New Mexico Hunting Outfitter and Guide Reviews

Submit Date: Feb 8, 2006

Outfitter Review: Apahe Park - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: Richard Sears

Hunter: David Seanor

Animals Hunted: Elk & Mule Deer

Richard Sears will tell you what you want to hear to book his hunts ! Our guide worked hard, But only arrived the day before us, as he said after our first day. No Elk on ranch and a nursury area for mulies. Hunted hard 5 days, never saw a calf or cow let alone a bull Elk or shooter mule deer. So much for Richard Sears 100% opportunity on a shooter Elk. Kevin Sears is a whole other story ( Useless ) He is the hunter in brochure with trophy mulie and 410 Elk.?

Submit Date: Feb 8, 2006

Outfitter Review: Ed Bremer Ranches - NM

Outfitter / Owner: Ed Bremer

Hunter: robert m starks jr

Animals Hunted: mule deer

this hunt was not what he said it would be. he was to provide in field transportaion and the guide showed up in a small toyota truck, we had to provide for ourself on almost every thing that he said he would. our guide was from misisippi and had not been on the ranch in 3years.Mr.bremer seemed angry at us the entire hunt and seemed to blame us because we did not see any bucks. nothing about this hunt was as he said it would be. i would not recommend bremer ranches to anyone

Submit Date: Feb 5, 2006

Outfitter Review: Apache Park - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: Rick Sears

Hunter: Tom Schneider

Animals Hunted: Mule deer

The hunt was totally misrepresented by Rick Sears as a trophy mule deer hunt. Rick's nephew Kevin was in charge of the camp. No one knew guide or ranch assignments before the first morning of the hunt when Kevin showed up still half drunk from his partying the previous night. My first guide (would hunt with him again) had been hired the day before and had never hunted anywhere in this part of New Mexico. The outfitter didn't supply any maps or scouting information to the guide. In the first three days, on two ranches, we never saw a deer and very few tracks, all small. The guide left after day 3. The last two days were on a third ranch where I did see deer one morning, but nothing worth shooting. Guide #2 was proud of his specialty of shooting deer out of season with a spotlight. He had never guided before and was not from New Mexico. One of the three "private" ranches was actually open to the public. Not seeing a trophy deer is just hunting, but the total lack of preparation and effort by the outfitter and the misrepresentation of the ranches is inexcusable. A total waste of time and money!!

Submit Date: Feb 3, 2006

Outfitter Review: Kiowa Hunting Services - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: Tim Barraclaugh

Hunter: Bill Pietsch

Animals Hunted: Elk (Cow)

This was my 5th. cow elk hunt with Kiowa. Everything I said in my 2001 review still applies today. These folks have consistantly 'delivered the goods.'

Submit Date: Jan 22, 2006

Outfitter Review: Apache Park - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: Rick Sears

Hunter: Bill Gentner

Animals Hunted: Elk

This was the most unethical, contract breaking booking agent/outfitter I have experienced in (40) years of hunting around the world. There was no game, no tracks. Guides were as new as the clients and did not know the area. These hunts were sold as "exclusive private ranches". Half of the land owner permits were held by other people.

Submit Date: Jan 12, 2006

Outfitter Review: Apache Park - NM

Outfitter / Owner: Rick Sears

Hunter: JAMES KERR

Animals Hunted: ELK

THIS OUTFITTER WILL TELL YOU PLENTY OF LIES TO GET YOU TO BOOK THE HUNT THEN GIVE YOU NOTHING FOR YOUR MONEY.SPENT OVER 5000 DOLLARS TO HUNT PRIVATE GROUND. THE GROUND WE HUNTED HAD OTHER GROUPS ON IT BUT NO ELK.THE GUIDE EVEN TOLD ME AND MY HUNTING PARTNER THERE WERE NO ELK ON THE PROPERTY WE WERE HUNTING.BUT HE HAD NO OTHER PLACE TO TAKE US HE WAS FOLLOWING ORDERS FROM CAMP. HE WAS NEW TO THE OUTFITTER AND ALSO LIED TO.

Submit Date: Jan 8, 2006

Outfitter Review: Higher Ground Outfitters - NM

Outfitter / Owner: Doc Rolston

Hunter: dan hahlbohm

Animals Hunted: elk

We scheduled a Semi-guided (4 hunters, 1 guide) elk hunt with Higher Ground outfitters in 2004.He advised me to apply for area 23 and described it as an up and coming area adjacent to areas 15 and 16. He also indicated that his guides would have the elk pinpointed and put us right on them.Doc Rolston indicated that we could realisticly expect a 50% harvest rate. We hunted 5 days and saw one spike bull. The reality is that the elk cross the border into Arizona or into an adjacent district as soon as the shooting starts. We were in camp for 5 days and the outfitter never even showed up. In all fairness the guide did work hard, but the elk were pressured out of the area after a couple of days.I would never recommend Higher Ground outfittersas I felt Doc Rolston was misleading in his answers to specific questions.

Submit Date: Dec 27, 2005

Outfitter Review: Ute Creek Outfitters - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: Lee Vigil

Hunter: Dwain Gold

Animals Hunted: Elk

This was a muzzleloader hunt with a total of fourhunters in camp. This is a fair chase hunt on an85,000 acre ranch which borders the Valle Vidal.All four hunters had opportunities with three being successful. The one unsuccessful hunterhad three shots but had problems with his scope and muzzleloader. I took a 7 x 6 - 330 class, onehunter took a 7 x 7 - 320 class, and one hunter took a 6 x 6 - 320 class. Having hunted in Colorado for years on do it yourself hunts on which I had taken several elk with none being a trophy I decided to try a New mexico hunt. I chose Ute Creek Outfitters and Lee Vigil. I found this hunt to be a true trophy hunt. Eachday I saw several large bulls, two being 360class bulls, one moved into the timber before I could get on it and the other was just out of my range with a muzzleloader and moved off when I did close the distance. I highly recommendthis hunt if you want an opportunity at a trophybull. The guides know the ranch and will work hard to get you an opportunity at a trophy bull.I will be back in 2006 for a rifle hunt with Lee.

Submit Date: Dec 22, 2005

Outfitter Review: Ute Creek Outfitters - NM

Outfitter / Owner: Lee Vigil

Hunter: Jim Leahy

Animals Hunted: Elk

6 hunters in Camp, 4 harvested bulls and one had the misfortune of wounding one. Two of the bulls harvested were very nice trophys.The weather did not cooperate- we had sub zero temps with 30-40MPH winds- the snow wasnt deep enough in the high Country to push the elk down to the fields and lower elevations. So the elk were scattered in smaller herds and holed up to get out of the wind. I did see some smaller bulls, but none that met the 5-5 plus trophy standards of the ranch. The elk country on the Rio Costilla ranch is some of the best elk Country I have ever seen. I had the feeling this was not a typical hunt at the ranch, and conditions made the hunt harder than it normally is, but this was a fair chase hunt and fair chase hunting has no gaurantees. Over all 5 out of 6 hunters having an opportunity at a bull is very good considering the conditions that week. The guides worked hard for the clients and knew the country well. I will be returning next fall to hunt with Lee on the Rio Costilla.

Submit Date: Dec 21, 2005

Outfitter Review: United State Outfitters - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: George Talmaun

Hunter: Stephen Munderloh

Animals Hunted: Elk

We hunted the Floyd Lee Ranch in October of 2005. Saw many good bulls. 6 of the 8 in camp harvested. The other 2 had many many shots. Nice 5X5's and small 6X6's. Would do it again in a heartbeat.

Submit Date: Dec 15, 2005

Outfitter Review: Ute Creek Outfitters - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: Lee Vigil

Hunter: Dean & Georgiann Hood

Animals Hunted: Bull Elk

This was our first big game hunt (husband & wife) and we both harvested bull elk (5x5 & 6x5). The outfitter/guides worked very hard for us and got results. This will be an experience which we will cherish for the rest of our lives. They ran a safe and efficient operation.

Submit Date: Dec 15, 2005

Outfitter Review: All American Outfitters - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: Jim Gimpel

Hunter: Richard Coelho

Animals Hunted: Elk

Jim is a great guy. I was in camp semi-guided but he showed me where to spend my time. I PASSED up SEVERAL ANIMALS before connecting on a nice Bull. Jim worked hard to please his other clients as well. I would like to hunt with him again sometime.

