Newfoundland Hunting Outfitter and Guide Reviews

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Oct 10, 2018

Outfitter Review: Red Indian Lake Outfitting and Tours - Buchans NF

Outfitter / Owner: Fred and Shirley Thorne

Hunter: Chad Fultz

Animals Hunted: not specified

I hunted with red indian lake from 10-1-18 to 10-5-18 and this was by far the worst guided hunt I was ever on. Monday morning my guide showed up hungover and even stated he didnít feel like being out there somehow we did manage to see a moose this day but he had my dad and I set up around a hundred yards below him on a hillside. The moose came in directly at the guide 100 yards above where we were set up. After Monday his idea of calling for moose was to stop the Argo we rode in long enough to make one call smoke a cigarette make another call then say thereís nothing here and move on. We literally road around in the Argo all day Tuesday and Thursday. Wednesday was much worse he drove us along an old railroad bed to a cabin stopped the Argo said Iím going to sleep I donít care what you do. I couldnít believe that was happening. My dad and I walked along the railroad bed for over two hours until the guide caught up to us on the Argo I thought we were going to do some hunting then but no we ate lunch he then proceeded to take another nap. Friday morning while driving along the same railroad bed a cow ran along the road I managed to shoot her I had an either sex tag. My dad is retired and saved for a few years to take this hunt and he got screwed. Sadly he will probably never be able to afford another hunt like this. In a week of ďhuntingĒ we saw 4 moose one on the way back to camp with the moose I harvested. Then the work for us my dad had to gut the moose then back a camp my dad and I skinned the moose while the guide celebrated by having a few drinks and smoked a few cigarettes talking to two locals. Unfortunately he wasnít the only guide that needed a nap or two throughout the week. One guide actually put his two hunters in different locations then just left the hunters didnít know where he went but he eventually returned for them. Another guide got extremely irate at one of his two hunters for missing a moose over 500 yards away to the point he was swearing at the hunted. The owner of the outfit Fred took a 76 year old hunter back in the country over 5 hours on an Argo for 3 days after the second day the hunter wanted to come back to the main camp but Fred refused and kept him out the third day. The elderly gentleman lost his fifth day of hunting because he was too sore to get out hunting. I would never recommend this outfitter even to my worst enemy. Fred tried to tell all the hunters it was a bad week of hunting but when we got to the ferry in port aux for the return trip we talked to more than a dozen hunters all of whom killed moose many trophy class animals and every camp they were at did extremely well. Red indian lake killed 6 moose out of 12 hunters only 4 bulls of those 4 only one was trophy size. In short DONT BOOK HERE

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Nov 5, 2011

Outfitter Review: Lake Douglas Hunting and Fishing - Deer Lake NF

Outfitter / Owner: Greg Samms

Hunter: John Saunders 11

Animals Hunted: Canada Moose

Great Hunt ,100% harvest , 4 for 4 . Great guides , good food and family setting ,. Greg Samms runs a 1st class operation . worth the trip . My guide was fun to be with , be ready to hunt as they will do all they can to get you a moose .

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Nov 3, 2011

Outfitter Review: Lake Douglas Hunting and Fishing - Deer Lake NF

Outfitter / Owner: Greg Samms

Hunter: John Saunders

Animals Hunted: not specified

Great accomodations. Great food. Lots of game. Once your guide filled your tag he was willing to go and help out the other guides with their clients. Greg Simms and family first class. I would highly recommend and would return myself for future moose hunts. Price very reasonable.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Oct 5, 2011

Outfitter Review: Moose Valley Outfitters Ltd. - Lark Harbour NF

Outfitter / Owner:

Hunter: Jerry Spampanato

Animals Hunted: not specified

This was my second hunt with Moose Valley and Dean MacDonald, you will not find a better outfitter. 3 hunters in camp. On Tuesday 8 point and 12 point bulls were taken. I took a 14 point 42 inch bull on Wednesday. The hunt doesnt end there, Dean has all the meat sent to be processed and is ready to be picked up or shipped when you are out of camp. We had issues with airline tickets and Dean never left us. He made sure we had a room if necessary and stood with us at the airport until we had everything resolved. Dean didn't leave until we walked thru security and were on our way. The best outfitter I have ever dealt with, and now a friend.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Jun 29, 2011

Outfitter Review: Newfoundland Wilderness Outfitters - Grand-Falls Windsor NF

Outfitter / Owner: Dylan Steffan

Hunter: Allen Roth

Animals Hunted: Black Bear

This is a great outfitter. The staff work their best to give you a quality hunt. I had hunted moose with them previously and was successful and was very impressed with their service ,so I decided to come back for a bear hunt. Since, I had never taken a bear before, I shot the first one that I saw. It was average size, but they had alot of big bears of 350 - 400 plus on trail-cam. The fishing was incredible. All native brook trout. The staff is very personable, knowledgable of the terrain and the game you are hunting. The lodge is nice, comfortable and the meals are excellent. I plan on returning for another hunt.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Jan 12, 2011

Outfitter Review: Lake Douglas Hunting and Fishing - Deer Lake NF

Outfitter / Owner: Greg Samms

Hunter: Frank Vitko

Animals Hunted: Canada Moose

I had a great experience hunting with Greg and his staff. The accommodations were great as was the food, the staff was very friendly and made you feel at home and our guides put in the necessary work, and then some, to provide an opportunity. I had three other hunters in my party and we all had a great hunt. We were able to take three quality moose. The weather was a little tough the week we were there, a lot of wind and rain, but you canít control the weather. I believe if we had better weather we all would have taken a moose. I would highly recommend Lake Douglas Hunting and Fishing to anyone looking to hunt Canadian moose. You will definitely have opportunities and if you are willing to pass on a smaller moose you could take a decent trophy. If you are looking for a 50" to 60" spread moose you need to book a hunt in Alaska and not Newfoundland and if you are looking to book a hunt in Newfoundland, book with Greg at Lake Douglas and you wonít be disappointed. The three moose we took were all 13 point bulls with just under 40" spreads and weighing over 1000 lbs. This is a quality hunt that is worth every penny.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Jan 12, 2011

Outfitter Review: Lake Douglas Hunting and Fishing - Deer Lake NF

Outfitter / Owner: Greg Samms

Hunter: chuck sardo

Animals Hunted: Canada Moose

Our hunt started with a overnite stay at a local hotel in Deer Lake,Nl.The next morning Greg the owner of Lake Douglas Hunting and Fishing inc,picked myself and three other hunters that I was hunting with for the two and a half hour drive to camp.Once at camp gerg showed us to our rooms so we could unpack our gear and then introduced us to our guides. After lunch we went to the range to recheck our rifles for the next day of our hunt.The camp was very comfortable,Judy, the camp cook served us great meals wich were served family style, breakfest at 400am,lunch was soup and a sandwich at camp or a bagged lunch if you were hunting all day.We hunted two hunters per guide,our guide Pious was one of the most knowledgeable,hardest working guides I have ever had the pleasure of hunting with. There was eight hunters in camp that week and we killed six bulls and one cow, with numerous hunters passing up smaller bulls.I kelled a 36in 13 point bull with a live weight of 860lbs. With a little hard work from the hunter everone should kill a nice bull.Greg has put togeather a very knowledgable,friendly,hard working staff. You won"t be disappointed hunting with Greg Samms at Lake Douglas Hunting and Fishing Inc.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Jan 12, 2011

Outfitter Review: Lake Douglas Hunting and Fishing - Deer Lake NF

Outfitter / Owner: Greg Samms

Hunter: Steve Ritzer

Animals Hunted: Canada Moose

I had a great time hunting at Lake Douglas Hunting and Fishing Inc. The guide, Greg Samms, was very knowledgable about the area. I several moose and took my moose on the second day of the hunt. The cooking and accomodations were above expectation. I thoroughly enjoyed my time at Lake Douglas Hunting and Fishing.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Jan 4, 2011

Outfitter Review: Lake Douglas Hunting and Fishing - Deer Lake NF

Outfitter / Owner: Greg Samms

Hunter: Bill Sherman

Animals Hunted: Canada Moose

I went not only for a hunt but an adventure as well. Both expectations were met. The operation was high in quality with both accomidations/meals and guides. I felt that I was just as important as the next client. I have hunted where this was not the case. My guide went more than the extra mile so to speak to help me find an animal. Although I did not shoot a moose I was very please with the hunt, the experience and would go back and hunt with Greg and his business in the future. It is a place where you could take your family to hunt or not and they would be at home and you could be comfortable with the professionalism of the people involved. Top notch

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Oct 18, 2010

Outfitter Review: Moose Valley Outfitters Ltd. - Lark Harbour NF

Outfitter / Owner:

Hunter: George Clark

Animals Hunted: Canada Moose

I had the pleasure of bowhunting Canadian Moose with Dean and Chuck MacDonald from Moose Valley Outfitters. Dean is a very honest and hard working gentleman and you would have to go far to find better. His camp is well run and organized. I harvested a nice 11 point bull on the 3rd morning of the 6 day hunt. It was an 18 yard shot as the bull came into a cow call. I would recommend Dean and his outfit to any bowhunter looking for a Newfoundland bull Moose.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Sep 23, 2010

Outfitter Review: Portland Creek Outfitters - NF

Outfitter / Owner:

Hunter: Ronald Patterson

Animals Hunted: Canada Moose

Hunted the first week of rifle season September 12, 2010. Saw a lot of small bulls and cows the first few days. Saw over 20 moose total in 3 days of hunting. Shot a 7 point bull on day 3. I should of held out for a bigger one but didn't want to go home with nothing. Only 2 of us in camp and the other hunter got a 11 point 42" bull on day 5. Walked several miles every day. Good boots and raingear a must. Look forward to going back someday.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Sep 20, 2010

Outfitter Review: Moose Valley Outfitters Ltd. - Lark Harbour NF

Outfitter / Owner:

Hunter: John Kilby

Animals Hunted: Canada Moose

Dean and his family run the best outfitting and guiding business I have ever dealt with. The location of their lodge was remote and far away from other hunters. The only way to get to their hunting area was by float plane. The lodge and food were exceptional especially considering the remote location. The Moose were plentiful. I saw 10 Moose per day along with a few Woodland Caribou (although I sadly didn't have a "tag" for them). On the second day we saw 3 "shooter" Bull Moose. I was able to stalk to within shooting distance of the third Bull and made the shot at 250 yards. The Moose was above average with a 38" spread, good palmation, and 16 points. All 4 hunters in the camp killed their Moose by the fourth day of the hunt with the largest being a 40"+ spread, large palms, and 19 points. 3 out of the 4 Moose were above average for Canadian Moose.

