British Columbia Hunting Outfitter and Guide Reviews

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Oct 23, 2022

Outfitter Review: McGregor River Outfitters - Prince George BC

Outfitter / Owner: Eric Hanson

Hunter: Ray Stroble

Animals Hunted: not specified

My family, friends and I have hunted with McGregor River Outfitters (Eric Hanson) over the past 20 years. Eric and his guides have always provided excellent service, enthusiasm, and knowledge regarding the animals we hunted which included Moose, Mountain goats, Wolves, and bears. We have also had the opportunity to do several trapline adventures. We have spent time in all of the various McGregor River Outfitter camps and found all of them to be well-maintained and properly stocked with the necessary supplies. The gear we used was well-kept and maintained. All of the hunts over the years have been a positive experience for us even when things don't go as planned as is often the case on a hunt. Most of my friends that I have taken over the years continue to hunt with McGregor River Outfitters as I do. I would and have recommended McGregor River Outfitters to anyone seeking a quality outfitted hunt with a good chance for success. I have been on many outfitted hunts over the years with various outfitters and McGregor River is the best in my opinion. I would also like to add that a hunter's attitude is key in any camp and can make or break the hunt. We who have extensive and varied hunting experience know that things can and do go wrong because that is hunting.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Oct 22, 2022

Outfitter Review: BC Guide Outfitters - BC

Outfitter / Owner: Mark Werner

Hunter: ROB MCLENNAN

Animals Hunted: not specified

GUIDE WAS TOTALLY INEXPERIENCED 20 YEAR OLD STUDENT. HAD TO USE MY VEHICLE FOR HALF THE HUNT. FOOD WAS PRIMARILY HOT DOGS, TURKEY SANDWICHES AND PASTA. OUTFITTER LEFT DAY 1 AND DIDN'T RETURN. ONLY BROUGHT IN AN EXPERIENCED GUIDE WHEN I PLANNED ON LEAVING EARLY. OUTFITTER WAS A VERY POOR COMMUNICATOR AND RARELY RESPONDED TO MESSAGING.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Oct 22, 2022

Outfitter Review: McGregor River Outfitters - Prince George BC

Outfitter / Owner: Eric Hanson

Hunter: Brock Williams

Animals Hunted: Canada Moose

McGregor River Outfitters HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!! I have had the pleasure to hunt with McGregor River Outfitters for both Moose and Black Bear. I look forward to future hunts with Eric as my PH. He is incredibly humble and extremely knowledgeable. Eric has a strong work ethic and puts dedication into each hunt. Our meat on both hunts were handled with respect and kept clean from hair a debris. When we returned home, our taxidermist was impressed with the initial cuts on the hides, just one example of many where Eric’s knowledge base provided us with amazing rugs. AAA+++

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Dec 26, 2018

Outfitter Review: Sawtooth Outfitters - Sparwood BC

Outfitter / Owner: Ryan Berard

Hunter: Thomas Ayers

Animals Hunted: not specified

Not the hunt that was advertised. In fact it didn’t even resemble the advertised hunt on the website. The warning signs were there following payment and only worsened as the week of hunting went on. Poor communication, poor logistics, little game seen, poor adherence to basic safety precautions, guides drinking “on duty” and numerous other problems. No horses used; we road-hunted clear-cuts also frequented by locals. Our guide displayed questionable local knowledge and adherence to basic plans that resulted in several busted hunts. Our party of 4 hunted all week and saw less than a dozen elk, with no legal bulls sighted. Highly highly highly recommend you look elsewhere….

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Feb 9, 2016

Outfitter Review: Calamity Creek Guide Outfitters - Cranbrook BC

Outfitter / Owner: Brad Park

Hunter: Jack Vicic

Animals Hunted: not specified

I understand that Mr. Brad Park has been prosecuted for numerous game law violations and is likely no longer guiding here. But just to be sure, prior to that, I experienced the worst guided hunt of my life with his organization. I was promised a remote horseback hunt. We hunted in trucks, competing with locals, in an area with a relatively small elk herd. He put me with what he described as his "top cracker jack" guide. After I called in our first bull, that was not large enough to legally take, his guide got super excited because it was the first elk he'd ever called in. I took a very average 6x6 on day 4 of the hunt, but the guides were reluctant to take the horses up to the area to pursue a mule deer, so we called the hunt over and left. He had pulled the ivories from my bull when his on site taxidermist caped the head. When I asked for them, he said they were in his other pants that he forgot at home. He said he'd send them to me. He never did. I can't warn people enough about this scamming con artist Brad Park. And just in case you haven't found this about him, here is a partial list of the charges he was convicted on. Park, Bradley (dba:Calamity Creek GuideOutfitters)Rossland Wildlife Act 190/84340/8216(2.1)16.01(i);21(1)(b);33(2);37;55(2)(b);69;$115$115$345$230$115$230$575Takes or kills a grizzly bear, a mountain goat or amountain sheep without submitting parts as required;Fail to comply with condition of guide-outfitter licence;Export wildlife or parts or egg without permit;Unlawful possession of dead wildlife;Transport wildlife in province contrary to regulations;Guide fails to deliver report;Fail to pay guide royalty

