North Dakota Hunting Outfitter and Guide Reviews

Submit Date: Apr 18, 2009

Outfitter Review: Dakota Whitetail Outfitting - North Dakota

Outfitter / Owner: Doug & Lisa Thorp

Hunter: Tom Matz

Animals Hunted: whitetail deer

This was a five day archery hunt,morning hunts were within earshot of children waiting for the school bus. Never saw a deer in the a.m. Evening hunt were better, several small bucks were seen and we did manage to harvest a 21/2year old ten point. The largest deer sighted by myself or my partner. The deer processor that we were sent to was terrible. There was no burger and the meat we did receive was full of hair. For the price we paid, I feel you can do much better in the area both on quality, and quantity with much better acccomodations. Feel free to contact me. I have placed this reference before, but, it was removed.

Submit Date: Mar 20, 2009

Outfitter Review: Hidden Valley Outfitters - North Dakota

Outfitter / Owner: Tracy Weyer

Hunter: Neil Wells

Animals Hunted: Whitetail

I have hunted with Tracy once in Montana and twice in North Dakota. Shot nice bucks on every trip.The guides and cooks are top notch folks who work hard to get you a trophy and to make sure you have a memorable hunt. This year I am not hunting out west because of the economy. You can bet next time out will be with Hidden Valley Outfitters.

Submit Date: Jan 4, 2009

Outfitter Review: Diamond Bar Diamond Ranch - North Dakota

Outfitter / Owner: Leland/Barb Goodman

Hunter: tom matz

Animals Hunted: whitetail deer

Hunted diamond bar daimond 3 times and thinking about a 4th. Each trip out got better, I now have a P&y buck, a lifelong ambition. Barbs cooking cannot be beat, be prepared to gain a few lbs. Feel free to contact me for any further information

Submit Date: Oct 22, 2008

Outfitter Review: Double B Outfitters - North Dakota

Outfitter / Owner: Dave/John Brandt

Hunter: Shane Ellison

Animals Hunted: Whitetail

This would have to be one of the best hunts I have been on. I have been on many hunts in the past and this would be in my top two. They only take in 4 hunters per week for 6 weeks, archery only, and are very aware of what is happening on their property.Dave and John run a top notch operation and should be the standard that all outfitters should be held to. These guys work hard for their hunters.Susie Brandt's home cooked meals were fantastic. Don't expect to loose weight on this hunt.If you are looking for a top quality archery hunt, this is it. It may take awhile to get in, but it is well worth it.

Submit Date: Jan 28, 2007

Outfitter Review: Badlands Guide Service - ND

Outfitter / Owner: Billy Freitag

Hunter: jeff tieman

Animals Hunted: md/wt

hunted w /billy twice plan to go back this fall along w/ 3 other hunters that I met there all are returning 1st trip shot 130 class wt on last night seen deer up to 160inch some good mulies didnt have md tag but would have had shot at 150inch md 2nd trip didnt shoot saw some mulies that would go 180inch I think billys style doesnt agree with some he doesnt like walkers he expects you to stay put in stand but if you do you will see deer real laid back hunt drops you off at stand might be 1 guide to 4 people but that is all you need for this kind of hunting if you are looking to hike and glass this isnt for you if you like to stand hunt around hay fields you will be happy I think it is a real good chance at archery trophy mule deer or whitetail without making 50 botched stalks before you connect

Submit Date: May 24, 2006

Outfitter Review: Dakota Whitetail Outfitters - ND

Outfitter / Owner: Doug/Lisa Thorp

Hunter: tom matz

Animals Hunted: Whitetail deer

This was a whitetail bow hunt in september, outfitter claimed excellent chance for pope & young, only saw two (2) bucks of any size we shot them both, a small 8 pt 11/2 yrold and a small 10 pt that was maybe a 21/2yr old. Morning hunts produced nothing not even a doe in the 4 days we hunted, all morning blinds were very close to the farm house, you could hear the school bus picking up the kids The meat processor used was a disaster, all meat full of hair and poorly cut, not even 1 pound of burger for the 2 deer, feel free to call me if you desire more info.

Submit Date: Dec 30, 2005

Outfitter Review: Badlands Guide Service - ND

Outfitter / Owner: Bill Freitag

Hunter: CHARLES MACFARLANE

Animals Hunted: whitetails/muledeer

THE HUNT WAS BOOKED LAST WEEK OF OCTOBER WEATHER WAS 20 TO FIFTY DEGREES/ ACCEPTABLE.UNEXPERIENCED GUIDE,POOR STAND PLACEMENT,NOT ENOUGH STANDS,SUPPOSED TO BE FULLY GUIDEDED/TWO DAYS HAD TO COOK OWN MEALS/SAW NO QUALITY BUCKS ONLY ONE BASKET EIGHT POINT/NO MULE DEER.THREE OTHERS IN CAMP FEEL THE SAME WAY.I HAVE BEEN ON MANY GUIDED HUNTS THAT I KILLED DEER AND SOME THAT I DIDN'T.I LEFT THOSE HUNTS FEELING THAT THE OUTFITTERS DID THEIR BEST,B.G.S. DID NOT. THIS HUNT WAS THE MOST I HAVE EVER PAYED FOR A HUNT AND BY FAR THE WORST. THEY ADVERTISED IT AS QUALITY TROPHY BUCKS BUT THE ONLY BUCK THAT I SAW WASNT ANY TROPHY. I'M FROM MASSACHUSETTS AND I WOULD HAVE PASSED THAT DEER UP. I FEEL THAT THEY HAVE THE NAME PARTLY RIGHT. INSTEAD OF BEING CALLED BADLANDS GUIDE SERVICE, IT SHOULD BE CALLED BAD GUIDE SERVICE. THERE ARE SOME GOOD OUTFITTERS AND THERE ARE SOME BAD OUTFITTERS, THIS IS THE FIRST BAD OUTFITTER I HAVE HAD. UNFORTUNATELY, IT WILL LEAVE A LASTING MEMORY IN MY MIND AND IN MY WALLET. SO WHOEVER READS THIS, (BEWARE OF B.G.S) FEEL FREE TO CONTACT ME.CHARLIE

Submit Date: Dec 12, 2005

Outfitter Review: Dakota Adventures - North Dakota

Outfitter / Owner: Jerry Defoe

Hunter: Jim Casto, Jr.

