Georgia Hunting Outfitter and Guide Reviews

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Jan 6, 2011

Outfitter Review: Wise Old Pine Plantation - Americus GA

Outfitter / Owner: Jean Wise

Hunter: Greg Shields

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

This Plantation ranks as one of my favorites all time and I have been to many. Mickey and Connie Wise are top-flight people and they run a top flight operation. I saw alot of deer and many many bucks. I will return to Wise Old Pine for multiple hunts in the coming season. After having been to a dozen plantations ove the years...I would recommend only 3 to return to....this one is flat out one of those. Highly recommended.

Submit Date: Mar 23, 2010

Outfitter Review: Gopher Plantation - GA

Outfitter / Owner: Benny Overstreet

Hunter: justin bullard

Animals Hunted: Whitetail

My first year hunting at the Gopher plantation was the 2006 season. The second my foot left my truck and struck down on gopher soil my heart was hooked. It's honestly like stepping back in time with log cabins, sugarcane grinders, the works! I was there for a three day hunt and saw exactly 87 deer. ??? yup, 87! I could not believe the number of deer all over the Gopher. On the last morning of the hunt, after seeing numerous good racked bucks, I took the buck of my life time. I remember it like it was yesterday.. every second of it. I have been back every year since passing on shooter bucks hoping for that one. This past season, Lightning struck a second time. Cold november morining, first thing i noticed was the bucks foggy breath come out of the treeline into the food plot. Once i fixed my eyes, a super wide-racked 8 pt stepped out and was dropped at 70 yrds. Benny is a heck of a guy, and has become a great friend to me and my family. His guides are top notch. Do yourself a favor, hunt Gopher.

Submit Date: Feb 23, 2009

Outfitter Review: Eagle Rock Plantation - Georgia

Outfitter / Owner: Mitch Slay

Hunter: J P Stephens

Animals Hunted: hog

If you want to pay $500 to kill two meat hogs of average size, go for it. If you are looking for a trophy boar with tusks, keep looking elsewhere. They only allow harvest of boars (My group of 7 hunters saw only ones below 200 lbs) and immature females 60-90 lbs that have not had piglets yet and very hard to ID in a group. I won't go back and can't recommend this outfitter.

Submit Date: Dec 4, 2008

Outfitter Review: Booger Bottom Hunting Lodge - GA

Outfitter / Owner: Mike Willis/Rena Turner

Hunter: GORDON COURTNEY

Animals Hunted: WHITE TAIL DEER

THIS WAS MY FIRST TIME DEER HUNTING.THE GUIDE WASVERRY KNOWLEDGABLE AND FRENDLY.I SHOT MY FIRST DEER ONT THE FIRST DAY.i SHOT MY SECOND DEER ON THE THIRD DAY.I WAS HUNTING FOR DEER MEAT SO IHUNTED DOE'S.THIS IS EVERYTHING YOU WOULD EXPECT FROM A PROFESSINAL HUNTING EXPERIENCE.I WOULD RECOMMEND BOOGER BOTTOM TO ANY ONE THAT WANTS TOHUNT IN A SAFE AND ENJOYABLE PLACE I WILL BE BACK TO HUNT NEXT YEAR WITH SOME FRIENDS

Submit Date: Nov 24, 2008

Outfitter Review: Woods & Water - GA

Outfitter / Owner: Blaine Burley

Hunter: DANNY RAMEY

Animals Hunted: whitetail,hog

I TOOK FIVE PEOPLE DOWN TO WOODS AND WATERS TROPHY DEER HUNTING TO HUNT FOR A TROPHY WHITETAIL BUCK,ONE DOE,AND ONE HOG. WHEN WE GOT THERE WE FOUND OUT THE DEER ON THE WEBSITE WASN'T KILLED THERE. THE LODGE HAD NO HEAT AND IT GOT DOWN TO 15 DEGREES AND WE USED SPACE HEATERS. WE SAW A TOTAL OF ABOUT 30 DOES AND 3 VERY LITTLE BUCKS AND NO HOGS BETWEEN FIVE PEOPLE HUNTING 10 HOURS A DAY. THE FOOD PLOTS ON THE WEBSITE IS AT THE CABIN AND YOU COULD NOT HUNT THERE THEY TOOK US 30 MILES NORTH TO HUNT. THE CABIN IS AN OLD HOUSE WITH THE PAINT FALLING OFF THE OUTSIDE THE WASHER AND DRYER DIDN'T WORK. THE GUIDE GOT DRUNK AND DROVE MY BROTHERS BACK IN THE EVENINGS SWERVING ALL OVER THE PLACE. OUT OF A TOTAL OF 5 PEOPLE HUNTED 30 HOURS A PIECE ON A 3 DAY HUNT NO ONE SEEN NO HOGS, SEEN 3 VERY LITTLE BUCKS,THE POND IS KNEE DEEP FROM ONE SIDE TO THE OTHER,I HUNTED A PLANTED PINE THICKET WITH NO FOOD SOURCE OR WATER, MY DAD HUNTED A STAND LOOKING OVER A FIELD THAT HAD NO CROP AT ALL IT WAS DIRT,MY BROTHER HUNTED A STAND LOOKING AT A DIRT ROAD WITH SMALL PINES ON BOTH SIDES. IT WAS A TOTAL WASTE OF TIME AND MONEY DO NOT GO TO THIS PLACE FOR WHITE TAIL THEY HAD PLENTY OF TURKEYS BUT THATS IT NOTHING ELSE.