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Nov 29, 2015

Outfitter Review: Lobo Peak Guides & Outfitters - Prince George BC

Outfitter / Owner: Bert Fillion

Hunter: Mike Morris

Animals Hunted: Shiras Moose

My best friend and I hunted with this outfitter last year. We have done a number of hunting trips with guides and without guides. This outfitter is one on the worst we have hunted with. They say they hunt over 25,000 acres of land. Well, if you like hunting public land with several other hunters and campsites all over the place and spend hours driving roads looking for moose, this is outfitter Is the right person for you. Normally, you get up before light and get to the area you hunt. Not this outfitter. You end up driving out in daylight and then walking roads looking for moose. We hunted in the middle of the rut. We hunted 6 days and never saw a moose. We started hunting out of a jeep cj7 and it broke down. Then we hunted out of a 3 seater Atv and it broke down. Then got a two seater and it broke down. We cut our trip short by two days and headed home. The owner actually threatened us after we asked for a refund, which we never received. To be fair there were hunters in camp that hunted with them before and they were given special treatment, but not us. We broke down one night at dusk and they finally found us at 11 pm that evening. Our guide even had us hunt on our own while he slept in the vehicle, which is illegal in Canada.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Oct 31, 2015

Outfitter Review: Gunson Guiding & Outfitting - Liard River BC

Outfitter / Owner: jake@ggoutfitting.com

Hunter: Greg Tschetter

Animals Hunted: not specified

Out of 3 of us one of us had a shot at a moose and he got it. 55" moose and on our 26 hour drive home we talked 10 minutes about his moose. For the 10 day hunt, you do not hunt the first and last day so that brings you down to 8 days, we spent 2 full days moving the camp so that brings you down to 6 days, 2 of the days we were sent to explore new terrain so that brings it down to 4 days and those 4 days we maybe hunted 8 hours total. I think this service has potential to be very good but not until a bunch of trails are cut to get to the hunting grounds. It does not appear that they do much prep work prior to the hunt they just do it on your hunt which burns up all of your hunting time. The horses are A++++, and I mean that. I was very impressed with the tack and the animals. They have a wrangler that works his butt off for you too. I have never seen a harder worker than him and it was impressive. One of our hunters was on a lake hunt and had a guide that had never been to this lake, they had no map to the hunting grounds, were told there were fish in the lake which there were not and spent 8 days chopping trees and never got to their hunting grounds. And they ran out of food with 4 days to go except for white rice and the motor on the boat worked for 1/2 day.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Oct 23, 2014

Outfitter Review: Sonny's Guiding Service - Houston BC

Outfitter / Owner: Sonny Perkinson

Hunter: Garrett Franklin

Animals Hunted: not specified

I made a previous review on our trip to Sonny's guiding service last year that wasn't quite up to par. That being said, the accommodations were excellent. The cabins you will stay in are extremely comfortable and way better than we expected. The outfitter took the time to set up good quality dinners for us every night, the only problem was that the guide wasn't willing to cook them. All of the issues we had during the trip were caused from the guide, not the outfitter. That being said, Sonny has done everything to make it right to us and we will be returning next year for a better experience!

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Oct 23, 2014

Outfitter Review: Sonny's Guiding Service - Houston BC

Outfitter / Owner: Sonny Perkinson

Hunter: Garrett Franklin

Animals Hunted: not specified

My dad and I went to a guided Moose hunting trip that we bought at the Eugene, OR sportsman show. The hunt took place in Houston, BC at Sonny's Guiding Service. The results of this trip was far from satisfactory. First of all, our guide was the laziest hunter that we have ever been around. He didn't want to walk at all, if the moose didn't come to a call, we weren't going to have a chance that day. We would wake up around 4:00 am and he'd make us breakfast, we'd "hunt" until about 9:00 am and then he'd pull over to the side of the road and sleep until 5:00 pm. This made the days extremely long and boring. He wouldn't want to make dinner because he was too tired from hunting all day, even though most of his day was spent sleeping. He had us doing the dishes and spitting wood for his camp. At this part it felt like we spent all of this time, effort and money to drive 20+ hours to do someone's chores. If I had to compare this hunt to something, it would be prison. Except prison would feed you better. Whatever you do, don't waste your money and time on this hunt. If you have any more questions about my experience. Feel free to email me at Huntingworldwide@gmail.com.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Jul 25, 2014

Outfitter Review: Gundahoo River Outfitters, Inc. - Muncho Lake BC

Outfitter / Owner: Art Thompson

Hunter: Chris Cook

Animals Hunted: Alaska-Yukon Moose, Rocky Mountain Goat

Art and Crystal Thompson are some of the best people out there! They run a first class operation. This was my dream hunt and they made it come true. My guide was Brad Fry and he made things go smoothly while in the mountains. I couldn't ask for a better hunt. The weather was rather hot which made me nervous. My worries were soon put to rest when we got to camp after a 5 hour horseback ride. After setting things up, we rode up the valley. We saw 2 bulls in the first couple of hours! The first full day of hunting found us glassing a 9" billy. After a lengthy climb we were in position. When the goat finally decided to stand, a single shot sent him tumbling down the mountain. I was pumped! A 9" nine year old billy was going home with me! Day two brought us the pleasure of glassing some cows, calves and several bulls. After a while the one I wanted made his way to the clearing. After watching him bed, we started the stalk. It took a while to get near him. After a couple of hours he finally moved out of the willows. He was sparring with a smaller bull. He then made his way to an open area where another single shot put him to the ground! I was on cloud nine!!! I couldn't wait to get over there. When we finally got to him it was nothing but celebration! Two full days of hunting and two trophies! Beautiful country and great people. It doesn't get any better than that! Art has the best area and some great animals. Brad has a great eye for finding them. The trip was perfect from start to finish! And I had a freezer full of meet to take home with me! Feel free to contact me with any questions. You can't go wrong with Art!

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Oct 3, 2013

Outfitter Review: Gundahoo River Outfitters, Inc. - Muncho Lake BC

Outfitter / Owner: Art Thompson

Hunter: Chris Cook

Animals Hunted: Alaska-Yukon Moose, Rocky Mountain Goat

Hunt of a lifetime!!!!!!!! It was by far the best hunt I've ever been on! The help around the lodge was great and very friendly. Art and Crystal Thompson are incredible outfitters. My guide, Brad Fry, did an outstanding job for me. He knows the game and can spot it like a hawk. Very impressed. It is an expensive hunt but sooooo worth it. I hope to go back someday. If you're looking for an honest outfitter, look no further. It doesn't get any better than this!

