Oklahoma Hunting Outfitter and Guide Reviews

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Apr 30, 2017

Outfitter Review: Rio Rojo Outfitters - OK

Outfitter / Owner: Tanner Holder

Hunter: Dave Wesley

Animals Hunted: Turkey - Rio Grande

An outstanding hunt. Tanner did a great job setting up and calling in birds. No wasted time and lots of birds seen. Accommodations and Tara's food prep was terrific. Very friendly and hospitable people.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Jun 20, 2013

Outfitter Review: Rio Rojo Outfitters - OK

Outfitter / Owner: Tanner Holder

Hunter: Kevin Williams

Animals Hunted: not specified

There was six of us that booked a hog hunting trip with this outfitter in February. The lodge was great food was amazing but as a outfitter this guy needs to learn what he needs to do. Didn't have any idea where the hogs were bedding or feeding. Told us he had all of these trail cams but I don't think he uses them for hogs. Put us on feeders that didn't have any tracks but cattle. Six guys in three days and no one saw a hog!! I'll never go back!! The last day we were to hunt till noon but we left felt it would be a waste of time. If this guy wants to advertise hog hunting then he should put more effort into it!!

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Dec 8, 2010

Outfitter Review: Rio Rojo Outfitters - OK

Outfitter / Owner: Tanner Holder

Hunter: Tom Fischetti

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

Had a very good hunt with Tanner. Shot a very nice 23in wide 8pt, & my freind shot a real high mature 9pt. We both also shot doe. Saw lots of deer, & also saw other shooter bucks. accomidations were great,nice lodge, & 4 bunk cabins. Tanner & his wife Tara, brother Tyler, & father Rick are all great people & provided a great hunt!Food was great to.I have hunted lots around noth america & highly recomend Rio rojo outfitters!

Submit Date: Apr 9, 2009

Outfitter Review: Rio Rojo Outfitters - Oklahoma

Outfitter / Owner: Tanner Holder

Hunter: Bob McKinney

Animals Hunted: Whitetail deer

Tanner runs a first class operation. I would recommend this outfitter for turkey and whitetail deer hunting. I hunted with Rio Rojo Outfitters in 2006 and 2007. I harvested trophy bucks on both trips. I have also hunted with outfitters in Missouri and Illinois. Rio Rojo Outfitters is the only one I would return to.

Submit Date: Nov 26, 2008

Outfitter Review: O-Kan Outfitters - Oklahoma

Outfitter / Owner: Ken Perry

Hunter: Marc Batway

Animals Hunted: Whitetail

Ken and his partner Cory are nice guys and seem to be genuine in their desire to have you succeed. They have two basic properties, a smaller one on the Cimarron River with an old farm/ranch house with many bunks for quarters and a large chunk of leased property about an hour's drive to the north with a leased two bedroom apartment for quarters. You have to drive ten to thirty minutes to and from the hunt areas and the quarters. Food is coffee and store bought rolls, (twinkies, ho-ho's, cinnimon twirls, etc.), for breakfast, make your own sandwiches and chips for lunch, and, if you're lucky and get out of the field early enough, pizza in a pub for dinner otherwise convienience store sandwiches and stuff, (junk), if you're too late for the pizza pub or cafe. I went on a muzzleloader hunt 30 Oct to 2 Nov, didn't see an antler. There were three muzzleloader hunters and two bow hunters, one muzzleloader guy got a 130 class eleven point and one bow hunter stuck what he says was a good six point that we didn't recover, (found arrow no deer), and that was all we harvested. Weather was challenging as it was unseasonably warm. There are good deer here but I don't think I'll be back.

Submit Date: May 1, 2008

Outfitter Review: Rio Rojo Outfitters - Oklahoma

Outfitter / Owner: Tanner Holder

Hunter: Miles Goggans

Animals Hunted: Rio Grande turkey

So far I've been fortunate enough to hunt in a lot of places, in the US and beyond. I rank Rio Rojo Outfitters right there at the top with the best of them. Tom Kelly has written that turkey hunting is a thinking game. I wish Mr. Kelly could take a hunt at Rio Rojo because he'd instantly recognize there's a lot of thought that has gone into the overall place, including the hunts. It would be difficult for me to over-state the quality of the entire experience. They manage the hunts and habitat with an eye on quality and long term and I suspect the success ratio for hunters is very high. The owners are generous, gracious, interesting and a pleasure to be around. They're the type of folks you'd want as friends. This isn't a side venture for them - they live on the property and it's a full time commitment. Basically, their vocation is the fulfillment of a dream they've long held, so one could say they're living their dream - and it shows.

