South Carolina Hunting Outfitter and Guide Reviews

Submit Date: Mar 4, 2007

Outfitter Review: Bostick Plantation - SC

Outfitter / Owner: Joe Bostick

Hunter: Brian Wilson

Animals Hunted: Wild Boar

Six of us took 4 hogs (all with rifles). All three people bowhunting had no hogs in range. The guide did a good job of moving us around and the accomodations were good. It is definitely a fair chase hunt. Expect to hunt, not kill. The area showed signs of excessive hunting pressure. It would be nice if they either limited the length of the season or number of hunters. There were almost 20 hunters at camp for our 4 days. A decent place to shoot a hog with a rifle, but bowhunters should stay away.

Submit Date: Feb 19, 2007

Outfitter Review: Rut 'n Strut'n Hunting Lodge - South Carolina

Outfitter / Owner: Mike Leopard

Hunter: Joey T

Animals Hunted: quail

This was a real hunting lodge. Mike "The Big Cat" is a great Guide. Everything was done right.

Submit Date: Feb 17, 2007

Outfitter Review: Bostick Plantation - SC

Outfitter / Owner: Joe Bostick

Hunter: Gary Gaulrapp

Animals Hunted: Wild boar

If you go to Bostick expecting everything they advertise you will be very disapointed. You have to remember(as with all fair chase/no garentee hunts)you are paying for the land/transportation and a guide to place you in the best location. They provided all of thay. This 10,000 acre parcel is hunted every week with anywere from 6 to 21 hunters. Thats a lot of pressure. Dispite 2 days of bad weather we got 9 pigs with 12 hunters. I do not think thaat is to bad. The guides did there best to put all of us in good stands. I had atleast 2 feeders whithin 100 yds of me on every hunt. The guides do rotate you to a spot that was hunted by someone els the day before but that still produced pigs. They have spent a lot of money on feeders and stands. We say 20-30 deer and 19 turkeys. There are plenty of food plots and the pigs were there. Early Full moon does not help. All in all we had a good time and worth the money. Just remember IT'S HUNTING not just KILLING and you will have a good time. As a side not the lodge/ cabin is nice and clean and a great place to stay.

Submit Date: Feb 5, 2007

Outfitter Review: Bostick Plantation - SC

Outfitter / Owner: Joe Bostick

Hunter: Greg Wallace

Animals Hunted: Hog

Do your research on this place-I wish I had. The outfitter has totally RAPED this land, and the over the course of 2 days, I saw no hogs (only after my final hunt did I inspect my bait piles to see my guide had not put ANY bait out!!).The best thing that could happen here is no hunting for at least a year, and then only on a limited basis. I did see 3 hogs killed, all averaging between 100-130 lbs.-far from the bruisers I imagined; and that appears to be the average size of the kills. The hogs have so much pressure put on them year round, that they've gotten wise, and feed primarily at night.In short-stay away.

Submit Date: Jan 29, 2007

Outfitter Review: Waccamaw Hunting Service - South Carolina

Outfitter / Owner: Rick Grubbs

Hunter: Greg Turner

Animals Hunted: WILD BOAR

RICK is the man!!! Honest, fair, dependable and very personable. Good honest hunt for WILD boar. Not a shoot. Bring your skills.

Submit Date: Dec 14, 2006

Outfitter Review: Waccamaw - South Carolina

Outfitter / Owner: Rick Grubbs

Hunter: Greg Albury

Animals Hunted: Whitetail

Ricks one of the good ole boys. He makes no promises but goes above and betond the call of duty to put you on that big one. Hey that's why they call it hunting! I'll be back next year! P.S. turn off the lights

Submit Date: Dec 10, 2006

Outfitter Review: Waccamaw Hunting Services - SC

Outfitter / Owner: Rick Grubbs

Hunter: neil albury

Animals Hunted: whitetail deer

i have already booked for next year so that in itself should say somthing .rick definately knows what he is doing and gives you his all to make it a good hunting experience.give him a call and try it for yourself you wont be dissapointed

Submit Date: Nov 29, 2006

Outfitter Review: Bostick Plantation - South Carolina

Outfitter / Owner: Joe Bostick

Hunter: GARY WARNER

Animals Hunted: DEER & BOAR

9 OF US WENT, 4 OF US TO THE MAIN PLACE AND 5 WENT TO ISLAND PLANTATION FOR THE CHEAPER HUNT(CAUSE THERE WAS NO MORE ROOM AT THE MAIN LODGE THEY WERE TOLD-WE WERE TALKING TO OTHER HUNTERS AT THE LODGE AND THEY SAID THEY BOOKED IN AUGUST- WE BOOKED IN MRACH)THE 5 HAD BETTER ACCOMADATIONS AT THE CHEAPER PLACE THAN WE DID. THE FIRST AFTERNOON THERE BEFORE THE HUNT STARTED WE WERE TALKING TO A GUIDE, HE TOLD US THE PLACE WAS OVER HUNTED AND IT WOULDN'T HURT TO SHUT IT DOWN FOR A FEW YEARS BUT LIKE HE SAID THAT WOULD NEVER HAPPEN BECAUSE IT IS A BUSINESS. THE HOUSE WE STAYED IN WAS JUST JAMMED PACKED FULL OF HUNTERS.I DID NOT SEE A DEER OR BOAR AT ALL, OTHER GUYS SAW SMALL DEER, BUT NOTHING LIKE IT SHOWS ON THE WEBSITE OR THEIR BROCHURE, MOST OF THE PICTURES THEY SHOW ARE FROM ABOUT 4 YEARS AGO, ALL OF THE HUNTERS THERE SAID THE SAME THING WHEN WE WERE TALKING - THAT THEY WOULD NOT BE GOING BACK THERE AGAIN, WHICH IS WHY THEY MUST HAVE TO ADVERTISE IN ALL THE MAGAZINES THEY DO - TO GET NEW HUNTERS TO GO THERE. FROM WHAT WE SAW AND HEARD THEY HAVE NOT PUT ANY MONEY IN THE PLACE IN A LONG TIME, YEARS AGO IT MIGHT HAVE BEEN A GOOD PLACE TO GO TO BUT RIGHT NOW IT IS NOT WHAT THEY SAY IT IS. WE ALL WOULD NOT RECOMEND THIS TO ANYONE!!!!

Submit Date: Oct 16, 2006

Outfitter Review: Bostick Plantation - South Carolina

Outfitter / Owner: Joe Bostick

Hunter: Lee

Animals Hunted: Deer and Hog

My friend and I went there for a 3 day "Trophy Hunt". Trust me there may be a trophy somewhere on the property but your chances of seeing it or anything else are not very good. Their web site is very misleading and is just a marketing front for a poor place to hunt. There are way way too many hunters and they will say anything to get you to come. Our guide if you can call him that, more a transportation courier was so excited if anyone saw anything at all. He kept on telling us stories about a big eight pointer was killed in this area last year. Are you kidding me. Your web site says one deer and hog a day. If you see either on your hunt you were considered very lucky in our erxperience there by ALL hunters in ALL cabins. By the way the weather was perfect. I can go on and on about the tired over used stands and that my friend saw nothing in all 3 days. I did shoot a small pig though. I was somewhat of a celebrity for a day in that I actually saw an animal must less shot one. Please do your homework and stay far far away from the place. What I have written here is only the beginning of my problems with this place. For those who gave positive reviews, one question. Have you ever hunted before? anywhere else?

Submit Date: Oct 16, 2006

Outfitter Review: Waccamaw Hunting Services - South Carolina

Outfitter / Owner: Rick Grubbs

Hunter: Jeff Forry

Animals Hunted: Whitetailed Deer

My father and I visited Waccamaw Hunting Services for a three day trip. Rick worked very hard to make this a very memorable experience. I was fortunate enought to harvest my nicest buck and even though my father did not harvest a buck, he did see a good quantity of deer.