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Jan 30, 2013

Outfitter Review: Total Outdoor Adventures, Ltd. - Grassmere BC

Outfitter / Owner: Vince Cocciolo

Hunter: Mark Morris

Animals Hunted: Elk, Mule Deer

Total Outdoor Adventures filled a dream of a lifetime for me! They all did an excellent job and helped with the scoring and packing out of a very nice bull elk and a mule deer! It was so unbelievably awesome for me I don't know how to put it into words. The video I took of the trip will be cherished forever.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Jan 30, 2013

Outfitter Review: Total Outdoor Adventures, Ltd. - Grassmere BC

Outfitter / Owner: Vince Cocciolo

Hunter: Mark Morris

Animals Hunted: Elk, Mule Deer

Total Outdoor Adventures filled a dream of a lifetime for me! They all did an excellent job and helped with the scoring and packing out of a very nice bull elk and a mule deer! It was so unbelievably awesome for me I don't know how to put it into words. The video I took of the trip will be cherished forever.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Jan 30, 2013

Outfitter Review: Total Outdoor Adventures, Ltd. - Grassmere BC

Outfitter / Owner: Vince Cocciolo

Hunter: Mark Morris

Animals Hunted: Elk, Mule Deer

Total Outdoor Adventures filled a dream of a lifetime for me! They all did an excellent job and helped with the scoring and packing out of a very nice bull elk and a mule deer! It was so unbelievably awesome for me I don't know how to put it into words. The video I took of the trip will be cherished forever.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Oct 12, 2012

Outfitter Review: Total Outdoor Adventures, Ltd. - Grassmere BC

Outfitter / Owner: Vince Cocciolo

Hunter: Matthew Mahoney

Animals Hunted: Elk, Mule Deer

Most challenging and rewarding hunt to date, over 100 game animals seen, 10 days of hard hunting to come away with a 6 by 5. Great people, food, accommodation, and awesome hospitality just like home away from home.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Aug 12, 2012

Outfitter Review: Kettle River Guides & Outfitters - Oliver BC

Outfitter / Owner: Melvin Kilback

Hunter: Monte Wooden

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

We were told our hunt would be for immature meat bull moose and whitetail bucks in the 140-170 range. They claimed a 98% success rate. They said only hunters that declined to shoot went empty handed.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Jul 26, 2012

Outfitter Review: Sawtooth Outfitters - Sparwood BC

Outfitter / Owner: Ryan Berard

Hunter: Lance Caskey

Animals Hunted: Rocky Mountain Goat

My son and I flew out of DFW to Spokane, WA and drove up to Cranbrook, BC. We hunted over Thanksgiving break so that my son would not miss much school. Due to the late season hunt and heavy snow, we could not stay in Ryan's hunting cabins in the backcountry. Instead, we were provided an awesome stay at the Buck & Nanny Lodge in Ta Ta Creek, B.C. We were treated like ROYALTY there. Special thanks to Dean and Ericka for all the great food and stories. Our guide for this goat hunt was Sebastian Croteau. We spent the first afternoon glassing for goats and had no trouble spotting numerous goats in 3 different areas. The next morning we were able to glass a good billy from the truck and decided to get closer. After about 30 minutes of hiking we were in shooting position and were able to knock the goat down. Only problem with this was having to get to him up the mountain. We spent the next 6 hours hiking and searching and were finally able to locate the goat. That 6 hours was the most exhilarating and exhausting time of my life. The next 5 days were spent hunting whitetails. We were extremely lucky to take a wolf on Thanksgiving morning that was crossing a pasture in the valley. Now we are just trying to figure out how to talk my wife into letting us go back to chase the goats again. I cannot say enough about Sebastian and Ryan. These guys know the country like the back of their hand.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Nov 26, 2011

Outfitter Review: Driftwood Valley Outfitters - Smithers BC

Outfitter / Owner: Derrick Mohr

Hunter: dan davis

Animals Hunted: not specified

after booking my hunt aug of 2010, i waited to hear from the outfitter with instructions/directions up until late july early aug of 2011, when i finally took it upon myself to call and request. After leaving several messages, derek finally called me back 2 weeks later. On to the hunt....It was horrible. In ten days, my guide and I saw one nanny with two kids, no billies. On the moose side of things, we saw 2 cows and a calf, no bulls. And I quote my guide" this is horrible, there are no animals here". Great thing to hear from your guide after you drop 12 grand. I was dropped of at blue lake, the country there is very limited. The terrain really limits a person to not a lot of huntable area. And yes i am in excellent shape, and can cover some ground. I was the camp cook, i cooked probably 70% of the meals.....the accomodations were ok, food was okay if you like game from last years hunters. After waiting two months to hear from the outfitter,to see if he would offer me a deal to return for a discounted price since we saw nothing in ten days, i decided to post this review. If you are looking to drop 12 grand plus on a trip up north, with an outfitter who does this on the side and doesnt really care, derek is the guy for you. And it was'nt just me, the hunters in camp before me got nothing, and the hunter at derek's other camp, drift, got nothing. So the odds for 2011 were fairly poor. I have been on other guided hunts and this one takes the cake for lousy. Sorry, but this was my honest experience.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Oct 17, 2011

Outfitter Review: Kispiox Valley Outfitters - Smithers BC

Outfitter / Owner: Clint Larson

Hunter: Chris Callinan

Animals Hunted: Rocky Mountain Goat

Clint Larson runs a great operation and goes to great lengths to ensure that you have the memorable experience that you came to Canada for. There was no aspect of the hunt that was disapointing, highely reccomended! I killed my Billy on day two, which left plenty of time to persue additional animals.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Aug 24, 2011

