Ohio Hunting Outfitter and Guide Reviews

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Nov 11, 2017

Outfitter Review: Southern Ohio Outfitters - OH

Outfitter / Owner: Dave Lusk

Hunter: Scott Huffman

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

Dave Lusk is only the tip of the ice berg in this outfitter. They say that a leader is only as good as the team around them... Dave has guides from all over the country that come to Ohio and work for his outfitter. These guides are extremely knowledgeable and give you ďbuck feverĒ just talking about the area they are going to set you up in. While showing you cam pics and the activity in that area. Although the latter part of October is not ideal for Ohio we all still had action, unfortunately all but one was unable to get one in range for a shot. If there is one thing that makes a man feel good when leaving an outfitter, itís when the owner and guides take it personal when you donít get a chance to take down a booner. Lodging and meals are top notch. I only gave it 5 stars because 6 wasnít an option. Iíll definitely be back to SOO ASAP!

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Nov 11, 2017

Outfitter Review: Southern Ohio Outfitters - OH

Outfitter / Owner: Dave Lusk

Hunter: Scott Huffman

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

Dave Lusk is only the tip of the ice berg in this outfitter. They say that a leader is only as good as the team around them... Dave has guides from all over the country that come to Ohio and work for his outfitter. These guides are extremely knowledgeable and give you ďbuck feverĒ just talking about the area they are going to set you up in. While showing you cam pics and the activity in that area. Although the latter part of October is not ideal for Ohio we all still had action, unfortunately all but one was unable to get one in range for a shot. If there is one thing that makes a man feel good when leaving an outfitter, itís when the owner and guides take it personal when you donít get a chance to take down a booner. Lodging and meals are top notch. I only gave it 5 stars because 6 wasnít an option. Iíll definitely be back to SOO ASAP!

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Nov 10, 2017

Outfitter Review: Southern Ohio Outfitters - OH

Outfitter / Owner: Dave Lusk

Hunter: Mike Petti

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

Iíve been to SOO the last 3 years and booked again for my fourth. They have monster bucks on their farms and Iíve always been treated very well.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Nov 10, 2017

Outfitter Review: Southern Ohio Outfitters - OH

Outfitter / Owner: Dave Lusk

Hunter: Billy Thomas

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

I had a great time hunting with Dave Lusk and his staff. The lodging was good and the hunting was great. Passed on several deer and saw several with great potential. Plan on returning next year. Great folks and great farms.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Nov 10, 2017

Outfitter Review: Southern Ohio Outfitters - OH

Outfitter / Owner: Dave Lusk

Hunter: Adam Gibson

Animals Hunted: not specified

I booked at 3 day hunt in the beginning of November, I was tagged out on the 1st morning on an fantastic buck. Guides are very knowledgeable and helpful to the client. Wanted to leave early to get back home since I tagged out so soon and the Guides assisted me in getting my deer back from the processor as soon as possible and went above what was expected from them. Properties are well managed and the amount of quality deer is what impressed me the most. Fantastic client focused operation.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Oct 31, 2017

Outfitter Review: Southern Ohio Outfitters - OH

Outfitter / Owner: Dave Lusk

Hunter: Rob Patterson

Animals Hunted: not specified

Hunted last year with these guys and seen tons of deer . Seen even more this year including 2 nice shooters . The food was incredible and I would actually consider some of the guides friends .One of the guys in our group this year shot an absolute giant !! We already booked for the opener next year and plan on doing hunts with these guys for a long time !

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Nov 17, 2015

Outfitter Review: Southern Ohio Outfitters - OH

Outfitter / Owner: Dave Lusk

Hunter: Michael Nastasi

Animals Hunted: not specified

DO NOT BOOK WITH THIS OUTFITTER!!!!!!!My father and I just got back from Ohio. When I booked this trip we were both very excited about the possibility of hunting there. After getting our deposit there was zero communication with the owner. He finally responded to a text message after I told him how horrible I felt with the lack of communication. Two days before Hunt I requested an address to find the property for a drive from New Jersey. I tried texting Dave And Justin no response. I also tried calling and emailing. No response. We finally received an address midway through our drive from New Jersey. We were also told that check in time was two hours later than previously told. Upon arrival at the lodge we were greeted by our guide whose name was Don. Don appeared to be a very nice gentleman and things started to look up. The only place to practice was in the backyard of the lodge into a block target that has been shot so many times the arrows came through the back of it. No 3-D target range as advertised on the website. The lodge itself was decent however unfinished in many areas including but not excluded to no heat, no fireplace, and no smoke detectors. A broken refrigerator, a broken coffee pot, and a dryer that doesn't shut itself off. When the hunt began I felt good. When the sun came up I realized that I had no shooting lanes in the area which I assume the deer would come from. Then I realized another Hunter from our lodge was 100 yards away from me. So any attempt to rattle or grunt would disrupt him or myself and confuse a buck that may have wanted to come see what was going on.The first day was a complete bust due to weather conditions that could not be controlled. Day two we were put back in the same exact spots. I eventually had 125 inch eight pointer come in 25 yards through the area with no clear shooting lanes. I was moved across the field to an area on the edge of the field and 115 inch nine pointer came in and I let him walk. The next morning was beautiful and we were put back in the same spot again, with zero action. We sat all morning and listened to gun shots from a neighbor who clearly was doing it on purpose. Later to find out he has a beef with Dave and SOO. At this point we has to be moved because we were disgusted with everything that has gone on, and in our minds our options were to move to another farm or leave. At that point we were put on a beautiful farm that would have made our trip so much better had we hunted there for 3 days. Too little, too late. At no point did my father have a shot opportunity or have a shooter anywhere near him. We were told when we booked the hunt that we were allowed buck and doe. That was cancelled the first conversation with our guide. Dave Lusk never took 5 minutes to come and say hello to any of the 12 hunters in our camp and was in the driveway to drop something off so he had the opportunity to introduce himself and welcome us. That would have went a long way in improving our attitudes and our moral. Not once did we attempt to hunt the wind or sit down and look at maps to decide where we could have an opportunity to shoot a big buck. The simple fact that I paid 1475.00 and drove 9 hours to hunt 100 yards from another hunter was infuriating to say the least. If anyone has any questions or would like to hear more about this terrible experience please fell free to call me at 732-673-3704. As I am 100% sure this will be deleted, I will repost in multiple hunting forums and all over Facebook.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Jan 14, 2014

Outfitter Review: Southern Ohio Outfitters - OH

Outfitter / Owner: Dave Lusk

Hunter: Richard Jones

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

I enjoyed my hunt with SOO this muzzleloader season. The accommodations were good, food and all your guides were excellent. Dave and the guides appeared to me to have their act together. Dick Jones Sr.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Nov 24, 2013

Outfitter Review: Southern Ohio Outfitters - OH

Outfitter / Owner: Dave Lusk

Hunter: jake dougherty

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

I would like to thank everyone involved at Southern Ohio Outfitters for the amazing week that I had with everyone. A special thanks to Dave and Kevin For putting me on some amazing hunting grounds during my trip. I saw more then 30 bucks that week and passed several shooters that would be a buck of a lifetime for any hunter to experience. From the first day to the last hour I was in company of deer! I was able to take a Buck on the lastnight, in the last hour with the help and determination of Dave and Kevin!! Southern Ohio Outfitters are the real deal when it comes to knowledge of Monster Bucks and deer behavior. I was impressed from the first day after being able to recap what I saw and experienced with my Guides, Dave and Kevin came up with a game plan for the remainder of the week for me! I saw the Buck I wanted and was willing to do whatever I could to make it happen. Kevin and Dave were behind me all the way and lead the charge of my hunting assault. Dave and Kevin filled in the gaps that I needed and steered me from the wrong things I was doing to the right things to make my hunt complete. These guys know what they are doing and there comprehension of the deer in their area is unparrellel to others. I wouldn't be able to think of hunting with anyone else after this hunting trip with Dave and Kevin. I look forward to next year with the guys from Southern Ohio Outfitters and the anticipation is killing me!!! Thank you Dave and Kevin for the awesome Hunting!!! I can't wait for next year which I will be able to take an even Bigger Buck!!! ~Team Mass Assains~ ~Jake Dougherty~

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Nov 22, 2013

Outfitter Review: Southern Ohio Outfitters - OH

Outfitter / Owner: Dave Lusk

Hunter: Tom Conant

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

We all had a very good time and i appreciate the efforts that the guides put in to get us in stands with the correct winds. We all saw and had possible opportunities at good deer. The food was great, kudos to your wife, and the lodge was very nice for an active hunting lodge.I shot my very first whitetail....15 yards from a watering hole.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Nov 22, 2013

Outfitter Review: Southern Ohio Outfitters - OH

Outfitter / Owner: Dave Lusk

Hunter: Don Boyton

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

We all had a very good time (other than my flat tire)and appreciate the efforts that the guides put in to get us in stands with the correct winds. We all saw and had possible opportunities at good deer. The food was great, kudos to your wife, and the lodge was very nice for an active hunting lodge.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Nov 20, 2013

Outfitter Review: Southern Ohio Outfitters - OH

Outfitter / Owner: Dave Lusk

Hunter: Zach Dougherty

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

Dave, Kevin, and the boys took amazing care of us and put us on a lot of deer! 5 of 8 released arrows and seen some giants. I look forward to next year with the rest of the Mass Assains in taking down the giants!!