Submit Date: Dec 6, 2005

Outfitter Review: High Mountain outfitters - NEW MEXICO

Outfitter / Owner: Pete Trejulio

Hunter: Jimmy Wedworth

Animals Hunted: ELK

tHIS PERSON SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED ANYTHING MORE THAN A JOKE , hE TOLD ME AFTER MY BUDDY HUNTED FOR 4 DAYS WITH OUT SEEING AN ELK , THAT A MAN COULD HUNT IN THAT AREA FOR TEN YEARS AND NEVER SEE AN ELK. I say bs if you have been in the business for 20 years, you should be able to at least locate an elk either sex, in 4 days of a 5 day hunt if you wouldn't smoke dope all day.Beware of this Person!!!!!!!!!

Submit Date: Dec 6, 2005

Outfitter Review: Elite Outfitters - NM

Outfitter / Owner: Johnny Hughes/Brian Newell

Hunter: BRANDON COOPER

Animals Hunted: ELK

2 OF US WENT ON A PRIVATE LAND ELK HUNT WITH ELITE IN NOV. 2005. WE SAW 46 BULLS IN 3 DAYS AND BOTH KILLED BULLS OVER 310. THE HUNTING IS HARD, BUT IF YOUR IN SHAPE YOU'LL KILL A GOOD ONE.

Submit Date: Dec 3, 2005

Outfitter Review: San Juan River Outfitters - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: John Jaquez

Hunter: John Allman

Animals Hunted: Elk

Saw quite a few elk and missed oppertunity on a excellent 6x6. Good food and excellent camp staff. This was my third hunt with San Juan River Outfitters and i have been impressed with the quality of the hunts and the overall level of effort and support.

Submit Date: Nov 30, 2005

Outfitter Review: United States Outfitters - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: George Talmaun

Hunter: Tim Kennedy

Animals Hunted: ELK

HUNTED THE FLOYD LEE RANCH WITH MUZZLELOADER. PLENTIFUL GAME, TOOK TWO EXCELLENT ELK. WAS AN OVERALL FIRST CLASS HUNT

Submit Date: Nov 4, 2005

Outfitter Review: Elite Outfitters - NM

Outfitter / Owner: Brian Newell/Johnny Hughes

Hunter: Jonathan Windley

Animals Hunted: Elk

This was my second hunt with Elite in three years. Both hunts have been great from A-Z. If you are researching a guide to hunt elk in New Mexico look no further than these guys. All guides and staff working for them are top notch and work extremely hard to get you on a big bull. Get in shape if you plan to hunt with them. They hunt the most rugged parts of wilderness areas where the big bulls are located. If you can keep up with the guide they will put you on the elk. Both of my hunts ended with a good elk but I had the hunts of a lifetime regardless of the kill. Please contact me if you have any questions regarding Elite, they are top notch in anyone's book.

Submit Date: Nov 3, 2005

Outfitter Review: Apache Park - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: Sunny Sears

Hunter: Joe Vinopal

Animals Hunted: Elk

My wife and I returned, again to hunt with Apache Park in October 2005. We hunted only one day. She took a 6x6, 294 B&C and mine was also a 6X6, 307 B & C with a broken royal tine on the left. I saw 7 bulls prior to taking mine and had many bugling around me. The guides are as excited as the hunter when it comes to getting on Elk. We will be back again.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Oct 29, 2005

Outfitter Review: Way West Outfitters - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: Keith Reily

Hunter: Paul

Animals Hunted: Elk

Keith is not to be trusted. Keith took my $2,000 deposit and never spoke to me again. I called and left numerous messages. I finally filed a complaint with the NM game and fish. Matt Cidel was very helpful. Never give Keith Reily money

Submit Date: Oct 27, 2005

Outfitter Review: Apache Park Outfitters - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: Rick Sears

Hunter: William Gentner

Animals Hunted: Elk

This hunt was falsely advertised and the contract signed as advertised was breached by Rick Sears. "Exclusive private ranches" as advertised had (6)land owner tags sold to total strangers. There was no communication between those hunters and our camp as to who was going to be where. Rick Sears put his clients in harms way and laughed all the way to the bank. Another client had $1,000 dollars stolen from his wallet by a guide. DO NOT TAKE YOUR WIFE INTO THIS ENVIRONMENT. Kevin Sears was rude to my wife and told her "she had no right to say anything, her name was not on the contract". Her name was on the contract as my non-hunting companion.

Submit Date: Oct 24, 2005

Outfitter Review: Lobo Outfitters - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: Dick & Mike Ray

Hunter: Wade Paffenroth

Animals Hunted: Elk

The Rays run a top notch elk hunting operation in some of the best elk country available. I was put on elk every day and was able to connect on the fourth day of my hunt. The guides were very professional and friendly. Gwen (Mikes wife and camp cook) did a fantastic job preparing delicious and varied meals. I would recommend Lobo Outfitters to anyone interested in a top quality elk hunting experience. Any questions, please feel free to drop me an e-mail!

Submit Date: Oct 21, 2005

Outfitter Review: Elite Outfitters - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: Brian Newell/Johnny Hughes

Hunter: Jonathan Windley

Animals Hunted: Elk

This was my second hunt with Elite Outfitters and I would highly recommend them to anyone wanting to hunt elk in New Mexico. These guys run a top notch business and work hard to ensure that their clients have a quality hunt. Quantity and quality of game seen was unbelivable in the area these guys hunt. I saw and passed on elk everyday of the hunt with both my dad and I connecting on two very nice bulls. If you are researching guides for an elk hunt in NM don't look any further than Elite.

Submit Date: Oct 14, 2005

Outfitter Review: S-S Outfitters - NM

Outfitter / Owner: Rick/Clifford Simpson

Hunter: Chuck Weyandt

Animals Hunted: elk/antelope

I've hunted with the Simpsons three times. Several aquaintance4s of mine have also hunted with them. Everyone of us has had multiple opportunities to harvest quality game animals. These outfitters and their guides are intimately familiar with the White Mountain Wilderness Area. IF YOU WANT A QUALITY HUNT with respected individuals this is the outfitter to use.

Submit Date: Oct 13, 2005

Outfitter Review: Bear Creek Outfitters - NM

Outfitter / Owner: Lou Probo

Hunter: ajcole

Animals Hunted: antelope, and bear

antelope was fair, bear hunt was a ten mile hike every day.saw no bear. should thank them for losing ten pounds though. if you have money to throw away go with lou. i don't!!!!!

Submit Date: Oct 13, 2005

Outfitter Review: Old South Outfitters - NM

Outfitter / Owner: Lou Probo

Hunter: bill cole

Animals Hunted: antelope

this is lou probo of bear creek outfitters. must of changed name to confuse people.

Submit Date: Oct 12, 2005

Outfitter Review: 4C's Outfitters - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: Rodney Connor

Hunter: Joe McClelland

Animals Hunted: Elk

It would have been nice if they would have let you know ahead of time that all of the famous people and videotaped hunts occurred on a 13K PRIVATE RANCH, NOT the public land where I was hunting with EVERYONE ELSE. I would have been more than glad to have paid for the private ranch ahead of time if I would have known. Another UNHAPPY public land hunter tried to upgrade to private and was told no. The sad part is that the rest of the public hunters that stayed at a different camp probably will never know the private ranch existed and not know they are getting screwed!!!!I saw a handful of elk on the 1st morning and NOTHING ELSE for the next 2 1/2 days. I did however see plenty of good elk on the PRIVATE RANCH that I was not allowed to hunt on.I paid SEVERAL THOUSAND DOLLARS for my hunt and left on the 4th morning in disgust!!!

Submit Date: Oct 6, 2005

Outfitter Review: Redrock Outfitters - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: Toby/Joe Truby

Hunter: Mike Strawser

Animals Hunted: Elk

I've been on my share of guided hunts but this is by far the best all around outfitter I have ever hunted with. There were five hunters in camp all were tagged out by 2 1/2 days on 5x5 or better elk. We hunted with muzzleloaders when the bulls were bugling. Awesome experience. I was more than please with my bull I shot the first day which scored close to 300 b&c. My guide Joe called him right in to me. Guides are great callers and know exactly where the bulls are. Private ranch hunt. If you want an elk this is the hunt for you. I cant say enough good things about this hunt. Top Notch. I booked the hunt through BMOA booking service.

Submit Date: Sep 22, 2005

Outfitter Review: Folsom Outfitters - NM

Outfitter / Owner: Kyle Bell

Hunter: don kozak

Animals Hunted: pronghorn

A really terrific hunt. great accomodations,experienced guides. you were made to feel like old friends.

