New Mexico Hunting Outfitter and Guide Reviews

Submit Date: Jan 31, 2002

Outfitter Review: Kiowa Hunting Service - NM

Outfitter / Owner: Tim Barraclough

Hunter: DONALD R AYARS

Animals Hunted: ANTELOPE & MULE DEER

I HAVE BEEN ON A BOW HUNT AND RIFLE HUNT FOR ANTELOPE WITH TIM. HAD A GREAT TIME AND SAW NUMEROUS ANTELOPE. HARVEST ANTELOPE ON BOTH HUNTS. THE HUNTS WERE IN VAUGHAN, NM. THE MULE DEER HUNTS WERE IN RATON AREA. SAW BUCKS EVERY DAY AND STALKED NUMEROUS BUCKS. TOOK MY BUCK THE LAST DAY OF THE HUNT. SAW A MONSTER BUT JUST COULDN'T GET TO IT. 6 HUNTERS IN CAMP AND WE HAD A GREAT TIME.BE PREPARED TO GAIN A FEW POUNDS WITH THE EXCELLENT COOKS AT CAMP. I PLAIN ON RETURNING FOR ANOTHER MULE DEER HUNT. MAYBE I WILL SEE YOU THERE.

Submit Date: Jan 9, 2002

Outfitter Review: Bremer Ranches - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: Ed Bremer

Hunter: W. Koll

Animals Hunted: prong horn, mule deer

Outfitter provides a good hunt for trophy animals at a good price. I got the opportunities at the animals I was hunting for my wall.

Submit Date: Dec 19, 2001

Outfitter Review: Ric Martin's Trophy Adventures - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: Ric Martin

Hunter: Brett E. Boice

Animals Hunted: Elk

Our hunt took place in New Mexico, just west of Las Alamos. We had a difficult hunt. Out of five hunters, I came the closest to any kind of shot. During five hard days of hunting, I saw one shooter bull, but it was a very close and quick encounter that surprised me, the elk, and my guide. We were hunting next to the Valles Caldera. The Valles Caldera (previously Baca Land and Cattle) is an area the federal government purchased that encompasses some 144 square miles of great elk habitat. As of yet, there is no hunting on the Valles Caldera and all the elk in the area seemed to be inside the Valles Caldera. From the highway, looking into the ranch, you could easily see several hundred bulls each day. The Valles Caldera is suppose to some day be openned up to hunting again, but until it is, the elk will probably remain in this "refuge" which will make hunting outside the ranch very difficult. If you get a chance, go on line and take a look. The Board that has been appointed to direct the activities in the Valles Caldera could sure use some direction and promptings from hunters. I'm afraid that some people don't understand the principal of "wise" use of the resources. This area belongs to "us" and we should be able to use the area as long as we follow sound conservation principles. http://www.fs.fed.us/r3/sfe/valles/index.html

Submit Date: Nov 26, 2001

Outfitter Review: Kennedy Hunting Servies - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: Kirk Kennedy

Hunter: Mike Sodolak

Animals Hunted: Mule Deer

Kirk and his guides work harder than any outfit I have ever seen. They want everyone to have a great time and a wonderful hunting experience. The mule deer hunts are tough since they are before the rut - they had 15 bucks spotted before we arrived that were 170 to 200 B&C - we didn't get any of them. Our camp shot a 202, 175 and a 165 bucks. I cannot imagine what they could change to make this group any better. Give them a call, you won't be sorry.

Submit Date: Nov 10, 2001

Outfitter Review: Down Home Outfitters - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: Walter Hobbs

Hunter: Michael Hendrick

Animals Hunted: Elk, Mule Deer, Bear, Cougar

I have hunted with many guides and outfitters, I would tell anyone to hunt with down home outfitters. I was scheduled for 5 days and extended my hunt to 14 days. There was no hesitation from Walter Hobbs the owner of Down Home. He made my hunt a success, my partner and I bagged everything we came for. Folks if you want a hunt that is worth the money and time hunt with Down Home Outfitters. I am already booked for spring turkey, fall bear and putting in for the elk archery draw. If I dont get my tag, Walter has land owner permits.

