Kentucky Hunting Outfitter and Guide Reviews

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Nov 27, 2017

Outfitter Review: Whitetail Heaven - KY

Outfitter / Owner: Tevis McCauley

Hunter: charles bowen

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

My 2 sons and four of their friends booked a hunt with Whitetail Heaven outfitters early this for the Kentucky rifle hunt. W.H.O. represented that hunters would enjoy a 5 star lodge...great food...fabulous hunting...knowledgeable guides...40,000 acres of hunting land...comfortable tower box blinds. 40,000 acres is a great exaggeration. Placed a lot of hunters on small 150 and 200 acre farms. Instead of box tower stands by sons group were given latter tree platforms with 40 Yd. views, no safety harness, and no rifle rest, and no deer, of any quantity or quality. They sat in the stands for 10 plus hours a day. As for the expert guides: they were for the most part young men from out of state. They knew nothing about the hunting area. One did not show up one morning, while another forgot keys to farm gates twice. Guides were very poor. As for the 5 star lodge, it does exist. Odds are however, due to the fact it holds about 20 hunters and 76 hunters were booked this week, you will not stay there. Your will stay in a 3rd rate motel and eat fast food. When these facts were discussed with the owner (Tevis) of W.H.O. his response was "I will check into it and get back with you" He never did. He would not return phone calls are texts. Several hunters packed up only after a couple of days of hunting and went home, due to their discuss of the hunt being so misrepresented. Question: Why are the reviews on W.H.O so positive? Easy answer:Tevis will block and delete the negative reviews which tell the real story from their F.B. Tevis has already blocked and deleted my 2 sons and their friends. However, there are several websites rating outfitters that Tevis cannot control. The word must get out identifying these dishonest outfitters. They are running an activity I have enjoyed all of my life. A hunt that these men were looking forward to for months was a horrible experience. As one friend said "worst hunting experience of my life" save your money. DON'T HUNT WITH W.H.O.!!

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Sep 5, 2015

Outfitter Review: Double D Wildlife Ranch - Nebo KY

Outfitter / Owner: Chad Faulkner & David Donaldson

Hunter: John Williams

Animals Hunted: not specified

We booked this hunt based on references and trail cam/kill pictures. Nothing was delivered as we were told over the phone when David took us to the cleaners. He is full of crap. All the deer come out of a high fence and you are welcome to upgrade when you are unsuccessful if you want for an additional 2500.00. The lodge is over booked and crowded as well as nasty. He wants you to be part of his poker family! People coming to eat at dinner time that are not paying hunters. This guy is a joke as well as his guide "Frank from ny" what an asshole he was! I would give up hunting before I wpild ever go back there! Beware, it's a con.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Sep 5, 2015

Outfitter Review: Double D Wildlife Ranch - Nebo KY

Outfitter / Owner: Chad Faulkner & David Donaldson

Hunter: John Williams

Animals Hunted: not specified

We booked this hunt based on references and trail cam/kill pictures. Nothing was delivered as we were told over the phone when David took us to the cleaners. He is full of crap. All the deer come out of a high fence and you are welcome to upgrade when you are unsuccessful if you want for an additional 2500.00. The lodge is over booked and crowded as well as nasty. He wants you to be part of his poker family! People coming to eat at dinner time that are not paying hunters. This guy is a joke as well as his guide "Frank from ny" what an asshole he was! I would give up hunting before I wpild ever go back there! Beware, it's a con.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Jan 20, 2015

Outfitter Review: Premier Outfitters - Hopkinsville KY

Outfitter / Owner: Mark Clifford

Hunter: bill allegra

Animals Hunted: not specified

Good farms, average food and room and board. Poor stands, bring your own for firearm with a stick or rest. Guides are just cab drivers to the stand, never discuss wind or deer movement and they can't field dress.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Dec 17, 2014

Outfitter Review: Donaldson Creek - Princeton KY

Outfitter / Owner:

Hunter: Toby Parsons

Animals Hunted: not specified

Had a great time with the guys at Donaldson Creek Outfitters. Nice, comfortable lodge. A little tight for twelve guys, but adequate. Incredible habitat for whitetail. Lots of ladder stands and fully enclosed blinds. The guys treated us great. They were very friendly and accommodating. Good food. Saw plenty of deer. Two big bucks taken on our hunt...others were seen, but not shot. Not everyone in our group killed deer, but everyone had a great time. I hope to go back next year.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Oct 27, 2013

Outfitter Review: Western Kentucky Outdoors - Henderson KY

Outfitter / Owner: Bill Cartwright

Hunter: Curt Rogers

Animals Hunted: not specified

I booked a whitetail hunt with Bill Cartwright for the first 5 days of the 2012 Kentucky gun season. I picked Kentucky because of the size of the deer is great while the prices seem to be a little better than areas farther north. I found him online and couldn't believe the prices for his hunts. He doesn't advertise a 5 day whitetail rifle hunt but I explained that I was travelling from Alaska for the hunt and wanted as many days as I could get to harvest the right deer.I flew into St. Louis and drove the 4 hours to Henderson. I bought my tags and checked into the hotel. Bill made contact with me and another hunter at the hotel. He explained the basics of our hunt. He told us since it was the start of the rut, we would be hunting stands of timber surrounded by fields of cut corn and food plots. He said bucks would be chasing does through these bedding areas. He asked us what we were looking for. He took the time to find out what kind of deer we were looking for.Pickup was 4 am. (Egads!) I was placed with one of Bill's guides, a gentleman named Jeff. Two hunters from Pittsburgh and I went with Jeff and were in our stands 30 minutes before sun up.It worked just like Bill said. Within an hour of getting in the stand I saw my first buck. I spent the morning watching bucks chase does and each other around my stand. Over the next two days I saw more of the same, though the action wasn't as intense as the first day. I was holding out for a larger buck while the people I was hunting with killed nice deer in the 110-125 range. I saw lots of decent deer. Bill said that each of his leases have 140-160 potential and on the 4th day I got my chance. What happened next is just funny. I was hunting a strip of timber between two large been fields. I watched two does walk under my stand. 10 minutes later three bucks ran in after the does. One was a big, 150 plus eight pointer. I ignored the other two and zoned in on the big bodied 8. I watched him chase for several minutes and he came out of the brush towards me. He plunged into a thick stand of brush. I watched him go through the thicket and emerge on the other side. He came out and I pulled the trigger . . . on a six pointer. One deer went in and another came out. Oops. The upside was that my deer turned out to be a stocky 3 1/2 year old that would never be better than a six. Bill and his staff took the goof in stride. After kicking myself for awhile I was happy with the hunt and my buck. Bill's operation is down home but professional. They don't offer lodging or meals. Henderson offers many places for reasonably priced meals and lodging. Their business is hunting and Bill and his guides simply know what they are doing. He has enough land with enough stands that he can make decisions about hunter placement the morning of the hunt. This allows him to place all hunters appropriately for wind conditions.Bottom line: Great price, great deer population and great hunting conditions. I had a trip booked for 2013 I had to cancel. I'll be back in 2013.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Nov 28, 2012

Outfitter Review: CCW Outfitters - Crittenden County KY

Outfitter / Owner: Jason Purvis

Hunter: Robert Cardin

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

The lodge and food were great. The service was less that desireable. Only talked to you when you asked him a question and then limited it to the answer, allowed hunters to hunt stands he knew the wind was wrong for. Only "Guide service" you get is "Hey this is your stand, I'll be back at 1030/1830 to pick you up. Acted like he couldn't wait for us to leave.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Jun 11, 2012

Outfitter Review: Kentucky Heritage Outfitters & Lodge - Albany KY

Outfitter / Owner: Leon Smith

Hunter: Chuck Warren

Animals Hunted: not specified

I hunted with LG, the owner of Kentucky Heritage ,one deer hunt and one turkey hunt and had signed up for another deer rut hunt.On the first deer hunt there where 3 in my party and 4 others. No one took a buck while I was there.On the turkey hunt the weather was bad and out of 3 hunters no birds. LG offered me a free turkey hunt the next year I shot a doe on the next hunt no bucks where taken. I've called LG several times about the free turkey hunt and he does not return my calls. He is now hooked up with Full Rut outfitters and I wouldn't trust them either. I spent $8200 on these 3 hunts and have 1 doe to show for it

