New Mexico Hunting Outfitter and Guide Reviews

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Feb 23, 2016

Outfitter Review: Wheaton Creek Ranch - Ocate NM

Outfitter / Owner: David Stanley

Hunter: Joshua Carpenter

Animals Hunted: Elk

Wheaton Creek Ranch offers a fantastic guided elk hunting experience to the veteran hunter and novice alike. The varied terrain allows for almost any style of hunting. We had 100 percent success killing five elk in three days and then took advantage of the packing facilities to do our own butchering. Bottom line everyone went home with loads of meat and great memories. Kathy the hostess/cook kept us in good food while Dennis the guide kept us on point until the tags were filled and then helped us with the finer points of butchery. I could not have asked for a better experience.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Jul 1, 2015

Outfitter Review: Elite Outfitters - Alto NM

Outfitter / Owner: Johnny Hughes

Hunter: j h

Animals Hunted: Axis Deer

If you want someone who doesn't live up to their word... I was a guide who was called with 4 hours before who the outfitter promised a hunter I would be there. I lived 800 miles away and was there the next day. I was promised $1000 to guide this hunt. I drove foe 2 days and made it there. The only reason I agreed to do this hunt was the hunter, Don Eislele, (484-459-2260) was a long-time client of mine back when I owned the company. We have had many great hunts together and when I was called by the current owner at the last minute, I felt compelled to take care of Don. We had a great hunt, as usual, and when we were done on the third day of the hunt, we were informed by the owner that we would have to stay in town because he had booked another hunter to stay at the ranch that night when we still had one more day on our hunt. I drove 800 miles home that night and Don drove to Dallas. I'm still waiting to be paid for my effort. If you want to be lied to and hope to believe it, Elite Outfitters is your guy. Call Don if you don't believe me. Good luck!

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Jun 4, 2015

Outfitter Review: Wheaton Creek Ranch - Ocate NM

Outfitter / Owner: David Stanley

Hunter: Mark Free

Animals Hunted: Elk

We had a nice hunt. The facilities were nice- but hosts James and Talei were exceptional!!!! … along with Dennis the wrangler! They are wonderfully accommodating, down to earth people who treated us like family- Couldn’t ask for better hosts. Trespasser encounters this year were minimal- a big improvement over all our previous Stanley hunts- And, To be fair, my brother and I tend to hunt the ranch’s more outlying advertised property which makes up the “20,000acres plus” advertised- so we hunt further from the home place and encounter more trespassers for that reason. Weather cooperated for a change. We got in shooting distance on a number of occasions and could have had some cows easily- but, the bull elk’s good luck prevailed, as usual!!! Still, there were two fine bulls taken on this trip- neither of which was mine or my brother’s. But, they made for some tasty venison that we’re just now finishing off!!

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: May 12, 2015

Outfitter Review: Wheaton Creek Ranch - Ocate NM

Outfitter / Owner: David Stanley

Hunter: Mark DeGenova

Animals Hunted: Elk

Great hunt. I killed a nice 5 x 5. Meat processing is top notch.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: May 7, 2015

Outfitter Review: Wheaton Creek Ranch - Ocate NM

Outfitter / Owner: David Stanley

Hunter: Joe Podlesny

Animals Hunted: Elk

Been going to this ranch for 8 years. Quality of hunt, guides and accommodations improve every year.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: May 4, 2015

Outfitter Review: Wheaton Creek Ranch - Ocate NM

Outfitter / Owner: David Stanley

Hunter: Charles Clark

Animals Hunted: Elk

This was my third hunt at wheaton creek ranch, I greatly enjoy the hunt and have harvested an elk every year. This is not an easy hunt, you will have to be able to scout and track these animals.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Jan 13, 2015

Outfitter Review: Fishtail Ranch Guiding & Outfitting - NM

Outfitter / Owner: Lee Weiss

Hunter: ken cager

Animals Hunted: Elk

Fellow hunters:Do not spend your hard earned money booking an elk hunt with Fishtail Ranch Outfitters. Specifically, their hunts sold in southern Colorado. Fish Tail Ranch essentially offers two separate operations. One operation is in Chama New Mexico with hunts taking place on private ranch land in Unit 4, which is marketed as offering a high success rate. On the other hand, the Southern Colorado outfitting takes place in the Rio Grande National Forest. Let me preface this by saying I understand that this HUNTING and no harvest is guaranteed. However, this post is about the level of service we paid for.Be advised that Fishtail Ranch markets their services by using photos from the Chama, NM operations. Don’t be fooled by the photos and so called ‘testimonials’. The Colorado operation is not even remotely close to what is marketed. Our group of 8 hunters (all military except one) and 4 guides, we never even saw an elk. Our expectations were that the guides would have previously scouted, located sign, of tracked the herd’s movement prior to our arrival. That was not the case. We simply hunted with the vicinity of the camp site that was setup since bow season. There was no attempt to relocate to lower elevations based on the herd’s movement even after receiving 8” of snow. The inexperienced guides simply walked to a meadow and said “good luck” then returned to camp for a mid morning nap. Each hunter was left without any means of communication with the guides unless he provided a walkie-talkie. When asked about the strategy of locating elk, they simply said “we’ve always seen elk here”. Also, we discovered that a couple of the guides had hunted and harvested elk from the previous season in the same areas that we (PAYING hunters) were hunting. Fishtail advertised on their website that horses would be available to use during the hunt. We had 13 horses available and not once were the used to facilitate our hunt. When we inquired about using the horses we were told that the terrain was too slippery and too dangerous for the horses. The horses were only utilized in our pack in and our pack out. We planned on an austere environment but the general service inside our camp was less than adequate. Four grown men with gear were crammed inside a very small tent with only a few inched between our cots. Our food started out ok for the first two days but our cook developed a negative attitude and became relaxed in his efforts to provide quality meals. Our last meal in camp the evening prior was hamburger pattie and hotdog. There was nothing but granola bars available on the morning we packed out. No coffee, tea, other warm beverages were available. We paid a total of $26,000 for 8 hunters and did not feel we received the level of service in camp or hunting and guide services. Again, don’t waste your time or your hard earned money with this operation.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Oct 22, 2013

Outfitter Review: Fishtail Ranch Guiding & Outfitting - NM

Outfitter / Owner: Lee Weiss

Hunter: walter teague

Animals Hunted: Elk

As a first time elk hunter I did not know what to expect. Lee was patient and will answer your questions as honest as possible. Fishtail ranch had great food and experienced guides. I had a great time and saw elk every hunt I was on.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Aug 13, 2013

Outfitter Review: Bar S3 Ranch - Ocate NM

Outfitter / Owner: David Stanley

Hunter: Mark Free

Animals Hunted: Elk

Property has good elk habitat and does have elk. Hospitality was excellent and the improved accommodations were a very welcomed addition. We encountered trespassers on about 30% of our hunts. In the landowner and ranch manager's defense, the egress of public land into the ranch and the local's disrespect for property ownership are the causative issues. It does not help that we were aggressive, venturing deeper into country that is normally un-used by the ranch. Manager was very responsive to trespasses and loaned us a radio so we could report their locations and was very firm and fair in dealing with them. Overall, it was a good hunt.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Jul 8, 2013

Outfitter Review: Bar S3 Ranch - Ocate NM

Outfitter / Owner: David Stanley

Hunter: C Cummings

Animals Hunted: not specified

I have hunted this ranch in 2011 and 2012. This is a nice ranch with meadows and live creeks. Fairly remote but still not too far off the blacktop. Elk numbers are fair to good, and there are a few bigger bulls, although you do have to work to find them, as in all elk hunting. Food and lodging are average to good, but that was never my focus, only the elk. The only downside to this ranch is a consistent turnover of management, but it doesn't seem to effect the accomodations or the quality of the elk. Overall a good value for money when compared to other similar private land hunts. They seem to be improving every year.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Jan 11, 2013

Outfitter Review: Kiowa Hunting Services - Raton NM

Outfitter / Owner:

