Nova Scotia Hunting Outfitter and Guide Reviews

Submit Date: Oct 23, 2008

Outfitter Review: Jaws N Claws - Nova Scotia

Outfitter / Owner: Todd Amerio

Hunter: Darren Stiles

Animals Hunted: Black Bear

Hunted only 4 days and seen at least 10 bears and heard a couple others walking around the site and caught glimpses of some bear walking in the brush. Baits and stands are excellent setups. Guide really knows bears and how to attract them to the baits. Even shot a color phased bear which is very rare fro nova scotia. Outfittere really puts his time in when it comes to selecting bait sights and setting up. None of the baits are set up right on the side of the road. You have to hike back in the woods which is really good. Outfitter is top of the line in my book.

Submit Date: Oct 20, 2008

Outfitter Review: Jaws n Claws - Nova Scotia

Outfitter / Owner: Todd Amero

Hunter: J Zahos

Animals Hunted: Black Bear

I have been on numerous guided hunts and as many of you out there know its hit and miss with some of the crooks that are out there to get your money. Todd's operation is first-class and honest!! There were 8 of us that went from PA and we ALL saw BIG bear and we went 6 out of 8. It was the best hunt that I ever went on. In addition, the Nova Scotia wilderness is breath-taking!!

Submit Date: Oct 20, 2008

Outfitter Review: JAWS-N-CLAWS - Nova Scotia

Outfitter / Owner: Todd Amero

Hunter: John Masgalas

Animals Hunted: Black Bear

I first read about Todd from a review on this site. I started emailing him and got to know him. I realized he is a man of his word. So I talked to the guys and booked a hunt for 8. We made the drive to Nova Scotia from South Central PA. It took about 15 hours to the ferry boat then another 3 to NS. We did take our time along the way and enjoyed the drive. Todd and his guide Wes greeted us at the Ferry terminal. We drove back to camp. The location was excellent. We had a great view of the lake. Juanita was already cooking some burgers on the grill. The following day we got our licenses and made sure our guns were still on.The first nights hunt proved to be productive. 4 guys tagged out. The two biggest were 272lbs and 285lbs. I did not see a bear.The second night we had two more guys tag out with bears that they were very satisfied with. I saw a bear that was about 200 lbs but did not shoot. I was waiting for something with some size. The third night we had a guy miss. I started hunting a site we knew had a big one coming in. He had mostly been coming out at night though.The fourth night I decided to stick to the same site. Still no action.The fifth night was the most exciting bear hunt I have ever had. Todd said he would try something different to see if we can get the bear out earlier. Well after an hour on the stand I had bears circling the bait. I saw Mr. Big along with a smaller bear. the smaller one was no slouch. He seemed to be about 300 lbs. I waited for about an hour but neither came to the bait. Finally as it was getting later the smaller one came in. I decided to take him as he was big enough for me. Due to my excitement I rushed my shot and missed!I heard it the rest of the night and all the way back home from the guys! It just makes me want to go back even more.Todd and Juanita treat the hunters like family. They got us whatever we needed. I would recommend him to anyone looking for a quality hunt. Nothing fancy just a friendly home atmosphere.