Submit Date: Nov 9, 2001

Outfitter Review: Ute Creek Outfitters - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: Lee Vigil

Hunter: Dan Kremers

Animals Hunted: Rocky Mountain Elk

I saw elk every day including the day before the hunt. There was some fresh snow and we spotted a herd feeding near camp. That night the elk moved through camp and bugled all night long. It was unbelievable. Opening morning we jumped a herd and I got off several rounds at a huge bull and missed. Next morning we jumped some elk again and I harvested a good 6x6 bull. My first bull. Lee, Baba and James know exactly what they are doing. I must have seen 250 elk the whole time I was there. I spend the rest of the time just watching elk through my binoculars, and hanging out and eating. This is an excellent hunting operation and I'm saving up my money to do a bow hunt.

Submit Date: Sep 26, 2001

Outfitter Review: Elite Outfitters - NM

Outfitter / Owner: Brian Newell

Hunter: rob engster

Animals Hunted: elk

saw tons, if i had had a rifle, could have shot at 5 over 300b@C WITHIN 200 YDS unfortunately, i had a mathews instead. the elk would not come in close enough to get a bow shot. either the guides calls were not good enough, or maybe the elk were not in full swing at the time. heard too many bugles to count and on better days saw 40-50 head. some in the 320-330 class. one hunter out of 6 got a shot at 20 yds, everyone was close but no other chances. oh yes, i did pass a small 4 by on the 3rd day of a 5 day hunt. no guarantee but it was a worthwhile hunt.

Submit Date: Jul 17, 2001

Outfitter Review: Bear Creek Outfitters - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: Lou Probo

Hunter: Dennis Breeze

Animals Hunted: Mule Deer

This was not a hunt it was a camping trip. We left camp an hour after daylight every morning, walked 2-5 miles to get to a vantage point to glass for deer.[by this time the deer had been beded for quite some time] This was supposed to be a wilderness pack in hunt,but their were 3 horses for 11 people. We carried our personal gear 1/2 mile off the road,the horses packed the camping gear in. I could go on and on, but the point is this was a fair camping trip, but a sham of a hunt [THEY SHOULD LOSE THEIR LICENCE]

Submit Date: Jun 18, 2001

Outfitter Review: Ute Creek Outfitters - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: Louis Trujillo

Hunter: Doug Casias

Animals Hunted: Elk

I hunted with Louis, (Baba) on a December hunt. There was boocoo snow so we tracted a herd the first day. There must have been 50 elk, but no big boys. Driving back to camp we jumped four large bulls, one exceptional 6x6. Ok, I missed. Next morning Baba headed towards an opening where he felt the bulls would be. Sure enough, they were there. The big bull and two others ran off and couldn't get a shot off at them but three others stayed and just watched. I nailed a good 6x5. When we got to the bull he was a lot bigger than I thought. Huge beams and brow tines, one broken sword. I'm happy. It's my first bull. I'm 68 years young and Happy as Hell. Those SOB's Lee and Kyle killed a big bull the same morning about a mile from camp in the alfalfa fields. Good guides. Hope to come back soon again.Doug Casias

Submit Date: Apr 4, 2001

Outfitter Review: High Mountain Outfitters - NM

Outfitter / Owner: Pancho Trajillo

Hunter: Rick Rhoads

Animals Hunted: Mule Deer

We hunted in Colorado on a New Mexico tag. Also hunted on FEDERAL land. The guide wanted us to "shoot up" the canyons to run the deer out. They had no guiding experience at all. The guides did not want to hunt in the rain. We came back to camp 2 nights in a row and had no food other than cookies and coffee. We were 2 steps away from walking off a cliff in the dark after the guide assured us he knew where he was(he got lost). The other party got run off private land from the rancher they were trespassing on. The equipment was broke down. The last day of the hunt we hunted ourselves without the guides they weren't around, later we found out they were hunting and killed a spike buck. I called the NM Fish & Game Dept. when I arrived home and they told me he was known to poach as well. I have hunted the west and had absoultly wonderful experiences & guides. This by far was the worst operation I have ever seen. His wife was quick to take your money at the start of the hunt. Please don't wast your money with this bum. He has magazine articles and advertises.

