South Carolina Hunting Outfitter and Guide Reviews

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Feb 21, 2016

Outfitter Review: Cherokee Run Hunting Lodge - SC

Outfitter / Owner: Tom Naumann

Hunter: Warren W

Animals Hunted: not specified

Go somewhere else. Lodge was nice. Stands were in good shape. Feeders were in poor shape and very little feed if any. Outfitter ignored wind directions and placed us in stands with the worst possible winds blowing right to the feeders. No game sighted by any of the 8 hunters in camp for the 3 days. No attention to details.I should have paid more attention to the other poor reviews.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Mar 24, 2015

Outfitter Review: Cherokee Run Hunting Lodge - SC

Outfitter / Owner: Tom Naumann

Hunter: Eric Garver

Animals Hunted: Wild Boar

I took my two boys and a family friend down to hunt wild hogs with Tom Naumann at Cheerokee Run Lodge. My oldest son attends UNC in Charlotte NC and was going to be on Spring Break. Although we are all accomplished archery hunters from North East PA, we decided to hunt first with our rifles and if we had luck we would switch to trying our luck for hogs wtih our bows. We were going to be the first hunters into the lodge for 2015 to hunt the hogs at night with lights. We had many conversations with Tom before the trip of what to expect, as none of us had hunted with green LED lights at night. Everything that Tom had told us about the hunt was spot on. This was not a canned hunt where pigs just ran into feeders or were enclosed in a high fence. You had to be quiet and pay attention to your scent!The first night my youngest boy (13) saw 5 smaller pigs (50 lb) at his stand right before dark and decided not to shoot. I shot at a pig in the dark with the green LED light only to find out that one pig was standing behind another and I ended up shooting 2 pigs with one shot. The second night my oldest boy shot at a hog and it rained heavy after his shot making tracking very difficult. We could not find his pig. However, a week later Tom found my son's hog which was a trophy boar (150-200 lb, 3 inch tusks) about 20 yards from where we had looked for it. Tom went back and got the skull for my son so he could still have a euro-mount. That was unfortunate as the other pigs I harvested were excellent table fair and reminded me very much of wild rabbit than our typical domesticated hogs. We soaked the meat in ice water for two days and this led to some excellent hog sandwiches with our raspberry based sauce (R#1 sauce) that we produce here on our farm (www.conifercorner.com)Tom's stand locations were well selected and he had done his homework. Our family friend had a cold and could not stop coughing all 3 nights we hunted (he saw deer but no hogs).I caught the cold on the second day and could not stop coughing on stand. The pigs are very sensitive to sound and smell and as such I did not see a pig after my first night.Tom worked very hard to ensure fresh sign was at the stand sights and bait was available to the pigs. It was evident throughout our time at Cheerokee lodge that Tom really cared about his clients and did his best to give you a great hunting experience. We all plan on making another trip to Cheerokee Run Lodge in the future and highly recommend this hunt if you are open to fair chase---don't expect to have pigs just come running in-- you have to hunt for them, be able to sit quiet and keep your scent at bay while on stand.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Nov 10, 2012

Outfitter Review: Cherokee Run Hunting Lodge - SC

Outfitter / Owner: Tom Naumann

Hunter: steve wilson sr

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

this was my second year at the "run". both hunts were three day hunts.stand placement and hunting areas are well thought out and planned.having several different types of areas to hunt as key for my return. i harvested a buck and a coyote and seen many deer on my three days of hunting.toms core values are second to none. when hunting the "run" i feel as if im hunting with family and old friends not with a guide.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Nov 10, 2012

Outfitter Review: Cherokee Run Hunting Lodge - SC

Outfitter / Owner: Tom Naumann

Hunter: steve wilson sr

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

this was my second year at the "run". both hunts were three day hunts.stand placement and hunting areas are well thought out and planned.having several different types of areas to hunt as key for my return. i harvested a buck and a coyote and seen many deer on my three days of hunting.toms core values are second to none. when hunting the "run" i feel as if im hunting with family and old friends not with a guide.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Sep 4, 2012

Outfitter Review: Cherokee Run Hunting Lodge - SC

Outfitter / Owner: Tom Naumann

Hunter: John Latz

Animals Hunted: not specified

Thanks to Tom Naumann and Cherokee Run Hunting Lodge in Chesterfield, SC!!!! This was our fourth trip down in the last two years. We've previously been for hog and whitetail. Tom always scouts well, sets stands in high probability areas where there's LOTS of sign, and is a gentle, knowledgable hunter. This time around we went for an early season hunt and my 15yo son harvested his first deer on this trip - a bruiser we've nicknamed Buckzilla! Huge bodied, over 200lbs, mature 10 point buck.Tom helped teach him to skin and cape (you know teenage boys don't listen to their dads like they should - lol) and carried him through all aspects of the post-harvest procedures.Mr. Naumann provides comfortable accomodations with all the basic amenities of home - there's a great tv room with comfortable couches, an abundance of good reading and satellite tv, adorned by harvested creatures ranging from whitetail to boar to bass. It's a relaxed environment where Mr. Naumann doesn't baby you by carrying you directly to the stand (thereby disrupting potential activity in the area). He and his team do their scouting ahead of your arrival and let the area settle down before placing you into your spot.I've always said, carrying my three sons and, at times, three generations of male hunters from our family, that it's all about the fellowship, not necessarily the harvest, but check out this bruiser we harvested this weekend. Talk about an incredible first deer!It's all fair chase; you're not gonna find a deer staked to the ground in front of your blind. Tom has several leased properties under his wing and rotates them to assure there's never excessive pressure on any one property.This is true hunting, not "killing", as my father-in-law says. It's everything good about hunting and tradition in families.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: May 10, 2012

Outfitter Review: Bostick Plantation - Estill SC

Outfitter / Owner: Joe Bostick

Hunter: Tim Hans

Animals Hunted: not specified

Bostick Plantation is a joke. The trip started off with a rude office person. We were told that a guide would be along shortly so we could sight in our guns. He didn't show up till it was time to go out on the hunt. They took us into the middle of scrub pines with no water or food source for hogs. The truck was a wreck that broke down 3 different times and stranded us once. Another group of 10 hunters was there and they were smoking pot and showing up drunk. One of them had a loaded rifle in the truck. The guide commented that if someone was going to show up with pot that it's rude to not bring enough to share. They allowed the 10 to sight in on the 2nd day at the time we were supposed to leave for the hunt. Then they drove us 50 yards behind the live firing range (with no backdrop for the targets) and they continued to shoot! There were bullets whizzing by the truck. Then they dumped us 200 yards from the gun range while they shot hundreds of rounds until 5:45PM. The owner's son decided to use the pool with his family while we were out hunting. They helped themselves to our beverages, even being so bold as to leave one sitting on the gun rack in the hallway half drank. The guide was so late on our last morning that we told him to screw it and left. It was already light out and he was over an hour late. The beds feel like they're filled with rocks. They have old TV's and VCR's. Yes, VCR's. So if you book a hunt, make sure to hit some yard sales to find some old tapes. I can't recommend enough to stay away from this place. The locals felt so bad for us that they gave us 4 trapped hogs so we'd have some meat. Did not see a single hog the entire time at Bostick.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Jan 30, 2012

Outfitter Review: Waccamaw Hunting Services - Hemingway SC

Outfitter / Owner:

Hunter: robert fulford

Animals Hunted: Wild Boar

Had a five day hunt with four hunters killing 7 hogs. These are not "pen" hogs the go and come as they please. The weather was terrible for hogs. it was in the 70's every day. Rick was working hard to get us in the right places to see hogs before dark. The lodge is clean and comfortable. If your looking for a mint on your pillow every morning go to a hotel not to hunting camp. Rick is very personable and fun to be around. He is hard working and honest. We booked for next year before we left.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Jan 5, 2012

Outfitter Review: Waccamaw Hunting Services - Hemingway SC

Outfitter / Owner:

Hunter: Denis Gingras

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

2 guys from Québec Canada,french speaking,going down South Carolina for whitetail hunting. Kill a 9 and 2 eight points,does, eat very well and all we want, in a nice lodge. What you want more? Just a guy like Rick and his knowedge of the land and the game.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Dec 14, 2011

Outfitter Review: Blackwater Hunting Service - Ulmer SC

Outfitter / Owner: Terry Hiers

Hunter: HENRY RICHARDSON

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer, Wild Boar

LODGE EXCEDED ANY EXPECTATIONS - OWNERS AND GUIDES EXTREMELY KNOWLEDGABLE, HELPFUL, AND FRIENDLY - PLEANTY OF GAME

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Nov 9, 2011

Outfitter Review: Blackwater Hunting Service - Ulmer SC

Outfitter / Owner: Terry Hiers

Hunter: Keith Smith

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

I have hunted with Blackwater Hunting for two years now and have sat in a stand a total of (11) eleven times. During these settings I have harvested (7) deer. I saw legal deer on every stand but one. the hunting is great, but the real reason to go to Blackwater is the hospitality. The food is great and the lodge is roomy, clean and comfortable. The people are some of the nicest, most honest people that you are likely to meet anywhere. While I was in camp everyone was seeing plenty of game and having a great time. I have been down there for two years now and have yet to be in camp with anyone that was unhappy with the arrangements. I also should state that these guys work as hard to make sure you have an enjoyable hunt.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Sep 24, 2011

Outfitter Review: Blackwater Hunting Service - Ulmer SC

Outfitter / Owner: Terry Hiers

Hunter: Scott Willis

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

I enjoyed my August Velvet hunt so much, I booked a second hunt with Terry @ Blackwater Hunting Services. On a 2.5 day hunt, I saw over 60 deer. I went on this hunt with the intention of getting some freezer meat :) on a 2.5 day hunt, I harvested 3 mature doe. I did see plenty of bucks, but I chose to take the doe,,,there's still the rut coming up so I may book a 3rd hunt :) I can't say enough GOOD about both my experiences at Blackwater. What I can say is, If you're in the market for a Family oriented Hunt, where every possible step is taken to put you on game, Blackwater is the place to be. During both my trips, I had the opportunity to share the lodge with fathers who brought their daughters and both young ladies bagged a nice buck !! Memories made for all !! Thank you Terry, Connie, Karen, Ken and Mike for making me feel like I've hunted with you guys my whole life.....I will be back many many more times !