Outfitter Review: Mico Outdoor Adventures Ltd. - 100 Mile House BC

Outfitter / Owner: Brent Giles

Hunter: Marc Todaro

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer, Black Bear

Me and two of my hunting buddies hunted with Riverside Guide Service for a fall combo Whitetail/ Black Bear hunt in Oct 2010 . The Owner / Guide Tim Daley is an outstanding guy/Guide and will do everything he can to get you your game . Only reason i can say we all didnt harvest deer or bear is that it was very unseasonably warm this week and there wasnt much movement of game anywhere , nothing you can do about that. One Guy of three shot a nice 8 point the last morning that was the best weather day of them all. Would reccomend him in a heart beat, all of us are going back in 2011 for the same hunt again. Offers hunts in Maine and New brunswick Canada. Accomadation'sare nice new and clean.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Aug 4, 2011

Outfitter Review: McGregor River Outfitters - Prince George BC

Outfitter / Owner: Eric Hanson

Hunter: Earl Pulliam

Animals Hunted: Canada Moose

Hunted with guide Monte Schumann- Great skills- great effort- I think he is made of Kevlar- He obviously has being guiding a long time- Comfortable tent camp- good food. I took a bull on the last day- with 25 inch brow tines- what an awesome bull. Passed on smaller bulls earlier in hunt. I'm going on a goat hunt with him in 2012. Monte, Eric Hanson, wife Kelly and his two children are all a pleasure. Looking forward to 2012 Earl Pulliam

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Jul 22, 2011

Outfitter Review: Total Outdoor Adventures, Ltd. - Grassmere BC

Outfitter / Owner: Vince Cocciolo

Hunter: Len Whitney

Animals Hunted: Cougar Mountain Lion

I had the pleasure of going on a cougar hunt with Vince at Total Outdoor Adventures. We enjoyed an unusual amount of snow and cold temperatures that was hard on both the hunters and dogs but were able to push through the elements before taking that very special cougar. If you are wanting a quality fair chase hunt and want to hunt with professionals that have good equipment and great dogs, then Total Outdoors Adventures is your team. They have excellent knowledge of the game they hunt, and are committed to seeing that you have a successful hunt. I enjoyed the Total Outdoors Adventure operation so much that I have booked a Mtn Goat / Elk combo hunt for the fall 2011 season. 

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Jun 19, 2011

Outfitter Review: Bolen Lewis Trophy Guiding Co. - Terrace BC

Outfitter / Owner: Mike Lewis

Hunter: Dennis Tomlinson

Animals Hunted: Black Bear

Nice and clean lodge with great meals. It had four bedrooms each with two beds and a privite bath. The hunting was done on loging roads spot and stock glassing loging areas. Saw 10 to 20 bears a day and if you can hold off you can get a 6' to 7' bear. I shot a 6' chocolate bear four hours into the hunt. There was only one other hunter at the lodge. This is a two bear area.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Jun 9, 2011

Outfitter Review: Sawtooth Outfitters - Sparwood BC

Outfitter / Owner: Ryan Berard

Hunter: Lloyd Taylor

Animals Hunted: Black Bear

This was my 5th bear hunt in BC Canada and the 3rd time that I have hunted with Ryan Berard of Cranbrook BC. The country is just absolutely breath taking and the weather has always been mostly great with an occasional days of light rain. Ryan hunts with hounds and I might as well tell you that his hounds are flat unbelievable. While some might say that hunting with hounds is not as sporting, I am here to tell you that it is an all together different and very exciting way to hunt. There are some major advantages in hunting with hounds. When the bush is as thick, both uphill and downhill as it is in his area, it really helps to get the game pushed out to a point that you have plenty of time to check the animal out and pass on it if it is not what you are looking for. Ryan really knows just were to cross paths with the bear. We would start out every morning driving the logging roads with the hounds in the back of the truck. As we would drive down the road, Ryan would have two of his strike dogs on top of the dog box with the rest of them inside the box. As soon as we would drive over the scent trail of a bear that had crossed the road, the hounds would just absolutely cut loose with their very distinctive bellow. Ryan has worked with and trained his dogs so well, he can actually tell the difference from a scent drifting in the air current and a hard hit. When a hard hit is evident, he releases his strike dogs to pick up the scent trail. As soon as they hit the trail they make an immediate turn for the bear. When that happens he releases the rest of the dogs and the hunt is on. Soon after the release Ryan gets out his GPS unit and starts to track the hounds. Each dog has its own GPS collar and their location is continually being monitored by Ryan. He knows all of the logging roads in the area and can position and reposition the truck to follow the dogs, sometimes putting the truck in position to actually see the bear and the dogs in tow cross the road. It is really something to see when the chase happens right before your eyes. We found bear each day and on the third day the hounds treed a great bear about 350 yards off the main road. We had seen the bear cross the road and felt like it was a shooter. We parked as close as we could to the dogs’ position and took off walking into the bush, all the while getting closes and closer to the dogs. When the dogs came in sight we moved in closer to the tree. The tree was flat enormous and the bear was about 80 ft up into the tree. We could tell that the bear was in fact a shooter, so I dispatched the bear with a single shot from my 300 WSM. The bear actually measured out to be about a 6 ft – 2in bruin; my largest to date. All I can tell you is that the trip was unforgettable and I will return someday to hunt with Ryan again. I don’t care where you go or on what type of hunt, you will never come across a guide that works as hard and long as Ryan will. The man is part mountain goat – part pack mule. You cannot or will not go wrong with him and Sawtooth/Grizzly Basin Outfitters.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: May 22, 2011