Submit Date: Oct 3, 2006

Outfitter Review: Hidden Valley Whitetails Hunt Club - SC

Outfitter / Owner: Pete & Megan

Hunter: Brian Winot

Animals Hunted: Whitetail

We take 4 - 6 paid trips each year for deer including at least 1 with our sons. This year we decided to go someplace we could drive and be in the middle between myself in PA nad my buddies in MS, we choose SC and Hidden Valley Whitetails Club. Poor choice. Heard all summer when talked to them about the number of deer they have and how the boys would see tons of bucks. South Carolina has no limit on the amount of deer you can shoot, season from August 15 to Jan 15.Hunting over corn 6 hunters saw 7 deer in our 3 day hunt. It was not as were told by any stretch. We were told we would have our own "lodge", since we had 9 people, 3 fathers didn't hunt only the kids. No such luck. It was just not a good hunt and our group will not go back.They do have plenty of Turkeys though and might be a good turkey operation. They are also fairly nice people. BTW 2 of our guys left 2 days early after not seeing anything after 3 sittings. Yes it is hunting and you don't always get what you are hunting for, however this is being sold as deer all over the place and no limit because they have to many deer. Well, this morning in PA there were 7 deer on my front lawn and I had to chuckle after driving 12 hours to see 1 deer in 6 sittings. All 3 kids shot deer including my sons spike buck, again, we are still dissatisfied and will not return, killing game does not a good hunt make!! Beware

Submit Date: Sep 18, 2006

Outfitter Review: Paradise Valley Farms Hunt Club - South Carolina

Outfitter / Owner: Dave Talley

Hunter: Dennis Parker

Animals Hunted: White Tail Deer

As far as the Deer, I saw more than I've ever seen. These properties have a large population, it must be the corn that is there year round. I saw and passed up a few bucks until I took mine.I Hunted in August, it was pretty hot, but the bugs were not as bad as I was prepared for. I hunted in Shorts and Flip Flops, the stands are hand made and cover you very well. I ended up taking a six point in velvet. And my friend took an eight point. They are both being mounted as I type.Look forward to the next hunt Thanks Dave,and Charles

Submit Date: Sep 2, 2006

Outfitter Review: Blackwater Hunting Services - South Carolina

Outfitter / Owner: Terry Hiers

Hunter: Darren Hilyer

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

WELL THE SAME OLD STORY,Ive hunted at blackwater hunting for the past 6 or so years things just get better.i killed 2 bucks a 10 and an 8, wife killed an 8 pointer all good shooter bucks.i was there for two hunts 1-3day hunt and 1-4 day hunt in 7 days i saw a number of shooter bucks plenty of young bucks bunches of doe's. whats nice is terry keeps from shooting young bucks so every year it seems as if ive been seeing better deer every year. i would strongly recommend blackwater hunting services to anyone that enjoys the sport of hunting (free ranging)whitetail deer.ive been hunting for along time ive been to many other outfitters some good some that are really bad i can tell you from experience this place is 1ST CLASS all the way cant wait to go back!!!!!!!!!!!!

Submit Date: Aug 31, 2006

Outfitter Review: Blackwater Hunting Services - SC

Outfitter / Owner: Terry Hiers

Hunter: Steve Spatafora

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

I have been hunting at Blackwater for 4 years.I lease 500 acres within 45 miles from Blackwater, and still make at least one hunt there per year.I have fair chase hunted for 34 years and FULLY understand it is called hunting for a reason. Results are based on wind,weather conditions and several other factors. I have harvested 2 excellent bucks and 4 does.I have NEVER been misled or promised anything other than the opportunity to harvest quality deer. The Guides and staff are as professional and courteous as you could expect from a QUALITY Outfitter. I strongly suggest you DO NOT let one bad apple InfLOUence your decision for a great hunting experience!

Submit Date: Aug 28, 2006

Outfitter Review: Blackwater Hunting Services - South Carolina

Outfitter / Owner: Terry Hiers

Hunter: Tom Collom

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

Just got back from an August hunt with Terry Hiers. While I didn't come home with a buck, it wasn't for lack of opportunity. Sometimes things happen that are outside the control of the outfitter, but that's hunting (vs. killing). Anyway, saw probably 30 bucks, including 5 or so that were definitely shootable. Saw at least that many does, too. This was the 5th time I've hunted with Terry, and it's always the same. Outstanding and varied country, careful stand placement, no over-hunting, attention to wind direction and a sincere desire to help his clients succeed. Have I killed a nice buck every time down there? Nope, not every time. Most of the time I have, though, but even when I didn't, I had a great time. I will continue to go back year after year, because the Hiers family runs an exceptional operation. They're honest, hardworking, genuinely nice people. In a nutshell, I'd trust Terry with my wallet, and if I could only take one hunting trip a year, it would be to his operation.

Submit Date: Aug 15, 2006

Outfitter Review: ruttn'struttn' hunting logde - SC

Outfitter / Owner: mike "big cat" leopard

Hunter: arthur albion

Animals Hunted: boar

"Big Cat" is one the best guides I have come across.I was on a two day hunt, and saw at least 10 to 12 boar the first day. I did not kill my boar until the second day to make sure it was the trophy I wanted.This guy realy knows his stuff!!

Submit Date: Jul 14, 2006

Outfitter Review: Bostick Plantation - SC

Outfitter / Owner: Joe Bostick

Hunter: chris sabo

Animals Hunted: Deer and Hogs

Ten Bowhunters in camp, not even one buck sighted. One piglet was shot and one doe. They shuffled us between stands. I didn't see anything at one stand so they moved me to where someone else wasn't seeing anything and put them where I was. The "guide" Morgan left us in the stand until 10 p.m. the one night because he dozed off after dropping us off. This outfitter could put a person off to hiring an outfitter all together.

Submit Date: Jun 9, 2006

Outfitter Review: Bostick Plantation - South Carolina

Outfitter / Owner: Joe Bostick

Hunter: justin magness

Animals Hunted: Hogs

Five of us went down to hunt hogs 6/1 through 6/4/06 over bait. In those three days there was only one hog shot which was the last morning, and that was in the archery section with a rifle, so don't let them kid you about no rifle hunting ever in the archery area. I saw one hog the first morning which was about 35 lbs, I elected not to shoot, especially since we were told we'd be seeing hogs everywhere, BS. In total out of 5 guys hunting 11 hours a day for 3 days (165 total hunting hours approx) only one hog was taken, one guy missed the 35 lb hog I saw, and nobody else even had a chance to shoot, first you've got to see them. Also this plantation is 10,000 acres, on stand none of us were more than 300 yds apart and we were the only guys hunting the whole plantation during those three days. Seems a bit strange. If I had it to do over again I'd either go to Texas or Florida. One positive thing our guide Mike was personable. I really think the place has been horribly over hunted.

Submit Date: Apr 14, 2006

Outfitter Review: Cypress Creek Hunting Lodge - SC

Outfitter / Owner: Danny Harrell

Hunter: Ryan Dennis

Animals Hunted: Boar

We had a group of nine go down for two days. It was warm and there was a full moon which is not the ideal time to hunt but all we could swing. Mike took me out the first morning and I killed a 200 pound boar. No one else saw anything. That evening we went back out and one guy shot a 235 sow right at dark and another guy saw 12 under a feeder, shot at one and missed. The second day only one boar was seen. All in all not bad for a two day full moon hunt when dealing with nocturnal creatures. Mike and Bubba are intelligent and fun guides and Tammy (the cook) will make you gain 5 pounds a day!! The food is AWESOME!! We are definitely going back.

Submit Date: Mar 23, 2006

Outfitter Review: Cypress Creek - SC

Outfitter / Owner: Dan Harrell

Hunter: Stan Schoemer

Animals Hunted: Hogs

There where 5 people in our group on a one day hunt. Saturday evening I shot a 125lb hog and saw 11 hogs. One guy missed a hog and saw 3. On Sunday morning I shot 165lb hog and saw 2, one other guy shot a small hog and 2 others saw hogs. Only one person in the group did not see any hogs.The food was great and the people are better. I would and have recommended this place to all.

Submit Date: Mar 20, 2006

Outfitter Review: Blackwater Hunting Service - South Carolina

Outfitter / Owner: Terry Heirs

Hunter: Sean Calhoun

Animals Hunted: Eastern Wild Turkey

I hunted at Blackwater for an early Season Eastern Wild Turkey Hunt and had a good time. I took two trophy Birds, One weighing over 20 pounds. The weather was not conducive to a great hunt, But the Guide as well as the owner himself hutned VERY HARD with me for al three days to ensure that i had a successful hunt. This made a good impression on me and is an important factor in my recommendation. I been on bad hunts before and this was not one. I would recommend it for someone who is serious about turkey hunting...because they take it very seriously. I have been deer hunting there once as wel a couple of years ago and had a good hunt then as well. The lodge is very nice and the staff and food was great. The food was a country style of cooking and was plentiful as wel as delicious. I take it seriously when I pay to go on a hunting trip as we all should and I was treated very well and did not leave feeling that I had not gotten my money's worth.