Animals Hunted: Mule deer/whitetail deer

I've bowhunted with Jerry Defoe's, Dakota Adventures 2 times. He's got a relatively new operation and doesn't have too many hunters "yet". I've taken my largest whitetail and my largest mule deer to-date with him. He may be North Dakota's best kept secret. There are many good representative deer in his area, but you could expect to shoot a P & Y deer at any time. I've hunted with him in late October and early December, but he told me he would love to take some spot-and-stalk hunters in September. If you're looking for a great deer bowhunt over a food source, he's a fellow I would highly recommend. I imagine his spot-and-stalk will be great too.

Submit Date: Jan 29, 2005

Outfitter Review: Little Missouri River Bowhunting and Guide Service - North Dakota

Outfitter / Owner: Billie & Betty Freitig

Hunter: Dana McCauley

Animals Hunted: Mule deer

This outfitter has some of the best quality animals that I have ever seen. Private land (15,000) acres with no outside hunting pressure. Accomodations were excellent and Billie is a first rate guide. He really goes the extra mile for you.

Submit Date: Dec 4, 2003

Outfitter Review: Little Misssouri River Badlands - North Dakota

Outfitter / Owner: Billy Freitag

Hunter: Jim Casto, Jr.

Animals Hunted: Mule Deer/Whitail

Promised a ranch that was bowhunting only for five years. Got a ranch that had been gun hunted to death. I had to re-work every stand I was in. Game I saw was small, not at all what was promised. However, the owners of the ranch were wonderful folks, and the guide did all he could to help. We were simply sold a bill of goods by the owner.

Submit Date: Dec 23, 2002

Outfitter Review: Prairie Pothole Lodge - ND

Outfitter / Owner: Tom/Virgina Schumacker

Hunter: Ben Willis

Animals Hunted: Pheasant/Waterfowl

We booked a non-guided hunt party at the farmhouse. Unfortunately the cold weather came early and all the water was frozen when we got there. Our waterfowl hunting was done but the pheasant hunting was good. Lots of rosters and pleanty of close land to hunt. If the group that was there the week before had not stirred up the local game wardens so much, we'd have had a better week. Now we know not to drive off the roads around fields to unload dogs. It was a $50.00 lesson, well learned. BUT...all in all it was a wonderful week. We will try it again year, for sure.

Submit Date: Nov 9, 2002

Outfitter Review: Dahkotah Lodge - North Dakota

Outfitter / Owner: Sherri Ross

Hunter: Andrew Schmidt

Animals Hunted: whitetails/mule deer

Dahkotah Lodge is a 3,300 acre ranch on the Little Missouri river in North Dakota. It is a bowhunting only operation. The hunts are unguided but your meals are provided. The accomodations are cabins and meals are served in the main lodge. The food was excellent. Whitetails are very plentiful along the river and several big bucks were sighted. Mule deer abound in the river breaks and hills. You may even see bighorn sheep wandering the hills on the ranch.Two muley bucks that were seen were simply awesome in their size. This is an excellent operation with plentiful game and provides a good chance at a braggin size buck located in the beautiful badlands of ND.

Submit Date: Apr 2, 2002

Outfitter Review: Badlands Guide Service - North Dakota

Outfitter / Owner: Bill Freitag

Hunter: Mike Meigel

Animals Hunted: Whitetail,Muledeer

This guy was a total LIER. He did'nt even show up to thank us for our business. The food was horrible and they served us TOAST for breakfast.Wehad to stay at somebody's house with husband andwife at home. We were promised a cabin and a cook.All lies!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Watch out for this guy.If you want additional info feel free to E-Mail meor phone me.

Submit Date: Nov 10, 2001

Outfitter Review: Prairie Pothole Lodge - ND

Outfitter / Owner: Tom/Virgina Schumacker

Hunter: stan matuskevich jr

Animals Hunted: whitetail deer, pheasants,waterfowl

this was a self guided archery ,whitetail deer hunt/waterfowl/ pheasant hunt combo. saw several B&C buck, no lie, thousands of ducks, and 40 to 50 roosters every day, had more land than time to cover it. the outfitter also has a lodge and guided hunts, and since he told us were the game was, and was very detailed with where we should and did find game. I would believe hunting with him could only be better!! seemed to know the area land like the back of his hand, and talking about 15,000 + acres !!very well known in the area, and well talked about in the local towns.If you want to hunt birds/ ducks, bring lots of ammo you will need it!as for deer, plenty of big buck but because so open bring a decoy, also the deer are mostly nocturnal only hunt the last 2 hours of the day the rest of the time is a waste of time , or do drives, so bird hunt the mornings and afternoons, and deer hunt the evenings.. more game than you will know what to do with!!!!

web application and database development by davidcdalton.com