Submit Date: May 2, 2010

Outfitter Review: Portland Creek Hunting & Fishing - Newfoundland

Outfitter / Owner: Aster Caines

Hunter: Michael J Clough Sr

Animals Hunted: Moose, Woodland Caribou

Hi,I've hunted with Aster (4) times now, and would love to return as many times as I can. You will enjoy your stay in the camp's. Food is excellent and lot's of it each day.

Submit Date: Feb 13, 2010

Outfitter Review: Wayne Holloway - nf

Outfitter / Owner: Wayne

Hunter: Daniel Paul

Animals Hunted: moose caribou

I shot a small 25 inch moose. Wayne's taxidermist stole my horns and cape. All monies for the hunt had to be paid up front, now i know why! The game in this area has been over hunted big time! It's a chop shop kind of a deal move u in and move u out ! Wayne is trying to sell the business! Hello. Dave his brother is no help at all! I shot the only bull moose I saw in 7 days of hard hunting my guide was a crab fisherman and almost drowned us when we left spike camp to return to main camp he crossed this huge lake in a john boat fully loaded in 60 mile per hour winds! Some days we would walk 8-9 miles and see nothing. One day my gps said we walked 17 miles, we saw one caribou. My guide tried really hard but he was a crab fisherman! Problem is we were not looking for crabs! Crabs and moose have nothing in common. I love this web site i wish i had known about it years ago! Man, would it have saved me a lot of grief. These pine ridge folk will take your money and they know they know I repeat, they know the game is not there!

Submit Date: Nov 16, 2009

Outfitter Review: Lake Douglas Outfitter - Newfoundland

Outfitter / Owner: Greg Samms

Hunter: Ed Silverman

Animals Hunted: Moose

We arrived for the last week of moose season in Newfoundland. the lodge is beautiful the staff were all very nice the food was tasty. My guide Greg Brent worked tirelessly to to get me in front of game. The weather conditions made it very tough, high winds every day, but He and I worked hard and I got real lucky and shot Bull Winkle at 22 paces. 14 Points and 39.5 inch outside spread with nice paddles, a real beauty.

Submit Date: Nov 16, 2009

Outfitter Review: Lake Douglas Outfitters - Newfoundland

Outfitter / Owner: Greg Sams

Hunter: Larry Patton

Animals Hunted: Moose

I had a great experience. I shot my Moose of a lifetime, 17 points, 38 inch spread, about 1,200 pounds on the hoof. My guide was great. He was very knowledgeable, he called my animal in, he did a great job of field dressing the animal and getting him out of the bush which was no easy task. The owner did an excellent job of caping the animal and preparing the meat for the butcher. Everyone in the camp was friendly and the cook was good and very accommodating.

Submit Date: Oct 31, 2009

Outfitter Review: Lake Douglas Hunting and fishing - Newfoundland

Outfitter / Owner: Greg Samms

Hunter: Nick Skoutelas

Animals Hunted: Moose

We were there the week of October 11th, 2009. 4 hunters for moose and we all bagged one. The outfitter, for this season so far, is at almost a 100% moose kill percentage. Do not expect a moose behind every tree. Not all moose taken have monster racks. I was fortunate enough to take a 12 pointer with a 36" spread. Of the 27 or so moose take so far at the camp, mine was the 5th or 6th largest. I saw honest pictured and videos of some real monsters taken at the camp this season. The other 3 hunters in our group got a 4 pointer and two six pointers. I give this information only to give you a feel of what to expect. All of us would gladly come back with this outfitter. Judy, the cook and camp manager does a great job and often prepared some excellent local meals. I talked to several other hunters that went with other outfitters and got a lot of negative comments. Comments such as poor cooking, poor accomodations, poor guides and poor overall experience. WE DO NOT HAVE A SINGLE NEGATIVE COMMENT ABOUT GREG SAMMS AND HIS ORGANIZATION AND ACCOMODATIONS. I talked with the meat processor that handles over 15 other outfitters and got top notch ratings ("one of the best if not the best") regarding the quality of meat (the way its cut, cleaned, handled, stored and delivered)received from Lake Douglas Hunting and Fishing. The hunting can be hard, with over 50% of Newfoundland being bogs. Do not expect a moose the first day of the hunt. It took us several days to get ours. With Lake Douglas you should expect, AND YOU WILL GET, top hunting service at a fair price. Newfoundland Is a vast and beautiful land with warm and friendly people. THIS IS SOMETHING YOU DO NOT WANT TO MISS.

Submit Date: Oct 19, 2009

Outfitter Review: Moose Valley Outfitters - Newfoundland

Outfitter / Owner: Deam MacDonald

Hunter: Patrick D. Gavaghan

Animals Hunted: Moose

Outfitter, guides, and cook were great and provided a true fair chase hunt is some of the nicest country I've ever seen. Plan to go back in two years with my brother.

Submit Date: Oct 19, 2009

Outfitter Review: Moose Valley Outfitters - Newfoundland

Outfitter / Owner: Dean McDonald

Hunter: Brian Mejia

Animals Hunted: Moose

We had some tough weather for our hunt. It was very heavy fog until about lunch time and then warm temps in the afternoons, pretty much all week. Despite the weather conditions, my buddy and I still had several oppurtunities at our game. My buddy took a trophy bull moose and a woodland caribou. I shot a decent bull moose with my long bow. I did not have a caribou tag, but took some great pictures of a decent stag. Overall, it was an awesome experience!! I would love to go back!!!

Submit Date: Oct 13, 2009

Outfitter Review: Moose Valley Outfitters - Newfoundland

Outfitter / Owner: Dean MacDonald

Hunter: Mark Hopkins

Animals Hunted: Moose/Caribou

My second hunt with Dean.Passed a 15 point on first day and ended up with a 13 point moose and 19 point bou. Hunting is hunting and this outfitters and his guides are top notch.I will be back soon.

Submit Date: Oct 5, 2009

Outfitter Review: Stag Lodge Outfitters - Newfoundland

Outfitter / Owner: Darold Perrier

Hunter: Gary F. Shaw

Animals Hunted: Moose

I am a bow hunter and was given a guide that helped me to successfully harvest a bull moose.

Submit Date: Sep 28, 2009

Outfitter Review: Lake Douglas Hunting & Fishing - Newfoundland

Outfitter / Owner: Greg Samms

Hunter: Allen Phillips

Animals Hunted: Moose & Bear

Words cannot describe the time my father and I had. We hoped this would be the hunt of a lifetime and it far exceeded that. Now we want to come every year, the heck with the once in a lifetime thing. Lodge was awesome, cook was the best ever, guides worked hard and socialized great. The only thing that slightly worked against us was the weather (too warm for the full rut) but the guides worked hard to overcome what they could not control and the camp tagged out with 3 Bulls and an awesome bear despite the warm weather. The week prior the camp also tagged out and had 2 moose down by 8am Monday morning. WOW! Great teamwork. Please call or email me and I would love to tell you all about it. Newfoundland is the friendliest place on earth and we will be back Guaranteed!!

Submit Date: Sep 28, 2009

Outfitter Review: Lake Douglas Hunting & Fishing - Newfoundland

Outfitter / Owner: Greg Samms

Hunter: Elmer "Butch" Phillips

Animals Hunted: Moose

Recommended to anyone and everyone that will listen. What a great hunt. The Scenary, the food, the adventure and the ARGO is worth the trip alone. Then ad lots of animals and experienced guides and the hunt is over the top. My son shot a Bear of a lifetime a day after he shot his first ever Moose and those were the first 2 days of the hunt. Camp tagged out for 2nd week in a row and the hunting will only get better as the weather gets colder. Call me anytime to discuss anything about the trip.

Submit Date: Sep 22, 2009

Outfitter Review: Lake Douglas Hunting and Fishing Inc. - Newfoundland

Outfitter / Owner: Gregg Samms

Hunter: Scott Fitzgerald

Animals Hunted: Moose

I didn't know what to expect on this hunt, Gregg Samms the owner had donated this hunt to an organization I belong to, I didn't know if I would be treated the same as a paying client but those worries were soon layed to rest. Right to the heart of the matter, By 8 o'clock the first morning of my hunt, I had my moose. A big one. 42-1/4" spread and 16 long thick points. Way beyond my expectations. To make this more impressive there were three other bulls and three cows in this one group, and I probably seen 25-30 moose this week. The food was outstanding prepared by Judy, homecooked with a different dessert every night, I thank you, but my waistline doesn't. And the guides, everyone of them knew the area well, helped one another out without being asked to and were very warm and friendly. They all helped out preparing the meat for the butcher and cleaned the animals up excellent. We had 4 hunters in camp that week and 3 of us had moose by 8 a.m. first morning and by Wednesday evening all 4 of us had scored. 100% sucess for moose. Could I ever write enough about what a great time I had while here? Probably not. But if you would like to know more don't hesitate to contact me and I will help you out the best I can. And a special Thanks to Steve Regular my guide for putting me on the moose of a lifetime, Thanks Buddy!!