Submit Date: Sep 17, 2008

Outfitter Review: Happy Acres Expeditions - GA

Outfitter / Owner: Gary Frye

Hunter: david reed

Animals Hunted: hog

hands down one of the best hunting experiences of my life. gary worked very hard to make sure that my group had the time of their lives both in and out of the field. he put every one of us on hogs and we all had hogs with in easy shooting range. we are already booked for the next 2 seasons.

Submit Date: Mar 14, 2008

Outfitter Review: Egan Hill Plantation - GA

Outfitter / Owner: Keith Egan

Hunter: Michael Allen

Animals Hunted: Boar

Went on a three day boar hunt in February 2008, saw no game which comes with hunting but what was worse, we saw no sign of hogs. No tracks, no rooted up areas, nothing and the group with us saw 2 small pigs between 10 guys, we had 3 in our group so that was 2 pigs sighted between 13 people.

Submit Date: Dec 29, 2007

Outfitter Review: Family Tradition Outfitters - GA

Outfitter / Owner: Will Bruner

Hunter: Tim Still

Animals Hunted: White tail Deer

Will and his wife did a great job of making us feel right at home. Will did everything he could to help us fill our deer tags. We saw a lot of deer, there just wasn't a shooter, in the groups of deer we saw. I had a great time and hope to get to go back.

Submit Date: Dec 9, 2007

Outfitter Review: Booger Bottom Hunting Lodge - Georgia

Outfitter / Owner: Rena Giles / Mike Willis

Hunter: Tim Gillman

Animals Hunted: Whitetail

We just finished up filming over at Booger Bottom Hunting Lodge for our TV show, Southern Backwoods Adventures, and I was lucky enough to take my biggest buck to date. A 145" 10 Point on the last morning of our hunt...We had TREMENDOUS weather and the deer were chasing does like crazy. I saw a total of 15 bucks, 10 of which were rack bucks. This is our second year going to Booger Bottom and have killed quality deer every year and have saw tons of deer. I would highly recommend checking them out.

Submit Date: Nov 12, 2007

Outfitter Review: Green Lakes Hunting & Fishing - GA

Outfitter / Owner: Allen Greene

Hunter: Jeff Smith

Animals Hunted: Hog

I can't say enough good things about this place and these people. They go all out to see you have a sucessfull and enjoyable hunt. Were very helpfull with the children too. Shot all the hogs we cared to and had oppurtunities every hunt. If that's not enough, you can go catch a giant bass between hunts. Very good people...Very good price...very good accomadations...very good hunting...all of the above. You won't find a better hunt anywhere at any price.

Submit Date: Sep 16, 2007

Outfitter Review: Redhawk Plantation - GA

Outfitter / Owner: Mitch Slay

Hunter: mark taylor

Animals Hunted: deer and hog

Today I received a call from a guide at this hunting club. I was a bit suprised at the attempt to intimidate me about a review I sent 3 years ago. Mention of attorney and such. I wish anyone luck who decides to hunt with this group of individuals. Last time I checked there was free speech in this country. I complained about a hunt that I was fined for not shooting a deer that met thier standards.you can read my review about redhawk-it was sent in march of 05 by me,Mark Taylor. I also believe that I am not the first person this has happened to. I will check and see what right they have for harassing me by phone.

Submit Date: Apr 8, 2007

Outfitter Review: Cross Creek Shooting Preserve - Georgia

Outfitter / Owner: Mike Dennis

Hunter: Tommy Burford

Animals Hunted: turkey

They had me up until I shot my turkey. I know that plantations shoot released quail,chukar,and phesants, but turkey? I heard no gobbling until I heard a truck. Then a turkey gobbled 150 yards from the lodge.I also saw no tracks on any of the property. The bird had no spurs,no beard(maybe 3/4"), and 2 maybe 3 feathers in its fan.I grew up in the woods and I can tell a pen raised (farm yard turkey) when I see one. Also when I got back to the lodge I could hear the other turkeys in the pens they had covered in a black material so you could not see inside. Before the hunt, the lodge owner filled me with so much bull about how the gov. turned the birds loose in '88. He also said there were too many turkeys, and that they were destroying the quail population. That is why he said they were starting to hunt them. It just drives my crazy to think how they must have laughed at me and my father for going all out in trying to hunt these "wild" birds (calling,decoys,etc.)They advertise "trophy Gobblers) on there website. Ha Ha . Just remember a good looking website will insure nothing, especially not a good hunt. It will never happen to me again. I will do all my homework next time.