Submit Date: Mar 4, 2006

Outfitter Review: Buch Run - SC

Outfitter / Owner: Pete Simmons

Hunter: HARRY E FORNWALT

Animals Hunted: hogs

the quality of the game was not on par with what was told we would experence.the quality of game was poor.most of the sighting were of young un-harvestable game.most of the hunting party did not see a sutiable quanity of hogs,in fact one member did not see anything in a three day period.while two others only saw one hog.there is potental for the hunt to be much better,but is it worth spending 900.00 on that chance?

Submit Date: Feb 19, 2006

Outfitter Review: Waccamaw Hunting Lodge - South Carolina

Outfitter / Owner: Rick Grubbs

Hunter: Warren Woogen

Animals Hunted: Wild Boar

Rick Grubbs runs a clean, honest and trustworthy operation. All game are truely free ranging. Rick trys to set you up where you will be comfortable and within your shooting abilities. If you are successful, Rick bring your hog to a cleaning shed and he will skin and clean your kill and store it in a walk in cooler until your hunt is over. No guarantee hunt, just real hunting the way most hunters like it. I will be going back.

Submit Date: Jan 18, 2006

Outfitter Review: Waccamaw Hunting Svcs. - South Carolina

Outfitter / Owner: Rick Grubbs

Hunter: Gary Shuler

Animals Hunted: whitetail deer

Rick is a one-man operation that still believes if you give an honest effort, have a good product, and are willing to work hard at your trade - you will be successful...and he is! great personality - excellent woodsman - caring landowner...what a wonderful combination! I highly recommend for father/son or father/daughter hunts. rick's passion for the sport is great for beginners. I've hunted w/rick 2 seasons in a row, already booked for 2006, and have yet to score a nice buck, but then it's not always all about the kill...it's about the experience and i highly value my time spent w/Rick.

Submit Date: Jan 13, 2006

Outfitter Review: Waccamaw Hunting Services - SC

Outfitter / Owner: Rick Grubbs

Hunter: Rick Jackson

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

Even though I did not harvest a deer, I saw plenty of deer in 4 sittings and the majority were bucks. My nephew has been hunting for some 15 years and he finally harvested not one, but two nice bucks on our first hunt at Waccamaw. Rick Grubbs, Outfitter, did an excellent job and he knows the terrain and gives you 110%! I have already booked another hunt for 5 men for 2006!

Submit Date: Jan 4, 2006

Outfitter Review: Blackwater Hunting Services - south carolina

Outfitter / Owner: Terry Hiers

Hunter: Darren Hilyer

Animals Hunted: whitetail Deer

It was December 27 my wife and i and 2 children went to Black Water I figured it might be the slow time of he year for seeing deer but we figured we would try it, boy was i wrong.we saw lots of deer. we saw a few nice bucks and a lot of doe's it was a great trip because we had are 2 girls with us one is 8 and one is 12, they really enjoyed sitting and watching the deer and turkeys. my wife and I sat together on one hunt and man was that fun. I film a lot with a video camera and I was lucky I went with her on this day. we saw a really nice 8 point and she was able to take him while I got it all on camera WOW that was great. Then on the next day I sat with my 12 year old daughter and she was able to take her very 1st deer it was a nice doe.man you talk about nice memories. I've can say I've been to this lodge before and it seems like its getting better and better. They really have a nice place,they really try hard for there hunters and the food is great. I've been to some other lodges in South Carolina and they don't come close to this one this place is 1st class

Submit Date: Dec 28, 2005

Outfitter Review: Waccamaw Hunting Lodge - South Carolina

Outfitter / Owner: Rick Grubbs

Hunter: Ed Williams

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

Rick has an exceptional operation and he makes the hunt a great experience. I will hunt with him any time I have an opportunity.

Submit Date: Nov 17, 2005

Outfitter Review: Blackwater Hunting Services - SC

Outfitter / Owner: Terry Hiers

Hunter: LOU KEITH

Animals Hunted: WHITETAILED DEER

I'VE BEEN LOOKING FOR A PLACE TO HARVEST TWO OR THREE MEAT DEER WITHIN A SHORT DRIVE OF MY HOME IN FLORIDA. SADLY, MANY HUNTING OPERATIONS IN THE SOUTHEAST ARE "HUNTING MILLS" THAT HAUL SPORTSMEN TO STANDS IN GROSSLY OVER HUNTED AREAS. AN ACQUAINTANCE TOLD ME THAT A FEW YEARS AGO HE HAD HUNTED AT BLACKWATER AND THAT AT THAT TIME THEY HAD A FAIR DEER POPULATION. ALTHOUGH SKEPTICAL, I CALLED TERRY HIERS. HE TOLD ME AT THAT HE HAD AN "ABUNDANCE" OF DEER SINCE HE DID NOT ALLOW OVER HUNTING. HE SUGGESTED A RUT HUNT(EXTRA COST), SAYING THERE WOULD BE PLENTY OF DEER ACTIVITY.BLACKWATER'S LODGE WAS CLEAN, MODERN AND WELL APPOINTED. IT HOUSED FOUR BEDROOMS, EACH WITH THEIR OWN BATHROOM. MEALS WERE A CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST, WITH A LEFTOVERS-AND-SANDWICH LUNCH AND A CLASSIC, HOME COOKED SOUTHERN SUPPER(HIGHLIGHT OF THE HUNT). LATE MODEL CREW CAB PICK-UPS WERE USED TO TRANSPORT HUNTERS TO THE WELL-MAINTAINED STANDS. THE STANDS WERE LOCATED IN PLANTED PINES AND POWER LINE RIGHT-OF-WAYS WITH CORN PILES LOCATED 100-150 YARDS AWAY. IMMEDIATELY UPON ARRIVAL(NOVEMBER 9,2005), TERRY HIERS BEGAN MAKING EXCUSES AS TO WHY NO ONE WAS SEEING DEER(TOO HOT, TOO DRY, TOO MANY ACORNS). TOO HOT? THE MORNING TEMPERATURES OF THIS HUNT WERE 48, 35 AND 36 DEGREES. SOUTH CAROLINA'S DEER SEASON STARTS AUGUST 15TH WHEN THE AVERAGE HIGH TEMPERATURE IS 91. WHY DOES HIERS BOOK VELVET BUCK HUNTS(EXTRA CHARGE, OF COURSE) FROM AUGUST 15TH TO 31ST, IF DEER DON'T MOVE IN HOT WEATHER? TOO DRY? LO0K AT HIERS' HOME PAGE: "BLACKWATER CONSISTS OF SEVERAL DIFFERENT TRACTS OF LAND ENCOMPASSING RIVERS, SWAMPS, CREEKS..." I'VE KILLED DOZENS OF DEER IN CENTRAL AND SOUTH TEXAS WHERE IT'S ALWAYS DRY, OFTEN HOT, AND SOMETIMES THERE'S A LOT OF ACORNS ON THE GROUND. GOOD GUIDES MAKE THINGS HAPPEN, NOT EXCUSES.THE HUNTING WAS TERRIBLE. I SAW SIX YEARLINGS(45-60 LBS) IN 3 1/2 DAYS. THESE EXTREMELY SPOOKY AND WARY YOUNG DEER CONSTANTLY LOOKED AT THE STANDS, A COMMON SIGN OF OVER HUNTING. THE MATURE DEER IN THIS AREA WERE OBVIOUSLY NOCTURNAL. AS MENTIONED EARLIER, HIERS BILLED THIS AS A RUT HUNT. ONLY ONE OF EIGHT HUNTERS KILLED A BUCK. NOT ONE HUNTER REPORTED SEEING A BUCK CHASING A DOE. TWO HUNTERS EACH SHOT TWO UNDERSIZED DEER AND THUS PAID FINES TO HIERS OF $200-$300 FOR EACH YEARLING. ONE OF THE HUNTERS SAID THAT HIERS WAS ACTUALLY CONSIDERING EXPANDING HIS OPERATION FROM EIGHT TO TWELVE HUNTERS DAILY NEXT YEAR(!).I'VE HUNTED FOR OVER 45 YEARS AND HAVE BEEN ON NUMEROUS GUIDED HUNTS. THIS WAS THE WORST I'VE BEEN ON. WHILE MOST OUTFITTERS WON'T GUARANTEE A KILL, WHEN A HUNTER DOES NOT GET A SHOOTING OPPORTUNITY, MOST REPUTABLE OUTFITTERS WILL OFFER CONCESSIONS, SUCH AS A PARTIAL REFUND, A FREE HUNTING DAY OR A FUTURE DISCOUNTED HUNT. HIERS DID NOT APOLOGIZE FOR THE POOR HUNT NOR OFFER ANY CONCESSIONS.