Submit Date: Mar 30, 2001

Outfitter Review: High Mountain Outfitters - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: Pete Trujillo

Hunter: Scott Calpino

Animals Hunted: Mule Deer

I've been on 7 western hunts and I've never experienced anything like this one. I'm sorry that I was convinced to spend my hard earned money on this trip. The outfitter refused to refund anything or to offer a replacement hunt, citing "sour grapes" that only 1 deer was harvested out of 13+ hunters in camp. Read on and you make the call!! Day 1: Walk several miles, see small 3 point buck w/ 6 doe - guide gets upset that we won't shoot because he says this is a trophy. Buck is shielded by doe and guide says shoot anyway, don't worry if you hit a doe. We continue to walk non-stop the rest of the day. Near dusk, we ask the guide about heading back to the truck. We're told not to worry, he knows the land very well. Several minutes later, in total darkness, the guide walked us to the edge of a cliff, where we grabbed on to anything close by, to keep from falling to our death. We learned the next day that the cliff was 50+ feet down, and we found the rocks that slid from under our feet at the bottom of the canyon. An hour later, after near tragedy, we arrived back at the truck. The truck won't start, we have no food, no water, no lights, no emergency equipment, no phone, no radio, and no one back at camp knows where we are. 1/2 hr later the truck finally starts and we travel 1 1/2hrs back to camp, only to find a piece of meat 2" square and 2 cookies for supper!! Day 2: walk all day, see nothing. Day 3: Drive around for 3-4 hours in a truck w/ 3 other hunters, trying to find some place to hunt. The drive included such places as federal land where hunting is prohibited and in to the neighboring state of Colorado!! We saw nothing. Day 4: Rain - The guide says it's not worth going out, besides, "He doesn't want to get muddy". All the guides head in to town to do laundry. They return several hours later w/ clean laundry and a bloody little 3 point they shot while they were gone. After threatening the guide, he offers to take us out. We hunt hard, finding only several doe. We return to camp again, finding almost no food for supper and the food for lunches was already almost gone on day 3. We ask to talk to the outfitter and we're told he'll be in camp the next day. He's not there when we leave camp for day 5. We hunt on our own (unguided) all day and are picked up at dark. Happy that this "experience" is over, we are dropped off at the lodge to find 1 small bucket of Colonel Sanders chicken to feed everyone and all of the guides gear gone. We discuss our hunt w/ others at camp, to find out that 2 of the other hunters paid big bucks for a "trophy hunt" and were escorted off the property they were hunting at gun point, being told they would be shot if they returned. Another hunter, experiencing his 1st western hunt, was sent out on his own, told to climb to the top of a hill, and return to the road @ dark. It's a shame . . . he didn't know any better!! After several letters and phone calls to the outfitter (his wife transacted all the business) we were told that we got a hunt, and we should have voiced our displeasure when we were there. That's very difficult to do when the outfitter never shows face!!! You decide if you want to put your money down!!!

Submit Date: Mar 4, 2001

Outfitter Review: Apache Park Ranches - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: Ric Sears

Hunter: Jack Stewart

Animals Hunted: Elk

Had a private land hunt in N.M. Didn't see any elk on the ranch, not even fresh tracks. Couldn't stay in camp because it was already occupied by other hunters. Never met the outfitter, Ric Sears. The weather was perfect, cold and snow but their was no elk on the ranch. Would recommend that if you are booking a hunt with this outfitter that you do a good background check before you pay any deposits.

Submit Date: Feb 9, 2001

Outfitter Review: Ute Creek Outfitters - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: Louis Trujillo/Lee Vigil

Hunter: Marion Baxley

Animals Hunted: Elk

I've been hunting with Baba and Lee for over 10 years now. These guys grew up on the ranch and know every inch. They also know where the animals are, and it's obvious they spend a lot of time scouting for trophies. There's one big bull I've been after for several years that's still out there. I see him everytime I'm on the Rio, but he just keeps outsmarting us. I booked again for next year and he's going to be mine. Lots of big bulls on the Rio Costilla. The ranch is doing an excellent job of managing the ranch. It's a bit expensive, but well worth the harvest.

Submit Date: Feb 6, 2001

Outfitter Review: Old West Outfitters - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: Richard Hobbs

Hunter: Steve West

Animals Hunted: Elk and Antelope

We are a booking agency for big game hunts and had excellent success with Richard Hobbs, even under the toughest conditions he produced elk when no one else could. He had two January elk hunters harvest two big bulls, one will score near 350 B&C gross. Other muzzleloader hunters in early September all took 5x5 and 6x6 bulls with one 5x7 monster. He also got one of his clients in on a big antelope buck. He has 64,000 acres of private lands on which to hunt in two units, one rifle on primitive weapons. We recommend and book as many hunters with Richard Hobbs as possible. The website is www.steveshunts.com

Submit Date: Jan 26, 2001

Outfitter Review: Kiowa Hunting Service - NM

Outfitter / Owner: Tim Barraclough

Hunter: Bill Pietsch

Animals Hunted: ELK (cow)

While other outfitter make promises, Tim delivers the goods. I've spent thou$and$ with other outfitters in the past 3 years on unsuccessful quests of my first elk. With Tim's help I tagged a big, beautiful cow elk within 15 minutes on the first morning. Thanks Tim - it feels great to finally be a successful elk hunter! Tim is a great guy, knows his business and is honest to a fault.