Submit Date: Aug 24, 2009

Outfitter Review: Lake Douglas Hunting and Fishing - Newfoundland

Outfitter / Owner: Greg Samms

Hunter: Fred Jaeger

Animals Hunted: Moose

This is a great outfitter and provided a great hunt where I bagged a trophy bull moose!

Submit Date: Jun 28, 2009

Outfitter Review: Adventure Quest Outfitters - Newfoundland

Outfitter / Owner: Murray Cruickshank

Hunter: Doug Cooper

Animals Hunted: Black Bear

Definitely a first class hunting operation. We were made to feel at home from the moment we entered the lodge. Everyone at camp worked very hard to make sure this was a memorable hunt. There were three of us in the hunting party and we all saw bears and two of managed to arrow really good bears and the third had one at full draw for over a minute but was never given a clean shot and had to pass. Probably would have seen more bears had it not been May and the weather cooperated but the guides still managed to put us all on bears. Already making plans for a return trip for spring bear but next time will go a little later in the season. Also may book for moose as they were regularly seen on the way into the bear stands.

Submit Date: Apr 19, 2009

Outfitter Review: Lake Douglas Hunting and Fishing - Newfoundland

Outfitter / Owner: Greg Samms

Hunter: Glenda Givens

Animals Hunted: Moose, caribou, bear

September, 2007 was our first trip to Lake Douglas. Greg and his guides were excellent in every way. Greg was my husband's guide and that was great because he liked to hunt like my husband-stay out all day. And that paid off because Stan shot a great caribou and a moose in the same day. Then I tried to get a bear. Nothing showed up at the bait while I was in my stand. Maybe I will be lucky next time. The food and accommodations could not have been better. We will be back.

Submit Date: Dec 22, 2008

Outfitter Review: Newfoundland Wilderness Outfitters - Newfoundland

Outfitter / Owner: Ray Saunders

Hunter: Bill Kurtz

Animals Hunted: Moose

All the hunting shows that talk about all the moose in Newfoundland make a guy think they are hiding behind every tree, Im telling you, they're not, this is a hunt and you do have to spend sometime away from the lodge, but if your looking for an outfitter who's crew will go the extra mile to help you fill your tag, look no further. The lodge is clean and the food is very good and plenty of it. Guides dont go hiding in the corner at the end of the day, they like to hang out with the guests and maybe partake in a refreshment with you to help celebrate your kill, but then are back at it bright and early the next morning to help anyone else who hasn't tagged out no matter what the weather is like. 5 guys in camp our week took 5 moose, 3 bulls and 2 cows. I passed on a small bull early in the week, looking for a bigger one and then took a cow on the last day. I saw a moose everyday and I was perfectly willing to eat my tag on the last morning because I was so satisfied with the hunt and the effort of the crew. This is a hunt and not a shoot. If your willing to listen to Ray and the crew and let them do the guiding (this is why you hired them) I have all the confidence that you will have a opportunity to fill your tag. I give this camp and crew 5 stars!

Submit Date: Dec 5, 2008

Outfitter Review: West Woods Outfitters - Newfoundland

Outfitter / Owner: Stewart Butland

Hunter: Robert Gottshall

Animals Hunted: Moose,Woodland Caribou,Black Bear

Hunted with brother and friend September of 2008. Filled all of our tags and had a great time. Three bear, three moose, and two awesome caribou. Steward was up front and honest on exspectations of hunt. This was a welcome surprise from other hunts I've been on. Food was so good I put on a few pounds, even after walking miles in that sponge terrain. All the guides were personable and fun to be around. No pressure to shoot your animal, just well experienced advise. Look forward to going up again when the moose are rutting.

Submit Date: Nov 23, 2008

Outfitter Review: Wilderness Outfitters - Newfoundland

Outfitter / Owner: Ray Saunders

Hunter: Matthew Kieron

Animals Hunted: Moose / Caribou

This was my fourth hunt with Wilderness Outfitters. Every hunt was very excellent overall,always filling my tags for moose & caribou except this last hunt. The caribou herd is down in the area we hunted. I only saw one caribou and it was too far(500yds)for me to shoot. It was a big stag! I did kill a very big stag caribou weighing over 400lbs with this outfitter in 2005. On this hunt I s killed a nice 6pt moose.Ray Saunders is the most accommodating outfitters I ever met. His staff is experienced,friendly,and determined to make your hunt successful and enjoyable!

Submit Date: Nov 2, 2008

Outfitter Review: Portland Creek Hunting and Fishing - Newfoundland

Outfitter / Owner: Aster Caines

Hunter: Roland Metivier

Animals Hunted: moose

Passed on a small 5 point bull on the first day. Took an 11 point 36.5 inch bull on the second morning. I was the only hunter in camp with the guide and cook for the week. Walked every morning and through the course of the week saw 75 carobou, 1 trophy bull and 1 good sized bull 5 other smaller bulls. 15 moose 2 small bulls and the one I shot and the rest cows and calves. Hunt was Oct. 5-12 guide cupped hands over mouth and called in the 5 point. I had a great time.

Submit Date: Oct 14, 2008

Outfitter Review: Moose Valley Outfitters - Newfoundland

Outfitter / Owner: Dean MacDonald

Hunter: Jim Joy

Animals Hunted: Moose, Caribou

This was my first hunting trip to newfoundland. We hunted with MVO the first week of October 2008. Dean took care of all the details to insure things went smooth from the time we arrived on the Island. My brother and I hunted out of the "bear" pond camp with Howard (camp cook), Terry and Ivan (guides). You will not find a better, harder working group of guy's to hunt with anywhere. Terry and Ivan are excellent guides who know the game and country very well. We saw game every day in very difficult weather conditions. My brother and I both took bull moose and caribou stags. This is a first class spot and stalk hunt with first class people. I highley recommed this hunt for someone looking for a newfoundland adventure.

Submit Date: Oct 7, 2008

Outfitter Review: Portland Creek Outfitters - Newfoundland

Outfitter / Owner: Aster Caines

Hunter: Kendall Dace

Animals Hunted: Moose

My camp/cabin was very remote. 4 hours in by track ATV. Log cabin, modern kitchen, hot shower, clean. Cook was wife of a guide, fresh baked bread and home cooked meals, delicious.I began seeing moose 500 yards from the cabin. Started hunting first day at 9:00 AM and shot my bull at 10:30 AM less than a mile from the cabin. Saw other moose also. My two hunting partners both shot bulls. That camp is more expensive and less hunted. Only about 1/2 dozen hunters per year. No locals. It is in the extreme upper part of Western Newfoundland. The most abundant moose population in Newfoundland. Also good caribou stagsa. Asters other cabin in the area about 45 minutes away by ATV had good success also. First day they opened the cabin door and shot two bulls at 7:00 AM.Aster Caines is honest and a good person. Runs a good outfit. Our guides were all very experienced and live on the coast in that area. They keep a tablet of kills in the cabin. 100% success over the last five years. Aster has many references to call.There is an excellent meat cutter, packager in his town who will cut wrap and freeze overnight for a fair price.I definitely recommend Aster Caines.

Submit Date: Oct 3, 2008

Outfitter Review: Portland Creek Hunting and Fishing - Newfoundland

Outfitter / Owner: Aster Caines

Hunter: G Cote

Animals Hunted: Moose

Hunted opening week of rifle season 2008. Passed up a shot on a decent bull on the first day. Saw mostly small bulls and cows the rest of the week. Saw 27 moose total in 5 days. Shot a 6 point bull on day 5. I was holding out for a bigger one but didn't want to go home with nothing. Only 2 of us in camp and the other hunter got a 12 point 37" bull on the last day. Guides worked very hard. Walked lots of miles every day. Good boots and raingear a must. Excellent cook, good people, look forward to going back someday.

Submit Date: Oct 1, 2008

Outfitter Review: Tuckamore Lodge - Newfoundland

Outfitter / Owner: Barb Genge

Hunter: Harry Lawler

Animals Hunted: Moose

My experience with Tuckamore Lodge in Sept. '08 was the best in all regards. The fact that I plan to return to hunt says it all. Please feel free to contact me for any specific questions or details.

Submit Date: Sep 21, 2008

Outfitter Review: Lake Douglas Outfitters - Newfoundland

Outfitter / Owner: Greg

Hunter: Justin Magness

Animals Hunted: Moose Caribou Bear

Ownership changed 4 months before our hunt, all of us are very experienced hunters, out of 5 of us 4 moose were seen in the "prime of the rut" only one was a bull which two hunters saw while they were together. I saw 2 moose all week both cows shot the second one the last day,thank god I opted for an either sex tag, and saw 2 bull caribou all week, also shot the second one on the last day, saw no bears. Total taken 2 moose, 3 caribou (only 3 bulls seen). Owner Greg was my cousins guide didn't even bother to get up one morning, most of the guides wanted to road hunt, except for mine. Also Local hunters everywhere, at least they were easier to call in than the moose. Even the guide were mad with the way things were. Also both moose and two of the caribou were taken at the secret "Lake Spot" which none was allowed to go to, my guide begged the owner every day to go there and was finally allowed on the last day. Feel free to call me if you would like to know more.

Submit Date: Feb 1, 2008

Outfitter Review: Effords - Newfoundland

Outfitter / Owner: Bob Efford

Hunter: Ray

Animals Hunted: Caribou/Moose

Bob Efford has a nice camps in Newfoundland. The guides are experienced and will guide to your expectations. The Moose seem to be more plentiful than the caribou. The caribou numbers seem to be dropping in this region according to the guides. Overall a nice hunt and good food.