Submit Date: Nov 14, 2005

Outfitter Review: Roblyn's Neck Trophy Club - South Carolina

Outfitter / Owner: Campbell Cox

Hunter: Angelo Baio

Animals Hunted: Deer

The holdings are running over with hogs. Yet, I've hunted there three times in two hunting seasons (Late and early October and December)and still have not seen a legal deer (15" min outside). In three hunts with a combined total of 16 hunters and 11 days of hunting, only two bucks were taken. One, a small eight point (14 7/8 outside) and another six point that did in fact make the cut. Chances of booking the "rut", are about 10 % regardless of how many clients you bring. If you want a hog hunt this is the place. If you want a deer look elsewhere.

Submit Date: Sep 5, 2005

Outfitter Review: Paradise Valley Hunt Club - South Carolina

Outfitter / Owner: Bang Collins

Hunter: Nick Dalasio

Animals Hunted: Whitetail deer

Bang & his son Tom run a first-class, professional whitetail hunting club. We hunted August 31-September 2, 2005 which was supposed to be a slow time because of the heat, but saw deer every day. Plenty of does, which was to be expected, but numerous bucks also. The stands are in excellent condition, strategically perfect (facing the wind), and always corned. Bang & Tom go the extra mile to make sure everyone is satisfied; they especially made an extra effort to see that my 12 year-old son shot his first wall hanger. The camp is clean, modern, and quiet, great family atmosphere, and the food is plentiful & good. I plan to go back again later this year to hunt in the trophy-managed areas during the rut.

Submit Date: Aug 30, 2005

Outfitter Review: Cinnamon Ranch - SC

Outfitter / Owner: Trent Horn

Hunter: joe dolce

Animals Hunted: deer

there is to much to wright plese call me 1 845 386 8262 joseph

Submit Date: Aug 29, 2005

Outfitter Review: Cinnamon Ridge Hunting Lodge - SC

Outfitter / Owner: Trent Horne

Hunter: george

Animals Hunted: white tail deer

we went on a 3 day deer hunt and we just left the lodge and didnt even attempt to finish our last hunt of the evening(we paid our bill first). only one of us saw any deer all dows and fawns with the eception of one tiny spike and one other spike. the guide said why didnt shoot the spike? we didnt travel from new york to sc to shoot spikes there all over nys. we went there for reasons one was to see some decent racks. the main reason we went was to take our dad for his 75th birthday in hopes that he would finally shoot a buck!! the owner of the lodge trent ws made aware of this at the time of booking and it was reiterated to trent on many occaisions our guide just looked as if he didnt care about us . other hunters roamed the property one actualy tried to climb into my brothers stand we thoght we were huntin on exclusive properties?the other things not until we arrived were we informed about rules and fines that we had to sign for such as if i shot the spike above the only oher deer i was able to shoot was 8pts and better with a 12 in. spread? all this rules almost made my dad leave from the onset.theres a few thats not put in their brochure or website you shoot a deer there is a 25 dollar guttting and processing charge. (THE GUIDE SAID HE NOT ALLOWED TO FIELD DRESS IT MUST GO STRAIGHT TO THE PROCESSOR HIS LAND OWNERS DONT ALLOW IT??)he also wont let you any butchering at the lodge he says its too messy!! it a hunting lodge.lastly the lodge is and surroundings do nat match the their ads the outside messy and dishevaled the rifle range is clutterd and in disrepair inside is fair at bestall i can finish with is save your money go els ware

Submit Date: Apr 25, 2005

Outfitter Review: Buck Run - SC

Outfitter / Owner: Pete Gee

Hunter: AUBREY PAYNE

Animals Hunted: WHITETAIL DEER

2004 SEASON WAS A BAD SEASON DUE TO HURRICANES AND UNUSUALLY HOT WEATHER.DEER WERE NOT MOVING A LOT BUT PETE DID EVERYTHING POSSIBLE TO GIVE US EVERY OPPORTUNITY POSSIBLE.ACCOMODATIONS AND FOOD WERE EXCELLENT AND NOBODY COULD ASK FOR NICER PEOPLE THAN PETE AND HIS WIFE.I WOULD GO BACK AGAIN IN THE FUTURE

Submit Date: Mar 22, 2005

Outfitter Review: Bostick Plantation - SC

Outfitter / Owner: Joe Bostick

Hunter: Chip Lewis

Animals Hunted: Turkey, Wild boar

We went to bostick for a turkey and wild hog 3 day hunt. The birds gobbled good but were henned up real bad. We probably would have done better if we had waited a week or two longer so some of the hens could be bred and the gobblers would have responded to the calls better. Everyone heard and saw a lot of birds but there was only one bird killed within the three days, but after all, it was the first week of the season and S.C's season is a month earlier than most states. The hog hunting from stands was not as productive as we hoped, but there are a lot of them there, they are just nocturnal. We ended up going on a dog hunt for hogs and did not regret it. It does cost a little more but very exciting and you are guaranteed a hog, which we actually killed two of. My friend shot a 600 pound boar and I killed a 200 pound sow. The dogs were on the hogs within 10 minutes.

Submit Date: Jan 31, 2005

Outfitter Review: Waccamaw Hunting Service - South Carolina

Outfitter / Owner: Rick Grubbs

Hunter: Thomas Herrera

Animals Hunted: Wild boar/Whitetail

For anyone out there who work's hard for there money and alway's thought about going on a guided hunt but is afraid to, this is the place to go. Rick go's all out to find you game. I have been hunting with Rick for four year's now for hog's and deer and have had so much fun and harvested alot of game but even when it's slow you will have a load of laugh's. Well I hope to see some of you down there some time.

Submit Date: Jan 30, 2005

Outfitter Review: Waccamaw Hunting Services - SC

Outfitter / Owner: Rick Grubbs

Hunter: ROBERT FULFORD

Animals Hunted: wild hog

MY WIFE ( WHO WAS 8 MONTHS PREGNANT) MYSLF AND TWO FRIENDS JUST RETURNED FROM A 4 DAY HUNT WUTH RICK.RICK WENT OUT OF HIS WAY TO MAKE SURE SHE WAS SAFE AND SUCCESFUL.WE ALL TOOK TWO HOGS AND HAD OTHER OPPURTUNITIES.FOOD IS NOT PROVIDED ON THESE HOG HUNTS;HOWEVER THER IS A FULLY FURNISHED KITCHEN FOR YOUR USE.THIS AN EXCELLENT HUNT FOR THE FAMILY.THESE ARE ALSO FREE RANGING HOGS WITH GREAT TROPHY POTENTIAL.YOU WILL HAVE FUN AND SHOULD GET A HOG.

Submit Date: Jan 7, 2005

Outfitter Review: Waccamaw Hunting Services - South Carolina

Outfitter / Owner: Rick Grubbs

Hunter: Lisa Watson

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

Rick is an excellent owner/guide of this outfit. I recommend this to all mother/son hunters. He made my son and myself his top priority for the Dec. 18 - 20, 2004 hunt. He made our first mother/son outfitter hunt and first kill (for son)an event we will never forget. Thank you Rick. Caleb will never forget you!!!What you did for my son will never be forgotten. You gave him the "father/son" hunt that he needed for closure of his father's death. Thank you!!!God Bless you and we will see you next season...with friends!!!!! Forever Grateful,Lisa Watson

Submit Date: Dec 21, 2004

Outfitter Review: Black River Plantation - SC

Outfitter / Owner: Mike Stroff

Hunter: Andy Messer

Animals Hunted: Whitetail & Hog

We had the misfortune of being at Black River during an unseasonably warm November. In addition, we were hunting on the weekend of the full moon. The game just was not moving. But that did not stop Mike and Neil from going the extra mile (literally) and making every effort to give us the opportunity. The stands, sleeping quarters and the effort put into feeding the game was top notch. While we did not harvest an animal, Mike chose to give a deer to us that he had harvested the week before. Top notch! First Class Operation! I will be going back.

Submit Date: Dec 8, 2004

Outfitter Review: Bostick Plantation - South Carolina

Outfitter / Owner: Joe Bostick

Hunter: Mike

Animals Hunted: deer, boar

Went down to Bostick for there September special and we had a blast. We didn't see any hogs but some where taken. Saw a couple of bucks and lots of does. The bucks where not shooters to me, they might have made the min. requirment. Food was great and the lodge was very comfortable. The guide we had was great he did an outstanding job, and hung out with us when we got back to camp. I'm tryin to book a trip for next year in November this time.