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Aug 29, 2011

Outfitter Review: Blackwater Hunting Service - Ulmer SC

Outfitter / Owner: Terry Hiers

Hunter: Scott Willis

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer, Wild Boar

Terry and Connie operate a "GRADE A" operation. I researched many outfitters all over the Southeast and what caught my attention were the reviews I read for BlackWater Hunting Services. Not only did Terry meet my expectations, he far exceeded them. I saw 89 deer and several pigs during my 6 day hunt. I did take a nice 8 point and the ONLY reason I didnt harvest a hog was "I MISSED" If you're looking for a Family Oriented outfitter, Look no further than Blackwater,,,you will leave this hunt feeling as if you've just left family. I've been home less than a week from this hunt and have booked my second hunt of 2011 already !! I look forward to taking my grandchildren here one day.>>>

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Jul 14, 2011

Outfitter Review: Bostick Plantation - Estill SC

Outfitter / Owner: Joe Bostick

Hunter: John Wolf

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer, Wild Boar

Myself and 9 friends went to Bostick Plantation in Estill SC to hunt for Trophy Deer and Wild Boar. It was terrible. No animals. 9 hunters in four days took zero animals, wait sorry, saw no shootable animals. Saw several football size piglets at on stand. Everyone was fighting ovwer that stand just to see something. Good luck if you go.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: May 22, 2011

Outfitter Review: Cherokee Run Hunting Lodge - SC

Outfitter / Owner: Tom Naumann

Hunter: Steve Baird

Animals Hunted: Wild Boar

Fantastic. There is a story to the told. I found Tom to be very passionate about the land he hunted. Having never met Tom previously, one of the reasons I choose this club was because I felt Tom was a quiet man of faith. Being a strong believer and this being my first hog hunt, I wanted the comfort of someone who would be honest and sincere. I was hoping Tom was a good servant of the Lord. Tom knew his land and knew hogs. I was impressed with his passion and the level of detail he discussed about where we would be hunting and what each stand had to offer. Right down to how far away a bush was that may interfere with your shot and where the hogs would likely emerge. He knew where the hogs had been in recent day and walking to and from the stands confirmed the activity. Keep in mind, hogs do not stay in the same place, they are driven by pressure and food sources so a good guide knows what to look for. Since I was bow hunting Tom was more concerned with my comfort level of shooting. Most bow hunters only have a true comfort level of 30 yds. Since hunting hogs in the thicket is the best way to hunt, this is a great opportunity for bow hunting. I knew I shot well at 50 yds (most days); however recent practicing told me I kept shooting low. In preparation for the morning hunt, Tom said he had one stand that would work well bow hunting favoring the left of the stand; however he felt the hogs may be in a cleared path where a 50 yards shot was necessary. I told him I was good to go and looked forward to the challenge. (put my foot right in my mouth) Long story short, solo bore comes running through the woods; I do not have bow in hand, no arrow in the release ready to go, I grab the bow and draw back with the bore still on a run, gets within 35 yds and hits a hard left still running. My only opportunity is if it stops. At 50 yards the bore stops suddenly, I can see him through a small window in the brush. I release the arrow to watch it pass through the opening and down goes the hog. That's strange; hogs don't drop to the ground like that, but hs did. From the time I spotted the hog until the time the arrow left my side it was not more than 10 seconds. I didn't even have time for the nerves to play with me. This is exactly what hunting is all about. It only takes one and you need to be prepared in hopes that all you’re practicing and preparation works in your favor. Tom does know his hogs and as I stated earlier, they're there. He never guaranteed me a kill; only that I would be in a place where there is known activity. The rest was up to me, no hand holding. Had I not killed the hog? I had the opportunity between hunts to share with Tom that I came to his lodge because I wanted to experience what God was doing in his life. Tom then shared with me what I wanted to hear. The club exists because God opened the doors for Tom. Notice I said "exists" and not "successful." We exist because of the Grace of God; Success is being prepared. Listen to the story's Tom shares and you'll know he's doing everything he can to get the hunter on the hogs. Controlling when one or many will be in shooting range is not up to him. In closing, I received the blessing I was looking for in a hunting lodge. An honest owner, abundant wildlife (look for the physical evidence when walking to your stand), great lodging, great fellow hunters, (thanks Rodney for helping us drag the hog out) and success (I killed a hog).

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Mar 23, 2011

Outfitter Review: Cherokee Run Hunting Lodge - SC

Outfitter / Owner: Tom Naumann

Hunter: steve youst

Animals Hunted: Wild Boar

I felt that i had a really great experience. 3 of us went down for 3 days and all of us seen a lot of hogs. My buddy Randy seen 26 hogs in one afternoon. I seen 10 hogs in 3 days. Scott seen 30 or so hogs. The Little farm property that we were hunt is covered with hogs. I could hear them most of the time i was in the stand. The stands and feeders were well taken care of. The lodge was beautiful with a really nice view and shooting ranges for guns and archery. The whole trip was a good experience Tom really made you feel at home. I ended up killing a Sow that was well over 200 lbs.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Mar 18, 2011

Outfitter Review: Bostick Plantation - Estill SC

Outfitter / Owner: Joe Bostick

Hunter: Carl Kephart

Animals Hunted: Wild Boar

We hunted 2 days for Wild Boar and 1/2 day for Quail. I got a 130 lb. Feral Hog on my first day and 275 lb. Wild Russian Boar on my second day, on the Quail hunt we got 20 birds and the dog work was amazing. The lodging and food at the executive lodge was first class. Joe Bostick did a great job entertaining us it was true southern hospitality. Can't wait to go back.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Feb 28, 2011

Outfitter Review: Waccamaw Hunting Services - Hemingway SC

Outfitter / Owner:

Hunter: robert fulford

Animals Hunted: Wild Boar

My wife and son just returned from another great hog hunt with Rick. These are true wild hogs not pen raised. We saw lots of hogs and all three of us got one and had oppurtunity to take more. My 8yr old son took his first hog. Rick bent over backwards to help us make this happen for him. we already booked for next year.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Feb 23, 2011

Outfitter Review: Waccamaw Hunting Services - Hemingway SC

Outfitter / Owner:

Hunter: Rich Beckman

Animals Hunted: Wild Boar

This is the third year that we have hunted with Rick Grubbs and Waccamaw Hunting Services. Rick is a great guy and he works his but off to make sure his hunters are comfortable , safe and best of all on the game. During our hunt the weather was exceptionally warm for this time of the year and despite that all hunters in our group had opportunities to take Large, quality hogs. I myself took a 300 pound boar with 4-5 inch cutters that was just a magnificent specimin. These animals are 1000% wild as there are no fences and Rick has access to 1000's of acres that he rotates hunters through to not burn the stands out so there are opportunities for all. He knows these animals very well and works very hard to make sure every hunter has the hunt of a lifetime. Plus hes a hell of a lot of fun to be around! My brother and myself have hunted with other outfitters but nothing compares to Hunting with Rick and Waccamaw. There might be fancier operations but there aint none better or with a guide with a better sense of humor!! He wont guarantee success because this isnt a "canned hunt" but he will give his all to achieve it.Thanks Rick for 3 great days. Already booked for next year!

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Jan 31, 2011

Outfitter Review: Cherokee Run Hunting Lodge - SC

Outfitter / Owner: Tom Naumann

Hunter: Bernard Howell

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

My wife and I had the pleasure of hunting Cherokee Run on Nov.4 thru Nov.6, 2010. Tom has a beautiful lodge with some great views. When we arrived we were met by Tom and our guide, Nathan. We settled in with four other hunters, all of which were great guys. We had a great time that night getting too know Tom and our campmates. My wife was treated with the utmost respect and courtesy. It was truly touching too see a group of guys too accept a female hunter the way these guys did! Over the next three days Tom made every effort too put us in the right spots. It rained the whole first day, but one of our guys managed too take a7pt before hard rain set in. The next two days were clear, but with high winds. A nice 8pt was shot Friday evening, but unfortunately not recovered. Efforts were made after Saturday mornings hunt too pick up the trail, but too our dismay the trail dissapeared, obviously a nonfatal shot. On Saturday evenings hunt I was fortunate enough too take a respectable 8pt. The winds were in excess of 25mph, so I was happy too even see a buck, and even happier too make a long unsettling shot! The results of our camps success was great, considering the less than favorable conditions! I would reccomend Tom's operation too anyone as long as your expecting a true fair chase hunt. I'm glad we still came even after reading some of the reviews. I was blown away by some of the reviews on this site. People will go too great lengths too put someone down if everything doesnt go thier way! I have went whole seasons without shooting a nice buck. It blows my mind that people bitch about not shooting one in three days. This is a fair chase hunt with no fences and no tamed deer! Tom cannot read thier minds, nor are they on leashes. High fence preserves have ruined true hunting! If this kind of hunting is what you want, you better dig way deeper in those pockets! Then, all I have too say is that you are not a true hunter! Tom runs a respectable operation at a fair price. Just the scenic views and the great comrodery is well worth the price. My wife and I have made some awesome friends and plan too return every season! Thanks, Tom and Nathan

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Jan 13, 2011

Outfitter Review: Cherokee Run Hunting Lodge - SC

Outfitter / Owner: Tom Naumann

Hunter: peter witmer

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer, Wild Boar

Hunting with Cherokee hunting lodge is one of the best experiences money can buy. I have lived in both Alaska and Canada, taking lots of great animals from both places.So when i booked this hunt from Tom in Greensboro i was'nt sure what to expect. It definitly was a great hunt and much more.The lodge is beautifully tucked under several old pecan trees with a pond out front.Very cool!And as far as game there is lots.I saw 4 bucks,3 does,and heard both turkey and hog.Not bad at all for a three day hunt!As far as fair chase goes,Cherokee Hunting lodge puts on a great hunt!Tom is one of the most personable guides i have ever met.i would highly recomend them.I inclued a couple picks of the 8 point i shot....if your into hogs and turkey-there are lots, cheers