Submit Date: Sep 20, 2007

Outfitter Review: Jaws-N-Claws - Nova Scotia

Outfitter / Owner: Todd Amero

Hunter: Doyle McCoy

Animals Hunted: Black Bear

Fellow Hunters,I have known Todd for several years. He is an extremely honest and hard working individual. We first started talking about bear hunting before he got his guide license and bear hunting to me was just a dream.With his encouragement, I started out bear hunting close to my home state of Tennessee and always found disappointment at the size of the bears or lack there of. For several years, Todd kept offering to help me with a bear hunt so we finaly made arrangements for Sept. 10th through Spet. 14th 2007 and I visited Nova Scotia where I hunted with him. I brought 3 good frineds with me and we all had a good time. The bear hunt that was provided was well beyond my expectations as both Todd and his family made every effort possible to ensure that my hunt and stay in camp was totally enjoyable. The bear sites were very well managed and the sign at all the sites were fresh and BIG. I felt more like family then a bear hunting client. Todd was good to explain bear habits and coach me on how to become a better bear hunter. To Todd, no question is a stupid question. He loves the outdoors and is great at teaching Bear 101. Just donít ask him for the secret recipe for his bear baits! The country side was rough but beautiful the perfect setting for a big bear hunt and outdoor adventure. I have also included deer hunting with Todd on my hunting list of things to do in the future.Todd made sure I had all the appropriate forms to get my guns into Canada and explained the process so there were no surprises to get the hunt off to a bad start. He helped suggest the best routes to travel and gave advice on where to get on the ferry boat that takes you from the US into Nova Scotia, so I would get the best rate. He went over currency exchange and let me know I could do that prior to getting into Nova Scotia or just take care of it at the local stores. Once I got to Nova Scotia he helped me get my hunting license and introduced me to the local wardens. He went over the hunt plan, ensured our guns were properly tuned in for ethical shots and made sure safety was number one during our stay. After the hunt he also helped walk all successful hunters through the paper work to get the bears back into the US and his extra help made the whole process extremely easy. He even had local contacts for the processing of the animals or helped with the do it yourself type of processing.Todd is an ethical hunter and some of his rules were even stricter then the Wildlife Laws. They were good rules geared toward quality bear management, safety and to help ensure the future chance for others to hunt a BIG Nova Scotia black bear. The bait sites were well maintained and freshened before each hunt. He was flexible and helped me hunt when I wanted to hunt and let me hunt as long as I wanted to hunt. He had done his scouting months before the trip and could tell me in detail what size and how many bears were visiting each site. He relayed this information to me on weekly bear updates prior to the hunt so I was able to start getting excited before the actual hunting date even got close! He has proved to be a great friend to me and I respect his hunting, trapping and guiding skills very much. I will never forget the sites and the friendship found on my trip. I will hunt with Todd for years to come, in fact I have 2009 hunt already booked with 7 friends going with me for that trip.Oh yea, I forgot to mention that my boar bear was 355LBS!!!!!!! His skull may go into the Nova Scotia Record book! THANKS TODD! God Bless,Doyle McCoy, Tennessee USAgot2hunt2live@yahoo.com

Submit Date: Apr 12, 2001

Outfitter Review: Morells Big Paws - Nova Scotia

Outfitter / Owner: Vic Morell

Hunter: Bob Waters

Animals Hunted: Black Bear

I wonder how some people can say that their hunt with this man was even fair, When I arrived with my hunting buddy we were told that they were going to bring in a bus for us to sleep in because the 2 bedrooms that were there had 2 guys in them and the other 2 were sleeping on the 2 sofas in the main room (Kitchen,living room). After we were taken out to the woods by what we thought was a guide,we were rushed back to camp because the wardens were looking for us, this was relayed to him by walkie talkie. by the way the supposed guide said to us when we wanted him to help with the packs that he is the cook and does not carry any packs. We never got into the stands that day or any day after. We were stuck in camp for the week as we did not have transportation back to the airport. He did not refund our money or even say he was sorry the way things turned out. We were told it was OK to fish even though the season was closed. Vic Morell has to be the worst outfitter in Canada. I wrote this only after reading some reveiws that gave him a fair or better rating. We hunted with this man because of the reviews we read in the outfitters review, only to find out some of these were from his friends that rented him the camp we were staying at. Makes you think what can you believe. He also had a outpost camp that was not located by the wardens. He had 4 legal sites and 10 hunters the week I was there. NO BEARS WERE TAKEN.

