North Carolina Hunting Outfitter and Guide Reviews

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Nov 19, 2014

Outfitter Review: Lily Pond Creek - Jackson NC

Outfitter / Owner: Dock Boone

Hunter: Edward Zablosky

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

Just finished another fantastic week at lily pond creek. Shot a very nice 8 pointer and a doeAlready book next year.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Nov 19, 2014

Outfitter Review: Lily Pond Creek - Jackson NC

Outfitter / Owner: Dock Boone

Hunter: Edward Zablosky

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

Just finished another fantastic week at lily pond creek. Shot a very nice 8 pointer and a doeAlready book next year.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Nov 19, 2014

Outfitter Review: Lily Pond Creek - Jackson NC

Outfitter / Owner: Dock Boone

Hunter: Edward Zablosky

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

Just finished another fantastic week at lily pond creek. Shot a very nice 8 pointer and a doeAlready book next year.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Nov 11, 2014

Outfitter Review: Lily Pond Creek - Jackson NC

Outfitter / Owner: Dock Boone

Hunter: Jay Dodd

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

I Booked a six day hunt at Verona Plantation (Trophy Area) in the month of November. We had 11 hunters in camp and the property was able to handle all of us, but the accomidations could not. The house is approx 1000 square feet and with this many hunters, it was hard to even find room to sit down. The rooms are very small and 9 hunters share 1 bathroom and there is a bathroom in one of the bedrooms. Also, there is one monitor heater in the main living room and no heat at the other end of the house. You have to keep your door open to try to let the heat come in. The meals are ok,(pretty basic) the only problem is that you have to get in your car and drive six miles one way to go to the other lodge to eat with the other camp. With 22-24 hunters its hard to even find a place to sit down. As far as the hunting goes, deer movement was slow, but that hunting. The stands were comfortable and in good shape but you can tell they have not been moved in years because the deer look directly at you when they step out. We sat in a lot of stands that were supposed to baited but in six days i might have had corn at 2 stands out of my 12 sits. As a final note,3 deer were shot that made the owners criteria and there fine for a buck less than 14 inches costs you an extra $350.00, and thats pretty much all that was seen by most hunters. I just dont think that this hunt was worth $2400.00. If your looking to get away and shoot spikes and some does this would be a good hunt but its not worth the money if your looking for good buck. 1 hunter said that he has been going to Verona to hunt since they opened this trophy only area and each year he can see its decline. I only say all of this because $2400.00 is a lot of money to many of us and you could go West to hunt for the same amount of money. Good Luck.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Dec 14, 2010

Outfitter Review: Buffalo Creek Hunting Lodges & Guide Service - Selma NC

Outfitter / Owner:

Hunter: R KEITH BRADY

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer, Wild Boar

ALWAYS HAVE A GREAT TIME- HAVE TAKEN SEVERAL HOGS- TOOK 300 LB BOAR ON THIS TRIP- MAKE YOU FEEL LIKE FAMILY-CLEAN STANDS-THEY BRING WEAPON TO YOU AFTER YOU ARE SAFELY IN YOUR STAND-FOOD IS ALWAYS GOOD- I HAVE BEEN GOING FOR ABOUT 5 YRS. NOW-DO NOT ALWAYS TAKE AN ANIMAL BUT I HAVE HAD 100% OPPURTUNITY-I HAVE ONLY HUNTED THE SAMPSON COUNTY LODGE-

Submit Date: Feb 2, 2010

Outfitter Review: Lily Pond Creek - North Carolina

Outfitter / Owner: Dock Boone

Hunter: Ed Zablosky

Animals Hunted: Whitetail

I have hunted Lily Pond Creek since 1997 and every year it gets better and better. Dock and his guides work hard to put you on game and have the best southern hunting experience. The food is outstanding if you leave the table hungry it's your fault. Anyone looking for a fantastic southern whitetail hunt should consider Lily Pond

Submit Date: Jan 30, 2010

Outfitter Review: Wild Wing Adventures - NC

Outfitter / Owner: Culley Wilson

Hunter: David Tomlin

Animals Hunted: Tundra Swan

I hunted with Culley in January 2010 near Lake Phelps for Tundra Swan. I drew a permit and had never hunted them before. One of the reasons I chose to hunt with Culley, was he said he would accommodate me with my 4 year-old son tagging along on the hunt as well. He has some very good farm area access to do these swan hunts in Northeastern NC. We saw probably a 1000 swans and a few thousand snow geese that morning that we hunted. Getting the swans to decoy in for a shot was the hard part. It was later in the season when I was there and they were a little more wary of the decoys. I took a swan with my young son there with me and it was something that neither of us will soon forget! If you are looking for a place to fill your swan tag next year or to hunt coastal waterfowl, give Culley a shout down at Wild Wing Adventures.