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Nov 20, 2013

Outfitter Review: Southern Ohio Outfitters - OH

Outfitter / Owner: Dave Lusk

Hunter: Jake Dougherty

Animals Hunted: not specified

Dave, Kevin, and the boys took amazing care of us and put us on a lot of deer! 5 of 8 released arrows and seen some giants. I look forward to next year with the rest of the Mass Assains in taking down the giants!! See you guys next November!

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Nov 19, 2013

Outfitter Review: Southern Ohio Outfitters - OH

Outfitter / Owner: Dave Lusk

Hunter: Pete King

Animals Hunted: not specified

I hunted with Dave in turkey season and had a great time. I decided I was going to come back for a whitetail hunt and came for the season Ohio opener. After getting a game plan together we decided to hunt a hard shell blind where several mature bucks were coming in during daylight hours. I was in the stand for two hours when this giant came in and gave me a great broadside shot. Buck ran 60 yards and died. Great accommodations, great people & very knowledgable. I will be back. FYI, my buddy shot and wounded a brute 8

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Nov 9, 2013

Outfitter Review: Southern Ohio Outfitters - OH

Outfitter / Owner: Dave Lusk

Hunter: ken nottle

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

bad hunt,few deer ,shot 110 ,8 pt.last day.4people in camp ,total 50 hrs. each in stands saw approx.50 deer mostly does @small bucks took my deer to be butcherd, kepted my deer @sent me home with someold meat from their freezer wrapped in zip lock bags freezer burnt

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Jan 27, 2013

Outfitter Review: Whitetail Inn Lodge - Kimbolton OH

Outfitter / Owner: Dan Parrott

Hunter: Matt Pyle

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

I have hunted with Dan and Karen since 2006. Most of my hunts have been during archery season, but I've also hunted during the late muzzleloader season as well. During this time period I have been extremely pleased with the quality of deer that I've not only seen, but have taken. Every year that I've hunted with Dan and Karen I've seen P&Y class deer. Most of the bucks would score in the 130s to mid 150s. I've also seen bucks that would score in the 160s up. I know this because I killed a 10 pt. with a bow that scored 162 2/8 while hunting with Dan and since then have seen bucks bigger than that. The area Dan hunts has good genetics and produces good bucks every year. Dan is a knowledgeable guide and provides his hunters with treestand setups that will produce results. Whitetail Inn is an excellent place to go for a fairchase hunt, with the opportunity of harvesting the deer of a lifetime. Needless to say, the accommodations are excellent as well. You could not ask for a nicer place to hunt. I would highly recommend Whitetail Inn to anyone.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Jan 27, 2013

Outfitter Review: Whitetail Inn Lodge - Kimbolton OH

Outfitter / Owner: Dan Parrott

Hunter: Matt Pyle

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

I have hunted with Dan and Karen since 2006. Most of my hunts have been during archery season, but I've also hunted during the late muzzleloader season as well. During this time period I have been extremely pleased with the quality of deer that I've not only seen, but have taken. Every year that I've hunted with Dan and Karen I've seen P&Y class deer. Most of the bucks would score in the 130s to mid 150s. I've also seen bucks that would score in the 160s up. I know this because I killed a 10 pt. with a bow that scored 162 2/8 while hunting with Dan and since then have seen bucks bigger than that. The area Dan hunts has good genetics and produces good bucks every year. Dan is a knowledgeable guide and provides his hunters with treestand setups that will produce results. Whitetail Inn is an excellent place to go for a fairchase hunt, with the opportunity of harvesting the deer of a lifetime. Needless to say, the accommodations are excellent as well. You could not ask for a nicer place to hunt. I would highly recommend Whitetail Inn to anyone.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Dec 30, 2012

Outfitter Review: Southern Ohio Outfitters - OH

Outfitter / Owner: Dave Lusk

Hunter: lorie hall

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

My husband and I and 2 of our friends went on a 5 day Bow Hunting trip from november 5th-9th,2012 and we chose Southern Ohio Outfitters....this place was amazing!!! We had the owner, Dave Lusk, as our guide for the week and he was great!!! the other 3 guides that were there, Kevin, Mike and Tony were great too!! The lodge was awesome and so was all our meals, thanks to Carlyn and Tish!!! In the 5 days I hunted i seen 49 deer and 3 of them were shooter bucks. I took a shot at a huge 8 point but i shot to low and only shaved belly hair off but what an experience. My husband and I are going back in mid january 2013 to hunt for 4 days with our bows. We are going to Kentucky in September 2013 with Southern Ohio Outfitters to go bow hunting for a buck in velvet, then we are going back in November 2014 for a week to bow hunt. This place is amazing and would highly recommend them to everyone!!!

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Dec 30, 2012

Outfitter Review: Southern Ohio Outfitters - OH

Outfitter / Owner: Dave Lusk

Hunter: lorie hall

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

My husband and I and 2 of our friends went on a 5 day Bow Hunting trip from november 5th-9th,2012 and we chose Southern Ohio Outfitters....this place was amazing!!! We had the owner, Dave Lusk, as our guide for the week and he was great!!! the other 3 guides that were there, Kevin, Mike and Tony were great too!! The lodge was awesome and so was all our meals, thanks to Carlyn and Tish!!! In the 5 days I hunted i seen 49 deer and 3 of them were shooter bucks. I took a shot at a huge 8 point but i shot to low and only shaved belly hair off but what an experience. My husband and I are going back in mid january 2013 to hunt for 4 days with our bows. We are going to Kentucky in September 2013 with Southern Ohio Outfitters to go bow hunting for a buck in velvet, then we are going back in November 2014 for a week to bow hunt. This place is amazing and would highly recommend them to everyone!!!

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Dec 18, 2012

Outfitter Review: Southern Ohio Outfitters - OH

Outfitter / Owner: Dave Lusk

Hunter: Dave Conley

Animals Hunted: not specified

Awesome Awesome hunt. From the time I sent my initial email Dave answered all my questions to the time I arrived and shown to my room everything was prompt. awesome camp, guides were great, food was great and saw a ton of bucks. Hit one hard and couldn't recover and so did two other hunters in camp along with several dandies taken. Can't wait to go back.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Dec 18, 2012

Outfitter Review: Southern Ohio Outfitters - OH

Outfitter / Owner: Dave Lusk

Hunter: Thomas Titlow

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

It was unusually warm for this time of year.The deer were not moving.I still seen some deer, but not as many as i thought i would because of the weather. The guides were great, as they were really trying to put us on a good buck. Some of our guys seen some shooters, but only 1 shot, (a miss) until the last day when this nice 10 came out on me. Did not put a perfect shot on the deer, tracked him for a couple hundred yards, before we got him. Thanks to Dave and his guides for going after him the way we did, They busted thier butts to get that deer, and I am gratefull for that. I had a great time with the SOO gang before i got that deer, and a better time after. Thanks again SOO.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Dec 18, 2012

Outfitter Review: Southern Ohio Outfitters - OH

Outfitter / Owner: Dave Lusk

Hunter: Thomas Titlow

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

I recently just went to Southern Ohio Outfitters and had a pleasant experience. The Guides were top notch and worked extra hard to put every single guy in camp on some big bucks. They did everything you would expect an expert guide to do. I was very happy with there help. As for the camp experince that also met the expectations. Camp Cook everyday took great care of us with great food. We had spots to relax and watch tv after a long days hunt. Unfortunatly we had some unusally warm weather for the time of year, so deer activity was great in mornings and slow in the afternoon. but we cant do nothing about that. I felt like i was in a great spot everytime i was in the treestands. Even though i did not harvest a buck I seen good amount of deer and some quality bucks that just needed another year to mature. My father ended up harvesting a Great buck his biggest yet! And made the experience that much better. Thanks to SOO i am looking forward to getting back there someday.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Dec 18, 2012

Outfitter Review: Southern Ohio Outfitters - OH

Outfitter / Owner: Dave Lusk

Hunter: Anthony Morrow

Animals Hunted: not specified

I just finished hunting with Southern Ohio Outfitters on a 5 day combo hunt. First 3 days bow then 2 days muzzleloader. I was very pleased with the entire trip. From the top notch accomodations to the knowledgeable guides and the quality of the bucks that I saw, I can say for certain I will go back. No, I did not get a shot at any of the bucks I saw due to them being just out of range but that doesn't diminish the fact that they were there and very impressive! Thanks to Dave Lusk owner of S.O.O and his guides for a great time.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Dec 10, 2012

Outfitter Review: Whitetail Outfitters of Ohio - Newark OH

Outfitter / Owner: Ty McCombs

Hunter: steve wesolowski

Animals Hunted: not specified

My son and I hunted with Ty Mccomb in ohio for the first time. This outfitter never gave us a conformation when we sent in our checks or verified our time to hunt. I saw one buck in five days. We were accused of not being clean thats why we didn't see any deer. We were singled out along with two other hunters , taken to nonproductive poor spots. One guy in eight shot a deer which happened to hunt in the best blind.We will never go back .A very poor costly experience for both of us. Beware of this outfitter.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Feb 11, 2012

Outfitter Review: Sunfish Valley Outfitters - Latham OH

Outfitter / Owner: Bob Cramer

Hunter: Michael Richardson

Animals Hunted: not specified

Took my son on a youth hunt and saw no deer in 2 days. What a rip off! They claim they own 15000 acres and can't show a 10 year old a deer! This is an example why youth hunting numbers are dropping. Do these people realize the youth are their future hunters. Avoid this outfitter.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Feb 11, 2012