Submit Date: Jan 30, 2008

Outfitter Review: Roberts' Outfitting - Newfoundland

Outfitter / Owner: Otto/Annie Roberts

Hunter: George Boskat

Animals Hunted: Moose, Caribou, Bear

This was my third hunt with Otto and Annie.(2 caribou & 1 moose) Weather conditions have varied from sunny & 80 degrees to snowy and 25 degrees. Regardless, the guides always found us the animals we were after. Early in the week the hunting may be a little more relaxed and layed back, but as the days pass, the pace picks up. They pride themselves on their success ratio and will bend over backwards to get you your opportunity.They take it personally. The camp is only a couple years old and Otto has most of the bugs worked out. It's clean, comfortable, warm, dry, and relaxing. It gets better evey year. As far as the food is concerned, the only thing you need to worry about is how much weight you'll gain. Eveyone is very friendly and helpful. They have a true concern about your well being as well as your success.You are always made to feel like you're part of the family. Give me a call or drop me an e-mail, I'll be more than happy to answer any questions you may have. My spot is already reserved for 2009.

Submit Date: Jan 19, 2008

Outfitter Review: Serpentine Valley Outfitters - Newfoundland

Outfitter / Owner: Gary Sparkes/Wayne Stratton

Hunter: Don Eason

Animals Hunted: Moose

Had a great trip. One hunter saw 27 moose - 21 cows and 6 bulls in one day. Great food and lots of it.

Submit Date: Dec 26, 2007

Outfitter Review: Newfoundland Wilderness Outfitters - Newfoundland

Outfitter / Owner: Ray Saunders

Hunter: Karl Evans

Animals Hunted: Moose

My wife and I hunted with Ray and his crew for the second time in October 2007. The lodge and food is great.The guides absolutely work their butts off for you and work well together to find game for you. I saw 11 moose total, could have tagged out the first day, but waited until the 4th day to shoot my bull. Also saw a few caribou but no bears. I highly recommend Ray and NWO. We are planning our 3rd hunt with Ray in 2009 and are taking some friends with us as well.

Submit Date: Nov 18, 2007

Outfitter Review: Serpentine Valley Outfitters - Newfoundland

Outfitter / Owner: Gary Sparkes/Wayne Stratton

Hunter: Don Eason

Animals Hunted: Moose

Had a great hunt, took a 32" moose on the first day. We filled 7 of 8 tags and the other hunter held out for a monster. Good lodge and the food was great. To get to camp, we had a 3 mile boat ride so no local hunters. One hunter saw 27 moose in one day; 21 cows and 6 bulls. Good people!

Submit Date: Oct 14, 2007

Outfitter Review: Newfoundland Wilderness Outfitters - Newfoundland

Outfitter / Owner: Ray Saunders

Hunter: Robert Keesler

Animals Hunted: Moose, black bear

Many people believe there is a moose behind every tree in Newfoundland. I was guilty of that train of thought and quickly learned that was simply not the case. This is a tough hunt with changing weather, long walks, mixed emotions and total reward in every way. If you are in good physical shape, hunt hard, and stay positive, I have no doubt you will be successful with this incredible outfitter. I have hunted several times with different outfitters in Canada and Africa and this outfit is by far the best run, well managed outfit I have ever come across. Ray and his guides are some of the greatest people I have ever been privileged to become friends with. I hunted with Newfoundland Wilderness Oufitters in August and October of 2007. My wife went with me to go fishing. My August hunt was an archery hunt that was simply awesome. I turned down opportunities to shoot a cow and some small bulls. I was in search of a big bull. My guide Gary put me in front of 13 moose during the week and one very nice bull. I did not get a shot as he stayed about 80 yards out. My wife booked a fishing trip and although the salmon run appeared to be over, she took some very fine brook trout and had a wonderful time. Her guide Terry was very good about finding fish and helping her become a better angler.I rebooked with Ray for October since the moose tag is good for a full year. I could not hunt the full week and Ray made special concessions for my wife and I to be able to leave early. I took my bull (a 14 point bruiser about 1200 pounds and 37" spread) on Tuesday. The reward was well worth the work and I was never so proud of an animal in all of my life. My time spent at Newfoundland Wilderness Outfitters was soemthing that I will never forget. Having hunted with a couple of different outfitters, I can say with confidence that I have never felt so at ease and truthfully, so at home. The time spent after the hunts with Verlie and the guys was time truly spent with friends. There is a difference between outfitters and guides going through the motions of good business and outfitters and guides who are just good people and enjoy your company. These people are some of the best I have ever met. If I had not shot a moose on either trip, I would still recommend this hunt to anyone for the atmosphere alone. My wife and I have made friends for life.The processing of the meat and cape is handled very quickly and efficiently. The camp is equipped with all the basic amenities including electric (generator), running water, shower, etc... Everyone works together and everyone cares. A great outfit. I cannot wait to return for caribou and spring bear. Please feel free to email me and ask me any questions you may have about this awesome experience. Rob Keeslerthestar42004@yahoo.com

Submit Date: Sep 26, 2007

Outfitter Review: Moose Valley Outfitters - Newfoundland

Outfitter / Owner: Dean Macdonald

Hunter: Mark Hopkins

Animals Hunted: Moose

We took 4 nice bulls.Two 14 point, big 11 point and 18 point. Great guides all around. Great food. Just go, you wont be disappointed. Just dont take my week.

Submit Date: Sep 24, 2007

Outfitter Review: Snowshoe Lake Hunting - Newfoundland

Outfitter / Owner: Ron/John Hicks

Hunter: David Blevins

Animals Hunted: Caribou/Bear

This was the greatest hunt I have ever been on. The experience of the guide made it fun and exciting all at once.. I would go back every year if I could.

Submit Date: Jul 27, 2007

Outfitter Review: Victoria Outfitters & Lodge - Newfoundland

Outfitter / Owner: Dave Evans

Hunter: kristmundur Skarphedinsson

Animals Hunted: Black bear

This was a father son hunt and we had a great hunt.Had a great time in camp you cant go wrong with this place.

Submit Date: Mar 14, 2007

Outfitter Review: Owl's Nest Lodge - Newfoundland

Outfitter / Owner: Ron Parsons

Hunter: Eric Austin

Animals Hunted: Moose

When you first talk with owner Ron Parsons, he comes off as a real nice guy. He'll tell you about all the moose & caribou your going to see and even what size you can expect to see on a daily basis.When your plane drops you off at the airport your picked up in a van and taken to some remote parking lot in the middle of nowhere. From there a large tour bus will pick you up (along with other groups) and take you to meet Ron at his house/office. Once there, Ron will shake your right hand and stick a drink in your left. Then take your money. This is the last you will see of Ron Parsons (he will be taking off in a few days to winter in Florida).The next day they flew us to a remote camp. It was all down hill from the minute we touched down. One of the guides asked who had a caribou tag. My buddy stated that he was the one hunting for caribou. The guides response was "they flew you out here for caribou?" This is NOT what a person that just dropped over 6k on a hunt wants to hear.Needless to say...he didn't see any caribou.As far as moose go...I don't think theres one around for a hundred miles. This area has been shot out years ago. The fact that we didn't see any moose didn't bother me at first because as everyone knows...hunting is hunting. Then it hit us. Of all the miles we covered every day..we NEVER cut a track!!! (holly crap...I at least see tracks on a bad hunt) This entire area was void of ALL game large and small (it was as if the entire place was nuked) I didn't' even see a bird!My guide was a young kid (early 20's) and was overheard on his cell phone one night (out side one of the bedroom windows) telling someone to get him outta there cuz there's no moose here and he can't make any tips if he doesn't get his hunters moose. He really felt bad we were getting jambed on this hunt and worked hard. The two other guides (one of whom NEVER hunted the area before) didn't put much effort into anything. They blamed the weather for no moose and said it was too warm (yet it snowed while we were there). We pointed out that that still doesn't explain the complete lack of moose sign. They just shrugged. The day before we were supposed to leave they said a big storm is coming in and we should leave today or we might not get out for days. They had the plane come get us at first light (and yup...you guessed it...no storm) The cook was the only guys in camp that everyone really liked. He did a good job.The camp itself was nice. The Argo's that we were supposed to be getting around in broke down constantly & we worked on them every day.Mr Parsons is good at one thing. Advertising. He is, without a doubt an advertising wizzard. He's got one hell of a scam going, and I would advise anyone to STAY AWAY...you've been warned.!!!

Submit Date: Mar 12, 2007

Outfitter Review: Owl's Nest Lodge - Newfoundland

Outfitter / Owner: Ron Parsons

Hunter: M. Austin

Animals Hunted: Moose/Caribou

This guy is running a scam. I'm sure there were moose in his concession at one time, but it's been hunted out long ago. We had six in our group and three guides. Not a single moose or caribou was spotted all week. This place had zero game. One of the guides admitted that he had NEVER hunted the area (which in our minds does not make him a guide at all, just another person wandering around aimlessly in the bog.)The Argo's were in poor shape and we (the hunters) constantly had to repair them as the guides didn't know how. Also, each group of two was promised an Argo and one group had to go without as there were only two in camp (which meant they had to hunt near camp)Owl's Nest Lodge ripped us off for $30,000 (yes...that's 5k each)Beware...this guy is slick (he should be, he's a lawyer & Owl's Nest is a side thing for him)

Submit Date: Mar 12, 2007

Outfitter Review: Tuckamore Lodge - Newfoundland

Outfitter / Owner: Barb Genge

Hunter: Mark Austin

Animals Hunted: Moose

Three of us went on this hunt several years ago (2004). We were to stay at the outpost camp. I wanted to bowhunt so my brother and his guide headed for the outpost while my guide had a few other ideas he wanted to try and we would then meet my brother and our other hunting pal later in the day. I saw nine moose before noon (and drew back on several just for the fun of it.) Getting to the outpost is a real experience in itself. A long truck ride down the highway leads to a logging road. Another long ride on the bumpy logging road and then you pack your gear on your back and take a two mile walk on a trail through the woods. Finally you reach a huge lake and take a 15 minute boat ride to the outpost cabin.Barb told my brother to pay attention while walking to the outpost as there are lots of moose in that area. He never even made it to the outpost! Halfway there he took a beautiful bull.I took a 36" bull on my third day & our third hunter passed up numerous moose in search of something bigger (he's already shot several large Alaskan/Yukon moose and would only take a real wall-hanger). We were treated like royalty and ate like kings! Barb let me bear hunt the rest of the week for the cost of a tag & would only have to pay if I took one ($400).There was a least 10 other hunters at the main camp and EVERYONE took a moose!!!If you have the chance to hunt with Barb at Tuckamore Lodge...don't hesitate!