Outfitter Review: Trophy West Guide Outfitters Ltd. - Campbell River BC

Outfitter / Owner: Brian Swift

Hunter: Don Sangster

Animals Hunted: Black Bear

Rugged country, but saw more bears in 5 days than I have in 25 years back home. Expect to spend lots of time driving and glassing, and you hunt all day. Guides and equipment are top notch. Food is fantastic. Lodge is nice. This area has some big bears.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Mar 7, 2011

Outfitter Review: Sawtooth Outfitters - Sparwood BC

Outfitter / Owner: Ryan Berard

Hunter: Doug Rowell

Animals Hunted: Cougar Mountain Lion

This was my third trip with sawtooth outfitters (bear and mtn.goat before). I really enjoy hunting with Ryan. He is not just a great houndsman he is also a great guide. Even when the temperature was -15 Fahrenheit and blowing winds he was out on the snowmobile looking for tracks. The conditions weren't perfect for hunting (when are they ever?) but Ryan and Kyle kept trying and eventually found a track with quite a bit of snow in it. It took the dogs quite a while to sort out the track but eventually got on the cougar and got him treed. Hope to get back up there again some day.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Mar 6, 2011

Outfitter Review: Sugar Valley Outfitters, Ltd. - Cherryville BC

Outfitter / Owner: Scott MacKenzie

Hunter: Joe Zalewski

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

I hunted with Scott McKenzie the owner in 07 and 08 for big whiteail deer. I have very bad arthritic knees. Scott found spots for me that I could get in and out of. Both hunts I shot a nice 140 BC buck. These deer are very big bodies and dark very heavy racks. Scott have many camera set up that he and guides check every day. Then at night after looking an evaluating all the photos plans will be made for the next days hunt. There is some real nice mule deer there also. If going for whitetail I would recommend the mid to late November. It wll make sure you hitthe rut. Every hunter in camp had a chance or shot a real nice buck. You stay in your own cabin with wood stove with a nice trout stream flowing 50 ft. away. This is a real DEER CAMP. Jody the cook makes the best lunchs and food not to mention a real great baker and makes the BEST muffins I ever ate. Everything right down to the throphy care packaging for home was excellent. I give his 5 stars

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Feb 26, 2011

Outfitter Review: Total Outdoor Adventures, Ltd. - Grassmere BC

Outfitter / Owner: Vince Cocciolo

Hunter: Scott Blackwell

Animals Hunted: Elk, Rocky Mountain Goat

During the first week of October 2010, my wife Nancy and I had a hunt booked with Vince and Lisa Cocciolo of Total Outdoor Adventures in British Columbia.This was our fourth hunt with Total Outdoor Adventures and each hunt has been a great experience. We have been so impressed with the friendly atmosphere at their camp. The food and accommodations are top notch. The guides are knowledgeable, professional, and work hard to insure their hunter has a quality experience. The horses are dependable and easy to handle-even for someone like me who does not have much riding experience. The scenery and the amount of game in this area has to be seen to be believed. On our October 2010 hunt we saw many goats, elk, deer, moose, and two grizzly bears. We were guided by Nate and Troy and they helped me get a beautiful bull elk-my first elk ever. Nancy and I were absolutely thrilled with this trophy! I could list many examples of how helpful the people at the camp were to all the hunters and how well we were treated during our hunts. I know I cannot find the words to thank Vince, Lisa, Nate , and Troy for providing us with memories that will last a lifetime. We have booked another hunt for October of 2012 and are looking forward to another great hunt!

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Feb 3, 2011

Outfitter Review: Canadian Guide Outfitters Ltd. - Port McNeil BC

Outfitter / Owner: Sean Lingl

Hunter: Christian Gustavsen

Animals Hunted: Black Bear

I went hunting with Sean Lingl on Vancouver Island for the second time in may 2010. Just like the first time we saw lots of bears and bear sign every day. My guide Ryan Hartling had me on several large bears and on the last day of the hunt i shot my biggest black bear ever....well over 7 feet and 20 inch skull. Food, lodge,area and guides are realy first class. i would strongly recomend this hunt if you want an island bear.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Jan 19, 2011

Outfitter Review: Kettle River Guides & Outfitters - Oliver BC

Outfitter / Owner: Melvin Kilback

Hunter: Beware Be warned

Animals Hunted: Elk

Poor game quality and poor quantityHeavy hunting pressure by localsHunting pressure by native Canadians who are not required follow game laws guides inexperienced

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Dec 23, 2010

Outfitter Review: McGregor River Outfitters - Prince George BC

Outfitter / Owner: Eric Hanson

Hunter: charlie schneider

Animals Hunted: Canada Moose

finally a no bs outfitter hunt was exactaly what was promised i hunted spike camp with guide monte. camp was profesionaly set up food was good and plently of it not five star but this was spike camp. took nice bull on day 5 very pleased with effort put forth by monte hunted dawn til dark every day traveling and calling in many spots with good sign covered many miles walking and driving between spots verywell scouted out ahead of time other hunter in camp earl took great bull last day. cant thank eric enough for pairing me up with another hunter of such good quality since i travel alone not an easy thing to do. visited eric in other camp on my last day where his hunters also shot great bulls. eric is not just the owner but a guide out their working his butt of for his hunters. cant wait to go back

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Oct 19, 2010

Outfitter Review: Total Outdoor Adventures, Ltd. - Grassmere BC

Outfitter / Owner: Vince Cocciolo

Hunter: Rex Heckelman

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer, Elk, Black Bear, Rocky Mountain Goat, Shiras Moose