Outfitter Review: Sunfish Valley Outfitters - Latham OH

Outfitter / Owner: Bob Cramer

Hunter: Michael Richardson

Animals Hunted: not specified

Took my son on a youth hunt and saw no deer in 2 days. What a rip off! They claim they own 15000 acres and can't show a 10 year old a deer! This is an example why youth hunting numbers are dropping. Do these people realize the youth are their future hunters. Avoid this outfitter.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Nov 19, 2011

Outfitter Review: Sunfish Valley Outfitters - Latham OH

Outfitter / Owner: Bob Cramer

Hunter: J Anders

Animals Hunted: not specified

My overall experience with Sunfish Valley Whitetails would be rated VERY POOR. I arrived early on the Sunday morning before the hunt began on Monday to scout and hang a stand or two for the next weeks hunt. The owner (Matt) was notified of my groups arrival an hour ahead of time and we arrived only to sit and wait for hours before anyone met us. When a part time guide (full time college student) arrived, he led us to a 40 acre tract of property, parked on the side of the road and pointed to the woods and said "hunt here, its 40 acres, if you see posted signs dont pass them." He also told us that a group hunted that property the week before we had gotten there therefore contradicting the "low pressure property" that was advertised. We asked for topo maps and aerial photos as they were promised and the owner Matt stated that they didnt have any. We scouted the 40 acres and hunted it on Monday with no deer seen. There was no food sources and no deer sign on the property. We asked to see some more property and we were led to a mountain side and the "guide" said "hunt here just dont cross the top of the mountain because wee have fully guided hunters up there". He advised us that there was about 100 acres in there. We asked to see more property and were advised that this was the property they had for us to hunt. We were very disappointed to see that there was no work done to the property to prepare it for hunting, no food sources and no accessability. We were laughed at by the locals at the grocery store when we told them we were hunting with Sunfish Valley. They wanted to know why we pay because everybody around town hunts it for free. I dont know whether that is true or not but I couldnt imagine anyone trespassing on property that doesnt have any deer. Between 4 hunters in 5 days, less that 10 deer were seen during a week that is considered to be the peak of the rut. I would definately NOT recommend this outfitter to anyone. Once they have your money, they dont care about you anymore. At least for the Semi Guided hunters. The "guide" did check in with us each night to ask if we saw any deer. After numerous negative reports, nothing was done to help us out or get us on some property where deer were. After expressing our feelings to our "guide", he advised us that we were not the first people to be angry about the problems we had encountered but he couldnt do anything more to help. He also told us the reason we werent seeing many deer was because the area was still recovering from a die off as a result of EHD. Now it makes sense that if there was a die off, we wont see many deer and thats what happened. The owners never made any attempt to make sure his promises were fulfilled as advertised. We never asked to be fully guided but its hard to hunt property if nobody will show you where it is. We were shown approx. 150 acres of supposedly 5000 that is set aside for semi guided hunts. If you are looking for a semi guided hunt, do yourself a favor and go somewhere else. We live and learn and I hope I can save someones money and time by learning from my mistake. Good luck

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Nov 6, 2011

Outfitter Review: Southern Ohio Outfitters - OH

Outfitter / Owner: Dave Lusk

Hunter: Eric Dibble

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

My recent bow hunt to Southern Ohio Outfitters in the first week of October 2011 was the first hunt I had ever booked with an Outfitter. I was going with friends who have been out there the past 2 years, but, I still wasn't sure what to expect. After spending a week hunting with Owner Dave Lusk and his guides, Kevin Ray and Tony Stewart, I can see what has kept my friends going back. The log cabin lodge was clean, comfortable, and immediately felt like home. The food was outstanding and there was plenty of it, in fact, I think I am still a few pounds heavier than when I got there. The guides are always planning/preparing for your next set trying to put you on the buck of a lifetime, and there appear to be plenty of them there. They were dedicated, sincere, and just great people to be around. I did not harvest an animal on the trip, but I assure you, it was not for lack of effort on the part of the Southern Ohio Outfitters crew. If you are looking to "hunt" fair chase, no high fence, huge whitetails, I highly recommend you give Southern Ohio Outfitters a chance. This was a first rate, Outstanding Outfitter, and I had an Outstanding time!!! I have already booked for 2012 and 2013.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Oct 22, 2011

Outfitter Review: Southern Ohio Outfitters - OH

Outfitter / Owner: Dave Lusk

Hunter: Brandon Blankenhorn

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

if you are looking for a really good time and a the best chance you will ever get at shooting a mature whitetail i would strongly suggest southern ohio outfitters that was the best hunting trip i have ever had they go out of there way tyo make sure you have a hunt to remember i did not get on though unfortunetly i hit a big eight pointer and never found but the guides and the owner did there best to find the dear for they looked the whole rest of the week and they are still looking for it. the hospitality was awesome to if you are looking for a outfitter i strongly suggest southern ohio outfitters

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Oct 15, 2011

Outfitter Review: Southern Ohio Outfitters - OH

Outfitter / Owner: Dave Lusk

Hunter: chris weakland

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

I hunted with Southern Ohio Outfitters on 10/10-10/14 2011. From the time I arrived at the lodge, Dave Lusk owner and this guides Kevin, Tony and Mike made me feel welcome. The lodge was super and food was great. They have a shooting range for you to shoot your bow at, glad i did because I was shooting 8 inches to the left. I shot my buck on the first evening. 10 point, 138 gross, 6 1/2 year old. The stands are very safe and put in great locations. I got to hunt for a doe but didn't shoot any. i'm already booked for next year. This is a fair chase hunt for a great chance at great buck.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Sep 4, 2011

Outfitter Review: Muskingum Country Outfitters L.T.D - Dresden OH

Outfitter / Owner:

Hunter: Rich Miller

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

Doug hunting outfit is #1. Lots of good deer. Hunted with for 3 years going for a 4th.Good food good time awesome hunt.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: May 9, 2011

Outfitter Review: Southern Ohio Outfitters - OH

Outfitter / Owner: Dave Lusk

Hunter: Nate Morris

Animals Hunted: Turkey

Hunting with my Dad for the second year with Southern Ohio Outfitters for Turkey. Dave put us up in a great camp where we had a lot of comfort and room. Dave and his guide Zach are "the best" guides I and my dad have come across and we have been screwed alot by some. Dave put us on a prime piece of land that had many flocks of Turkeys we worked. Even though we were self guided Dave would check with us everyday and offer advice and answer our questions. His advice paid off because we nailed a nice bird. Dave actually cares that we have an enjoyable hunt unlike many other outfitters who just want your money. Def going back next year. -Nate Morris

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: May 8, 2011

Outfitter Review: Southern Ohio Outfitters - OH

Outfitter / Owner: Dave Lusk

Hunter: Ken Hill

Animals Hunted: Turkey - Eastern

Hunt went very well despite the weather. The farm we hunted had lots of birds and my 12 year old son had a terrific experience. He did get a turkey despite the horrible rain. The lodge was nice and clean and the guides where very friendly and put us in the birds!

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: May 8, 2011

Outfitter Review: Southern Ohio Outfitters - OH

Outfitter / Owner: Dave Lusk

Hunter: Marvin Ray

Animals Hunted: Turkey - Eastern

With the capable assistance of David Lusk, owner of S.O.O., acting as my guide, I was successful in harvesting a prized turkey on each of two morning turkey hunts. The trip was made possible by a surprise Christmas gift from my family. These were my first two turkey hunts and and they were filled with the excitement of learning from experienced turkey hunters who showed me how to locate and bring the birds to our set-up location.The accommodations provided at S.O.O. Lodge were very desirable and the time spent with other hunters and guides certainly added to the rewarding memories and excitement of my turkey hunting experience.I would highly recommend S.O.O. to anyone who is interested in a top-notch facility, great surroundings, and highly qualified guides.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: May 7, 2011

Outfitter Review: Southern Ohio Outfitters - OH

Outfitter / Owner: Dave Lusk

Hunter: Gary Morris

Animals Hunted: Turkey - Eastern

My son and I hunted for 4 days with Dave Lusk of Southern Ohio Outfitters, April 18-21, 2011. We were a DIY hunt. Dave provided the land for us, and we were totally on our own, which is how we like it. My son Nate and I enjoy hunting together, and using our own expertise to take both deer and turkeys. Our accomodations were first rate, the hunting property was terrific (except for climbing hills, I better get in better shape.) We fought thunderstorms and rainy weather, along with swollen impassible streams, but on the 2nd day, Nate called in a couple toms, and I shot one, but Nate couldn't get off a good shot. THe 3rd day we were on birds, but couldn't get any to come in. We are already planning our next years hunt with Dave. He's a terrific, honest outfitter, who lives up to his word. The weather was so wet and rainy, we didn't get any good photos though, maybe next year.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Jan 20, 2011

Outfitter Review: Southern Ohio Outfitters - OH

Outfitter / Owner: Dave Lusk

Hunter: adam stahl

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

I did a 3 day hunt at S.O.O. in the late bow season. The lodge is nice with evey accommodation of home. I felt that my guide was very knowledgeable with there land and stand setups. Although hunting was tough and i didnt have many deer sightings i still ended up killing a nice buck. This wouldn't of happen with out the hard work and persistence of my guide. The buck i shot was the same buck that my guide saw the evening befor while scouting. Dave lusk and his guides are some good guys and eat sleep and dream about getting you that buck while your hunting with them! Feel free to contact me with questions about my experince at S.O.O.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Jan 18, 2011