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Jun 11, 2012

Outfitter Review: Kentucky Heritage Outfitters & Lodge - Albany KY

Outfitter / Owner: Leon Smith

Hunter: Chuck Warren

Animals Hunted: not specified

I hunted with LG, the owner of Kentucky Heritage ,one deer hunt and one turkey hunt and had signed up for another deer rut hunt.On the first deer hunt there where 3 in my party and 4 others. No one took a buck while I was there.On the turkey hunt the weather was bad and out of 3 hunters no birds. LG offered me a free turkey hunt the next year I shot a doe on the next hunt no bucks where taken. I've called LG several times about the free turkey hunt and he does not return my calls. He is now hooked up with Full Rut outfitters and I wouldn't trust them either. I spent $8200 on these 3 hunts and have 1 doe to show for it

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Dec 7, 2011

Outfitter Review: Western Kentucky Outdoors - Henderson KY

Outfitter / Owner: Bill Cartwright

Hunter: David Collum

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

3rd trip with Western Kentucky Outdoors, again didn't leave disappointed. Saw 9 bucks (3 shooters) in a day and a morning on stand, should have killed a 160 class but can't do much when he runs after a doe three feet from your tree and doesn't stop. Next morning, saw a shooter 8, passed on it and ended up killing a high tined 9 pointer -as always, Bill puts you in position to kill a quality whitetail at an affordable price. His stand placements are excellent, he knows what's in the area and he specializes in putting you in the best spot. Like I said, you can't find a better quality whitetail hunt for the price, realistic shot at a 120-140 for far less than you'd pay elsewhere.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Sep 9, 2011

Outfitter Review: Buck Country Outfitters - Clarkson KY

Outfitter / Owner:

Hunter: CHRIS SHARP

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

IF YOU ARE A HUNTER AND ARE LOOKIMG FOR A QUALITY HUNT THIS IS A GOOD ONE. THE ONE THING I CAN SAY IS YOU HAVE TO HUNT, NOT EXPECT TO WALK OUT 40 YARDS IN THE WOODS AND HAVE 20 BUCKS COME BY A HOUR. 3 OF US BOOKED THIS HUNT AND 2 OF US CAME BACK WITH 2 DANDY SHOOTERS WHILE THE 3RD HAD A CHANCE AT 3 BUT WAS UNABLE TO CONNECT ON 1. THE HUNT WE TOOK WAS EARLY SEASON VELVET HUNT WHICH WE KNEW GOING INTO THIS WAS GOING TO BE A TOUGHER HUNT THEN IN LIKE THE RUT DUE TO TIME, FOILAGE ON TREES AND WEATHER.WE RAN INTO 100+ HEAT AND DOWN TO UNDER 60. GOT IN TO RAIN AND WIND SO WE SEEN ALL YOU COULD BUT SNOW. THE 8 POINT I GOT TO ME WAS A BUCK I WILL NEVER FORGET SAME FOR MY BROTHERS 9 POINT. THE STANDS ARE OF SAFE QUALITY EASY TO GET IN AND COMFORTABLE. AND LOCATING THEM WERE EASY TO FIND. LODGEING WAS A+, FOOD WAS A+ SLEEPING ACCOMADATION WAS A+. KEN THE OUTFITTER WAS A GREAT GUY WITH MULTIPLE STANDS TO HUNT. AND WITH ONLY 5 DAYS HE PUT HIS TIME AND EFFORT INTO TRYING TO GET EVERYONE TO FILL THERE TAGS WITH THE BEST OF HIS ABILITY. AND A VERY GOOD GUY TO TALK TO WHEN YOUR BACK AT CAMP. WITH HIM PUTTING HIS TIME AND KNOWLEDGE INTO THE LAND AND YOU ARE WILLING TO LISTEN AND TAKE HIS ADVISE AND PUT A 110% INTO THE HUNT U HAVE A CHANCE AT A GOOD BUCK. A LITTLE LUCK IS ALWAYS GOOD TO HAVE TOO... I CAN SAY AFTER 3 DAYS AND SEEING A COUPLE DEER HE SAID TO GO TO ANOTHER STAND HE HAD AND I WALKED OUT WITH A DANDY 8 POINT IN VELVET. BUT EVEN BEFORE THAT AND IF I DIDNT GET THAT BUCK THAT WEEK I WAS ALREADY SET TO BOOK FOR THE FOLLOWING YEAR, CAUSE THE BUCKS ARE THERE. ALWAYS REMEMBER WHEN HUNTING ANY WHERE THE GUIDE IS SELLING YOU A HUNT NOT A DEER. LISTEN TO KEN AND PUT YOUR TIME IN AND ANYTHING CAN HAPPEN.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Aug 6, 2011

Outfitter Review: Kentucky Trophy Bucks - Hopkinsville KY

Outfitter / Owner: Chuck Stevens

Hunter: George Mitchell

Animals Hunted: Turkey - Eastern

I had a chance to meet Chuck Stephens at a Hunting Expo in Asheville, NC back in 2010 and instantly found a new friend. I booked a hunt with Chuck for the 2011 opening weekend. His lodge is comfortable and the food is great. Chuck has about 6000 acres of prime, Kentucky, hunting land with lots of birds in all age classes. At one point I had six different birds gobbling at one time. The bird in the accompanying photo was taken at 65-yards using Heavy-13 Magnum Blend in a Benelli Nova with a Primos Jelly Head choke. (22 lbs, 9 1/2" beard, 1 1/4" spurs). For more information, visit my blog at http://georgeshuntingadventures.blogspot.com/

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Jun 20, 2011

Outfitter Review: Snipe Creek - Murray KY

Outfitter / Owner:

Hunter: Ralph Crisp

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

Hunted with Carl Doron, owner, guiding. Carl put me on a big whitetail with the gun season only one hour old....a running 186 pound seven point....tagged him with a "reflex" like lung shot....He just kept going like nothing happened....Guides heard the shot and came to me right away....got my deer and took photos....had an awesome time in camp...great Cajun food, a fish fry,,,sat around a big fire, slept like a log, couldn't have been treated better or had a better time. Saw other hunters take real nice bucks.....everyone was happy. Can't wait to go back!!! One more thing....Carl really pays attention to the wind direction and his hunt plan...he also puts a lot of planning into the hunts to keep pressure off the deer. "Expect To Be Impressed!" You won't be disappointed.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Feb 16, 2011

Outfitter Review: Western Kentucky Outdoors - Henderson KY

Outfitter / Owner: Bill Cartwright

Hunter: David Collum

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

This was my second time back with Bill at WKO. Quality land, guides and whitetails -Bill puts a lot of time into scouting and putting you in likely locations. Highly recommend -was able to shoot a nice 8pt -really too small for Bill's areas but unfortunately hunting a heavy brush area sometimes fools you -either way-you can't go wrong with WKO -heading back in 2011

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Feb 9, 2011

Outfitter Review: Trophy Hunts Unlimited - Cadiz KY

Outfitter / Owner: Mike

Hunter: Eric Dye

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

This was the best whitetail hunt I have ever been on. The folks at Trophy Hunts Unlimited exceeded my expectations. The accomodations were excellent and the food was top notch. I was treated with respect and was truly impressed with the hospitality. I was fortunate to harvest a big 10 point buck. I want to thank Mike, Becky, for all their efforts to make my hunting experience a great one. I will be back next year. Eric

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Feb 9, 2011

Outfitter Review: Trophy Hunts Unlimited - Cadiz KY

Outfitter / Owner: Mike

Hunter: Eric Dye

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

This was the best whitetail hunt I have ever been on. The folks at Trophy Hunts Unlimited exceeded my expectations. The accomodations were excellent and the food was top notch. I was treated with respect and was truly impressed with the hospitality. I was fortunate to harvest a nice 10 point buck. I want to thank Mike, Becky, for all their efforts to make my hunting experience a great one. I will be back next year. Eric

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Feb 8, 2011

Outfitter Review: Trophy Hunts Unlimited - Cadiz KY

Outfitter / Owner: Mike

Hunter: Dave Huose

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

I have been hunting with Mike at Trophy Hunts for the past 3 years and have seen a number of good bucks , They know there stuff , do a lot of prep work and a lot of good management they have a great set up and some really good hunting grounds I seen corn fields to acorn covered hardwood ridges to clover fields they have it all I will be returning and with a few freinds I would recommend these guys to anyone there a great group of guys Matt and Mike as well as Becky the cook .