Submit Date: Dec 2, 2009

Outfitter Review: CONTENTNEA CREEK HUNTING - NORTH CAROLINA

Outfitter / Owner: S M GRAY

Hunter: RANDY TOMPKINS

Animals Hunted: DUCK AND QUAIL

MR. GRAY HAS A LOT TO OFFER THE HUNTER, WE DID HIS WILD DUCK HUNT FOR THE SECOND OPENER AND HAD A LOT OF ACTION AND DUCKS, GREAT PRIVATE LAND TO HUNT WITH PLENTY OF SWAMPS TO HUNT. HE ALSO OFFERS OTHER BIRD HUNTS AND WE TRIED THE QUAIL WHICH WAS A BLAST, THE GUIDE WAS GREAT AND HIS DOGS WERE AWESOME HE HAD FIVE. WHEN I WAS THERE HE HAD A FEW DEER HUNTERS IN CAMP AND THEY DID GREAT I SAW THE BUCKS THAT THEY KILLED AND WAS IMPRESSED, I ALSO SAW A LOT OF DEER JUST GOING AROUND HIS PROPERTY.GREAT PEOPLE AND I HAD A GREAT TIME.

Submit Date: Sep 28, 2009

Outfitter Review: Buffalo Creek Guide Service - North Carolina

Outfitter / Owner: Johnnie Dale

Hunter: Allen Phillips

Animals Hunted: Deer & Hogs

From the time we arrived the one guide and owner gave us attitude. Not the same guy that sold us the hunt at the Harrisburg show. Guides were literally kids, one from Georgia carried a pistol illegally. No deer for three days. Said it was too hot. Set us over feeders (not my kind of hunting) and the deer wouldn't even come to them. Finally on the 4th day my buddy shot a small 4 point and I shot a doe just so we didn't go home empty handed. They boxed our meat & told my buddy his antlers were in the box. Why would we doubt them? They were not. When I sent Mr. Dale an email demanding the antlers, they arrived in the mail bloody with hair & skin still on the scull cap and stinkin to high heaven. I am shocked the post office didn't file charges. Other than supper, meals were very mediocre at best. Placed my father in law over a cotton field for 2 days and didn't see a live animal. When he asked if deer eat cotton, the guide said no. Why was he sat over the field??? Sad hunt.

Submit Date: Sep 5, 2009

Outfitter Review: Lily Pond Creek - North Carolina

Outfitter / Owner: Doc Boone

Hunter: Art Snellbaker

Animals Hunted: White Tail Deer

Doc and his crew do an absolutely superb job of preparing the operation for the season every year. Stands are always sturdy and well maintained, the various leases are scouted so the guides know where the game is active and the lodge is kept clean. The camp food is tasty and plentiful, the TV rooms are comfortable and the bunk rooms have comfortable beds. I've hunted with Doc now for three years and I haven't been disappointed yet. I've always seen lots of game, I've seen some great racks harvested(not by me yet)and the camp staff and guides been great to work with. I've always harvested game here and my lack of heavy rack harvesting is because I've blown a couple chances at mountable deer.(I've been known to fidget on stand) The only problem can be trying to get a spot in Doc's busy reservation book. His operation is first rate and the recent addition of a trophy only hunt on a separate farm has me very interested. I highly recommend this outfitter.

Submit Date: May 10, 2008

Outfitter Review: Occoneechee Lodge - NC

Outfitter / Owner: Gil Cutchin

Hunter: John

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

Hunted deer here very late in 2006; unseasonably warm. Saw no bucks although other hunters did (one missed what he said was a very nice buck). Guides went out of their way to ensure my son took his first deer, a good sized doe. Saw does every day, so if you're looking to get your son or daughter their first deer, this is a good place. Would probably try the rut in November for a better chance at a buck, but this is not a canned hunt and sometimes you see horns and sometimes you don't. Food was great homestyle southern cooking - but were on our night of arrival. Other hunters were good company - no excessive drinking or issues with campmates; so good place to take a youngster.