Submit Date: Apr 5, 2007

Outfitter Review: Backwater Boar Hunts - Georgia

Outfitter / Owner: Anthony Oliver

Hunter: Nick Dalasio

Animals Hunted: Wild Hog

Anthony & his staff really go the extra mile to make sure your trip is a success. Hunted with my 13-year old son, shot 3 hogs, should have gotten a couple more (our fault, NOT the guide's), 1 was over 250#.The lodging is a series of canvas wall tents with cots & heaters, heated showers & bathrooms-rustic but comfortable. There is a full-time cook on duty, and the food is delicious.We hunted with dogs, pretty physical but worth the effort. There were other hunters in camp who were stand-hunting out of ground blinds and elevated platforms. Plenty of hogs in the marshes where we hunted, saw plenty of alligators and other assorted wildlife also.

Submit Date: Jan 2, 2007

Outfitter Review: Booger Bottom Hunting Lodge - GA

Outfitter / Owner: Mike Willis/Rena Turner

Hunter: Steven Jones

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

I have hunted this place 3 separate times this year since Nov 27th. Each experience has been exceptional. Everyone goes above and beyond to make you feel comfortable and at home. The accommodations are excellent. Their "Southern Hospitality" is as good as it gets. I saw a good amount of bucks and does every time I hunted there. I had numerous opportunities to harvest a deer but, was holding out on a trophy buck. I did harvest a doe on my first trip there. I though enough about the place that I decided to take my wife on a hunt there for her birthday and introduce her to the sport of hunting. She harvested her first doe ever the very first morning and first time ever hunting and then that afternoon she took very her first buck ever. She killed a 120 class 8 point with a 17 3/4 inside spread and 19 1/2 outside. If you are looking for a good quality hunt in Georgia where you WILL be taken care of I recommend you give Booger Bottom a try. The folks there are very knowledgeable and have got it going on. This place has some of the best hunting that Georgia has to offer. I canít say enough about my experiences there. I look forward to hunting at Booger Bottom again in the future.http://www.boogerbottomhunting.com

Submit Date: Dec 31, 2006

Outfitter Review: Riverplace Hunting Preserve - GA

Outfitter / Owner: Jay Sealy

Hunter: Jack Holland

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

I have hunted with Riveplace for two years. If you are looking for an affordable deer hunt with good accommodations and great food this is the place for you. The guides and staff treat you like family. The first year I hunted with them I did not kill a deer. The weather did not cooperate it rained for 2 days and it was extremely warm. I did see a shooter 8 pt. my first evening but decided to pass on it in hopes of a larger buck. I missed a doe on my last hunt. I saw about 20 deer on my 3 day hunt. A friend of mine went on the hunt. He saw plenty of deer but no shooters. We had such a good time that three more of my friends went back with us this year December 4-7 2006. We had a great hunt. The weather was cold and the bucks were chasing does like crazy. I shot a 215 lb. 8 pt. on my first evening hunt. I then shot a doe the following evening. I did not hunt my last day due to filling my quota for the hunt. Our party killed 2 bucks and 2 does. Three of the party passed on deer. They had no desire to take a doe. I would highly recommend this hunt to anyone. In fact the five of us are planning on going back in 2007. As for you turkey hunters I saw turkeys everywhere. Realtree Roadtrips has done their "Hunting the Country" turkey hunt at Riverplace in 2005 and 2006. Both hunting shows have been aired on The Outdoor Channel. Check out their website at www.Riverplacehunting.com.

Submit Date: Dec 1, 2006

Outfitter Review: Booger Bottom Hunting Lodge - GA

Outfitter / Owner: Mike Willis/Reena Turner

Hunter: Casey Purcell

Animals Hunted: Deer

Hunted this lodge November 27, 28, 29, 2006. There were 8 of us which is the max they will take. Everyone seen bucks and everyone killed deer. On the 2nd morning I took a large 8 point that green scored 128 7/8, weight 180 pounds.These folks have done their home work and know how to run a hunting lodge. They truely worry about folks seeing and killing deer. They go out of their way to make you feel like family and make you comfortable. I will hunt with them next year and for many years to come.

Submit Date: Oct 29, 2006

Outfitter Review: Eagle Rock Plantation - GA

Outfitter / Owner: Mitch Slay

Hunter: jim bob hudson

Animals Hunted: deer, hogs

he has hogs but deer are not there in numbers or quality. biggest deer on his web site was killed at red hawk plantation,not at this place for sure. very misleading,and not an honest way to advertise for sure. too many places with good quality deer to hunt besides this place. i would look somewhere else if i were serious about taking a good buck. if you want to shoot a pig i guess it is ok.