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Nov 17, 2010

Outfitter Review: Donaldson Creek - Princeton KY

Outfitter / Owner:

Hunter: Thurman Johnson

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

I booked this hunt along with my brother.We didn't really know what to expect.upon arrival we were greeted by supper consisting all we could eat.We met epithet our guide and had a brief netting on what the rules were.The next morning which was opening morning,my guide took me to my stand.As soon as the sun came up enough to see, it started.There was seven deer under my stand.Does and small bucks.I just watched them feed around and leave. Shortly after watching a few other deer enter and leave.A nice 8 walked in.I was able to take him at 20 yards.after watching him for 25 minutes.My brother was able to take a nice 11.however,it didn't make the 17 inch rule.so he had to pay the $500 fine.this was understandable.and we were made full aware of penalty.So it was no suprise.he regreted not holding out after seeing a huge 145"-150" the next evening.I am booking my son for youth hunt next year as well as myself my brother and a few others for the opening week of rifle.thanks to Jonathan and faith (owners) and my guide Tad.who is the man.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Oct 18, 2010

Outfitter Review: Kentucky Whitetail Outfitters - KY

Outfitter / Owner:

Hunter: Gary Morris

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

Troy Young promised a hunt for myself, my son, and my brother for opening day of Deer 2009. I paid all but 1/4 of the money, my brother paid 1/2 of his money. On the day before we were to leave for our hunt, Troy called and said his guide had been in an accident and he was sick and couldn't deliver our hunt. He then said he would refund 100% of our money within 2 weeks, well, almost one year later, we have received nothing and I've emailed him several times with no results. This guy is a class one crook, and everyone should stay away from him at all costs.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Sep 21, 2010

Outfitter Review: Donaldson Creek - Princeton KY

Outfitter / Owner:

Hunter: brian johnson

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

There was a total of 4 of us that went on a 3 day bow hunt with these guys. Man what an experience we saw a total of 93 deer in the stand and over half of them was bucks. You couldn't have asked for nicer people to meet than these guys and the lodge was beautiful. If you want a great experience i would recommend these folks to anyone. We are already looking forward to next year.

Submit Date: May 28, 2010

Outfitter Review: Double D Wildlife - Kentucky

Outfitter / Owner: David Donaldson

Hunter: Dennis Patterson

Animals Hunted: Whitetail deer

I have hunted with Double D Wildlife Ranch 4 years and have taken 3 nice bucks. My sons have taken bucks also. They have several thousand acres of hunting ground. Mostly crop and woods. This past year, David and Chad set up a tripod stand for me over looking a cut corn field and a crp field. It was slow at first because the weather wasn't great for November. 70 degrees the first 2 days and the 3rd day a front moved in and it cooled off extremely. I harvested a 146 inch 8pt chasing a doe. It has 14 inch g2s. I was real happy with this deer and plan on hunting with David and Chad this year also. Feel free to call or email me anytime for a reference!

Submit Date: May 26, 2010

Outfitter Review: Double D Ranch - Kentucky

Outfitter / Owner: David/Chad

Hunter: Bob Renning

Animals Hunted: Whitetail

I booked a bow hunt with Chad Faulkner at Double D Ranch last year and I was actually concerned because it was the last of Oct. first few days of Nov. This was a full moon! He told me that deer usually move good that week anyway because it's "pre-rut" Boy was he ever right! The moon didn't effect the deer movement that I could tell. They were everywhere. These guys have a lot of good property. There were 11 guys in camp that week and 5 bucks taken. I shot a 128 class 8 point. There were 2 10 point bucks taken and 2 other 8 points. The largest was in the high 140's. There were deer seen in the 150's-170's but none were taken. I have hunted with several outfitters over the years and these guys at Double D rank in the top! I'm planning another trip this year with Double D. Thanks Guys!

Submit Date: May 21, 2010

Outfitter Review: Double D Wildlife Ranch - Kentucky

Outfitter / Owner: David Donaldson

Hunter: Michael Nichols

Animals Hunted: Turkey

We had a group of 6 that hunted with David and Chad and everyone had a blast. Everyone had a opportunity to harvest a bird and most of us limited out. 4 out of our group had never harvested a bird and the guides worked till the hunters got the job done. Also, fishing was great as well and David smoked a Boston butt for us that I can still taste. This place is the best deal out there by far and I have never been treated as good as they as they treated us. I will book again for next year and everyone else at the camp said the same. You have plenty of room to yourself and the birds are not over hunted.

Submit Date: Jan 24, 2010

Outfitter Review: Snipe Creek Lodge - Kentucky

Outfitter / Owner: Mr.Carl Doron

Hunter: J.P.Orndorff

Animals Hunted: Whitetail deer

Me and my retirement-aged Dad were looking for a hunt for big whitetail bucks.We did the usual searches-sportsmen shows, brochures, online, etc.I even spoke to a former guide/prostaffer where he'd go.We looked at the usual states-IA, MO, IL, KS, OH.Every outfitter talks big bucks, QDM, "...we're the best...", etc. Then I looked at KY.Neat things about KY-no pref pts. for license, no non-res. limits, reasonable non-res. fees and a split bowhunt w/ a 2-day muzzleloader season in OCT.The first time I had contact w/Carl, he basically said, "How can I help, even if you don't hunt with me?" That was a nice change.I checked out all that I felt I should:References (recent ones), including those who didn't tag;local Conservation Officer;the contract wildlife mgr. who does feed plot/wildlife mgmt.plan;BBB in local area.All came back positive. We hunted 5 days in mid-OCT (3 bow, 2 muzzleloader.)We hit 3 days of on/off warm rain, kept deer movement down.The weekend of muzzleloader, the weather broke and the deer moved better.I avg'd. 1 deer/hr. on stand and saw 8 different bucks from 1 stand. The best buck I saw was about 105 and I took a 2.5 yr.old, 14" 7 pt.Not what I went for but my first KY buck.3 better bucks were taken in camp, 1 bow, 2 muzzleloader (I'd guess 110-125 bucks.).But, while in his camp, I saw Carl and his brother's bucks on the wall. His webcam pics are real.I met some repeat hunters.The quantity and quality of deer are there.The land is there.The feed is there. We saw Carl every day.In fact, he guided us.He knows deer and talks to locals to gauge what's going on around him.We moved around and never were pressured or crowded.We were treated well and had a fine time. We're goin' back.

Submit Date: Dec 22, 2009

Outfitter Review: West Kentucky Outdoor Adventures - KY

Outfitter / Owner: David Whitaker

Hunter: Mike Wall

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

One of the worst Outfitters I've ever delt with. Very poor management of his so called 3,200 acres, Not worth the price of the hunt, If anyone out there would like to pay me $1,800.00 to see a small doe I will call myself an outfitter too. Very poor stand placement, Habitat destroyed by ice storms of 2008, most of the pictures in the websites trophy room are of the owner and his guides!

Submit Date: Dec 5, 2009

Outfitter Review: Trophy Hunts Unlimited - Kentucky

Outfitter / Owner: Mike

Hunter: Doug Jackson

Animals Hunted: deer

Mike was not there to meet you the first day. He didn't not want you to kill a deer, did not move you at all same tree stand all week no matter what. Small bucks only. He wants your money but don't want you to kill at all. Very poor outfitter. Five people to bed room one bath seven in house.