Submit Date: Nov 29, 2004

Outfitter Review: Bostick Plantation - SC

Outfitter / Owner: Joe Bostick

Hunter: michael

Animals Hunted: deer/boar

After reading the advertisement of this outfitter in the back of the deer magazines I get, you would think that you would be trampled by animals because there were so many. That is a total lie. We went with a group of 4 in November and it sucked. Weather was perfect. Rut was supposedly on. There were NO deer. Boar sightings were 4 piglets in 6 stands. As far as the baiting goes, I hardly consider a dozen corn cobs as "baiting"! It couldn't have been a more disappointing hunt. Save your money and go somewhere else. The Bostick's should let this plantation have at least 2 years of a shut down in order for the deer and boar herd to become larger. They should also limit it to maybe 1 quality deer for all 3 days of your visit. How long do you think it can keep up by having each hunters shoot 2 deer and 1 boar a day?

Submit Date: Nov 18, 2004

Outfitter Review: Bostick Plantation - SC

Outfitter / Owner: Joe Bostick

Hunter: Mario Civera

Animals Hunted: deer, boar

The season starts August 15 and runs until Jan. It is the longest season in the country. The plantation hosts 15-20 hunters a weekend which results in pressure, pressure, pressure. The deer go completely nocturnal and your lucky to see a buck. I hunted for 26 hours over a 3 1/2 day timeframe and saw 3 doe. Very dissapointing. If you decide to go, hunt the first two weeks or make sure you hit the rut exactly as it unfolds.

Submit Date: Nov 16, 2004

Outfitter Review: Blackwater Hunting Service - South Carolina

Outfitter / Owner: Terry Hiers

Hunter: Darren Hilyer

Animals Hunted: Whitetail

Hunted in October saw lots of DEER Harvested a great nine pointer and a nice eight pointer.the food was great and the guides are number 1. In the 3 1/2days i was there i saw many good bucks this place really has it all,Terry the owner really knows what hes doing.

Submit Date: Nov 16, 2004

Outfitter Review: Roblyn's Neck - South Carolina

Outfitter / Owner: Campbell Cox

Hunter: Angelo Baio

Animals Hunted: Deer / Hog

Advertised as a trophy deer camp and they make every effort to be just that. There is a 15" outside spread requirement. My personal three day hunt logged four deer, the biggest being a 12-13" six pt. Unfortunately the largest deer confirmed by all clients (12 in camp)that period was my friends (harvested) 8pt just under 15"'s. Other deer were seen and "the one that got away" is guess-ti-mated at 16-17"'s. Long story short, where's the big bucks? Plenty of hogs which is a nice side bar depending on preference. Three of 4 in my group scored on hog 175lb-190lb. Don't get me wrong, very nice place, good accomodations and great people. For the price I'm going back.

Submit Date: Nov 9, 2004

Outfitter Review: Blackwater Hunting - South Carolina

Outfitter / Owner: Terry Heirs

Hunter: Terry Hensley

Animals Hunted: Turkey

Terry and Connie run a great place. I've turkey hunted there for the past three years. Have seen turkey on every morning hunt and most afternoon hunts. The food is good, lodge is new and very comfortable and the people are great. Terry and the guides "love" to call turkeys. They spend the little "down time" they have comparing calls and in practice. My only problem is that I cannot stay longer.

Submit Date: Oct 17, 2004

Outfitter Review: Black River Plantation - South Carolina

Outfitter / Owner: Mike Stroff

Hunter: Mike Flynn

Animals Hunted: deer,hog

New cabins, lots of game sign, crew works hard for clients. Food is not provided. Hunted middle October, too hot for game movement but still harvested 2 hogs and 2 deer during a 3 day hunt. We had a great time.

Submit Date: Oct 4, 2004

Outfitter Review: Blackwater Hunting Services - South Carolina

Outfitter / Owner: Terry Hiers

Hunter: Sandy Brady

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

I hunted with Blackwater Hunting Services in August. I've hunted with a lot of outfitters before and I've got to say, this place was great.It's nice to find a guide with the knowledge that Terry Hiers has. All of his staff were 1st class. The lodge was great,the food was excellent, and Miss Connie, Terry's wife,really knows how to cook!! I stayed for a 4 1/2 day hunt. I saw some really quality bucks. We were able to harvest a nice buck, have a great time, and meet some great people. I would definitley recommend Blackwater for a good hunt and a great time.

Submit Date: Sep 29, 2004

Outfitter Review: Blackwater Hunting Services - South Carolina

Outfitter / Owner: Terry Hiers

Hunter: Tammy Russell

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

I hunted with Blackwater Hunting Services this past august.This was only the second time for me hunting.I am new at this but im hooked now. These guys were the best, they made me feel right at home.Terry Hiers was great he's honest,and works very hard at what he does. The lodge is beautiful.The food was great and we saw lots of deer.I can't wait until next time, I know where Im going.This place is 1ST class all the way. oh by the way I killed a beautiful 9 point buck.

Submit Date: Sep 5, 2004

Outfitter Review: Blackwater Hunting Services - SC

Outfitter / Owner: Terry Hiers

Hunter: DARREN HILYER

Animals Hunted: whitetail deer

BLACKWATER HUNTING SERVICES IS JUST A GREAT PLACE TO HUNT. IVE HUNTED THERE FOR THE LAST FEW YEARS AND EVERY YEAR ITS JUST OUTSTANDING. WE SEE LOTS OF DEER SOME HOGS, WE EAT GOOD AND HAVE JUST A GREAT HUNT.THE GUIDES ARE THE BEST AROUND AND TERRY HIERS RUNS A FIRST CLASS OPERATION.IVE HUNTED IN SOUTH CAROLINA WITH A FEW OF THE SO CALLED OUTFITTERS. I CAN TELL YOU FROM EXPERIENCE THERES NO OTHER OUTFITTER IVE SEEN, THAT WORK AS HARD AS THE PEOPLE AT BLACKWATER TO MAKE YOUR HUNT, A HUNT TO REMEMBER.

Submit Date: Aug 21, 2004

Outfitter Review: Waccamaw Hunting Services - SC

Outfitter / Owner: Ricky Grubbs

Hunter: Tammy Russell

Animals Hunted: Hogs

We arrived at Waccamaw in the afternoon. We met Ricky and listened to some stories. The next morning we were to leave at 5:30 A.M, however, Ricky was still in bed. After waiting and beating on his door, he finally woke up.Needless to say, we were late for our first morning hunt. From that point on it wasn't very comfortable, but we figured we would just hang in there. The first couple of days there were no hogs, and on the last afternoon, my husband killed 2 hogs. I am not complaining because I did not shoot anything, i just felt that the effort was not 100%. When you go on a trip like this you expect your guide to give you 100%.

Submit Date: Aug 21, 2004

Outfitter Review: Waccamaw Hunting Services - SC

Outfitter / Owner: Ricky Grubbs

Hunter: Darren Hilyer

Animals Hunted: Hogs

I HUNTED WITH RICKY IN 2003 FOR HOGS. I SAW 2 HOGS IN 3 DAYS. I HEARD A LOT OF STORIES BUT I GUESS THAT'S ALL THEY WERE. NEEDLESS TO SAY, I AM HOG HUNTING ELSEWHERE. DON'T GET ME WRONG I KILLED TWO HOGS, BUT THERE IS MORE TO A HUNT THAN THE KILL. I WOULD HAVE DONE THIS EARLY BUT JUST FOUND OUT ABOUT THIS WEBSITE.

Submit Date: Jun 2, 2004

Outfitter Review: Waccamaw Hunting Service - SC

Outfitter / Owner: Rick Grubbs

Hunter: Danny Taquinto

Animals Hunted: Turkey

I have hunted with Rick for Hogs on several occasions prior to this bird hunt, so I knew that he would work hard to deliver a great hunt. We all know how hard it is to hunt the eastern wild turkey. All I can say is after a 2 day hunt, I went home with 2 trophy class birds. Rick has the property and the knowledge to give you a first class bird hunt.

Submit Date: May 20, 2004

Outfitter Review: Blackwells Guide Service - SC

Outfitter / Owner: Mike Blackwell

Hunter: Todd Gantt

Animals Hunted: Deer

Hunted with Blackwell's Guide Service in Sept 2001. Saw only 4 does and one small buck (4 point)during 3 days of hunting. Most were well out of Bow range and not shooters anyway. Stands seemed to be set up for gun hunters, food plots were nonexistant. Would not recommend to bow hunters.

