New Brunswick Hunting Outfitter and Guide Reviews

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Sep 8, 2010

Outfitter Review: Dyer's Hunting & Fishing Camps - NB

Outfitter / Owner: Danny or Lawrence

Hunter: Rusty Eaton

Animals Hunted: Black Bear

This was my third year hunting with Dyer Outfitters. I met Danny & Chris Dyer at a hunt show in Charleston, WV in 2008 when I booked my first hunt with them based on the many great references I recieved from friends and other hunters. You may find cheaper hunts but you will not find any better than what the Dyer's offer. There advantage is a large territory with hundreds of active baits which are lightly hunted resulting in BIGGER BEARS. I see an average of 8 bears per day adn have harvested a bear every year. My largest so far was over 360 pounds but I have seen many larger than that! That's what draws me back year after year. The accomodations are great, the fishing for smallmouth and brook trout is beyond compare, and the food is excellent. The only way this hunt can get better for me is if I draw a moose tag!

Submit Date: May 8, 2010

Outfitter Review: SLIPP BROTHERS - NEW BRUNSWICK

Outfitter / Owner: RON AND DUANE SLIPP

Hunter: ED KULICH

Animals Hunted: BLACK BEAR

HUNTED WITH THE SLIPP'S FOR SEVEN YEARS, START TO FINISH A FRIENDLY PROFESSIONALLY RUN HUNTING EXPERIENCE. SAW SEVERAL BEAR EACH TRIP TAGGED OUT FIVE OF SEVEN TRIPS AND THE TWO I DID NOT I SAW PLENTY OF BEAR BUT WAS WAITING ON THE BIG ONE. FOOD AND HOSPITALITY OF COOKING STAFF IS SECOND TO NONE. HIGHLY RECOMMEND HUNTING WITH THE SLIPP'S, HOPE TO SEE YOU THERE.

Submit Date: Apr 19, 2010

Outfitter Review: Ruffs Sporting Camp - NB

Outfitter / Owner: John Ruff

Hunter: CHARLIE

Animals Hunted: bear,deer,moose

I HAVE BEEN GOING BEAR HUNTING FOR THE LAST 7 YEARS IVE TAKEN TWO BEAR THAT WERE ABOUT 400LBS AND THE OTHERS WERE 250,225,175,I PAST ON A LOT OF BEARS ON TWO OF THE YEARS I WENT THIS WAS DURING ARCHERY.IF YOU NEED ANY INFO PLEASE GIVE ME A CALL 978-957-6910.THE FOOD IS GREAT SLEEPING AREA IS GREAT THERE IS SO MUCH WILD LIFE.JOHN,DAVE,KIYEL ARE THE BEST AND WILL WORK HARD FOR YOU.give john a call 506 356 8661

Submit Date: Nov 4, 2009

Outfitter Review: Ruff's Sporting Camp - New Brunswick

Outfitter / Owner: John Ruff

Hunter: Brian Brierley

Animals Hunted: black bear

I went black bear hunting with some friends in May 2009. It was my first time black bear hunting and first time hunting through an outfitter/guide. I was very impressed as soon as I arrived. Clean, comfortable accommodations. Excellent hunting area and bait sites layouts. (Tree) stands were near-perfectly placed in relation to bait barrels. The food was excellent (the owners son shot a moose in 2008 and we feasted on moose steak and meatballs a couple of nights). I already booked for May 2010 (for black bear) and am planning on booking a deer hunt for the fall of 2010. Can't say enough good things about John, Dave and the "girls".