Submit Date: Oct 28, 2000

Outfitter Review: Morrells BigPaws - Nova Scotia

Outfitter / Owner: Vic Morrell

Hunter: Ray Tobin

Animals Hunted: Black Bear

I Bow hunted with Vic and was not sucessful (5 out of 6 rifle hunters were while I was there) however all the sites had fresh sign and bears were hitting the bait after hours. Thats why its called Hunting and not Shooting. My non hunting wife was with me on the trip thus we stay at a "special" camp which was very confortable and nice. I plan on returning in 2001 for another try. I was very pleased with every aspect of his operation and am looking forward to my return.You cannot go wrong with Vic's operation.

Submit Date: Oct 20, 2000

Outfitter Review: Morrell's Big Paws - Nova Scotia

Outfitter / Owner: Vic Morrell

Hunter: Bryan McCreary

Animals Hunted: Black Bear

After booking our hunt for black bear about six months in advance, our group had numerous phone calls and e-mails with the owner of Morrell's Big Paws, Vic. We provided the names of our group and our travel plans and started to wonder when we kept getting confusing messages from Vic with other names and requests for info we had already provided. The last phone call from Vic was the night before we were leaving once again asking about our arrival time and place. Well, after a days drive and a 3-ĺ hour ferry ride we arrived in Nova Scotia. Vic's wife met us and took us out to the cabin. Later in the afternoon Sis the cook arrived and while preparing supper, she dropped a bomb on us by casually mentioning that the next day, Monday, was Thanksgiving in Canada and no hunting was allowed on holidays. From the time we booked no mention had ever been made that our hunt would be one day shorter than it was supposed to be because of a holiday and to top it off it was apparent that Monday was going to be the best day of our hunt given that it was going to start raining on Tuesday thru the rest of the week and we were moving towards a full moon on Friday. When Vic arrived that night we told him that we were very disappointed that we would have to sit around all day Monday. Vic said that he was just too busy and forgot that it was a holiday and we could not hunt. He did not offer to pro-rate or discount the hunt because of his mistake. When we told him we were heading home he said that he would return half of our deposit but after returning he told us by phone that we would not get a refund. Vic likes to say that he is a "man of my word" but unfortunately he forgets what his word was from day to day or his word changes. The folks we met were all nice but Vic seems to be very unorganized and forgetful, not the way I would run a business. From what we heard the success rate for this year is running about one third of that posted on Vic's web site.

Submit Date: Oct 2, 2000

Outfitter Review: Morrell's Big Paws - NS

Outfitter / Owner: Vic Morrell

Hunter: MARK HARDY

Animals Hunted: BLACK BEAR

MY FATHER AND I HAVE BEEN ON ONLY A FEW OUTFITTED HUNTS, DUE TO TIGHT SCHEDULES AND SAVING FOR THE HUNTS. THIS HUNT WAS SUPPOSED TO BE ONE OF THE BETTER ONES FROM ALL OF THE REFERENCES WE CHECKED AND VIC'S NICE WEB SITE. HOWEVER WE FOUND THE TRUTH OUT THREE DAYS INTO OUR HUNT WHEN I WAS PULLED OUT OF MY ILLEGAL STAND SITE BY A LOCAL DNR OFFICER. THE NEXT 3 HOURS WERE SPENT ANSWERING QUESTIONS AND GIVING SPECIFICS ABOUT VIC AND HIS OPERATION. COME TO FIND OUT THAT VIC HAS BEEN ILLEGALLY HUNTING IN THE AREA FOR AT LEAST 2YEARS AND THE DNR GUYS WERE WAITING FOR THE NECESSARY EVIDENCE TO BUST HIM. MY FATHER WAS TAKEN IN FOR QUESTIONING AS WELL AS THE OTHER TWO FELLAS IN OUR CAMP. WE WERE VERY EXCITED TO BE HUNTING WITH VIC AFTER READING ALL THE OTHER REVIEWS ON THIS SITE, BUT WERE DISSAPPOINTED TO KNOW THAT VIC ONLY HAD 4 LEGAL SITES FOR 8 HUNTERS WHICH GENERALLY DOES NOT WORK. THE SAD THING IS HE KNEW THIS THE DAY BEFORE WE GOT THERE AND HE DID NOT FESS UP SO THAT WE COULD MAKE THE DECISION TO STAY OR LEAVE. WE WOULD BE SOMEWHAT HAPPIER IF HE HAD DONE THE HONORABLE THING ANDOFFERED OUR MONEY BACK. BUT INSTEAD HE TOLD US WE COULD COME BACK NEXT YEAR FOR FREE. THE ONLY PROBLEM IS ACCORDING TO THE DNR OFFICERS, THERE WILL NOT BE A NEXT YEAR. IF YOU WOULD LIKE ANY OTHER FURTHER INFO PLEASE CONTACT ME BELOW.