Submit Date: Jan 13, 2001

Outfitter Review: Ute Creek Outfitters - NM

Outfitter / Owner: Louis Trujillo/Lee Vigil

Hunter: John Arnzen

Animals Hunted: ELK

The day before the hunt, Lee my guide and I watched elk for four hours as they made their presence in a small open meadow. We saw four 6x6 bulls one of which was huge. The first morning, I harvested a good 6x6. My first elk. The following morning Lee and I tried to stalk the huge 6x6 we saw the day before the hunt and we found him. HE WAS HUGE. Too bad I harvested the first morning or the big guy would have been down. I booked again next year and hope to make this a yearly hunt with Lee and Baba. There are some big bulls on the Rio Costilla.

Submit Date: Dec 19, 2000

Outfitter Review: Simpson Outfitters - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: Tom Simpson

Hunter: Larry Childs

Animals Hunted: Elk

Tom Runs a first class, very ethical operation. He utilizes family to help guide and cook. Mom makes great cookies. All his guides and himself will do anything to get you in position for a shot. Very knowledgeable about the area. They treat you like family and when it's all over you have new friends. My son killed his first elk on this trip - a nice 5x5. Wish I could afford to do this every year.

Submit Date: Dec 12, 2000

Outfitter Review: High Lonesome Outfitters - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: Kerry Sebring

Hunter: Roland Caribalm

Animals Hunted: Elk

Dont waste your hard earned money on this LIAR. His hunts suck.

Submit Date: Dec 9, 2000

Outfitter Review: Story Book Endings - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: Butch Amlong

Hunter: J. Scowley M.D.

Animals Hunted: Elk

I was the only hunter in camp,so he took his wife and children to cook and entertain me. We stalked down wind and set up in front of trees. One elk was coming to a waterhole and three mysteriuos cow-calls spooked this bull. Definetly not a five thousand dollar hunt. If you have read the reviews on Apache Park, Butch made them look like a five star hunt.

Submit Date: Nov 29, 2000

Outfitter Review: J & J Outfitters - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: Eric Jantze

Hunter: Fred Zech

Animals Hunted: Elk

This is a private ranch hunt in northern New Mexico so you will pay a bit more. Start saving $$now!!! I hunted the second week of rifle season. The rut was in full swing. We had elk literally walking over the top of us. There were five hunters in camp and we all took great 6 by 6 bulls. We had all of our tags filled within the first day and a half of hunting. Eric does not do any advertising as all of his hunters are repeat clients and word of mouth referrals.

Submit Date: Nov 16, 2000

Outfitter Review: Wilderness Lodge - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: Robert Rawlins

Hunter: Jody Hibbard

Animals Hunted: Muledeer

Do Not go on a muledeer hunt in the Gila Wilderness with this outfitter. He had told us over the phone that we would see deer every day, and that shooting a 22-24 deer would be no problem if we could shoot straight and were willing to walk a little. In the first 4 days of hunting 5 men saw no deer and very little sign. They almost never got us out of camp before daylight, and the guides always wanted to head back to camp by about 10:30 am. My guide did almost no glassing, and was constantly hunting us into the sun with the wind at our backs. By the middle of the third day I refused to hunt with him any more, and went out on my own. On the fifth day I finnally spoted a few does after venturing 6 miles into the wilderness area, but there was still very little sign. The outfitter himself avoided us while we were in camp, and never once asked us if we had had any luck or suggested any different areas to try. I personally believe that they knew that there were almost no deer in the area and still sold the hunt to us as a high quality hunt. The references that he had given us were all Elk hunters, but they reported that they had seen nice deer. We later found out that they had hunted with him on a private lease in the northern part of the state. During the hunt we had fresh snow twice with good cold days and very light winds, I have hunted many places across the west and have never seen anything like this. All I can say is do not go on a muledeer hunt with this outfitter, he promises everything and produces nothing. We left camp feeling misled, misguided, and ripped off. There are alot of quality outfitters out there do not waste your money on this one.

