.The next morning, we awoke, expecting to be in the woods before daybreak. The guides arrived around 7ish and cooked breakfast of eggs, sausage and can biscuits. We were, at this point, less than pleased, but did our minds change and change quickly! After breakfast, our guide took us to the first hunt. He opened and closed the gates for us and off we went up the side of a mountain. Did I mention there was snow on the ground? There was. For a S. Georgia flatlander, it was an experience!We settled into an area and Bruce set off to find the elk for us, planning to return if he found it. While we waited, a herd of fallow deer came by and gave us a really nice view. Bruce returned, no elk, but suggested we go for the buffalo. Before we got to the buffalo, my brother shot a MONSTER fallow deer from about 120 yards, more on that in a second.The buffalo were congregated near a hay stack, and were not at all skittish, but buffalo are curious animals by nature. We drew VERY close, less than 50 yards for our shots. They went down quickly and Bruce took care of all of the trophies, no help needed.On our way to the buffalo, we caught another herd of fallow deer and there were several nice trophies to be seen. My brother chose one but could not get a shot, but I eyeballed another and he took it solidly with his rifle. Turned out to be one of the finer fallow deer on the property.The next day, we went to a different area for our elk. I had my bow, my brother his rifle and after a short stalk, two elk on the ground! I did, out of respect, finish my elk with a .22 but not before arrows in the lungs and one in the spine. I do not like to see animals suffer. Again, Bruce handled 100% of the work. We did the shooting and that was all. Bruce handled everything for us.Now, if you are the sort of hunter who wants to be 100% catered in every way feasible, this is the place for you. Alan and his staff, particularly Bruce, really do want to ensure that your experience is memorable and worth the money. I like field dressing game and getting my hands bloody, that is part of it to me. Your mileage may vary.My guide, Bruce, I could write a book about him and how genuine he was. There was NOTHING he would not do for you and your hunt. He worked extremely hard for us from the guide, to the shot to the aftercare of the game. He is/was the BEST.Now, if you do choose to go here, and I hope you do! Take a bow with you. You will see plenty of game. The trick is selecting the TROPHY and taking it with your bow. These animals, while in a fenced enclosure, are skittish and getting one with a bow, particularly a trophy, is tough but worth it. Also, talk to Alan about a bundled hunt. He is very accomodating about meeting your price range so be upfront and honest with him. He is very genuine and honest as a businessman. You will be very pleased. I am going back for something else, but I will be doing it solo so I can have more a hand in the overall experience.Be sure that you TIP your guide!

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Dec 30, 2010

Outfitter Review: Wilderness Hunting Lodge - Monetery TN

Outfitter / Owner: Alan Wilson

Hunter: BIll Fatback

Animals Hunted: Wild Boar

Me and my friend decided to take a hunt, for Wild Boar! We arrived at the lodge ready for a real hunt, what we got was a laugh and a big bill!!! On the first day they let us go , no safety briefing or rules! Just go hunt! (20 hunters in the woods) some who did not need to be there with a firearm! We saw a few Hogs chased by a small dog, we circled around and found some hogs located near a fenced in area with the fence gate open ( Where they feed the hogs) There we found some big hogs laying around near the feeder. As I approached they just laid there not afraid. I did not shoot a hog at a feeder. I looked up above and a man and, a boy were hunting in the fence trying to pick out the hog they wanted to kill in the herd!! He shot one with a bow.. those hogs also were more tame than wild... We decide to return to camp. The second day me and my friend traveled up a mtn, and ran into a herd of hogs. We shot what we assumed was the wildest and looked the best. In this herd there were some curly tailed, flop eared hogs... They were somewhat wild.( not very)... One guy shot a hog from a truck :They wrangled him up one so he could shoot at it. Another hog was run up to the hog lot as we call it ,and a man on a John Deere Gator chased it around to the guy to with a bow.. The elk we saw looked tame some guy took it with 3 arrows a .22 and final a shot to the head.. He was happy as a pig in slop!! This is a circus and I would not reccomend it.. If you are a real hunter and want to stalk and hunt this is not it!! If you want to leave the big city and shoot something easy then head back to the ole office this is for you! My friend's hog was also the same size as mine and he got he got half the meat!! We did eat alot of pork, while there....