Submit Date: Nov 30, 2009

Outfitter Review: Trophy Hunts Unlimited - KY

Outfitter / Owner: Harry

Hunter: Josh

Animals Hunted: whitetails

This was a good time. I would recommend these guys to anyone..

Submit Date: Nov 30, 2009

Outfitter Review: Western Kentucky Outdoor Adventures - Ky

Outfitter / Owner: David Whitaker

Hunter: Mike Wall

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

Hunting the same areas/ Stands over and over, a rotating stand system, saw 1 doe in 33 hours on stand. Ice storms that hit KY in 2008 destroyed the hunting areas, so outfitter dumped corn on the ground to intice deer into the area. It didn't work. Overall a very bad experience. I should have known from their trophy page when it was very few pictures and half of the pictures were from the guides themselves.

Submit Date: Nov 19, 2009

Outfitter Review: Trophy Hunts Unlimited - KY

Outfitter / Owner: Mike

Hunter: R. Sheaffer

Animals Hunted: Deer

This outfitter is by far the worst I ever hunted with. First off, the two of us were in an old abandoned house with 5 other hunters. We had 1 bathroom to share and there wasn’t any private sleeping accommodations. The food consisted of 1 small box of cereal for breakfast, sandwich only for lunch and dinner was brought to us in metal containers with only enough for 1 serving/ person. Food was rationed the entire time. The only thing we had to do in the evenings was watch DVDs on an old TV. As far as the hunting, the stands were in good shape. The location of the stands were terrible. I had to hunt the same stand the entire time (40 hours total) and saw a total of 9 deer (2 120 class 8 points, 1 spike, 1 4 point and 5 doe). I was sitting over a pasture with no feed and the wind was blowing into the woods all 4 days. The guide we had was actually from NY and was rude and didn’t even bother moving us. We never did meet the owner. I would avoid this outfitter. He is only concerned with how many hunters he can get.

Submit Date: Nov 4, 2009

Outfitter Review: Oak Leaf Outfitters - Kentucky

Outfitter / Owner: David Woosley

Hunter: Scott Clevenger

Animals Hunted: whitetail deer

7 of us from Michigan hunted there for 4 days 2 with bow 2 with muzzleloaders the third week of Oct. A few does and 2 small bucks was all that was seen by our party. All permanant stands with corn for bait. The stands were over hunted and the outfitter relied on just bait instead of advanced scouting and hunting funnels and pinch points,crop edges etc. We felt like a number, run our group thru, bring on the next

Submit Date: Sep 29, 2009

Outfitter Review: Buck Country Outfitters - Kentucky

Outfitter / Owner: Pat/Ken Willis

Hunter: T. West

Animals Hunted: Whitetails

I hunted Sept 09 with Ken and Pat Willis of Buck Country Outfitters. Pat Willis is nationally known with a former outdoor TV show and several hunting videos to his credit. He has been interviewed for hunting articles by some of the more famous outdoor publications. OK. To the hunt. We hunted the early season opener in Kentucky. This was booked as a fully guided hunt with the proviso that once you are shown your stands you are responsible for getting to them. Most of the stands are set up with speed rails and quality hang on stands. We hunted the full moon which did not help. The accomodations are two man rooms with six bowhunters in camp. Pat and Ken have rifle farms, but there is also a large acreage bowhunting only area with a 130 inch minimum. The area is planted with food plots and has a large number of mast bearing trees. Acorns were dropping everywhere which also made this bowhunt tough. The winter before there was a bad ice storm which knocked down trees everywhere. Pat and Ken claimed they were using chain saws all summer just to be able to get to some of their stand areas. They also stated that they just didn't seem to be able to put out the usual number of trail cameras this year. I think perhaps these gentlemen didn't get out and scout enough because the deer just were not hitting the food plots. Deer sightings were few and far between. I was extremely lucky to have seen many more deer than anyone else in camp. This was not because of any special hunting prowess on my part. The other hunters in camp were all excellent bow shots and experienced hunters. It was just dumb luck for me. I saw a number of does and small bucks. The last night of the hunt I elected to go back to a stand where I had seen a small five point and a doe previously. That was the night. I saw a 150 class buck across a field. The plot I was hunting over suddenly had ten deer in it, including 5 bucks. I managed to kill a 9 pointer and was darn glad to get it. A tough hunt had come to a close. The fee for the early season hunt is 1000 bucks. If you come during the rut it is 1800 dollars. There are definitely some monsters on these properties and the acreage is all connected. It is several thousand acres. The accomodations are small two man rooms. Absolutely nothing fancy. The lodge is a small house, nothing elaborate. One bathroom for six hunters is kind of tough. There is a washer and dryer for your use. The food consists of pastries and cold cereal for breakfast. Lunch is cold cuts for sandwiches. Dinner is hit and miss. One night there was a pot of chilli for six guys. Another night there was chicken and biscuits (good meal) another night hamburgers, another night a ham dinner which was fantastic. Ken's wife Missy does most of the cooking and if she isn't there that night you will definitely miss her. A super nice lady. Ken is a great guy and one of those people you can't help but like. Pat is more the salesman. Bottom line: would I recommend the place? Yes. If I go back I would prefer the rut. There are some huge deer there, no question. I saw two shooters personally and the 150 I saw convinced me. Let's face it, bucks that big are just not that plentiful. If I managed to see that when the hunting was tough, during 80 degree days, what would I see during November? I may have to go back and find out someday.......

Submit Date: Aug 23, 2009

Outfitter Review: Tradewater Outfitters - Ky

Outfitter / Owner: Russell and Michelle Edwards

Hunter: Scott Parris

Animals Hunted: White tail

Brand new lodge and good food. Michelle and Russell were both hospitable. Hunting, drove us around and showed us the property and buggies and we pretty much did the rest. He is primarily into bird hunting and not deer. I shot a 128" 10 pointer that he had trail camera pics. He said was 2 yrs. old. I have no idea and he did not inform us of any deer he knew on the property.

Submit Date: Jul 9, 2009

Outfitter Review: Bucks and Beards - Kentucky

Outfitter / Owner: Jerry Woosley

Hunter: Bernie Davis

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

Since 2003 I have hunted with Woosley twice and killed nice deer on both hunts, however these kills are likely the exception to the average experience with his operation. The properties he hunts are prime whitetail real estate but, his lack of effort in scouting, stand preparation and overall ability for guiding whitetail deer hunts in that region is readily apparent. His strategy is to deploy large groups of hunters to permanent wood stands and move them to a new property each day of the hunt with the hope that one will score. He charges extra for baited hunts that consist of him dumping a freezer bag of corn at the stand you are hunting a few days before. A keen hunter found his stash of bait bags hidden behind the back seat of one of his vans during a trip from the woods and alerted the others. There is no doubt in my mind that his outfit comes up with the trophy bucks he advertises on his brochure each year, but the way that he chooses to guide hunters is not consistent with what one would expect with a "guided" hunt. It is more like paying to "pot" hunt good property for a week knowing that little scouting, preparation or other field work has been done.

Submit Date: Jul 7, 2009

Outfitter Review: Buck Country Outfitters - Kentucky

Outfitter / Owner: Pat and Ken Willis

Hunter: Kevin "Curley" Davis

Animals Hunted: Whitetail

I have hunted with Pat and Ken, since 04', and have shot only one buck, But have passed on several bucks each and every year. The camp is very clean and comfy.Ken's wife makes all of the evening meals and you could not ask for better food.The lodge is a old wood frame house that is in great shape. They are a mostly bowhunting only outfit, but do some gun hunting on other farms. They have about 3200 acres that they run their bowhunters on and only 6 to 8 a time. You will not be over crowded and they try as much as possible to keep the stands fresh. Anyone from the south will not see the deer they do at home, but the quality of deer are great. The largest I have seen is 160"ish and have seen several 120-135". These guys will work their hardest to get you on deer. They both are very experienced bowhunters and know how to get you close. The cost of the hunts are as reasonable as you will find and the deer are as good as anywhere in the Midwest.