Submit Date: Feb 6, 2008

Outfitter Review: Huckelberry Preserve - NC

Outfitter / Owner: George Johnson

Hunter: charles medici

Animals Hunted: upland birds quail

quail hunted with group of guys. all went very well, guides were great dogs were great and the owner george and his ranch manager joey were with us every step of the way. making sure we were happy,. been on several quail hunts and this hunt was tops this hunt was run for our charity www.dahuntforthecure.com check out the site to get a better idea of how the event went there is a link to the ranch site as well

Submit Date: Jan 26, 2008

Outfitter Review: Diamond Shoals Guide Service - NC

Outfitter / Owner: Joey VanDyke

Hunter: Brian Van Druten

Animals Hunted: sea ducks

This is my second hunt with Joey of Diamond Shoals Guide Service and he came through again. We got our limit of sea ducks when the top other operation in the area had 3 ducks for 4 clients! I took a newbie and he loved it!

Submit Date: Jan 24, 2008

Outfitter Review: Lily Pond Creek - North Carolina

Outfitter / Owner: Doc Boone

Hunter: CHARLIE SAHANAS

Animals Hunted: WHITETAIL DEER

WENT TO LILY POND IN 2005, BROUGHT FOUR GUYS WITH ME IN OCTOBER, FOR THE START OF THE RIFLE SEASON. MY SOLE PURPOSE OF GOING WAS TO BRING MY 13 YEAR OLD SON ON A DEER HUNT AND SIT WITH HIM IN THE BLIND. DOC AND DUANE DID A GREAT JOB FOR ME, AND I WILL ALWAYS REMEMBER IT. MY SON SHOT A HALF A RACK ON THE FIRST MORNING, THEN TOOK TWO DOES THE NEXT TWO DAYS. I TOOK A DOE AND ALSO TOOK A SEVEN POINT ON THE LAST EVENING. WHAT MORE COULD A FATHER ASK FOR. LOTS OF DEER AND A GREAT ATMOSPHERE. GREAT SOUTHERN COOKING. I HAVE HUNTED WHITETAILS IN A LOT OF PLACES. THE DEER ARE NOT THE BIGGEST, BUT THERE ARE A LOT OF THEM AND THE PRICE IS RIGHT FOR A THREE OR FIVE DAY HUNT. VERY EASY GOING LODGE AND NOT OVER BOOKED. ****I ALSO WENT BACK IN 2006 WITH THREE OTHER GUY'S, AND WE SHOT A TOTAL OF SIX DEER IN THREE DAYS, INCLUDING A HIGH EIGHT POINT THAT NETTED AROUND 125 INCHES.

Submit Date: Oct 22, 2007

Outfitter Review: Huckleberry Ridge Hunting Preserve - NC

Outfitter / Owner: George Johnson

Hunter: charles medici

Animals Hunted: upland game

hunted upland game with my brother in october we had a great time our guide joey and owner george johnson treated us like family from the moment we arrived and it did not stop there we are keeping in touch all the time the Quality of the birds and the doge were great when you see how they take care of there dogs and the facility you know they are the real deal they also have duck hunting and whitetail deer and turkey hunting

Submit Date: Jan 15, 2007

Outfitter Review: Diamond Shoals Guide Service - NC

Outfitter / Owner: Joey VanDyke

Hunter: Brian Van Druten

Animals Hunted: Waterfowl

We went on a open water hunt with Joey in his layout boats and had a wonderful time. It is definitely worth the money. Were 1 bird shy of our scoter limit but had the shots. For 2 hours, we never were without birds in the air. Not all came in but it keeps the blood pumping. Go try this!

Submit Date: Dec 17, 2006

Outfitter Review: Carolina Woods & Waters - NC

Outfitter / Owner: Powell Kemp

Hunter: AUBREY PAYNE

Animals Hunted: WHITETAIL DEER

MY SON AND I WENT ON A LATE SEASON DEER HUNT AND WERE GREATLY PLEASED WITH BOTH QUALITY AND QUANTITY OF GAME SIGHTED.WE HARVESTED 6 DEER BETWEEN THE TWO OF US INCLUDING AN 8 POINT BUCK THAT IS BEING MOUNTED.GREATPLACE TO GO AND WE HAVE ALREADY BOOKED OUR THIRD HUNT FOR NEXT YEAR.