Submit Date: Jun 2, 2009

Outfitter Review: Stewart's Old Pine Lodge - New Brunswick

Outfitter / Owner: Carl Stewart

Hunter: Ken S. Keesee

Animals Hunted: Black Bear

This is the eighth year in a row our group has hunted with Carl Stewart. Each Year has been a mirror of the previous...A Terrific Hunt in ALL Respects. The small numbers of hunters (Max-6) combined with Carl's knowledge and preparation are the recipe for a truly successful hunt! Once again we had 100% shot opportunity, taking 3 bear out of 5 hunters, with two of our party holding out for a Giant! The food again proved costly to all waistlines! While the weather could have certainly been better, Carl and his staff perservered to once again provide an excellent hunt and Canadian experience! If a hometown atmosphere, small #'s in camp, excellent food/accomodations, and a Canadian Blackie are on your agenda give Carl a call at (506) 836-1008 you WILL NOT be sorry!!!

Submit Date: May 20, 2009

Outfitter Review: Taxis River Outfitters - New Brunswick

Outfitter / Owner: Larry Davidson

Hunter: Erik Ungewitter

Animals Hunted: Moose

Larry and his crew are the best moose hunters I have ever met. These guys will do anything to not only put you on a bull, but a trophy 50"+ bull in New Brunswick. There is no lack of effort on he or any of his guides parts. Food and lodging are top notch. A++++ guide service... Am going back for a deer hunt next year and will certainly be trying to get another moose tag someday too. I scored on a nice 49" 19pt on the 2nd day and the other hunter in camp got a 50" 21pt the final day despite very adverse hunting weather conditions.

Submit Date: Oct 18, 2008

Outfitter Review: Lawrence Dyer & Son - New Brunswick

Outfitter / Owner: Danny Dyer

Hunter: Bruce Milau

Animals Hunted: Moose

Drew a moose tag after 9 years and through research was sure that I would hunt with Danny. My guide, Lloyd had 47 years as a licensed guide and knew every tree. The hunt was tough, but only because the weather did not cooperate. It poured rain for 2 of the 3 days of the hunt and the temperature never went below 75 with high wind. Lloyd never gave up and with a break in the weather, I scored on the 3rd and last day. This outfitter is a full time outfitter and his camp and staff are among the best I have ever been at. Camp was great and food was unbelievable. Everyone made you feel like you were there for years, which is the case with many of his bear hunters. Will definitely go back. If I can't draw another moose, I will go for bear.

Submit Date: Oct 1, 2008

Outfitter Review: Knoxford Lodge - New Brunswick

Outfitter / Owner: Dale Clark

Hunter: David Tomlin

Animals Hunted: Moose

I hunted with Dale in September of 2008. He had been scouting hard before my arrival and you could tell he had done his homework. I saw a total of 13 moose while I was there. I took a nice 50" 14 pt. bull on the first day of the season. Dale is great at calling moose and he is a great host as well. He treated me like a friend and not like just another customer. His lodge is located on a very nice lake and he has private land access to thousands of acres of land. The lodging and food were very good and I hope to be able to draw another tag in the future to hunt with him again.

Submit Date: Jul 17, 2008

Outfitter Review: Canoose Camps - New Brunswick

Outfitter / Owner: Tom Mosher

Hunter: James Norman

Animals Hunted: Black Bear

When I arrived at Canoose Camp, I welcome with open arms from Tom's Wife. She give us a tour of the facility there at Canoose. I very impress with the intro of the camp. I must say it was just like it's write-up on it's web-site. I did not get a bear; but, I was very plase with the Tom and Mark tryed to put me on a bear (which they did). I will be returning in Spring for another Spring Bear Hunt. Good Job!

Submit Date: Jun 5, 2008

Outfitter Review: Mark Dejong - NB

Outfitter / Owner: Mark Dejong

Hunter: grant benson

Animals Hunted: bear

four years, four bears, lots of action and mark is great. very small and personable operation. a true value.

Submit Date: May 26, 2008

Outfitter Review: Canoose Camps - New Brunswick

Outfitter / Owner: Tom Mosher

Hunter: Olli Dose

Animals Hunted: Black Bear

I went on a 2008 spring black bear hunt with Tom and Canoose Camps. During the whole time I felt in competent hands and enjoyed my stay. The accommodations are rustic. There is no electricity in camp. Light, hot showers, cooking and fridge run on propane. I liked it. The food was excellent and plentiful. We were 5 hunters in camp and 3 bears were killed. We had about 7 bear sightings in total. Tom (Mosher) will work to get you your bear, but he can/will not guarantee a kill. So is the nature of hunting. His experience in guiding hunters exceeds 30 years and he has tons of good stories and tips to share.