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Aug 4, 2010

Outfitter Review: Wilderness Hunting Lodge - Monetery TN

Outfitter / Owner: Alan Wilson

Hunter: Mickey Baisden

Animals Hunted: Wild Boar, Bison, Sitka Blacktail deer

My two sons and I took a trip in July 2010. Living 5 hrs away we thought we would stay in Monterey and get to the lodge early the first day. When asking Alan what hotel to stay he insisted we stay at the lodge no charge. Talk to Allen once but never needed to Bruce and Lynn are all you need... Early the first day my youngest son killed a large Bison with Bruce as his guide. Bruce listened as I told him we hunted meat and not a trophy, he picked a larger Bison with a broken horn. Found a cap from an older kill and had the taxidermist fix it for a european mount. After lunch Lynn took me on the hunt of my life we saw several smaller hogs before he got me on a 260 to 270 lb Russian boar, in 7 foot ragweed with a shooting range of all of three feet, as the boar charged and ran away. It took three hours to get a good shot but we finally got him. Tell me about fair chase!!!! Who was chasing who? My buddy found a sow in a field later that day and took a Sika doe the next day. My oldest stalked and killed a large Spainish Goat that Bruce had told him was the nicest one he had ever seen, he could have killed others but Bruce had told him to hold out. My youngest also stalked and killed the largest pig of the trip the next day a 300 plus sow we managed to jump up out of the rocks after an hour or so of hunting. We had the best time and WILL be going back. Animals are every place, and some easy to kill, SIKA BUFFALO Fallow and many nice rams, but I like the hogs bay um or run um out, you have to hunt these guys. Saw many young hogs also so the future looks nice. Plenty of Oak Hickory and corn to eat.They feed you well and have three lodges to stay in. We elected the oldest and it was top of the line. Great food fishing when you are done and just feels like home. Allens mom lives accross the road and comes to visit just like she knew you her entire life. If you need any more Information call me..

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Jul 9, 2010

Outfitter Review: Trophy Tracts Inc. - Franklin TN

Outfitter / Owner:

Hunter: Neal Cannon

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

My first hunt to go on out of my home state and it was everything I thought it would be and then some. I saw 15 nice rack bucks in the 6 days that I was there, wounded a great buck, and killed the biggest deer of my life. Can't wait to go back.

Submit Date: Dec 10, 2009

Outfitter Review: Standing Rock Hunting Lodge - TN

Outfitter / Owner: Buddy Edwards

Hunter: David Tomlin

Animals Hunted: Wild Boar

I hunted at Standing Rock with my 4 year-old son tagging along in December of 2009. Buddy and his sons treated us like part of their family. This is a great place to bring your family for a relaxing get-a-way or a hunt. The scenery inside the lodge and outside the lodge is very nice. The boar that we were able to take was a very large one. My son has talked about the wild boars and the hunting lodge several times since we left there. Lord willing, we'll return to Standing Rock in the near future.

Submit Date: Sep 15, 2009

Outfitter Review: Standing Rock Hunting Preserve - Tennessee

Outfitter / Owner: Buddy Edwards

Hunter: Kenneth Jackson

Animals Hunted: Elk

Tracy, the guide, is very good at what he does. Within the 20 minutes he had me on elk. He stopped me from shooting a 3x3, told me to hold on there would be better bulls. Man was he right he got me within shooting distance of a 5x5 and a 5x6 the first morning and when I got a shot at the 5x6 I couldn't hold out any longer. The bulls I saw had as good or better mass than any I have ever seen. Buddy is as honest as he is friendly, if he tells you something you can depend on it or better. The lodge is great, very comfortable and homey. I left knowing that I had made friends and I mean true friends. I would reccomend Standing Rock hunting club to anyone who wants to have a good time and have thier exspectations met or exceeded.