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Jan 12, 2011

Outfitter Review: Cherokee Run Hunting Lodge - SC

Outfitter / Owner: Tom Naumann

Hunter: jason jones

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer, Wild Boar

Before the hunt the guide really stressed the GREAT deer hunting so all eight of us paid another $150 to be able to shoot one of their TROPHY deer. after 3 days of hunting we jumped 1 small doe. We did not even see a hog. The stands were terrible and there was a shortage. Instead of changing stand locations like the guide told us, he simply rotated us in the same stands. After comparing notes we realized this. There was hardly any bait out and one stand was 5' high on a 4" diameter pine tree. One evening I sat near a mobile home and listened to a loud domestic argument. My partner heard the same thing and we finally left the area because it was miserable. Our guide......this is another story, we invited him to the lodge for dinner where he tried to convience us what an experienced guide he was. WELL, I had never hunted hogs and quickly realized that he did not know any more than me. Maybe it was the 15 beers (OF OURS) that he drank that made him such a great guide. After the hunt I contact Tom Nauman (the owner) who offered us a $50 discount on our next hunt. His customer service was about as good as his guide and hunting. I would not reccomend this place to my worst enemy!!!!!!!!!!!! I understand many of the reviews of this place are similiar. I will be sure to put this info on every site out there to save some poor soul from wasting his money and vacation like we did.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Jan 3, 2011

Outfitter Review: Waccamaw Hunting Services - Hemingway SC

Outfitter / Owner:

Hunter: Bill Davis

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer, Wild Boar

My son, a U.S. Marine, returned home from Afghanistan and wanted to shoot his first deer. Rick bent over backwards to make his hunt a successful one. We could not have asked for more from our guide. If you want a quality hunt with super friendly staff, look no further. We've already booked our hunt for 2011.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Dec 20, 2010

Outfitter Review: Blackwater Hunting Service - Ulmer SC

Outfitter / Owner: Terry Hiers

Hunter: Andy Browne

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

I recently went on a 3.5 day hunt at Blackwater Hunting Services in Ulmer, SC. Terry Heirs runs a top notch service at Blackwater. I probably have some of the worst luck of any hunter on the planet. Terry and his staff do everything that is possible to make sure you get an opportunity on game. I was more than pleased with the very comfortable accomodations at the lodge, and the food was good, old fashioned home cooking. I was not able to harvest any deer on my hunt, but I will absolutely return to Blackwater for future hunts. I believe that it will be an annual trip from now on.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Dec 18, 2010

Outfitter Review: Cherokee Run Hunting Lodge - SC

Outfitter / Owner: Tom Naumann

Hunter: Ned Drulard

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer, Wild Boar

Attached is the Pic from my Hunt at Cherokee Run. My review is below, As you can see the hunt was a Awesome.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Dec 17, 2010

Outfitter Review: Cherokee Run Hunting Lodge - SC

Outfitter / Owner: Tom Naumann

Hunter: Ned Drulard

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer, Wild Boar

My buddy Kevin and I went to Cherokee Run and had a great time!!! I’ve been bow hunting for 30 years. I had been looking for a place in SC to hunt for months and kept coming back to Cherokee Run!! After reading Tom’s Bio and reviewing the site at www.eatsleephunt.com I knew it was the place to go. There is a 6 point minimum, no trophy fees and I didn’t have the pressure about judging the inside spread and worrying about a fine. I am a diehard bow hunter and love the spirit of the hunt, BUT I did take my riffle. I had three monsters just out of bow range. Two were fighting and the third monster bodied swamp buck was watching!!! I had to wait 40 minutes past dark to slip out of the woods in stealth mode. The place was covered in deer. I passed on deer and saw Hogs. I shot an 8 point with my riffle and my buddy shot a 135-140 class HOSS of a swamp buck. This is fair chase and you have to hunt. There are no fences. There are no guarantees in life, but I can tell ya, you have to play hard to win. Our hunt was a success. We saw deer and killed deer. Did I have a good time? I had a great time. I hunted hard saw deer and a tons of sign. Tom and the guide are very passionate about hunting and the experience of the hunt. On the three days I was there, 5 bucks were killed. That is awesome.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Dec 9, 2010

Outfitter Review: Cherokee Run Hunting Lodge - SC

Outfitter / Owner: Tom Naumann

Hunter: Jeff Shifflett

Animals Hunted: Wild Boar

9 Hunters three days and not one hog seen. Feeders broken or empty. I was told "you can kill up to three hogs in three days" Guess I could have if I could see one. My first guided hunt, not so good. (WENT TO CHESTNUT HUNTING LODGE IN NC. HAD A GREAT HUNT AND NO HIDDEN CHARGES.) If you just want to get away from home and sit in the woods for $475.00 then this is the hunt for you. If you want to kill a hog go some where else.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Dec 9, 2010

Outfitter Review: Cherokee Run Hunting Lodge - SC

Outfitter / Owner: Tom Naumann

Hunter: Jeff Shifflett

Animals Hunted: Wild Boar

9 Hunters three days and not one hog seen. Feeders broken or empty. I was told "you can kill up to three hogs in three days" Guess I could have if I could see one. My first guided hunt, not so good. (WENT TO CHESTNUT HUNTING LODGE IN NC. HAD A GREAT HUNT AND NO HIDDEN CHARGES.) If you just want to get away from home and sit in the woods for $475.00 then this is the hunt for you. If you want to kill a hog go some where else.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Dec 4, 2010

Outfitter Review: Waccamaw Hunting Services - Hemingway SC

Outfitter / Owner:

Hunter: M.J. Smith

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

It seems obvious that Rick has done his homework on where the deer are, and ther travel patterns. We had a great time during our stay at the lodge. The meals that were prepared by Miss Lisa and Mama Dee were out of this world, looking foward to more homemade peach jelly. We seen deer almost every time out, along with some hogs. I have recently finished a european mount on a nice 9 pointer that I took during our stay with Rick. Thanks for everyting Rick.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Nov 27, 2010

Outfitter Review: Cherokee Run Hunting Lodge - SC

Outfitter / Owner: Tom Naumann

Hunter: Ed Brooks

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer, Wild Boar

This is a follow-up to my initial review due to the fact that the hunt dates were not listed by me. To all perspective hunters, "Do Not Waste Your Money or Time". Tom's favorite lines are "Hunters saw game at your location last week" or He will make mention of game that was harvested at the stand location where you hunted after your departure. Yet, there are NO sightings of game during your hunt. We hunted with Tom twice this year (March and November, 2010) no sightings!

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Nov 23, 2010

Outfitter Review: Cherokee Run Hunting Lodge - SC

Outfitter / Owner: Tom Naumann

Hunter: Ed Brooks

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer, Wild Boar

There were three hunters in my group for the three day combo deer/wild boar hunt. I was hunting with a rifle and my two hunting partners were hunting with long bows. We hunted hard for two days with no sightings of the game that we were hunting. We had the same reults in March, 2010 while on a wild boar hunt. We were greatly disappointed after tow hunts w/Cherokee Run and decided to head for home. The property is over-hunted and there appears to be a low number of deer and boar. There were no food plots or feed in the feeders to attract the game to the hunter stand sites. The hunts are a waste of your hard earned money and time! Tom is a nice guy but he needs to be honest with the hunters, he does not have the game that he is advertising at the outdoor shows!

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Nov 20, 2010

Outfitter Review: Bostick Plantation - Estill SC

Outfitter / Owner: Joe Bostick

Hunter: Robert and Tom Sutorius and Ulinskas

Animals Hunted: Wild Boar

we paid for 1 extra night lodging,but left 1 night early due to the beds were shot/springs sticking in your back,when you move the bed made lots of noise.Joe Bostick is a rip off.Dont spend a dime at the place.We requested a 1 night refund of $50. for both of us,but was told by judy a credit on another hunt would be given.We came to hunt hogs,stayed at the ex lodge,and for all the time there,no hogs seen,by us,or the other hunters.The food is what the cook wants to make.If you like eggs cooked then put in a warmer and served 1/2 hour later,you will enjoy your breakfast.No fruit or snacks to take with you to your stand.out to your stand about 5 am in the back of a junky toyota pick up,belts screaching in the morning darkness,with a giud that was to lazy to fix the belts.You at at the guides mercy as to locations.My hunting partner got a 10 point buck,by sheer luck,in the last remain legal light,almost dark.Not 1 hog was seen by anyone!!!!!!! Small deer were seen but very few.But now comes the good part,you have the state of sc dnr regs,,then joe bostick regs....I was told if you do shoot a buck must be 4 points or more,I shot a buck 6 points 3 and 3 ,but the guide said 4 points or more on 1 side after viewing my buck.$250.00 HAD TO BE TO THE PLANTATION,for a buck the size of my dog.So lets add this up $1,350. ex lodge,$140.00 3 day out of state lic,$50.00 extra night of which we didnt use,and $250.00 plantation fine,plus cape fee $45.00 equals a grand total of =$1,790.45 not adding ing the gas and tolls from Ct to SC.The web site states 2 hogs day,or hog and deer a day never happen in this place,over hunted,over rated by their web listing.Jeremy got it right this guy does not care about return clients,and jimmy if joes knee puppet,bobble head.Joe would come to the dinner table and tell us stories how he sold illegal tires and made a fortune,at his tire business which is still in the family.STAY AWAY FROM THIS PLACE,AND TRY SOMEONE THAT CARES ABOUT YOUR HUNT.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Oct 25, 2010

Outfitter Review: Blackwater Hunting Service - Ulmer SC

Outfitter / Owner: Terry Hiers

Hunter: Keith Smith

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

I recently decided to go on my first guided hunt. I thought about what I wanted in a hunt, obviously I wanted the chance at a large bragging buck, but there were many other factors as well, for instance I didn't want a barnyard type hunt, I wanted to hunt wild native game. I wanted a reasonably priced hunt that would provide me the opportunity to see a fair amount of deer, with the chance at a large deer. After reading the reviews on this site and spending some time in the hunting forums I decided to try Black-water Hunting. I can tell you what to expect from this outfitter. Terry and his family and guides have obviously worked very hard to be able to provide a quality hunt at these prices. Everything I was looking for in hunting service was met and exceeded. You can expect a comfortable, clean lodge with all the great southern cooking you can eat.You can expect your guides to be professional and freindly.You can expect these folks to have worked hard to ensure you have the type of hunt they would want themselves.And last you can expect Terry and his crew to do everything that is within their control to provide you with a quality hunt.With that said, I saw over forty deer on three and a half days of hunting, Four of these were "shooter" bucks with one being absolutely huge (this buck is still alive and healthy however). Everyone in the lodge had the same or better experience as I did. The weather was warm and dry and they are in in a drought situation. What not to expect.This is not Texas and you will not look over four or five Boone and Crockett deer while deciding which one you can afford to shoot.This is also not a barnyard hunt where the deer are behind fences, these are wild free roaming animals, and you will have to hunt them. (meaning staying clean and quiet in your stands.I hope this review help you decide where to hunt. I was very, very happy with the entire trip.Oh yeah... I took a average eight point with a thirteen inch inside spread and three does. I was the only one in camp shooting does and the other hunters had similar success on bucks with several decent bucks being taken and I think every hunter had opportunities to take bucks of at least eight point or better, but since these are free roaming deer anything can and will most likely happen.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Oct 25, 2010