Submit Date: Feb 20, 2009

Outfitter Review: Valley Oak Hunting Preserve - KY

Outfitter / Owner: Ronnie Claybourne

Hunter: James Pittman

Animals Hunted: Unpland guail pheasant

If you want to hunt upland birds with an experienced and honest guide then give Ronnie a call. My friend and I hunted with Ronnie and his dogs and had a great time. As a new bird hunter I had lots of questions and Ronnie was very knowledgable and answered all my questions. I would recommend this outfit to anyone wanting to experience upland hunting without breaking the bank. I had a great time with absolutely no complaints.

Submit Date: Dec 3, 2008

Outfitter Review: Trophys Unlimited - KY

Outfitter / Owner: Jan Cranford

Hunter: SEAN AND KEVIN COFFEY

Animals Hunted: DEER

THIS OUTFITTER WAS A TOTAL SCAM FOR BOWHUNTING. THE STANDS WERE NOT GEARED FOR BOWHUNTERS. THEY WERE LARGE LADDER STANDS, OR BOX BLINDS IN RIFLE AREAS. I TALKED TO A NEIGHBOR TO WHERE WE WERE HUNTING AND HE SAID NOT ONE BUCK OVER 140 INCHES HAS BEEN KILLED IN AREA WITH A BOW OVER THE PAST 10 YEARS. WE DROVE A LONG WAYS TO HUNT WITH JAY AND HE DID NOT EVEN GET UP OFF THE CHAIR TO GREET US AT THE DOOR WHEN WE ARRIVED. 4 HUNTERS, ABOUT $12,000. COULD NOT EVEN ANSWER DOOR FOR US. THAT SAID A LOT ABOUT JAY'S OUTFITTER. IF INTERESTED IN THIS OUTFITTER I WOULD DO YOUR RESEARCH BECAUSE WE WERE FOOLED AND LEARNED A LESSION TO LOOK INTO AN OUTFITTER MORE IN THE FUTURE. JUST A NOTE ALL THE BUCKS ON WALL IN HOUSE WERE KILLED WITH A RIFLE, NOT A BOW AS WE WERE FIRST TOLD. THE OTHER GUIDE WAS FRIENDLY, BUT KNEW NOTHING ABOUT BOWHUNTING. WE WERE ALSO TOLD WE WERE HUNTING ACTIVE SCRAPE LINES UNTIL ONE OF OUR PARTIES WENT INTO A STAND EARLY ONE DAY AND SAW THE GUIDE MAKING THE SCRAPES.

Submit Date: Oct 21, 2008

Outfitter Review: Western Kentucky Outdoors - Kentucky

Outfitter / Owner: Bill Cartwright

Hunter: David Collum

Animals Hunted: Whitetail

We did a (2) day early Muzzleloader Hunt in October, we did not harvest any bucks. However, it's evident from the properties and work ethic of the owner that your potential to shoot a solid 120-140 class buck are there. Between the three in our party we saw over 14 bucks, three of which were definite shooters in the 120 class, our choice to not shoot. Excellent stands in quality locations, big bodied deer. I have no doubt that if Kentucky had a longer muzzleloader season we would have killed some deer. Bill and his crew work hard, scouting and videoing the bucks that are around -the properties are excellent-the stands are placed in the proper locations. We'll be back -if you're looking for a quality, affordable hunt with a good chance at a quality buck this is your place. It was a pleasure to to hunt with them and experience excellent midwest hunting.

Submit Date: Feb 24, 2008

Outfitter Review: Double D Outfitters - Kentucky

Outfitter / Owner: David Donaldson

Hunter: Scott Porter

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

Booked a 5-day hunt in Nebo, Ky for Sept. 8-12, 2007. Very hot (highs around 90 everyday). It rained the first two days I hunted nearly non-stop, but still saw deer. By the third morning, September 10, the front had moved out and it was no longer raining. After being in the stand only about fifteen minutes, a group of bucks walked up, one of which was a 130 inch 10 point, which I harvested. Only negative was that the owner was the only guide, so had there been more than just myself and one other guy hunting, finding deer and getting to and from deer stands could have potentially been a bit of a struggle. I didn't see that many deer, but considering the weather conditions, who can really complain. Overall, good hunt and just a great place to get away whether you bring a trophy home or not.

Submit Date: Dec 19, 2007

Outfitter Review: K&N Archery Outfitter - KY

Outfitter / Owner: Brad Nelson

Hunter: MIKE STEWART

Animals Hunted: WHITETAIL DEER

WE PURCHASED A 5 DAY ARCHERY HUNT FOR MYSELF AND MY WIFE ON THE 15TH THROUGH THE 19TH OF SEPTEMBER 2007. WE SAW MUTIPLE DEER ALMOST EVERY TIME WE HUNTED. I HAD AN OPPROTUNITY TO SHOT A 135" AT 16 YARDS AND MY WIFE SHOT AT (AND CLEANLY MISSED) A 150" + AT 25 YARDS. MY WIFE HAD A PREVIOUS CHANCE AT THE 150+ AT 20 YARDS BUT COULD NOT GET A BROADSIDE SHOT. I WAS IMPRESSED WITH BRAD'S ATTENTIVENESS TO ENSURE MY WIFE WAS COMFORTABLE IN THE STANDS FOR EACH HUNT. SHE WAS NEW TO TREE STAND HUNTING AND WAS A BIT APPREHENSIVE AND HE TOOK THE EXTRA TIME TO SETTLE HER IN.WE ENJOYED IT SO MUCH WE HAVE BOOKED FOR 2008!

Submit Date: Dec 16, 2007

Outfitter Review: White Oak Lake - KY

Outfitter / Owner: Terry Cunduf

Hunter: Joseph Batel

Animals Hunted: White Tail

I bought the hunt at a hunting show in NY.Terry talked about the quality of bow hunting and the great bucks. When I got there, I was the only hunter for the week! Hunted hard 5 days. Never saw a deer. He is only set up for rifles. I booked a bow hunt. The area was heavy timber and brush. Could never have taken a shot. I had to spend 1 hour after the first morning triming shooting lanes. 16 hours each way from NY. Was a waste.

Submit Date: Nov 27, 2007

Outfitter Review: Double D Wildlife Ranch - KY

Outfitter / Owner: David Donaldson

Hunter: Bill

Animals Hunted: Whitetail

David and Chad are two peas in a pod. I had a hell of a time. It was everything and more than I expected. Chad made sure we were taken care of. I took a nice 9pt. I am looking forward to hunting there in 2008.

Submit Date: Nov 12, 2007

Outfitter Review: Dog Creek Outfitters - KY

Outfitter / Owner: Tim Roberts

Hunter: steve page

Animals Hunted: whitetail

mr. roberts has as much experience in the deer woods as my six year old daughter we were told we would be hunting 2000 acres when we got there me and my two buddies were only allowed two hunt 20 acres he got my money dont let him get yours.

Submit Date: Oct 26, 2007

Outfitter Review: Long Creek Outfitters - Kentucky

Outfitter / Owner: Clint Jackson

Hunter: Scott Clopper

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

Have hunted with Long Creek 5 times. Have always had a good hunt and seen alot of game. They do alot of small extra things to make the hunt great. I have been taken some good deer and have seen some really nice deer. Beautiful country and lots of good buck potential.

Submit Date: Jul 6, 2007

Outfitter Review: Donaldson Creek Outfiters - KY

Outfitter / Owner: Mike Shelton

Hunter: Ashley Osterholt

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

Mike, Kerry, and Mike were as good of host as you could ask for. The know were to put you to see the deer. Saw over 100 deer in 5 days, had deer in bow range almost every hunt. I did see a 140 + class deer that slipped in behind me and could not get a shot.The helped us work on our truck for several hours and finally custom made a part for our turbo so we could head back to Georgia. We have all booked more hunts with them.