Submit Date: Jan 27, 2008

Outfitter Review: Canoose Camps - New Brunswick

Outfitter / Owner: Tom Mosher

Hunter: tom T

Animals Hunted: Black Bear

we hunted in 2007 and no bear spotted. the guides were very unorganized and no baits were attended. there was seven in camp and not a person saw a bear. took over an hour to get picked up from the treestand after dark. the cabin was run down and not clean at all. hardly any bait added to barrel the whole week there and in some stands i did not even have a clean shot at the barrel. this was the biggest waste of money and i do not suggest anyone to book with this outfitter. all this was as of 2007 and i can tell it will be worse next year.

Submit Date: Jan 23, 2008

Outfitter Review: Dyer and Son Outfitters - New Brunswick

Outfitter / Owner: Danny Dyer

Hunter: David McClellan

Animals Hunted: black bear

I hunted with this outfitter on a spring hunt first. there were 11 hunters in camp that week and only 2 people killed bears. One weighted about 80lbs and the other about 150lbs. My friend saw one bear about 100lbs and a saw one right at dark, that was all the action we had. I was told that we would be fishing during the morning, so was everyone else in camp, yet no one ever wet a single line. I felt like i was at a used car salesman's camp. No one in camp left happy. the only reason i returned is because i was offered a free trip in the fall. the fall trip might as well have been a re-run. No fishing, very few bears, the bears that people saw were small. The owner that offered the free trip asked me for gas money! not real professional!

Submit Date: Jun 9, 2007

Outfitter Review: Old Pine Lodge - New Brunswick

Outfitter / Owner: Carl Stewart

Hunter: Ken S. Keesee

Animals Hunted: Spring Black Bear

I along with 5 other guys hunted with Carl Stewart Spring 2007. It was the sixth or seventh year straight our group has hunted. This operation is a small family run business, that sincerely cares about the success and satisfaction of each hunter. The food is terrific, the accomodations are excellent. Carl has been guiding for SB for nearly twenty years, and really knows his stuff. We went 5 for 6 with one guy choosing not to take a bear. One guy took a documented 435lb bear, which very likely will make the All-Time Boone&Crockett minimum 21". This hunt is everything you could want in a Spring Bear Adventure, and Carl is equally comfortable with gun and bow hunters. 3 hours North of Houlton Maine. Zones 7&8 Northern New Brunswick. I'm already booked for 2008.

Submit Date: Nov 5, 2006

Outfitter Review: Black Spruce Lodge - New Brunswick

Outfitter / Owner: Carl Stewart

Hunter: Ken S. Keesee

Animals Hunted: Black Bear

I went with a group of guys May 2005. It was there 5th year in a row to hunt with Carl. From the moment you arrive you are treated like family. The baits were all being hit and everything within the camp was well orchestrated and organized. All members took respectable bear 6 for 6. One bear was a verified 402lbs bruiser. Carl and his staff work extremely hard to insure eveyones success and satisfaction. Due to a family tradgedy missed 2006, already booked for 2007. You won't be disappointed in this operation!

Submit Date: Jun 13, 2006

Outfitter Review: Ruff's Sporting Camp - New Brunswick

Outfitter / Owner: John Ruff

Hunter: Richard Tuite

Animals Hunted: black bear

Saw bears every time in stand. Wildlife in area was abundant. The fishing was awsome even though the water was high brook trout 15 to 17 inches. Bait sites were active many with multiple bears visiting.The food was incredible home made pies and cookies, home cooked dinners. John and Dave were very helpful and pleasent to be around. Loved the camp stories they remember everyone who has been to their camp for the past twenty years. Planing to go back and take my brother and son next spring if God willing.