Submit Date: Aug 5, 2005

Outfitter Review: Milligan Outfitter - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: Ray/Colleen Milligan

Hunter: Sonny Cavarlez

Animals Hunted: Elk

I've utilized Milligan Outfitter twice, both for late cow elk hunt in 2004 and 2005. Our guide was Adam Telemante, a great guide who brought shooting sticks which made the hunt a bit easier. For '04 there were five of us hunting cow elk in Jan. we were successful within the first two hours of the first day.For 05 cow elk hunt in January, I got my elk on the first day at 4:00 p.m. Both experience were very memorable.

Submit Date: Jul 20, 2005

Outfitter Review: Tomahawk Outfitters - NM

Outfitter / Owner: James Kneip

Hunter: lane bowen

Animals Hunted: elk and deer

many misrepresentaions

Submit Date: Jul 12, 2005

Outfitter Review: Apache Park - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: Rick Sears

Hunter: Ken Rausch

Animals Hunted: Elk

Hunted the same small piece of ground the first 3 days. The elk had not been there for at least 3 months. Guide suggested we go arrowhead hunting the hunt was so bad. We would get up in morning eat breakfast hunt for a hour and be back at the cabin by 8:30. Guide finally took us to a new piece of ground the 4th day. Another group of hunters were already there. We later found out we were trespassing. The last day we were hunting we went to a new ranch. The guide good not find where we were suppose to hunt so we ended up riding around the ranch for a couple of hours and went back to the cabin. We left that afternoon. Another guy in camp also left early.

Submit Date: Jul 9, 2005

Outfitter Review: United States Outfitters - NM

Outfitter / Owner: George Taulman

Hunter: Bill Sleep

Animals Hunted: Elk

Hunted with them for 11 years in a row - consistent quality of camps, guides and game.

Submit Date: Apr 14, 2005

Outfitter Review: Apache Park land & Cattle - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: Rick Sears

Hunter: Jack Basham

Animals Hunted: Elk

Hunted West Central NM for trophy bull elk with muzzle loader. The area held trophy class bulls and Apache Parks private ranches were well managed. The hunt was represented accurately and my guide knew his stuff and was a true professional. Even if I hadn't killed my biggest bull to date ( a 380pt 6x7) I'll be returning to hunt with Apache Park in the future.

Submit Date: Mar 4, 2005

Outfitter Review: Old West Outfitters - NM

Outfitter / Owner: Rich Hobbs

Hunter: CHUCK KYLE

Animals Hunted: ELK

We had a great five day Elk Hunt during muzzle loading season. Rich and his guides are very knowledgeable and fun to be around. They make you feel very welcome and are extremely accomodating to everyones' needs. Rich's wife Jackie is a wonderful cook and makes all the great home cooking you could ask for. Three out of four of us killed nice bulls, and the fourth person had several opportunities and missed bshots on two occassions. It is beautiful country and a very easy hunt physically. I will definitely return to hunt with Rich again. - Chuck Kyle.

Submit Date: Mar 1, 2005

Outfitter Review: Kiowa Hunting Service - NM

Outfitter / Owner: Tim Barraclough

Hunter: Derek Preusser

Animals Hunted: Mule Deer

These guys are not only great guides but great guys in general.

Submit Date: Feb 14, 2005

Outfitter Review: West Tex New Mex - NM

Outfitter / Owner: Jess Rankin

Hunter: ken serio

Animals Hunted: BULL ELK

I would only recommend this outfitter if you could be GUARANTEED Steve Pecos as the guide...Under no circumstances accept any of the other ones(get it in writing..Very down home TRUE mexican food was outstanding...My buddy scored on a nice 5 x 5 bull the first evening...I slowed the guide down due to my physical conditioning, my fault. He worked very hard and am confident he could have given me a shot....The rest of the hunters were very disapointed, and will never return..

Submit Date: Jan 31, 2005

Outfitter Review: Ute Creek Outfitters - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: Lee Vigil

Hunter: Darrell Armbruster

Animals Hunted: Elk

From the moment I arrived at camp, the UTO crew was very accommodating, and truly cared about how I was treated. They also made sure before the hunt that my guide knew my limitations and also knew what type and quality of animal I was looking for. On two occasions, I thought I saw what looked like the trophy I wanted, but my guide told me to hold off, and wait for a nicer bull. The morning of day 5, we saw that bull. He green scored 325. UTO also took care of me after I harvested my animal. Getting the bull off the mountain, to getting it to the meat locker--several UTO crew member jumped in to assist.

Submit Date: Jan 18, 2005

Outfitter Review: Mimbres Guide Service - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: Billy Lee

Hunter: Tommy Hagler

Animals Hunted: Elk

This hunt was the worst camp set up that I've ever experienced in my life. My assigned guide had never elk hunted before in his life and had received his guide license in the mail the day before the hunt. I ended up teaching him how to call elk. This was an archery hunt. The elk weren't even around the camp area. You would walk 2 miles or so to even get in the area the elk were at. All the time, leaving the horses in camp that we were told we would be able to ride to our hunting areas. WRONG!!! The only lanterns in camp were one in his tent and one above the 3' square cook table. No chairs or even logs pulled up to sit on in camp. We even ran out of toilet paper. The shower bag water was black with larvae, moss and bugs. He didn't even dig a hole for a latrine. He had a small camp shovel that each person was to use to dig their own hole as needed.I strongly urge you to not book with this outfitter. Hunting the Gila Wilderness is supposed to be a memorable experience. I will never forget this hunt, but not in the way you're supposed to remember it.

Submit Date: Jan 14, 2005

Outfitter Review: Brillant Canyon Ranch - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: Joe DeKleva

Hunter: Victor C. Tortorici

Animals Hunted: ELK

The owner Joe DeKleva and guide Mike could not do enough for thier clients to make them feel comfortable. Wether at camp or hunting. They used various tactics to that you saw, got a shot or a kill. There were three hunters in camp, two of which were repeat clients. All three of us went three for three. Two 6x6 and 5x5. Would I recomend this outfitter, you bet. Looking to bring my son the next time.

Submit Date: Dec 31, 2004

Outfitter Review: Rugged Mtn. Outfitters - NM

Outfitter / Owner: Carlos De Lao

Hunter: Jerry Ray

Animals Hunted: Elk

He lost his guiding license and now his brother runs Gila and Apache Professional Big Game Outfitters. http://www.gilanet.com/gilatrophyhunts/These guys are a joke ! Stay away from them, they are in Reserve, NM. If you want more details, email me.

Submit Date: Dec 20, 2004

Outfitter Review: Bucks and Bulls - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: Kim /Jeff Bonnett

Hunter: Chris Daniels

Animals Hunted: Elk

A better destination for trophy antelope, but lots of good elk as well. I saw several bulls that would have scored 320+ and shot a bull on the first morning that grossed 360. If you are after a B&C, this probably isn't the best choice but if you are just looking for a good 5X5 or 6X6 to hang on the wall, then this is a good destination. The ranch is 100,000 acres and I saw dozens of bulls and hundreds of elk. Some of the guys saw less, so push your guide for a better location if you don't see much the first day.

Submit Date: Dec 14, 2004

Outfitter Review: C&S Big Game Outfitters - NM

Outfitter / Owner: Doug Church

Hunter: Rick Grubbs

Animals Hunted: Elk

This was my first ever elk hunt and myself and 7 others went with Doug bowhunting in NM September of 2004. Not only do the guides hunt with the hunter but also do all they can and it shows!Out of 8 hunters, 6 of us shot at bulls. (side note- 2 of us flew on a plane from NM back to Atlanta with Michael Waddell with Realtree. He hunted with another outfitter in NM for 5 days and did not see a bull!!!!!!) 3 were missed and 3 were recovered. Of the 3, we had a 3x5, a 5x5 and my 6x6. Not sure what it means but all guides in camp agreed that my 6x6 would go over 300 inches. Wonderful territory, great food and lodging, even if they were drop tents!Doug, Mike, Joy, Orlando, Al, and Gabe do a wonderful job with everyone and do their best to get everyone on a bull they are after! I cannot tell you enough about his place and this outfitter! He also does turkey, deer, mule deer, antelope, bear and mountain lion hunts across the US. I recommend getting a hold of him!!

Submit Date: Dec 10, 2004

Outfitter Review: New Mexico Professional Big Game Hunting - NM

Outfitter / Owner: Mick Chapel

Hunter: Jay Gilchrist

Animals Hunted: Elk

Mick is passionate about hunting trophy animals, and has some of the finest guides in the state. You do need to be in shape to get the most out of your hunt. On a muzzleloader hunt, I took the 20th bull I saw in two and 1/2 days. Not the biggest bull we saw, but still a 300 inch bull. The bigger ones are out there! I plan on applying for a tag every year.