Submit Date: Sep 24, 2000

Outfitter Review: Morrell's Big Paws - NS

Outfitter / Owner: Vic Morrell

Hunter: ROBERT ALTRATH

Animals Hunted: BLACK BEAR

VIC AND HIS BROTHER ROSS ARE GREAT GUIDES AS WELL AS PROFESIONAL HUNTERS. SISSIE THE COOK WAS GREAT. VIC TAKES PRIDE IN WHAT HE DOES AND IS CONCERNED ABOUT HUNTER AS WELL AS THE BEARS. THIS WAS MY FIRST TIME THIER AND 3 HOURS INTO THE HUNT I SHOT MY 300LB TRYING TO CLIMB IN THE STAND WITH ME. I PLAN ON GOING BACK NEXT YEAR.

Submit Date: Mar 5, 2000

Outfitter Review: Morrells Big Paws - Nova Scotia

Outfitter / Owner: Vic Morrell

Hunter: SANDRAA HAACK

Animals Hunted: BLACK BEAR

I AM WOMAN HUNTER FOR THE FIRST TIME AND WAS SOO EXCITED WATCHING MOMMA BEAR WITH KIDS ALL FOUR ON FIRST DAY.TOOK SNAPSHOTS AND THEN VISITED A NEW PLACE AND ON THREE DAY ME SHOOT 375 # MAN BEARAND I WANT TO TRY AGAIN NEXT YAER.LOTS OF GOOD FOOD SISSIE BEST COOK EVER HAD KNOWS WHAT WEE ALL LIKE WAS FIRST HUNT WITH VICK ANDHE TELL ME MANY TIPPS ON HOW TO STAY STILL AND WAIT FOR BEAR HE IS A GOOD GOOD MANN TO HUNT

Submit Date: Feb 27, 2000

Outfitter Review: Morrells Big Paws - Nova Scotia

Outfitter / Owner: Vick Morrell

Hunter: Urban Standar

Animals Hunted: Bear

I hunted the first time with them last Fall 99 we were met at the airport which was welcomed.Arriving at lodge,hot home made soup was served at 11 pm,which was not expected the people were very friendly.woke up in morning to the sight of of a glass smooth lake with loons greeting us in the quiet stillness.We relaxed this morning,which was welcomed after a long flight from Stockholm Sweden.I watched a bear come in site on day 3 and it was so fasinating I did not shoot it,took pics instead.I have booked for this Fall 2000 and taking a bear home.I found Vick and his guides,Sis the cook,Marie Vicks wife very happy and hard working.Thank you all for the nice time and spending evenings with us.

Submit Date: Jan 23, 2000

Outfitter Review: Morrells Big Paws - Nova Scotia

Outfitter / Owner: Victor Morrell

Hunter: Goran Ivanoff

Animals Hunted: Big Black Bears !!!!