Submit Date: Feb 22, 2007

Outfitter Review: Newfoundland Wilderness Outfitters - Newfoundland

Outfitter / Owner: Ray Saunders

Hunter: Frank Sorbero

Animals Hunted: Moose, Woodland Caribou

Saw a huge cow my first day hunting and passed on her. By 0900 my second day I had an awesome bull moose. Third day I got my caribou - first caribou I saw. Caribou are truly a majestic animal. Camaraderie was unbeatable after the hunts. Guides were knowledgeable and had excellent skills. I loved the area and countryside, miles and miles with little sign of people. I am planning on going back someday.

Submit Date: Jan 26, 2007

Outfitter Review: Newfoundland Wilderness Outfitters - Newfoundland

Outfitter / Owner: Ray Saunders

Hunter: Karl or Rebecca Evans

Animals Hunted: Moose, Black Bear

I did not take a moose or bear, but not for lack of trying! Ray and his guys worked their butts off trying to find game but hurricane winds and rain had the game hiding. Verly (the chef) will make sure you are not hungry and time spent in the basement around the wood stove with the guides was time spent with friends...my wife and I are going back in October 2007.

Submit Date: Jan 23, 2007

Outfitter Review: Adventure Quest - Newfoundland

Outfitter / Owner: Murray Cruickshank

Hunter: Richard Harris

Animals Hunted: Moose

This was my fourth hunting trip to Newfoundland. And none came close to Moose Mountain Lodge. The food is prepared by Chef Alphonse it was as good if not better then some of the fine restaurants in Los Angeles. The hunting was very good, got a 14 point Bull.The other hunters were all pleased as well with there hunt and had only good things to say about lodge and staff

Submit Date: Dec 2, 2006

Outfitter Review: Portland Creek Outfitting - Newfoundland

Outfitter / Owner: Leonard Paine

Hunter: Randy Tompkins

Animals Hunted: Moose, caribou & bear

Tough hunt you have to be in great shape, long days and alot of walking and climbing. Your equipment has to be top notch.Weather always a factor, rain all of the time and fog. Wind is a constant factor. Bowhunters beware. Its all worth it , you will have a great hunt if you put in the time and walk the miles. Saw all kinds of caribou, moose during the calling season is the only way to get the trophy bull. Forget about bear hunting it is a waste of time at this camp. The camp cook was the worst and so was the food. Over all it is worth the time and money.You want the fly in camps , this area is good for another three to four years after that book somewhere else.

Submit Date: Nov 22, 2006

Outfitter Review: Adventure Quest - Newfoundland

Outfitter / Owner: Cruickshand

Hunter: Hugh Spinney

Animals Hunted: Moose

Let me tell you about my moose hunt in Newfoundland. Adventure Quest Outfitters were highly recommended to me by a friend who had been with them several times before. They have three different hunts.#1 is from the main lodge - Moose Mountain Lodge, which is near Stephenville.#2 IS North Side Lodge which is in back of Codroy Valley#3 is in the interior of Newfoundland at a spike Camp. I chose the spike camp hunt. I flew into Deer Lake, Newfoundland and then drove about an hour to get to the Moose Mountain Lodge. I spent the night there as the helicopter could not fly us into the spike camp due to rain and wind. The chef at the lodge, Alphonse, prepared a great meal with home made bread, cake and pies. The room was very comfortable. The next day the weather cleared and we flew into the spike camp. Like all spike camps, it was very rustic, but dry and warm and the guides prepared great food. The flights in and out were fantastic, and just to see the rugged interior of Newfoundland and the many herds of caribou and moose was well worth the trip. One of the other hunters in our party shot a 16 point bull the first evening and I shot a 10 point bull on the second day. We went back to the main lodge to hot showers and more of Alphonsos great food. I had an opportunity to go into the North Side Lodge. The road was washed out, so the only way to get there was by Argo but itís well worth the trip - a jewel in the wilderness with all the comforts of home. The staff and guides could not have been more helpful and made me feel like part of their family. If you are going to do a hunt in Newfoundland, I highly recommend Adventure Quest Outfitters you can contact them at 1-866-722-4868. They also have a web site www.adventurequestoutfitters Hugh Spinney Sarasota, Florida USA

Submit Date: Nov 21, 2006

Outfitter Review: Newfoundland Wilderness Outfitters - Newfoundland

Outfitter / Owner: Ray Saunders

Hunter: David Sullivan

Animals Hunted: Moose, Bear, and Caribou

This was an excellent hunting experience. My wife and I enjoyed the accomidations and the opportunity to view the wildlife of the area. My guide did everything possible to give me the opportunity to get the Newfoundland Grand Slam. I highly recommend Newfoundland Wilderness Outfitters for you next hunting experience.David Sullivan

Submit Date: Nov 13, 2006

Outfitter Review: Newfoundland Wilderness Outfitters - Newfoundland

Outfitter / Owner: Ray Saunders

Hunter: Eric Wallin

Animals Hunted: Moose/Woodland Caribou

This was my first hunting trip with an Outfitter. I have learned so many new things and have experienced so much. The staff was excellent for the experience, the good times, and the great food. I saw many animals-some a little too close-just ask Terry. The weather and scenry were beautiful. I shot my first BIG game animals on this hunt and the staff was just as excited for me as I was for myself. Hope to go back someday-maybe at my next BIG time birthday!

Submit Date: Nov 6, 2006

Outfitter Review: Portland Creek Outfitters - Newfoundland

Outfitter / Owner: Aster Caines

Hunter: Barry Stephan

Animals Hunted: Moose/woodland caribou

This was my second hunt with Portland Creek (last week of Sept 2006). Did not get a moose on the first hunt, passed on a small moose the first day of hunt then. That hunt suffered from unseasonably warm weather (2004) and then a hurricane came up the east coast. However, it was an honest hunt, (if you want a sure thing that is what a preserve is for)with capable, hard working guides, a damn fine cook, and an owner paceing on the dock when our float plane brought us out after being weathered in for three days due to a hurricane. So I went back. This time (2006) again weather wasn't the greatest. First morning hunt was in a thunderstorm. Weather was a bit warm (in 70s F. by afternoon). So after seeing total of four moose and passing on two spike bulls second day, when we saw a decent bull the third day, the hammer went down. Four hunters in camp, four hunters got a moose. Mine happened to be the largest, thirty inch outside spread, eleven points, with decent palmations. No whopper but with the weather warming and little action, felt pretty fortunate. As two of us also wanted to try for woodland caribou, we were taken out of camp to look for caribou. Saw a small stag and a few does but again, warm weather kept caribou in mountains and not in bogs. So, I hope to go back (as does everyone else)in two or three years and will hunt a little later in season and hope for cooler weather. This was what I consider an "honest hunt", the opportunity is there, the animals are there, the guides are capable and willing to walk the legs off you, and the Newfies are good folk, I'm looking forward to seeing some of them when they come this way to the sport show this winter. Better (cooler) weather would have made for a better showing on this trip but, hey, that's the way things go sometimes. If you have the bucks to go to Alaska or British Columbia, go for those bruisers. Newfoundland has a lot of moose, and some of them are good sized, but like any hunt, weather can make it or break it. Accomodations were very comfortable. Camp was reached by traveling across bogs by Argo and ATVs. Two hunters per bedroom (four hunters in camp), two bathrooms,hot shower, generator turned on at 5:30AM, breakfast on table at 6AM, and guides (one guide per hunter) expect to be hunting by 7AM. Back at camp by dinner time (about 7PM), lights out (generator off) when the last joke is told, the last card is played and the most macho can no longer keep their eyes open (between 9 and 10PM). Made for a long day but my guide was serious as a heart attack about getting a moose and since that's what I was there for, worked out just fine by me.

Submit Date: Oct 31, 2006

Outfitter Review: Moose Valley Outfitters - Newfoundland

Outfitter / Owner: Dean MacDonald

Hunter: Joseph Trivilino

Animals Hunted: Moose

This was my second trip to Island Pond with Moose Vallet Outfitters. As expected, all four of us saw lots of Moose and we were all successful. We took 4 Bulls between Monday and Wednesday. The accomodations and food couldn't have been better. All the guides knew the area and the game. I would recommend Dean MacDonald to anyone.

Submit Date: Oct 28, 2006

Outfitter Review: Red Indian Lake Outfitting - Newfoundland

Outfitter / Owner: Fred/Shirley Thorne

Hunter: Larry Frost

Animals Hunted: Moose/Caribou

Fred and Shirley specialize in small groups for a quality hunt,we had 7 hunters and filled 10 of 11 tags and the one we did not fill the hunter had a chance but passed on the animal.I shot a moose with a 40" rack and a small caribou stag, One of our hunters got a caribou with an enormous rack, looked almost like a barren ground caribou that you see in AlaskaWe took 5 moose and 5 caribouThese folks really know what they are doing and I recommend them highly.I will definitely be going back

Submit Date: Oct 24, 2006

Outfitter Review: Moose Valley Outfitters - Newfoundland

Outfitter / Owner: Dean MacDonald

Hunter: David Johnson

Animals Hunted: moose

We hunted in the rain, wind, fog, sleet. My wife and I are in our late 50's. The guide took us to all the same places he'd take any hunter, only at a slower pace. I shot an 8pt. bull, 34in. spread. Not a monster, but a good Newfoundland moose. I wasn't trophy hunting, just wanted a good hunt and some meat. The guide called in the moose and skinned, butchered and caped after teh shot. Packed most of the meat out, (I helped some). My wife filmed the hunt. Cook did a great job and my wife came away with some new recipies. Good food and lots of it. We are planning to go back in 2 or 3 years.