Submit Date: Dec 15, 2008

Outfitter Review: Standing Rock - Tennessee

Outfitter / Owner: Mr. Buddy Edwards

Hunter: Michael "Dip" Stafford

Animals Hunted: Hog

Right after Thanksgiving my son and I went on our first hog hunt. We looked at several guides and spoke with folks that have written reviews. Standing Rock was strongly recommended and discovered the referrals were right on target. We could not have been treated better or feed better. The lodge was great too. Mr. Buddy, his wife and sons, grandsons, son in law could not have treated us any better. Our hunt was successful. We took our time and harvested quality hogs. I plan to return in late 2009 if not before.

Submit Date: Nov 12, 2008

Outfitter Review: Wilderness Hunting Lodge - TN

Outfitter / Owner: Alan

Hunter: Jason

Animals Hunted: Boar

Hunted this past weekend with a couple of buddies. My friend hammered a 190lb Razorback the first morning. Then the boar decided to play hide and seek. Couldn't find a good sized one till the last morning of our hunt. Ended up taking a 270lb sow. She was with a large Razorback who took off before I could get off a shot. I know this was preserve hunt but you would never know. You can't get much more fair chase than 1100 acres. My buddy was after a nice fallow doe and it tooks nearly six hours to get one within shooting range, the bucks were amazing but not in any of our budget.

Submit Date: Aug 8, 2008

Outfitter Review: Clarkrange - TN

Outfitter / Owner: Ken Moody

Hunter: John Bennington

Animals Hunted: wild boar

We went to Clarkrange at the end of March 2008. We had a group of 5 and all took great hogs. John our guide was excellent, and the atmosphere at Clarkrange is great. John let us be the hunters and did not babysit us. We saw a lot of hogs and had a great time. We will be back next year for another great hunt.

Submit Date: Aug 7, 2008

Outfitter Review: Wilderness Hunting Lodge - TN

Outfitter / Owner: Alan Wilson

Hunter: Garrison

Animals Hunted: Russian Wild Boar

The first morning of the hunt my hunting partner harvested a 200 lb. Russian sow, and the third morning of the hunt I harvested a 280 lb. Russian boar. The collective team at Wilderness Hunting Lodge did an outstanding job as always. They will continue to earn my repeat business.

Submit Date: Jan 28, 2008

Outfitter Review: Standing Rock Hunting Preserve - Tennessee

Outfitter / Owner: Buddy Edwards

Hunter: Chris Robbins

Animals Hunted: Boar

Buddy Edwards is a man of his word! If he says he has 400+ lbs. hogs that are European strain, BELIEVE HIM! I took a 500 lbs. boar hog with my bow on this hunt! Saw several others that would be between 400 and 500 as well. Tracy is top notch and Buddy can't be topped! I will return, and soon!

Submit Date: Jan 17, 2008

Outfitter Review: Caryonah Hunting Lodge - TN

Outfitter / Owner: Patrick

Hunter: David Tomlin

Animals Hunted: Boar

I bowhunted for boar in December 2007 at Caryonah. I had a lot of fun making several stalks on different groups of hogs throughout the day. It is a very nice place to bowhunt. Their accomodations are very good and the food is great and plentiful. I look forward to returning to Caryonah in the future for another bowhunt.

Submit Date: Dec 13, 2007

Outfitter Review: Caryonah Hunting Lodge - TN

Outfitter / Owner: Patrick

Hunter: David Tomlin

Animals Hunted: Boar

I hunted boar at Caryonah with a bow and had a great time. I was the only hunter in camp the day I hunted. It was a 'spot and stalk' type of hunt. I saw one real good boar early in the morning, but he was not in bow range. I saw several hogs during the day and it was a lot of fun making stalks on some of them. Toward the end of the day, I was able to connect. The food was great and plentiful! There were people in and out at the lodge, family, neighbors, etc. and they didn't seem as friendly as I thought they would be. The 'guide' was very friendly and helpful throughout the day. I would go back for another bowhunt for hogs anytime.

Submit Date: Jul 8, 2007

Outfitter Review: Wilderness Hunting Lodge - TN

Outfitter / Owner: Alan Wilson

Hunter: Mark Harvey

Animals Hunted: wild boar / ram

Wilderness is average for hog hunting as, when in a group, they are a challenge to hunt. Especially if you choose to do it on the mountain.However, after dinner you can go over to the fence area, pick grass and feed the red stag and elk. Even on the mountain you can walk to within about 30 ft of rams, goats, sika and fallow deer.If you want a boar hunt and are prepaired to do it with little help, which actually it more enjoyable sometimes, this is the place. However, anything other than boar it's a petting zoo.