Submit Date: Jan 16, 2007

Outfitter Review: Donaldson Creek Outfitters - KY

Outfitter / Owner: Mike Shelton

Hunter: SEAN BARRETT

Animals Hunted: WHITETAIL

THESE GUYS ARE TOP NOTCH. I WAS ON A JAN. HUNTAND SAW OVER 200 DEER IN 5 DAYS. I DO ALOT OF HUNTING IN ALOT OF SPOTS,AND I CANT WAIT TO SEE THESE GUYS AGAIN. I TAGED A NICE 8 POINT AND A HUGE DOE. I HAD MANY NICE OPPORTUNITIES. THE LODGE GAVE YOU A SENSE OF HUNTING IN THE 50'S WITH THE STONE FIREPLACE AND LOG CABIN THEME. THE MASSIVE TROPHY MOUNTS DIDNT HURT EITHER. THIS IS A GOOD PLACE TO BRING YOUR WIFE AND KIDS OR YOUR BUDDIES. SEE YOU SOON GUYS THANKS, SEAN FROM REEDYS

Submit Date: Dec 15, 2006

Outfitter Review: Double D Ranch - Kentucky

Outfitter / Owner: David Donaldson

Hunter: Roy Fisher

Animals Hunted: Whitetail

I have hunted at Double D Ranch for two years and both years I was very pleased with my hunt. This past hunt was the best hunt that I have ever been on. The owner David Donaldson, and guide Chad Faulkner, put me on the biggest buck that I have ever taken. They both had spotted this deer several times and after 4 days on the stand he emerged from the woods into a cut corn field chasing a doe. I was lucky enough to get a shot off and dropped him in his tracks. It was a 10 pointer with a 24 inch inside spread that scored 143.

Submit Date: Dec 4, 2006

Outfitter Review: Western Kentucky Outdoors - Kentucky

Outfitter / Owner: Bill Cartwright

Hunter: Brian Miller

Animals Hunted: Whitetail deer

I hunted with Western Kentucky Outdoors Sept. 06I didn't have any prior knowledge of them and just decided to "wing it" off my findings on the internet. From my very first conversation with the owner Bill I could tell he was an honest straight shooting outfitter.I did end up shooting a nice 3 1/2 year old buck but that is not why I am giving them such a good review. I feel that Western Kentucky Outdoors worked hard to put me in the right stand at the right time. After scoring I hung out for the day with the owner (Bill) and saw just how passionate he is to make each hunter successful and how hard he works to make your hunt enjoyable. During mid day and when the hunters are in the woods he is non-stop on the go scouting and setting new stands accordingly.They take a very limited number of hunters per week to ensure unpressured deer. I know this for a fact because I tried to squeeze in on a week that was full but Bill wasn't going for it.As far as there property goes they had some big tracts of land in the middle of no where and they had some suburban properties. I shot mine in a suburban area where the bucks had some age on them and they weren't that freaked out by human presence.Bottom line...you can't beat the value of this outfitter considering the price, quanity and quality of deer and willingness to work hard for the customer!!Please contact me if you have any questions at all. I have no affiliation to this outfitter. I'm just a hard working hunter from Michigan who appreciates an honest, hard working outfitter.

Submit Date: Dec 3, 2006

Outfitter Review: Double D Ranch - Kentucky

Outfitter / Owner: David Donaldson

Hunter: Colin Faulkner

Animals Hunted: Whitetail

My name is Colin Faulkner and I have hunted KY for 2 years on the youth hunt and My Daddy guided me on the hunts. The first year I killed a 7 point buck with an 18 inch spread and this year I killed a 10 pointer with a drop tine. It scored 138. I'm so glad my dad took me to the DoubleDRanch.

Submit Date: Nov 30, 2006

Outfitter Review: Western Kentucky Outdoors - Kentucky

Outfitter / Owner: Bill Cartwright

Hunter: Fred Howard

Animals Hunted: Whitetail

My archery hunt took place during the first week of November. When I arrived the report had been hunting was tough. The rut did seem to be slow while I was there, but I seen deer each time on stand and a couple bucks that I felt were 140 class. Others hunting were seeing deer and I know one hunter missed on a nice buck. The Guide/Outfitter provided hotel pickup and transportation to and from hunting areas and put you in your stand. Stands were all in good shape and I found them to be setup properly. They were good about getting you in other areas or on different properties. Over 4 days I hunted 6 different farms. They knew what the deer were doing. I killed a doe on afternoon #2 that traveled as I was told they would. I took a decent 2 1/2 year old 8pt the following morning as it made its way to a bedding area. I didn't find anything I was told when booking the hunt to not be true when I arrived. Guides were very personable and any time you have the owner invloved it is a plus. I didn't take the buck I was after, but he was very close to being my biggest to date.

Submit Date: Oct 30, 2006

Outfitter Review: Western Kentucky Outdoors - Kentucky

Outfitter / Owner: Bill Cartwright

Hunter: greg blake

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

the itinerary; picks you up at the motel. in 20 minutes you leave the asphalt and proceed between 30 and 100 yards and exit the vehicle. You walk from between 5 and 10 minutes to a 15' high loc-on stand. The proximity to houses on the farm allows a hunter to hear voices, traffic,car doors,dogs and let me not forget the music.Some stands were so close to the highway, your ability to hear a deer was greatly diminished.

Submit Date: Oct 23, 2006

Outfitter Review: Donaldson Creek Outfitters - KY

Outfitter / Owner: Kerry Underhill

Hunter: Richard " Red " Ezelle

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

I took my son on a 2-day hunt there just recently. I have been hunting for a long time and have never seen that many deer at one time. The quality of the buck herd is awesome. We seen deer there we would have never seen back home. We didn't get a shot at a 140 class buck, but just to have the opportunity too was worth the trip. We saw a 120 plus class 8-pointer and a friend on the hunt with us was able to take a 10 point buck with his muzzle-loader on the last night of the hunt. The food was so good we had to come home just to keep from gaining to much weight. The accomodations were just as great with deer mounts throughout the lodge that just wanted to make you hunt there the rest of your life. The owners/ personnel were the best. They made sure you were well taken care of at all times, plus they took the opportunity to just sit down and talk to you as the had known you all their life. I'm going to see if I can get my son on the late fall youth hunt and really recommend this outfitter to all that I can. I will be going back as soon as I can, to maybe next time bring home that TROPHY that is waiting out there for me.

Submit Date: Feb 5, 2006

Outfitter Review: Trophys Unlimited - Kentucky

Outfitter / Owner: Jay Cranford

Hunter: L. Branch

Animals Hunted: Whitetail deer

Jay is a slick talker and makes many false promises. We booked for the opening of the season and were told we could expect to see many mature bucks within his "exclusive" hunting area. Jay emphasized that we would each have an opportunity at shooting a buck that would easily score at least 150+.The camp was booked to the hilt and very crowded. It was necessary to use our airport rental car as a hunting vehicle.Lots of hunting pressure on the deer in the areas we hunted. There were many “locals” both in the field and road hunting around us. We were constantly surrounded by close range shooting.Biggest buck I saw was young and would only score about 120”. The few deer shot were not mature bucks. Biggest deer shot would have only scored about 125-130”. This hunt was a real disappointment all the way around.

Submit Date: Dec 20, 2005

Outfitter Review: Trophys Unlimited - KY

Outfitter / Owner: Jay Cranford

Hunter: T. CHESTER

Animals Hunted: whitetail

NO DEER! MIGHT AS WELL HAVE NO GUIDE! OWNER LIES TO YOU! DEFINITELY A BIG SCAM! HUGE BUCK ON WEBSITE IS ACTUALLY A DOE CAPE WITH A BUCK SHED! NO ONE EVEN KILLED IT!! IF YOU HAVE MONEY TO THROW AWAY, GIVE TO A CHARITY, NOT TROPHYS UNLIMITED!!

Submit Date: Dec 1, 2005

Outfitter Review: Western Kentucky Outdoors - KY

Outfitter / Owner: Bill Cartwright

Hunter: Gary Wood

Animals Hunted: Whitetail

The owner/operator was my guide and very knowledgable of his properties and how the deer used them. First morning I passed on a 120 class buck and seen 2 other smaller bucks. 2nd day I seen 9 does. By the third day, day time temps were 97 degrees. On my last day (3rd), I took a nice 2 1/2 year old 8pt. The buck did just as Bill said he would. Only 2 other hunters in camp at the same time and both tagged their bucks. 7 deer were killed between the 3 of us, 3 bucks and 4 does. Great hunt, great properties and a number of P&Y bucks were seen. Owner went out of his way to help me fill an archery tag as well during the day at no extra cost. Highly recommend. I will be back.