Hunter: Bill Pietsch

Animals Hunted: not specified

This hunt was a bonus for 30 years of service with my employer, ordinarily it would be well beyond my means. This was my 11th. hunt with Kiowa; 9 were for cow elk and 1 for bull elk. I've never had a problem of any kind nor reason to complain about anything when dealing with Tim Barraclaugh / Kiowa Hunting Service. This hunt was no exception.Imagine being only one of two hunters on 70,000+ acres of great mule deer habitat during the peak of the rut, long after the regular hunting season has closed. Imagine hunting with a team that includes an experienced outfitter, a friendly 3rd generation rancher and his sons, all of them doing everything they can to put you on a decent buck. Now imagine lots of bucks, including some really nice ones, with their minds on love, not survival. There's no need to imagine, it's all for real on this hunt.I'm an overweight, middle aged desk jockey with bum knees and very limited range of motion in my left shoulder. All of that didn't matter, I still had plenty of shooting opportunities (and help once I scored.) A hunter who's in good shape and able to burn some shoe leather would do even better.The only downside are the accomodations, an old motel in a virtual ghost town. Meals were in a retro 1950's style diner, the only real resturant in town. I'd much rather spend evenings around a campfire with fellow hunters than sit alone in a motel room watching reruns of Pawn Stars but I guess you can't have it all.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Oct 5, 2012

Outfitter Review: JFW Ranch Consulting - NM

Outfitter / Owner: James F. Welles

Hunter: Jerry Yates

Animals Hunted: not specified

After hitting Rod's 1 favorite hunting areas with no luck we were disappointed that he did not really know unit 13 as well as was represented. Rod didn’t even have Maps of the area, and had only GPS coordinates. There was very little scouting of area before we arrived, other than checking water tanks to see it there was water being pumped. And these tanks were in wide open and not conducive to archery hunting. Locating elk outside his marked areas, Rod was clueless as were to look for elk. He had not been in other areas of the unit except for the Narrows. Jerry and I thought we were paying for hot knowledge of Unit 13, thus eliminated our need to spend a week finding the elk and the 2nd week getting the elk. We were expecting to be guided to un-pressured Elk in overlooked areas. I have no double that Jerry and I could have taken an elk with Rod if he had actually known Unit 13 really well. I am not providing this feedback to say Rod is not a good guide, but I am providing this critique so your outfitting company can provide the time and resources to better prepare your guides.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Jan 9, 2012

Outfitter Review: Ute Creek Outfitters - Costilla NM

Outfitter / Owner: Lee Vigil

Hunter: Steve Purviance

Animals Hunted: Elk

This was the 4th trip I've enjoyed with Lee. I took a great bull(311) on the 4th morning after passing on dozens of bulls. Most of the hunters in camp tagged out on the first 2 days. The hunt offers a legitimate chance at 300+ bulls and they harvested two 360+ in 2011. My guide(Paky) worked extremely hard, and the guides in-general work well as a team. Another great hunt!

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Oct 6, 2011

Outfitter Review: Chama River Outfitters - NM

Outfitter / Owner: Robert Ball

Hunter: chris yates

Animals Hunted: not specified

I booked a hunt with Bob early in the year and with this being my first elk hunt i had alot of questions.He told me to call him with any questions no matter what.We had a wonderful hunt even though we were a little early and the rut was a little behind this year. I passed up several small bulls and had bulls bugling on every huntI think i gained about 10 pounds from eating so good.The guides were all great guys. my guide [leroy] was great and had me on bulls everyday but its still bowhunting. I am looking foward to going back next year.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: May 27, 2011

Outfitter Review: H & A Outfitters - Santa FE NM

Outfitter / Owner: Andy Salgado

Hunter: Don Ginnetti

Animals Hunted: Elk

After countless hours searching for an outfitter, it didn't take long to realize I found the right outfitter. Andy Salgado of H & A Outfitters. Andy put us on bulls every day. There were 6 guys in camp and everyone had opportunities to shoot and some bulls well into the 300" class. The accommodations were first class and the meals were exceptional. All of his guides have great experience and have worked with Andy for a number of years. This means a lot to me, because I've hunted with other outfitters who's guides didn't have any experience. I plan on hunting with H & A again and would strongly recommend them.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Jan 21, 2011

Outfitter Review: Beaverhead Outfitters - NM

Outfitter / Owner: Jack Diamond

Hunter: Tony Sehman

Animals Hunted: Elk

Having been an Outfitter myself for several years now I knew it best to do some leg work and do some checking into references and such. I had a past client recomend John and Jack for my first ever 16a archery tag. This was going to be a hunt of a lifetime and I was not about to waste it to chance or any other variables. I called references and such. And decided to go with them. From the first day I arrived in camp and met my guided Toby I knew I have found a place that was going to be special. John was kind enough to allow my son Hunter to come along for a very reasonable rate and this made the trip even better. I harvested an absolutely awesome 6x6 bull on just the second evening of the hunt. And wow I cannot not wait to get back and do it all over. No hesitations here boys book with full confidence.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Dec 20, 2010

Outfitter Review: Southern Divide Trophy Outfitters - NM

Outfitter / Owner: Kevin Sears

Hunter: Lanny Schwartz

Animals Hunted: Elk

Kevin Sears now operates as Unit 12 Elk Management Group. The hunt is a scam. You will see big bulls perhaps, but you will be encouraged to shoot them long after legal hours. I asked, what is the legal shooting hours in this state? Sears says, we don't pay attention to that, if we can see 'em, we shoot 'em. The other hunter in camp watched an empty field all week. Sears met us the evening before the hunt and then took off--didn't see him again. Then, a month and a half after the hunt I get a certified letter saying that I owed him another $400 for sales tax that he paid for me. In my 62 yrs I have never paid a cent of sales tax except at the point of purchase. Kevin Sears had his NM guide license revoked--but I don't know why. So all that means is that he can't hunt on public land. Do not hunt with this guy!

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Dec 12, 2010

Outfitter Review: Ute Creek Outfitters - Costilla NM

Outfitter / Owner: Lee Vigil

Hunter: Nick Bennig

Animals Hunted: Elk

Dad took a 6x5 on opening morning with the video camera rolling. I took a 6x6 the next morning with Dad 20 yards behind me and the video camera rolling as well.Good place, good eats, and most importantly good people. We'll be going back til they kick us out.Cant wait to try JB's special cow in heat scent again ;)

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Dec 8, 2010

Outfitter Review: Compass West Outfitting - NM

Outfitter / Owner: Chris Guikema

Hunter: Tony Formicola

Animals Hunted: Elk

I booked a private land hunt which was priced VERY reasonably. The all inclusive price included the Private Land Tag as well as the license. Accommdations were not bad with a private bedroom and shared bath. Food was OK. The guides were accomplished hunters and pretty good guides. Over all Chris Guikema the outfitter runs a high quality service. I would recommend this elk hunt to someone looking for a good crack at a nice bull. I ended up shooting very nice 6X6 bull on the 4th day. It scored right around 300 B and C Points.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Dec 7, 2010

Outfitter Review: Beaverhead Outfitters - NM

Outfitter / Owner: Jack Diamond

Hunter: paul lough

Animals Hunted: Elk

best guide ever had..saw 18 bulls the 1st day...never got a bull...saw 5 to 1 bulls over cows..rifle hunters dream...could not get close enough...guide worked his ass off for me...good camp cook...been on scams...this aint one..be in good shape!!

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Nov 21, 2010

Outfitter Review: Cougar Mountain Outfitters - Espanola NM

Outfitter / Owner: Robert Seeds

Hunter: Daniel Shine

Animals Hunted: Elk

Never saw game. That is almost impossible at this time of year. Guide seemed to be working but nothing worked. Completely frustrated I ended hunt one day early. Outfitter was not helpful. Certainly did not live up to expecattions. Lame excuses and did not live up to contact arrangements regarding accomadations. Learned of major poaching in the area. Outfiter should have changes the location of my hunt.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Nov 19, 2010

Outfitter Review: Compass West Outfitting - NM

Outfitter / Owner: Chris Guikema

Hunter: Mike Zeller

Animals Hunted: Mule Deer

This was my first hunting experience and I was teamed up with a fantastic guide who shared his 50+ years of experience. The company owner Chris acted as if he doesn't care if he gets repeat business. The food was warmed over week old burritos and canned soup. He was constantly making insulting comments and treating me as if I was a child. Left after one day.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Nov 1, 2010

Outfitter Review: JFW Ranch Consulting - NM

Outfitter / Owner: James F. Welles

Hunter: Jim Lawrence

Animals Hunted: Pronghorn Antelope

I was very diapointed in this outfitter. I was told that my son and I were to be guided by Jim Welles, the owner of JFW. Instead, a ranch forman who didn't know the difference between a average and a trophy antelope ( his words), was our guide. He had a sorry pair of binoculars and no spotting scope. Out of frustration, my son and I took the first buck antelope we saw and headed for home. I would not reccomend this outfitter.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Sep 16, 2010

Outfitter Review: Ross Johnson Outfitters - NM

Outfitter / Owner: Ross Johnson

Hunter: Gary Welch

Animals Hunted: Elk

I would highly recommend Ross Johnson Outfitter. Their service was great and my guide was also outstanding. We were into bulls every day of the hunt, and I passed on many smaller bulls looking for a chance at a true trophy 320 plus bull. We had at least 4 bulls in this category or bigger within 100 yard several days. We hunted in the early morning while trying to intercept the elk moving back to their bedding grounds and late afternoon over water holes. This early hunt has its limitation since the bulls are not really hot and are bedding early morning, but this is a great opportunity to catch them when they have not been spooked early in the season from so many hunters chasing them. They are also very predictable at the water holes this time of year. Even though I did not take home a trophy this was one of the best guided hunts I have ever been on and the quality of quantity of elk is outstanding.