Submit Date: Jun 28, 2007

Outfitter Review: Wilderness Hunting Lodge - TN

Outfitter / Owner: Alan Wilson

Hunter: Garrison

Animals Hunted: Hogs

I was very critical in this review, and a GOOD rating was the worst I could possibly give. The lodge is a little dusty, but it is spacious. The guides will cook whatever they have in stock, and you are welcome to eat whatever you can get your hands on; if it is in the lodge then it is fair game. I have slept in better establishments, but I came to Wilderness to hunt, not to be pampered.- The total cost, 3 nights lodging (meals included) and harvest fee for any size hog, was $625 + tax.- Skinning and quartering costs $45, and full processing of the meat costs $100. A fully furnished freezer is used to preserve the harvested animals.- At the time a wild boar shoulder mount cost $395 (includes shipping)This was my first ever hunt with an outfitter, and I was not disappointed. A buddy and I traveled across the state with hopes of harvesting trophy boars. Our first morning at the lodge we each harvested a jet-black 300+ lb trophy boar after an awesome stalk. I will be returning soon with hopes of harvesting a different color boar or one of the numerous Corsican rams that roam the property.Todd and Lynn were our guides, and they went out of their way to ensure that our hunt was a memorable one. I never met Alan, the owner, but his brother Grady, the lodge taxidermist, did a great job on my hog. It has been the topic of endless conversation among my friends and family. The animals at Wilderness are numerous, but to harvest an animal of trophy status you have to put in the time in the field. This was a great trophy hunt for the money. Best of luck and happy hunting!

Submit Date: May 8, 2007

Outfitter Review: Wilderness Hunting Lodge - TN

Outfitter / Owner: Alan Wilson

Hunter: Richard K

Animals Hunted: Barbarossa Ram

My hunting experience was excellent. Our guides Todd and Lynn were very helpful and went out of they ways to accommodate all our needs. The lodge was clean, inviting and relaxing. They have three hunting areas encompassing several thousand acres. Some areas are very mountainous and some are open fields and valleys. They can cater the hunt to your needs. If you want a very challenging, rigorous hunt, they can provide that; however, if you want a more easier and not-so-strenuous hunt, they can provide that as well Ė you just need to let the guide know what you want. You can scale the mountains and hunt on tough terrain or you can just ask the guide to drive you up to a plateau or hunting stand. I really enjoyed the diversity of hunts this place can offer. There is so much land, so it is definitely fair chase. Todd and Lynn helped me snag a 300lb Barbarossa Ram and Lynn helped my friend nail a huge boar. For an additional $100, they butcher, vacuum seal and freeze the meat, which is a great deal. The entire hunt, including butchering, tax and tip, cost me $885, which is a really great deal. I definitely plan to go again, this time maybe for a boar.

Submit Date: May 3, 2007

Outfitter Review: Wilderness Hunting Lodge - TN

Outfitter / Owner: Alan Wilson

Hunter: Jason S.

Animals Hunted: Wild Boar

The hunt was all that I expected and then some. You would never thik you were on a preserve you have to work for the big ones and with over 2000 acres one should hit the gym. My guide Lynn was very knowledgeble an helped me land a nice 220lb Boar on my 2nd day using dogs. Price can't be beat, 3 days hunting all meals for under $800.

Submit Date: Mar 28, 2007

Outfitter Review: Caryonah Hunting Lodge - TN

Outfitter / Owner: Bobbie Jo

Hunter: Jerry Sakowski

Animals Hunted: Wild Hog

I was a little nervous when I arrived at Caryonah and was told that no hunting from man made elevated stands was allowed. It's an insurance thing. Since I was there to bowhunt for wild hogs, you can understand my nervousness. I couldnt imagine taking a wild hog from the ground with no bait, no stand, etc. I had been hog hunting in SC two times previously and had not taken a hog. Really hadnt even seen much. Well, by noon of the first day of the hunt I killed a nice 200lb sow on a spot and stalk. What a great hunt. I saw several hogs previously during the morning, eight of which my guide put within 20yds during a small drive but I couldnt get a shot. A business associate of mine was with me hunting with a rifle. He killed a nice boar, also close to 200 lb by 10AM the first morning. Long story short, this was a great hunt. Great food, great accomodations, and guides that know exactly where the hogs bed, feed, move, etc. I definately plan on going back. My only complaint was that the hunt was over with too quickly.