Submit Date: Apr 16, 2008

Outfitter Review: Rio Rojo Outfitters - Ok

Outfitter / Owner: Tanner Holder

Hunter: JIm Rapp

Animals Hunted: Rio Turkey

Very dedicated hard working people, never give up attitude. 100% effort the whole hunt. Always new what to do when game changed their habbits, I have hunted Turkeys in 5 states this hunt had me complete my quest for the grand slam. Very satisfied with everything . I have also hunted many big game species if I was to go on a white hunt for a big buck this would be on the top of my list of places to go.

Submit Date: Nov 9, 2007

Outfitter Review: Bigcedar Hunts - OK

Outfitter / Owner: guide A.J

Hunter: Brian Henry

Animals Hunted: whitetails

The hunt started out bad the first day we arrived when there was no hotel rooms within 70 miles of where we hunting the first night.Gotup at 4am to get where we were going.Got to the general area where going to hunt at 6:30am, no guide (A.J.) until 8am.First morning,didnt see crap of course.Told area hasnt been hunted for 3-4 days.Total of 7 guys on 1000 acres (less than 10 wooded)Seen few does 1 real small buck.Got done 1st night,it was after 9:30pm before a.j. got back to us that there were no hotel rooms within 70 miles again! Drove back to Edin,got to sleep at 12:30,up at 4:30 drove back to Alva to hunt.Seen a nice 7pt gotten the night before by a bigcedar hunter(no gutted)at 6:30am,seen the buck on a.j.s suv at 2pm 80degrees weather,has been driving around on the back.We asked if we could move a guy who hasnt see a deer yet,ended up on a 2000 horse cattle ranch (no woods)where to 7 of us seen atotal of 3 doe,200 some horses,100 beef in 1.5 days.

Submit Date: Apr 16, 2007

Outfitter Review: Southbound Outfitters - Oklahoma

Outfitter / Owner: Trent Pierce

Hunter: John Conzone

Animals Hunted: Turkey

Was reccommended by a "friend". Turned out all the "guides" were guys who had hunted the week before and were now earning their hunt. All we hunted was the same two propeties and only 3 hours in the am and 3 hours in the PM.1 4 wheel vehicle for 6 clients and 3 then 2 then 1 guide. had to use one of clients trucks to transport us.Come last day of hunt Trent had to leave at 12 but made sure he collected his money before he left. Then you were own your own. Don't waste your time or your hard earned money. Gates Outfitters and his co outfitter whose name escapes me are some OK Rio guides that really want your business. I am sure their are other but Southbound is not one.

Submit Date: Jan 22, 2007

Outfitter Review: Black Mountain Hunts - Oklahoma

Outfitter / Owner: Will Bellis

Hunter: Mason

Animals Hunted: Hog

I booked a hunt after reading the other review on this outfitter and looking at the website. Will knows his stuff and has some great pigs. I harvested a 450lb sow and saw two more that were just as big in a group of about 60 pigs. Overall I saw probably 300 pigs in the half day I was there. He provided lunch for the guys in camp and I stayed at a relatives house only minutes away. I am very pleased with this and am booking a return trip and have already recomended him to about 30 people. He also has exotics and the rams I saw were plentiful and had good horns. This is a top notch operation and for the price you could end up shooting the biggest pig of your life I know I did.

Submit Date: Oct 17, 2006

Outfitter Review: No Mercy Hunting - Oklahoma

Outfitter / Owner: Ryan Stevens

Hunter: Roseann Mayer

Animals Hunted: wild hog

As a full-service Guide/Outfitter ourselves, we have enjoyed taking OUR clients the short way from our hunting facilities in the Texas Panhandle to www.nomercyhunting.com near Anadarko, OK to hunt with Ryan Stevens and his guides. This is a first class HOG operation (and they hunt numerous other species of game) with quality game, lots of it, superior equipment and great setups. The guide(s) we've had have been experienced, courteous and have gone above and beyond our expectations.