Outfitter Review: Blackwater Hunting Service - Ulmer SC

Outfitter / Owner: Terry Hiers

Hunter: Keith Smith

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

I recently decided to go on my first guided hunt. I thought about what I wanted in a hunt, obviously I wanted the chance at a large bragging buck, but there were many other factors as well, for instance I didn't want a barnyard type hunt, I wanted to hunt wild native game. I wanted a reasonably priced hunt that would provide me the opportunity to see a fair amount of deer, with the chance at a large deer. After reading the reviews on this site and spending some time in the hunting forums I decided to try Black-water Hunting. I can tell you what to expect from this outfitter. Terry and his family and guides have obviously worked very hard to be able to provide a quality hunt at these prices. Everything I was looking for in hunting service was met and exceeded. You can expect a comfortable, clean lodge with all the great southern cooking you can eat.You can expect your guides to be professional and freindly.You can expect these folks to have worked hard to ensure you have the type of hunt they would want themselves.And last you can expect Terry and his crew to do everything that is within their control to provide you with a quality hunt.With that said, I saw over forty deer on three and a half days of hunting, Four of these were "shooter" bucks with one being absolutely huge (this buck is still alive and healthy however). Everyone in the lodge had the same or better experience as I did. The weather was warm and dry and they are in in a drought situation. What not to expect.This is not Texas and you will not look over four or five Boone and Crockett deer while deciding which one you can afford to shoot.This is also not a barnyard hunt where the deer are behind fences, these are wild free roaming animals, and you will have to hunt them. (meaning staying clean and quiet in your stands.I hope this review help you decide where to hunt. I was very, very happy with the entire trip.Oh yeah... I took a average eight point with a thirteen inch inside spread and three does. I was the only one in camp shooting does and the other hunters had similar success on bucks with several decent bucks being taken and I think every hunter had opportunities to take bucks of at least eight point or better, but since these are free roaming deer anything can and will most likely happen.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Oct 17, 2010

Outfitter Review: Blackwater Hunting Service - Ulmer SC

Outfitter / Owner: Terry Hiers

Hunter: Darren hilyer

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

i have hunted with terry and his guides for a few years now. everytime we go there its great. in 3 days i harvested 2 bucks and 1 hog. my wife harvested 2 hogs

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Oct 8, 2010

Outfitter Review: Blackwater Hunting Service - Ulmer SC

Outfitter / Owner: Terry Hiers

Hunter: Mark Harrison

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

Outstanding deer hunting and hospitality. I consistantly harvest good bucks and does. I see 50 to 100 deer everytime I go to Blackwater hunting lodge. I've been hunting with Terry since 1996 and it gets better every year. Food is 2nd to none. Highly recommended.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Aug 18, 2010

Outfitter Review: South Carolina Trophy Whitetails, LLC - SC

Outfitter / Owner: Lee Martin

Hunter: Sarah Shaffer

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

We were told their would be a large amount of deer on well maintained food plots and great hog hunts when we came to SC Trophy Whitetails so that is what we expected. Instead the hog hunts and on a fenced farm and if you shoot anything with teeth you are expected to pay an extra fee. The food plots consisted of corn thrown down on the ground two days before opening season which really doesn't attract anything but a squirel. It takes more than two days to attact a deer to a specific plot or feeder and they really didn't put the time needed into making a healthy outfitter and a good hunt. Of the 20+ hunters in the camp NO ONE got a deer during the 3 days we were there. Not a single one. That means all 20 guys went to 20 different deer stands both in the morning and in the afternoon and not a single one got anything. The one hunter walked out and it's a good thing she did because I don't know where they were going to put their new clients had she stayed. We left early too after realizing what we were told was nothing but lies. We will never go back there and I hope this review will help others to make the same determination. If nothing else we learned from this that we have to do our research because apparently not everyone can be trusted.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Jul 9, 2010

Outfitter Review: Waccamaw Hunting Services - Hemingway SC

Outfitter / Owner:

Hunter: Rachel Dunn

Animals Hunted: Wild Boar

Waccamaw Hunting Services is an awesome outfit. If you want a great hunting experience, this it the outfit you want to choose! I am recommending this outfit to anyone who wants to have a shot at getting a really nice trophy! This outfitter will do his best to create an awesome hunt that you will remember for years to come.

Submit Date: May 22, 2010

Outfitter Review: Cherokee Run - SC

Outfitter / Owner: Tom Naumann

Hunter: Chas Catania

Animals Hunted: Hogs

I hunted at Cherokee Run May 13 - 15, 2010.I saw pigs (4-6 of them) and heard them on 2 other occasions. I blew a bow shot or there would be pork in the freezer now. The swamps are very thick and since it was dry the pigs were in there staying cool. Even though they were very close to me a few times, you can't always see them.Please be aware that this is a Free Range hunt. These animals are neither fenced, nor trapped elsewhere and released in the hunting area. As such, you need to remember that nothing is guaranteed. I saw plenty of sign, but weather, scent and luck play a part. Not everyone saw pigs, if you need guaranteed kills or guaranteed sightings, you may want to consider one of the many preserves available. I also had a great time visiting with Tom, he's funny, knowledgeable and a great guy to talk to. Scott, the guide worked hard for us, and was terrific as well.For the cost of this hunt you get a lot. NO, you are not buying a pig, but they are out there. Hunt hard, listen to the guides and you may have an opportunity. What you do with that opportunity is up to you. Come with a few friends, bring a good attitude and enjoy the experience. The game is certainly there, pigs, deer,turkeys, raccoons, and a bobcat were spotted by my group. Feel free to email me with questions.I'll return to Cherokee Run, and probably bring my sons.

Submit Date: May 20, 2010

Outfitter Review: Cherokee Run Outfitters - South Carolina

Outfitter / Owner: Tom Naumann

Hunter: Andrew

Animals Hunted: Boar

I just returned from my hunt at Cherokee Run and am glad that I did not read the previously posted reviews prior to going. I cannot speak for others, but for my friend and me it was a great experience. I’ve been hunting for 12 years and this was our first guided hunt and first experience for me outside of my home state of Michigan. I think it is unfair and ridiculous to post some of the things said about Tom. I’ll admit that we didn’t get to spend as much time with Tom, the owner, as we would have liked, but if you talked with the man you’d realize he has a family, three young kids, and is a coach and father to them. We were however able to spend a great afternoon sharing hunting stories and fishing with Tom on his pond and enjoyed his company while we could. In addition to that Scott, the guide who we spent most of the days with, was very personable, attentive, prompt, energetic and knowledgeable. He had coffee ready for us when we woke up and dropped/ picked us up at the scheduled times. We got to hunt three different stands in the two days we were there. I personally saw a lot of hog sign and heard them multiple times in the bush, they just never came out. My friend heard a lot, had two come right to the bait 25 yards away, and got a shot. I thought the stands were in great shape and good locations to maximize opportunity. While in the stands I saw turkey and even a buck within 20 yards of me, but it wasn’t the season/ game I was there to hunt. My friend and I went in with realistic expectations and did not base it on whether we went home with meat in the cooler (although we could have minus a missed shot.) My friend and I will be back. Some of the comments that were made are laughable;1.)“He made us pay for our hunt!” – Where I come from if you buy a shirt, car, hotel room, etc. you usually pay for it first. It is a business so I don’t know why this should be a surprise.2.)“Don’t expect the Ritz Carlton!” – Who would? First of all it’s a hunting camp and secondly there are pictures posted on the website for you to look at. 3.)“Didn’t have enough utensils.” – We were made aware, in advance, of the fact that we would be furnished with a full kitchen to cook in, nothing more. That plays into the reasonable cost of the hunt. We figured we would need to bring these items and it did not break the bank to buy paper plates (which they actually had there anyway.)4.)“Didn’t see any animals.” – We did. But most importantly it’s fair chase! If you want to kill, go to a preserve and pay 3 times the amount. If you want to hunt then this is your place. Spoiler Alert: The animals are not chained to the trees or kept in cages/ fences. 5.)“The guide dropped us off and only gave us directions to the stand” – GOOD! Personally I liked that. The less people walking in the woods, making noise, and giving off scent the better! The trails were well marked and flagged for identification. We all know that bad news travels faster than good and I think this is a perfect example of that.

Submit Date: May 18, 2010

Outfitter Review: Cherokee Run - SC

Outfitter / Owner: Tom Naumann

Hunter: Donnie Rynders

Animals Hunted: HOGS/DEER/TURKEY

I hunted with Cherokee Run for two days looking for hogs and both days I was there I had a good opportunity to take the game I was after along with many other game species like deer and turkeys. It seems that there was an abundance of game to be seen not just on my stand but also by the other hunters in camp. There were reports of either seeing or hearing hogs from the other hunters along with numerous sightings of turkeys and quite a few deer. I would recommend the experience at Cherokee Run to others and I plan on going back yearly! This place is certainly the best "free ranging" hunting area I've been in.

Submit Date: Apr 19, 2010

Outfitter Review: Cherokee Run Hunting Lodge - South Carolina

Outfitter / Owner: Tom Naumann

Hunter: Mike Fee

Animals Hunted: Boar

We had 11 hunters the majority were rifle hunters covering large areas mid April morning and evening for two days, on two diferent tracts of land approx. 150 mhrs on stand with no sightingsOwner Tom and guide Scott were great guys, just no pigs

Submit Date: Apr 8, 2010

Outfitter Review: Red Bluff Lodge - South Carolina

Outfitter / Owner: Jim/Terri Boone

Hunter: Terence Flynn

Animals Hunted: Hog/Turkey

I did a three-day combo hog/turkey hunt with my 13-year old son over Holy Week 2010. We were the only hunters in camp. The lodge is a relatively new facility and is nicely appointed. Rooms are small, but very clean, with private bath. Meals were excellent, though breakfast was simply cereal. This was my son's first hunt and they did a terrific job outfitting him, helping to site in his borrowed 243, and to pattern his own shotgun. Turkey guides were friendly, knowledgeable, and very good with the younger hunter. We heard many gobblers and converted on two shot opportunities over three mornings (very close to a third), for a nice 17 lb gobbler and a jake. We saw only one hog, which my son nailed -- a 201 lb. boar. The best hog hunting land they lease -- along the Savannah river -- was unavailable to us to hunt for hog because it had been set aside for turkey due to flooding and access issues. I saw very good sign in there and would anticipate better hog hunting if that property is open. I would recommend enquiring about that specifically if hog is a primary interest. It's only an issue during the turkey season when baiting is not allowed. The owners are extremely nice people, very professional and responsive. I highly recommend this outfitter, particularly for hunts with family groups, children or more inexperienced adults. Great trip and a much easier drive for me (Maryland) than Florida.