Submit Date: Sep 6, 2006

Outfitter Review: Burnt Pine Plantation - GA

Outfitter / Owner: Chuck Larsen

Hunter: Jim Colyer

Animals Hunted: WHITETAIL DEER

I have bow hunted Burnt Pine with my son for the past five years and we are going back again this year. In this time we have killed 3 bucks and 3 does and missed shots on another nice buck and 3 other does. In addition, we have seen plenty of deer that either never got into bow range or never presented a good shot. My son's first buck was an eleven point monster (green scored 135) that weighed in at 219 pounds live weight, a huge deer for Georgia.Last year they moved into a new and very comfortable lodge. The staff is friendly, the food terrific, and the guides are extremely knowledgeable, a rare combination. It is a fun and relaxing hunt and one I will continue to enjoy for the next few years.

Submit Date: Jul 4, 2006

Outfitter Review: Bostick Plantation - Georgia

Outfitter / Owner: Joe Bostick

Hunter: Tom Taylor

Animals Hunted: Boar

Two of us hunted wild boar from stands for three days. The only hog seen was a 30 LB piglet that got caught in a cage only 75 yards from my buddys stand. It thrashed around for 45 minutes and sounded like someone was beating on a trash can. My buddy was so disgusted since this was the last day of the hunt that he shot the pig inside the cage. Don't waste your time or money!

Submit Date: May 4, 2006

Outfitter Review: Eagle Rock Plantation - GA

Outfitter / Owner: Mitch Slay

Hunter: Travis Elmore

Animals Hunted: Hog

Eagle Rock is a newly established hunting outfit. Its owner Mitch Slay is the previous owner of RedHawk plantation which we previously hunted at. Mitch Knows what he is doing. We were the second or third group of hunters to hunt at eagle rock. We had a group of 24 hunters with us. About half had the opputunity to take a nice legal hog. We killed several hogs over 150 lbs killed and on that weighed 250lbs. I killed a 150 hog and a coyote. Mitch is putting a fence around the property in order to control the genetics of deer and contain the hog population. The plantation is composed of pine thickets briar thickets and brush thickets. Although this property will be under high fence it is not a shooting preserve. The hogs are native and wilder than the average whitetail deer you will encounter. Of the hogs I saw i was picked up and oinked at by smart sows. The plantation is a great hunt. But give it a year and it will be abosolutely unbelivable.P.S. The lodge looks like the whitehouse and is about the same size too. Feel free to contact me anytime by email and i will give you a call

Submit Date: Mar 22, 2006

Outfitter Review: Woods-n-Water - GA

Outfitter / Owner: Blaine Burley

Hunter: TED WALLEN

Animals Hunted: WHITETAIL

TWO OF US PAID $400 PER PERSON PER DAY TO SIT IN A SHOOTING HOUSE OVER TECHOMATE FOOD PLOTS ,PEANUT FIELDS,AND SOME CORN..THIS PLACE IS ADVERTISED AS HAVING ABUNDANT WHITETAILS AND HOGS ALL OVER THE PLANTATION..TREE RUBS WERE ALL OVER THE PLACE..BUT NO TRACKS..MY FRIEND SAW THE SAME THREE CRIPPLE DEER FOR THREE DAYS WE WERE THERE..THE PLOTMASTER FACTORY AND THE DEER HEADS THERE WERE IMPRESSIVE...BUT THERE WERE NO DEER TO BE SEEN..THIS PLACE HAD A 15 INCH MINIMUM SPREAD..I WISH I HAD SEEN A 15 IN. DEER..IT WAS A $1200 RIP OFF!!!!

Submit Date: Feb 13, 2006

Outfitter Review: WOODS AND WATER / TECOMATE FOOD PLOTS - GEORGIA

Outfitter / Owner: BLAINE BURLEY

Hunter: TED WALLEN

Animals Hunted: WHITETAIL

MY FRIEND AND I JOHN, BOOKED EARLY SO WE HAD ENOUGH TIME TO CHOOSE THE DATES.WE PICKED PROPERTY IN SW GA.BUT DUE TO THE STORMS WE WERE CHANGED TO WRIGHTSVILLE GA,WE WERE NOT EVEN TOLD THIS AND WOULD NOT HAVE KNOWN UNLESS I MADE A CALL.WE SAT IN SHOOTING HOUSES AND TREE STANDS FOR THREE DAYS,$400 PER,I SAW NO DEER OR TRACKS AND MY FRIEND SAW THE SAME 3 DEER FOR 3 DAYS.THEY WERE IN BAD SHAPE.HOGS WERE ALSO SUPPOSED TO BE ABUNDANT,WE SAW NONE.WE WERE SUPPOSED TO HAVE A CAMP COOK,BUT THEY FORGOT TO TELL HER TO BE THERE.A THIRD PERSON FROM NORTH CAROLINA CAME IN ON THE SECOND DAY,HE ALSO WAS VERY MAD..WE KNEW DEER HUNTING IS A CRAP SHOOT,BUT PLEASE,I EXPECT TO AT LEAST SEE A DOE IN THREE DAYS.ESPECIALLY HUNTING OVER FOOD PLOTS,TECOMATE IS A BIG COMPANY. NO EXCUSES WERE GIVEN AND WE WERE HUSTLED OUT OF CAMP SO INCOMING BIRD HUNTERS COULD SETTLE IN. VERY SAD TO WAIT AN ENTIRE YEAR TO HUNT SOMEPLACE SPECIAL AND BE LET DOWN.I WROTE A LETTER TO THEM AND RECEIVED NO RESPONSE.