Submit Date: Sep 18, 2006

Outfitter Review: Midstate Outfitters - North Carolina

Outfitter / Owner: Sammy Jackson

Hunter: Warren McClendon

Animals Hunted: Deer, Turkey

Sammy Jackson runs a excellent operation. He and his guides will do whatever possible to put the hunter on the species he or she is hunting. I have hunted several years with Sammy and have had great success.

Submit Date: Feb 19, 2006

Outfitter Review: Lily Pond Creek - NC

Outfitter / Owner: Doc Boone

Hunter: John G. Wagner

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

I have hunted at this camp for nine years. I have shot numerous mountable deer. I enjoy the overall hunting experience as well as the camp atmosphere and guides.Doc and Duane make my hunting experience extremely enjoyable year after year - they create a friendly, family environment that I look forward to annually.I would absolutely recommend this hunting camp to everyone.

Submit Date: Feb 14, 2006

Outfitter Review: Lilypond Creek - NC

Outfitter / Owner: Dock Boone

Hunter: Art Bosley

Animals Hunted: Whitetail

I Have been hunting with Dock for over 10 years. I have been on three day and 5 day hunts. Weather can always be an issue in the south, but I have never had any issue with Dock or Dwayne putting me on Deer. With the large area they have for hunting and their constant scouting, they have always provided me with several Opportunities to harvest game. The Lilypondcreek website shows the quality of the animals that are typical in this area of NC.

Submit Date: Jan 9, 2006

Outfitter Review: Occoneechee Lodge - North Carolina

Outfitter / Owner: Gil Cutchin

Hunter: Dwayne Mann

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

I have been to North Carolina 4 years in a row.This was the first time I had went here . I killed a doe on the first day just to make it easier hunt. They put me in great stands everydayI seen about 10 bucks that were good shooters.On my 4th day I shoot a buck that in 125 to 130 bc.That afternooon I went to another stand to kill a bobcat,That night i had 11 deer in front of my stand ,Looked to my left and I saw a tree being shaked, the next the I saw was a buck about 147 bc and I just shot it.It turn out to be my best hunt so fare. I am taking both of my boys back to hunt there .It is the best hunt for the money you can find.

Submit Date: Sep 18, 2005

Outfitter Review: Bear Swamp Hunting Preserve - NC

Outfitter / Owner: Ashley Mahorn

Hunter: rodney davidson

Animals Hunted: deer

i hunted on a three day hunt with the outfitter and it was in october ,and very hot , i am convinced i came at the wrong time of year,,and i am going to hunt with this outfitter again in november,,, and i know you will not find a better hunt at a better price

Submit Date: Aug 14, 2005

Outfitter Review: Midstate Outfitters - North Carolina

Outfitter / Owner: Sammy Jackson

Hunter: Jason Harper

Animals Hunted: Whitetail

Midstate was a great experiance for my first hunting trip.

Submit Date: Jun 16, 2005

Outfitter Review: Bear Swamp Outfitters - North Carolina

Outfitter / Owner: Ashley Mohorn

Hunter: Mike Scott

Animals Hunted: Deer

I have hunted here for 3 years and taken deer every year. If you want to see a lot of deer and have achance to see agood buck, this is the outfitter for you.

Submit Date: Mar 6, 2005

Outfitter Review: Buffalo Creek Outfitters - NC

Outfitter / Owner: Johnny Dale

Hunter: Scott

Animals Hunted: Deer

Hunt was very good. I hunted with Johnny during the one week of NC muzzel looader season. Killed two bucks and a doe. I was very happy with the stands,game and guides. I have rebooked for the 2005 rifle season with them. I paln on hunting with them from here on out. They just make you feel like family!

Submit Date: Dec 22, 2004

Outfitter Review: Occoneechee Lodge - North Carolina

Outfitter / Owner: Gil Cutchin

Hunter: David Collum

Animals Hunted: Whitetail

Gil and his guides (Ernie and Sam) go the extra mile to put you in stands or areas where there are active bucks. Saw 10 bucks (5 shooters) on a four day hunt, two tophy class bucks taken during this period including one 130 class 8-pointer. If you want an economical hunt with the chance to take a trophy this is the place. If you want to shoot several nice bucks, this is the place.