Submit Date: Oct 18, 2006

Outfitter Review: Newfoundland Wilderness Outfitters - Newfoundland

Outfitter / Owner: Ray Saunders

Hunter: Don

Animals Hunted: Caribou,Moose

Ray Saunders runs a terrific operation.The lodge is clean and comfortable and the food is good and plentiful.The guides are knowledgeable and hard working.You are made to feel that you are with friends and not just a client.I took a very nice caribou and a respectable Moose. All told three hunters took 3 bull moose and 2 caribou stags. The trip was everything I had hoped it would be. I certainly plan to be back.

Submit Date: Oct 18, 2006

Outfitter Review: Newfoundland Wilderness Outfitters - Newfoundland

Outfitter / Owner: Ray saunders

Hunter: Ron Sprovero

Animals Hunted: Moose/Woodlands Caribou

A memorable experience with friendly and caring staff. My wife went as a non-hunter and said that I can not go back unless she can go with me. Filled both of my tags (moose & woodlands caribou).

Submit Date: Oct 15, 2006

Outfitter Review: Red Indian Lake Outfitters - Newfoundland

Outfitter / Owner: Fred/Shirley Thorne

Hunter: Chris Frost

Animals Hunted: Caribou and Moose

Tagged out 10 of 11 caribou and moose tags held by 7 hunters. One hunter did not have an opportunity at a bull moose. Great Newfoundland hunting experience. I took a decent double shovel woodland caribou. Will definitely return for moose hunting soon. Fred and Shirley provide a first rate operation.

Submit Date: Oct 1, 2006

Outfitter Review: Newfoundland Wilderness Outfitters - Newfoundland

Outfitter / Owner: Ray Saunders

Hunter: Ricky Schehr

Animals Hunted: Moose

Second year in a row hunting here. Got a moose both years. Only saw 1 moose this year because it took me all of 15 minutes of hunting to fill my license. Saw a magnifficent carribou less than 100 yards away while retrieving my moose. Three hunters in camp and all three got their moose and the other two hunters got the carribou they were hunting. 100 percent. It Can't get any better.

Submit Date: Sep 28, 2006

Outfitter Review: Moose Valley Outfitters - Newfoundland

Outfitter / Owner: Dean MacDonald

Hunter: Andy Pedersen

Animals Hunted: Moose/Caribou

Bowhunting trip Sept 06 for moose & caribou: although I shot a near P&Y caribou, and another bowhunter got an exceptional B&C caribou, we just did not see that many stags. The moose were "lucky": bowhunting moose is enough of a challenge (not trivial, but not impossible) -- you will have a great time. MVO's Island Pond is located in beautiful country, accessible only by float plane, so no ATVs or other hunters encountered.

Submit Date: Sep 21, 2006

Outfitter Review: Wentzels Hunting and Fishing - Newfoundland

Outfitter / Owner: Angus Wentzel

Hunter: Jason Farmer

Animals Hunted: Moose, caribou

This was a repeat hunt for myself and hunting partner. Collectively we seen for the week 31 moose, 19 caribou and 5 black bear. I was the only to come away with both tags filled but 1 shot and wounded bull and one missed cow doesnt help the numbers, the other guy seen moose everyday but was just very selective with shooting a moose and caribou. My guides experience and skills were the best I have ever seen as for big game hunting. The caribou activity the first week of Sept was a little slow but 70 degree weather doesnt help. This outfitter is 110% honest and does his best with putting hunters on moose and caribou. Last year I did recommend not buying a bear permit but after this season my attitude has changed. All I can say to future hunters considering this hunt, know your equipment and have the right equipment, plus know your ballistics!!!! Also BE IN TOP NOTCH HIKING SHAPE!!!!! Please call me with any questions

Submit Date: Sep 20, 2006

Outfitter Review: Moose Valley Outfitters - Newfoundland

Outfitter / Owner: Dean MacDonnald

Hunter: David E. Young

Animals Hunted: Moose

I did not kill a moose. I had multiple opportunities for stalks. Saw some very large bulls. Dean did everything he said he would and more. He covered the small details that make or break a hunt. From begining to the end, Dean worked hard to do what ever he could.My wife went as a non hunter. She had a great time. Thanked me for taking her.

Submit Date: Sep 18, 2006

Outfitter Review: Owls Nest Lodge - Newfoundland

Outfitter / Owner: Ron Parsons

Hunter: Blake Melhuish

Animals Hunted: Moose

I went on the early Bowhunt-Sept 3-8. This was my first Moose hunt. I did not realize that this was "spot and stalk" during this time of the year. In fairness I was told that this would be a "tough hunt". Because this was my first hunt, I did not know to ask why.The weather was unusally hot. It was 70-75 most of the time and 82 on the last day. That and the full moon pretty much shut the moose down. There was new and fresh sign all over, but they just weren't coming out in the heat. We saw animals, but only for a little while at first light. I just couldn't get on them or in front of them fast enough before they disappeared into the woods.In all this was a good hunt. The accomodations and food were very good, and I enjoyed hunting with my guide-1 on 1. I would recommend this outfitter, but I would choose a later time during the rut in late September or early October.

Submit Date: Jun 28, 2006

Outfitter Review: Owlsnest Lodge - Newfoundland

Outfitter / Owner: Ron Parsons

Hunter: James Denham

Animals Hunted: Black Bear

The area was grossly overhunted. The largest of three bears taken weighed 140 pounds. Accomodations were OK but cramped. The food was bad beyond description. I have been on several guided hunts in Alaska, Canada, and adjoining states here in the United States. This was by far the worst experience I have ever had on a paid for hunt.

Submit Date: Jan 30, 2006

Outfitter Review: Adventure Quest Outfitters - Newfoundland

Outfitter / Owner: Anne/Murray Cruickshank

Hunter: Mark Sherer

Animals Hunted: Moose, Woodland Caribou, Black Bear

I hunted out of Moose Mountain Lodge with the previous owners before the Cruikshanks purchased the outfit. I'm amazed at the transformation in the camp. It was nice before, now it is absolutely spectactular. The Cruikshanks have cut no corners expanding, updating and improving the lodge. In 2005, my party from RI bagged 7 Bull Moose, 2 Cows Moose, 1 Black Bear and 1 Stag Caribou. The camp manager, his wife and the world class chef, Fonse, made our trip an absolute pleasure. Guides Carl, Bimbo and Tommy were second to none. I'm looking forward to returning in 2006.

Submit Date: Dec 24, 2005

Outfitter Review: River Run Outfitters - Newfoundland

Outfitter / Owner: Horace Lane

Hunter: Arthur Reynolds

Animals Hunted: Moose/Caribou

The hunt details stated that we would be provided with air transportation to a remote hunting camp; Upon arrival @ the airport, we were informed that the remote camp had been closed. The outfitter relocated us to a differentcamp as if to streamline his operations and maximize his profit. I saw one moose and killed it. It was a "less than desireable moose".I had two shot opportunities for caribou.I did take a caribou on the last day. I paid for a six day hunt and was only allowed five days of hunting. Other hunters in camp were furious with the outfitter when they were forced to leave prematurely.

Submit Date: Oct 31, 2005

Outfitter Review: Newfoundland Wilderness Outfitters - Newfoundland

Outfitter / Owner: Ray Saunders

Hunter: Gary Lowe

Animals Hunted: moose

Very enjoyable and successful hunt;five of us went on this trip and four of the five connected for a moose-(3) bulls and (1) cow.This success was accomplished in spite of the weather not co-operating;rain and high winds for the first three days.All the guides are very helpful and knowledgable; each hunter has his or her own personal guide (1:1)Guides work very hard to make your hunt a success. Facilities,lodging,equip.etc. are very good. Food excellent;lose five lbs. before your trip because you will certainly gain weight with Verlie's cooking and desserts.

Submit Date: Oct 22, 2005

Outfitter Review: Pine Ridge Lodge - Newfoundland

Outfitter / Owner: Wayne Holloway

Hunter: Chad Brummel

Animals Hunted: Caribou/Moose

Not quite what I expected for qty of animals. May have been the weather but only seen 2 Moose and 8 Caribou all week at Eastern Pond Camp. Other camps were having the same struggles. I did take a nice bull Moose w/ a bow and a nice Stag Caribou w/ a gun so all in all it was still a success. Got those on the two nicest days of the week so weather is definately a factor. Guides were very good but take care if you have "Ralph" for a guide. I would have expected the guides to have better equipment too, such as quieter clothing to sneak up on moose (they wore plastic rain wear, noisy!)and their own binoculars. Dave Holloway was great to work with, food was great, and accomodations were cozy.

Submit Date: Oct 21, 2005

Outfitter Review: Tuckamore Lodge - Newfoundland

Outfitter / Owner: Barb Genge

Hunter: Dennis Reed

Animals Hunted: Moose

7 of us just returned from Newfoundland, and all 7 of us filled our tags. This is a first class operation, run very smoothly, I can't say enough good things about them. I've been on numerous guided hunts all over North America, and without a doubt, this one was the best. Please note, the lodge wants you to practice with your gun before coming and they stress that. They have a "wound an animal, the hunt is over" policy.