Submit Date: Aug 24, 2006

Outfitter Review: Black Mountain Exotics - Oklahoma

Outfitter / Owner: Jim Martin

Hunter: Mike Hughes

Animals Hunted: Hogs

My two sons and I hunted at Black Mountain. My sons harvested nice hogs (100# boar & 250# sow). I was not successful, but that did not diminish the hunt. We hunted in June and the vegetation was just too thick. I saw several hogs but was unable to get a shot because of the vegetation. I would recommend a hunt in late fall to early spring when vegetation is less. We did not use the tent he had available at that time, but he did set us up with a motel in town (about 15 miles) for a discounted price. Did provide refreshments (soda, water, sports drinks)and lunch.

Submit Date: Aug 9, 2006

Outfitter Review: Big Cedar Hunts - OK

Outfitter / Owner: Jim Bishop

Hunter: Seth Arney

Animals Hunted: Whitetail

Myself and three others have hunted with Big Cedar each year since 2003. In 2003 four of us only killed one buck but it was a beautiful 140"10pt. In 2004 four of us killed 3 bucks, two nice 8pts and a great 11pt. grossing mid to high 140's. Last year 4 of us killed one nice 130ish 10pt and a monster grossing almost 160" and we are booked for a muzzelloader hunt this fall. This is a great hunt if you are ready to spend all your time in the stand and even then there are no guarantees but they do have some gigantic deer in that part of the country. The only down side is that all the hunts are only three days which limits your chance for success but the price is great for the type of trophies that are possible with Big Cedar. We have killed some really nice bucks and have blown one close call on a giant Boone and Crocket type deer in the last three years. You wont see alot of shooter bucks in the three day hunt but the one you do see could be a big one.

Submit Date: May 5, 2006

Outfitter Review: Shiloh Ranch - Oklahoma

Outfitter / Owner: Matt & Cheryl Napper

Hunter: Shawn Myers

Animals Hunted: Hogs

I had one of the best hunting experiences I have ever had. Matt and Cheryl go to great lengths to make everyone happy. There are too many hogs to count. Not everyone got a hog bet we all had a great time. I have already booked my hunt for next year. If you want to hunt hogs this is the place

Submit Date: May 4, 2006

Outfitter Review: Shiloh Ranch - OK

Outfitter / Owner: Matt/Sheryl Napper

Hunter: Pablo Guardiola

Animals Hunted: Hogs

This may not be a four star hunting resort but if your looking to harvest a nice trophy hog, this is the place to go. I have been to several places to hunt hogs and this hunt was by far the best. Matt and Sheryl are very nice people and it was a pleasure meeting them. I saw over 100 hogs and I kid you not. If you come to this place and you don't shoot a hog, you either didn't go in the woods or you can't hit the broad side of a barn. I highly recommend Shiloh Ranch to everyone. I just got back this week and am already planning another trip back with my buddies. There were seven guys in our group and seven hogs were shot.

Submit Date: Apr 5, 2006

Outfitter Review: Shiloh Ranch Hunting Camp - Oklahoma

Outfitter / Owner: Matt /Cheryl Napper

Hunter: Jerry Long

Animals Hunted: Hog / Exotic

A lot of thought went into setting the place up. Matt and Cheryl are excellent hosts. A quality operation.

Submit Date: Jan 9, 2006

Outfitter Review: Mt. Hide Outfitters - OK

Outfitter / Owner: Steve Purviance

Hunter: Phil Palmer

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

I contacted Steve (Mthide Outfitters) via e-mail about 10 to 12 months prior to the hunting season. He encoraged me to try drawing a tag and if I was unsuccessful,I could buy a Muzzleloader tag. He was more than accommodating in answering phone calls and returning e-mails. The hunt was everything it was promoted to be and more. I was more than satisfied with the Buck I took (14 points) and the outfitter went out of his way to help prepare everything to fly home with. He even called to make sure we made it home without any problems.

Submit Date: Jan 9, 2006

Outfitter Review: Mt. Hide Outfitters - Oklahoma

Outfitter / Owner: Steve Purviance

Hunter: Gene R. Woodcock

Animals Hunted: White Tail Deer

Steve & Cody at MT.Hide Outfitters made the hunta wonderfully rewarding experiance!!!The muzzle loader season was a new experience,what a rush. One shot only make it count.

Submit Date: Jul 14, 2005

Outfitter Review: Shiloh Ranch - Oklahoma

Outfitter / Owner: Matt/Cheryl Napper

Hunter: Kevin Massaro

Animals Hunted: Wild hogs, exotics

A first class hog hunt. Lots of pigs, comfortable cabin to stay in, and she can fix a nice meal. Unguided, but they've got feeders out, and plenty of pigs. They're nice folks, with a first class, inexpensive hog hunt.