Outfitter Review: Southern Ohio Outfitters - OH

Outfitter / Owner: Dave Lusk

Hunter: Drue Jones

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

AWSOME, 1ST CLASS!!!! I have only hunted with two outfitters for whitetail and I see no reason to book with anyone else. I feel that Southern Ohio Outfitters is truly a world Class Operation!!!I tell everyone I know about this place because I KNOW THAT THEY HAVE MY BEST INTREST AT HEART! From the owner Dave Lusk who truly cares about the quality of your hunt to the guides who while you are in a stand are always scouting other places to find the HOT SPOTS so you have the best chance of taking that buck of a life time.To Daves WONDERFUL wife who cooks those great meals and keeps the camp running.Their is no way I can say enough good thinks about this place,you really need to book a hunt and see what a great place it is. I have already booked a Nov. 2012 rut hunt and I can't wait to get there. Hats off to the entire staff at Southern Ohio Outfitters for a great job and PLEASE stay in touch.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Jan 18, 2011

Outfitter Review: Southern Ohio Outfitters - OH

Outfitter / Owner: Dave Lusk

Hunter: Stephen Jones

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

Wow.. Where to start? We have been going to southern Ohio outfitters for 2 years now. This was our second trip out for the late muzzleloader hunt this January. I can honestly say this is a first class operation. From the moment you arrive till you leave you feel at home. The guides take absolutely wonderful care of you and will help you out in any way possible. While we were out there, you don't feel like just another "number". The guide bust there A%$ trying to get you into deer. I did not take a buck this year but as my guide told me he would get me on a shooter, he came through and put me on a monster 10. We like this place so much we actually booked a rut hunt next season. I would recommend this outfit to anyone who is looking to have the opportunity to take a monster buck and is looking to have a great time in camp. You will not be disappointed.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Jan 17, 2011

Outfitter Review: Southern Ohio Outfitters - OH

Outfitter / Owner: Dave Lusk

Hunter: Matt Miller

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

I hunted the late muzzleloader season with S.O.O. for a second year in a row. I have booked an archery rut hunt withh S.O.O. in 2012. My first year I harvested a buck and two does. This past year I did not harvest any deer but two other hunters that were in camp took mature bucks. I am looking forward to my hunt in 2012 because I know and have seen the quality of deer that S.O.O. has to offer. Dave Lusk, owner of S.O.O. is a professional outfitter that has made the success of his hunters his top priority. The guides at S.O.O. are professional and know the land and the mature bucks that you will be hunting. They spend hours scouting, glassing, setting up and maintaining feeders, and placing stands to give their hunters the best opportunity possible to harvest a mature whitetail buck. The lodging accomodations are top notch and you will never go hungry at S.O.O. I highly reccomend this hunt to anyone who wants a fair chase shot at a trophy of a lifetime!

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Dec 30, 2010

Outfitter Review: Southern Ohio Outfitters - OH

Outfitter / Owner: Dave Lusk

Hunter: JUDE Lawless

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

I personally have been to Southern ohio outfitters and have not a single complaint. I have not only hunted with them in the past but hunted this year, booked for next year, and 2012 as well. One of my biggest recommendations is if your going to hunt with them book well in advance because most of the good weeks are booked for next year and they are booking for the year after as well. I shot a monster this past year and it couldn't be recovered and we looked for 3 and a half days. I didn't get my buck for no lack of effort. Its a great hunt and I would highly recommend it.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Dec 30, 2010

Outfitter Review: Southern Ohio Outfitters - OH

Outfitter / Owner: Dave Lusk

Hunter: Brad L.

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

Had an awesome hunt at SOO. I was very impressed with the quality of deer, the properties, and the had stands for any wind direction. Great Great hunt and I would highly recommend it. I stayed at the main lodge which is very very nice, and the food is awesome

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Dec 29, 2010

Outfitter Review: Southern Ohio Outfitters - OH

Outfitter / Owner: Dave Lusk

Hunter: james (Bubba) CLARK

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

I hunted with soo during the first week of gun season this year and was very dissapointed with the whole operation as it related to hunting. The first morning of the hunt i had to reset the ladder styx and the tree stand in the dark they were both loose, and i only saw 4 deer the first morning that was it for the week. The locale people i met during that week all exspressed there dislike of soo and dave lusk for one reason or another. there were 9 hunters in camp that week and all but 2 seemed to have problems with the whole operation. Not one person even saw a good shooter buck the whole week. I am not a hunter with a chip on my shoulder but i feel that i could have given these hunters a better chance to kill a deer on the farms i hunt in nj. IT FELT LIKE DAVE LUSK AND HIS GUIDES SAVED THE BEST HUNTING SPOTS FOR THEM SELVES, i think if you were anyone who does alot of hunting you would see right through this whole operation, and would not recomend this hunt to anyone. This hunt was LIKE A BOOK YOU CANT JUDGE IT BY ITS COVER its not all its cracked up to be, i could have spent my money better elseware!!!!!!!!

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Dec 26, 2010

Outfitter Review: Southern Ohio Outfitters - OH

Outfitter / Owner: Dave Lusk

Hunter: ralph centhrow

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

Had a great hunt at southern ohio outfitters. The thing that impressed me the most is the vastness of everything, were as in jersey its mostly small wood lots, so, that was a nice change. Seen alot of good bucks but didn't get a shot, but I would go back anytime I could afford it

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Dec 26, 2010

Outfitter Review: Southern Ohio Outfitters - OH

Outfitter / Owner: Dave Lusk

Hunter: Gage Lewis

Animals Hunted: not specified

I hunted bow at daves camp and had a great time. I seen alot of bucks and deer in general and shot a respectable buck. The lodging is great, the food is even better and I would recommend to anyone

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Dec 26, 2010

Outfitter Review: Southern Ohio Outfitters - OH

Outfitter / Owner: Dave Lusk

Hunter: Vince Miraglia

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

This was my firts ever semi-guide hunt and it mey all my expectations. Dave his his guides were very professional and did their homework. I saw more deer in five days then i've seen in two years in NJ. Somewhere between 60&70 deer. I had an opportunity at a great 8 pointer if it was for two small trees blocking my shot at 30 yards. I would recomend SOO to any hunter that is looking for a great experience.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Dec 21, 2010

Outfitter Review: Southern Ohio Outfitters - OH

Outfitter / Owner: Dave Lusk

Hunter: larry hudson Jr

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

I also hunted the Ohio shotgun season with SOO. I had a very nice hunt at Dave's place. Great lodge to stay in and his wife is a wonderful cook. The guides are very professional and I can still see Zach jumping over tops coming down where my buck was. They also got my deer taken care of for me super quick so we could head back for jacks meeting.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Dec 21, 2010

Outfitter Review: Southern Ohio Outfitters - OH

Outfitter / Owner: Dave Lusk

Hunter: Greg Sawyer

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

I hunted at southern ohio outfitters during the shotgun season this past year. It was a great hunt, and I loved every minute. I think Dave and his guides do an excellant job of staying on top of the deer activity, and while it is true that there is alot of shooting, that's ohio, that's their shotgun season. I couldn't help but notice a couple of the other reviews from this past shotgun season and all I can say is wow. If any knows Dave and how he is, they know that he is honest and loves doing what he does, to call him a Michael Waldell wannabe shows this hunters lack of respect and immaturity. Infact, I was in camp with these three guys, and a high fence operation would have been much better suited as the one hunter forgot to mention that he passed on 4 shooters the first morning, was smoking in his treestands, kicked the guides truck, walked around on the premises which is a direct violation of SOO rules, his partner Frank was talking bad about JIM behind his back, and the other hunters in camp couldn't tolerate him one even flipping him off. You cant always believe what you read and some hunters you will NEVER please, and for anyone that has never been in a deer camp, you will have one in camp, trust me..I would recommend SOO anytime, and its a great hunt for the price. The accomadations is nice, the land is nice and the staff and very respectful and even helped me carry my totes in(all 5), haha. Call the references, he has a ton

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Dec 21, 2010

Outfitter Review: Southern Ohio Outfitters - OH

Outfitter / Owner: Dave Lusk

Hunter: Fred Beynon

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

Hunted the Ohio 2010 firearms season. There was 8 of us in camp and another 4 in a DIY camp. The outfitter gave a very encouraging speech the nite before the hunt and assigned guides to the hunters. Most guides had 3 hunters. That was the last time he spoke to any of us despite the fact that he was in camp everynight looking at maps and trail camera photos of areas he was going to hunt the next morning. Don't ever hunt at a place where the guides are hunting the same time. Who do you think will get the premier spots? We booked this hunt based upon Southern Ohio Outfitters website. It showed all sorts of croplands and food plots. Upon arrival, all I seen for 5 days was an open pasture with cattle grazing and a wind that blew directly into adjoining woodlots. I asked about moving to another area and was told they didn't have anything else. SOO advertises 6000 plus acres but all I seen was a 400 acre cattle farm. SOO guides and owner kill nice bucks in bow season which makes me wonder who they are working for. The biggest problem I see with SOO is the fact that they have an assortment of farm leases which is mainly open areas surrounded by woodlots that are owned by others and hunted by others. We were surrounded by other hunters and essentially shut off. SOO does not have enough continuous acreage to offer good gun hunts. Archery may be different. 2 out of 8 hunters shot small buck. Most hunters had very limited sightings and mostly doe. I saw 5 deer the first day and that was it. Ohio gun season is a zoo. Brown its down is the motto of the locals. SOO has a lot of interference from locals that despise his operation and are out there trying to interfere with your hunt. While the opportunity was there to see a huge buck, this hunt is only worth room and lodging and a $250 trespass fee. Recommend not booking with SOO.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Dec 20, 2010