Submit Date: Nov 22, 2004

Outfitter Review: Bostick Plantation - NC

Outfitter / Owner: Joe Bostick

Hunter: cherylann

Animals Hunted: deer, boar

The Bostick Plantation needs to shut their doors for 2-3 years to allow the deer and boar to produce a better herd. We should have listened to the poor reviews before we left. They were right. There were 20 guys that stayed for 3 days and all they got was 3 deer. There was also a party of 6 that only got 1 deer. There weren't even any deer or boar that we could even look at in 3 days!! Joe Bostick is VERY stuck up. He didn't even have the balls to introduce himself to any of us the whole time we were there. Just because we stayed at the island plantation instead of the Bostick plantation is NO reason for Joe to ignore us. Our money is just as green as anyone else at the Plantation. The guides try their best. The cooking is phenominal. You won't find better cooking anywhere on this planet. But if the Bostick plans on staying in business for deer and boar any longer, they need to do some MAJOR overhauling to their animal herds. You just can't shoot 2 deer a day and 1 boar per day from August until December without killing off all the animals. We saw 1 deer in 6 stands. Another thing that should have tipped us off right away about the poor herds was that inside their lodge, every picture, newspaper or magazine article that was hanging was from 1975 to about 1994. There was nothing current. I'll let you come to your own conclusions. But I definetly won't recommend this hunt to ANYONE I know. And since word of mouth travels quick, the Bostick plantation should have a lot less people to rip off. Do your homework before you go here. Better yet, book a hunt elsewhere. I'm going to.

Submit Date: Nov 13, 2004

Outfitter Review: Buffalo Creek Outfitters - North Carolina

Outfitter / Owner: Johnnie Dale Jr.

Hunter: Scott Kauffman

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer,Hogs

Had a super good hunt from the time we arrived right up to the time we had to leave. We hunted very hard and it all paid off. Killed three deer in five days. Killed my first buck 20 min. after being in the stand on opening day. Saw 20 bear all week as well. The hunt was a super hunt that we have booked for the 2005 Bear and Deer combo hunt in Nov.2005. Looking forward to going back in 2005. We plan to hunt each year with this fine group. You can not go wrong hunting here.

Submit Date: May 31, 2004

Outfitter Review: Midstate Outfitters - NC

Outfitter / Owner: Sammy Jackson

Hunter: Mike Carswell

Animals Hunted: Whitetail

Very good hunt for the price. Some very nice bucks there also.

Submit Date: Feb 19, 2004

Outfitter Review: Boundary Line Hunting Lodge - North Carolina

Outfitter / Owner: Riley Sumner

Hunter: Tom Sedlak

Animals Hunted: Deer & Bear

In my opinion this hunt was terrible. 11 hunters all on a deer bear combo took 1 4pt buck and saw no bear. Despite what his brochure says he persuaded us to not hunt in the AM. He mentioned we would be hunting food plots and over 10,000 pounds of sweet potatoes he baited. We each hunted over a pile of kernel corn approximatley 14" in diameter. Rile complained because 11 hunters, and 4 male staff person went through 30 eggs at breakfast. In comparing what he said to the game commission records, in 2002 they would have had to shoot more bears at his camp alone than in the whole county. I have filed a claim with the better business bureau, the DNR and am in the process of contacting the NC Attorney General.