After reading reviews of Total Outdoor Adventures, I thought I would add my experiences to the file. I have hunted successfully on every hunt with Vince over the last 3 years. Animals taken are black bear, 6 point elk, Shiras moose, whitetail deer, mountain lion, and a Rocky Mountain goat. I am 50 years old, in pretty good shape, and for every hunt (after the first, black bear), have trained for a month before the trip to try to get in mountain shape. I am amazed by the way most hunters do not prepare for this type of Rocky Mountain wilderness hunting and I have seen their lack of preparation have a negative impact on their hunt. I have hunted from the main lodge, spike camps, on foot, on horse, and with dogs and each has provided the expected experience. The main lodge has all the comforts of a hotel - hot showers, flush toilets, great food, satellite TV, and heated cabins. The spike camps are 8 x 12 cabins out in the middle of the wilderness with wood heat. Hunting on foot (for mountain goat) gave the opportunity for some 3-4 hour mountain hikes (both ways). I had never ridden a horse before and was given Stormy as my horse. He was the perfect match and I had absolutely no trouble. Hunting mountain lion with Vince's dogs was an unbelievable experience for me compared to a similar cougar hunt I went on in southern Colorado. The cat I got was about 175# and as a group, all five hunters that week got their mountain lions. His dogs are awesome. On the moose hunt, we stalked 4 moose on the way into the spike camp. We looked at 7 others before shooting a 45 inch double-forked brow tine bull. My elk is a 6x5 that was called in to 47 yards. I got my 9 1/4 inch mountain goat on the next to last day of the hunt and we got to within 50 yards of 2 billys that were having a sparring match and didn't know we were there. I know that I have been incredibly fortunate hunting with Vince because my buddy has also been hunting there numerous times and has only gotten a mountain goat. He has hunted black bear and grizzly bear 3 or 4 times and has seen and missed several animals. He accepts the responsibility for missing and doesn't blame anyone or anything but himself. He is going back this year for a moose hunt in about 2 weeks. We have hunted in Texas, Montana, and Africa as well, and the biggest difference between hunting there and hunting in Canada is the size of the area and the lack of a fence. Hunting at Total Outdoor Adventures is true wilderness hunting. There are no guarantees of killing an animal. You are hunting, not killing something standing at a feeder or that has been chased into a corner of the fence. Don't get me wrong, I have enjoyed hunting that way too and still do here in Texas for wild hogs and deer. You just have to understand the difference between the two. I will be going back to Vince for a black bear hunt with dogs and also on another elk hunt in the future. Total Outdoor Adventures has provided both me and my buddy excellent hunting experiences.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Oct 17, 2010

Outfitter Review: North Anzac Guides and Outfitters - Prince George BC

Outfitter / Owner: Robert Dunlop

Hunter: alan wells

Animals Hunted: Canada Moose

great moose hunt 1st day out took a 49'' moose saw 2 grizzly 6 black bear 1 caribou and 9 moosebob and guides matt and adam worked hard to get everyone in camp oppurtunity on moose

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Sep 11, 2010

Outfitter Review: Calamity Creek Guide Outfitters - Cranbrook BC

Outfitter / Owner: Brad Park

Hunter: Peter Higgelke

Animals Hunted: Elk

Bought trip for my son and I as experience of a lifetime. Definitely did not work out that way.Although remote horse back trip was requested, ended up in trucks for the first four days competing with locals. Where were the hrseback trips into the Purcells as advertised.Worked very hard to find game and did not, but thats how hunting can go. Owner was ansent for much of the first part of our trip. Party from rifle manufacturer showed up and they got remote trip and oodles of attention including from the owner. We found out where the owner's priority was.Guides were inexperienced but tried hard. We certainly pushed for an experience but other than fine scenery, got little in return.Post trip contact to owner resulted in no returns.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Sep 9, 2010

Outfitter Review: Sawtooth Outfitters - Sparwood BC

Outfitter / Owner: Ryan Berard

Hunter: Joel McDaniel

Animals Hunted: Elk

Having just returned from a very succesful Elk hunt with Sawtooth Outfitters, I decided to write this review. This was my second hunt with this outfit, the first being a succesful cougar hunt last year. Firstly the Elk were abundant and 4 out of the 6 days we called in mature bulls (one within 3 yards!). My guide, Ryan Berard was very experienced and knowledgable and in my opinion did everything he could to make this a great experience for me. The main camps, spike camps and tent camps where well equiped. Good meals, quads and pack horses were included. The hunting area is huge, I completely felt like the only hunter in the area. The terrain tested my endurance but at my own request, easier terrain was available. I highly recommend Craig and Ryan at Sawtooth Outfitters, they take this very seriously and are operating a professional guiding service in a region that is an incredible place to hunt.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Aug 12, 2010

Outfitter Review: Total Outdoor Adventures, Ltd. - Grassmere BC

Outfitter / Owner: Vince Cocciolo

Hunter: Scott MacWhinnie

Animals Hunted: Elk, Mule Deer, Black Bear

Last fall I (and a friend) hunted with Total Outdoor Adventures and Vince Ciccola. I have been on over 30 big game guided hunts, and would rate this hunt as one of the worst and disappointing hunts I have been on. I was told the outside hunting pressure was non-existant (seen over 12 other hunters), that booked hunters were acceptable (over-booked and short on guides, horses, tack, supplies ,etc.). The guides were literally fighting at one point- one of which I taught how to bugle elk! When Vince came into our camp and all four hunting clients complained of the obvious problems, we were told to "hunt harder". Trails were not cut, scouting hadn't been utilized as promised, and there was more emphasis placed on additional costs and "fines" than spent on ensuring clients a quality experience and hunt. I prepared for three months prior to my hunt to be in "mountain shape" and wish as much effort was expended by Vince and his crew. The weather was terrible (over 70 degrees each day) for elk and deer hunting but you have to chalk that up to fate! My guide and cook/wrangler were great ( not the experience of my friend and two other clients in our camp), but did not make up for the lies and propaganda spun by Vince.