Outfitter Review: Southern Ohio Outfitters - OH

Outfitter / Owner: Dave Lusk

Hunter: Steve Kauffman

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

I booked a hunt with Dave and his guys just this year and it was a great hunt.SOO really has it's act together, they have managed there hunts and provide a pristine enviroment for fair chase trophy whitetail hunting. All 4 of us had the opportunity to Grunt and rattle in bucks!!! There where 3 bucks killed the week we where there and due to an equipment failure I missed a 130+ class buck on the last day!5 stars for SOO I would highly recommend them if your looking for good opportunity to take trophy whitetail

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Dec 20, 2010

Outfitter Review: Southern Ohio Outfitters - OH

Outfitter / Owner: Dave Lusk

Hunter: trevor kephart

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

booked a DIY hunt with them this year and connected on a very nice 8 point. SOO is a first class operation. My guide was Kevin Ray and I can honestly say that he put his heart and soul into making sure that the hunters are in a good spot for a high percentage shot. This was my first experience with an outfitter and I am glad I found Dave and his boys from SOO.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Dec 20, 2010

Outfitter Review: Southern Ohio Outfitters - OH

Outfitter / Owner: Dave Lusk

Hunter: eddie first

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

went with alex bryan, i missed a giant at 23 yards and am looking to rebook for 2012. I will go back. I don't have an email, email alex. I did leave my phone number

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Dec 20, 2010

Outfitter Review: Southern Ohio Outfitters - OH

Outfitter / Owner: Dave Lusk

Hunter: mike mcneal

Animals Hunted: not specified

i highly recommend

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Dec 20, 2010

Outfitter Review: Southern Ohio Outfitters - OH

Outfitter / Owner: Dave Lusk

Hunter: alex bryan

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

me and Eddie had a GREAT time . This is no mom and pop operation. These guys work very, very hard for you and they do their homework. I canít say this enough, listen to your guide.They will put you on the bucks. I sat 7 hunts, seen 11 bucks, 7 were shooters, had 3 shots at P & Y bucks at under 30 yards, and seen over 30 does. This is a top notch outfitter

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Dec 20, 2010

Outfitter Review: Southern Ohio Outfitters - OH

Outfitter / Owner: Dave Lusk

Hunter: chad bush

Animals Hunted: not specified

I had an amazing time this past NOV. My 8 point was worth sitting through the 30mph winds and pouring rain, LOL, (which i cant believe the amount of deer I saw in that crap.) Kevin worked hard for me and told me exactly what them deer would do. Iím trying my best 2 get back down there next year

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Dec 15, 2010

Outfitter Review: Southern Ohio Outfitters - OH

Outfitter / Owner: Dave Lusk

Hunter: Jim Pochas

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

I believe Dave Lusk is a Michael Waddell wannabe. If you book a hunt based on the "food plots" and the appearance of hunting unhunted 7-8000 acres, you are mistaken. The local gun hunters do everything they can to keep deer off his property and after 1st day it seemed to work. I cant speak for the "bowhunters" but his gun hunts are nothing more than overhunting the same Archery stands that the deer are already well aware of....There was nothing done to accomodate gun hunters. And when guide told me "Deer dont pay attention to the wind during rut" I knew I made a bad choice. I hunted a stand that blew my scent into woods every day....and I got to look at open cattle pasture which where I live mature bucks avoid after 1st day of Gun season. Until he gets locals to lay off...his gun hunts aren't worth 1000$. Foiod and camp was nice.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Aug 12, 2010

Outfitter Review: Southern Ohio Outfitters - OH

Outfitter / Owner: Dave Lusk

Hunter: stacy ray

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

it was the best hunt I ever been on .. We seen more than 20 nice bucks in one field

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Aug 11, 2010

Outfitter Review: Southern Ohio Outfitters - OH

Outfitter / Owner: Dave Lusk

Hunter: stacy ray

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

It was the best hunt I"ve been on

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Aug 9, 2010

Outfitter Review: Southern Ohio Outfitters - OH

Outfitter / Owner: Dave Lusk

Hunter: arti newcombe

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

Had an excellent time. Food was plentyful and delicious. All of the helpers were friendly and knowledgable. Areas I hunted were not pressured. Had plenty of good deer coming through. Arrowed one that was probably around 130 class and we lost it. Dave and his guides followed it close to a mile. Saw a ton of turkey. After I bought a turkey tag I didn't see anymore turkeys!!!!††††† Terrain was varied and Dave is hooked up with a great deal of property. Plenty of thick nasty stuff, plenty of good bedding area, plenty of open woods and a ton of farmland with great crops for the critters. It is definately an ideal mix of terrain for deer and turkey hunting. They have enough area that they don't pressure a spot.†††††† The stairs to the second floor sleeping area were tough for me. So I moved downstairs when a couple of the other hunters left. Lots of leisure area in the lodge. Plenty of space. Plenty of room to enjoy the Monday Night Football!!! Bathrooms were clean. There were always fresh towels and wash cloths. They have a clothes washer and dryer for your use which detergent is forbidden (they have the scent free stuff for you to use).††††††† Good area for bow and crossbow practice with a treestand setup. I am looking forward to returning this Nov. for guided bow deer rut hunt and plan on booking a do it youself in the future.††

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Aug 9, 2010

Outfitter Review: Southern Ohio Outfitters - OH

Outfitter / Owner: Dave Lusk

Hunter: Robert Bingman

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

It was very warm, so the rut was dampened. I saw 3 shooters. One was a giant 120 inch 6 point that had a huge spread and thick main beams. He came to 55 yards, then winded me. He had only G-2's and brows, which were over a foot and the brows were at least 10 inches. No other points, but not broken off either. One was a large buck locked down with a doe. I saw him at 200 yards. I hit a nice 8 point in the liver, but he ran into a 5 acre thicket of small pines and we did not recover him. He was dead for sure as the arrow was dark red and no guts. Dave since got a bloodhound for such occasions. We would have surely found him. I shot a big doe and saw many does and small bucks. One of the other guys saw a 180 class buck, but only had an iffy 50 yard shot. Another guy passed a 130 inch ten point. Two others hit bucks they didn't recover, but their shots weren't in the vitals. It was my second trip, the first was in 2007 for shotgun. I passed a 2.5 year old 8 point and saw a passing 150 inch ten point, but no shot. I got a dow with the muzzleloader. It was rainy bad weather that year. My son will youth hunt there this fall. I have 2011 and 2012 booked for archery. I don't go in shotgun now that my son is old enough to hunt PA, which conflicts date wise. I will go every year if I can. I love it.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Aug 9, 2010

Outfitter Review: Southern Ohio Outfitters - OH

Outfitter / Owner: Dave Lusk

Hunter: frank Oscier

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

I've been to Southern Ohio Outfitters multiple times and this year won't be any different. Dave runs an ungodly amount of trail cams and when you come in to hunt he knows what buck and where your going to hunt. Nailed a big 9 point my first evening on stand, and that was after the fact that I shot a doe, and a coyote, BEFORE I shot my buck. The lodging is awesome and the food is even better, I'll be there this year in about a month and a half. This outfitter is the real deal and the properties are loaded with huge bucks. All you have to do is look at the trail cam pics and that says it all, oh,yeah, and by the way, my buddy shot a nice buck on his second night on stand.We were done in two days. BAM. Book this hunt, and I guarentee you won't go anywhere else

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Aug 9, 2010

Outfitter Review: Southern Ohio Outfitters - OH

Outfitter / Owner: Dave Lusk

Hunter: Lloyd Shelton

Animals Hunted: Turkey - Eastern

dave has an awesome operation and they will get you on the birds, no matter what it takes. The properties are loaded with birds, the lodging is awesome and so are the staff. We both took birds, and considering the weather that was pretty awesome. Meals were provided by us but loding was included. I included a picture of my bird and my buddies bird, we booked again before we left

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Aug 9, 2010

Outfitter Review: Southern Ohio Outfitters - OH

Outfitter / Owner: Dave Lusk

Hunter: steve weaver

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

Hunted at Dave's place during the 09' shotgun season and killed my buck on the last day. The weather was very very warm but they got me to connect on a bruiser, and a doe as well over top of a cut corn field. Ladderstand, 75 yard shot, and that's all she wrote. The staff is great and very knowledgeable about the properties. Dave runs a top notch outfit all the way from the lodging to the meals.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Aug 8, 2010

Outfitter Review: Southern Ohio Outfitters - OH

Outfitter / Owner: Dave Lusk

Hunter: Scott Overton

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

Great outfitters love the hospitality.saw the biggest buck of my life didnt get a shot but they told me that buck was in there they do there home work.A first class outfitters.I also had a great time and made new friends.when I first arrived and until I left I was treated like a king.Dave lusk runs a very classy business I highly recommend him.feel free to call me at (907)398-0859 and ask for scott

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Aug 8, 2010

Outfitter Review: Southern Ohio Outfitters - OH

Outfitter / Owner: Dave Lusk

Hunter: Randy Conner

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

Hello,I just wanted to tell you about our hunting experience with Southern Ohio Outdoors. Upon arrivial we where welcomed by the hunting staff and family; everyone treated us as they had know us all their lives and we had just met. We put our hunting gear away and where show are new home for the next five days. After a quick bite of food our guide David Lusk drove us around some of the properties that we would be hunting. After a great supper and a good night sleep we headed out for the morning hunt. The first morning was great cool and crisp and at 8:30 we had a 140" 9pt. at 30 yards. Another small buck cam in behind us and the big buck ran him clean out of this area, signs of pre-rut was starting to happen. Through the next four days of hunting we saw several nice shooter buck with three of them being trophy class bucks, the waether had turned bad as in high winds and some rain and the winds where swirling everywhere. If the weather had coorperated I firmly believe we would have taken a troph buck home, but that's hunting one cannot control Mother Nature. As I said before 5 stars on the effofts put for on this hunt; the food was awesome, home cooking at it's finest. The hunting cabin is great nice beds, a washer and dryer, shower and kitchen, also a small archery range out back. The terrain we where hunting was fairly easy to get around on and crops where evident surrounding the properties. Its not always about the kill on a hunt but the memories you make, heck Dave's Dad even gave me a walking stick he had carved out of a curly tree. I hope this helps someone else that books a hunt with Southern Ohio Outfitters, you will not be dissapointed......