Submit Date: Jun 5, 2006

Outfitter Review: Hart's Lake Lodge - NB

Outfitter / Owner: Rick Hamilton

Hunter: lee bruner

Animals Hunted: black bear

had a great "father- son" hunt. we both took bears & spent the remainder of the week fishing.

Submit Date: May 9, 2006

Outfitter Review: Slipp Bros., Ltd. - New Brunswick

Outfitter / Owner: Ron/Duane Slipp

Hunter: John Steele

Animals Hunted: Black Bear

Ron & Duane Slipp have been operating this camp since 1983 and clients have killed over a thousand bear. They are trappers by profession and have 63 well placed bait stands. They bait all year long with fresh meat. The bait stands are large and comfortable and well camouflaged.Three of four hunters shot baer the first night. The largest weighed 283 lbs. Our fourth hunter passed on a large sow with two yearlings. Many bait sites were visited by us and all were hit regularly by bear. A great place to bear hunt.

Submit Date: Jan 1, 2006

Outfitter Review: Dillion Outfitters - New Brunswick

Outfitter / Owner: Ray Dillion

Hunter: Kevin Crawford

Animals Hunted: Whitetail

Ray & family are excellent people! Weather was warm and you know how that affects deer. BUT there is no question about the bucks that habitat in that area. 2 other hunters in our group found sheds the last day that would make even the best hunter quiver! I would not hesitate to go back.

Submit Date: Oct 8, 2005

Outfitter Review: Slipp Brothers - New Brunswick

Outfitter / Owner: Ron/Duane Slipp

Hunter: Jim Pierce

Animals Hunted: Black Bear

First time on a trip. Excellent acomondations and tree stand set ups. Saw bear 4 of 5 nights.

Submit Date: Aug 22, 2005

Outfitter Review: Fundy Outfitters - New Brunswick

Outfitter / Owner: Maclom Rossitter

Hunter: P J Albano

Animals Hunted: Bear

Very Good Food and extremely clean cabins very pleasant atmosphere

Submit Date: Aug 11, 2005

Outfitter Review: Big Bear Lodge - New Brunswick

Outfitter / Owner: Larry Farrias

Hunter: Mike

Animals Hunted: Black Bear

Overall a great hunt. We were in camp for about 10 min. and we felt like we were at home. Guides were great. If we went home with no bears it would have been a great hunt. Bears were seen by all(5)hunters on the first night. 2 of the 5 tagged out the first night. All 5 hunters had shots at bears.

Submit Date: Jul 1, 2005

Outfitter Review: Mark De Jong - new brunswick

Outfitter / Owner: Same

Hunter: Grant Benson

Animals Hunted: black bear

I have been on 14 guided bear hunts and bar none this was the best bear action I have ever had. I took a nice bear, but ai had done that before. The volume of activity in the area and the sheer amount of bear and sign, as well as sightings was unprecedented.I have hunted 14 times, 8 outfitters, 4 provinces, taken 6 bear with bow and this was the most complete operation I have hunted with. The others were generally good, but this was at a different level.

Submit Date: Jun 30, 2005

Outfitter Review: Canoose Camps - New Brunswick

Outfitter / Owner: Tom Mosher

Hunter: Stephen A. Leach

Animals Hunted: Black Bear

The weather was very bad this year which hampered sightings. 3 Bear were taken and 3 other hunters saw bear out of 8 of us in camp. Canoose Camp is rustic but you eat very well, cabins are in my opinion comfortable and Tom works hard with his guides to get a bear in your vision

Submit Date: Jun 21, 2005

Outfitter Review: Hart's Lake Lodge - New Brunswick

Outfitter / Owner: Richard Hamilton

Hunter: Jim Riley

Animals Hunted: Black Bear

I went on this hunt in June, 05. By the second day all three hunters in camp had tagged out. The food is great and the fishing was wonderful. I caught an 18.5 inch smallmouth in the lake right in front of the camp. I can't say enough about this hunt.