Submit Date: Oct 17, 2005

Outfitter Review: Newfoundland Wilderness Outfitters - Newfoundland

Outfitter / Owner: Ray Saunders

Hunter: David Fehrman

Animals Hunted: Moose

Everyone associated with Newfoundland Wilderness Outfitters is committed to providing an outstanding hunt. I just returned from my second visit, and will try to book with them again.Ray and ALL his crew will work to accomodate each hunter. This visit: 5 hunters, 4 Moose, all top quality animals. Each hunter saw game. If you want an outfitter who will be honest, fair, and keep his promises, look no further. Use Ray Saunders group with confidence.

Submit Date: Oct 7, 2005

Outfitter Review: Moose Valley Outfitters - Newfoundland

Outfitter / Owner: Dean MacDonald

Hunter: Mike Joy

Animals Hunted: Caribou

Our group was 4 rifle hunters for caribou only. MVO also guides for moose and bear, and we had sightings for all three (lots for moose). The hunt was an incredible experience. The people were very friendly, the guides were knowledgeable and worked hard for all of us. The camp is reasonably new and in very good shape with a generator for electricity, hot water, and was very comfortable overall. Do NOT plan on losing any weight - EXCELLENT homecooked meals.We looked at a number of operations before making our selection. MVO proved to be a great choice. We will be returning at some point, and would not hesitate to recommend them for anybody looking for a moose or caribou hunt in Newfoundland. Please feel free to contact me with any questions about our trip.Mike Joy

Submit Date: Sep 19, 2005

Outfitter Review: Pine Ridge Outfitters - Newfoundland

Outfitter / Owner: Wayne Holloway

Hunter: rob childs

Animals Hunted: Moose / Caribou

I submitted the following email to the outfitter after our hunt and did not recieve a response:Wayne, Comments from our 9/04 hunt (I intended to send this sooner): Arranging our hunt with you was very professional and pleasant. All answers concerning our hunt were answered thoroughly and promptly. We were picked up promptly at the airport by Dave and delivered to a hotel (since the weather was too poor to go to the cabin). We spent Sunday, Monday, Tuesday and 1/2 of Wednesday at the hotel due to the weather. We were disappointed that some sort of allowance or arrangement was not made for this unfortunate event since we paid for 1 week of food and lodging. Fortunately we brought along extra money to cover these unexpected expenses. During the 3 1/2 days were stuck in the hotel we were not well informed as to the status of our departure. A call each morning would have been very helpful. Each day we waited until around 8 - 9 am for a call from Dave and finally contacted him for a status report. Often times he was unavailable and " on his way to our motel". It was common for us to wait until around noon without an update of our travel status to the lodge. On Wednesday afternoon a helicopter was arranged to transport us to the lodge. This was a great experience. The lodge was beautiful and accommodations more than expected. Our cook Clyde was extremely accommodating. 2 hours into the hunt I shot a small caribou. We went back to camp for the Argo to retrieve the caribou. The Argo broke down a short distance from the cabin and we walked back. On Thursday we spent the day packing out my caribou and a moose my Dad later shot. Note: The Argo was one of the reasons we booked a hunt with you. Our guides were both personable. My guide was a nice kid but very inexperienced. His tracking skills were poor, he did not know the country well, he had only killed one moose in his life (from the back of a truck). I don't recall him talking about ever killing a caribou himself. When it came to game preparation I was extremely disappointed with the training you had provided him. My Father's guide on the other hand was very experienced and excellent at game care and preparation. Meals were very good and the cook was a pleasure to be around (though a bit unique). Another reason we booked with you, was your claims for game care and shipment to the processor. I shot my caribou on Wednesday pm and my father shot his moose on Thursday am. These animals were ready to be shipped on Thursday pm. The plane did not arrive to pick up our meat until midday on Saturday. Friday and Saturday both approached temperatures of 70 degrees. No other shoot able game was spotted other than the 2 animals we took. We waited for over 2 months to get our meat and trophies back and the cost was substantially more than expected. My caribou rack was wrapped well. Packaging of our meat was disappointing. The moose and caribou meat was not separated or labeled. Much of the packaging was open by the time it arrive to us, we ended up repackaging much of it when it arrived. The packaging also will not protect much against freezer burn. Paper packaging and labeling would have been preferred. We found Dave very difficult to contact and our numerous calls were not returned. The insulated boxes used to ship our meat were very nice.

Submit Date: Jun 28, 2005

Outfitter Review: Newfoundland Wilderness Outfitters - Newfoundland

Outfitter / Owner: Ray Saunders

Hunter: John

Animals Hunted: Black Bear (spring)

Ray and his staff will do everything possible to get you an opportunity at an animal. his guides are very hard working and very knowledgeable. cooking was spectacular and the accomodations were great. combined with scenic beauty and rugged terrain, this is the place to go. feel free to email me for more information.

Submit Date: Jun 24, 2005

Outfitter Review: Newfoundland Wilderness Outfitters - Newfoundland

Outfitter / Owner: Ray Saunders

Hunter: Dwayne Hiers

Animals Hunted: Spring Black Bear

The guides, Terry and Gary are truly experts and genuinely nice people. The food was good and all equipment worked properly. Could not expect anything more out of an outfitter. The owner stays with you in camp and does a great job to make sure you get what you need.

Submit Date: Jun 23, 2005

Outfitter Review: Newfoundland Wilderness Outfitters - Newfoundland

Outfitter / Owner: Ray Saunders

Hunter: Gary Wobb

Animals Hunted: Black Bear (spring 2005)

From top to bottom, this outfitter is a first class operation. The guides worked extremely hard to ensure we had an enjoyable hunt and they where very knowedgeable. The food was excellent (I gained 3 pounds during the trip) and the facilities where comfortable. All the equipment (trucks and atvs) where in good working condition. The tree stands where in good condition also. I plan on hunting with this outfitter again and highly recomend them.

Submit Date: Jan 16, 2005

Outfitter Review: Lake Douglas Hunting - Newfoundland

Outfitter / Owner: Jim Sceviour

Hunter: Mike Creagan

Animals Hunted: Moose, Black Bear

In spite of poor hunting conditions due to very warm weather, was able to harvest a young bull on my first morning.Brother hunted hard all week and took a cow on the last morning. Hunted bear for the remainder of the week, didn't see any.Rosie's cooking second to no one. Some of the nicest people I have ever had the priveledge of meeting; they make you feel right at home. It was a great experience.

Submit Date: Dec 28, 2004

Outfitter Review: Lake Couglas Hunting and Fishing Lodge - Newfoundland

Outfitter / Owner: Jim Sceivor

Hunter: William Albaugh

Animals Hunted: Moose

My husband and I fell in love with Newfoundland on our first trip just sightseeing and he decided to try his luck at Moose. He was successful with a very large trophy. The rack was not as large as some he has seen but it was an excellent trophy for the first hunt. As he was only hunting moose, I was unable to comment on the amt and quality of game seen, except to say that most everyone on the hunt bagged caribou, moose and were still hoping for bear when we left a couple of days early. We were most impressed with the professionalism of everyone involved in this operation, as my husband has experienced many hunts. He considered this one of his best. I was a non hunting guest and was treated royally. In fact my birthday fell on one of the days of the hunt and I was treated to a special dinner, birthday cards, wine, and a lovely birthday cake. We are looking forward to another trip to beautiful Newfoundland and it will be with Lake Douglas Hunting and Fishing Lodge.

Submit Date: Dec 22, 2004

Outfitter Review: Lake Douglas Outfitters - Newfoundland

Outfitter / Owner: Jim

Hunter: Pete Jimenez

Animals Hunted: Moose, Caribou, Bear

The outfitter is very organized and treats his clients with the most kindness anyone could expect. The staff from the cook to the guides exceed what I expected. I was actually surprised to see what I did regarding the lodge and food. Guides work hard to get your species you are hunting. Although I did not see a bear, I understood that I was in competition with field dressed caribou and moose waste vs baited cans. The bear would I suspect favor the fresh field dressed waste over bait. I had alot of fun and would highly recommend this outfitter to anyone. One thing hunters MUST remember, weather/harvests can and will have an affect on animal activety and patterns. Thats hunting. The outfitter takes very good care of his clients. Continuous contact with the outfitter was no problem. All questions were answered by phone and email prior to the departing the U.S.. Excellent JOB and Thanks. Try them I think you will like it. If you would like to talk with me or email me that would be OK.

Submit Date: Dec 22, 2004

Outfitter Review: Lake Douglas Hunting Lodge - Newfoundland

Outfitter / Owner: Jim Sceviour

Hunter: Larry Rhodes

Animals Hunted: Moose, Caribou, and Bear

Great job guys and Rosie fantastic food when I got home I ask my wife to make homemade bread she laughed. Totally best hunt I have been on saw lots of animals a few trophies and I have 1 of them on my wall would have had 2 but only had a Moose tag. Jim I tried to talk Rosie into coming down to cook at our camp in Pa. but she said she like it there. If you future hunters want a great hunting experience for Moose, Caribou, and Bear it all starts in Lake Douglas Lodge. Jim we plan on coming back for my Caribou.

Submit Date: Dec 20, 2004

Outfitter Review: Lake Douglas Hunting & Fishing - Newfoundland

Outfitter / Owner: Jim Sceviour

Hunter: Dennis Lorch

Animals Hunted: Moose/Caribou

Flew in, drove to camp, enjoyed countryside. Accommodations and food exceptional. Owner Jim accommodating my every request before and after hunt. Game handling very professional. Took Caribou 10:30 1st day, nice young Moose 4:00 PM 3rd day. Glenn, my guide worked extremely hard and knows how to hunt, as well as very patient to my shortcomings. Also saw game birds, rabbits, land locked Salmon. Learned a great deal from nightly dinners and conversations with all in camp, and now know several native Newfoundlanders and about their families and lifestyles. Good, honest, hard working professionals.