Submit Date: Jul 10, 2005

Outfitter Review: Woods-n-Water - Georgia

Outfitter / Owner: Blaine Burley

Hunter: Andrew Reibly

Animals Hunted: Turkey

Blaine and his friend P/T guide were very nice and knowledgable on a personal level, not on a professional level. It was like hunting with a buddy that is a good turkey hunter. I feel like $750 for a weekend turkey hunt, that we saw not one turkey, is a rip off. This could be a good hunt, however, Blaine is more concerned about selling the plotmaster and video of famous outdoors folks, than regular guest.

Submit Date: Mar 29, 2005

Outfitter Review: Redhawk Plantation - GA

Outfitter / Owner: Mitch Slay

Hunter: mark taylor

Animals Hunted: deer and hogs

hunted there a couple of times and thought it was a good place and the people were nice. recently i read a review about a man who shot a deer in a trophy area there and was fined . he said he was not aware of the fine. well, the same thing happened to me. i shot a nice deer in an area they called the trophy area, was not told about any restrickens or fines untill i shot a deer that did not meet the requirements! the owner would not even come out and tell me about the fine but had the guide come and tell me about the mistake i had made and that it would cost me an extra 500.00 dollars!!!!!!!! i kept my mouth shut and paid the money because i realized that i did not need to start any trouble with these peopleas they were kind of the rough kind. i would not recomend this outfitter to anyone and i think you can see why.

Submit Date: Feb 24, 2005

Outfitter Review: Redhawk Plantation - GA

Outfitter / Owner: Mitch/Sandra Slay

Hunter: carlos martin

Animals Hunted: deer and hog

saw a man shoot a nice buck and he was told it was to small for trophy area and was fined 500.00 dollars. the man or none of us was told there would be a fine for this! this is a very crooked place and no way to do business. do not get caught up in this trap.

Submit Date: Jan 28, 2005

Outfitter Review: Redhawk Plantation - GA

Outfitter / Owner: Mitch Slay

Hunter: Rev. Jeremy Mahaffey

Animals Hunted: hog (wiley russian boar)

I have hunted redhawk one time and I killed my limit in 2 hours, so I don't know what more I could ask for. My friend (Travis Elmore) has hunted 4 times and killed 5 hogs! Our church uses this outfitter every year and we love it. Thank you redhawk for allowing us to bring home the bacon, you guys are not only the best in Georgia, but the best on the entire east coast, well for that matter on all planet earth!!!!!!!!!!!Yours truly,Rev. Jeremy Mahaffey

Submit Date: Jan 1, 2005

Outfitter Review: Buckeye Lodge - GA

Outfitter / Owner: Calvin Floyd

Hunter: Luke Sagarin

Animals Hunted: Deer

Although our hunt wasn't "successful", we had the best time. Calvin and Nan are extremely friendly people and make you feel like a part of the family. Calvin and his guide Tommy made every effort to put us on some deer, but the deer weren't cooperating. Late season is tough! Anyone looking to book a hunt in GA, Buckeye Lodge is a great place to go!

Submit Date: Nov 8, 2004

Outfitter Review: Redhawk Plantation - Georgia

Outfitter / Owner: Mitch Slay

Hunter: Scott Petty

Animals Hunted: Deer

I was told, upon booking the hunt, that we would hunt a different 200 acre block each day. We hunted the same 200 acres for 3 days, ten hunters on this 200 acres. One deer killed, it was two small and the hunter was fined. This hunter saw a bigger buck after killing his deer and told the guides. This stand was the only stand which was not allowed to be rehunted. After paying our money to Mitch we saw him approx. 2 minuted for the remainder of the trip. No speaking at all. All ten hunters were in strong agreement that this was rip off. Do not use this hunting lodge.

Submit Date: Oct 20, 2004

Outfitter Review: RED HAWK PLANTATION - GA

Outfitter / Owner: MITCH SLAY

Hunter: DAVID CARDEN

Animals Hunted: DEER / TURKEY / HOGS / QUAIL

I HAVE HUNTED AT RED HAWK FOR SEVERAL YEARS. THE HUNTING AND QUALITY OF GAME HAS ALWAYS BEEN EXCELLENT.MITCH SLAY GUIDED MY TURKEY HUNTS AND THE EXPERIENCE WAS UNBELIEABLE. I KILLED A BIG LONG BEARD TURKEY IN 2002.THE 2003 DEER SEASON I SAW LARGE NUMBERS OF DEERS EVERY TIME I WENT IN THE WOODS VERY GOOD BUCKS.I SHOT AND MISSED A 140 CLASS BUCK.THE QUAIL HUNTING IS THE BEST IN THE STATE EXCELLENT DOGS, HABITAT AND BIRDS.I WOULD RECOMMEND RED HAWK PLANTATION TO ANY ONE.