Submit Date: May 16, 2010

Outfitter Review: Bremer Ranches - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: Ed Bremer

Hunter: Robert M. Starks Jr

Animals Hunted: deer

Bremer is a liar and a cheat, nothing on this hunt was like he said. Watch your wallet around this guy. Please email me so I can go into detail.

Submit Date: May 5, 2010

Outfitter Review: USO - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: George

Hunter: mike spurlock

Animals Hunted: Elk

I have hunted with several other outfitters and USO has been best to date.

Submit Date: Mar 12, 2010

Outfitter Review: Higher Ground Outfitters - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: Doc Ralston

Hunter: Robert Cota

Animals Hunted: Bull Elk

We hired Higher Ground Outfitters for a bull elk hunt in October of 2004. We were supposed to meet our guide at 9am to be packed 10 miles into the Gila Wilderness to Unit 16B. Our guide didn't even show up until 4pm. Not only did we have to ride most of the way in the pitch dark, the mules spooked 3 times and damaged multiple pieces of our equipment. During the ride in my wife's saddle slipped underneath the horse in pitch darkness. Thankfully she was not badly hurt. My horse, however, slipped and fell into a ravine during the trip in. By the grace of God, neither one of us was badly hurt! As long as I was in charge, things went very well. At the end of the hunt, our guide was a day and a half LATE! Thankfully both of us had taken extra days off from work to relax after the hunt. We could have both lost our jobs. The hunt was unsuccessful. No effort was made to replace our damaged equipment or to refund any of our money even though many of the services promised were not provided. The Worst Experience of my Hunting Life!

Submit Date: Feb 23, 2010

Outfitter Review: 4c Outfitters and Guides - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: Rodney Connor

Hunter: Robert Antkowiak

Animals Hunted: elk

I paid a$500.00 deposit and a check to state of new mexico in the amount of $766.00 in 2005. Later i was told that i wasn't picked in the lottery and they tried to sell a landowner tag. I said i wasn't interested to send the money back. They refused to refund any of the money even though the contract said they would and stopped all correspondence. They stole $1,266.00 from me. I have documentation to prove it.

Submit Date: Oct 25, 2009

Outfitter Review: Chama River Outfitters - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: Bob Ball

Hunter: Paul Taylor

Animals Hunted: Elk

Good safe operation with lots of game. Ours was a rifle elk hunt. 10 hunters took 9 bulls on this hunt. One 315 6 X 6, another real nice 5 X 5, the others were adequate 5 X 5's, 5 X 6's... typical bull is small 5 X 5, anything over 300 is considered exceptional for this tract, elevation of camp is 10,200 ft., you need to allow an extra day for meat processor in town to process kill as no processing or caping is done in camp, friendly camp staff, Bob & Sheila are accomodating and knowledgeable.

Submit Date: Oct 13, 2009

Outfitter Review: Ute Creek - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: Lee Vigil

Hunter: Shaun Eilders

Animals Hunted: Elk

I had a great hunt, saw plenty of elk, killed a very good 6 x 6 bull. The guides were great, food was good, accomendations were good, hot showers, warm beds and all the ammenties of home. I would recommend this for anybody who is interested in killing a good elk.

Submit Date: Oct 6, 2009

Outfitter Review: Black Mountain Outfitters, Inc - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: Tom McReynolds

Hunter: Charley Thornburg

Animals Hunted: Elk

Tom the owner works hard and is personable. He simply over hyped the hunt in terms of expected opportunities. Where we hunted in Area 13 had heavy public pressure, one guide did a locater bugle and successfully called in 5 other public archery hunters. In 2009 Tom had zero success in the first hunt, one small 5x5 in the second and one wounded 5x5 in the third hunt. I was told that we could expect 40 to 50 % success in an average year and 20 to 30% success in a poor year. I asked a guide after we had had several days of no elk, and he said they averaged 10 to 20% and less than 10% success in a poor year. I was not able to talk to the hunters in the first group, but in the second & third groups there were several hunters who did not even nock an arrow except over water waiting for an opportunity after 6 days of hunting hard. The entire hunt failed to meet or come close to expectations.

Submit Date: Oct 4, 2009

Outfitter Review: Higher Ground Outfitters - NM

Outfitter / Owner: "Doc" Rolston

Hunter: Jim Bredy

Animals Hunted: pronghorn

Doc provided me an incredible pronghorn hunt this weekend. If I had to bet on him vs a billy goat going up a mountain, I would bet on him. He has twice the strength and stamina of those half his age. He worked incredibly hard to get me a good "goat". I saw something I never thought was possible. I was absolutely stunned when he called my pronghorn to within 40 yards, using his mouth only, and no other mechanical device! And when he realized that neither of us brought a camera for photos after our long stalk on the pronghorn, he gutted the animal, and threw it over his back and carried it down the mountain so that we could get some pictures. He is truly customer oriented; truly cares about his clients and the animals; and truly loves his job, as I heard him mention numerous times. I consider him a good friend, and hope our paths continue to cross in the future, both in the field and out of the filed.

Submit Date: Sep 17, 2009

Outfitter Review: Express UU Bar Ranches - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: Express UU Bar Ranches

Hunter: Stuart Rothenberger

Animals Hunted: Elk

I have been hunting the West since 1987 and this is the best hunt I have ever experienced. My brother and I booked this hunt in memory of our father who passed away this spring and the entire experience could not have been better. These people really get the concept of customer service.In 3 days hunting we saw 700-800 Elk including at least 100 different Bulls. We both harvested 6x7s. The Lodge is fantastic and Ralph the Chef will put weight on you. The area is rich in Old West history and gorgeous. This is also a great hunt/outfit for families, especially kids. I can not recommend this outfit enough. Feel free to e-mail me with questions.

Submit Date: Sep 16, 2009

Outfitter Review: San Juan River Outfitters - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: John Jaquez

Hunter: David Wilson

Animals Hunted: ELK

We booked a drop camp hunt October 2008, with promises of prescouting, maps, hot water, fire wood, fully equiped camp to be provided. No maps & no directions. Camp was a worn out Mallard Trailer with dead battery and generator w/ 5-gal gas. Water was provided in 50-gallon drum. No fire wood, no heat, no chairs, no axe. 1-pot, 1-fry pan. Area was cluttered with 100's of operating oil & gas wells and 24-hour drilling operations. Seen two cow elk in 7 days.

Submit Date: Sep 2, 2009

Outfitter Review: Mark V Outfitters - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: Rob Roll

Hunter: Bob

Animals Hunted: Turkey

We hunted the Bar3s ranch in Ocate, NM. Over grazed and full of public hunters. This hunt was sold as a private land turkey hunt and told we would easily harvest two toms. Lot's of excuses from an outfitter that quite frankly in my observation is inexperienced. Beautiful country but not a turkey haven as promised. Over harvested.

Submit Date: Aug 31, 2009

Outfitter Review: Bar 3S Ranch - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: David Stanley

Hunter: Timothy Hogan

Animals Hunted: Elk

This is a poorly run operation mostly due to the rancher. I came to the conclusion he has little to no experience in the outdoor industry nor does he have any ranching know-how. He's simply after the ole green-back. The ranch is neither highly managed for quality game or cattle operation. The ranch is overgrazed with cattle and little attention is placed on hunting arrangements. The fact that it borders a large highly managed big game ranch (UU BAR EXPRESS) is not enough for the rancher to advertise his property as a big game paradise. Nothing is further from the truth. In summary, this is a highly false advertisement. The hunt was a mere 5-days lodging and meals with little to hunt.