Submit Date: Feb 24, 2010

Outfitter Review: Jimmy Haskins - SC

Outfitter / Owner: Joe Bostick

Hunter: billy wicker

Animals Hunted: deer

kmart hogs and turkeys

Submit Date: Dec 17, 2009

Outfitter Review: Bostick Plantation - South Carolina

Outfitter / Owner: Joe Bostick

Hunter: Scott Thompson

Animals Hunted: Boar

There were 5 hunters in our party only 2 hunters even saw Boars. The only Boars seen were in swamp stands and we spent 75% of our time in field and road stands. The accomodations at the main lodge were not as advertised. This place has not seen cleaning or a coat of paint in years. It was probably ok in the 80's and early 90's but leaves much to be desired now. The transportation to our stands were old Toyota trucks that had seen their better days.

Submit Date: Dec 3, 2009

Outfitter Review: Waccamaw Hunting - South Carolina

Outfitter / Owner: Rick Grubbs

Hunter: Jorge Mazarredo

Animals Hunted: Deer

In a nutshell, this was the Hunt from Hell. I had hunted with this outfit the two previous years and for the most part had a very satisfying experience. However, the 2008 hunt was anything but. This year, I felt immediately unwelcome, as if our party was a burden and we were doing him a favor. From poorly maintained stands, to a hostile and surly disposition on the outfitter's part,to how much toilet paper and electricity was being consumed, and the fact that no breakfast was ever provided because as was told to us, "It's breakfast or I can scatter corn, you can't have both".The straw that broke the camel's back, in my humble opinion, was the fact that the illegal kill fee, which had always been $250.00, was raised to $500.00, and we were not informed of these facts upon arrival at camp.The outfitter never once mentioned in writing or in conversation that these changes had taken place. All he did was use a black marker on the previously posted camp regulations which were displayed on he corner of the lodge, right by the door. Mind you, not once in the past 3 years we hunted with this outfitter, did we make an illegal kill.In conclusion, this hunt soured us to the point, that our hunting party decide to take the year off. I do not wish this experience on anybody else, and hope that I never have to go through something like this again.

Submit Date: Nov 30, 2009

Outfitter Review: Cherokee Run Outfitter - South Carolina

Outfitter / Owner: Tom Naumann

Hunter: Jeremy Dawson

Animals Hunted: Feral Pigs

Great place to hunt fox squirrels, I only saw 3 or 4 sets of hog track, it seemed to be way over hunted for pigs and deer, there was about 10 other hunters in camp for the 2 days I was there and only 1 50lb pig and 3 deer(all doe) were seen

Submit Date: Nov 12, 2009

Outfitter Review: Riverland Guide Service - SC

Outfitter / Owner: Hunter Smith

Hunter: Mark Frye

Animals Hunted: Deer and wild hogs

Hunted on Halloween 2009. All in all, we saw fourteen wild hogs and three deer. One of the hogs was the size of a bulldozer. One of the deer had three visible tines on one side, the other two were does. Saw the buck as close as thirty yards slip hunting in a dense thicket but could not get shot. I did kill a nice eating hog of about 120 pounds, though, and for me, that's as good as any buck, trust me. I got some great hog and doe footage on my camcorder and a nice meat animal for my freezer. If you want to sit in a stand and keep your feet dry, Riverland is not the outfitter for you. If you want to sit over a corn pile or game patch and wait for the game to come to you, Riverland is not the outfitter for you. If you hate walking, wet feet, swamps, bugs, alligators, and canoes, Riverland is not the outfitter for you. If you hate rowing in a canoe for an hour to get to the hunt, Riverland is not the outfitter for you. However, if you want an affordable adventure-hunt in big buck and hog habitat far from other hunters, call Riverland. If you want to see game animals in the middle of the day when other hunters are sleeping off lunch, call Riverland. It'll change your whole point of view regarding Southern big game hunting.

Submit Date: Oct 25, 2009

Outfitter Review: Buck Run Hunting Lodge - SC

Outfitter / Owner: Pete Simmons

Hunter: Richard Turner

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

Hunted with a friend for 3 days mid October of 2009. Weather did not work out well, as it rained all 3 days with tempatures below normal. 4 people in party killed 4 deer 3 does and 1 buck. 2 does were missed on the first morning. Other deer were present without opportunity for a shot. Good weather would have probably made things much better. Lodging was excellent and you will gain 5 pounds with fabulous cooking performed by the outfitter Pete and his wife Sandra. Many stands and very clear hunting area. Never hunted the same stand twice. If your looking for a good affordable hunt with a great chance of killing a deer, look no further. Hunting with novice hunters and young children is welcomed.

Submit Date: Oct 23, 2009

Outfitter Review: Cherokee Run Outfitters - South Carolina

Outfitter / Owner: Tom

Hunter: Rocky Reid

Animals Hunted: Deer

I hunted at Cherokee Run Outfitters on 10/16 and 10/17/2009 with my father. We were the only two deer hunters in camp. The remaining six hunters were hog hunters. I did not see a deer for two days. Of course, I was also placed in ladder stands over cutovers with 15-20 mph winds and the cutovers did not have any food sources. The six hog hunters, a husband and wife (wife was on her first hunt), and four young men from West Virginia, did not kill any hogs and did not see any except one time when two of them met in the woods and ran into a boar. The ladder stands are in poor condition, many are homemade. My dad hunted in a ladder stand that had a pallet as the flooring. The owner appeared for a total of 1.5 hours on 10/17/2009 and spent one hour speaking alone with the guide b/c he knew we were all unhappy. The husband and wife were so discouraged that they left early and did not even hunt on 10/17/2009 (not a great impression for a first time hunter). One guide cannot be responsible for 8 hunters and Tom is to blame for that. None of the feeders he had us hunt around had corn in them and the guide said that they had not been filled in over 3 weeks. The lodge was beyond disgusting. The room where we slept entailed walking through the bathroom to get to our room and then being stuck in the room if one of the other hunters used the bathroom before we could get out of our room. The shower and toilet were brown and yellow stained and had obviously not been cleaned in a very LONG time. The place got so dirty that I actually swept the place myself just so I would quit stepping on dirt when I got out of the shower. Trash cans were full when we got there and were not emptied until we left which meant they were overflowing by the time they were emptied. Hunters may not expect the Ritz Carlton but most at least want a clean room. All 8 hunters, including myself, stated that we would all tell others not to hunt here ever.

Submit Date: Oct 10, 2009

Outfitter Review: Cherokee Run - South Carolina

Outfitter / Owner: Tom Naumann

Hunter: Kenny Dight

Animals Hunted: Hog

We were driven to various roads and dropped off and told we would find stands. The area was heavily baited,but three days of hunting for eight people had no success. Sign was non existant. The bait remained on the ground for the entire time with no activity. No water and no game. Stands were of poor quality and way over booked for the limited area. Before listening to this fellow, You better call some who have wasted their money with him.

Submit Date: Oct 4, 2009

Outfitter Review: Cherokee Run - South Carolina

Outfitter / Owner: Tom

Hunter: Tom Edgell

Animals Hunted: Hogs

Game was non existant. Corn was spread everywhere but nothing existed to eat it. Guide used excuse that the full moon had changed feeding pattern. No game no feeding pattern. This is not a hog land. No water existed. Eight hunters in camp for three days-Zero kills. Owner showed up to collect the money and never returned..Guide did nothing but haul us to the end of a road and give directions on how far to walk until we would find a stand... Land acreage was very limited and all stands had been hunted prior to our arrival.A good story was told to get us to book, but nothing came close to expectations.

Submit Date: Sep 27, 2009

Outfitter Review: Bostick Plantation - SC

Outfitter / Owner: Joe Bostick

Hunter: Jeremy lamarre

Animals Hunted: deer, and hog

my name is jeremy and im a former guide at bostick. I was fired for telling the truth which is joe doesnt believe in repeat business he says theres a sucker born every day. believe me ive seen it.. However I will say that Rodney really tries hard to make it an enjoyable hunt even though he has to follow the strings of jimmy haskins who is manager/joes hand puppet..I recommend to look into who and what type of outfitter you choose theres lots out there..Thanks to all my hunters and happy hunting.. jeremy lamarre/EX GUIDE FOR JOE BOSTICK

Submit Date: Sep 23, 2009

Outfitter Review: Bostick Plantation - SC

Outfitter / Owner: Joe Bostick

Hunter: Richard Rogusky

Animals Hunted: Deer

Hunted Labor day weekend 2009, in three days saw one doe while on stand. Hunting partner saw two does and a fawn. Expected much better than what I saw, Total of 16 hunters in camp over the weekend, two bucks and two hogs killed (25% success rate).

Submit Date: Sep 23, 2009

Outfitter Review: Bostick Plantation/Island Plantation - SC

Outfitter / Owner: Joe Bostick

Hunter: Troy

Animals Hunted: Deer/Boar

Accomodations was a small house in town that had beds for about 20 people. Would have been WAY too crouded if full up.The guide dropped you off at a stand, picked you up, that was their guiding. The stands were OK. Of the six of us, in 3 days, 2 small FERAL hogs were taken, that's it. 3 deer were seen, maybe one shooter,(too far). The group before us took one hog and one buck, also a group of six and in three days. Not what was advertised for sure! "This was during the Rut!"