Submit Date: Oct 15, 2004

Outfitter Review: Barksdale Plantation - GA

Outfitter / Owner: would love to know

Hunter: Rob Richards

Animals Hunted: Deer/ Hog

This hunt actually happened 3-4 years ago in early December but I remember it all to well. My father, who doesn't hunt, much,went with me. Only one spike sighted, Poor deer activity, weather was very warm which was no ones fault. What was the complete fault of this bunch of crooks was that my father was given a citation by the GA game warden on the first morning of our hunt for hunting over bait! Everything you could imagine had been put out at the other end of the plot he was put out on.. salt, peanuts, etc. He didn't have to pay any money but it ruined what I had hoped would be a good father/son hunt. We ended up leaving 2 days into our 3 day hunt, because I really didn't want my father to be put into another illegal situation. The manager, Jerry Miller (I think) never apologized for the illegal situation they had put my father in and we had to pay full price when we left. I will never go back to this 'plantation' and have worked over the past few years to try and educate anyone that I know who would consider going. Truly an awful experience.

Submit Date: Sep 28, 2004

Outfitter Review: Redhawk Plantation - GA

Outfitter / Owner: Mitch Sley

Hunter: Frank Houston

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

We hunted Redhawk and there were so many hunters on a small tract of land that I could see two other hunters from my stand. The land and county is a great place for deer, however most of Redhawks "land" is leased out to hunting clubs and a minimal amount is for the lodge and hunting guests of "redhawk"............It would concern me to hunt there for safety reasons. It is not good to be in that close proximity to other hunters with high powered deer rifles. In addition to all of this, the biggest deer "claimed" by redhawk was killed on the "hunt club" land and not the land the "paying" guests hunt on...............this operation is "shady" at best...

Submit Date: Feb 13, 2004

Outfitter Review: Gopher Plantation - Georgia

Outfitter / Owner: Bennie Overstreet

Hunter: Walt Martin

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

Our group visted Gopher for the second year in a row this past November (2003). Again, we were pleased with the quantity of deer sighted. The group only took one trophy ( 10 pointer, 16+ spread), although some nice deer were sighted and not taken. The hunt is an excellent hunt were you get alot for your money. We are already booked for 2004. Bennie and his staff do an excellent job and are very concerned with the clients needs.

Submit Date: Jan 22, 2004

Outfitter Review: Redhawk Plantation - GA

Outfitter / Owner: Mitch Slay

Hunter: mark taylor

Animals Hunted: deer and hog

have hunted with redhawk 3 times and each hunt was everything i was looking for. i have hunted my entire life,i am 53, andthe deer are there and also the hogs, be patient and you will have a good chance at that trophy.

Submit Date: Jan 11, 2004

Outfitter Review: Gopher Plantation - Georgia

Outfitter / Owner: Bennie Overstreet

Hunter: Greg Shields

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

The Gopher Plantation consists of 7200 acres all owned by Bennie Overstreet. He runs a top flight camp and delivers on his promises. You have an excellent chance at a trophy buck at this ranch. I have hunted here for 2 years in a row and have already booked for 2004 for 3 different hunts (1 muzzleoader and 2 rifle) You will see 10-30 deer per outing with a big buck stepping out at any time. Took a nice 8 point in 2002 (saw one bigger but blew it) and saw 22 bucks in 2003 but only one berderline shooter that I passed on personally waiting for a bigger buck. Great place....feels like home.

Submit Date: Nov 20, 2003

Outfitter Review: Red Hawk Plantation - GA

Outfitter / Owner: Mitch Slay

Hunter: Waylon Rogers

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer / Hog

There were 28 guys in our camp 10 on the platinum side and 18 on the gold side. The plantation has 9600 acres but we only hunted the same 200 acres and rotated stands. I saw in total 10 bucks, 11 does, 18 turkey , 6 hogs, and 1 bobcat in 3 days of hunting. I shot an 8 pointer with an outside of spread of 14 and 3/4 inches. I was fined $250. The deers Rack stood 13 inches high. Another hunter shot a 13 pointer and it was 14 inch outside spread he was also fined $250. 6 deer were taken and 3 hunters fined. I was told i was lucky cause others didnt see many deer. the deer I saw were nothing better then what I can take hunting public land in South Carolina. I did how ever enjoy the Boar hunting and shot my first boar which was 200 lbs, I wont be back for deer hunting but maybe boar hunting.