I am from Sweden,I first hunted with Vic of Morrells BigPaws 3 years ago.I have hunted in Manitoba many times also.I did not know what to expect for the first time in Nova Scotia.I booked my first hunt in 1997 and when I arrived at Halifax with other friends from Sweden,We were greeted by Vic personally.When we all arrived at the Lodge which I was not expecting such a beautiful place there was a hot meal waiting for us which we really enjoyed after a long flight.The weather was bad for first 2 days after which hunting was very exciting, I took a 260 kg 500 lbbear.the next year I brought my wife and two other hunters from Sweden,My wife took 300# first time she watched 4 bears come into site.one hunter took his 400# first 2 hours of hunt.I took my bear on day 4 of hunt and I thought it was an elephant coming it was light grey in color,very rare for east coast 400# male.The other friend from Sweden got his bear also.I will be coming to Victor Morrells after hunting 3 years with them I know these people and hard working!!These people know how to hunt and put you in best areas.I bought a car and left it in their care until I return each Fall for bear/deer hunting.The food is prepared just great,plenty to eat!!I wish the Fall to come soon!I recommend Morrells to all.Thank you.

Submit Date: Dec 20, 1999

Outfitter Review: Morrells Big Paws - Nova Scotia

Outfitter / Owner: Vic Morrell

Hunter: James A. Blankenship

Animals Hunted: Black Bear

I hunted with Vic during late Sept.early Oct.1999weather was a little warm which was unusual for N.S.at this time of year, but we saw a lot of big bear sign.The first day I took a large Eastern Coyote about a 70 pounder on one of the off woods roads we traveled.The bait sites were visited everyday by some very Large Bears,tossing the heavy timbers and barrells around like falling leaves.I sure learned these big bears are stealthy and super sensitive,moving through the forest like ghosts.I didn't even hear the huge bear when he appeared at the bait site!I just looked up and there he was,as (big as a Volkswagon),pushing the barrel over.I had to move to get my 7mm mag which created a slight squeak,and the bear looked right at me.He turned his head back toward the barrel in a smooth motion,and then into a shuffling gait and out of the site.After about 30 min.he returned entering in a different direction.I was really surprised because I didn't hear any twigs or limbs break.He walked right into the bait site,stopped behind some trees and looked toward the stand.I could see his large nose pulsating to locate the alien in his woods.after what seemed to be an hour,about 15 sec.he just walked right out of the site keeping the barrel and trees between himself and me.I Had My Chance And Missed It. Vic and his brother Ross worked hard and put me in the right place at the right time.They were up early and out late working the bait sites.They let me work with them on the sites and in doing so I saw lots of big bear sign,as we traveled the back roads we saw lots of deer tracks,some huge ones,where blinds were going to be placed.We saw pheasants,Partridge in the woods also.This was a Great Trip!These are great people.Marie and Sissy made sure I was "fed well" The Lodge is located on a lake full of trout so bring your fishing gear.I plan to return next year to get that big bear,a big buck,catch a fish dinner and shoot some some grouse!!

Submit Date: Dec 15, 1999

Outfitter Review: Morrells-Bigpaws - Nova Scotia

Outfitter / Owner: Vic Morrell

Hunter: Wayne Rogers

Animals Hunted: Black Bear

If you want a thrilling hunting experience with guides who are dedicated to ensuring that everything possible is done to make your hunt successful - go to Vic Morrells Bigpaws in Nova Scotia. This was the most exciting and enjoyable hunt of my life!The over 300# bear caught me snoozing because I had spent the night helping track another hunter's 500# bear. But I woke up, staring into the eyes of my bear, standing on its hind legs. Heart pounding, I had just enough time to get off a perfect heart shot from my stand. Vic is the best bear skinner around and I can't wait to hang my bear in the Rec Room.Vic, his guides, and the other hunters became fast longtime friends. We have planned a repeat hunt together at Vic's.