Submit Date: Oct 31, 2002

Outfitter Review: East Carolina Outfitters - North Carolina

Outfitter / Owner: Ralph Moore

Hunter: Tom West

Animals Hunted: whitetail

Fellow Sportsmen: When I do these reviews I try to be fairly in depth so a person debating on booking a hunt with the outfitter can get a good idea of what he or she is in store for. I am fairly critical because when someone takes my money I want what I am promised. Here goes. I hunted East Carolina Outfitters for a three day hunt starting the 22nd of October. The price was 900 bucks, this did not include food. The lodging was provided. The lodging was top notch with a beautiful main lodge or cabins available, both of which are non-smoking. The hunting was done during the full moon period so this may have had an adverse affect on the hunting. The hunting was mediocre at best. I personally saw 11 deer total. Two were bucks and they were both spikes. In camp there were deer seen, but the biggest buck seen by our party was a five point. In the other cabins an eight point and a six were taken. And some does and one spike. The guides were telling us continually that the full moon was hurting the hunting. As far as the guides were concerned they seemed like a decent bunch of guys. I did take exception to the fact that we were brought to our hunting areas too late. At least in my opinion. I personally like to be on stand at least 30 minutes before first light and more preferably, an hour before. This never happened the entire time I was there. If you do not mind this, then it is no big deal. Another problem was the way to the stands were not adequately marked. At the initial orientation briefing the owner of the Outfit assures everyone that the way to all stands is marked well and that no one should have a problem getting to their stands in the morning. No guide walks you to your stand. This is not a problem if the way is clearly marked. On our last morning hunt out of six hunters, five could not find their stand. On a quick three day hunt this means a lot! There were problems on other days as well. Sometimes the stands were well marked and sometimes not. This strikes me as guide laziness when just a few more cat eyes and pieces of ribbon could make the difference between finding your stand and wandering around in the dark, spooking game. Bear in mind that our party consisted of all experienced hunters who have hunted from Canada, to the West, and all over the NorthEast. So this was not a case of inexperienced amateurs falling around in the woods. Another thing I did not care for was that when the hunt was booked we were told that one could shoot, if desired, three does. Once we arrived we were told at orientation that if we shot a doe under 70 pounds there would be a fifty dollar fine. This is no big deal if you are out to shoot bucks only, but it still should have been specified beforehand. The owner encourages you to shoot does, then gouges more money out of you if you shoot an undersized doe. This is supposedly to protect the button bucks. OK, but then why fine someone for a smaller doe? A dead doe is a dead doe. It is out of the picture and helping to keep your buck to doe ratio in check. Why take someone's money over a dead doe? Put a fine strictly on button bucks. Once again, just my opinion, but I watched several hunters in camp get fined over this and it seemed like a rip-off to me. To sum up, I have seen a lot worse operations than this. We were told that 79 deer had been taken the week before we arrived. The owner leases 20,000 acres we were told, yet we hunted the same stands morning and evenings. The guides were pleasant and seemed to be trying (to an extent)and the accomodations were very nice. I have no doubt that some wall hangers are taken with this outfitter. When you are running 20 plus hunters at a time, somebody has to kill something somewhere. Would I recommend this place to others? If you are looking for an easy hunt and just want to pull the trigger on some deer this would be a good place to go. Most of the farms have a four point minimum so remember that or pay! If you are out to seriously trophy hunt, give it a pass.I would have to say that the good out weighed the bad. I probably won't go back, but I managed to have a good time.

Submit Date: Mar 29, 2000

Outfitter Review: Lily Pond Creek Lodge - North Carolina

Outfitter / Owner: Dock Boone/Allen Brintley

Hunter: Rodney Stephens

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

We were plagued by terrible weather. Twenty five degrees above normal. Took daily limit on the one cool day we had. Three day hunt for $750. Polite, knowledgeable, friendly staff. Very little hunting pressure on 6000+ acres. Easy access to anyone on East Coast.

Submit Date: Nov 21, 1999

Outfitter Review: Tony da Costa - NC

Outfitter / Owner: Tony da Costa

Hunter: James S. Price

Animals Hunted: Buffalo, kudu ,and bushbuck.

This was the fourth safari that my wife and I have taken, with Tony and Sylvia. Each was as good or better then the last,they could not have been any nicer. Outstanding quality, with large numbers of all the game animals. No problems, an excellent trip, fantastic hunt, and very reasonably priced. Their Huntpak'scannot be beat.

Submit Date: Jun 25, 1999

Outfitter Review: Davis Hunting Lodge - NC

Outfitter / Owner: Oppie Davis

Hunter: Steve Goodwin

Animals Hunted: Ducks

This is a guided hunt for diving ducks in the Outer Banks area of North Carolina. Oppie has about 30 blinds (shore and stilts) in a large bay and ferries the hunters to the blinds each day. They provide lodging, three great meals, the blinds, decoys and duck retrieval. They bring you in for lunch and then take you back out for the evening hunt.They hunt two hunters to the blind and give them a VHF radio. The guides stay nearby in the boat(s) and when the hunters have birds down, they contact the guides and they retreive them. They also chase cripples. Three friends and myself hunted with Oppie last January. There were a ton of birds. The reason I listed "Quality of Game" as only good is that about 90% of the birds are bluebills. We did get one canvasback, one golden eye and a scoter, but mainly its bluebill hunting. They decoy well. We had pretty weather but generally shot all the birds we wanted (our limits). Oppie said it got really nuts when the weather got bad and 5,000 birds stayed in the bay. The lodge is an 18th century farm house that they have updated, including an industrial kitchen. Oppie does the cooking and is just great at it. A unique aspect of this hunt is that for all the duck hunting opportunities on the Outer Banks, I know of only two that actually have lodges for the hunters and this is one of them. We had a great hunt, enjoyed the outfitter and recommend them to anyone wanting to hunt this area.

web application and database development by davidcdalton.com