Submit Date: Mar 30, 2005

Outfitter Review: Slipp Bros. - NB

Outfitter / Owner: Ron/Duane Slipp

Hunter: jim shepard

Animals Hunted: deer/bear/fish

this is an excellant camp,real regular folks,excellant food and accomadtions,im just lucky i guess but i have gotten 5 bear and three huge racks out of this camp,saw 6 bear in one night and let small deer go.these guys are very knowledgeable,and just plain nice guys,can't do enough for you.we had 5 guys on a bear hunt got 5 bear,been going here 15 or so years,call me i'll give you 10 other referances.

Submit Date: Dec 18, 2004

Outfitter Review: Taxis River Outfitters - New Brunswick

Outfitter / Owner: Larry Davidson

Hunter: Kevin Crawford

Animals Hunted: Whitetail

Not a costly hunt as whitetail hunting goes but there are some good bucks in this area. Hunt the 3rd or 4th week the first 2 are the hardest. You need the cold & snow for the big boys to come out. They drive you to a stand each morning, they would like you to bring your own stand I guess they figure you will be sitting in it all day and you know how comfortable (or not) your stand is. My buck dressed out 220 lbs 10 point ...I took mine walking in the first day so I never had to sit and wait. Everyone has a good attitude, good people.

Submit Date: Dec 11, 2004

Outfitter Review: Miramichi Inn - New Brunswick

Outfitter / Owner: Andre Godin

Hunter: Bob Kiefiuk

Animals Hunted: Black bear

Black Bear hunt Spring 04. Hunted late May, Spring was about 2 to 3 weeks behind, weather not the best. Saw bear every day, except one day heard bears moving in brush did not come into the bait. Took a 180 lb boar final night of hunt with a small white "V" on the chest. Probally a hunt later in season based on weather would have been prefered, you can't predict the weather. Lodging and food are exceptional, like a 4 or 5 star rating. Went baiting with guides or can do some fishing depending on the tide and time of year (salmon after June 15, sea bass after may 21st) plan your trip with timing of fishing season to get the most out of it. Recommend rent a car to do some sight seeing during the day if you want, hunt in evening and have the day to go baiting, fishing (depends on tide, time of season)and sight seeing. Highly recommend the Miramichi Inn, you will not be disappointed and the grouse and woodcock hunting in the fall is good also. Any questions feel free to e-mail.

Submit Date: Nov 19, 2004

Outfitter Review: Canoose Camps - New Brunswick

Outfitter / Owner: Tom Mosher

Hunter: Tom Tabor

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer and Black Bear

I have hunted with Tom Mosher on 2 separate occasions. Once a few years ago for whitetail deer at which time I took a very fine, heavy beamed, 4x4 buck on the 3rd day of the hunt. The hunt was conducted from a permanent mounted treestand in dense cover around the muskeg swamps. The deer in New Brunswick are some of the largest bodied deer I've seen. According to the butcher, mine dressed around 225 pounds, but others will go 250 pounds field dressed. In 2004 I booked a hunt for black bear with Tom Mosher and again, on the 3rd evening I shot a fine bear with a perfect coat. I spotted an even larger bear earlier that same evening, but didn't get a shot. That particular bear I believe would have went close to 400 pounds. I hunted the 2nd week of the season and everyone in camp took bears with the exception of 2 people. Out of the 2 that didn't take a bear home one missed what I would call a very easy shot. In fact he had it recorded on a camcorder for all to watch back at camp. The other fellow didn't see a bear, but was still very satisfied with his hunt. My bear hunt will be in one of the upcoming issues of Fur-Fish-Game Magazine. General Comments: The accommodations (log construction lodge) made for excellent quarters. I would be disappointed if my hunting camp was any more modern than Canoose Camps. There was plenty of hot water for showers with power provided by a generator. Lights in camp were propane powered. Tom Mosher and his guides work long and hard hours and they are far from being lazy. Everyone in camp works diligently, usually well into the night, packing out animals, skinning and caping out the heads for the hunters. I am quite proficient at caping, but when I got my whitetail Tom insisted that he do it for me. Canoose Camp's cook is currently Tom's wife, Jocelyn. She is an excellent cook and a great person. There is plenty of good food in camp. You should plan on gaining a few pounds compliments of Jocelyn. Tom is one of the most interesting people I have ever met. He is about as close to a true frontiersman as today's modern world will allow. He has been a trapper for many years. He is currently building a huge new log lodge and doing it pretty much by himself. Tom & his wife fly into the Northern Territories every year to pick mushrooms for market. He is currently training to get his own pilot license. One of the best things about hunting at Canoose Camps learning from Tom. He's a wealth information on all sorts of outdoor activities. By the way - don't forget to take a fishing pole - the fishing is good also right around camp. I would highly recommend Canoose Camp to anyone that wants to have a great hunt for a fair price.