Submit Date: Dec 7, 2004

Outfitter Review: Ute Creek Outfitters - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: Lee Vigil

Hunter: Cody Purviance

Animals Hunted: Elk

I only hunted one day but including the evening before my hunt I seen 4 bulls that could score around 330+. I killed a great bull the first evening and was the last hunter in camp to kill. I would highly recommend Ute Creek Outfitters to anyone.

Submit Date: Nov 29, 2004

Outfitter Review: Millgan Brand Outfitting - NM

Outfitter / Owner: Ray/Colleen Milligan

Hunter: Craig Conway

Animals Hunted: ELK

My first elk hunt but not my first guided hunt. Very impressed with the whole experience from my first phone call to the actual hunt. We had 10 hunter in camp and 9 went home with elk. One hunter chose to pass on two elk. I shot my first bull a 5 X 5 on the third day. Great camraderie with staff and guides and other hunters in camp. Excellent food, fun and hunting.

Submit Date: Nov 28, 2004

Outfitter Review: High Lonesome Outfitters - NM

Outfitter / Owner: Kerry Sebring

Hunter: Bob Westmen, Brian Denny

Animals Hunted: ELK

The country is just beautiful, but this hunt is pretty much a $6,500.00 scam. Mr. Sebring stated that we would be hunting on private land and that he had personally scouted several large herds one week before our arrival. Don't believe it. First of all the entire hunt was on public land, which can be accessed for half the cost. Secondly, the guides encouraged us - on more than one occassion - to hunt the near-by indian reservation. Though tempting, doing so is highly illegal and did not come close to falling within our definition of a "fair chase hunt". Instead we spent three embarrassing days figuring out that the guides did not know what they were doing (the one I was with smelled like pancake surup and ate crackers the whole time). We finally ventured off on our own to scout, track and bugle. Two of us had shooting opportunities the night before we had to leave. The animals are there, you just have to spend the time finding where they travel. Although four of us (out of six hunters) could be considered experienced, we saw a total of four small bulls the entire 5 day week.Save your money. Hunt with someone else, or take your wife on a fancy cruise.

Submit Date: Nov 24, 2004

Outfitter Review: Get Gold Adventures - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: Doc (Rita)

Hunter: Dennis Kwilinski

Animals Hunted: Whitetail

I spent years saving up to go on a "TROPHY WHITETAIL HUNT" and when I could finally afford to go, I "took one for the team". This outfitter appears to be nothing but a scam. I purchased a "TROPHY WHITETAIL HUNT" in the (her words) 135 to 170 range. When I arrived, my 1x1 giude was hired that afternoon and did not know about any whitetails especiall in that category. This was an all inclusive hunt, I wound up paying for my meals and no breakfasts were provided unless I wanted to wait until way after 1st light to eat and then the hour or so drive in to hunt mulies. This company should not be allowed to do any business with people besides making license plates. Very dissatified.

Submit Date: Nov 11, 2004

Outfitter Review: Ute Creek Outfitters - NM

Outfitter / Owner: Lee Vigil

Hunter: Bart J Besaw

Animals Hunted: Elk

This was a terrific hunt, the price was slightly above average but with the number and quality of the animals I saw it was well worth it. My hunt was Sept 9th thru 14th and to have four archery hunters kill four Pope & Young bulls was very impressive to say the least. Also there's no need to apply for tags the outfitter is part owner of close to 90,000 acres so landowner tags were what we used. I'm already signed up for next year looking forword to another great hunt.

Submit Date: Oct 29, 2004

Outfitter Review: Ute Creek Outfitters - NM

Outfitter / Owner: Lee Vigil

Hunter: Steve Foster

Animals Hunted: Elk

After much research, reference checking, etc., I settled on Ute Creek Outfitters and the Rio Costilla Park Ranch as perhaps the best opportunity within my means for me to harvest a trophy 6 X 6 Elk. I sure was not disappointed. Not only is the ranch well managed for elk, but the people (outfitters, guides, community of Costilla, NM) are extremely friendly and courteous making you feel most welcome and at home. Add this to their experience and familiarity with the 82,000 acre ranch, and you've got a winner. They will give you the opportunity, the rest is up to you. The accomodations were good and convenient to the ranch. The food was too good and too plentiful.For those who have not been to the mountains in the west, the views are breathtaking. There is no way you can take a picture of this and capture what you are feeling and experiencing as you stand there in awe. With a good network of trail roads throughout the ranch, Ute Creek Outfitters can accomodate many physically challenged hunters and help them with reasonable opportunities for success.If I sound biased, I am because I truly had a wonderful experience, bagged perhaps my 6 X 6 elk of a lifetime and met some wonderful people whom I sincerely hope to see again. Great place, great hunt, great people. You can't go wrong.

Submit Date: Oct 25, 2004

Outfitter Review: High Lonesome Outfitters - NM

Outfitter / Owner: Kerri Sebring

Hunter: Tom Pilkington

Animals Hunted: elk

excellent archery elk hunt; in spite of poor conditions, dry and hot....lots of bulls, many opportunities for big bulls

Submit Date: Oct 24, 2004

Outfitter Review: Latir Outfitters - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: Mike Pachecko

Hunter: Jerry Schaffer

Animals Hunted: Elk

The hunt went well and the guides did their job. However, the outfitter is a rip-off. Our accomodations included staying in his trailer as he moved his family out and us in. However, I slept on the floor, one slept on the couch and the other two in our party slept together in one bed. Meals were prepared and eaten at the outfitters wife's retuarant next door which consisted of mexican food every day for lunch and dinner. The outfitter has permits on the Rio Costilla Livestock Ranch in NM and there was lots of elk to be had. The outfitter and two of his guides had vehicles that look as if they were in the demolition derby the week before, so we were forced to use our one rental vehicle. The problems came after the hunt when the outfitter suddenly surprised us with all his hidden costs including, $20 each for watching cable TV, his wife's meals, including those of the guides, and then a $1,500 trophy fee from each of us for a kill including one in our party that did not kill but wounded and animal. When I booked the hunt I was told there would not be any additional cost except the license fee. When we told him this he became very angry and mentioned that he could hold our equipment and personal items until we paid. We protested him and he became very angry. We finally agreed to pay him 1/2 of what he wanted and left with our elk and some very bitter fillings and will never return to him again. I'm so glad that one of my close friends told me about this website so I can provide this information to the public. Don't book a hunt with this bum. He'll tell you what you want to hear and then change everything on you. There are some good outfitters on the Rio Costilla Livestock ranch that will treat you well. There were five of us on this elk hunt in 1998 and we were all ripped-off by this bum. We called the game dept. who said that we should contact the BBB, and the tax dept, but they have no control over the guides/outfitters on private land. We did contact the Rio Costilla Livestock office and they mentioned that we write a letter to the Board of Directors of which we did. Nothing however was done, expect I now understand that this outfitter has no clients...I wonder why? Keep clear of this outfitter folks. If you want an excellent hunt call the Rio Costilla Livestock directly and they will give you some names of good guides.

Submit Date: Oct 20, 2004

Outfitter Review: High Lonesome Outfitters - NM

Outfitter / Owner: Kerri Sebring

Hunter: Brian Denney

Animals Hunted: Elk and Deer

Totally lied about everything involved in the Hunt... will sue for misrepresentation to get my money back... DO NOT BELIVE A WORD HE SAYS>>>

Submit Date: Oct 17, 2004

Outfitter Review: Ute Creek Outfitters - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: Lee Vigil

Hunter: greg jimerson

Animals Hunted: Elk

I have been on at least 2-3 outfitted hunts for over 10 years and by far this was the best outfitter and hunt I have ever been on. I highly recommend UCO and the experience.

Submit Date: Oct 16, 2004

Outfitter Review: Simpson & Son - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: Rick/Clifford Simpson

Hunter: Charlie

Animals Hunted: Elk

I hunted Elk with Simpson & Son in 2003, rifle and 2004 muzzle loader.I got my Elk each time. This is a horseback hunt. You will be in the interior of the White Mountians of NM. It is not for the unprepared. Be in shape, work with your guide, and you will see game and country that will amaze you.

Submit Date: Oct 8, 2004

Outfitter Review: Elite Outfitters - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: Johnny Hughes/Brian Newell

Hunter: Randy Valentine

Animals Hunted: Bull Elk

The way elk hunting is supposed to be totally fair chase, widerness ranges, alpine meadows, very few hunters and plenty of trophy bull elk.If you are in good phyical shape your chances of getting a trophy bull improve greatly.