Hunter Rating

Submit Date: Aug 2, 2010

Outfitter Review: Calamity Creek Guide Outfitters - Cranbrook BC

Outfitter / Owner: Brad Park

Hunter: LLOYD TAYLOR

Animals Hunted: Black Bear

This was the worst hunt that a hunter could ever go on. On my first trip we saw a few bears but never had a decent shot at one. The place we stayed had no shower or running water and the overall kitchen cleanness was very scary. The main problem was that the outfitter, Brad Park, was rarely on site. He left the hunting totally up to his guides. While one of his guides was very knowledgeable, for the most part they did not get along with each other. Anyway, I left without a bear. Park was decent enough to invite me back the next year at a much-reduced price. I made the trip and discovered that the lodge had been finished but all of the guides were different the second year with the exception of one of the better guides. Again, Park was never around and the guides had a testosterone thing going on again and did not get along. I did end up shooting a bear. I was hunting with Park at the time and we saw a bear. I was told that the bear was about a 4-1/2 footer. It was close to the end of the hunt and I decided to take the bear. The bear was shot but ground shrunk to about 3-1/2 foot. It was in such poor shape that the meat was left on the hill to rot. When I left for the states, I asked Park to please take my bear to a local taxidermist and have the hide and skull prepped to be sent to the US. After several phone calls, emails, investigations by sever law enforcement agencies in BC, still no bear. For some reason Park cannot figure out the paperwork to have it sent to the states. Two years, close to 8,000.00 invested, one poor 3-1/2 foot sow, and nothing to show for my effort. Be advised!

Submit Date: Apr 25, 2010

Outfitter Review: Nakalat Lodge Company - BC

Outfitter / Owner: Joe Bowen

Hunter: Tim Dennis

Animals Hunted: Moose

Joe Bowen took our deposits and never provided a hunt. He left the Nakalat Lodge before our scheduled hunt and the lodge wouldn't honor the hunt because the he took the deposits when he left! If anyone knows how to get ahold of this person please contact me.

Submit Date: Apr 12, 2010

Outfitter Review: Bugle Basin Outfitters - BC

Outfitter / Owner: Alex/Lori Smutny

Hunter: Glen Sawhill

Animals Hunted: Elk, Sheep,Mule Deer, Goat, Gizzly Bear

A great place to experience. An abundance of game, great food and a solid group of hard working guides.Make sure you bring your camera as it's an experience you don't want to forget.Please feel free to contact me as a reference if you are considering Bugle Basin as your outfitter.

Submit Date: Feb 25, 2010

Outfitter Review: Tracks, BC - British Columbia

Outfitter / Owner: Gary Drinkall

Hunter: David Cain

Animals Hunted: Whitetail Deer

Hunted first nine days of November 2009,Full Moon Rut was not on. Saw twenty plus Deer each time I was on the stand. Saw a few shooters,under tough conditions. On day five me and my guide decided to put on a spot and stalk. I took a 144 inch nine point. Talked to Gary after the season,they got some monsters when the RUT got going. Several Record Book Bucks. Will be going back.

Submit Date: Feb 15, 2010

Outfitter Review: Bugle Basin Outfitters - British Columbia

Outfitter / Owner: Alex and Lori Smutny

Hunter: Glen Sawhill

Animals Hunted: Elk, Sheep, Mtn. Goat, Bear, Mule Deer

Outstanding all around experience! Alex and Lori Smutny of Bugle Basin Outfitters head up a First Class operation. Great territory with lots of critters to pick from. Hard working, professional guides will customize your hunt to ensure you have the hunt of a lifetime. Beautiful base camp, as well as a few spike camps provides the necessary accommodations to compliment your hunt. Gordy’s cooking is second to none. Can't wait to go back!

Submit Date: Feb 13, 2010

Outfitter Review: Total Outdoor Adventures - BC

Outfitter / Owner: Vince Cocciolo

Hunter: Jeff McNelley

Animals Hunted: Elk, bear

This hunt is the great get you there, then get the details that weren't mentioned previously. Vince has to be one of the greatest con men ever to be an outfitter. while my partner did kill an elk, he was soon disappointed to learn that in order to get it out, it would take additional help other than his guide, and the cost for these extra helpers was $300.00 dollars a day each. Because the trails hadn't been cleared before season, it took 3 extra helpers to clear the trail for the horses. My buddy ended up having to pay $1,500.00 dollars just to recover his elk. Then Vince charged him $200.00 to take it to his [ vinces] buther, about 2 hours away. he also charged him to take the cape and horns to town so it could be shipped. if you wanted to use the internet, there was a steep charge affixed to that. if you wounded an animal, you will also be charged 1500.00 if you survive all the different fees, you will find the camp to be very disorganized,lack of horses so you better be willing to walk a long ,steep way, and about half the guides; new,unexperienced,and just wanting the week to end so you can leave, and they can get what little money vince will pay them. there are far to many places to go elk hunting than to have to go to t.o.a. vince cocciolo. feel free to contact me via e mail with questions

Submit Date: Feb 12, 2010

Outfitter Review: Vince Cocciolo - British Columbia

Outfitter / Owner: Vince

Hunter: Dan Paul

Animals Hunted: deer elk

Vince is a wonderful sales man on the phone he is smoother than silk! In camp he is one of the funniest people you will ever meet! He is a cunning person and will take the money right out of your pocket 1 he sold me and 3 of my buddies hunts at 4k each i did shoot a 260 inch young elk out of desperation then he tells me its another 1000 dollars to have it packed out. When you get done hunting at night you are not allowed to eat until every one gets back to camp does not matter if you are back at camp early or not. Much of the time no food until midnight. Very, very, very rugged country and if your not careful you will burn your legs out. My 4k hunt ended up costing me 7200 dollars for a very small elk. Vince will nickle and dime u to death. I almost forgot to tell u that he has locks on all the food cabinets. The food is under lock and key! He is looking for investors to help save the business! If u want to go on a hunting trip and sit around camp and laugh your head off then go spend a week with the man! However if you want to kill a nice elk or mule deer I suggest you go else where !