Submit Date: Aug 27, 2009

Outfitter Review: Sierra Blanca Outfitters - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: Peter Romero

Hunter: Max Fly

Animals Hunted: Bear

I went on a 5 day bear hunt about 30 miles south of Angel Fire in NM with Peter Romero of Sierra Blanca Outfitters. I have hunted bear in Alberta (Set up by Steve's Outdoor Adventures). I saw no bear. I also hunted in Idaho for 6 days (Set up by Steve's Outdoor Adventures). I saw no bear. I had stumbled on to Sierra Blanca Outfitters through the internet last year, looking for a late season elk hunt. I booked the elk hunt and had a very successful and one of the most fun elk hunts with Peter Romero and his great guide, Ernie, in December 08. That hunt led to this bear hunt which was great. Pete acted as my guide but what was so impressive was that he had the whole community on the lookout for bear sign. He even brought in my old elk hunting guide, Ernie, to help. Pete grew up in that country so he knew every nook and cranny and sure enough we were into bear each day. I got mine on the second day. It was not big but the pelt was perfect as was the 350 yd. shot I made.

Submit Date: Aug 4, 2009

Outfitter Review: Premier Outfitters - NM

Outfitter / Owner: Art Orthman

Hunter: Dick Angel

Animals Hunted: ELK

I was told I could expect to see 50 head of elk on the five day hunt. I saw none. Same old story,this has never happened before, Things were great last year/week, etc.

Submit Date: Jul 5, 2009

Outfitter Review: Bear Creek Outfitters - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: Lou Probo

Hunter: Jerry Starkey

Animals Hunted: Mountain Lion

Lou runs a great hunt. He has mountains of photo's of other successful hunters over the years. He knows the area better than anyone and makes sure that you are prepared for a real hunt in a wilderness area. He has some great hounds and knows more about lion hunting than anyone I have ever met. I'm going back for other species. You need to be in shape to hunt with Lou. You are going after the game not just sitting around a camp fire.

Submit Date: Jul 1, 2009

Outfitter Review: Bar 3S Ranch/Stanley Ranch - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: David Stanley

Hunter: Tim Hogan

Animals Hunted: Elk

This was a complete farse. There are no trophy bulls much less elk on this overgrazed, over hunted exaggeration of a private land elk hunt. The owner David Stanley was no where to be found during the hunt through he will tell you exactly what you want to hear when you inquiry about his ranch. Save your money folks for a real hunt.

Submit Date: Jun 9, 2009

Outfitter Review: Rancho Rojo Outfitters - NM

Outfitter / Owner: Mark/Edna Harper

Hunter: steve croft

Animals Hunted: elk,mule deer, antelope

mark harper was my guide, he is an exceptional guide, knows his territory well and knows the game habbits well. ednas a great cook, you won,t be hungry on this trip. we were treated like royalty. we did not get big elk but we saw some and each got a nice 5/5 and we had a fantastic time. everybody was very professional. hunted hard but the terrain is not real bad at all.

Submit Date: May 4, 2009

Outfitter Review: Higher Ground outfitters - NM

Outfitter / Owner: Doc Rolston

Hunter: Dustin Lamb

Animals Hunted: Elk

I worked for Doc in the 2007 elk season he realy nows his stuff! I wasn hunting but he was teaching me everythig he knows about calling in and hunting big bulls.he gives it 100% all the time at what he does and he got all of his hunters a chance at a good mature bull! I would recommend anybody to go give him a try!!!

Submit Date: Apr 30, 2009

Outfitter Review: Bar S3 Ranch - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: David Stanley

Hunter: Bill Hogan

Animals Hunted: Elk

This is a typical "rip-off" with lots of hype and marketing about hunting trophy class bulls on private land in northern NM. The hype "lies" goes something like this: “Hunt 30,000 acre private ranch located in elk hot spot bordering the infamous 100,000 acre UU Bar Express. Excellent possibility to harvest a 350+ class bull. Greatest deal on big bulls on private land! $2,700 includes landowner tag, lodging and meals. Hire one of our professional guides for an additional $500 per hunter and you have an above average chance to harvest a true NM monster bull.” Sounds great doesn't? Here is the truth. There is 15,000 private acres not 30,000. The additional 15,000 mentioned is actually BLM land that the public has the right to hunt. During your hunt you then must compete with public hunters and since the landowner has no fence nor patrols his property line trespassing is rampant. Now make your way back to the lodge and complain to the landowner and he’s no where to be found. The guides are contracted by you so they are just as innocent as you are about the facts. According to my guide who has been hunting the area for over 20 years, he hasn’t ever heard of anyone harvesting a 350 class bull on the Bar3S Ranch. Everyone hunting the ranch and lodged at the ranchers lodge were equally disappointed and demanded to speak to him but no one knew his whereabouts. Further conversations with the guides indicated that his method of operation is to attract costumers and leave as the hunt is a farce. Apparently the landowner goes through guides just as much as unsuspecting clients and if clients complain his solution is to sue him.This ranch is over hunted, overgrazed and in no way is a great deal. In the 4 days I hunted I saw two cows, eight coyotes and 20 to 30 trucks hunting. I left the final day and was completely disappointed. Calls back to the rancher David Stanley are yet to be returned. It’s been over a year now. Don’t get caught up in this misrepresentation. I found his ad in the Dallas News. If the ad contains the following phone numbers, 575-666-2474 or 505-690-9895, do yourself a favor and stay away. This is a complete rip-off.

Submit Date: Apr 17, 2009

Outfitter Review: Bear Creek Outfitters - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: Lou Probo

Hunter: Rob Opdahl

Animals Hunted: Mountain Lion

Didn't use dogs, Lou said it was too dry. So tried calling, but that is a tough method for success. I paid for a dog hunt, wish Lou would have told me and I would have rescheduled the hunt. Nice land to hunt. Lou worked hard, but has a little edge. Hunt was recommended to me by Huntin'Fool.

Submit Date: Mar 22, 2009

Outfitter Review: Lodge of Chama - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: Frank Sims

Hunter: Michael H. Bolo

Animals Hunted: Elk

Getting your elk with in 3 days during the opener is relatively easy and if your handicap most areas are accessible by truck. Accomodations are similar to the Hilton with room service. The best of the best hunters have hunted here at least once. Excellent Rainbow fishing here. Catch and release except for those under 18" they let you keep for supper. Beautiful Country and you can hunt hard in rough country or as easy as you like. Success is about 99% if your shooting abiltiy is good. Its a great place to take a nice elk without getting screwed on a cheaper hunt with someone that does not care about you. I booked this place as I heard to many horror stories about some guides. I shot the smallest Elk a 4 X 5 but the meat was terrific. Average Elk are 5 X 5 with some 6 x 6 Elk taken. Unless you have good connections I recommend this hunt a bit expensive but worth it.

Submit Date: Feb 8, 2009

Outfitter Review: Bar 3S Ranch-Stanley Ranch - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: David Stanley

Hunter: Bill Hogan

Animals Hunted: Elk

This is a typical "rip-off" with lots of hype and marketing about hunting trophy class bulls on private land in northern NM instigated by the rancher and landowner. The hype "lies" goes something like this: “Hunt 30,000 acre private ranch located in elk hot spot bordering the infamous 100,000 acre UU Bar Express. Excellent possibility to harvest a 350+ class bull. Greatest deal on big bulls on private land! $2,700 includes landowner tag, lodging and meals. Hire one of our professional guides for an additional $500 per hunter and you have an above average chance to harvest a true NM monster bull.” Sounds great doesn't it? Here is the truth. There is 15,000 private acres not 30,000. The additional 15,000 mentioned is actually BLM land that the public has the right to hunt. During your hunt you then must compete with public hunters and since the landowner has no fence line nor patrols his property line trespassing is rampant. Now make your way back to the lodge and complain to the landowner and heÂ’s no where to be found. The guides are contracted by you so they are just as innocent as you are about the facts. According to my guide who has been hunting the area for over 20 years, he hasn’t ever heard of anyone harvesting a 350 class bull on the Bar3S Ranch. Everyone hunting the ranch and lodged at the ranchers lodge were equally disappointed and demanded to speak to him but no one knew his whereabouts. Further conversations with the guides indicated that his method of operation is to attract costumers and leave as the hunt is a farce. Apparently the landowner goes through guides just as much as unsuspecting clients and if clients complain his solution is to sue him.This ranch is over hunted, overgrazed and in no way is a great deal. In the 4 days I hunted I saw two cows, eight coyotes and 20 to 30 trucks hunting. I left the final day and was completely disappointed. Calls back to the rancher David Stanley are yet to be returned. It’s been over a year now. Don’t get caught up in this misrepresentation. I found his ad in the Dallas News. If the ad contains the following phone numbers, 575-666-2474 or 505-690-9895, do yourself a favor and stay away. This is a complete rip-off. There are plenty of good registered and licensed outfitters in NM. This landowner needs to be called on.