Submit Date: May 4, 2004

Outfitter Review: Cherokee Run - South Carolina

Outfitter / Owner: Tom Naumann

Hunter: Scott Shifflett

Animals Hunted: Boar

Prior to taking this hunt I looked for reviews by other hunters. I found none. I'm submitting one in hopes others don't make the mistake I did. I contacted Tom expressing a desire to take my boys on a successful hunting trip for Boar. I'm in the reserves and work full time so I spend a good deal of time working. Since returning from military service I've wanted to do something with my boys to get them interested in hunting and the outdoors as well as making some life long memories together. Tom indicated he had a good number of boar actively hitting baited stands. Said it should be no problem seeing boar and the boys would love it. I confirmed my intent to hunt 4 days prior to arriving. I wrote several emails and made a call to Tom the day of the trip. Once on the road I made calls to ensure I would be meet at the lodge as planned. None of the calls were returned. I arrived at the address just as planned but found no one there. I almost went home. I made one last call stating that I was headed to the store to get the boys a drink and would come back by one more time before leaving. When I arrived back at the camp the guide and his family were there. We got up around 0430 and got out to our hunting location around 630. The guide dropped us off at the gate and gave us instructions on how to find the stand he wanted us to sit. I had copied a map from at the camp and didn't have too difficult a time locating the stand. No evidence of active and maintained baiting was present. All the locations I later walked looked like several days or a week had passed since they last were serviced. Around 1030 I decided to leave our stand and walk the areas not yet seen. While the area does hold boar nothing too recent was obvious. There was no sign of recent baiting at any of the stand locations. We made it back to the first stand location and I called the guides cell phone number. I had to leave a message so it was a good thing we didn't have an emergency. It was 40 minutes later when he came riding through on his ATV dropping corn off at the various stands. This occurred around noon. We meet him back at the truck and headed to camp. I still owed a little money on the hunt so when we got back to the camp I was reminded it would be a good opportunity to go get the money before heading back out around 4pm. The name eat, sleep and hunt shouldn't fool you. You will have to go get whatever you decide to eat and prepare it yourself. My experience: 1) No one returned my calls while I traveled to the camp. 2) No one was there to meet me upon arriving. 3) The stands were not baited prior to noon the day of the hunt. 4) You are left on the stands and have to call and wait on transportation. Be prepared to deal with any emergency. You will get the answering machine when phoning. 5) There is only 1 guide. One of my guides is a misnomer. The guides name is Mike. He traveled as far as I did to get to the camp. That explains why nothing was prepared. I'm not sure if I'll be able to get the kids to go on another boar hunt. I really feel bad for them. They were really excited about it. I'm bummed out by the whole ordeal.

Submit Date: Jan 14, 2004

Outfitter Review: Waccamaw Hunting Services - SC

Outfitter / Owner: Rick Grubbs

Hunter: John Wentzel

Animals Hunted: Boar + Whitetails

Hunted there in Feb. and Oct. of 2003. First hunt for hogs and the second for whitetail. Saw lots of deer, hogs, and turkeys. Lots of property to hunt and all animals are wild born. No fences. All hunting is fair chase. Rick has in place a QDM program for deer and it is really paying off (food plots as well as antler restrictions). In Oct., I took what is probably the biggest deer he has had taken yet.A basic 8 point with a kicker that would probably score out close to 130". It can be seen on his web site. As far as deer hunting goes, Rick limits the amount of hunters allowed in camp at any one time to six. One of the other hunters that was in camp at the same time I was said that he had been hunting with several other outfitters up and down the east coast, and out of all of them, Waccamaw had the best set-ups. Rick Grubbs provides excellant bang for the buck. Whether its deer, hogs, or turkeys you can book a hunt with confidence with Waccamaw Hunting Sevices. I'm going back this Feb. to take another crack at those hogs.

Submit Date: Oct 23, 2003

Outfitter Review: Blackwater Hunting Services - South Carolina

Outfitter / Owner: Terry L.Heirs

Hunter: John P. Hershey

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

Terry delivered on everything that he said that I could expect. I received my money's worth with his services.

Submit Date: Sep 18, 2003

Outfitter Review: Blackwells Guide Service - SC

Outfitter / Owner: Mike Blackwell

Hunter: Brian Shuhart

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

It's been several years since our hunt but I think it took place around 1997.I should have known what to expect after the first morning of the hunt. I let a spike buck walk by at 10 feet. When I informed the guide, let's just say he was not happy. He was mumbling something about numbers as he left me behind in the woods. We had 5 in our group, so we got the private cabin, which included a private shower. One member of our group shot a decent six-point (the only deer he saw). The rest us only saw doe, spikes, and dogs.By the way, we found out (from an inside source) the display bucks they show at outdoor shows and in advertisments were killed by the Blackwells on private land customers don't get to hunt.This was my first guided hunt and maybe my last. Thanks for nothing Mr. Blackwell.

Submit Date: Sep 9, 2003

Outfitter Review: Bostick Plantation - South Carolina

Outfitter / Owner: Joe Bostick

Hunter: Phillip Loughlin

Animals Hunted: Whitetail deer/Feral Hogs

I have few complaints about my experience. There were tons of deer, and I saw several hogs. I was with the archery-only group. Of 10 hunters, there were three hogs and two deer taken. Caveats? The tree stands were freshly erected and poorly covered. Most ladder stands were completely exposed, and set directly on top of bait piles. It was hardly conducive to trophy-quality bucks, especially between the opener and the rut. I'd be interested in going back during the rut, or at least after Sept. 15 when does are legal game. Plenty of hogs if you're in the right place and time, but the guide's focus was to get us on bucks, so, in my opinion, we missed out on some prime hog hunting. Take your own stand, and INSIST on getting the guide to help you set it out.

Submit Date: Mar 13, 2003

Outfitter Review: Cinnamon Ridge Hunting Lodge - South Carolina

Outfitter / Owner: Trent Horne

Hunter: Mark Zegilla

Animals Hunted: Deer /Turkey/Hogs

Cudos, These guys know what they are doing. Cinnamon Ridge is the epitomy of South Carolina low country hunting. I have hunted many other places and states including Alaska and I would recommend this place to any one. Cinnamon Ridge is also excellent for first time hunters and a great place for women. Private accomodations are available for husband and wife hunts or entire families. The owner and game manager even assisted myself and friends with a great youth hunt this past season. The land is well groomed,some of the best food plots and stands I have ever seen. Nice home away from home atmosphere.

Submit Date: Mar 10, 2003

Outfitter Review: Cinnamon Ridge Hunting Lodge - SC

Outfitter / Owner: Trent Horne

Hunter: Bobby Phillips

Animals Hunted: Whitetailed Deer

Went on a two day hunt in Nov. 2002. Weather was terrible but hunting was good. I got an 18" 8 point the first morning and saw another one the next morning that I passed on. They have trophy areas and non-trophy areas. My 12 year old hunted a non-trophy area and killed a doe. He could have killed a deer every siting. Overall these guys do all they can for you to have a quality experience. Chris is a top notch guide and Trent runs a class operation.

Submit Date: Dec 3, 2002

Outfitter Review: Roblyn's Neck Trophy Club - South Carolina

Outfitter / Owner: Cambell Cox / Ed Forte

Hunter: L. Pat Dupras

Animals Hunted: Hog

Although my wife and I only have hunted hogs, both turkeys and deer are plentiful. This is one outfitter worth hunting with. Myron knows the area and where the game is.

Submit Date: Sep 29, 2002

Outfitter Review: Waccamaw Hunting Services - South Carolina

Outfitter / Owner: Rick Grubbs

Hunter: Jim Crawford

Animals Hunted: White-tail Deer

I could not have asked for a better hunt or guide in Rick Grubbs. Rick manages for quality and is extremely knowledgable guide that did everything in his power to make our hunt a success. Rick amd Jana took very good care of us and made us feel at home. We hunted in late September when the weather was hot and humid and we still saw over 60 deer with many bucks over 15 inch spread. I shot a small 5 point and a 9 point with a 20.5 inch spread and missed two deer. My German hunting friend shot one 6 point/15.5 inch spread and a 8 point/18.5 (195 pounds) and missed one deer. This was over a three and half day period. We never hunted more than one time from a stand. Rick manages a very high quality area. I am scheduling for my turkey hunt now!