Submit Date: Sep 23, 2004

Outfitter Review: Tri-State Outfitters - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: Richard Petrini

Hunter: Don Moore

Animals Hunted: Black Bear

Great bear hunt, took a 7 1/2' boar, multicolored blonde, light brown, and chocolate brown. Bridger Petrini runs the hunts and has a fantastic pack of hounds.

Submit Date: Aug 20, 2004

Outfitter Review: Gary Webb - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: Gary Webb

Hunter: Lee Cook

Animals Hunted: Elk, Mule Deer

This is an excellent wilderness hunt. I've done this hunt four times, and although I was unsucessful for archery elk, I've had opportunities on most hunts. Gary always works hard from daylight until dark. I've not seen the numbers of elk I hear some hunters speak of, but the Gila elk I did see were enormous. I do believe I've seen a B & C quality animal on every trip.

Submit Date: Aug 12, 2004

Outfitter Review: Nontypical Outfitter - NM

Outfitter / Owner: Adrian Romero

Hunter: Jeff Mckee

Animals Hunted: ELK/MULE DEER

I saw one elk in 7 days of hunting; I got lucky & killed that ONE elk. That would be a good thing; however my outfitter has yet to send up my 5x5 horns from my elk that I killed a full year ago. From our conversations, I highly doubt I will ever see my rack again.

Submit Date: Jul 17, 2004

Outfitter Review: Blue Mountain Outfitters - NM

Outfitter / Owner: Bob Atwood

Hunter: Gerald Lemond

Animals Hunted: Elk

Bob runs the best priced quality operation of any outfitter I've ever known or hunted with. He chooses to hunt a group of no more than 6 hunters at a time, the guides are extremely knowledgeable of the areas they hunt and will put you in range of the animals. Oct 2003 we had 50% success with harvested bulls and it could have been 100% if the other guys had pulled the trigger on Bulls put it front of them. Nature/weather permitting - you'll see the animals and get your shot. Camp accomodations were above normal. Bob and his guys are great: they make you feel welcome and work their butts off for you. Get in shape - you're going to walk a lot if you want to get to the best Bulls. If you ever see Bob with his hat off -take a picture and forward it along - we'll pay a bounty for it!!

Submit Date: May 23, 2004

Outfitter Review: Circle Heart Outfitters - NM

Outfitter / Owner: James Baird

Hunter: Mike Janicki

Animals Hunted: elk

Myself and 3 others hunted in Oct. 03. I was the only one to kill an elk (nice 6pt.)We hunted on private property and were told we could expect to kill 3 or 4 5pts. or better elk. The biggest problem we had was we wounded a bull one evening and spent the whole next day searching to no avail. With about a half hr. of light left my depressed buddy and I asked Mr Baird if we should sit up by this meadow, and rudely said why to shoot coyotes, your hunt is done. I DONT have a problem with a draw blood hunt over policy. But this policy was never mentioned. They asked us what we were comfortable (range) shooting at . When I said out to 200yds. they made coments those rifles are able to shoot farther then that. So It is my beleif that if we were to see a bull at 300 yds. they would expect me to shoot. FINE BUT TELL A GUY IF YOU DRAW BLOOD YOU ARE DONE! A guy might think well Ill just have to get into my comfort shooting zone before shooting. Another problem we had was we wanted and were promised the 1st weeks hunt, but got the 2nd. week instead. We put a deposit down on a draw hunt the year before. We didnt draw, Mr. baird said we were his ONLY clients who didnt draw, so he told us we were first in line for the next yr. I Told him right away(16 months before the hunt)we would like the first week he said ok. But then in the spring I called him, he said some group of return clients already had the 1st week, even though in the summer 2002 after the draw we were told we were his only booked clients for 03 and had are choice of any week to hunt. Another Huge problem was they only hunted the first and last couple hrs. And they really didnt want us to hunt in the mornings either. I understand this was about 5000 acres of private land we could hunt. So they were so worried we would spook elk off the property if we hunted during the day. Basically all they wanted to do was sneek in to a known meadow and sit no exploring or checking new areas for sign. The only elk me and my Dad saw was the the first morning (it was a large herd with a few bulls, I got mine out of this and Dad did miss a running shot), But the rest of the hunt we saw nothing. The fact is when you pay several thousands of dollars for 5 days of hunting, We wanted to hunt all day. We know it is not the best time during midday, but we knew we were not going to get them in camp. I could tell they didnt want to gamble getting an elk during miday for fear of spooking some elk. I could see they were worried about keeping elk around for up coming weeks of hunting. In my opinion to small of a ranch to be hunted every week. If they are that worried about spooking some elk that they cant hunt it the way we hunt elk. (we have been hunting elk since 84) The other buddy of mine never even seen a bull. The thing that really ticked me off was Mr. Baird is the owner of the outfit and he guided me and my Dad, no tip was given because we dont tip a owner of the outfit first off, and secondly there was the things we were unhappy about. My 2 buddies didnt tip their guide either. My buddy emailed Mr. Baird a few weeks after the hunt. He replied they were upset about the no tip deal. I then tried calling and emailing Mr. Baird to say I was sorry and try to patch this up, but he will not return my calls.

Submit Date: May 15, 2004

Outfitter Review: United States Outfitters - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: George Taulman

Hunter: Chet Grimsley

Animals Hunted: Elk

Hunting on public land (National Forest) 26 hunters all total in 3 different camps killed 26 6X6 bulls of various quality (hard to believe but true).. Bulls killed scored between 260 to 342 as I recall .. This was a draw hunt area for trophy bulls so the chance to kill a 6X6 was very good ... The first day of the hunt I saw a 370-380 bull that we could not catch up to in the timber .. I killed my 342 bull the second morning ... USO works as a "team" .. When a hunter scores, his guide helps scout for a hunter who has not yet scored .. Therefore, you may have your private guide but also have two or three other guides helping scout for you after the 2nd or 3rd day if you have not killed a bull yet .. What other outfitter would do this ?? .... None I have ever hunted with ...

Submit Date: Apr 19, 2004

Outfitter Review: Ute Creek Outfitters - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: Elias Vigil

Hunter: Judge Stanely Bird

Animals Hunted: Merriam Turkey

I hunted with Lee and Baba on the Rio Costilla Park for two days. I saw lots of elk and mule deer in our turkey hunt, but no turkeys. We found lots of sign, but on day two in the afternoon, Baba spotted some turkeys and Lee and I made a successful stalk. I've never done spot and stalk turkey before, but the gobblers were just not responding. I think it's just a bit too early for them. I just came back from a 13 month deployment in Iraq and Lee promised when I got back he'd take me on a turkey hunt. He made good on his promise and I can't thank him and Baba more for having me. These guys know exactly what needs to be done and they really are professionals.

Submit Date: Apr 16, 2004

Outfitter Review: Ross Johnson Outfitters - NM

Outfitter / Owner: Ross Johnson

Hunter: Ron Blackmer

Animals Hunted: Elk

This hunt is advertised as being in a unit of 350+ bulls. We took four archery hunters in mid-September. No shot opportunites for anyone. Not even close. Before we booked this hunt I asked Ross about what opportunities he averaged each year and he answered 80-100% shot opportunity. On kill rate he said about 50%.According to our guides actual rates are about 15% or about the unit average. We had trouble finding elk most days and when we did find them the guides didn't seem particularly optimistic about getting them or even pursuing them.I did see a 370 the first day but my guide said, "no way we can get to it." So we left after we watched it bed. One guide had never been in the parts of the unit he was guiding. Since this was his first time guiding for Ross he felt he had to do what "the boss" said.One of our group hunted a water hole one evening only to be kicked off by a local an hour before dark. Another evening the guide took him to another water hole where there was no activity so they left. That was it for the evening hunt.The guides explained that our hunt was pretty typical of most archery hunts. And according to them the other camps didn't fare much better. Even the Double H ranch where hunters pay 10k+ to hunt had one kill in two weeks.Ross visited our camp the night before our hunt started and never showed again. He never called or did any follow up with us. I finally sent Ross a detailed letter on our experience. I still had a little hope that we may find a way to salvage something from this fiasco. He wrote back saying he would look into it but I haven't heard anything since. If you're thinking of hunting this unit or with Ross don't hesitate to contact me.

Submit Date: Mar 24, 2004

Outfitter Review: US Outfitters - NM

Outfitter / Owner: George Taulman

Hunter: Jack Beck

Animals Hunted: ELK

Hunted 2hunters/guide. Saw lots of elk and at least 5 bulls the first day. I killed large 4X5 second morning. Could have passed waiting for larger bull. 6 hunters of 8 killed elk, one missed several and other passed several looking for trophy. Have been on 10 guided hunts and USO is head and shoulders above any of the the others. Was my second hunt with USO and was very happy both times.