Submit Date: May 31, 2009

Outfitter Review: Bostick Plantation - South Carolina

Outfitter / Owner: Joe Bostick

Hunter: Bill

Animals Hunted: Boar

I paid out $225 for a boar hunt and never saw one. The local kids known by the guide were riding their quads within 200 yards of my tree stand. All kinds of noise! The only pig I saw was the one I almost hit about a mile up the road from Bostick. They never offered me any kind of incentive to come back by reducing the price of a future hunt or by refunding any of my money for not even seeing a pig.Guide? The guy just drops you off at a stand and then picks you up, you are at his mercy to put you in a good spot. I wouldn't go back, left me feeling like I was taken.

Submit Date: May 20, 2009

Outfitter Review: Cherokee Run - South Carolina

Outfitter / Owner: Tom Naumann

Hunter: Doug Brogdon

Animals Hunted: Boar or Hogs

We have been to Cherokee Run for the last six years. Me and a group of three others make the trip to balance out the hunting season. I have taken two boar out of my six trips. One nice one, another in our group has taken a nice one. This is fair chase and more of being in the right place at the right time. There is plenty of sign and the stands and terrain are good. Tom is a honest person and does what he can to put his guests on good game. We will go again!

Submit Date: May 18, 2009

Outfitter Review: Bostick Plantation - SC

Outfitter / Owner: Joe Bostick

Hunter: William Merrill

Animals Hunted: Hogs

This was my first paid hunt ever. I was not to excited about it at first. But let tell you it's is worth every cent. the Hogs are plentiful and of all sizes. The guide I had was very accomadating to our group. If you go to the Bostick Plantation you won't be disappointed. My Son and I will go every year if possible.I would like to thank Jeremy (our guide) for going above and beyond the call of duty. I have heard horror story about guides that are just there for your money. But let me tell you, this isn't Jeremy. He will show where the hogs are moving from and to. And almost tell when they will be coming to your stand. Like I said ALMOST. If you go down to the Bostick Plantation, I would recommend you ask for Jeremy as your guide. Also MIke the Manager is consistly coming by to make sure everyone is ok and having a great time. He also guides. The group he had was very pleased with his work and efforted to get them on hogs too.I just want to thank you Jeremy for showing the proper way to run a quality hunt. And really turn me around about "Paid hunts." See you next May.Thanks Billy MerrillVA.

Submit Date: May 17, 2009

Outfitter Review: Bostick Planation - South Carolina

Outfitter / Owner: Joe Bostick

Hunter: Randy Merrill

Animals Hunted: Wild Hogs

If you are looking for a fair chase wild hog hunt this is the place to go. This hunt is not in a fenced enclosure. The hogs are truely wild. The guides are excellent! The knowledge they know about the hog movements and behaviors are amazing. The guide I hunted with Jeremy Lamarne knows his stuff! He goes the extra mile to help you enjoy your experience. During a three day hunt over 100 hogs were seen on stand by 15 different hunters. I am looking forward to my hunt next year on the plantation with Jeremy.

Submit Date: May 11, 2009

Outfitter Review: Cherokee Run - South Carolina

Outfitter / Owner: Tom Naumann

Hunter: Darrell Case

Animals Hunted: Hog

Seven guys hunted this place without a single sighting of a hog and only a couple of tracks. The so called guide would let you out at a specified spot and pick you up later without asking even if you saw anything or even a comment of maybe why you didn't see anything. I really think we were scammed out of 390 dollars each. As soon as we arrived into camp the owner Tom want the remainder of the fee and left soon there after. Without any futher contact with us. So guys beware of this place,unless you want to just give your hard earned money away for nothing. Oh buy the way in order for one to harvest a hog you think there would be hog tracks?

Submit Date: Apr 24, 2009

Outfitter Review: Waccamaw Hunting Services - South Carolina

Outfitter / Owner: Rick Grubbs

Hunter: Roger Daniel

Animals Hunted: Turkey

Mr. Grubbs's knowledge of the animals and the land proved itself on my hunts.We were on turkey at every set-up. He really cares that his client have a great time and every possible chance to harvest trophy animals.Rick plays by the rules and practices safe techniques on all hunts. His love for the outdoors and for the animals he guides for led him to win the Outfitter of the Year a few years back from North American Hunter. I'm already booked for next turkey season!!

Submit Date: Apr 23, 2009

Outfitter Review: Bostick Plantation - SC

Outfitter / Owner: Joe Bostick

Hunter: Verlin Bowers

Animals Hunted: Deer?Hog

Do your homework. Check out ALL reviews. Answer these questions? Why would their website have basically no recent game photos??? Why are there so many negative comments about their operation on the web???? Of the positive reviews please call them, If they say there is even minimal game they are not telling the truth. If you do take the bait and go ----- make sure you fill out the reviews so that all are warned. It would be better to take a $1000. and throw it out the window going down the interstate ----- You will be much better satisfied!

Submit Date: Apr 14, 2009

Outfitter Review: Bostick Plantation - South carolina

Outfitter / Owner: John Bostick

Hunter: Danny Bright

Animals Hunted: Hogs

This was me and my sons first ever pig hunt we totaly enjoyed ourselves. I shot a 125 pound pig on the second afternoon hunt sad to say my son didn.t grt anything. But out of 5 hunters we got 3 pigs one of which was a big boar that weighed 325 pounds. Also our guide Jeremy Lamarre was excellent we couldn't get over how he made us feel right at home, he also put us on pigs. I could not believe all the deer, turkey, hogs that were on this place. We also saw alligators. and coyotes. I would recommend the Bostick Plantation and guide Jeremy the pig man Lamarre to any one who loves to hunt.

Submit Date: Mar 31, 2009

Outfitter Review: Cherokee Run - SC

Outfitter / Owner: Tom Naumann

Hunter: Doug Brogdon

Animals Hunted: Boar

I have gone to Cherokee Run five times in the last seven years. It is a great place to go if you are looking to get away and hunt in a typical low country setting. There is much wildlife to see and there is much sign to indicate that boar frequent the area. I have shot two in my five visits. One was real nice. I go with the same gang each time and we love it. The stands are good and the locations vary, so you are never in the same stand two days in a row. If you prefer to be in two stands each day, that works as well. Two things are for sure on a REAL hunt, you can't control the weather and you can't control the game showing up at the right time. This is true here. Boar roam and cover large tracks of land, as do the ones here. Tom is very honest and has his guests interests in high regards. He realizes that everybody wants to score a big boar. Some that do not, get angry. That is their problem, and not the hosts fault. That is unless it is a penned/guarantee hunt, and I have no interest in that. Give Tom a call and set it up, you will enjoy yourself.

Submit Date: Mar 27, 2009

Outfitter Review: Cherokee Run - SC

Outfitter / Owner: Tom Naumann

Hunter: Dan Klamfoth

Animals Hunted: Boar

Nice lodge for a group who wants to get away, cook out, and be delivered to stands that are baited, all of which exhibited significant game signs. Harvested an excellent hog and Scott, guide, took me to a local processor who cut and packaged the hog.

Submit Date: Mar 18, 2009

Outfitter Review: Bostick Planation - South Carolina

Outfitter / Owner: Mr. Bostick

Hunter: Rick Cooper

Animals Hunted: Boars

I had a great time, saw lots of deer,turkeys, but no boar worth shooting. Jeremey made it a good time. He works with you to make sure all your needs are met.

Submit Date: Mar 11, 2009

Outfitter Review: Cherokee Run - South Carolina

Outfitter / Owner: Tom Nauman

Hunter: Randy Cash

Animals Hunted: Wild Boar

9 hunters over 170 hrs. hunting over baited stands we saw 1 pig that was harvested that's it.My son and I slept in a converted closet off the bathroom to one of the main bedrooms the closet pole holders were still on the wall.We were told that the lodge could accomodate 10 hunters that was not quite true.We did not have enough utensils for everyone to eat with at meal time and the guide and his girl friend muched off our food supply the entire time we were there.The hunting property is way over hunted the pigs have gone nocturnal due to being over hunted and the bait was put out the same day we were to hunt the pigs not having enough time to find it.We were led to believe that there was over 2000 ac. of property to hunt we never saw over 400 ac the guide just kept putting us on the same stands over and over rotating hunters.Tom Nauman is a liar and shister in the true sense of the words. He knows damn well that your chances of even seeing a hog while hunting at Cherokee Run are slim to none. He did not even show his face at the lodge even after we were told that he would be arriving shortly after our arrival.It by far is the worst hunting experience I have ever participated in and the most dissappointing for my son who was on his first guided hunt of any kind. Tom Nauman promotes all these Christian Values and such but I have never known any true Christains that would bilk people out their money the way this man does. If you like to throw away money like a drunk sailor go ahead and book with him if not run the other way when you see him or his web site ,or at any of the hunting shows he participates in. The Great State of South Carolina should be ashamed to let a low life such as Tom Nauman operate in their state.He robbing a lot more from people than any criminal with a gun and getting away with it. He should be shut down and now! Want the full low down call me I'll be glad to fill you in.

Submit Date: Mar 8, 2009

Outfitter Review: Cherokee Run Hunting Lodge - South Carolina

Outfitter / Owner: Tom Nauman

Hunter: Randy Cash

Animals Hunted: Wild Boar

Our group was led to believe that there was 2000 ac. of land to hunt. Hunted every day morning and afternoon for three days 9 people and could not have seen more that 600 ac. Blinds were baited and very sparsley at that. Transportation vehicles are in poor working order with some doors etc. not even operable. WAs not a pleasant experience especially for my sons first hog hunting trip. Will never recommend this operation to anyone!

Submit Date: Jan 22, 2009

Outfitter Review: Cherokee Run - South Carolina

Outfitter / Owner: Tom Naumann

Hunter: Mike Lewallen

Animals Hunted: Wild Boar

There were 6 hunters in camp and one 120lb pig was seen and killed. The guy that killed this pig went to the wrong stand and as it just so happens this stand was baited with corn and sweet feed. The only stand on the farm baited this way. The land is extremely over hunted. No one else saw anything let alone a boar. These guys have a nice scam going and are taking people for a lot of Money. Call me and I will tell you more 336-442-2198

Submit Date: Dec 10, 2008

Outfitter Review: Riverland Guide Service - SC

Outfitter / Owner: Hunter Smith

Hunter: Mark Frye

Animals Hunted: Deer, hogs

Hunter worked his butt off to put me on game all day long from sun up to sun down. I've never seen so many buck rubs in my life. We finally caught up to some hogs in the late afternoon and I bagged my first ever wild hog. If you want to still/slip hunt on the ground in the SC low country, this is your guide! I was engaged with the wild all day long rather than sitting on my duff in a stand watching a cornpile! If you like real hunting and don't need a mint on your pillow, this is the service for you! It was as educational as it was fun. I'll be hunting with Mr. Smith again, trust me. I loved the western style outfitting.