Submit Date: Dec 8, 2004

Outfitter Review: Newfoundland Wilderness Outfitters - Newfoundland

Outfitter / Owner: Ray Saunders

Hunter: Paul Steve

Animals Hunted: Moose

This is a very well equipped outfitter, with an extremely comfortable lodge that has all the amenities, including satellite TV, if you want it. Nothing is left out; you can count on being treated well. The food is very good, the guides are friendly, knowledgeable and dedicated to making your hunt an experience of a lifetime. The lodge is deep in a wilderness setting and game, from caribou to bear to moose, abound throughout the region. Newfoundland and its people are both impressive and richly rewarding. This is not an opportunity to pass up.

Submit Date: Oct 18, 2004

Outfitter Review: Owls Nest Lodge - Newfoundland

Outfitter / Owner: Ron Parsons

Hunter: Jon Lehtinen

Animals Hunted: Moose

Very hard working guide and the camp cook Bill W. is the best camp cook I've encountered in all my guided hunts. I was hunting for moose only and saw several. I shot a nice 37" 11pt bull. I saw about 30 caribou, should of bought a combo hunt, two very nice stags were seen. Very good communication prior to hunt. Only complaint was the quality of the boat at camp. It worked but it was tired. Be honest about your physical condition. The camp I was at was very tough walking.

Submit Date: Oct 16, 2004

Outfitter Review: Owl's Nest Lodge - Newfoundland

Outfitter / Owner: Ron Parsons

Hunter: Steve Smith

Animals Hunted: Moose/Caribou

Outfitter statistics are deceiving. Speaking candidly, guides state that about 85% of hunters see moose, 50% take the first moose they see, and very few who pass-up a bona fide opportunity at any adult moose get another chance. Caribou are more plentiful, yet of poor quality. Think of somewhere else for a trophy of either specie.

Submit Date: Oct 12, 2004

Outfitter Review: Moose Valley Outfitters - Newfoundland

Outfitter / Owner: Dean MacDonald

Hunter: Paul Stikeleather

Animals Hunted: Moose Caribou

I booked a 6 day hunt with Dean for moose, caribou and bear. Saw lots of moose, but caribou and bear was scarce. Bagged a 12 point moose on second day of hunt with 40 inch spread and bagged an acceptable caribou stag on third day of the hunt. I got the bear tag just in case I came upon one but was not hunting for one specifically. The guides were knowledgble and worked very hard to help you get your game. The food was outstanding!!! Overall Dean is an very professional outfitter and he runs a well organized camp. You will not be disappointed with his services.

Submit Date: Oct 9, 2004

Outfitter Review: Moose Valley Outfitters - Newfoundland

Outfitter / Owner: Dean MacDonald

Hunter: grant benson

Animals Hunted: Moose, Caribou

My 4th hunt with MVO in 4 years saw me take a bou and bear with the bow. Should have had a moose with the bow at 25 yards, but had a superfical shoulder hit let him sore and me very downhearted. Also had a close encounter with a big bull with a rifle on the last day that did not work out, but the guides did their jobs as always. I'll be back in 05.Book fast the word is out and this personal famiuly run professional operation is booked solid for two years out. They are small but top notch in all regards. Great people, great culture, excellent animals, and guides are fun. Do keep an eye on caribou numbers as there seems to be some drop off year over year in sightings but certainly not quality. You'll get your money's worth.

Submit Date: Oct 4, 2004

Outfitter Review: Owl's Nest Lodge - Newfoundland

Outfitter / Owner: Ron Parsons

Hunter: Mary Lehrman

Animals Hunted: Moose/Caribou/Bear

Planned hunt well in advance. 6 people in camp, 2:1 hunters-guide. Were there for the "pre-rut" hunt so number of game sighted was a bit less. The weather was rough (cold, wind, rain, snow, sleet, to warm and sunny the last two days) but our guides were there and ready to go regardless. The guides communicated game sightings with each other to assisst us in filling our tags. They were all knowlegable in what would be seen where and when and went above and beyond to have us "in the right place at the right time". The accomodations were more than I expected and the food was excellent. The office staff was also extremely helpfull in arranging processing, shipping, taxidermy services, and all other little details and were there to answer any and all questions.Being a Wisconsin deer hunter, I thought that I was in shape for this hunt. However, the terrain there is extremely different from any that I have encountered (lots of wet bogs very difficult walking) . Would recommend being in "extra-good condition".

Submit Date: Sep 28, 2004

Outfitter Review: Owl's Nest Lodge - Newfoundland

Outfitter / Owner: Ron Parson

Hunter: Brian Winot

Animals Hunted: Moose/Carabou

Supposed to hunt 5 days, hunted 2. Everything was blamed on weather, which I can understand one day was truely weather related. Terrible communication, was told stories of the abundance of game, the quality of game and so on. Finnally arrived at the remote camp, the guides had all 4 of us check our tags, to our suprise I was the only one who had a tag to shoot a bull moose!! All others were cow or calf, those 3 guys did not spend that kind of money to shoot a cow moose I can tell you that. The guides then informed us that they hadn't seen any moose at that camp in 2 years!! We did end up taking a very small bull and a cow and two of us shot carabou, but very small. Peterson's hunting was in camp that week, the guy shot a B&C caliber bou, but was picked up every morning by chopper to find that animal. That was offered to us as well, for $400 more per day, plus fuel. This place SUCKS!! Complaint letters went unanswered as well.

Submit Date: Sep 27, 2004

Outfitter Review: Moose Valley Outfitters - Newfoundland

Outfitter / Owner: Dean MacDonald

Hunter: Steve Kremp

Animals Hunted: Caribou

Despite two days of horrible weather, this was a fantastic hunt. The caribou numbers were low, but with some hard work, the opportunity at a trophy stag was there. I was not hunting moose, but saw plenty of bulls during the week.This is one VERY organized operation, where the outfitter truly cares about his hunters, and the quality of the hunt.

Submit Date: Sep 11, 2004

Outfitter Review: Effords Hunting Adventures - Newfoundland

Outfitter / Owner: Bob Efford

Hunter: Jeff Davis

Animals Hunted: moose,caribou

Still one of the best hunts I have been on

Submit Date: Sep 7, 2004

Outfitter Review: Effords Hunting Adventures - Newfoundland

Outfitter / Owner: Bob Efford

Hunter: Jeff Davis

Animals Hunted: caribou,moose

Still ranks as one of my best hunts

Submit Date: Jul 22, 2004

Outfitter Review: Tuckamore Lodge - Newfoundland

Outfitter / Owner: Narb Genge

Hunter: Todd Collins

Animals Hunted: Moose

My buddy and I gun hunted with Tuckamore in 2003 and both took bulls. Mine taken on second day was 33 inches wide and 6 points. My buddies was a 4 point taken on the last day. Camp, cooking and the people were the bomb. Guides were very good and hard working - as always there is a difference in guides fromtop to bottom but no concern. Game was prevelent and all in camp tagged out our week with 2 people getting the slam. Barb runs a tight ship - I would like to go back to try the trophy area.

Submit Date: Jun 24, 2004

Outfitter Review: Newfoundland Wilderness Outfitters - Newfoundland

Outfitter / Owner: Ray Saunders

Hunter: JT "Bubba" Brown

Animals Hunted: Black Bear (Spring)

Ray runs a first rate outfit. Everything about it is first rate. This was the most restful hunt I've ever been on. Meta, the camp cook, had a brilliant menu and there was never a shortage of food or snacking material. Guides Terry and Gary were excellent and provided us with a wealth of knowledge on both the game and the country in general. The camp had a sat-phone for convenience and emergencies. It is far enough in the woods that you seldom see another human. What a great find. I hope to go back for woodland Caribou in the near future.

Submit Date: Jun 15, 2004

Outfitter Review: Ironbound - Newfoundland

Outfitter / Owner: George Payne

Hunter: Bob Johnson

Animals Hunted: Woodland Caribou and Moose

From pick up at the airport, everything was well planned and followed through with. Right down to meat processing and dilevery to the airport as well as trophy care. Every one was totaly dedicated to be sure your hunt was first class and successful. I am working on a group hunt for Christian Bowhunters of America, to go back again!!

Submit Date: Dec 4, 2003

Outfitter Review: Tuckamore Lodge - Newfoundland

Outfitter / Owner: Barb Genge

Hunter: Jim Casto, Jr.

Animals Hunted: moose

I bowhunted with Tuckamore the last few days of August and the first week of September. I saw over 200 moose on this 10 day trip. I passed shots on several bulls. I was holding out for an island trophy, and blew the chance on my 6th day. This place is unbelievable. Everything I expected and more. I recommend them highly.

Submit Date: Oct 14, 2003

Outfitter Review: Moose Valley Outfitters - Newfoundland

Outfitter / Owner: Dean MacDonald

Hunter: Ed Griffin

Animals Hunted: Moose

2nd year in a row hunting with Dean and his family at Moose Valley outfitters. I had the rifle with me this year and took a nice Bull moose during the week. I seen Moose everyday and had a great time and already booked again!Small family run operation, fly in camp, hard working guides and great food. What else can you ask for!

Submit Date: Sep 26, 2003

Outfitter Review: Efford's Hunting Adventure - Newfoundland

Outfitter / Owner: Bob Efford

Hunter: Bruce Lastra

Animals Hunted: Moose/Caribou

Probably the BEST outfitter in Newfoundland. He was honest and reliable. Owns his own float plane and will bend over backwards to accomadate the hunters. He provides local tranportation to and from the airport, will arrange for butchering and boxing/shipping of meat and trophy. Overall, a #1 class outfitter....be very wary of the others in Newfoundland though.

Next Page >       Last Page >>

web application and database development by davidcdalton.com