Submit Date: May 25, 2010

Outfitter Review: Southern Ohio Outfitters - Ohio

Outfitter / Owner: Dave Lusk

Hunter: TOM FISHER

Animals Hunted: whitetail deer

Dave and his staff work hard to make your hunt a success. The camp,staff and equipment all top notch. This is not an outfit that takes you, and forgets you. I hunted the 2009 shotgun hunt,I did not score but only because I passed up a nice 8 point the second day. I had seen 2 other bucks and numerous does the rest of the hunt. All the other hunters scored or seen shooter bucks. I booked the 2010 season before I left. THIS IS A REAL DEER OUTFITTER.

Submit Date: Mar 12, 2010

Outfitter Review: Muskingum Country Outfitters - OHIO

Outfitter / Owner: Doug Buzard

Hunter: Greg Mcbeth

Animals Hunted: WHITETAIL DEER

I HAVE HUNTED ALL OVER WITH OUTFITTERS,INCLUDING PIKE COUNTY ILLINOIS AND WESTERN KENTUCKY AND I WILL TELL YOU THIS, MUSKINGUM COUNTRY IS ONE OF THE BEST.IT IS A SMALL OUTFIT THAT PAYS ATTENTION TO EVEN THE LITTLE THINGS,WHICH IS IMPORTANT TO KILLING BIG BUCKS!DOUG DOES NOT OVER HUNT HIS LAND WHICH IS REALLY REFRESHING TO ME WHEN YOU KNOW YOU ARE SITTING IN A STAND THAT HASN'T BEEN HUNTED IN AT LEAST A WEEK.IF YOU ARE LOOKING FOR A PLACE WITH A BIG FANCY LODGE AND FIVE STAR MEALS AND 14 OTHER GUYS IN CAMP THIS IS NOT IT BUT IF YOU LIKE TO HUNT BIG DEER AND LIKE SEEING A LOT OF DEER AND A NICE CLEAN CAMP WITH GOOD FOOD AND A GUIDE THAT KNOWS HIS LAND AND DEER AND HUNTS FRESH STANDS IN A GREAT TROPHY COUNTY IN OHIO THAN MUSKINGUM COUNTRY OUTFITTERS IS FOR YOU!

Submit Date: Feb 26, 2010

Outfitter Review: Ohio Bowhunting Outfitters - Ohio

Outfitter / Owner: Bill Pyles

Hunter: jeff giles

Animals Hunted: whitetails & turkeys

My family and i have been hunting with Bill & Joan for the past six seasons. The only reason you would hunt with same outfitter time and time again is because of results. Bill provides an excellent hunting experience with plenty of trophy class deer and turkey. Let's put it this way, he is the first outfitter I've hunted with that is as much a whitetail junkie as i am. He lives and breathes it 24/7. He knows his properties and put you in the best possible locations to get it done. His rates are affordable so that even blue collar guys can hunt with him.

Submit Date: Feb 11, 2010

Outfitter Review: Strut & Rut - Ohio

Outfitter / Owner: Ryan

Hunter: Grant Stricklin

Animals Hunted: whitetail

Hunted in between 2 interstates couldn't hear your self rattle. He said Michael Waddell hunted there, yeah right. I never seen the guy I talked to leading up to the hunt. The farmer didn't even know they were outfitters said this was the first year they leased the property and the outfitter kept on saying we've leased this farm for 5 years, well somebody was lying who u think it was? I wish their were undercover game warden to get these crooked outfitters you wait all year to get screwed and people back home to say that's why I didn't go b,s. Email me or for questions on this hunt.

Submit Date: Jan 31, 2010

Outfitter Review: Southern Ohio Outfitters - Ohio

Outfitter / Owner: Dave Lusk

Hunter: Lenny

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

I hunted with Southern Ohio Outfitters this past October. The weather was horrible rain, wind and very hot. We only had 2 nice days to hunt. Not to mention a full moon. I did pass on a nice 9pt and saw plenty of deer just not what I wanted to kill. I would go back every year to hunt with these guys. I felt like family from the time i arrived at camp to the time I left. Food was amazing and the knowledge that i gained from listening to the outfitters was incredible. If you listen to what they say you will get the chance to kill a buck of a lifetime.

Submit Date: Jan 29, 2010

Outfitter Review: Whitetail Outfitters Of Oho - Ohio

Outfitter / Owner: Ty Mccombs

Hunter: Frank Kramarik

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

This was my second time hunting with Ty. The weather was high 70's the week i hunted in 2008. Deer were seen everyday. There were many big bucks seen just wouldn't come into range. I would highly recommend Ty to any hunter. He is a top notch guide and if you listen to him you WILL see deer and big bucks. Terry is the camp cook and you will NEVER go hungry.

Submit Date: Jan 25, 2010

Outfitter Review: Clear Creek Outfitters of Ohio - Ohio

Outfitter / Owner: Todd Frank

Hunter: David Thomas

Animals Hunted: whitetail Deer

Todd Frank would not return any phone calls after he got his money. This was a youth hunt and my son was let down we are hunters and we hunt hard its not that we didn't kill a big deer its that we were lied to about accomodations and we didn't see many deer.I think they treat their big time clients that make TV shows to the best and don't care about the average working man.I would not recommend to any one.

Submit Date: Dec 20, 2009

Outfitter Review: Ohio Trophy Buck Outfitters - Ohio

Outfitter / Owner: Joe Miller

Hunter: Philip Holmes

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

Joe Miller runs an excellent outfitting service. I believe I actually saw more bucks than does on this trip. I saw numerous big bucks, however none came in close enough to take with a bow. Joe has close to 8,000 acres of land! None of the farms are over hunted and his guides (Ty & Rick) will tell you that if your not seeing deer to let them know and they'll move you to another farm. The food and lodging was worth the trip alone. Joe has in my opinion the best staff you can find. Give them a try...You won't regret it!

Submit Date: Dec 5, 2009

Outfitter Review: Five Star Trophy Outfitters - OHIO

Outfitter / Owner: JOEL SNOW

Hunter: John Wiker

Animals Hunted: WHITE TAIL DEER

Well, here is how my experience went. I found a site (sjoutfittersunlimeted.com Tracy Laws) this is the gentleman that directed me to this place, he told me how great I would be treated and how many big bucks we would see and pass up. he himself would be there with me.(no regrets)Guess what? He never showed up and I doubt he ever was coming to start with. I would not recommend this (booking agent)to nobody he is not concerned for the paying client his concern is for the outfitter who he can make $ off of by sending people too and make his commission. Nobody even heard of him at the lodge. I was like oh no what did i get myself into? Remember this was my very 1st Ohio deer hunt in which i was looking forward to, not neccesarily shooting a deer but the complete package experience!(I just got back from an Alberta hunt (northstaroutfitting.com) with excellent results not just shooting a 154" buck which was the icing on the cake but the whole experience of the hunt,you get the picture right? There were 3 of us (gun hunters) i say that because we got the impression joel does not care that much for gun hunters,he would never come to the camp where we stayed to see how we were doing if there was anything we needed or if we had any concerns. Basically he just didn't care! He left the whole burden on the farm owner and his family.(This was the 1st time this family has hosted a whitetail gun hunt)I felt the stress and pressure this gentleman was carrying. He and his family were 5 star if i ever saw 5 star. The food was out of this world! Their sincere concern for us was over whelming. Truly a wonderful family and i would recomend this family accomodations to the KING! (so to speak)I feel that this family would be much better off to offer their own services on their own without being affiliated with (JOEL SNOW of 5 STAR TROPHY OUTFITTERS)Because we saw the Wonderful side of such an experience and we saw the BAD side!..I believe Joel has a special place in his heart for the BIG name TV Host show hunters who Bow Hunt,who can film and put that in front of a huge audience on TV. Because clearly his actions this week proved he had no concern for myself and the other 2 paying clients!Yes that's right we are PAYING for your services Joel not there for FREE!..So to sum things up I was Very Happy with the Winners Family where we stayed Super Great People!..But the 5 Star Trophy Outfitters NEVER AGAIN!.If the (Winners) family ever decided to go on their own i would book another hunt in a minute along with many of my friends and i know for a fact they would have repeat customers ever year! This was my 1st OHIO deer hunting experience it was bitter sweet for sure,but it was good to see their are still some good/honest people in the world like the Winner family their name fits them well because they are a WINNER in my book!...

Submit Date: Nov 9, 2009

Outfitter Review: Whitetail Inn-Ohio - Ohio

Outfitter / Owner: Dan Parrott

Hunter: Philip Matchell

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

Booked and paid for a 5 day fully guided hunt early bow season. Promised trail cam pics of huge whitetails and monster sheds from the year before. Never seen either one. Biggest buck I saw all week was a 105 inch 8 pt. Advertised world class food!!! (sloppy joes, chicken noodle soup, bologna sandwich, microwave turkey bacon) yum,yum! No scouting done at all, hunting in stands for gun season set no more than 200 yards from other hunters. I was hunting on a 30 acre lease behind a lady's house with 10 barking dogs. 150 yards behind her house. Guide quote" listen when the dogs bark, could be a deer coming." Guide owned probably 30 acres that wasn't high fenced. Very deceiving information, first guided hunt and probably my last! Bucky Hoosier summed it up as good as possible! TERRIBLE EXPERIENCE!!!