Submit Date: Nov 27, 2005

Outfitter Review: Bluegrass Bucks - KY

Outfitter / Owner: Jerry Woosley

Hunter: kevin hypio

Animals Hunted: whitetail

jerry painted a good picture promising no more than 12 hunters in camp and when we arrived there was 21 hunters. every day was the same load into a van with 6-8 other hunters and all are dropped off at the same farm and picked up at the same time. some drives where an hour long! jerry has no idea where the deer are and all stands are 12-15 feet off the ground sitting over a bait pile in the woods while their is still standing corn in the fields! jerry has no guides only cab drivers that have no idea about deer hunting! out of the 21 guys in camp one shot a four point and one shot a fawn(yes a fawn!) do not go there for a bow hunt as all of his stands are permanent and set up for gun hunting. we were their for the combo bow hunt/muzzleloader and the farthest shot that we could have taken would've been 50-60 yards. once he gets your money he could care less if you see or shoot a deer! for lunch the whole week we were given the same ham and bologna and that was it! do not go here, do your eresearch ans save your money!

Submit Date: Nov 11, 2005

Outfitter Review: Bucks & Beards - KY

Outfitter / Owner: Jerry Woosley

Hunter: chris konopka

Animals Hunted: whitetail

myself and 13 hunting buddies went down to jerry's for a 3 day rifle hunt in 2003.in those 3 days we saw numerous deer and many nice bucks.the stands you hunt are very well built and comfortable and not high pressured.you dont see the same piece of woods more then once.we had 14 guys in camp and 7 of us shot nice bucks which can be seen on the cover of the2004-2005 brochure.also 1 on the inside on page5 and the picture on page 6 with all the bucks on the trailer are our deer.i myself shot a dandy of a 10 pointer on the first day and seen a nice 8 pointer on the third day trying to tag a doe.the food and the camp were very good and clean.i would recommend this hunt to anyone in fact we enjoyed it so much we are returning to bucks and beards in 2006 for the rifle season with 20 people in our party.

Submit Date: Oct 17, 2005

Outfitter Review: Blue Grass Bucks - Kentucky

Outfitter / Owner: Jerry Woosley

Hunter: Eric Kern

Animals Hunted: White Tail

This whole hunt was a joke from start to finish. When you sign paper work saying you will no sue or come to camp with a chip on you're shoulder that means "RED FLAG". If your thinking 12 hunters at camp you will see 24 and all hunters will be side by side hunting the same deer on the same farm. We had 20 hunters which resulted in a mutant rack buck and some lucky hunter bagged a nice fawn (this guy seriously kills a 30 pd. fawn at a 20 guy deer camp). But do not worry if you are not a morning person the 1 hour drive to your spot each morning offers great sleep. And then you'll have some nice locals working on cars and mowing grass on top of your stand to keep you awake. This whole "hunt" was a pure scam. 1/3 of the hunters at camp left early and all left with a lesson learned. Oh and bring an extra $150.00 for any thing less then a 7 point. Which this hunter would of happily paid just to see a deer that size. SCAM!!!!!

Submit Date: Jul 12, 2005

Outfitter Review: Kentucky Whitetail Hunts - KY

Outfitter / Owner: Dave Woosley

Hunter: Anthony Ruchak

Animals Hunted: whitetail

I just discovered this website. The hunts that I went on were in 97 and 98. In 97 all of the hunters in my camp scored. Mr Woosley scored a nice P&Y buck prior to the hunters getting to camp. In 98 Mr Woosley scored a nice P&Y buck while his wife dropped us (paying hunters) off while he had things to do(hunt his personal honey hole). This guy had the nerve to show us (paying hunters) this nice buck he scored while nobody in camp scored a buck or doe. Mr. Woosley claims to have over a hundred stands. All I know is that in both years I hunted, I saw pretty much the same stands in both years. I learned from other hunters in camp that, they also hunted in or near the same stands that they hunted in previous hunts with Mr Woosley. I did bag small deer on both hunts. I don't think it was fair for Mr Woosley to bag bruiser bucks while his clients got scraps. I decided not to support Mr Woosley's hunting adventures any longer. If you want to see small bucks and does, while watching you guide bring in nice bucks then book a hunt with Mr Woosley.

Submit Date: Mar 21, 2005

Outfitter Review: Bucks & Beards - KY

Outfitter / Owner: Jerry Woosly

Hunter: don byers

Animals Hunted: whitetail deer

this outfitter is a con artist,he only see's the money in front of him.the few guys that did luck out and get deer had to gut them out and take care of the deer themselves.i would rather hunt a fenced in preserve then hunt with him again.also had 40 hunters in camp at one time.talk about being pissed off.

Submit Date: Feb 3, 2005

Outfitter Review: Donaldson Creek - KY

Outfitter / Owner: Kerry Underhill

Hunter: Brian Winot

Animals Hunted: Whitetail

Took my 10 year old over New Years for a 2 day youth hunt. 7 kids in camp for the hunt with a TV crew filming all the action. kids were not allowed to take anything smaller than a 125" buck. Stands were more like apartments than deer stands!! Completely covered, approx 10 x 10, insulated, and heated. Saw tons of does but only 1 small buck. All kids shot does only 1 scored on a 130" 10 point. Cabin that everyone was housed in was extrodinary, full of huge deer taken off the farm over the years. Deer were very spooky as they had been hunted for the last 3 months straight, but all indications are that this is a great place. Adult hunters are liited to deer over 140" or fined for shooting smaller. I am booked for the early youth hunt in October of next year, as well as a rut hunt in Novemeber. Great people, great accomidations, great food, potential for great deer as well.

Submit Date: Jan 6, 2005

Outfitter Review: Bucks and Beards - Kentucky

Outfitter / Owner: Jerry Woosley

Hunter: Terry Jarrard Jr

Animals Hunted: whitetail

I have been on some very good hunts before but i had talked a friend into coming on his first guided hunt with me to this place . And this turned out to be the worst hunt i had ever been on well here is how the hunt went here is a map of the farm with each stand numbered all 12 to 14 hunters get out of the van (Cramped) no scent control and start walking across the farms each hunter past each other stand location and well by day light all the deer as if there were any deer were push out well i did see 3 deer while i was there .well dont think you can get any info from the owner or the guide because they avoided every question i had about where the deer were.and so on we didnt even finish out our hunt. please tell everyone you know to avoid this SCAM!!!!

Submit Date: Nov 29, 2004

Outfitter Review: Bucks and Beards - Kentucky

Outfitter / Owner: Jerry Woosly

Hunter: David Ross

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

Bucks and Beards should be called, Two Does and a trailer house. This was the biggest disappointedhunt I have ever been on, It was a total rip off.There were no guides just a guy driving you around no one ever asked me if a saw any deer, Jerry told us it would be just the 11 guys in our group hunting, there were 10 guys already there hunting when we got there. I could go on and on about this rip off. I lost 1,300.00 on this scam. DONT GO ON THIS RIP OFF HUNT

Submit Date: May 28, 2004

Outfitter Review: Bucks and Beards - KY

Outfitter / Owner: Jerry Woosley

Hunter: Elmer Nielsen

Animals Hunted: Whitetail

This guy isn't worried about anything accept getting as many hunters through his camp as possible. I knew we were in trouble from day one. Do not go on this hunt! It was so bad that we left early and didn't finish the hunt. Example of what to expect, I asked the so called guide what was the area like we were going to hunt and if there had been any signs of rut activity? He said "I don't know, i have never been to this area."