Submit Date: Oct 24, 2000

Outfitter Review: Ute Creek Outfitters - NM

Outfitter / Owner: Louis Trujillo/Lee Vigil

Hunter: John E. Bird

Animals Hunted: ELK

Louis and Lee with Ute Creek Outfitters are a class act. They're locals and they really know the ranch and the animals well. we didn't have to do a lot of walking. We drove to the areas that were active as they had scouted out the areas.Excellent hunters. The camp was very professional and the meals were excellent.

Submit Date: Oct 13, 2000

Outfitter Review: Elite Outfitters - NM

Outfitter / Owner: Johnny Hughes/Brian Newell

Hunter: RON GHIGHI

Animals Hunted: ELK

JOHNNY AND I WERE ON A SPIKE CAMP HUNT, SO WE DID OUR OWN COOKING. THEY HAD OTHER CAMPS WHERE THEY COOKED FOR YOU. ONE DAY THE COOK BOUGHT SOME EXCELLENT BARBEQUED CHICKEN OVER FOR US. SAW POPE AND YOUNG ELK EVERY DAY. FOUR WITHIN 40 YDS. TREES AND BRUSH IN THE WAY, FOR ME, TWICE JOHNNY HAD A CLEAR SHOT BUT OF COURSE HE WASN'T HUNTING. I WAS UNSUCCESSFUL, BUT NOT BECAUSE OF THEM. I HAD TWO SHOT OPPORTUNITIES. IT IS FOR SURE IN THE MOUNTAINS, 9,000' WHERE WE WERE, DOWN TO 7,000 SOMETIMES. YOU CAN'T GET IN GOOD ENOUGH SHAPE, JUST BE SURE TO GET IN AS GOOD AS SHAPE AS YOU CAN. I AM 53 AND DID ALRIGHT. WOULD RECOMMEND FOR SURE, VERY FRIENDLY PEOPLE, EVEN TOLD ME I COULD COME BACK, WHICH I AM GOING TO DO.

Submit Date: Oct 10, 2000

Outfitter Review: Apache Park - NM

Outfitter / Owner: Rick Sears

Hunter: gordon ginno

Animals Hunted: elk

booked hunt after reading brochure which led you to believe they had lots of elk and plenty of older bulls, paid extra for one on one guide also. hunted 3 days hard without seeing a bull, let alone a quality bull. too many hunters, too few animals. rick never even made a point to meet myself or some of the other hunters, now i see why. after 3 days got tired of wasting time and blew out of there, sent a letter asking for a partial refund but havent heard anything yet, big surprise.

Submit Date: Oct 5, 2000

Outfitter Review: Bill Nelson Guide Service - NM

Outfitter / Owner: Bill & PJ Nelson

Hunter: Lou Spaccio

Animals Hunted: Elk

I just got back yesterday evening October 4th. from Bill & PJ's hunt, I hunted four days during the New Mexico handicaped elk hunt. Opening morning I had seen numerous elk including a 6x7 bull that scored 315, I couldn't get within range for a reasonable shot. Later in the day at about 6PM I shot a 6X7 that scored 320. The reason I know the first bull scored 315 is because the other hunter in our camp Walter was put on him the next morning and placed a nice shot and tagged out himself. During my hunt I had also been within 35 yards of mule deer but the season was closed to rifle. Bill, PJ, and Michelle the cook were first class all the way. I'm going back next year and also looking to book a Lion hunt with them this February. Everyone there was more than accomodating and very professional.

Submit Date: Oct 2, 2000

Outfitter Review: High Country Connections - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: Casey Veach

Hunter: Richard S. Kucejko

Animals Hunted: Pronghorn Antelope

This was a weekend antelope hunt in Ft. Sumner, New Mexico. There were eleven hunters in camp. All taged out the first. I killed the smallest goat (my choice) at 13.5 inches. There was one over 17 inches and an overall average of over 15 inches for the eleven antelope. There were plenty of antelope to choose from as we only hunted a fraction of the property available. There was no need to see it all. The food was good and the guides were great. I would recemend this hunt to anyone looking for a quality antelope as well as a good time.

Submit Date: Sep 22, 2000

Outfitter Review: Backcountry Hunts - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: Steve Jones

Hunter: Monte Leath

Animals Hunted: Antelope

I've hunted with Backcountry Hunts twice. Both experiences were very positive and I plan to make more hunts with them.