Submit Date: Nov 16, 2004

Outfitter Review: Skiff Lake Outfitters - New Brunswick

Outfitter / Owner: Shaun

Hunter: Lou Green

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

Lots of other Hunters encountered and lots of "road hunters". High hunting pressure has really hurt the whitetail population and we had zero success out of 7 hunters. I saw only 2 does all week and others in camp about the same. A few small bucks could of been shot but that is not why we where up there. About the only good thing was a hard working guide and a good cook. I did see lots of big Moose up close, wish they where Deer. What a waste of time and money.

Submit Date: Jul 21, 2004

Outfitter Review: Jardin Guiding Service - New Brunswick

Outfitter / Owner: Kim Jardin

Hunter: Jesse

Animals Hunted: Atlantic Salmon , Black Bear

Great guide and lodge. Saw 8 bear in 2 days

Submit Date: Jul 16, 2004

Outfitter Review: MacFarland Sport Camps - NB

Outfitter / Owner: Dixon MacFarland

Hunter: Sal DiSimone

Animals Hunted: Black Bear

One of my favorite Guides . A real gentleman.Food was the best . Small mouth fishing ,some of the best I have every seen.Plus I shot a good bear with my bow first day out.

Submit Date: Apr 2, 2004

Outfitter Review: Adair's Wilderness Lodge - New Brunswick

Outfitter / Owner: Larry Adair

Hunter: John L. Sloan

Animals Hunted: black bear

Bear size was about average with one excpetion. Saw one that would go in the 400+ range, aveage is about 250#. Good fur, no color phase. Weather is always a factor but we saw bear every evening. Stands are excellent and bait sites are relatively clean and well placed. Party of three killed two with one passing up two shots.Staff is superb and knowledgeable Food and accoms. are superb. Great scenery and good trout fishing. Priced below what you would expect. Great place to take women, lots to do besides bear hunting.

Submit Date: Sep 20, 2003

Outfitter Review: Ruff's Sporting Camp - New Brunswick

Outfitter / Owner: John Ruff

Hunter: Jim Pochas

Animals Hunted: Black Bear

Although I can't say much for quantity of game because I shot a great bear 3 1/2 hours into hunt I can say that John, Kevin and Dave are probably the best guides in their part of province. 7 hunters took 6 bears and 7th wounded one. I was fortunate enough to take the largest of the 6, a 244 lb boar with 4 3/4 in pads. Squared 5'10", and aged @ 6-7 years old, which is excellent for a spring bear.

Submit Date: Jun 11, 2003

Outfitter Review: Long Lake Adventures - NB

Outfitter / Owner: Clay Harrison

Hunter: Rick Turville

Animals Hunted: Black Bear

I've hunted with this outfitter three years in a row. Terrific experiance. Lots of bear seen. Many active baits. My largest bear (last year)was 354 lbs. Another guy this year shot one 385.Would highly recommend this outfitter.