Submit Date: Apr 6, 2005

Outfitter Review: Shiloh Ranch - Oklahoma

Outfitter / Owner: Matt/Cheryl Napper

Hunter: Brian Brinkman

Animals Hunted: Hogs and exotics

My wife and I are spoiled now. Matt and Cheryl go out of their way to show you a good hunt.We saw literally hundreds of hogs.There were only 2 other hunters and between the 4 of us 5 hogs and one ram were taken.Mine was the smallest at 90 pounds.Another hunter took a 275 pound boar with huge tusks.The cabins are comfy and clean.If you can't get a hog here you shoot worse then me!Going back in May 05, can't wait.

Submit Date: Feb 1, 2005

Outfitter Review: Mt. Hide Outfitters - OK

Outfitter / Owner: Steve Purviance

Hunter: Justin Reich

Animals Hunted: Whitetail

I have hunted with Steve for 2 years now and it just keeps getting better. The guides know the land they hunt very well and will always put you in a position to see deer. They are good people and want to make sure you have the best hunt possible. I have killed the two biggest deer of my life over the last 2 hunts and the opportunity for a true MONSTER is certainly there. I saw some bucks with great potential over the next couple years. Give them a call, you won't be disappointed.

Submit Date: Dec 28, 2004

Outfitter Review: Big Cedar Hunt Club - Oklahoma

Outfitter / Owner: Jim Bishop

Hunter: richard reynolds

Animals Hunted: Whitetail

This hunt started out bad. The owner lied to my hunting partner and I by selling firearm hunts to other hunters; It was supposed to be bowhuntingonly. I wasted my time and money!

Submit Date: Nov 25, 2004

Outfitter Review: Mt. Hide Outfitters - Oklahoma

Outfitter / Owner: Steve Purviance

Hunter: Brian Winot

Animals Hunted: Whitetail

Just returned from my 4th hunt with Mt. Hide. This was the first year the weather absolutely did not cooperate and the rut was a little screwed up because of it. None of which was Steve's fault, however, you might of thought it was because all the guides worked double time to ensure everyone was seeing game!! Mt. Hide is the place to go if you are looking for a special hunt, great people, and quality whitetails.

Submit Date: Sep 28, 2004

Outfitter Review: Mt. Hide Outfitters - Oklahoma

Outfitter / Owner: Steve Purviance

Hunter: Brian Winot

Animals Hunted: Whitetail

Hunting with Steve is like hunting with your buddies for a week. I highly recommend this or any of the states Steve hunts. I have been 3 times now and am going again this year. If you want to see tons of bucks in the 130 - 140 class with a few over 150, this is the place for you.

Submit Date: Jun 22, 2004

Outfitter Review: Mt. Hide Outtfitters - OK

Outfitter / Owner: Steve Purviance

Hunter: Bill Kirk

Animals Hunted: Turkey

This was the best turkey hunt I was on this year (2004).

Submit Date: Jun 11, 2004

Outfitter Review: Mt. Hide Outfitters - Oklahoma

Outfitter / Owner: Steve Purviance

Hunter: Tom Lewis

Animals Hunted: Rio Grande Turkey

Absolutely top notch outfitter and guides. Experienced personnel who not only work hard for you, but all guides work together. Great for the beginner turkey hunter or veteran, everyone will learn from these guys. Highly recommend. Feel free to contact me to discuss or any questions you may have.

Submit Date: Dec 18, 2003

Outfitter Review: Mt. Hide Outfitters - Oklahoma

Outfitter / Owner: Steve Purviance

Hunter: Lee Vigil

Animals Hunted: Whitetail

This is an excellent hunt for trophy whitetail. The panhandle of Oklahoma is quickly becoming a trophy destination for these wiley critters. Steve has some of the best farms and ranches in the panhandle area near Mooreland, OK with plenty of deer in the 140 to 180 class. Steve doesn't stop there...he has some of the best ranches in Texas, Kansas and Nebraska for whitetails. I also saw so many turkey during my deer hunt it's amazing. Though I did wound a good deer and did not find him, I had an excellent time hunting. I could not recommend Mt. Hide Outfitters any higher and on a scale of 1 to 10....undoubtly it's a 10.