Submit Date: Jan 14, 2009

Outfitter Review: Ute Creek Outfitters - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: Lee Vigil

Hunter: Steve Purviance

Animals Hunted: Elk

I've hunted with Lee for several years now and have always had a fantastic time. Last fall I hunted early October and took a great 6x5 on the first evening. Highly recommended.............

Submit Date: Jan 3, 2009

Outfitter Review: Apache Park - NM

Outfitter / Owner: Ric Sears

Hunter: Troy MacPherson

Animals Hunted: Elk

Hunted in Nov. saw lots of elk. I missed an opportunity at a 300+ bull on the 1st morning I couldn’t find it in my scope my fault not there’s. I passed up 5 mature bulls before shooting a 295” bull. Had a great time and can’t wait to go back! Please fill free to email me and I will send you pictures of my bull. I have shot alot of elk and this was my 1st guided hunt and I really enjoyed learning from my guide.

Submit Date: Oct 7, 2008

Outfitter Review: Mick Chapel - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: Mick Chapel

Hunter: Emery Whitehead

Animals Hunted: Elk

We hunted New Mexico around Weed, saw alot of elk. My guild was Kenny and no one could have done a better job. In camp is was everything we expected it to be. Thanks MIck for Kerry & Deb We had a blast.

Submit Date: Sep 10, 2008

Outfitter Review: Backrhoads - NM

Outfitter / Owner: Rick Rhoads

Hunter: bart kneeland

Animals Hunted: mule deer

We hunted in 2006 with Rick. The lodge was beautiful, the land was nice and the food was great. The problem is, we spent the whole week road hunting. It was a trip more for people who want a big animal with very little work or sweat involved. We did shoot a 170 inch, a 160 inch and a 140 inch mule deer. The elk we saw were massive.

Submit Date: Sep 7, 2008

Outfitter Review: Milligan Brand - NM

Outfitter / Owner: Ray Milligan

Hunter: Gary Thorpe

Animals Hunted: Cow Elk

I am bow hunter but had been unsuccessful and wanted a cow hunt ot put meat in the freezer. My only complaint with the experience was that they had a group of 6 hunters all together and no plan for how to account for who shot what. I'll hand it to them on scouting. We all walked to a small bowl where a herd of cows was bedded but then a cluster#*!% ensued with everyone shooting at once and hunters fighting over who shot what. I was so disgusted with the whole thing. I guess thats what I get for thinking this was a "slam dunk" hunt. There was a little calf that got gut shot in the melee and the guide pressured me that I had to take it as my animal. I was so disgusted at that point and sorry for the calf that I put it out of its misery and left as soon as I could with 20 lbs of meat. Maybe a full on rifle trophy hunt would be a totally different story. Gary Thorpe

Submit Date: Aug 2, 2008

Outfitter Review: Moon Valley - NM

Outfitter / Owner: Corwin Hulsey

Hunter: Pernell Davis

Animals Hunted: Elk

We had a group of 6 hunters that hunted unit 15 archery hunt sept.19 thru 24th. We killed two Bulls one 300" young 6x6 and one 350" awesome Bull. However there were 9 miss shots. we should have killed at least 50%. The guides were great and grew up in that unit they knew where all the water holes were and the trails the Elk used. I have hunted with alot of outfitters from NM to Il and this one is by far the BEST I have ever hunted with!!!! This Year there will be 8 of us in camp and with GOD willing we will kill some Great elk but, I know we will have the times of our lives. Please contact me if you have any questions about this hunt.

Submit Date: Jul 13, 2008

Outfitter Review: Apache Park - NM

Outfitter / Owner: Ric Sears

Hunter: jim fletcher

Animals Hunted: elk

i archery hunted elk in nm with the sears bunch. i fortunately had a guide , who although new to the area , busted this butt to try to fgind me a bull. we heard some bugle but never came close to a bull . 114 hunters in camp may have sighted 10 elk in seven days of hard hunting. none were bulls . i was promised large numbers of elk going to alfalfa fields on private ranches. i never saw any sign of a alfalfa field nor did i hunt private land untill other hunters go fed up and left leaving the opportunity to hunt the ranches. the hunting was no better there than the public land. ric sears is a liar and con aartist who should be put out of business or worse. the nm dept of game has had nimerous complaints about this operation and they would like to shut them down but they operate through a loop hole in the law acting as agents for private land owners. dont even think of hunting with these crooks|!!!!!!!!

Submit Date: Jun 23, 2008

Outfitter Review: Southern Divide Trophy Outfitters - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: Kevin Sears

Hunter: mike

Animals Hunted: deer

I killed my first mule deer and the other hunter in camp killed his first mule deer the same day. My buck wasn't a monster, but it's the biggest buck I ever killed and a picture of me and my buck are on the front page of Kevin's website. Kevin encouraged me to keep hunting for a cow elk. He got me a land tag and I killed a cow elk as well on the next day.

Submit Date: Mar 12, 2008

Outfitter Review: Milligan Brand - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: Ray Milligan

Hunter: Jim Hoekstra

Animals Hunted: Elk

Ray runs a great camp. We had 10 hunters in camp took 8 elk and the other two had shots but did not connect. I took a nice 6x6 the first day and I saw other good elk. This area has more elk than any place I have been before. Great food, guides. and lodging. We have already booked for 2008.

Submit Date: Feb 29, 2008

Outfitter Review: Mick Chapel - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: MIck Chapel

Hunter: James Warlick

Animals Hunted: Antelope

Mick Chapel runs a top notch hunting service. He and his family make you feel as if you are at home. Best service I have ever used. Mick helped me with my drawing and all services. Perry Harper, my guide, was super at spotting antelope and judging my 17 inch goat. Perry is a taxidermist who does great work. Thanks to Mick and Perry, I have an antelope on my wall.

Submit Date: Feb 29, 2008

Outfitter Review: Mick Chapel - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: Mick Chapel

Hunter: James Warlick

Animals Hunted: Cougar/Mountain Lion

Mick and Jenn Chapel run a quality guide service for several types of game, but the cougar hunts are in the mountains by their beautiful home and I was housed in the bunkhouse next door to their home. Their boys are great guides and helpers. This is the experience of a lifetime so do not wait. I will be hunting with New Mexico Professional Big Game Hunting, Inc.this spring and in the fall.

Submit Date: Feb 26, 2008

Outfitter Review: Moon Valley - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: Corwin Hulsey

Hunter: Bill Green

Animals Hunted: Elk

My son and I hunted Unit 9. It was our 3rd choice, but we were assured there were plenty of elk just that they were a little smaller than the bulls in the more desirable units. Our agreement called for us to stay in tents and bow hunt Mount Taylor. Classic elk hunting! However, our plans were changed by Moon Valley without our permission. Instead, we were put up in a motel/casino and hunted mostly arid grasslands. It wasn't the "once in a lifetime" mountain elk hunt promised by Moon Valley. We never saw Corwin after the pre-hunt meeting. Prior to the last day of the hunt we were so disappointed that I put in a call to him to see if there was anything he could to help us salvage a bad hunt. He didn't return my call. As for the elk, this is what we found:We spent a great majority of our time hiking to and from waterholes and other areas that were not being used by elk.We hunted several times adjacent to an Indian Reservation. We could hear elk bugling on the reservation, but they weren't inclined to approach, much less jump the 8 foot game fence that separated us.After the third day, I think the guide was pretty much just going through the motions.For the entire trip, I saw one bull and no cows. However, if the guide hadn't busted the setup, I may have gotten a shot. My son saw two small bulls, two 5 x 5's and a cow and calf.