Submit Date: Nov 26, 1999

Outfitter Review: Morrells Big Paws - Nova Scotia

Outfitter / Owner: Vic Morrell

Hunter: John Sovko

Animals Hunted: Black Bear/White Tails

I hunted with Vic last year,and I found myself wanting to go back again this fall for the Bear Hunt,I got myself a Trophy Bear the first afternoon of my hunt,matter of fact 2 hours after Vic left me at the site.I travelled around with Vic and the boys helping them with the bait sites.I also seen some big White Tail bucks.The food was the best home cooked meals, and the staff are all hard working.These people make you feel like part of the Family.If anyone wants to have a great hunt,I truly suggest contacting Vic,they will make it happen for you!I can't wait for 2000 to come for another thrill.

Submit Date: Nov 10, 1999

Outfitter Review: Morrells Big Paws - Nova Scotia

Outfitter / Owner: Vic Morrell

Hunter: Anthony Zralka

Animals Hunted: Black Bear

Going on my first bear hunt I was a little nervous, but making Vic Morrell my guide for this hunt made it almost too easy. Vic and his staff made my wife and I at home in a separate cabin from the lodge where we had some privacy. The cook came to the cabin in the morning and evening and prepared our meals, the food was excellent and so were the accomodations. Vic really knows his business, he gets you on stand over some very active bait sites and then it's all up to you to get your bear. The weather wasn't cooperating the week I was there, high winds, warm temps, but finally on the third day, even with the winds whipping my scent around I took a fine bear about 7:00 pm, just as Vic and his guide were coming to pick me up. Vic and his people really know how to make you feel at home and you leave as friends. Vic will go out of his way to put you on a bear. When you're there ask him to tell you some stories about "Bob". This hunt was well worth it.

Submit Date: Oct 10, 1999

Outfitter Review: Morrels Big-Paws - Nova Scotia

Outfitter / Owner: Vic Morrel

Hunter: Jason Moore

Animals Hunted: BLACK BEAR / WHITETAIL

I went up and hunted with Vic for the first time this year. This was the best time of my life. On the first day of the hunt I was watching about a 500 pounder eat from the bait site , when another bear approached from the side. the second bear was only about a 350 pounder(but is still a very big bear),he would not approach the bait with the bigger bear eating. the smaller bear must of got wind of my lunch that was up in the stand with me and a friend that was videoing the whole thing. He came over to the bottom of the stand and started up. After braking some rungs of the stand I tapped my foot on the stand and scared him off. VERY LUCKY Dont have enough room to tell you the whole story, but am talking with BOWHUNTER & others,about making a story out of this.If you ever get a chance please go vist Vic and the friends I promise you wont be disapointed...

Submit Date: Jul 5, 1999

Outfitter Review: Morrells Big Paw - Nova Scotia

Outfitter / Owner: Vic Morrell

Hunter: steve smirga

Animals Hunted: black bear

vic is a very knowledgable and personable guide. he,s got a tremendous hunting area with plenty of big bears. the accomadations and food are first rate, you can't say enough about vic.

Submit Date: Jun 28, 1999

Outfitter Review: Morrells Big paw - Nova Scotia

Outfitter / Owner: Vic Morrell

Hunter: Richard Goody

Animals Hunted: Black Bear

I called Vic and asked for a lot. I wanted a hunt for my wife and I. With my wife in mind. That ment hot food, hot showers, and a cabin. My wife had hunted with me for 3 years and I wanted her hunt to be Safe, but without me. I wanted to be near but for her to hunt on her own. I had never hunted with vic before and did not meet him intill the day before the hunt. Yet from the start Vic made everything just right. We had a cabin on a lake. Our own cook(I asked about seafood 1 morning, and the cooks Mom dug clams for our dinner that night). Once we were in the cabin it was ours, Vic and the others knocked befor comeing in. Well I'll stop here but know this Vic asked what I wanted and then did his Damedest to make it happen. My wife loved the trip(you can see her and her bear in Vics photo page at his web site.)and wants to go on more hunting trips. Thats what I wanted from my Nova Scotia hunt, and thats what Vic made happen!

web application and database development by davidcdalton.com