Submit Date: Oct 19, 2006

Outfitter Review: Caryonah Hunting Lodge - Tennessee

Outfitter / Owner: n/a

Hunter: Bill Tims

Animals Hunted: wild boar

Caryonah does a good job as a whole.Friendly and experienced guides know what they're doing. This lodge also has a high fence preserve for elk,bison and other species.However, the boar are wild and are found throughout the Cumberland mountains where the lodge is located. I shot a 180 lb. boar the first day.Doug or Johnny are two good ole Tennessee boys that will get you what you want.

Submit Date: Aug 14, 2006

Outfitter Review: Cumberland Mountain Hunting Lodge - TN

Outfitter / Owner: Jerry Pistol

Hunter: Kent Brock

Animals Hunted: ram

Me and 2 friends hunted this place. The lodge was very nice and food was great. Jerry Pistol want let you get a word for nothing, he is allways bragging on himself.. The hunt or should I say the petting zoo was a rock quarry. They dig fieldstone at this place through the week and hunt?? on the weekend. If I had it to do over I would have tied a rope around my rams neck and brought it back home alive for my daughter. My friend paid for a 200lb boar. His might have weighed 100lbs. Jerry was very dishonest about things. The pictures you see on internet are not true. The lodge pictures are but the scenic views and rivers are not. Think before you send deposit to this man no refunds. If you want to shoot a tame animal this is the place for you. Kent Brock

Submit Date: Apr 12, 2006

Outfitter Review: Wilderness Hunting Lodge - TN

Outfitter / Owner: Alan Wilson

Hunter: Mike Rapp

Animals Hunted: hog

Out of 5 hunters 4 took hogs including a 300lb boar with a bow.The other hunter took a nice Hawian ram.The food was ok and everyone had a great time.I will be going back next year for sika deer.

Submit Date: Jan 16, 2006

Outfitter Review: Wilderness Hunting Lodge - TN

Outfitter / Owner: Alan Wilson

Hunter: steve davis

Animals Hunted: rams/hogs/goats

todd our guide was great we really had to work for our animals,i wanted a gold or silver corsican - todd put me on a beautiful gold corsican as well as a great bronze catalina goat & a 350 lb.feral hog.my buddy did hogs with dogs-great experiance.my shots were 127 yds on the ram,327 yds on the catalina,and 110 yds on the hog.ready to go back-great value for the money.

Submit Date: Oct 12, 2005

Outfitter Review: Wilderness Hunting Lodge - TN

Outfitter / Owner: Alan Wilson

Hunter: Travis Elmore

Animals Hunted: exotics

We had a very good time. Three hunters took a bronze medal fallow buck and fallow doe, silver medal texas dall, and gold medal red stag in two days. Our guide Lynn was awesome and refused to let us fail. He is also crazy on a rhino. Much fun.

Submit Date: Aug 1, 2005

Outfitter Review: Wilderness Hunting Lodge - Tennessee

Outfitter / Owner: Alan Wilson

Hunter: J. D.

Animals Hunted: Boar

Overall,I was not impressed. When I arrived, I had a hard time finding Alan, and had to wait 20 minutes for him. I can understand that he was busy. But when I finally got to speak with him, he wasn't the most cordial. The lodge was very dirty, not at all like what was shown on their website. I ended up staying at another place, aprox. 10-15 min. away from the lodge. Before I went out on the first afternoon, I was talking to some other hunters, and they said they watched as more hogs were trailered in the night before. And when I went to the enclosure (1100 acres I was told), I noticed their was nothing for the hogs to eat. I asked my guide what they ate, and his reply was "gutpiles". This place does not require blaze orange, and it is an accident waiting to happen. Their are quite a few other hunters in the enclosure, shooting animals all around you. And most of them are wearing cammo, so it is hard to spot one another. I was glad I brought a Blaze hat to wear. My guide did do an excellent job for me. We hunted for a little over two hours and I took a boar the first afternoon. A boar that had been castrated. Not pen raised huh? Could have fooled me. I left the next morning after my boar had been processed. I saw aprox. 20 different hogs, but most of them were pretty small. All and all, I was not very impressed with this operation. It seems to me, that the only thing that matters around their is money, not the customer. I will chalk this up as a learning experience and move on.