Submit Date: Nov 13, 2002

Outfitter Review: Gopher Plantation - GA

Outfitter / Owner: Bennie Overstreet

Hunter: Walt Martin

Animals Hunted: White-tailed deer

We had a group of eight and we all saw a tremendous amount of deer. While alot were does... there were numerous bucks sighted as well.No one in our group harvested a buck but a couple of shooters were sighted and things didn't work out. Bennie is an outstanding guy and someone who delivered on his promises. We will be back next year!

Submit Date: Nov 2, 2002

Outfitter Review: Gopher Plantation - Georgia

Outfitter / Owner: Benny Overstreet

Hunter: Greg Shields

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

Just returned from a 3 day hunt at Gopher Plantation (gopherplantation.com) in south Georgia. I hunted for 3 days and saw over 100 deer. Saw five 8 point bucks and a 6 point as well as 17 does my first stand. Killed one 8 point. There were eight of us in camp with a 9 point, four 8 points and 2 does killed. There were 2 missed or everyone would have gotten an 8 or better. Saw 40+ deer from one stand. Never knew a place like this existed. Texas ain't got nothing on this place. I will be going back without a doubt. Sandy Overstreet provided excellent meals and Benny Overstreet (owner) was a joy to be around who knew his deer herd inside and out. Highly recommend!!

Submit Date: Oct 27, 2002

Outfitter Review: Trophy Quest International - Georgia

Outfitter / Owner: Wilson Brothers

Hunter: Lee Back

Animals Hunted: Wild Hog

My two growen sons and I went on the hunt 4-20-2002 had a great time harvested 3 large hogs. they took our trophy heads to the taxidermest for us and the taxidermest phoned us a couple of days after we arrived home we should be getting our heads around the first of the year.We have booked another hunt for the spring of 2003.Very happy with our hunt and with Millwood Lodge.

Submit Date: Nov 20, 2001

Outfitter Review: Millwood Lodge - GA

Outfitter / Owner: Trophy Quest International

Hunter: David Hargett

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

I took my Daughter on her first Deer hunt to Millwood Lodge in Georga. I spoke with the owner and he said he had large #s of deer and Quality bucks so I booked a hunt. I e-mailed him a week before we left for Georgia and he said he was seeing alot of deer but they needed rain and a cold front to move in for the big boys. Got to Georgia and NO ONE there harvested a deer and only 2 hunters saw any ( 1 spike 1Doe) I hunted hard and never saw a deer ( no scrapes no trails) Took the truck out at night to spot light for deer ( no gun ) saw NO DEER. Looked at the pictures at the lodge of harvested deer and saw 2 bucks ( 1 in august and 1 in september ( no pictures of does) Lodge is owned by Trophy Quest International. A BOOKING AGENT. This hunt was during the Rut in November. All the food plots were dead for lack of rain 9 weeks without any so how did he see all these deer with no food plots or feeders. I feel we were lied to and cheated out of our cash. I will take my daugter were she can see deer next year.

Submit Date: Nov 16, 2001

Outfitter Review: Bollweevil Plantation - Georgia

Outfitter / Owner: Ben Seay

Hunter: Greg Shields

Animals Hunted: Whitetail

Just returned from my second trip in as many years to Bollweevil Plantation in search of monster Ga. whitetails. Didn't get one but did get some meat as doe days were in. Killed a big 100 lb. doe on last day. 15 hunters in camp for a three day hunt. Two 8 points and 9 does killed. Minimum spread at this camp is 16 inches. There were four bucks missed or the total would have been 15 deer killed for 15 hunters. A 100% success rate on meat. One of the 8 pointers scored 135 B&C. Was a 200 lb. brute. Two of the deer shot at were bigger than this one. I am already re-booked for next year. I love this place. Great accomodations and the big bucks are there but it is true fair chase. This place is becoming very popular but return hunters get first chance at rebooking before new hunters. If you want a great Georgia hunt for trophy whitetails...this is it.

Submit Date: Nov 6, 2001

Outfitter Review: Buckeye Lodge - GA

Outfitter / Owner: Calvin Floyd

Hunter: Hazzie

Animals Hunted: whitetail

Went on 3 day hunt. Saw a buck first afternoon but no shot. First Morning seen a nice 4 point and got it. Second afternoon seen a super 8 point about a 140 class 238lbs and got it. Second morning seen another but no shot. Calvin run a True Hunting camp with a Friendly atmosphere and will keep you feed better than your mother. T.R. and Sonny know where the deer are and make seeing them easy. If you want to get more than you pay for a change give Calvin a call .

Submit Date: Jan 16, 2001

Outfitter Review: Burnt Pine Plantation - GA

Outfitter / Owner: ?