Submit Date: Dec 5, 2003

Outfitter Review: Mt. Hide Outfitters - OK

Outfitter / Owner: Steve Purviance

Hunter: Rick Oubre, Jr.

Animals Hunted: Trophy Whitetail Deer

Mt. Hide Outfitters has produced my finest Trophy Whitail Hunt. Personnal attention and High Quality Hunting Areas has produced the largest Whitetail I've ever harvested in all my years of hunting. Steve and his personnal know what it takes to make your hunt exciting and gives you every chance at taking a great Trophy. I've rebooked for 2004 Cain't wait till next November.Thanks Steve, Cody and Pops!

Submit Date: Aug 21, 2003

Outfitter Review: Shilo Bowhunting Ranch - Oklahoma

Outfitter / Owner: Matt/Cheryl Napper

Hunter: John C. Law

Animals Hunted: Hogs & Exotics

This a Bowhunting only high fence operation & everything is top notch. Hog hunting is unbeleivable & Excellent DAY TIME stand hunting over feeders. Exotics are also available & in good numbers & quality. I made a return trip to Shilo even after I did not take anything on my 1st trip-I had the chance & saw many animals.I took a Ram & a nice hog on my 2nd trip.Matt & Cheryl are excellent hosts & everything is top notch. I will be returning down the road for another Bowhunt.

Submit Date: Feb 14, 2003

Outfitter Review: South Bound Outfitters - Oklahoma

Outfitter / Owner: Trent Pierce

Hunter: Boris Rubio

Animals Hunted: Whitetails

I hunted with Trent this 2002 season. I did not harvest anything, but my son took a nice doe and could of taken a small basket rack buck but passed on it. We did see a shooter buck, but it was too far. My buddy passed on a nice 115 class 8 ptr looking for something bigger. He was great with my son and myself. The other two guys in camp should of been 100%, one Kid took a super 130+ class 8 ptr and the father missed on a bigger one on the last day. Trent hunted with the kid all the time and got him on a nice deer. Trent is a great guy that tries his hardest to get you on deer and have a good time. He has great hunting instincts in knowing were deer could be. He knows the land well. Yes, Trent has some modifications that he needs to do to take his hunting to another level and I am sure that he is working on that this year. Based on my experience, this is not a place that is loaded with deer. But it does have some quality bucks on the property. I guess it just depends on what you are looking for. If you want to see alot of deer, may not be the place, but if you are looking for a shot at a trophy buck with a modest price tag, this is a place that you can possibly find one.

Submit Date: Feb 8, 2003

Outfitter Review: Soutbound Outfitters - OK

Outfitter / Owner: Trent Pierce

Hunter: gary s

Animals Hunted: whitetail

not near enough land. we were told we would see bucks in the 130-140 class and if we could hold out we could possibly take a 170 type buck (yeah right). we saw three bucks in three days total between two of us, two babies and a 115 buck that i shot. although, trent shot at a big buck while we were there and his sons killed a couple does while hunting over feeders while we were there.

Submit Date: Dec 30, 2002

Outfitter Review: Southbound Outfitters - Oklahoma

Outfitter / Owner: Trent Pierce

Hunter: Todd Skaggs

Animals Hunted: Whitetail

Trent is a REALLY NICE guy and he tries to deliver a good hunt. But his hunts suffer from a lack of experience, stands and land. His website is marketed well, but it doesn't really reflect a true picture of the actual hunting. While he has 4000 acres to hunt, he had very few stands up. Even with only 3 hunters, there were not enough stands for you to hunt a "fresh" stand if the one you were assigned wasn't producing. What stands he had were either in poor condition,not located very well or not secure. Stand location was great for smaller bucks and does, but not for trophy bucks. Also, his 4000 acres is actually several smaller parcels of land. There is hunting pressure on surrounding properties which may explain the lack of trophy bucks spotted. We hunted 3 straight days(all day long) during the pre-rut and only one decent buck was spotted(approx.135-140 class). One guy took a 100 class buck on the last day because he didn't want to drive the 16 hr drive home empty-handed. Other than that, only a few 100 class bucks and numerous does were spotted. I only took the hunt because Trent told me that he expected to harvest several B&C deer this season and that he had 6 bucks patterned that would score over 140! Trent is a honest man and I still believe he has that type of quality in his area, but I think it's going to take 2-3 years before his operation is producing as promised. If you want to hunt Oklahoma trophy deer with an experienced outfitter, try Mt. Hide Outfitters. They are a class act and well worth the money!