Submit Date: Aug 13, 2000

Outfitter Review: Mick Chapel - NM

Outfitter / Owner: Mick Chapel

Hunter: jeff rossey

Animals Hunted: pronghorn antelope

I have hunted antelope, elk, and muledeer with Mick and his guides and himself have always gonethe extra mile for me. I am paralyzed and mick has always put me in a game rich area and provided me with the opportunity to harvest animals that any able bodied hunter would be proud to harvest.

Submit Date: Aug 5, 2000

Outfitter Review: Down Home Outfitter - NM

Outfitter / Owner: Walter Hobbs

Hunter: DAVID G. CARTER

Animals Hunted: MT. LION

WORST DROUGHT IN NM IN YEARS MADE IT ALMOST IMPOSSIBLE FOR DOGS TO STAY ON A TRACK. SAW COUNTLESS AMOUNTS OF TRACKS AND OLD KILLS. GUIDES AND OUTFITTER WENT THE EXTRA MILE AND IS BRINGING ME BACK FOR FREE IN 2001.

Submit Date: Jul 16, 2000

Outfitter Review: United States Outfitters - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: George Taulman

Hunter: Todd Block

Animals Hunted: Desert Bighorn

George runs a good camp. He knows his businessand knows what a hunter is looking for. He has a great license program for non-resident hunters. Work with George and you will have a great hunt.

Submit Date: Jul 14, 2000

Outfitter Review: Circle Heart Outfitters - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: James L. Baird

Hunter: Fred C. Smith Jr.

Animals Hunted: Elk

Have looked forward to making this hunt for many years, outfitter did all he could to make this trip a success.

Submit Date: Mar 1, 2000

Outfitter Review: WestTex NewMex Hunting - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: Jess Rankin

Hunter: Sue Wedekind

Animals Hunted: Elk (bull&cow)

The camp was clean, warm and comfortable. The food was served on time, plentiful and the quality was outstanding.The elk sightings were numerous and of good quality.The guides were experienced, helpful and friendly.The transportation provided was adequate. This hunt was enjoyed by men, women and youth hunters, using archery, muzzleloader and rifle. Everybody had a good time and morale was high.The area we hunted in was beautiful. I recomend this hunt to anybody who enjoys the outdoors and elk hunting.

Submit Date: Mar 1, 2000

Outfitter Review: United States Outfitters - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: George Taulman

Hunter: Randy Valentine

Animals Hunted: ELK

IF YOU WANT TO GET A BULL ELK GO WITH US OUTFITTERS

Submit Date: Nov 27, 1999

Outfitter Review: Jim Worthan - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: Jim Worthan

Hunter: john

Animals Hunted: elk

$4000 camping trip. The owner/guide asked me where I wanted to go, I thought thats what I was paying him for. No elk were seen until I started telling him where to go. By the end of the hunt I was so disgusted that I had spent so much for absolutely nothing I left early.

Submit Date: Oct 30, 1999

Outfitter Review: Simpson Outfitters - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: Tom Simpson

Hunter: Brooks Carmichael

Animals Hunted: Elk

I could not have had a better hunt. I saw 5 branch antlered bulls before I shot this one. It was a good mature six point. I know, could have done better. But, due to knee injury prior to the hunt. I was very limited in what I could do. My highest recommendation is that I am going back next year.

Submit Date: Oct 26, 1999

Outfitter Review: Kiowa Hunting Service - NM

Outfitter / Owner: Tim Barraclough, Sr.

Hunter: JAN LONGENECKER

Animals Hunted: ELK

I bow hunted the Valle Vidal in northeast New Mexico. Tim's a good guy and runs a nice camp. He put me on big bulls everday. Unfortunately, my mistakes and luck left me with an unfilled tag. I would recommend this hunt. For those not so lucky in the draw I saw pictures of some great ranch hunts. Tim's number is 505-445-9330.

Submit Date: Oct 23, 1999

Outfitter Review: Elite Outfitters - NM

Outfitter / Owner: Brian Newell/Johnny Hughes

Hunter: James Morgan

Animals Hunted: Elk

The terrain is the steppest I have ever hunted.The elk hunting is as good as it gets.The chance of getting a real wallhanger is tremendous.Physical conditioning is must!