Submit Date: May 10, 2004

Outfitter Review: Bucks and Beards - Kentucky

Outfitter / Owner: Jerry Woosly

Hunter: Derek Malcore

Animals Hunted: Whitetail deer

We were on a four day bowhunt in mid-october. This is usually and dull deer-hunting period but Jerry insisted that there was plenty of big buck action at his camp. It was advertised as an agricultural area with good fields. This was true, however, about 1 month from our hunt we got a letter in the mail from Jerry asking us if we wanted our stands to be baited. It also said that 90% of the bucks in the brochure were taken over bait piles. This greatly alarmed my father and I. We had no interest in sitting over a huge pile of corn. By this time we had already paid 50% of the cost so we couldn't back out. Isn't that a nice time to inform your hunters on how you really hunt Jerry? So we went anyways, and just figured that we would make the best out of it. There was no best to be had. We came out extremely disappointed. I had seen 4 deer and my father saw 2. Only 3 out of 12 other hunters saw any deer at all. These other gentlemen were more angry with this hunt than we were. None of us would ever go back! Jerry is NOT honest or up front with his hunters!

Submit Date: Mar 1, 2004

Outfitter Review: Bucks & Beards - Kentucky

Outfitter / Owner: Jerry Woosley

Hunter: John Corrao

Animals Hunted: Whitetail

There are some big bucks in the area. Jerry or his guides don't work to locate them. There are many permanant tree stands that are overhunted and close to each other. your stand locations are chosen without regard for deer travel and weather conditions. This place could be so much better if less hunters were taken. guides scouted planned and chose stands accordingly. don't expect to much in the way of hospitality we arrived several hours earlier than check in time of 3pm after a 16 hour drive and we were turned away. I did tag a nice 9 point that scored in the 120's the crew was suprised it was the only respectable buck seen all week by 12 hunters some never saw a deer. a few does were taken and not once were we offered help in the way of butchering or hanging our deer. they were simply dropped by the gambrels. for the price not a terrible hunt but as trophy hunt forget about it not enough deer not enough scent control tactics not enough knowledge.

Submit Date: Nov 12, 2003

Outfitter Review: Cottonmouth Lodge - Kentucky

Outfitter / Owner: Randy Pope

Hunter: Rick Brake

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

Cottonmouth Lodge is a first class operation.Owner Randy Pope is a devoted world big game hunter, and is building a truly big buck paradisein western Kentucky. Lodge manager's Wayne & Linda Thompson are good people and great hosts.The service,food and accommodations rival that ofany hotel or resort in the US or the Caribbean.I saw bucks making scrapes, chasing does, andenjoyed the time I put in on the hunt. Somethingwas moving all the time.I took home a nice 8 point, and there were two130-140 class deer harvested opening weekend.Nice place to hunt fair chase Whitetail.Rick BrakeBridgeport WV

Submit Date: Nov 27, 2002

Outfitter Review: White Oak Lake - Kentucky

Outfitter / Owner: Terry Cundif

Hunter: Dewayne Caylor

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

Very poor excuse for a top quality hunting lodge,or so called anyway.

Submit Date: Jan 27, 2002

Outfitter Review: Bucks and Beards - Kentucky

Outfitter / Owner: Jerry Woosly

Hunter: Bill Pecoraro

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

Well organized with lots of farm country to hunt.Stands and farms to hunt are changed each day. Hunters are dropped off early each day and follow well marked trails to stands. Stands are good, confortable, permanent stands that are hunted over bait. Stands tend to be in very heavy cover with poor visibility, with only one shooting lane, and little regard for wind direction, greatly reducing you chances of getting a good buck. We saw a good number of bucks, but most were small. Too many hunters accommodated (over 20 each week) and they shot out too many average bucks, less than 120 B&C, thus greatly reducing the areas potential.

Submit Date: Jan 5, 2001

Outfitter Review: Bucks & Beards - KY

Outfitter / Owner: David Woolsey

Hunter: DALE LEFEVER

Animals Hunted: WHITETAIL

THIS GUY PRINTS A GREAT FLYER WITH HUGE BUCKS, DON'T KNOW WHERE HE FOUND THE PICTURES HOWEVER. WE WERE TOLD THERE WOULD BE 12 HUNTERS FOR SEVERAL THOUSAND ACRES OF PRIME TROPHY AREAS. WHEN EVERYONE WAS ALL ACCOUNTED FOR THE EVENING BEFORE THE HUNT STARTED THERE WAS 22 HUNTERS. FIRST MORNING A SAW A SPIKE BUCK THAT HAD BEEN RUNNING SO HARD THOUGHT HE'D FALL OVER IN FRONT OF ME FROM A HEART ATTACK. THAT EVENING I HAD THE PLEASURE OF WATCHING SOME NEIGHBORS (3) RIDING HORSE WITHIN 30 YARDS OF MY STAND. THIS WAS A 5 DAY HUNT AND MY FRIEND AND I LEFT ON THE 3RD DAY. 1- 4POINT WITH A 8 INCH SPREAD WAS SHOT OUT OF 22 HUNTERS BY THE TIME WE HAD ENOUGH. ASKED THE OWNER ON ARRIVAL WHAT BUCKS HE HAD BEEN SEEING AND HIS COMMENT WAS,"HAVEN'T BEEN IN THE WOODS FOR ABOUT A MONTH". I KNEW WE WERE IN TROUBLE RIGHT AWAY WITH THAT COMMENT. HIS TACTICS ARE TO PLACE A BUCKET OF CORN AT YOUR STAND THE DAY PRIOR TO YOU HUNTING IT IN HOPES OF BAITING THEM IN. THIS WAS ABSOLUTELY THIS WORST HUNT I'VE EVER BEEN ON. STAY AWAY FROM THIS LOSER

Submit Date: Jul 9, 2000

Outfitter Review: Beards & Bucks - KY

Outfitter / Owner: David Woolsey

Hunter: DENNIS FULLINGTON

Animals Hunted: WHITE TAIL DEER

ME AND A FRIEND WENT ON THIS HUNT TOGETHER THINKING WE REALLY DID OUR HOME WORK. BOY WE WAS WRONG,WE WERE TOLD THEIR WOULD BE 10 HUNTERS IN CAMP WHEN WE GOT THEIR WAS 17 HUNTERS. OUR GUIDE WAS A LOCAL KID 16 YEARS OLD WHO LEFT MY GROUP OF HUNTERS ON THE SIDE OF THE ROAD WHILE HE HICHHIKED TO TOWN TO GET HELP BECAUSE THE VAN WOULD,NT GET US BACK TO CAMP.NOT ONE DEER WAS SEEN DURING THIS 5 DAY TROPHY HUNT SO THE BROKE DOWN VAN WAS NOT GOOD,ANYWAY WHEN WE SENT OUR DEPOISIT TO BOOK THIS TROPHY HUNT WE WERE ASK BY THE GUIDE IF WE WANTED TO HUNT OVER FEEDERS OR NOT MY BUDDY PUT YES HE FOUND HIS FEEDER WITH BLACK AND GREEN CORN IN IT.IT WAS A JOKE,WE WERE TOLD HE HAD 5 THOUSAND ACERS TO HUNT ON,MYSELF WAS STUCK IN SOME PEOPLE,S BACK YARD YOU COULD HERE THEIR KID,S EVERY MORNING COME OUT AND PLAY THIS IS TRUE.DAY THREE HUNTERS STARTED LEAVING TO GO HOME AND HAD DROVE A LONG WAY,S THEY WERE MAD.ME AND MY BUDDY STAYED TO THE END THINKING JUST MAYBE WE MIGHT GET LUCKY .I HAVE BEEN ON FOUR GUIDED HUNT,S ALL WHERE GOOD BUT THIS GUIDE OVER HUNTED WHAT LAND HE HAD HE WAS HUNTING INSTEAD OF DOING WHAT HE WAS PAYED TO DO.EVERYBODY HAD HIGHPOWERED RIFLES AND WAS PUT IN TICKETS IN BOW STANDS NO CROPS OR SOY BEAN FIELD,S NOTHING WE WERE TOLD WHEN HE GOT OUR DEPOISIT THE HUNT COST 1,500.00 DOLLARS WE WERE SHAFTED VERY DISAPOINTED.

web application and database development by davidcdalton.com