Submit Date: Oct 26, 2009

Outfitter Review: ClearCreek Outfitters Of OHIO - Ohio

Outfitter / Owner: Todd Franks

Hunter: Kyle MIller

Animals Hunted: Deer

Todd's worker named Kyle Threaten to do body harm on my and called me several name the was uncalled for, he got out of control, I did file a police report against the man.Todd Frank is a true liar with everything that comes out of his mouth. DO NOT TRUST THIS OUTFITTERS WORDS!

Submit Date: Oct 24, 2009

Outfitter Review: Buckeye Outfitters of Ohio - OH

Outfitter / Owner: Jody Gardner

Hunter: Reggie Ours

Animals Hunted: Whitetail

Four of us went on a self-guided hunt with Jody. He gave us a lot of attention, especially for being on a "self-guided" hunt. He had plenty of stands set, knew what deer were coming in and transported us to each one to see them prior to our hunt. He is very knowledgable and accomodating. The deer we saw were definately wall-hangers. This guy is a class act. I will be going back next year.

Submit Date: Aug 27, 2009

Outfitter Review: Whitetail Inn - Ohio

Outfitter / Owner: Dan & Karen parrott

Hunter: Dave Daugherty

Animals Hunted: whitetail deer

This will be my 3rd bow hunt with Dan. I've seen shooter bucks every year and last year I finally made it happen on a real nice 140" class buck. I passed on this deer once trying to get a shot on a 160-170" buck. You could not ask for a better place to hunt. Great land,lodging,and meals that would make grandma envious. You feel comfortable because they make you feel like family.

Submit Date: Jul 21, 2009

Outfitter Review: Sunfish Valley Outfitters - Ohio

Outfitter / Owner: Matt and Brock Brewster

Hunter: Sam Smith

Animals Hunted: white tail

These guys have some of the biggest whitetail deer in the world. I had a 20 yard encounter with a 12 pt 200+ inch buck and just couldn't get a clear shot. I did harvest a 154 inch 9 pt that was my biggest bow kill to date. Check out their website at sunfishvalleyoutfitters.com. They are first class people and work hard to get you a deer.

Submit Date: Feb 28, 2009

Outfitter Review: Whitetail outfitters of ohio - Ohio

Outfitter / Owner: Ty McComb

Hunter: Frank Kramarik

Animals Hunted: Whitetail

This was my second time hunting with Ty. The only complaint I had was I booked a hunt and his site said only 4 hunters would be taken. When I arrived at camp 10 hunters were present at the base camp and 2 at another camp. Ty has great land to hunt and the food is outstanding. You will see many deer.

Submit Date: Feb 23, 2009

Outfitter Review: Ohio Valley Guide Service - Ohio

Outfitter / Owner: Curtiss Jayjohn

Hunter: Andy Wheeler

Animals Hunted: whitetail and turkey

I have been there 3 times. Twice for deer and once for spring turkey that was a free 3 day hunt for booking the first deer hunt early. The camp was more than comfortable and the food was good. He did take us to a pizza shop once and a restaurant once that he paid for. He showed us what stands to hunt and left a 4wheeler and a truck for us to get to them. he was there every afternoon and that was fine with me. I had shot opportunities both years at p&y bucks. i would definitely go again. This guy is as real a bowhunter as you will ever find.

Submit Date: Feb 17, 2009

Outfitter Review: Triple T Outfittters - Ohio

Outfitter / Owner: Tim Garren

Hunter: kirk short

Animals Hunted: whitetail

Triple T Outfitters is a basic outfit. Tim is serious about deer and does his best to make sure your on them. You will not see a ton of deer but you tend to see quality deer. I have seen many good and great bucks in my two years there and already have my deposit in for year 3. If you want to be pampered in a luxury cabin and get lit each evening this is not your hunt. If your a hunter and want a crack at a monster I would give Triple T some serious thought. If you do I'll see you there.

Submit Date: Feb 11, 2009

Outfitter Review: 5 Star Trophy Outfitters - Ohio

Outfitter / Owner: Joel Snow

Hunter: Tracy Laws

Animals Hunted: Whitetail/Turkey

I have had the pleasure to hunt with many different outfitters across the country and Joel is the hardest working and most knowledgable outfitter that I've ever hunted with. I visited Joel three different times during Turkey season with my six year old son harvesting his first bird. It takes me 8 hours to get to Joel's place and I wouldn't take the time and funds to make this many trips if it wasn't worth it. Then I spent a total of 4 weeks their during the deer season only hunting four days total. I harvested a 130" buck which was the biggest deer of my life and seeing several deer in the mid 140 while I was there. Guys that have bad things to say about 5 Star are probabably not going to be sastisfied anywhere. Free range hunting is not always going to work the way a hunter wants, but Joel's hard work and dedication for his clients are all any hunter can ask for, the harvest of an animal is a bonus.

Submit Date: Jan 31, 2009

Outfitter Review: Five Star Trophy Outfitters - Ohio

Outfitter / Owner: Joel Snow

Hunter: B Robinson

Animals Hunted: Whitetail/Turkey

I hunted with Joel in the spring of 08 for turkey and we had bad weather almost the entire time. We were able to get on a couple of turkeys between rain showers but they never came in close enough for a shot. I still had a great time.I booked a whitetail hunt for mid october and did not harvest a deer. I saw a couple bucks in the 120" range that will be great deer for 09. The small bucks were moving alot but the big bucks seemed to still be nocturnal and the rut had not quite kicked in. Out of the 5 hunters that week only one deer was killed and one missed. All hunters reported seeing numerous deer and a few large bucks were sighted but not within range. I booked again this year for a November rut hunt. The accomodations are OK; we were staying in the basement of Joel's house. While I was there he was finishing some additional rooms with baths in his building that were really nice. The meals are exceptional. Dee made 12 different homemade desserts for us to eat. Joel went out of his way to try and help me get a turkey and a deer on my trips. The guides are locals who have alot of knowledge of the area and are avid hunters. Even though I didn't harvest an animal either time I had a great time and made new friends. I am looking forward to going back in November.

Submit Date: Jan 18, 2009

Outfitter Review: Southern Ohio Outfitters - Ohio

Outfitter / Owner: Dave Lusk

Hunter: Joe

Animals Hunted: Whitetail deer

I hunted Nov 3-7 2008. Although the weather was horrible all week (70 degrees) over half of the party I hunted with encountered their "Buck of a Lifetime". All hunters had multiple opportunities at quality deer. The cabin and food were excellent. Transportation was great. The costs of the hunt were unbeatabled. I did not spend a dime while I was there. I would highly recommend S.O.O. for anyone looking for a great fair chase experience in or out of state. I will return.

Submit Date: Dec 31, 2008

Outfitter Review: Ohio River Valley Outfitters - Ohio

Outfitter / Owner: Dale Montgomery

Hunter: robert konefke

Animals Hunted: whitetail deer

the guides didnt have a clue, corn was placed 10 yard from stands during late muzzleloading season. i was told when the deer hear the 4 wheeler, they come running "its feeding time". i hunted cut corn and never saw a deer come to the food sources. four hunters and we came home empty handed. one hunter had a chance at a doe, that was it. the guide owns the land and never hunted before. the cook was really good after the meals there was always food on the table. i will never be back.

Submit Date: Dec 15, 2008

Outfitter Review: Five Star Outfitters - Ohio

Outfitter / Owner: Joel Snow

Hunter: Jay Parsons

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

Must say, I did not harvest an animal, but this is not the reason for the poor review. All 6 hunters in camp agreed before weeks end that we all felt like we did not recieve our moneys worth of "an outfitter hunting experience." I, and the others I spoke to, felt like we were more of a burden than of clients. We were up in the morning, taken to a stand,(driven right to it with a truck or ATV/ kind of strange hunting for smart older bucks) and picked up for lunch if wanted, or evening for dinner, then TV before bed. An actual attempt to make something happen for the hunters didnt happen till the last day of the hunt, and by that time most were so disappointed that we were not interested.The pre hunt, advertised gun stands with rest, but we got bow stands with no rest. It also stated food plots, but I only hunted one day over a corn feed area, and then another day by a feeder which had not been ran for at least six months by the looks of the rust on it. I have always been taught that food plots were like green fall vegitation such as biologic or Tecamate, but nothing here. Well like I said, if you have lots of money and a world class experience does NOT matter to you, than this is a place for you, "big bucks if you can see them", but if you are someone like me who wants value in what you spend, then this place is not for you. No world class experience here, sorry to say. Oh, only 2 bucks taken in the one week gun season by 8 hunters. (You know I go on deep sea fishing trips all the time, and even if you dont catch anything, they at least try as hard as possible to get you on fish. This wasnt so here with deer)

Submit Date: Nov 29, 2008

Outfitter Review: Strut N Rut - OH

Outfitter / Owner: Ryan Montgomery

Hunter: Tom Molloy

Animals Hunted: Whitetail

I booked a 5 day Semi-guided archery hunt during the rut for $1600. No lodge or food provided. Although I arrived at noontime Ryan did not take me out to show me the property location until after dark. Next day around 10AM the ajoining property owner opens up with 30-40 shotgun gun blasts and continous .22 gun fire aimed at property I was hunting. Sounded like world war III. Come to find out Ryan an next door owner are in a dispute about gathering firewood on property. I leave property for the day return the next day and about same time firing begins again and an hour later four steers from ajoining farm come through the property driving deer out. I complain bitterly by phone but not until fourth day later I am moved to a new property. Finally see some deer at a distance. Farmer owning property stops me and asks how much I am paying outfitter. He says outfitter has lied to him about who and how many people were to be on property. He says I am last one to use property. He is done with Ryan. The outfitter is in way over his head and he is running around making deals with property owners he can't keep and lying to his clients. Save your money and pick someone else in Ohio

Submit Date: Nov 10, 2008

Outfitter Review: Pine Ridge Outfitters - OH

Outfitter / Owner: Jon Garren

Hunter: Rick Powles

Animals Hunted: Whitetail deer

Three of us hunted Nov 3-7. Warm temps did not help. For the 5 days I saw 2 spikes, 1 three pointer, 1 four pointer and about 10 does. Second hunter saw less deer but did see two small eight pointers, Third hunter did see about 15 different small bucks. No deer were seen that would meet the 120" minimum. Most deer looked up at stands as they approached. Jon sent two of us to a different farm for the afternoon of our 4th day. That was the last I saw him or heard from him. He didnt even call us after our hunt was over to see if we were ok. Email with any questions.