Submit Date: Dec 10, 2002

Outfitter Review: Mt. Hide Outfitters - Oklahoma

Outfitter / Owner: Steve Purviance

Hunter: Louis Trujillo

Animals Hunted: Whitetail

I hunted the whole time in a make shift blind in an old barn. I saw non-stop action the first day and by mid afternoon I took a shot with my muzzleloader at a dandy 8 pointer with dark heavy beams at 125 yards. He fell immdiately to the ground and began kicking. I reached for my camera to take some pictures. When I look up to sss the deer, he was up on all fours slowly walking into the trees. With no time to relaod, I sat and waited for him to bed and reviver him later. Unfortunately, it was raining hard all afternoon and the next day we found only pieces of rib but no blood trail. We did not find the monster. Steve allowed me to continue to hunt, and day three I missed a nice 8 pointer and on the last day I missed another huge deer at 50 yards. Though I did not come back with a deer, I had a hell of a time and enjoyed the adventure totally. Steve runs a class act and his guides are personable, knowable and down right good natured. Don't let anyone tell you that Oklahoma doesn't have big whitetails. The farms that Steve has under lease are the best and rival and mid-west buck areas.

Submit Date: Dec 9, 2002

Outfitter Review: Mt. Hide Outfitters - Oklahoma

Outfitter / Owner: Steve Purviance

Hunter: Lee Vigil

Animals Hunted: Whitetail

Steve runs and excellent operation and has some of the best leased lands in NE Oklahoma, Kansas and Texas for whitetail deer. I saw hundreds of the critters while sitting in a ground blind during muzzloader season. I saw one huge deer but just couldn't make the shot. I finally harvested a good 8 pointer on day two of my four day hunt. My partner though he did not harvest did shot and miss a big 8 pointer. I caught it all on film.Steve runs and excellent operation and we'll be returning back next year.

Submit Date: May 5, 2000

Outfitter Review: Borderline Outfitters - OK

Outfitter / Owner: Ernest Rhodes

Hunter: JEFF GOINS

Animals Hunted: WHITETAILED DEER

ERNEST AND MARY RHODES LOVE TO SEE FOLKS ENJOY THE OUTDOORS AND ARE MORE THAN HAPPY TO ASSIST YOU IN ANY WAY NEEDED.I STRONGLY RECOMEND THEM FOR THE FIRST TIME HUNTER OR FAMILY HUNTS. THEY ALSO DO TURKEY,QUAIL AND PHEASANT HUNTS.