Submit Date: Oct 13, 1999

Outfitter Review: Kennedy Hunting Services - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: Kirk Kennedy

Hunter: Mike Sodolak

Animals Hunted: Elk

We booked our hunt with Kirk with very high expectations. We not only met those expectations but shattered them. The week we were in camp there were 10 bull elk hunters. 1 330 bull, 2 320 bulls, 1 310 bull, 3 290-300 bulls, 2 5x5 bulls were killed when we left. The last hunter had been hunting a big bull with a harem of about 40 cows and as many as 10 satellite bulls with him and hadn't shot when we left.Kirk makes sure you are involved as much as you want to be. He makes sure that everyone has a great time and he wants to make sure you have fun and laugh. After you kill out, you are more than welcome, almost encouraged to stay in camp and help glass for elk for other people. Everyone in camp wanted everyone else to succeed. Kirk has over 1 million acres under lease and ~300,000 acres are prime elk country. He has 70 bull elk permits but only takes about 30 - 35 bulls a year to maintain a high quality experience and keep high quality elk on his properties.We saw over 40 branch antlered bulls in our three days of hunting. This is a first class operation all the way around, I don't know how you could find a better organized and fun place to hunt.

Submit Date: Aug 31, 1999

Outfitter Review: Limestone Outfitters - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: Darell Welty

Hunter: Fred V. Brown

Animals Hunted: Elk

Wesley Henderson was my guide and put several bulls in range before I finally connected on a light bull (6X6) 357 7/8. My 1st archery bull. This place is real hospitable if you are hunting with them. The whole family are good folks period.

Submit Date: Jun 29, 1999

Outfitter Review: U.S. Outfitters - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: George Taulman

Hunter: Steve Baptiste

Animals Hunted: ELK

The best elk hunting that I have ever experinced. Lots of bulls every day.

Submit Date: Jun 25, 1999

Outfitter Review: NM Prof. Big Game Hunting - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: Mick Chapel

Hunter: Erick Seager

Animals Hunted: Pronghorn Antelope; Mule Deer; Black Bear

Mick Chapel is the best. We hunted for antelope, bear & mulies. Damaging rains messed up the bear and mule deer hunts, but this was not Mick's fault. The antelope portion of our hunt was excellent. We have hunted with Mick many times and always have a great time. I have never hunted cats with him, but I can tell from pictures and other hunters that he is possibly the best cat outfitter in NM.

Submit Date: Jun 24, 1999

Outfitter Review: West-Tex NM Hunting Serv. - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: Jess Rankin

Hunter: Brooks Carmichael

Animals Hunted: Pronghorn; Coues Deer; Desert Mule Deer

Hunt for desert mule deer and coues deer. Only a small coues deer buck was sighted as going through the cactus. The only deer amongst four hunters was killed by the outfitter Jess Rankin. Who stated he thought we would be happy to see someone bring in a deer. We froze the first night out hunting and had hot dogs and a loaf of bread to eat. The second hunt, which was a replacement hunt, he was to supply food and lodging, which he did not. He stated this ranch had big antelope and hadn't been hunted in 6 years. Which was not true, it had not been hunted in the last two years because the New Mexico game department wouldn't give out landowner permits because there was not enought antelope to warrant the permits. The biggest antelope we saw on the place was a 14 incher, not the trophy quality he said was there. He told us this was his best ranch and we would have a chance a B&C antelope. We saw maybe 60 antelope on the 50 sections of land. The landowner showed us around the ranch. The guide for the other couple said there just wasn't any big antelope on the ranch and don't expect any. All three of us killed antelope. The guide I was supposed to have did not show up, so I was relegated to a mexican ranch hand, who could hardly speak a word of English. I killed a small 13 inch buck because the ranch hand stated in broken English he sure could use the meat. So, I killed the biggest buck I saw in one day of scouting and two days of hunting. The other couple was real upset, because they went on this hunt expecting better since the husband had already killed two antelope on previous hunts elsewhere that measured 16 inches. Call me or e-mail if you need more etails. I have other horror stories about this man and can give you names to call.

Submit Date: Jun 24, 1999

Outfitter Review: AAA Outfitters - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: Andrew J. Gonzalez

Hunter: W. Steele

Animals Hunted: Rocky Mountain Elk; Mule Deer

Our guides were locals who were very enthusiastic about hunting and stayed out as long as we wanted to. They were excellent at bugling in the elk within a 30 yard shot. The food was the best of any elk camp we have been to. We would highly recommend this outfit to anyone looking for a quality hunt in New Mexico.

<< First Page       < Previous Page

web application and database development by davidcdalton.com