Submit Date: Feb 3, 2005

Outfitter Review: Blue Bank Resort - Tennessee

Outfitter / Owner: Mike Hayes

Hunter: John Piest

Animals Hunted: Deer

Myself and a neophyte deer hunting friend took our trip on opening weekend of rifle season 2004. The weather was terrible, unseasonably warm and the deer were moving nocturnally big time. I saw over 30 does in five, three hour plus sittings. Only problem is, you can only harvest bucks in Tennessee during rifle season. Wasn't a problem for me, the price was right and accomodations were great so just seeing game was good for me. To me this was a meat hunt, I didn't figure to see any monster bucks in this area of Tennessee. Problem with the guides, with the exception of one fine young man with a big future down there, was they didn't seem to be concerned with wind direction or curtailing their partying the nights before the hunts. Hunting with hungover guides who just want to get you on a stand so they can get to theirs was a little unprofessional. I ended up hunting at least 3 sittings with the wind to my back facing major entry points to feed plots. The other thing that bothered me was the fact that the guides hunt the property they guide. I don't think it's appropriate for the guides to be taking large bucks off guided property then telling you about their conquests. Makes you wonder why you're not seeing any bucks. Last day, 5 minutes before the hunt was over, I killed a small 4 point to salvage the trip. We hunted 3 separate farms and still don't know for sure how much land they have access to. I think with a little organization, this could be a first rate operation. While everything was great accomodation wise, and the weather conditions caused some of our problems, the guides need to get their stuff together to provide a better hunt. I walked away happy. I was however disappointed for my partner who never saw a shootable deer and had a bad taste left in his mouth about the hunt. There were a few other very unhappy hunters in camp as well.

Submit Date: Dec 4, 2004

Outfitter Review: Caryonah Lodge - TN

Outfitter / Owner: Bobbie Garrison

Hunter: Nick Benson

Animals Hunted: Boar

Took at 200-225# hog with the bow. the chase was intense. a charged and treed guide, my son and i had the boar streak by at 4 feet. he worked a dog over very hard.this was about as wild as a preserve hunt could get. no cheap pen shoot here, this was a real experience.this was my second trip and i will return

Submit Date: Feb 27, 2004

Outfitter Review: Clarkrange Hunting Lodge - Tennessee

Outfitter / Owner: Ken Moody

Hunter: Stan Kite

Animals Hunted: Boar

This is a southern style dog hunt for boar, and it's a BLAST! They are WILD; I witnessed three charges in two days! I took a party of 25 and everyone had a great hunt. There's a fence, but it's around some VERY rugged Tennessee terrain, with plenty of hills, rocks, blowdowns, briars and creeks to cross IN A HURRY when the dogs get on a hog. You will be out of breath when you get your shot! Most of us used bows, and it worked out well, with most shots around 10-15 yds, often with only a small window to get an arrow through. All the guides were very knowledgeable, helpful and friendly, and really worked to make the hunt a good experience for young and old. Food is not included, but we loved cooking our own on the grill, and enjoyed a great campfire in the evening. So much fun, the guys insisted I organize another hunt for 2005!

Submit Date: Feb 20, 2004

Outfitter Review: Caryonah Hunting Lodge - TN

Outfitter / Owner: Bobbie Jean Garrison

Hunter: Philip Gurrera

Animals Hunted: Red Deer

This is the second time I have been to Caryonah. On this hunt I took a 6 x 6 Red Deer. This is a great place to go and hunt exotics or hogs. My guide Doug was outstanding and the staff is great as usual. Highly recommend!