Submit Date: Oct 25, 2008

Outfitter Review: Cherokee Run - South Carolina

Outfitter / Owner: Tom Naumann

Hunter: Chris Goins

Animals Hunted: deer and hogs

Eight hunters never saw a single deer or hog the entire trip. Was shown decent deer off trail cams but none of us were allowed to hunt that stand. I understand there are never guarantees when hunting but when we(8 hunters) pay over $5000 for a hunting trip and license we expect to at least see see one deer or pig. PLEASE DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY!!

Submit Date: Oct 18, 2008

Outfitter Review: Bostick Plantation - SC

Outfitter / Owner: Joe Bostick

Hunter: Josh Brown

Animals Hunted: deer and hogs

we had 12 people and killed 4 boar 2 buck 1 doe and a bobcat we had bad weather it rained almost nonstop everyday but everyone had a great time and said they would like to go back again the guides are excellent and really try their best to make your hunt successful and enjoyable

Submit Date: Jul 13, 2008

Outfitter Review: Bostick Plantation - SC

Outfitter / Owner: Joe Bostick

Hunter: Tony Mashburn

Animals Hunted: Deer / Hog

Wen't over to Bostick from Tenn for a trophy deer and Hog hunt in Sept 07. Over thirty folks in camp. Nothing killed or even seen. If you are interested in hunting in Estill check out Buck Run Plantation.Call anytime, I will tell you all of what happened to my buddy. Fell from treestand, well treestand fell from him. Bad deal.PS: Folks from Bostick are putting the good reviews on here. Try calling the numbers.

Submit Date: Jul 13, 2008

Outfitter Review: Bostick Plantation - SC

Outfitter / Owner: Joe Bostick

Hunter: John Wolf

Animals Hunted: Deer / Hog

Went over to Bostick in 2007 and had a terrible time. Jimmy Haskins is a liar. Joe Bostick was drinking most of the time. Guides would tell the truth about it being overhunted in private, but what can they do it is their jobs. Not much work in Estill, SC. We saw nothing in four days, NOTHING!!!Be real. If this were a good place to hunt would they not have updated pictures in their gallery?? Think about it.Call me and I will gladly tell you everything.

Submit Date: Jun 23, 2008

Outfitter Review: Cherokee Run - South Carolina

Outfitter / Owner: Tom Naumann

Hunter: Henry Bernatonis

Animals Hunted: Boar

Stay AWAY! Naumann takes your money knowing full well that there are virtually NO animals on the land he leases from a timber company. He claims that his operation is "founded on Christian values", but he doesn't practice them. The guide wasn't too bad, but the hunt itself is a WASTE OF MONEY, of 4 hunters spending 3 days in the woods we got ONE 44-pound piglet despite the fact that Naumann told us he had "the biggest boar population in South Carolina". The whole thing was TOTALLY MISREPRESENTED by the outfitter. Didn't know it at the time, but he's had bad reviews from the very beginning. BOOK ELSEWHERE! This guy is a total FRAUD, doesn't belong in the business. Don't waste your money.

Submit Date: Jun 21, 2008

Outfitter Review: Island Plantation - South Carolina

Outfitter / Owner: Joe Bostick

Hunter: Donald L Perkins II

Animals Hunted: Feral Hog

The mgr mike was a wonderful host and my guide Jeremy was very knowledgable and gave 110% for my success in my first wild hog hunt. I've already booked my return hunt with Jeremy. Thanks to all Don Perkins

Submit Date: Jun 20, 2008

Outfitter Review: Cherokee Run - South Carolina

Outfitter / Owner: Tom Naumann

Hunter: Henry Bernatonis

Animals Hunted: Boar

Waste of money! STAY AWAY! Outfitter TOTALLY misrepresented the situation, told us he had the largest boar population in SC. FOUR hunters spent THREE days in the woods, we got ONE 44-pound boar. Lodge adequate for 6 men, no more- outfitter claims it will manage 18. Ridiculous. Outfitter claims operation is "founded on Christian values", but he doesn't practice them, takes one's money with the full knowledge that the land is virtually empty of game. Don't make the mistake that so many others have, no one who hunts naumann's place ever goes back to it. BOOK ELSEWHERE! This guy is a total FRAUD! BELIEVE it!

Submit Date: Jun 17, 2008

Outfitter Review: Cherokee Run - South Carolina

Outfitter / Owner: Tom Naumann

Hunter: Henry Bernatonis

Animals Hunted: boar

Hunt was 2-4 June 2008. The guide was a young fellow who did what he could with the situation, but the scenario was totally misrepresented by the outfitter. The lodge couldn't accommodate more than 6 men comfortably. On the first day no one saw any game, and very little was sighted thereafter. We were led to believe that there were many large boar there, but of 4 hunters hunting 3 days, only one of us got a boar, 44 pounds. The guide admitted to us that we would have done well to harvest 2 animals between the 4 of us, throughout the entirety of the hunt. Naumann talks a good act, but is absolutely dishonest about his operation. He leases the land from a timbering company, there is virtually no game on the place. Would never recommend this outfitter to anyone, he's very unprofessional. You'll notice that he advertises a great deal, but the reality is that no one who hunts his place is likely to hunt it again. With Naumann, it's a matter of taking one's money and letting him look at the woods. BOOK ELSEWHERE!

Submit Date: Jun 7, 2008

Outfitter Review: Bostick Plantation - South Carolina

Outfitter / Owner: Joe Bostick

Hunter: Susan

Animals Hunted: Turkey

I traveled to Bostick Plantation for my first time turkey hunt.... What a fantastic time to be had. First day out with our guide went to a couple different spots . The guide was concerned about wearing me out being it was my first time and low and behold we located a turkey he sounded like a Big Tom.... We set up he came in and I shot him. First time out first kill. He ended up being 12.4 and had a beard of 6". Not bad for a first timer. Saturday we headed out again and it was my fiances turn to shoot. Guide, Located a Turkey by 6:15am shot him and back to the lodge around 7:45am this turkey was 19.1 with a 9" beard & 1 1/2" spurs. I would say all and all plenty of game to be had at Bostick Plantation. Not only were there Turkey to be had but hogs of plenty and deer running all over other hunters that were turkey hunting. Joe Bostick was nothing but a gentlemen and the staff was fantastic.(Food was excellent) Thanks Brian for the experience of a life. We will be back.

Submit Date: Apr 8, 2008

Outfitter Review: Bostick Plantation - SC

Outfitter / Owner: Joe Bostick

Hunter: Paul Jackson

Animals Hunted: Turkey / Boar

Great hunt, plenty of game spotted, if it was deer hunting would have got one every day. Turkey were plentiful. Was my first hunt on turkey and what a thrill it was, can't wait for the next time. Got my first wild hog on this hunt about 7:45 in the evening. Saw alot of pigs. Great food and accomadations.

Submit Date: Mar 22, 2008

Outfitter Review: Cherokee Run - South Carolina

Outfitter / Owner: Tom Naumann

Hunter: matt

Animals Hunted: Hogs

Ok First off Tom is an awesome guy I enjoyed shootin the bull with him an the other hunters, but the hunting was awful. We arrived on thursday an werent hunting until friday. He baited the stands the day we arrived not nearly enough time for the hogs to find the corn. Did the same thing friday for the stands we would be hunting saturday. He calls a week old sign good that the hogs are there which they were a week ago but baiting the day before a hunt is not nearly enough time for the hogs to get bk on the site. there were 6 hunters and we spent 120hrs total in the stand an no one even saw a hog. Great place to go hang out but not to hunt. Tom doesn't run the lodge full time like he should and plus on our way to the stand one morning he stopped an got gas very unprofessional especially since where hunting all but 3 hours of the day. I would not recommend this outfitter

Submit Date: Feb 19, 2008

Outfitter Review: Cherokee Run Hunting Lodge - SC

Outfitter / Owner: Tom Naumann

Hunter: Leroy

Animals Hunted: Boar

With 7 hunters in camp - each spending a total 2 days in "somewhat baited" stands - NO ANIMALS SEEN

Submit Date: Feb 15, 2008

Outfitter Review: Bostick Plantation - South Carolina

Outfitter / Owner: Joe Bostick

Hunter: Howard Vogelien

Animals Hunted: Hog Hunt only

I believe they misrepresent their hunting area.9 guys stand hunting: 3 kills 1 miss (only hogs seen). (75-150 lbs)3 guys paid the extra and hunted with dogs.3 kills 1 boar and 2 sows (150-250 lbs).Totaly different area. I thign if you pay the big bucks and stay in the executive lodge you will have a better chance of getting a large hog.Jeremy (our guide) was great, he did eveything he could to get us hogs.

Submit Date: Feb 14, 2008

Outfitter Review: Buck Hill - SC

Outfitter / Owner: Tony Papas

Hunter: ernie eichhornd

Animals Hunted: deer

it was 100 deg's outside when is was there in aug of 07, hunting wasn't that good because of that.I could tell they did their homework, food plots looked great and very green, tons of tracks in them and near the feeders.Lodge was excellent,food was even better,land look like excellent deer country,stands were nice and placed in excellent spots.I'am a outfitter ,but his 2 guides would never work for me, they were very lazy,had no clue about deer or deer hunting, i heard that Tony fired them, i hope so. Tony keep up the good work ,i dont have to kill game to be happy, i left happy, and will be back

Submit Date: Jan 20, 2008

Outfitter Review: Cherokee Run Hunting Lodge - South Carolina

Outfitter / Owner: Tom Naumann

Hunter: Ron

Animals Hunted: Boar

Cherokee Run Hunting Lodge is a hunting camp with adequate facilities for a small group that’s just looking for a weekend get away and has little or no expectation on actually harvesting an animal. Their hunting area is over hunted with little or no game. However, the guide will go out of his way to make you stay as comfortable as possible.