Submit Date: Sep 29, 2002

Outfitter Review: Waccamaw Hunting Services - SC

Outfitter / Owner: Rick Grubbs

Hunter: Holger Krompass

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

I am a German hunter and this was my first hunt in the USA. My dream was to hunt Whitetail Deer in America. My dream was met beyond my wildest expectations. Rick and Jana did everything in their power to make me feel at home and give me a quality hunt. My party saw over 60 deer in 4 days with many big bucks. I had the great honor to shoot a 5 point/15.5 inch spread and a 8 point/18.5 inch spread Whitetail. Rick is a very experienced guide and his advice was always correct. This was a great first hunt in the States and I plan to hunt with Rick again in the near future.

Submit Date: Sep 1, 2002

Outfitter Review: Buck Ridge Plantation - SC

Outfitter / Owner: Mike Tourville

Hunter: Tom Dunn

Animals Hunted: Whitetail

We had 12 hunters in Trophy Hunt only nothing under 15inch spread allowed. We saw hundreds of deer many Trophy Whitetail. We took 10 for 12,1-22"spread,2-20",1-19",3_16"-18" and 3 under 16" Trophys. Gary,Gene and all the Guides were first rate. Lost count how many times we were asked if there was anything we needed or wanted and if we asked for anything it was provided no extra cost,Everything was included at no extra cost,All beverages ect. Wild boar were free they wanted them shot as many as you see {we killed 6},If you want an excellent hunt for Trophy Whitetail in Velvet or a later hunt for non velvet this is the place. I am booked for the Rut in 2003.

Submit Date: Aug 19, 2002

Outfitter Review: Waccamaw Hunting Service - SC

Outfitter / Owner: Rick Grubbs

Hunter: Jimmy Cadden

Animals Hunted: trophy whitetail

If you want to hunt with a outfitter, and see quality game and have a opportunity to take quality game this is the place! LOOK NO FURTHER!!!! I've been on other hunting trips in S.C. and we seen more quality game the first a.m. hunt then we did the whole trip last year, on a "PLANTATION", that has been "managed" since the 70's!!!!. Rick Grubbs is one of the most honest and knowledgable "Guide/hunter" that I have ever had the pleasure of hunting with. his knowledgable of the game and his preparation was second to none. He sat in and sat up every stand we hunted doing all the hard work to ensure us a successful hunt. with 5 guys in camp we saw 56 deer in two days, three of five people had opportunities at nice deer. The 56 deer that were seen, five were TROPHY DEER, but the most impressive thing was the amount of smaller bucks that were seen, that tells me that Rick has a very good management plan going. The accomadations were more then adequate for the serious hunter. If u want your bed made or your wine poured for you I suggest going to a PLANTATION. If you are a serious hunter the money is well worth the trip. Rick runs a 1st class operation for the serious hunter. "BOOK IT NOW BEFORE OTHER HUNTERS FIND OUT ABOUT THIS PLACE!!!!!!!!!!!!"

Submit Date: Apr 9, 2002

Outfitter Review: Blackwater Hunting - SC

Outfitter / Owner: Terry Hiers

Hunter: ROB HAMILTON

Animals Hunted: TURKEY

TERRY AND HIS WIFE CONNIE RUN A CLASS OPERATION. HE KEEPS REAL STATISTICS ON SUCCESS AND ON OPPORTUNITIES FOR EACH HUNTER. HE CAN BE BELIEVED ON WHAT HE SAYS.THE GUIDES ARE TOP NOTCH AND ARE HAPPY TO SHARE THEIR KNOWLEDGE.THEY HAVE A NEW LODGE THAT IS FIRST RATE. HUNTING WAS SLOWER THAN TERRY WOULD HAVE LIKED. I STILL WAS ABLE TO SHOOT MY FIRST TURKEY AND FELT I LEARNED A LOT. A GREAT EXPERIENCE.

Submit Date: Mar 19, 2002

Outfitter Review: Waccamaw Hunting Service - South Carolina

Outfitter / Owner: Rick Grubbs

Hunter: edward w. gnatz jr.

Animals Hunted: Wild Boar

I enjoyed my hunt very much.will go back.

Submit Date: Mar 17, 2002

Outfitter Review: Waccamaw Hunting Service - SC

Outfitter / Owner: Rick Grubbs

Hunter: Dan Taquinto

Animals Hunted: Wild Boar

Rick is an outstanding guide who does everything in his power to put you on the game you are after.*** Our group harvested several hogs and observed many others, however I must point out at no time did we see or enter a fenced in area !!! ***

Submit Date: Mar 12, 2002

Outfitter Review: Waccamaw Hunting Services - South Carolina

Outfitter / Owner: Rick Grubbs

Hunter: Bruce Sartwell

Animals Hunted: wild boar

Sighted several hogs during my 2 day hunt.Harvested large 200 lb. boar and missed nice meat hog out of group of 10. Also saw several deer and turkey.

Submit Date: Mar 10, 2002

Outfitter Review: Waccamaw Hunting Service - South Carolina

Outfitter / Owner: Rick Grubbs

Hunter: Alan Simberg

Animals Hunted: Wild Boar

I've been on two hunting trips with Rick Grubbs. One was Jan. 11-12 and the other was Mar. 5-6. Rick Grubbs is a first rate guide that is really concerned about giving his hunters the best hunt for his or her money. The hunting areas are remote and inaccessible for most people resulting in lots of game spotted. If you listen to Ricks advice you will definitly fill your tag as long as you do your part. He keeps his hunting parties small so more attention can be paid to each hunter. No cattle car operation here! If you want deer, wild boar, or turkey's, Waccamaw Hunting Service is the only outfitter to go to in South Carolina. I give Waccamaw Hunting Service five stars.

Submit Date: Mar 5, 2002

Outfitter Review: Bostick Plantation - SC

Outfitter / Owner: Joe Bostick

Hunter: john joseph

Animals Hunted: wild hogs

You can kill 2 hogs per day according to the brochure. We thought we would see lots of animals. Well this was not the case. I saw one the first hour the first evening in the stand. I almost didn't shoot thinking I would see more. Thank goodeness I did shoot... It was the only hog we saw. That was 6 hunters in 3 days!!There was lots of sign around the bait. The area had been hunted hard!!! Saw very few deer also, they knew right where all the stands were and went by quickly. I did shot a great boar hog but the place had been hunted to death. We were very dissapointed at the number of hogs we didn't see.

Submit Date: Feb 28, 2002

Outfitter Review: Waccamaw Hunting Service - SC

Outfitter / Owner: Rick Grubbs

Hunter: D. Taquinto

Animals Hunted: Wild Boar

Rick operates a first rate service. He does his best to make sure you have a great time and harvest what you expect.

Submit Date: Jan 14, 2002

Outfitter Review: Red Bluff Lodge - SC

Outfitter / Owner: Jim Boone

Hunter: ROBERT FLYNN

Animals Hunted: whitetail wild boar

I HAVE BEEN GOING HERE FOR 4 YEARS BEST PLACE I HAVE BEEN TO.LOTS OF GAME AND GREAT PEOPLE.

Submit Date: Jan 14, 2002

Outfitter Review: Bostick Plantation - South Carolina

Outfitter / Owner: Joe Bostick

Hunter: Gregory Sojka

Animals Hunted: Deer/Hogs

We four went there bow hunting expecting to have a good time hunting and see some deer not trophy bucks we saw nothing there tree stands were used more then the door at 7-11.There were more human tracks to the stands then deer tracks on there trails.Then on the outside of the bow only area was rifle stands FULL of rifle hunters.I could go on SAVE YOUR TIME and MONEY. 15 bowhunters 0 deer 1 hog

Submit Date: Oct 27, 2001

Outfitter Review: Little River Plantation - SC

Outfitter / Owner: Jim Edens

Hunter: sam beagle

Animals Hunted: deer

We had an eight party group on the first deer hunt there. No buck were seen and only a few doe. Second hunt was three people, no buck and a few doe seen. What deer you see are scared to death to walk. Food was very good so if your looking for good meals this is the right place, for deer it is not a place to go.