Submit Date: Mar 19, 2003

Outfitter Review: Caryonah Hunting Lodge - TN

Outfitter / Owner: Bobbie Jean Garrison

Hunter: Philip Gurrera

Animals Hunted: Fallow or Sika Deer

I spent only one day hunting and I saw 9 fallow deer and 1 sika deer all bucks. All of the animals were trophy size. I was able to harvest fallow deer - I had to work for my opportunity. If you are looking for exotic deer or wild boar, I would recommend Caryonah - you will not go wrong.

Submit Date: Mar 26, 2002

Outfitter Review: Cumberland Mountain Lodge - TN

Outfitter / Owner: Jerry Pistole

Hunter: Joe Democko

Animals Hunted: Russian Boar

The lodge and setting is absolutely gorgeous. Accomodations were excellent. Jerry and his family seem to be quality people. I booked a hunt for a 300 plus pound hog. I spoke with Jerry 3 nights prior to the hunt and everything was on schedule. When I arrived and sat down to finalize the payment of the rest of the hunt, I was informed that there were no 300 pound hogs available. I didn't travel 500 miles to shoot a 150 pound hog. I wish I knew this prior to arrival. Jerry advertises that a 200-250 pound hog costs $650.00. My total bill was $805.00. I feel that there are alot of hidden costs involved in this hunt. I never saw a hog that weighed over 200 pounds, neither did any of my partners. We had a fun time but I think you could do the same hunt cheaper.

Submit Date: Feb 23, 2002

Outfitter Review: Caryonah Lodge - TN

Outfitter / Owner: n/a

Hunter: Grant Benson

Animals Hunted: Hog

A good southern preserve hunt for hog. Nice with a bow. I'm not sure with a gun there would be much to it. Good animals in good area with nice people who know what they are doing. This is not a barnyard shoot, but it's not a wild free ranging experience either.

Submit Date: Jan 23, 2002

Outfitter Review: Cumberland Mountain Hunting Lodge - TN

Outfitter / Owner: Jerry Pistole

Hunter: Craig Conway

Animals Hunted: Wild Boar

My Dad, my friend and I drove 14 hours to TN to hunt wild boar and we hoped it was going to be worth the trip for us "Yankees". The lodge was absolutely beautiful and well kept. The immense fieldstone fireplace is the center of attention in the sitting room. The hunting was great, I made several stalks on different groups of hogs and took my time to select a nice 225# tusker and take him with my muzzleloader at 83 yards. Great time in the lodge. Judy can really cook some old-fashion Southern country meals.

Submit Date: Jan 10, 2002

Outfitter Review: Caryonah Hunting Lodge - TN

Outfitter / Owner: N/A

Hunter: Justin

Animals Hunted: Wild Boar

We seen lots of big pigs me and my father both bagged a pig on first day. Nice people!!!! Great food!!!!!!! I will go back!!!!!!!!!!

Submit Date: Oct 7, 2001

Outfitter Review: Wilderness Hunting Lodge - Tennessee

Outfitter / Owner: Alan Wilson

Hunter: Marcus Sample

Animals Hunted: Wild Boar

This was a true hunt, not a pen hunt. At the end of a long hunt I got a very nice Russian boar thanks to my guide Bruce Wilson (The Hog Master) You will not be disappointed at Wilderness Hunting Lodge,it was a good honest hunt not some joke where you are hunting tame animals that have been pen raised then set loose.I enjoyed my stay so much I will be returning in Sept of 2002 this time Fallow deer will be what I am after and I am sure I will not be disappointed

Submit Date: Aug 2, 1999

Outfitter Review: Primm Springs Wildlife Co. - Tennessee

Outfitter / Owner: Stuart Wolcott

Hunter: Danny Metzger

Animals Hunted: Deer, turkey,duck

The tn. deer is fair game only and the turkey are plentifull with personal attention. This year they will be able to offer at least 3500 acres for hunting in two counties.The duck and goose is in Arkasas offering flooded wood,planted field and minnow ponds. Several thousand acres to hunt. Last year the diver duck was more like a dove shoot. I had an absolute ball.

web application and database development by davidcdalton.com