Submit Date: Dec 20, 2007

Outfitter Review: Bostick Plantation - South Carolina

Outfitter / Owner: Joe Bostick

Hunter: Daniel Russ

Animals Hunted: deer,boar,turkey,quail

I have been down to Bostick Plantation numerous times over the last 10 years. Usually go 6 times a year to deer,hog and turkey hunt. Have had a marvelous time each trip and am looking forward to my next trip this spring to turkey hunt. This place is a class act with everything from the check-in to the handling and packing of the game. No, I did not see or harvest something everytime I went but I did the majority of my trips. But thats hunting though! Joe Bostick was a wonderful host each time and the guides were very personable. Would probably go just for the food and the peacefullness this place has. Would recommend!!!

Submit Date: Dec 19, 2007

Outfitter Review: Bostick Plantation - SC

Outfitter / Owner: Joe Bostick

Hunter: jim zamberlan

Animals Hunted: deen/hogs

This has been our 15th year at Bostick. My son took a nice 8 point while I shot two hogs. We are definitely booking for the spring turkey season. last year i took a nice tom on the first day of our hunt....missed a second the next day.... ^%&#^%&^%tl!!! The executive lodge is like a second home to us. Joe bostick and his long tiome manager, jimmy Haskins do an outstanding job! We'll be back. thanks Joe.

Submit Date: Dec 16, 2007

Outfitter Review: Bostick Plantation - SC

Outfitter / Owner: Joe Bostick

Hunter: Jerry Abbott

Animals Hunted: Deer / Hog

Myself and a group of guys went on a trophy deer and hog hunt in Sept '07. There were over 30 hunters in camp. There were no bucks taken and one hog in four days. The guides tried to get you on game but there is very little game there. Think about it over 30 hunters twice a week for many years ..... not much left.

Submit Date: Dec 16, 2007

Outfitter Review: Bostick Plantation - SC

Outfitter / Owner: Joe Bostick

Hunter: John Acuff

Animals Hunted: Deer / Hog

I went to Bostick in Sept '07 with some guys I work with to have a good time. Did not happen. This place is nothing like their web site. There is no game left. Hogs are completely nocternal. One of the other guys in camp had a tree stand break under him and got hurt bad. Guess he is set for life. Joe Bostick is a liar. His main guide, Jimmy Haskin is Joe's puppet. He has to lie in order to get paid. This place is a joke. There were NO food plots, just a few feeders. Guest house, shooting range, vehicals are all falling apart. Guides try but have absolutely nothing to work with.

Submit Date: Dec 11, 2007

Outfitter Review: Bostick Plantation - SC

Outfitter / Owner: Joe Bostick

Hunter: Mike

Animals Hunted: Boar

I went on a 3 day hog hunt with three others and came back with nothing. The camp had 12 hunters and a total of one hog and one doe killed. Each night I talked with other hunters and the story was the same, no game was seen. The feeders did not work the whole time we were there. The guide had no idea where the game was so he just rotated us to different stands with the same result. This experience was so bad that 6 campers ( half of the people ) elected not to go on the sunday morning hunt. In conclusion, IF you want to go on a paid hunt look elsewhere. P.SNever did see the owner.

Submit Date: Oct 16, 2007

Outfitter Review: BlackWater Hunting Services - South Carolina

Outfitter / Owner: Terry Heirs

Hunter: John P. Hershey-Consultant

Animals Hunted: WhiteTail Deer

Terry Heirs and his workers do everything possible to make your hunt the best possible. Their stands are exceptional. Lodge and food is Top Notch.I will go there in the future and take family and friends. No one will be disappointed!

Submit Date: Oct 10, 2007

Outfitter Review: Bostick Plantation - SC

Outfitter / Owner: Joe Bostick

Hunter: Tom Filo

Animals Hunted: Whitetail, & Hogs

The plantation may have been a great place to hunt years ago, but it"s played out. The lackof good food plots and game management has leftit in poor condition. The game is small and notthat developed for the amount of property avail-able. They need to put more time & money backinto the plantation in order to revive the herd.I was there for a 3 day hunt sept. 16, 2007

Submit Date: Oct 2, 2007

Outfitter Review: Bostick Plantation - South Carolina

Outfitter / Owner: Joe Bostick

Hunter: Bill Mullineaux

Animals Hunted: Deer and Boar

Friend and I went on three day combo hunt(deer and boar). Between us , we saw 9 deer,(7 doe and 2 forkhorns), and NO hogs.One dynamite place to see Armadillos though.Owner didn't seem to care that no one was seeing anthing.Place was hunted out, and nothing like brochures or video described it to be.I would not recommend going to this plantation, unless you have the time and money to waste.

Submit Date: Oct 1, 2007

Outfitter Review: Bostick Plantation - SC

Outfitter / Owner: Joe Bostick

Hunter: Pete Larsen

Animals Hunted: Wild Boar

Bostick Plantation is so over hunted that its impossible to have enough game for all the people they book. This place is a cash cow for the owner who we never saw. 10 hunters in camp 1 pig killed in 3 days. No one was happy or ever going back. I see other reports saying that they had good hunts there and you can bet they are written by the owner.

Submit Date: Sep 7, 2007

Outfitter Review: Bostick Plantation - SC

Outfitter / Owner: Joe Bostick

Hunter: Greg Henderson

Animals Hunted: Deer Hogs

The guides worked hard to put us on deer and hogs. They were very knowlegable about the hunting territory.

Submit Date: Aug 27, 2007

Outfitter Review: Bostick Plantation - SC

Outfitter / Owner: Joe Bostick

Hunter: Frankie Stanley

Animals Hunted: Deer, boar

My son and I have gone to Bostick Plantation numerous times and we've been extremely pleased with our experience. Joe welcomed us into his home and treated us like family. A very beautiful place to hunt. A lot of hard work goes into preparing the stands beforehand and we were extremely pleased with the animals we harvested. My son killed his first ever wild boar there and I killed a 502 lb wild boar. I also got a monster 9 point buck during one trip. My son also has killed a couple of nice bucks as well on different trips. The meals that were served were outstanding. After hunting, my son enjoyed swimming in the beautiful pool while the adults sat around with Joe and shared hunting tales. A great time was had by all. We definitly plan on going back to Bostick in the years to come. A great place to go for a great time hunting!

Submit Date: Aug 25, 2007

Outfitter Review: Bostick Plantation - SC

Outfitter / Owner: Joe Bostick

Hunter: Lance Lannigan

Animals Hunted: Deer/Boar

About 5 years ago I hunted Bostick and was a little dissapointed with the quality of the stands and the way the manager was running things. This year I thought I would give them a second chance, so I booked for August 17-19, 2007 in the Executive lodge and brought my 12 year old son. I must say that I was very impressed in the many changes that have been made since they have a new manager. The stands were vey nice, limbs had been cut for better visibility and all were sitting over new feeders. I took a nice 8 point in velvet with my bow and my son went home with his first hog- 273 pounds. Yes it was hot, but the guides put us in stands with plenty of shade. I have already booked for another hunt in October with Bostick. Bostick's new manager has really turned it around, Good job!

Submit Date: Aug 25, 2007

Outfitter Review: Bostick Plantation - SC

Outfitter / Owner: Joe Bostick

Hunter: Lance Lannigan

Animals Hunted: Deer/Boar

About 5 years ago I hunted Bostick and was a little dissapointed with the quality of the stands and the way the manager was running things. This year I thought I would give them a second chance, so I booked for August 17-19, 2007 in the Executive lodge and brought my 12 year old son. I must say that I was very impressed in the many changes that have been made since they have a new manager. The stands were vey nice, limbs had been cut for better visibility and all were sitting over new feeders. I took a nice 8 point in velvet with my bow and my son went home with his first hog- 273 pounds. Yes it was hot, but the guides put us in stands with plenty of shade. I have already booked for another hunt in October with Bostick. Bostick's new manager has really turned it around, Good job!

Submit Date: Aug 19, 2007

Outfitter Review: Bostick Plantation - SC

Outfitter / Owner: Joe Bostick

Hunter: George Ackley

Animals Hunted: Deer & Hog

We hunted there this August 15 to the 18- 07hunted 3 different stands never seen a deer or hog .Being a long time hunter and though talks with old guides (on the Internet) that used to work there I new I wonted to hunt the back swamps, but on first meeting with Mike one of the current guided there at this time I was told that I don't get to tell them were I like to hunt that they would place me on stand.Many thing I found disturbing there. 1 being the lack of game 2 being the lack of skilled guidesThere are hog to hunt in 2 pens they have there one being 5 Acers and one much smaller. they will ask you if you like to shoot one in there for a extra price. they do have a dog hunt also but the hog's is realest from the pen that sets back in the woods and the dogs are put right on it.I have seen both pens. Also there are many hog traps laying throughout the property. this all look to me as the reason for the lack of seeing any hogs.stands were all in good shape but no game was seen.sorry to say but i feel i was not given the opportunity to hunt and opportunity to hunt was all I was looking forthe harvest has and always will be the last thing i am looking for so with that i feel i was miss lead and taken advantage of .. and they do it over and over every 3 days. i hunted with 2 friend and there were 8 bow hunters and 12 gun hunters and the only game i seen taken all 3 days were the hogs from the pen.feel free to contact me for more info

Submit Date: Jul 7, 2007

Outfitter Review: Bostick Plantation - SC

Outfitter / Owner: Joe Bostick

Hunter: Chris Shipes

Animals Hunted: Deer and Boar

Bostick Plantation is most definetly one of the most professionally run hunting businesses that I have ever been to, and I hunt all over the country. I harvested a nice 8 point with an 18" spread. I knew to hunt the swamp for a mature and wiser buck. I also pruchased a hog hunt with dogs--- ABSOLUTELY INCREDIBLE. The dogs located a Russian boar that I took with my knife. I stayed in the executive lodge and was very satisfied with the service and hospitality. The food was awesome. I plan to take my son this coming deer season.

Submit Date: Mar 13, 2007

Outfitter Review: Bostick Plantation - SC

Outfitter / Owner: Joe Bostick

Hunter: Gary McHenry

Animals Hunted: Hogs

It is a fair chase hunt. I felt the amount of animals sighted and harvested would have been a little higher. Group of 6 harvested 4 hogs all with rifles. 3 members of group never saw a hog in 2.5 days of hunting. 3 members of group bowhunted with 2 never sighting a hog in the bowhunting only area. The entire plantation appears to be highly pressured it appeared that most of the activity was of a night. The plantation has great habitat and potential. It just seemed not to be that many hogs.

Next Page >       Last Page >>

web application and database development by davidcdalton.com