Submit Date: Jun 24, 1999

Outfitter Review: Bedding Area Outfitters - Oklahoma

Outfitter / Owner: Kent Vernon

Hunter: bryan gordon

Animals Hunted: whitetail deer

My hunt with Kent Vernon of Bedding Area Outfitters.My adventure if you want to call it that began at the 1996 Texas Trophy Hunters, Hunters Extravaganza I attended the Extravaganza hoping to connect with an Outfitter at a reasonable price. I spoke with Kent Vernon of Bedding Area Outfitters and was impressed with what he had to offer at a good price. I was told that they were killing B.C. book size deer on the large tract of land that he had leased. In fact I was also told that they were going to be leasing another four thousand acres to bring their total to sixteen thousand acres. I picked up one of their fliers that made the trip sound even more promising. The flier said that they had a modern lodge with home cooked meals with unmatched cuisine, one on one guide service over a variety of food plots. I wasnít able to go on my hunt until 1998. I contacted Kent in august of 1998 and I scheduled my hunt for the last five days of the rifle season. I sent Kent my $1000 deposit in the form of two checks at $500 each. I spoke with Kent on numerous occasions and told him that I wanted to try and take a deer with a muzzleloader. I was sent pictures of some of the deer they killed last year including a photo with Roger Raglan. So I figured that this outfitter must be on the up and up. Was I ever wrong? I called a week prior to my hunt to get directions and some general information about the hunt. I was supposed to be sent a map to the lodge. I should have been suspicious when I never received a map. I was told to meet Kent at a small store in Melbourne, Ok. With no specified time given. I arrived at the store around 12:30 and phoned Kent and informed him that I was there. He then told me that I would have to wait till 6:00pm before he would meet me. I didnít understand this but agreed. I went to the local sporting goods store and purchased my license for $201. We met at the store at 6:00 as agreed and I was told that the septic system at the lodge was plugged. I was then informed that I would be staying at the only motel in the area. Not exactly the cozy modern lodge as stated in the brochure. I was also told that my meals would be coming from the motel kitchen, again not what was promised in the brochure. But I was there to hunt and not complain. I paid my balance of $1000 in the form of cash. That evening we agreed that I would be picked up at 5:00am the next morning for my first dayís hunt. Kent Vernon and his friend were an hour and forty-five minutes late the first morning. The excuse he gave was he had car trouble even though I sat for an hour and a forty-five minutes with no phone call. I was then driven out of town to a pasture bordering a main road. We drove through that pasture into a smaller pasture. There were so many other hunters walking around it looked like a pumpkin patch. We then backed into the larger pasture about 50 yards and Kent gets out and proceeds to put up a popup blind. I asked who is going to hunt here? Because at this time there was another guy that had been riding around with Kent. I was told that I was going to hunt there. I informed Kent that I didnít feel comfortable hunting there with other hunters so close (within 100yds.). I was assured that the game warden would be contacted and that there would be no problem. Within twenty minutes of being dropped off two hunter orange clad figures were walking inside the fence line of the field that I was to be hunting in. Now this field was about sixty acres of open pastureland. Not exactly where you would have the best opportunity with a muzzleloader. An hour passed and a pickup truck entered the same field. I took pictures of both thinking that they were trespassing on the property that I was hunting. Was I ever wrong! The truck drove up to the stand that I was now standing beside since I obviously wasnít hunting anymore and asked who I was and why was I on their property. I told them who I was and who I was hunting with to which they replied they had heard of neither one. I was dumbfounded. I apologized, loaded up my stuff and left the property. It was now 10:00am and I had told Kent to pick me up at 12:00. After the pickup time had passed I had this sinking feeling that I had been had. I started thinking about how I was going to get back to the motel. I waited for three hours to be picked up. He was an hour late once again. I was pretty upset by the time I was picked up. I was told that it was all a misunderstanding that he did have permission to hunt that property. At this point I should have insisted that I be taken back to the motel. But like I said before I was there to hunt. I was then driven to another piece of property and put into a ladder stand over looking what I guessed to be oats. Before getting still I decided to walk around a bit since I was Kentís only hunter for the day. I found out I was in a pasture of about one hundred acres. I went back climbed into my stand and sat till dark without seeing a sign of a deer. It would be an understatement to say that this was the most disappointing day of hunting I have ever experienced. We met with the next group of hunters to take them to the motel. Kent made arrangements for both of their rooms and told us that he would be back at 5:00am the next morning. Since it was dinnertime the three of us decided that we might as well have our home cooked unmatched cuisine now. Naturally, as all hunters do the first question asked was how was the hunting. I told them the story of my first day and they were very unhappy to hear the details of my day. Especially after going to the trouble of checking references. The only reference that wasnít checked was the local game warden. After dinner we retired to our respective rooms to rest before the next days hunt. I got a call from one of the other hunters saying that I needed to come down to their room because they had something that I needed to hear. What I was told was almost unbelievable. They had contacted the game warden for that county and asked what he knew about Kent Vernon. The game warden told them that Kent had lost his lease on the twelve thousand-acre lease. This was something that Kent had failed to tell any of us. The game warden also informed us that he was watching Kent very closely that he hadnít caught him doing anything wrong that he could prove. He just knew that Kent did a lot of driving the roads late at night. After hearing this I knew that I couldnít trust him, especially after the events of my first day. We informed Kent the next morning that we would be leaving and expected our money back. Kent agreed he would pay the money back by the fourteenth of December. He also told us that we would be getting an apology from the game warden that we had talked to. We left on Thanksgiving Day. The following Tuesday I called and spoke with the game warden to hear the story personally. He confirmed everything that I had heard before. That same day I called and spoke with Kent but he refused to talk on his cellular phone. We agreed that we would talk that evening. Kent called that evening and told me that I had left on my own and that he wasnít going to send me my money back. He also told me that I had ruined his reputation with the other hunters by telling them what had happened to me that first day. Kent also kept insisting that I send him a signed and notarized affidavit explaining what I had been told by the game warden. I refused and told him to contact the game warden himself if he really wanted to know what had been said. At this time Kent is under investigation by the FBI. I found out later that he had scammed a total of nine hunters this year.

web application and database development by davidcdalton.com