Submit Date: Aug 20, 2001

Outfitter Review: Blackwells Guide Service - South Carolina

Outfitter / Owner: Mike Blackwell

Hunter: Steve Angell

Animals Hunted: Whitetail deer

I must admit I am partly to blame for this bad experience as I hunted with this guide service last year and had only slightly better results, seeing one doe in 3 days of hunting. However, it was unbearably hot and dry last year and I gave the service a second chance. BIG mistake. It only got worse. I suspected trouble upon arrival when I learned that there were only 9 hunters booked for 3 of the 5 days I had scheduled for myself and my brother. This down from the 25-30 last year. Then I learned that game handling would this year consist of quartering your deer and icing the meat down in "your" coolers. For FIVE days?????The length of my hunt. That really wouldn't matter though in the long run. After hunting 10 hours a day for 5 days. Myself nor my brother had seen a single animal. If you combine these results with my results last year that comes to about 130 hours spent in deer stands with a total of one deer sighted. That was the head of a doe at about 300 yards which occured last year. Guiding consisted of driving you to your stand and leaving you there for 5 hours while the "chauffeurs" went to take naps or sit at the local country store. ALL stands were permanent ladder stands. No scouting was done over the course of the week and it appeared that the only scouting done prior to the season opener was to spread a little corn on the ground and plant a some food plots which showed little signs of interest from the local deer population. Results were much the same for the rest of the hunters. Out of 9 booked hunters and a few extra "lifetime members" (guess I am not the biggest sucker) there were 3 bucks killed all week. A spike and two 6 points. There is more but I tire of complaining. If you want more details as to my experience feel free to e-mail me.sangell@bellsouth.netIn the owners one defense. I, and my brother, were given the offering of coming back for 3 days at no charge. At the moment, I would prefer run naked through a briar patch and then be given a nice bath in tabasco sauce. Additional warning! This service also guides in two areas of South Carolina, Illinois and Alabama!

Submit Date: Feb 25, 2001

Outfitter Review: Little River Plantation - SC

Outfitter / Owner: Jim Edens

Hunter: Skip Kazmarek

Animals Hunted: Deer

Little River Plantation is a very friendly, family-oriented, basic hunting lodge near Abbeville, S.C. The basic price for a three-day hunt is very reasonable, and children accompanying their parent (even my college-age "children") go for half-price. The accomodations are simple, but adequate (a "bunk house", with a nearby three-bedroom double-wide trailer). The food is homestyle, but very tasty. On neither count is the experience like "corporate sytle" luxury lodges, but it's basically just fine for us. We've been there two years, both during Christmas break (1999 and 2000). First year, several hunters were getting deer, but none of the three of us even saw a deer; second year, most of the other hunters got skunked, but two of us took a couple small does, and again the third never even saw anything. The area is supposed to be under trophy management, but only a couple high quality bucks were seen either year. Overall, I'd recommend it if you're looking for a good value, with a fair to middlin' chance of taking some deer, and maybe (but only maybe) a nice buck.

Submit Date: Jan 15, 2001

Outfitter Review: Blackwells Guide Service - SC

Outfitter / Owner: Mike Blackwell

Hunter: Chris Nichols

Animals Hunted: Whitetail

We were told we would see 30 to 50 deer a day and dont take the first buck you see cause hes the little one, the big one will be behind him. Two deer a day limit-that is a joke -I saw one doe the whole trip. They put us in the woods in a tree in the worst possible spot for the wind and when the sun comes up there before your eyes is a handful of corn to bring'em runnin in. Oh yeah becase it is a mass production hunting camp you have to be awake at 3am, on the van at 3:30am, in your stand at 4:00am, so you can see the sun come up at 7:45am.Mike Blackwells logic is this= "Now I know the first guy is gonna be in there a little early but the last guy is gonna be in his stand just right!" People save your money and book a hunt with a guide who isnt a vulture. I happened to pay extra for a nice meal every night.Now I dont look for something for nothing but when I forgot a bag of my gear and asked that it be shipped back to me I was shocked there was a bill for shipping. The reason for be shocked is I left 2 days early and paid for meals and lodging but they could not afford to pay the $8. to ship my gear like a reputable and honest businessman would do. Consider long and hard before booking an attractive southern hunt which promises to have high bag limits and an affordable price. I should have just given $1200. to a hunting orginization.(I would have felt like I got my moneys worth by giving money to a good cause.)

Submit Date: Dec 23, 2000

Outfitter Review: Buck Run - South Carolina

Outfitter / Owner: Pete Simmons

Hunter: Hazzie Quick

Animals Hunted: Whitetail

Pete is a good guide and does his best to get you the game your looking for.. We were the last hunt of the season and hunted hard for three days with only three does being harvested but the weather was bad and I missed 2 and let another 2 pass .. If you want a quality hunt and good people around you give Pete and Sandra a call and book for eariler hunts then we did but hurry as we plan to book ours too..

Submit Date: Dec 16, 2000

Outfitter Review: Buch Haven Lodge - South Carolina

Outfitter / Owner: Danny Harlod

Hunter: Stacy Dellinger

Animals Hunted: DEER/HOGS

I hunted there for 5 days, never saw the first Hog! Seen 2 somebody else shoot and they both weighed about 20lbs. a piece. I did see about 8 deer in 5 days so dont waste your time or money to bother with them!!

Submit Date: Dec 11, 2000

Outfitter Review: Blackwater Hunting - SC

Outfitter / Owner: Terry Hiers

Hunter: John Vivona

Animals Hunted: Turkey, Deer

I've hunted turkey and deer in 2000. Took 2 mature gobblers on a 2 day hunt. Saw deer at every sitting including a heavy tine mature buck and many does. Terry runs a great hunt. He is honest and makes all hunters feel welcome. I get the distinct impression he really wants his hunters to be successful-he and his guides work hard to accomplish this: stand rotation,little pressure, scouting(turkey).

Submit Date: Nov 8, 2000

Outfitter Review: Bostick Plantation - SC

Outfitter / Owner: Joe Bostick

Hunter: MIKE RAPP

Animals Hunted: WHITETAIL DEER / HOG

THIS WAS FIRST RIFLE HUNT I HAVE BEEN ON SO I WAS NOT SURE WHAT TO EXPECT,I USUALLY BOW HUNT.THE WEATHER WAS WARM SO NOTHING WAS MOVING . ON THIS THREE DAY HUNT I SAW FIVE DOES NO BUCKS AND NO HOGS. THERE WERE ABOUT FOURTEEN HUNTERS IN CAMP,A MIX 8 GUN HUNTERS 6 BOW HUNTERS.OUT OF THIS MIX THERE WERE 3 BUCKS AND 2 HOGS TAKEN.THE LODGE WAS A OLD FARM HOUSE,IT WAS CLEAN AND COMFY. THE FOOD WAS GOOD,HOT,AND PLENTY OF IT. THE STANDS WERE GREAT,THEY WERE MOSTLY MADE OF METAL AND VERY STRONG.WE COULD OF USED A LITTLE COOLER TEMPS. OR MAYBE SOME RAIN TO GET THE CRITTERS MOVIN. EVERYONE DID WHAT THEY COULD BUT NOTHING WAS MOVIN SO I CAME HOME EMPTY HANDID.

Submit Date: Nov 5, 2000

Outfitter Review: Bostick Plantation - South Carolina

Outfitter / Owner: Joe Bostick

Hunter: Paul Marion

Animals Hunted: Deer

29 hunters in the camp and not one hunter killed a buck.

Submit Date: Aug 7, 2000

Outfitter Review: Snake Ridge Lodge - South Carolina

Outfitter / Owner: Gary Mahon

Hunter: Matt Murphy

Animals Hunted: Whitetail

Three of my friends booked this hunt for opening three days of the season.It started off bad,when we first got there the owner was three sheets in the wind.It didn't get any better either.As far as hunting IT SUCKED.While we were on the stand we heard shots and later we found that it was our guide doing a little guiding of his own(He shot an 8-point and a 6-point). When we approached him on this he wanted to fight all three of us. I have been telling anybody who will listen that this place is the best at, ripping you off, letting hunters shoot fawns, and next time I need to be screwed I know where I am going, Las Vegas.

Submit Date: Mar 19, 2000

Outfitter Review: Blackwater Hunting - South Carolina

Outfitter / Owner: Terry Hiers

Hunter: Rhett Thompson

Animals Hunted: Turkey, Deer

Terry Hiers runs an outstanding operation near Allendale, SC. I just got back from a 2-day turkey hunt with 2 longbeards. No more than 4 hunters a day, each with a guide, on 7500 acres. If I get the chance I will go back for a deer hunt this fall. He and his staff are extremely professional. No guarantees on what you'll see or kill- yes this is real hunting at its best.

Submit Date: Dec 11, 1999

Outfitter Review: Rack Buck Plantation - South Carolina

Outfitter / Owner: ?

Hunter: g jones

Animals Hunted: wild boar/whitetail

myself and 5 more hunters booked a 3 day hunt for wild boar,we did not see 1 pig, also this hunt took place over feeders,don't waste your time or money.

<< First Page       < Previous Page

web application and database development by davidcdalton.com