Submit Date: Mar 16, 2004

Outfitter Review: Ute Creek Outfitters - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: Lee Vigil

Hunter: Steve Purviance

Animals Hunted: Elk

Lee and his Uncle Louis have a long history on the Rio Costilla. Without a doubt, they know the best areas and animal patterns. 2003 was the second year I've hunted the ranch and I definitely plan on hunting again next year. I enjoyed an archery hunt in September of 2002, saw 5 bulls over 300 and passed many smaller bulls. I had one encounter with a 330+ bull at 20yds. In 2003 I enjoyed a rifle hunt and again saw and passed many bulls, including a couple in the 300-class. We were chasing a 360 bull, but due to unseasonably warm weather, this herd bull spent little daylight in the open. Great time, Great people and scenery second to none. U.C.O. hunters will have very good chance at tagging a trophy bull.

Submit Date: Mar 15, 2004

Outfitter Review: Gone Hunt'in - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: Patrick Holehan

Hunter: Steve & Judy Franco

Animals Hunted: Antelope

We had such a fun hunt, chasing those antelope. The never seem to stay still, long enough to get the shot off. Our guide was also the outfitter, and was very experienced. The hunt was very successful, with a 16-16 80" goat. This hunt is highly recommended. Hunt took place in Sept.2003 &we are booked for 2004.

Submit Date: Mar 3, 2004

Outfitter Review: Ute Creek Outfitters & Guides - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: Lee Virgil

Hunter: norbert nebe

Animals Hunted: elk

this is a fine operation on an ranch that has invested into their wildlife. we saw plenty of game, including some big bull in herd as we hunted the late season. i'm booked for the following year and hope to make this a yearly consideration. only problem with the late hunt is the animals are spooked and bewildered making it a tough hunt. you have to really get on them. i highly recommend this hunt and the outfitter. everyone from the cook to the guide worked very hard to make sure we had a good hunt. i killed a nice 6x6 that i'm very proud of. thank you.

Submit Date: Feb 25, 2004

Outfitter Review: Ross Johnson Outfitters - NM

Outfitter / Owner: Ross Johnson

Hunter: Ron Blackmer

Animals Hunted: Elk

We hunted archery elk. Four hunters no shot opportunities. Plenty of nature walks. The biggest problem was the guides were substandard. Three of the guides were not hunters of any sort. The one guide who was a hunter had never been in the unit before this hunt. The guides went where the outfitter told them to go but when they couldn't find elk at that spot they were out of ideas. The outfitter showed up the night before the hunt and we never saw him after that.One guide took his hunter to a waterhole only to be kicked off it by a local an hour later. Another night they walked to another water hole and when there was no fresh activity they left. Each time that was it for the evening hunt. One guide couldn't see very well and couldn't hear either. The hunter would hear a bugle but the guide could not hear it or tell which direction to go. The most excitement usually came in near collisions with cattle while driving. Watch out for the black ones after dark. Even the locals have trouble seeing them.

Submit Date: Dec 17, 2003

Outfitter Review: Ute Creek Outfitters - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: Elias Vigil

Hunter: Frank Staropoli

Animals Hunted: Elk

I was out hunting the same week as Tom Miranda and after he got his bull I figured I would be next, but as is with all fair chase hunts their are no guarrantees. I saw three HUGE bulls and had some close encounters with some others but things just fall my way. Lee demonstrated that he knows what it takes to get in bow range and that is why I will be going out again in 04

Submit Date: Nov 30, 2003

Outfitter Review: Tays Guide Service - NM

Outfitter / Owner: Mike Tays

Hunter: BOB

Animals Hunted: mule deer & antelope

MIKE & HIS SON SCOTT ARE JUST A CUT ABOVE THE REST AS FAR AS EFFORT THEY PUT INTO YOUR HUNT. THEY MAKE SURE THAT YOU ARE HAVING A GOOD TIME AND WILL HUNT AS HARD AS "YOU" WANT TO. PLENTY OF FOOD TO EAT AND THE LODGING IS JUST FINE. THE GOAT HUNTERS STAY IN MOTELS WHILE DEER HUNTERS STAY IN THE OUTFITTERS HOME OR A BUNKHOUSE ON THE PROPERTY.GOOD HUNT FOR THE MONEY FOR SURE.

Submit Date: Nov 18, 2003

Outfitter Review: Old West - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: Rich Hobbs

Hunter: Paul Klein

Animals Hunted: Elk

This is an honest outfitter who conducts a very professional hunt. The amount of animals was excellent. The quality was affected by the drought and by, oddly, heavy rain during the hunt that limited access to certain parts of this enormous lease. The ranch house was clean and comfortable. The quality and quantity of food and beverages was excellent. A definate great experience.

Submit Date: Nov 18, 2003

Outfitter Review: 4C Outfitters & Guides - NM

Outfitter / Owner: Steve Connors

Hunter: kenny ellis

Animals Hunted: elk

I bow hunted elk and shot a 5x5 on the first morning. It is steep mountain hunting but it is worth it. The Connors family works hard to insure your sucess. All six bowhunters that hunted before me got bull elk.

Submit Date: Nov 3, 2003

Outfitter Review: Ute Creek Outfitters - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: Elias Vigil

Hunter: Jack Vigil

Animals Hunted: Antelope

I hunted with Elias in September on a large ranch near Springer, NM. I was the only hunter in the area. The day before the hunt we went scouting and I couldn't belive the number of large bucks we saw. We decided on one buck and opening morning we made our way where we had seen him the night before. I took my first shot at him at about 100 yards and wounded his front leg. We spend the rest of the morning and afternoon watching the buck as he seperated from the herd, and once he bedded, we circled him with the wind in our favor and snuck-up on him. He stood braodside as we approached and I hit him solid at 230 yards. The buck was a good, thick 15 3/4". My first big game trophy. The hunt was exceptional and Elias is an excellent hunter and outdoorsman. I'd highly recommend this hunt to anyone who wants a trophy antelope.

Submit Date: Oct 26, 2003

Outfitter Review: Ute Creek Outfitters - NM

Outfitter / Owner: Lee Vigil

Hunter: Mike Rex

Animals Hunted: Elk

This was a post-rut blackpowder hunt, but the weather did not agree with the hunt! Very hot the entire time (unusual), which caused the movement of the elk to be rather low during the day. I passed on a nice 5X5 the 2nd day, could not get a shot on a very nice 5X5 that stood behind a tree for half an hour the 3rd day, and got a shot off at a 5X5 the 5th day which, well, ...it was my fault. Great hunt with a great bunch of guys. I was overwhelmed a couple of times with the amount of attention to getting my elk and the huge effort by everyone on staff to help out. The only draw back about the hunt was that I felt bad for Lee and his crew that I did not get an elk after all the work and effort they put into it. I am re-booking with him for a future hunt. If you want a really fun hunt ask for the one that Dirty Harry is the cook! And listen to what Baba (former outfitter that helps out) has to say. These guys KNOW elk and elk hunting. You will not go wrong here. Email me anytime for specifics.

Submit Date: Oct 26, 2003

Outfitter Review: Ute Creek Outfitters - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: Lee Vigil

Hunter: Fred Hubble

Animals Hunted: Elk

I killed my elk opening morning with Louis or Baba as we call him and I had the best time with them and the rest of the crew. These fellas know everything about elk and elk hunting. I'm booked again for the 2004 season and this time I'm bringing my son. Thanks Lee and Baba for a most memorable hunt.

Submit Date: Oct 24, 2003

Outfitter Review: Ute Creek Outfitters - NM

Outfitter / Owner: Elias Vigil/Luis Trujillo

Hunter: John Waltz

Animals Hunted: ELK

My experience with Ute Creek Outfitters was wonderful. The accommodations, food, personnel, and quality and quantity of animals were top shelf. The scenery has to be the most beuatiful I have ever experienced. I would not hesitate to book another hunt with Lee and Baba. Don't be suprised if I do!

Submit Date: Oct 17, 2003

Outfitter Review: JS Outdoors - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: Jaret McDonald

Hunter: Harold Froehlich

Animals Hunted: ELK

Jaret produced all he represented. Quality Outfitter who I would not hesitate to recommend to my best friends. He has excellent guides and they will "hunt". Be prepared for a well managed hunt.