Submit Date: Jan 26, 2003

Outfitter Review: Ruff's Sporting Camp - New Brunswick

Outfitter / Owner: John Ruff

Hunter: gary schmitt

Animals Hunted: black bear

Been going to Ruffs for 4 years. It is the best.John will work hard to get you a bear and they treat you like family.

Submit Date: Dec 3, 2002

Outfitter Review: North View Hunting & Fishing Lodge - New Brunswick

Outfitter / Owner: Wayne

Hunter: Elaine Dupras

Animals Hunted: Moose

My experience was Moose Hunting. The outfitter was,in my opinion, very able to handle 4 Moose hunters. There were 6 hunters in camp, and we got 4 Moose. The food was good and camp personnel were very friendly. My guide, Larry Tardif, worked hard to find the moose I shot. I would not hesitate to recommend this outfitter. The people I have met in New Brunswick are friendly and appear to like Americans.

Submit Date: May 28, 2002

Outfitter Review: North View Hunting - New Brunswick

Outfitter / Owner: Wayne Deleavy

Hunter: John J. Halat

Animals Hunted: Deer, Black Bear

Top Notch staff and accomodations!

Submit Date: May 9, 2002

Outfitter Review: Henderson's Hunting Camps - New Brunswick

Outfitter / Owner: Clarence Walton

Hunter: Don Detwiler

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer, Grouse

Had a great time with great people. After I got my deer I was able to go grouse hunting. I would recommend this outfitter and I expect to return.

Submit Date: Apr 4, 2002

Outfitter Review: Canoose Camps - New Brunswick

Outfitter / Owner: Tom Mosher

Hunter: Thomas West

Animals Hunted: Whitetail

Hello: I hunted with Tom Mosher two years ago and had an opportunity at a monster buck. He was later killed by another hunter in camp and grossed 146. The outfitter is top notch for bears, but very lazy in his approach to deer hunting. You are going to get to your stand a little late, and your stand is going to be a bear stand with apples thrown around it. Make no mistake about it, North country hunting for deer is not for everyone. You will not see a lot of deer. I felt that most of the spots you are positioned in did not contain enough sign to warrant hunting, particularly during the rut (which was when I was there). I would have preferred active scrape lines or rub lines. The other guys hunting this second week said that the deer that was killed was the biggest deer they had seen killed at this camp in four years. The accomodations needed some work as the flue in the fireplace needed fixing for the first three days of the hunt and the owner ignored our requests while we choked on woodsmoke every night. The wood box needed filling the first night we arrived even though the outfitter runs the business with two sons. The heater was broke in the shower building for three days of the hunt (hot water that you couldn't wait to step under)and it was finally fixed. Bottom line? If you don't mind roughing it and want a cheap hunt with the possibility of killing a true Northern monster give it a try......

Submit Date: Nov 9, 2000

Outfitter Review: Black Bear Lodge - NB

Outfitter / Owner: Gil Pillietier

Hunter: T.L. FORREST

Animals Hunted: Black Bear

I Have hunted with this outfitter for 4 yrs, and encourage 3 friends to go and all have gotten black bear in the 200 to 350 range. The guide will keep you on active baits at all times. Price is also good.T.L. ForrestBirmingham, Al

Submit Date: Jul 5, 2000

Outfitter Review: Adairs Wilderness Lodge - NB

Outfitter / Owner: Larry Adair

Hunter: grant benson

Animals Hunted: black bear

poor weather wiped out the bear action for the week, but the set ups were good and the overall experience very fine. i'd give it another shot even though this particular week was a wipe out.

Submit Date: Apr 17, 2000

Outfitter Review: Slipp Bros. Ltd. - New Brunswick

Outfitter / Owner: Ron/Dwayne Slipp

Hunter: Bob Seils

Animals Hunted: Blk. Bear

I Have been to Slipp Bros. Camps for 5 years and have had about 20 friends join me in those hunts.We have all taken good bears,bow and gun.Daily baiting,permanant tree stands,and excellent accomadations,not to mention professional care of your trophy make this a great eastern canada bear hunting experiance.

web application and database development by davidcdalton.com