Submit Date: Nov 2, 2008

Outfitter Review: Silver Rock Outfitters - Ohio

Outfitter / Owner: Al Mazalic

Hunter: Rodney Donaldson

Animals Hunted: Whitetail deer

Hunt was ok. Was told meals were included as well as were paid for, after driving 700 miles were told no meals would be provided or prepared and no refund was offered or made. Campers were provided including mice and no heat. Guide did field dress and drag deer. Southerly winds prevent adequate access to stand sites. Morning hunting on available land is next to impossible because of lack of access.

Submit Date: Oct 28, 2008

Outfitter Review: Whitetail Outfitters of Ohio - OHIO

Outfitter / Owner: Ty McCombs

Hunter: Jay Eriquez

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

This was my first year hunting with Ty, I was referred to him by a friend and it was worth it. I have been hunting for over 20 years and have harvested some record book deer, I never imagined paying for a hunt but I will definitly go back. I did not harvest a deer with Ty but I passed a shooter and saw plenty of game. I had a great experience and learned alot. It was a pleasure to hunt with a hard working man and an friendly honest staff.

Submit Date: Oct 13, 2008

Outfitter Review: Whitetail Inn - Ohio

Outfitter / Owner: Dan/Karen Parrott

Hunter: Bucky Hauser

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

Hunt was supposed to be completely booked with five hunters. Nine hunters in camp. Outfitter was to provide ladder stands for hunters. They had two stand set for nine hunters. Outfitter had not scouted and set stands as advertised. Advertised 94% shot opportunity on trophy class buck of 140+". No one in camp say a deer over 70". Some hunters did not see a deer. told we would be first hunters in camp. Entire property was walked and hunted on the week before by other hunters. Terrible experience

Submit Date: Oct 12, 2008

Outfitter Review: Southern Ohio Outfitters - Ohio

Outfitter / Owner: Dave Lusk

Hunter: Darron P.

Animals Hunted: Whitetail

I hunted with dave for the first time back in 04', and again this past season. Both times I've been extremely impressed. I've seen some of the biggest whitetails ever in the wild and also had the chance to harvest one as well. The accomadations are the best that I've been to. Extremely Extremely nice. The hospitaility and food is phenominal, and I seriously doubt that anyone could compete with that aspect of their business. You'll feel like family when you leave. This outfit is at the top and I love it there. I can't say enough for Dave's services. They are easy to contact and Dave is very quick to respond. www.southernohiooutfitters.com

Submit Date: Jun 29, 2008

Outfitter Review: Triangle Outfitters - OH

Outfitter / Owner: Jeff/Rex Redman

Hunter: Philip

Animals Hunted: Whitetail deer

I saw maybe three bucks during a five day hunting trip during the rut. None of the bucks shooters. If your doe hunting, then this is the place to go. This was my first out of state hunting trip and it was a bad one. Not what I expected. I will not be back.

Submit Date: Feb 21, 2008

Outfitter Review: Double D Ranch - Ohio

Outfitter / Owner: Dannie Carte

Hunter: Gary McHenry

Animals Hunted: Goat and Boar

This was my first preserve hunt and I did not know what to expect. I was extremely surprised at the challenge. I would highly recommend Double D. The excellent game quality, the hospitality of the staff, and the overall experience will keep me returning for years to come. This was a very challenging hunt so bring your skills this is not a barnyard hunt, however the guides will work hard for you to get your game.

Submit Date: Jan 16, 2008

Outfitter Review: Tri-State Bird-n-Buck Outfitters - OH

Outfitter / Owner: Doug Canter

Hunter: JIM WAEISS

Animals Hunted: WHITETAIL

FOR IT BEING FIRST TIME ON THIS PARTICULAR PIECE OF PROPERTY AND MY FIRST EXPERIENCE OF A GUIDED HUNT,ITHOUGHT THAT DOUG,AND THE GUIDES DID AN EXCELLENT JOB!THE FOOD AND HOSPITALITY WERE NOLESS THAN SUPERB!I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS HUNT TO ANYONE THAT IS LOOKING FOR A TREMONDOUS 5 DAYS OF NOT ONLY GOOD HUNTING BUT GREAT PERSONALITIES.HATS OFF TO RANDY,STEVE,AND JODI WHO WERE MOST KNOWLEDGEABLE OF PROPERTY AND OF BIG DEER SIGNS!

Submit Date: Jan 15, 2008

Outfitter Review: Whitetail Outfitters of Ohio - OH

Outfitter / Owner: Ty Mccombs

Hunter: Glenn Evers

Animals Hunted: Whitetail

I have Hunted with TY since he first started in 2003 and have never had any complaints. In 2007 he introduced a new lodge which is not 100% complete but is very cozy and will be all done for the 2008 season. He is always getting new leases and taking less people. He has some HUGE Deer, not over hunted!! Ty is very scent controlled and hunts the wind. All his guides know the land,the Deer and more importantly know how to Hunt! On some of his leases you will see 50 Deer a day...others you may not see much but trust me if you sit it out the Gaint you are hunting will show up. Ty does not have bad stand locations, you are there for a reason...TRUST him and you WILL see a bruiser. Ty and his guides are honest and hard working, they will do their part, the rest is up to you.

Submit Date: Mar 13, 2007

Outfitter Review: Ohio Monster Outfitters - Ohio

Outfitter / Owner: Dustin Pierce

Hunter: Shawn Pennell

Animals Hunted: Deer

We, a group of three, scheduled a hunt with him. We showed up at the hotel and he was there waiting on money. He had a guide with him. That guide showed up the next morning to take us to our stands. On the walk in, he was spitting tobacco and such, real professional. Never saw Dustin or him agian. After neumrous calls he finally called me back and said that he showed us to the stands and we should know our way back. Some Guide. He did offer a free hunt next year. Yeah right.

Submit Date: Jan 15, 2007

Outfitter Review: Mike Derosa - Ohio

Outfitter / Owner: Mike Derosa

Hunter: Jeff Curtis

Animals Hunted: whitetail deer

a good bow hunt,fantastic food and camp

Submit Date: Jan 6, 2007

Outfitter Review: Whitetail Outfitters Of Ohio - Ohio

Outfitter / Owner: Ty Mccomb

Hunter: Glenn Evers

Animals Hunted: Whitetail

This was my fouth year Hunting with Ty and I have always had many chances to harvest a P&Y Deer. Over the years I have seen 5 B&C class Bucks and many many P&Y. I very picky and have passed up a lot of good deer, this year on the fourth day I decided to lower my standards and took a nice 130 class. Ty knows his land and Deer, if you listen to what he says, you will have as good a change to harvest a trophy as anywhere.

Submit Date: Dec 8, 2006

Outfitter Review: Ohio Valley Guide Service - Ohio

Outfitter / Owner: Curtiss JayJohn

Hunter: J. Downing

Animals Hunted: Whitetail

Took me a long time to post this but noticed on OHio Valley Guide Service's web page it has had 45,000 visitors and want to make sure no one else gets caught with this outfit. Was called several days before a bowhunt which was fully paid that "Curt" the owner would not be at hunt for first few days due to an "emergency" sportsmen's show he had to attend in PA. But Curt assured me I would be taken care of by one of his guides. Well one of his guides met me at a McDonald's in Ohio and it was Curt's father who I figure was at least 70 years old driving a dodge neon. The "camp" was supposedly booked with other hunters. Needless to say I was the only one in camp. Almost forgot to mention the "camp" The camp was a job trailer that was also shared with 2-3 immigrant non english speaking workers who would come back at 1:00am from who knows where making all kinds of racket. I was basically given a four wheeler, a very old man for a guide who met me on the first day, a job trailer to sleep in and that was it. Curt showed up from his emergency sportsmen's show and wanted to know why I was leaving a few days early. I have been on a lot of hunts and some were not that good at all. But this one has me mad enough five years later to make sure no one else gets burned. Stay away from Ohio Valley Guide Service. If you want give me your $1500 and I will have my 83 year old grandmother guide you for some really big bucks here in Massachusetts. Ohio Valley Guide Servce Wellston, OH Tel.# 740-384-5289

Next Page >       Last Page >>

web application and database development by davidcdalton.com