Submit Date: Feb 18, 2008

Outfitter Review: Mangas Outfitters - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: Tuffy Barnett

Hunter: John Keeling

Animals Hunted: Elk

Tuffy makes all other outfitters obsolete. I saw 12 bulls the first hour of the first hunt. I shot a nice bull that green scored 352 4/8ths. I shot mine at a watering hole on the second afternoon. The other hunter with me saw many bulls and shot at 3 of them. He also had 2 chances at bulls really,really close but the cameraman didn't have time to get set up. One was even bigger than mine. Really he runs a great operation. This was truely the hunt of a lifetime. Absolutely without hesitation I'd recommend Tuffy.

Submit Date: Feb 14, 2008

Outfitter Review: Kiowa Hunting Service - NM

Outfitter / Owner: Tim Barraclough

Hunter: David Strozdas

Animals Hunted: Aoudad Sheep

This hunt was conducted in very rocky terrain and required a LOT of hiking and glassing. We roughly saw anywhere from 60-80 sheep a day. This was a challenging hunt, with both my buddy and I taking rams qualifying for SCI. The guides were very good at spotting animals and working in close enough for a shot. I can't say enough about the guides - they worked hard, hiked their butts off, were among the best at spotting and classifying animals, and very accomodating. My buddy and I were talking about coming back next year before either of us had even tagged out. I'd highly recommend.

Submit Date: Feb 12, 2008

Outfitter Review: Southern Divide Trophy Outfitters - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: Kevin Sears

Hunter: Scott Wheaton

Animals Hunted: MULE DEER

Hunted for 4 days of a 5 day hunts. Never saw a deer, Neither did the other 3 hunters. It was a scam. Kevin is nothing more than a thief. My guide was a super nice kid. I would hunt with him again but not with Kevin or that area.

Submit Date: Nov 18, 2007

Outfitter Review: Ute Creek Outfitters - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: Lee Vigil

Hunter: Anthony Russomanno

Animals Hunted: Bull Elk

This was a great bowhunt and the Rio Costilla is breathtaking. I harvested a 6 X 5 on the 2nd afternoon of my hunt with Paqi as my guide. Lee and his crew are a great bunch of people, from their expertise in the field to their great senses of humor back in camp. These guys want you to score. If your not happy with this outfitter, then you just can't be pleased.

Submit Date: Nov 14, 2007

Outfitter Review: Ute Creek Outfitters - NM

Outfitter / Owner: Lee Vigil

Hunter: Davis Dinkins

Animals Hunted: Elk

I Elk hunted with UCO for the first time after recomendations from repeat customers. I feel lucky to have had the opportunity and will book another hunt with Lee without hesitation. Great game, guides, and trip.

Submit Date: Nov 5, 2007

Outfitter Review: Ute Creek Outfitters - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: Lee Vigil

Hunter: John Gathings

Animals Hunted: Elk

I booked this hunt with great expectations of killing a trophy 6x6 bull. I'm not in the best of shape and am not getting any younger. Daniel my guide did everything possible to get me my bull. On day three while sitting in a blind, out came my trophy bull. The bull was every bit my dream. This is a truely a professional operation and the staff is excellent. There is no wonder why Ute Creek has been in business for over 25 years. If you have some physical inabilities, they can still put you on some great bulls. I passed on several bulls looking for the right one. Great place, great people.

Submit Date: Oct 14, 2007

Outfitter Review: Moon Valley - NM

Outfitter / Owner: Corwin Hulse

Hunter: Don Terhune

Animals Hunted: elk

the camping trailer provided for me and my two sons was filthy dirty when we arrived when I complained about the mouse crap on my bed we were told where the camp vacuum cleaner was and how to fire up the genorater we cleaned the trailer ourselves!

Submit Date: Oct 5, 2007

Outfitter Review: Ute Creek Outfitters - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: Lee Vigil

Hunter: Ken Kopacko

Animals Hunted: Elk

This was my second hunt with Ute Creek Outfitters and I can't say enough about them. Every member of their staff are hard working professionals. They are totally dedicated to hunting trophy elk. I took a good 6x5 on the 1st morning of this 5 day hunt. All 5 hunters in camp tagged out by the 3rd day. Most bulls scored 300+.The hunting grounds are beautiful. The food is good and filling. The big bulls are there in abundance. The staff love what they do. It's simply a great organization and I can't imagine hunting elk anywhere else.The only bad part is I have to wait until next year to go back.

Submit Date: Sep 28, 2007

Outfitter Review: Folsom Outfitters - NM

Outfitter / Owner: Kyle/Levonne Bell

Hunter: RON GHIGHI

Animals Hunted: ELK

KYLE AND LEVONNE RUN A CLASS A HUNTING CAMP. BEAUTIFUL BUNKHOUSE AND EXCELLENT FOOD SERVED FAMILY STYLE- HEAVY ON FAMILY. CAN VOUCH KYLE COOKS EXCELLENT BACKSTRAPS AND TENDERLOIN APPETIZERS. KYLE CALLED IN A BULL USING COW AND BULL CALLING AND TREE RAKING. KEPT THE BULL OCCUPIED WHILE I GOT INTO SHOOTING POSITION(LONG STORY). GREAT HUNT, GREAT PEOPLE. SMALL NUMBER OF HUNTERS PER HUNT. NO CROWDS. PRIVATE RANCH HUNT.

Submit Date: Sep 22, 2007

Outfitter Review: Moon Valley - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: Corwin Hulsey

Hunter: Pat Patridge

Animals Hunted: Elk

I've been on multiple outfitted hunts and never have been compelled to write a review. But my experience with Moon Valley was class "A". I drew a unit 15 New Mexico tag for the 09/11/07-09/18/07 archery hunt. I have hunted this area before and there are big elk in it. This year was no exception. My first evening in camp, I sat on a water hole and had 6 cows/calfs and 2 spike bulls come to water. All within 20 yards. A bull was screaming up in the hills but would not come to water. The next morning we listened to multiple bulls before making a stalk. Had a 7x7 close before it caught my movement and took off. Called another 6x6 to 12 yards and did not have a shot. The 3rd bull we got on was a nice 6x6 which I ended up taking at 25 yards. 330 class bull. No doubt this was exceptional action, but each of the hunters had experiences with nice elk all week. They all were not a fortunate as me, but all were satisfied with the hunt. The Quality of the elk is unbelievable. When one's bugling and is coming to the call, there is no question that it is a shooter bull. I spent the rest of my hunt glassing different areas morning and evening. Bulls were everywhere, with very few "rag horn" bulls seen. This is a family run service. Corwin's daughter cooks and takes care of the camp. Corwin spends his time in camp with the hunters each morning and night. He ran a camp in unit 9, which he spent 2 nights in before coming back to our camp. His new cabin in unit 15 was very nice. He grew up and is respected in the area. The hunting is in a mix of private and public land. But the unit is large.

Submit Date: Sep 16, 2007

Outfitter Review: Backcountry Outfitters - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: Dave Guilliams

Hunter: Chris Reilly

Animals Hunted: Antelope

I have hunted with Backcountry the last two years for antelope and both hunts were fun with plenty of game and any number of opportunities for shots with some outstanding heads available. You stay in town in Raton which is just a short drive to the NRA Whitingham Center, certainly worth a visit while you are there.

Submit Date: Jun 11, 2007

Outfitter Review: Lobo Outfitters - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: Dick & Mike Ray

Hunter: Court Urban

Animals Hunted: Elk

My father, brother-n-law, and I booked with Lobo for the second rifle season in 2006. My Brother-n-law shot a small 6x6 the first morning. I saw around 100 head the first day, taking a 300 class 6x6 that afternoon. My dad hunted the entire five days, passing on several 5x5 and 6x6 elk. This is an oustanding area with lots of elk. Dick, Mike, and family are top notch people with great love of the hunt. Request Gwen as your cook.

Submit Date: Jun 1, 2007

Outfitter Review: Tri-State Outfitters, Inc. - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: Richard/Bridger Petrini

Hunter: Gerald Forrey

Animals Hunted: Mountain Lion

This is a first class operation with first class guides. Bridger Petrini has an unbelieveable pack of hounds that caught not only the huge Tom I killed in this six day hunt but I got to see three younger Lions treed we passed on before killing my Tom on the fifth day. All this was done in the infamous "dry ground" conditions "no snow" that you hear so many guides brag about but really don't have the dogs to do it with. Believe me I have been on those hunts. Well I'm telling you that Tri-State does. We also rode some great horses while doing this hunt. Can't say enough!