Submit Date: Oct 3, 2003

Outfitter Review: Bremer Ranches - NM

Outfitter / Owner: Ed Bremer

Hunter: Michael Sodolak

Animals Hunted: Elk

We hunted in early September for Archery Elk in Northern New Mexico (near Tierra Amarilla). We were in elk everyday and had saw 12 - 15 bulls during the hunt. We took a 5x5 on the third day and the elk just stayed out of range after that never presenting a clear shot. Ed Bremer has the most reasonably priced hunts I know of in New Mexico in some excellent, limited access areas. We hunted 90,000 acres of public land that was blocked on three sides by private land and had a 6 - 7 mile hike to our hunting area from the nearest road. The guides are outstanding and work to make it a pleasure filled experience. I would highly recommend this group and for the money they cannot be beat.

Submit Date: Sep 9, 2003

Outfitter Review: Lone Ranch - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: Van Robertson

Hunter: Jeff Swiney

Animals Hunted: antelope

A friend and I hunted with Rancher/Guide Dustin Robertson and had a great time. We looked over lots of antelope and had plenty to choose from. We were well taken care of in every way and we both took good antelope, mine pushing 15 inches.

Submit Date: Jul 10, 2003

Outfitter Review: Ute Creek Outfitters - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: Lee Vigil

Hunter: Harry Shiffer

Animals Hunted: Merriam Turkey

I hunted with Lee and Baba on the Rio Costilla Park and was I impressed with the overall beauty of the ranch terrain. Spring time is cold and snow was still prevalent, but that didn't stop us from hunting. First evening out we called and heard several toms but only two appeared within 25 and 35 yards from set-up. I fired on the closest bird. I was so excited being the first turkey I killed and Baba was too busy pointing out the other bird who made a bee-line straight for us. I couldn't get the other bird, most due to my excitement of harvesting the first. I had an excellent time with both Lee and Baba. If you've ever wanted to meet to nicer guys, it's these two. They worked their butt's off to help me get a bird. I was satisfied with one bird and spend the rest of my time riding the mountains with them and watching the large herds of elk who live on the ranch. Give them call and tell them dirty harry told you so.

Submit Date: Jun 5, 2003

Outfitter Review: A & M Adventures - NM

Outfitter / Owner: Monte Adams

Hunter: Steve Dahlby

Animals Hunted: Elk & Bear

We hunted with Monte in Oct. of 2002. Althoughthe area we hunted was suffering an extreme drought, Monte put us on some great animals. We both shot great 6x6's and I was able to get atwo phase blonde/cinnamon bear. Monte & Mattknew the 80,000 acre ranch like the back of theirhand.I would highly recommend this hunt to anyone.If I had not already booked a Caribou trip for2003, I'd have back this year. Super hunt & greatpeople.

Submit Date: May 9, 2003

Outfitter Review: A&M Adventures - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: Monte Adams

Hunter: Tony L. Tuberville

Animals Hunted: Merriam's Turkey

Once again, I couldn't have asked for a better hunt. The population of deer, turkey and elk is overwhelming. This year, I took my 11 year old son for his first Merriam's turkey (actually it was his first turkey!) and he was as impressed as I was last year (and still am!). Monte and I still haven't decided who was more excited about that first turkey, but I believe we're leaning toward me! My son thinks Monte is the best (and he's right). Monte is as outstanding a guide as anyone could ever ask for and is more than a guide, he's a great man to be around. The ranch is lacking NOTHING and the area is as refreshing to view as it is to hunt in. The populations of game continue to be greater than you could imagine, with 50-60 elk per day not uncommon, turkeys are everywhere and Mule Deer are more than abundant. If you like antelope, they are there too. This place is a hunter's dream. Both my son and I are looking forward to 2004 (and 2005, 2006...) Thanks again, Monte for an outstanding year. We'll be back!

Submit Date: Apr 28, 2003

Outfitter Review: Dark Canyon Outfitters - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: Butch Harris

Hunter: Dave

Animals Hunted: Turkey

If you ever have a desire to hunt in the wilderness and not on a spoon fed ranch and want the real deal then you should call Butch. My son and I spent a great weekend with Butch in New Mexico and will return this winter for his Elk hunt if I get drawn. He works hard and shows a caring approach to his customers and to top it off he really knows his game and how to locate them in the wild. Non stop worker with a true passion for hunting and the outdoors.

Submit Date: Mar 14, 2003

Outfitter Review: Old West Outfitters - NM

Outfitter / Owner: Richard Hobbs

Hunter: Jim Leahy

Animals Hunted: Elk

I hunted the muzzle loader season Oct 5-9 on his private land lease in unit 9 near Grants NM. The Ranch borders USOs' famed Floyde Lee. The Elk go back and forth, so your hunting the same herd that USO does, but for THOUSANDS LESS.I hunted 2002 during the drought and was told there were less Elk on the Ranch. In 5 days of hunting I passed up 4 bulls under 100 yards, 3 young 3-3 & 4-4 bulls and a nice one sided 5 point. We spent 2 whole days chasing a huge 6-6 that was well over 340. About the time we thought we had him he would change his route.On the last afternoon I took a 250 class 5-5 and was very happy with a it.There were two other hunters in camp each killed a nice bull. One was around 290 or so the other around 250. They also passed on bulls and one missed a very big bull on the second night. If your looking for a reasonable private land elk hunt and can spend between $4000.00-$5000.00 this is the hunt for you.There is no draw so you just buy a land owner tag for $500.00 I highly recomend hunting with this outfitter. The terrain is easy and the elk herd is big. The food is great and they treat you like your family. Richards wife is a great cook and so is Tom. All the guides are fun to hunt with and know the country. In camp also were two antelope hunters they both killed nice 16 inch bucks and had a great hunt.

Submit Date: Feb 19, 2003

Outfitter Review: Moon Valley Outfiters - NM

Outfitter / Owner: Corwin Hulsey

Hunter: Bill Campbell

Animals Hunted: Elk

We hunted elk in unit 15B, which was a draw hunt in a "primitive weapons" unit. I used a .50 caliber Omega inline muzzleloader. We hunted 10/19-10/23/02, which unfortunately was during a full moon that made the hunting challenging. However, the cows were coming into their second estrus and the smaller bulls were active. There were plenty of elk there, but they headed for the hills at sunrise. I took a nice 5x5 on the 3rd day. It was picture-perfect. We hunted a field all three mornings, trying to pattern the bulls we knew were there. There was a huge bull that right before sun-up would lead the herd to the hills. There were a few 4x4 and 5x5's hanging around the cows, bugling up a storm. I caught one as he moved out of the field.A bit later in the season the bulls form bachelor herds and should be less wary. Patrick, my guide, was excellent and a lot of fun. I understand that NM combined units 15A and 15B into one unit now, and I don't know how this will affect the draw odds.Web site: http://www.moonvalleyoutfitters.com.Email: moonvalley@gilanet.com

Submit Date: Feb 16, 2003

Outfitter Review: United States Outfitters - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: George Taulman

Hunter: Doug Yearick

Animals Hunted: Elk

Professional outfit who knows their hunting area. Guides are great, hotel accomadations could have been nicer. I would have perferred a tent camp myself. Harvested a 6 X 6, buddy passed 3 legal bulls and missed a nice 6X^ last morning.

Submit Date: Feb 5, 2003

Outfitter Review: A&M Adventures - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: Monte Adams

Hunter: Scott Stone

Animals Hunted: Mule Deer

This was my first mule deer hunt and myself and the other two men hunting all had a great time. I myself did not get the deer I was looking for but The other two did. One got his 30 minutes into the hunt a nice 4X4. The other came on day 3 a nice 4X3. I saw several shooters but was looking for that 28-30 inch buck. I am heading back next season to look some more. I recommend this hunt highly

Submit Date: Jan 22, 2003

Outfitter Review: Elite Outfitters - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: Johnny Hughs

Hunter: Brock Lewis

Animals Hunted: Elk

Went to the Stanley Ranch in NE New Mexico for Bull elk. We saw maybe 500 elk total. 475 cows, 15 spikes, 8 four points, 1 6x6, 1 5x6. Five days of hard hunting with no large bulls on the property.

Submit Date: Jan 13, 2003

Outfitter Review: Majestic Outfitters - NM

Outfitter / Owner: Rusty Silva

Hunter: rob engster

Animals Hunted: elk, mulies

rusty knows his areas better than i could imagine. i archery hunted with him, shot a 320 class 6 by. took my dad back on a rifle hunt with him. he took a small bull first morning because he had never killed a bull and was afraid of walking too much. the deer hunt-14,000 private acres, so we saw 25 deer in 5 days. i took a decent 23" 4 by 4 first morning.(ground-shrunk)my step-bro killed a 25" 5 by 6 the first afternoon. and our buddy shot at 5 bucks only to go home empty. i think this upset our guide. i will be returning next year.