Hunter: tim garrett

Animals Hunted: whitetail

burnt pine is the nicest outfitter i have ever booked with and i have booked with them three times and enjoyed every hunt.MORGAN AND JASPER county have some good bucks but most of them are killed during the rut the bowhunts are hard during early season but go expecting to see borderline pope and young bucks and ancient does.MY hunting partner and i harvested a 91/2and a 10 1/2 year old doe which i thought was really odd.THE rifle rut are special go expecting to see bucks up to 150 inches but dont pass a 130 (thats a good deer in georgia).Morning hunts usually are in the woods with the evening hunt on the food plots in the boxes.My guide all three times was Jeff GUNTER when he took us to the stands he left and went scouting every time you dont find that with many guides.

Submit Date: Jan 7, 2001

Outfitter Review: Bollweevil Plantation - Georgia

Outfitter / Owner: Ben Seay

Hunter: Greg Shields

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

Bollweeveil Plantation has minimum shooter requirements of 16 inch spread and 18 inch main beams. On one day I saw an 8 point, 7 point and 6 point in less than an hour. Saw one BC buck one morning but couldn't get a shot. Deer was in the 150 B and C class. Great place to go and I am going back...Greg Shields

Submit Date: Aug 30, 2000

Outfitter Review: Red Hawk Plantation - Georgia

Outfitter / Owner: Mitch Slay

Hunter: Rodney M. Abbott

Animals Hunted: Hogs

I am a four time visitor to Red Hawk Plantation, and I find myself waiting for my next visit. I have had the privilege to sit in many different stands and take four hogs weighing over 100lbs while passing up other opportunitys. Not only is the hunting outstanding, but the experience and hospitality of Mitch and Sandra and the other guys makes this a home away from home. I would highly recommend this hunt to anyone of all ages.Sincerly,Rodney M. AbbottMartinez, Georgia

Submit Date: Aug 18, 2000

Outfitter Review: Red Hawk Plantation - GA

Outfitter / Owner: Mitch Slay

Hunter: A. Applebaum

Animals Hunted: Upland Game

We hunted two days and had an outstanding time. Plenty of birds over all types of terrain. Excellent dogs and guides. If your looking for a great upland game experience this is the place to go! The food is typical Southern -- good and plenty of it. Accomidations are clean and well kept. We didn't hunt hogs but saw plenty of signs. They are out there.Mitch is a great host -- very safety conscious and tries his best to provide a great hunting experience.

Submit Date: Aug 8, 2000

Outfitter Review: Red Hawk Plantation - GA

Outfitter / Owner: Mitch Slay

Hunter: Pete Mattix

Animals Hunted: Deer/Hog

I have used RedHawk Plantation for several years, now, and continue to return every year! Great place, especially for entertaining corporate guests! The biggest buck I have ever seen was last year at Redhawk! More hogs than you can ever imagine. Mitch knows how to take care of your corporate guests!

Submit Date: Jul 9, 2000

Outfitter Review: Red Hawk Plantation - GA

Outfitter / Owner: Mitch Slay

Hunter: Derrek Beavor

Animals Hunted: Hog

Took my 13 yr old daughter on her first wild hog hunt. We saw game on every hunt. My daughter was successful on her second hunt...80lb guilt. Mitch and his staff are first class. They were as excited as I was for my daughter. Stands are spacious and comfortable for father/daughter or son.

Submit Date: Apr 18, 2000

Outfitter Review: Red Hawk Plantation - GA

Outfitter / Owner: Mitch Slay

Hunter: Fred McCraw

Animals Hunted: Turkey/Hog

If there had been any turkeys to hunt Mitch would have messed it up. There were plenty of sows and piglets.

Submit Date: Mar 7, 2000

Outfitter Review: Broughton Plantation - Georgia

Outfitter / Owner: Warren Howard

Hunter: Patrick Munn

Animals Hunted: Quail, Pheasant

I took my college-age son to hunt quail and pheasant at Broughton Plantation just after Thanksgiving 1999. While this is a released-bird operation, the quality of Broughton's game is excellent; the birds flush well and fly fast!Jim Babcock, manager and guide, works his dogs with true artistry. He is also very good with young people--takes the time to teach and assist, rather than just walk the fields.Broughton is located near Newborn, GA, only about an hour east of Atlanta, and they have a beautiful new lodge that embodies all the charm of Old South quail hunting.Broughton Plantation also offers quality-managed deer hunts, although I have not hunted deer on their property.If you are looking for a superior quail and pheasant hunt, book a few days with Broughton Plantation!

Submit Date: Feb 22, 2000

Outfitter Review: Hall Brothers - Georgia

Outfitter / Owner: Jack Douglas

Hunter: Joe Lesko

Animals Hunted: wild boar, whitetail deer

This hunt had more "bang for your buck" than other hunt that I have been on in a while. You have the opportunity to hunt true wild boar and whitetail deer on the same hunt for a very reasonable price. These wild boar are not fenced in like so many Tennesse operations. These animals live in the salt water swamps near Savannah, Georgia. Early November is an excellent time for this combo hunt for several reasons. First it is just cold enough to slow down the alligators and second you can sit on a deer stand in the afternoon after following boar hounds in the morning. This hunt is a lot of fun.

web application and database development by davidcdalton.com