Submit Date: Mar 27, 2007

Outfitter Review: Lobo Outfitters - NM

Outfitter / Owner: Dick/Mike Ray

Hunter: Wade Paffenroth

Animals Hunted: Elk

Hunted with Lobo outfitters in 2005. Hunted hard in weather that was not ideal. Other than days of near zero visibility due to fog, sighted elk every day. Guides worked hard and knew thier area well. Got a chance to hunt one of the spike camps the first evening...everything you would expect in a spike camp. Passed on several bulls before harvesting a respectable 5x5 the last evening of the hunt. I believe my week in camp we went 10 or 11 for 12 with one gentleman dropping out early due to health reasons. E-mail for more details

Submit Date: Mar 17, 2007

Outfitter Review: Kiowa - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: Tim Barraclough

Hunter: Jesse Derr

Animals Hunted: Cow Elk

My son and I have hunted 2 time on a cow elk hunt. Both times have been great. We saw hundreds of elk on both trips.

Submit Date: Mar 6, 2007

Outfitter Review: J & J Outfitters - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: Eric Jantze

Hunter: Jim Colyer

Animals Hunted: Rocky Mountain Elk

It took two years to get this hunt booked and was worth the wait. Bowhunting during the rut was an awesome experience. We saw and heard elk everyday. Everything was 1x1 with the guides who were experienced and passionate about the hunting. There were 6 hunters in camp, 2 of the hunters(including myself) scored on 300 class bulls, 2 others passed on bulls that big or larger. Having harvested a nice bull I left without finding out how the others faired but the bulls were vocal and moving. I am planning on taking my son back there in a few years.

Submit Date: Feb 20, 2007

Outfitter Review: NM Professional Big Game Hunting - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: Mick Chapel

Hunter: Mark Lounsbury

Animals Hunted: Elk

First class operation. Hunted in miserable weather which made things tough. Guide worked very hard and did everything he could to ensure a great hunt.

Submit Date: Jan 23, 2007

Outfitter Review: Blue Mountain Outfitters - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: Bob Attwood

Hunter: Jeff Haugland

Animals Hunted: Oryx

This hunt was on the white sands missile range, controlled by the goverenment. It's a once in a lifetime draw, and its awesome.

Submit Date: Jan 16, 2007

Outfitter Review: High Mountain - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: Pete Trujillo

Hunter: Rob Fletcher

Animals Hunted: Elk

9 hunters hunted 5 days. 1 hunter killed a 5x6, the other 8 never fired a shot.

Submit Date: Jan 7, 2007

Outfitter Review: Ed Bremer Ranches - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: NM

Hunter: ROBERT KEY

Animals Hunted: Elk

We contracted out with Bremer Ranches for a quality hunt on the Louise Torres Ranch near Tres Pedres, NM. Ed told us that the Ranch had not been hunted all season and there was a resident herd on the ranch.I had to pay for my and the guides food.Well we walked and drove all over this ranch and found nothing for 5 days. On the third day, Ed told us to shoot any muledeer or cow elk since we had not send any Bull Elk. He provided cow elk tags and said that his guides knew how to work around the New Mexico state game and fish commission.I tried many times to contact ED and left many telephone messages; but he refuses to reply.This was one of the worst hunts I've ever been on.

Submit Date: Jan 6, 2007

Outfitter Review: Bear Wallow Basin Outfitters - NM

Outfitter / Owner: Dan Handrich

Hunter: steve breneman

Animals Hunted: elk,deer

lied,cheated,and stole! feel free to call me for details.

Submit Date: Jan 6, 2007

Outfitter Review: Lobo Outfitters - NM

Outfitter / Owner: Dick Ray

Hunter: BILL CASWELL

Animals Hunted: ELK

KILLED A NICE 6X6 ON THE 3RD MORNING AND THEY ARE WONDERFUL BUNCH OF GUYS AND GIRL.

Submit Date: Jan 1, 2007

Outfitter Review: Blue Mountain Outfitters - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: Bob Atwood

Hunter: Michael Cahoon

Animals Hunted: Pronghorn Antelope

This was my first antelope hunt with Bob,I have hunted elk with Bob over the past three years. Bob runs an outstanding outfit and his guides are top notch.I filled my antelope tag 4 hours into my hunt with a great shot on a nice 16 an 1/4" goat. I highly recomend this hunt because of the great time i had and his price is fantastic!! We had 19 hunters in different locations and 19 hunters filled their tags, that's outstanding

Submit Date: Dec 22, 2006

Outfitter Review: Ute Creek Outfitters - NM

Outfitter / Owner: Lee Vigil

Hunter: Mike Mauro

Animals Hunted: ELK

Ute Creek delivered on its promise to harvest a 300 plus trophy Elk. Lee Vigil and his Guides are experienced woodsman and allowed me to have a hunt of a Life Time. My Guide, CJ and I harvested a 7 x 6 300 plus Elk on the second morning of my hunt. He knew where we had to go to secure this tropy Elk, after passing up on a few the first morning and seeing over 100 cows. Great Hunt!! Only advice I will give, make sure you ar ein shape and Listen to your Guides . These guys want to help your SCORE!!!Best of Success,mjm

Submit Date: Dec 13, 2006

Outfitter Review: Ute Creek Outfitters - NM

Outfitter / Owner: Lee Vigil

Hunter: vince desantis

Animals Hunted: elk

We had a great hunt with lee and his guides this december. I shot a 300 plus 7 x7 bull elk on the first morning with the help of mu guide Miquel. My buddies got a real big 7 x 6 and a 5 x 5 also!!!Lee and the guides were great, they knew where to hunt to maximze our chances, and they were alot of fun in general.. Even though this is a trophy hunt, you still have to be in good shape and be willing to walk and hike to maiximize your chances at shooting the real big bulls, and that's exactly what my buddies and I wanted...It was an experience of a lifetime, something we all wll never forget.....

Submit Date: Dec 4, 2006

Outfitter Review: Milligan Brand Outfitting & Guide Service - NM

Outfitter / Owner: Ray/Colleen Milligan

Hunter: Tommy Hagler

Animals Hunted: Elk

Saw a cow, calf and spike at 700 yards. Saw a couple of lions also at 23 yards. No elk there for archery season. Would be good gun hunt if the snow drove the elk down from the higher grounds. He has some awesome country leased, but the elk are not there in archery season. Really nice guy too. He tried to tell me I stiffed him for the final balance payment after I got back home. After proving he was wrong by showing him when he deposited a certified cashier's check, I never received an apology or heard another word from him, wouldn't even return my phone calls after that!! Sorry, but can't recommend this outfitter for any archery hunt.

Submit Date: Nov 22, 2006

Outfitter Review: International Hunting - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: J. T. Hackney

Hunter: Ira Ernst

Animals Hunted: Mule Deer

J.T. Hackney took a deposit on a hunt for mule deer in Mexico this December with no intention of fulfilling the agreement. Since I gave him the deposit he has disconected his cell phone, shut down his web site, closed his e-mail, and turned off the voice mail to his office phone. When I gave him the money he was a licensed outfitter with the state of New Mexico in good standing with no complaints and has since lost his outfitters license because of failure to produce liability insurance.With my hunt only one month away and no way to get in touch with him I am pretty much screwed. I would not go to Mexico with this guy at this point anyway. I got in touch with another reputable outfitter that knows him and he informed me that J.T. Hackney has cheated alot of people out of money for hunts and not payed his guides for hunts they did for him. I was also informed that there were some people in Mexico that would like to see him dead. Not Really the kind of guy you want to be in Mexico with. I thought I checked this guy out on the net before booking and found nothing bad about him. He was a registered outfitter with the state of New Mexico in good standing. I also found a favorable report that I had to pay for at www.huntingreport.com this just goes to show you that you can't be too careful about checking out your outfitter. huntinfo.com had no info on this guy until today.

Submit Date: Nov 10, 2006

Outfitter Review: Ute Creek Outfitters - NM

Outfitter / Owner: Lee Vigil

Hunter: Jim Leahy

Animals Hunted: Elk

I hunted the Muzzle Loader season- Oct 21-25th 2006 I saw alot of Elk, mostly larger herds with bulls still with the groups. These herds were hard to get close too- less than 175-200 yards for the muzzle loader and did not respond to calling- that made it a little tough. The larger bulls killed that week were by them selfs. I didnt get an opportunity at a large bull, but did pass on a small 5-5 on day 2 and then killed a 5-5 on the last hour of the hunt on day 5. That made the hunt special- killing a bull when I was beganing to think it wasnt going to happen. My guides and Lee were up beat and did not give up hunting- even when I was the last in camp- they kept glassing and trying to find me a bull- it was great! I was very satisfied with the hunt and plan on coming back again in a few years.The muzzle loader hunt is challenging and I would recommend it to the avid hunter who doesnt mind walking and meeting the challenge of a fair chase hunt.My killing shot was at 60 yards- that is probally about as close of a shot you would get there. Other hunters took shots at around 150-200. 4 hunters in camp- 3 shot bulls including a couple in the 300 class. Lee is honest in his description of his services he offers and the accomadations he provides. The hunt is not cheap- but you won't get taken like some of the reports you see on this site- this was my second hunt with Lee, I plan on more- God willing.