Submit Date: Jan 13, 2003

Outfitter Review: Timberline Outfitters - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: Perry Hunsaker

Hunter: Jack Miller

Animals Hunted: Elk

My first elk hunt was in 2000 with a muzzleloader.I killed a 5x6, 290 class bull on the first day. I had obtained a bear tag and killed a 250 lb. bear on the second day of bear hunting with my muzzleloader. My buddy killed a 6x7, 300 class bull on the last day of the 5 day hunt.There were 6 hunters in camp - we killed three bulls,(290, 300, 325 class) and a bear. The other three hunters passed up or missed bulls.In 2002 I hunted archery elk with Timberline. I saw 18 bulls during the seven day hunt. I passed up 4 bulls (30 yds or closer). I was within 25 yds. of a 330 class bugling bull but never got a clear shot. I missed another 330 class bull on the last day at 50 yds. My fault. Perry and his wife Brenda run a first class operation. Real nice ranch house where you eat breakfast and dinner. The hunters stay in the bunk house with a bathroom/hot shower. Two beds to a room. The guides have been with Perry for years and know the country and the ELk. This unit is a muzzleloader/archery unit only and has not been rifle hunted for years.

Submit Date: Jan 9, 2003

Outfitter Review: Ute Creek Outfitters - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: Lee Vigil

Hunter: Steve Purviance

Animals Hunted: Elk

Lee Vigil, president of the Rio Costilla Park organization offers excellent trophy elk hunting. The Park consists of approximately 82,000 acres of prime elk country. My hunt was about a week before the rut fired up and I still was within 80yds. of 7 bulls over 315. During my 5-day bow hunt I had 6 bulls within bow range, the largest was at 15yds. and would score about 340, but spooked when I drew. I've hunted elk for many years and I've never seen as many bulls this size or the numbers of elk in general. I also had a 190 class mulie within 30yds. which stood and watched me settle my pin behind his shoulder while he chewed on leaves. Give Lee a call or email before he's booked up for 2003. utecreekoutfitters@hotmail.com www.utecreekoutfitters.com

Submit Date: Dec 20, 2002

Outfitter Review: Ute Creek Outfitters - NM

Outfitter / Owner: Lee Vigil

Hunter: Jim Owrey

Animals Hunted: ELK

This is an exceptional adventure in trophy hunting as Lee says! I had an excellent time and harvested my first bull elk, a 300+ 6x6. I'd never hunted elk before but believe me I'm hooked. I'll definately be back!

Submit Date: Dec 14, 2002

Outfitter Review: Ute Creek Outfitters - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: Lee Vigil

Hunter: Henry Arnzen

Animals Hunted: Elk

I hunted with Lee the first morning and just at day break out came a nice 6x6 bull with his harem of 15 cows and some smaller bulls. The woods were singing with bugles from every corner of the meadow. To make a long story short, upon being winded, we ran like hell to an area Lee though the bull wold try to make an escape. Low and behold, Lee was right! I harvest a good 6x6 bull at 75 yards. He later scored 334 B & C. First morning of the hunt and I struck pay dirt. My complete story with pictures will be published in the Big Game Adventures Magazine this January. I would and have recommended this hunt. You need to book early as I belive they have the first two rifle hunts book well in advance. I'll be hunting with Lee and Baba again in 2004. My brother make another treip (his third) this 2002 season and harvested a nice 6x6 as well. They have an excellent operation and the Rio Costilla Park has done an excellent job of trophy management for elk and mule deer.

Submit Date: Dec 11, 2002

Outfitter Review: Bremer Ranches - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: Ed Bremer

Hunter: Bill Koll

Animals Hunted: Mule deer

My third hunt with this outfitter. All seven hunters scored trophy mule deer.Can't be beat for the price.

Submit Date: Nov 23, 2002

Outfitter Review: Blue Mountain Outfitter - NM

Outfitter / Owner: Bob Atwood

Hunter: Mike Hinton

Animals Hunted: Mule Deer

This hunt has big possibilities. Seven hunters only took two deer , but both where trophys (BIG 4x4's). Other hunters had their chances but for one reason or another weren't able to connect.Two different hunters missed the same 30" Buck twice.My father saw a 26"+ and a 30"+. Myself , I did not see a buck all week. The weather was bad , and it put the deer to bed for nearly four days. Lots of rain and snow made it very muddy , especially at the camp which consisted of wall tents. And even though the deer didn't cooperate the guides where top notch. They did everything possible to put us on deer and the last two days I saw dozens of does. Bob is a top notch guide and a great guy. His guides know what they are doing and they are very familiar with the area. The cost of this hunt is very reasonable. We stayed in wall tents and had propane heaters. All of the hunting is done on public land. 2hunters / guide and we traveled in 4x4's. Be prepared to cover a lot of ground by foot if you expect to see any game ,but if you are looking for a "Giant Muley" give Bob a try , You may have more luck than I did. Zone 2B in northwest NM has some real trophies.

Submit Date: Oct 21, 2002

Outfitter Review: Blue Mountain Outfitters - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: Bob Atwood

Hunter: Don Martin

Animals Hunted: Elk

We hunted mussle loader season and the 2002 dry weather affected the hunting conditions we still heard bulls every day. Our guide did an excellant job and called a bull in for us. Bob runs an ecellant camp and only puts 4 hunters in a camp so you are not over crowdwed. You should be in good shape for this hunt because you will cover a lot of territory.

Submit Date: May 10, 2002

Outfitter Review: A & M Adventures - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: Monte Adams

Hunter: Tony L. Tuberville

Animals Hunted: Merriam Turkey

I would recommend Monte to anyone. Monte is one of those rare people in life who are sincere about everything. The Ranch was absolutely amazing. Upon first arrival, having hunted only Easterns (turkeys), I just "knew" that there was no way possible for a turkey to be in that land. Boy was I wrong. I saw more than 100 turkeys in one day, including a rare opportunity to watch 5 breeding at one time. I had 5 jakes come within just inches of me and another 12 pass within 20 yards. I "doubled" (a first in my lifetime) on the first day with a couple of very large Toms. I hated to end the hunt so soon, but then again, there is always next year. I'll certainly be back. Thanks Monte for the most perfect hunt of a lifetime that you could have ever provided. In closing, let me say this: If Monte says he saw 40 elk, 50 mule deer and 200 turkeys in one day....believe it! The numbers ARE there, the trophy opportunities ARE there and you'll not find a better guide anywhere, personal or professional. I'll be back in 2003, (and 04, 05, 06...well you get the hint). Thanks.

Submit Date: May 4, 2002

Outfitter Review: Apache Park - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: Rick Sears

Hunter: Donald Boyer

Animals Hunted: Elk

The hunting conditions were very tough. Very hot and dry but still saw the "big one" I was after. Definitely will come back again someday. Didn't kill anything, but that is not what it's all about. I could have tagged out, just did not want to take the shot. Lots of VERY private land, NEVER saw another hunter or trespasser. The food and camp was better than my own home. Real friendly folks. Other hunters in camp killed and saw game too. Made some good friendships while there. Going to hook up with 2 of the other hunters on a fishing trip this summer. Guide knew the land like it was his own backyard, I was very impressed with him.

Submit Date: Mar 3, 2002

Outfitter Review: High Mountain Outfitters - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: Pete Trujillo

Hunter: Mark Bernegger

Animals Hunted: Elk

I was reading reviews from other "clients" My two brothers and father "hunted" with this clown over 8 years ago. I could go on and on but he should be investigated and shut down by the state of New Mexico.

Submit Date: Feb 5, 2002

Outfitter Review: Elite Outfitters - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: Johnny Hughes/Brian Newell

Hunter: John Anderson

Animals Hunted: Elk

A friend and I spent a week with Brian and Johnny during one of their late season elk hunts in January 2002. Jeff and I had a great time, we both harvested 300+ class B&C bulls as well as enjoyed the great accommodations provided to us. The quantity and quality of game seen was outstanding. Both guides were very knowledgeable about all facets of the geography and the hunt. What stood out the most on this hunt was the honesty and integrity that both Johnny and Brian displayed. These fellows truly enjoy the hunt as well as care about their clients expectations being met. The honesty they displayed before during and after the hunt was impressive. They showed devotion and respect to their families who are also involved with making the hunt and adventure a success. That is rare to find in todays society. I endorse very few outfitters, Elite Outfitters is definitely one enjoyable group of people who I would highly recommend if considering a big game hunt. I will continue to hunt with this group as long as they will allow. John.

<< First Page       < Previous Page Next Page >       Last Page >>

web application and database development by davidcdalton.com