Submit Date: Nov 10, 2006

Outfitter Review: Santa Fe Guiding Company - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: Bob King

Hunter: Brian M. Dunn

Animals Hunted: Antelope

My crew hunted with Bob King this year (which we paid for like everyone else) on a number of adjacent private ranches outside of Portales, NM. The knowledge, experience and sportsmanship of Bob and his staff is staggering. Not only do they have exclusive hunting rights on 50,000 acres of private land, these properties are teeming with wildlife. We had opportunities from the first morning to tag out on bucks that were 16 inches and up. At noon each day, as temperatures rose, we returned to the ranch house where Bob made us all a delicious home cooked meal. After a brief rest it was back to the fields for more trophy antelope. The evenings brought incredible Dove shooting which added nicely to the grilled antelope. I have never had a more pleasant experience with an outfitter and would recommend Bob King for any elk, deer or antelope hunt in New Mexico. Bob is a gracious host who surrounds himself with honest, intelligent and hard working guides who share the same goal: delivering on their promises.

Submit Date: Nov 7, 2006

Outfitter Review: Apache Park Land/Cattle - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: Rick Sears

Hunter: Scott Risdal

Animals Hunted: Bull Elk

Rick is not an outfitter and don't expect to ever see him or hear from him after your hunt. He is a booking agent that over sells, and overbooks the ranches he has. He owes all his guides money and they state that he is loosing leases from non-payment. He will get your money up front and has broke every contract on our trip. Keep away from him, Especially the new mexico hunts. The lodge was nice and the cook was great. The guides have a seniority problem and withold info from each other. Not a professional outfit. $6000 down the toilet. Research your outfitters well and request the names and phone #'s of all who hunted with them the previous year and call them all. Forget about the references they give you.

Submit Date: Nov 2, 2006

Outfitter Review: Tristate Outfitters - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: Bridger Petrini

Hunter: Chris Daniels

Animals Hunted: Mule Deer

One of the few guided hunts that I have been on where the guides really knew their stuff. Quality of the deer was exactly as represented before the hunt and I tagged out with a 170 plus class deer the first morning after a very memorable stalk/hunt. There were not a lot of deer, but there were some exceptional bucks.

Submit Date: Oct 28, 2006

Outfitter Review: Ute Creek Outfitters - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: Lee Vigill

Hunter: Rick Reid

Animals Hunted: Elk

My guide, although extremley expirenced guide in the hunting aspect, needed more people skills. On all my previous hunts, none of my guides made me fell I was inadaquite as a hunter and didn't deserve to be on this hunt. At one point I told my guide I was going to request another guide do to the way he made me feel. I feel he treated me differnt because I was not one of the high tech hunters from one of the magazine or TV shows. This guide was always running ahead of me, never stayed right with me, when I would catch up, he would take off without a word. I know all hunters are not in quite as good shape as their guides, but all guides should be aware of this and hunt to their abilities. There is something to being pushed hard to get a big elk, but not to the point were you don't enjoy your hunt and feel humiluated. I am looking forward to hunting with this outfitter again and with the same guide now that he knows how he made me feel. Cowboy up Packey, see you in a few years.

Submit Date: Oct 16, 2006

Outfitter Review: Ute Creek Outfitters - NM

Outfitter / Owner: Lee Vigil

Hunter: JOE LONDON

Animals Hunted: ELK

THIS IS AN OUTSTANDING OPERATION WITH QUALITY HUNTING AND QUALITY PEOPLE.

Submit Date: Oct 16, 2006

Outfitter Review: Ute Creek Outfitters - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: Lee Vigil

Hunter: C urt Wells

Animals Hunted: Elk

The high country on the Rio Costilla Park Ranch was some of the most beautiful I've hunted. Elk were plentiful and the bulls were bugling in every direction the first couple of days. The quality of the elk was outstanding due to their management efforts and those of the surrounding ranches. I took a 300+ 6X6 on the fourth morning and other bowhunters in camp had lots of action. Great hunt.

Submit Date: Oct 16, 2006

Outfitter Review: Ute Creek Outfitters - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: Lee Vigil

Hunter: Kirk Kvitle

Animals Hunted: Elk

We saw elk every day and all hunters had good quality shots within 120 yards for our black powder hunt. Seventy five percent of us harvested trophy bulls! The guides and hospitality were very good as well.Kirk KvitleQuincy, Il.

Submit Date: Oct 16, 2006

Outfitter Review: Ute Creek Outfitters - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: Lee Vigil

Hunter: Mike Sokol

Animals Hunted: Elk

Lee and his team of professional guides go out of their way to insure a successful hunt. The land is game rich. The country is excellent for a bow hunter. I highly recommend Ute Creek Outfitters.

Submit Date: Oct 14, 2006

Outfitter Review: United States Outfitters - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: George Taulman

Hunter: Rick Lingo

Animals Hunted: Elk

My hunt would have been excellent if i would have had a knowledgable guide, 8 of 9 hunters took good Bulls, I being the unsuccessful one. all others reported seeing many bulls and having opportunities to pick and choose. I booked another hunt but i also asked for a specific Guide (littlebow) is her nick name. Looking forward to the next hunt. all other aspects of the hunt were great.

Submit Date: Sep 22, 2006

Outfitter Review: 4C Outfitters and Guides - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: Rodney Connor

Hunter: Kevin Zeit

Animals Hunted: Elk

4C Outfitters took us hunting illegaly. We figured it out and filed charges with New Mexico Game & Fish. The outfitter is covering his tracks and letting the guides take the heat. These guys have gone to the dark side. Contact me and I will tell you the whole story of how they ruined my "once in a life time" hunt.

Submit Date: Jun 21, 2006

Outfitter Review: Lobo Outfitters - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: Dick/Mike Ray

Hunter: Steve Diller

Animals Hunted: Elk

I've been out 3 times with them, the quantity and quality of game is excellent. They work hard to put you on Elk.

Submit Date: May 29, 2006

Outfitter Review: Blue Mountain Outfitters - New Mexico

Outfitter / Owner: Bob Atwood

Hunter: Mike Cahoon

Animals Hunted: Elk

Bob runs a superior outfit, this was my first elk hunt and Bob made sure it would be a lasting expierence. His guides know the land we hunted very well. I seen elk every day and had several oppritunities to take a shot. I will be going back next year providing i draw my tag.

Submit Date: May 14, 2006

Outfitter Review: Ed Bremer Ranches - NM

Outfitter / Owner: Ed Bremer

Hunter: robert m starks jr

Animals Hunted: mule deer

not a well run outfit. our guide was from missisippi and had not been on the ranch in three years. he got to new mexico the same day we did. in field transpotation was to be provided and was not.he had a small toyota truck and we were three big men so we had to take our own truck. we had to drive 60 to 70 miles to get to the ranch we were hunting. we walked 4 to 8 miles a day and mr. bremer said we we lazy. we had to provide our own food and water when mr.bremer said it would be provided. the hunt was nothing like bremer ranches had advertised. we feel like bremer ranches is a ripoff

Submit Date: Feb 18, 2006

Outfitter Review: New Mexico Profesional Outfitters - NM

Outfitter / Owner: Mick Chapel

Hunter: Mike Boyd

Animals Hunted: ELK

Promised primitive area only hunt(area 2B), he lied, this was a rifle area which was not to my expectations, out of ten hunters, one rag horn elk was shot. Guides made us road hunt the entire trip, walked only one time, and personally NEVER seen a single elk. All I seen all week was other hunters and roads. Mick promised us 300 class bulls and the guide informed us that a 300 class bull was very rare. Mick I have found will say anything to take your money, so if you feel like burning $5000 then give Mick a call, I DO NOT recommend this outfitter to my worst enemy!!!!!!

Next Page >       Last Page >>

web application and database development by davidcdalton.com