Submit Date: Jan 18, 2010

Outfitter Review: Shadow Mountain Outfitters - British Columbia

Outfitter / Owner: Oz and Tim Faiers

Hunter: gregg rickabaugh

Animals Hunted: cougar

Oz and Tim and very humble and honest. Great lodge-very hard working. I would hunt anything with them. I will go back--without question

Submit Date: Sep 28, 2009

Outfitter Review: Stone Mountain Safaris - British Columbia

Outfitter / Owner: Leif/Kellie Olson

Hunter: Jim Bernardin

Animals Hunted: Elk/Moose

I have hunted throughout North America and my recent trip with Stone Mountain Safaris ranks as the best. The total professionalism of the entire staff;the quality of equipment , horses etc was all first rate. The variety and abundance of game is simply hard to imagine unless you experience it for yourself.Leif and Kellie Olson, and Jim Fulton are truly fine people and the guides, wrangler and camp cook are exceptional folks.I took a very nice moose and a 6 x 5 bull elk. The care of the meat and capes was exceptional and everything was kept in good order.Obviously, this is a first rate outfitter and worthy of your consideration for stone sheep, moose, elk, mountain goat or grizzly. I will go again as sson as possible!

Submit Date: Sep 5, 2009

Outfitter Review: Calamity Creek Guide Outfitters - British Columbia

Outfitter / Owner: Brad Park

Hunter: Scott Bianchini

Animals Hunted: Black bear

Beautiful area, nice lodge, but poor bear population. This may have been the result of a cold 09 spring-Not sure. Most of the guides refused to hunt until late in afternoon despite the hunters begging to get into the woods to hunt. This upset all of the hunters in camp-including me. During the week I hunted, I had two opportunities to shoot. I passed on one, and missed on the other. The area is also used by local hunters and hikers which was slightly irritating.Overall, the guides were nice, decent people, but I didn't see them working very hard to find bears for their clients. My guide, (Milo) was a workhorse though. If you hunt there, I would definitely ask for him-just make sure he knows that you don't want to sit around the lodge all day.

Submit Date: Apr 18, 2009

Outfitter Review: BUGLE BASIN OUTFITTERS - BRITISH COLUMBIA

Outfitter / Owner: ALEX SMUTNY

Hunter: JOHN CLAUSEN

Animals Hunted: ELK/MULE DEER

THIS WAS MY SECOND HUNT WITH ALEX AND BUGLE BASIN. ALEX CUSTOMIZES THE HUNT TO FIT EACH CLIENT. WE HUNTED ON HORSEBACK OUT OF A SPIKE CAMP. WE SAW MULTIPLE 6 POINT ELK AND LOTS OF OTHER BUGLING ACTION. SAW LOTS OF DEER, SHEEP, GOATS AND OTHER WILDLIFE. HARVESTED A NICE BULL AND A GNARLY MULE DEER BUCK. THEY KNOW THE COUNTRY AND THE ANIMALS. IT IS SOME OF THE MOST BEAUTIFUL COUNTRY I'VE EVER SEEN. I BOOKED AGAIN WITH ALEX FOR 2010.

Submit Date: Feb 5, 2009

Outfitter Review: Chilcotin Holidays - BC

Outfitter / Owner: Kevan Bracewell

Hunter: Bob Flowers

Animals Hunted: Mule Deer/Black Bear

Six day hunt. Saw no animals at all. Seven hunters in camp. One mule deer shot. Outpost camp 9 hour horseback ride. Camp had rats as big as squirrels. Food was terrible. Guide was unprofessional. Only good thing about the trip was the scenery. Don't ever hunt with this outfitter. It's really a dude ranch.

Submit Date: Feb 3, 2009

Outfitter Review: North Anzac Outfitters - British Columbia

Outfitter / Owner: Bob Dunlop

Hunter: Jason O'Brien

Animals Hunted: Moose

The owner Bob Dunlop and guides were all capable hunters and easy to get along with. I was successful and harvested a beautiful moose, 8X12 and 43 inches wide. Although I was successful I couldnÂ’t recommend North Anzac Outfitters to anyone. ItÂ’s the little things that make a hunt of a lifetime successful, not just harvesting an animal. For two days of the hunt there was only a block of cheese, bread, and some granola bars for lunch. Additional supplies were brought back to camp on the fourth night of the hunt. Dinners were excellent. The accommodations were nice and what I expected for a wilderness hunting camp. There was a propane four burner stove, gas lanterns, and an emergency generator if needed. There were three hunters in camp and two moose harvested. The other successful hunter harvested his moose on day five of the six-day hunt. He was told it was too late to process any meat for the flight home and to work it out with me if he wanted meat to take back. I had no problem splitting the meat with the other hunter, but think the outfitter should have immediately taken the meat to the processor with a rush order. The hunter whom didnÂ’t harvest a moose had a chain smoker for a guide. He even smoked while walking into the areas they were going to hunt. Any hunter knows smoking greatly reduces your chances of success regardless of game being hunted. The unsuccessful hunter wasnÂ’t allowed to hunt the evening of the last day of the hunt, because the new hunters had to be picked up at the airport. Who knows maybe that hunter would have harvested his animal the last ten minutes of light that evening. If you pay for a six-day hunt you should be allowed to hunt six full days. Finally when one hunter harvested any animal the other hunters had to stop hunting so their guides could help out. Great teamwork, but the other hunters lost a lot of hunting time when this occurred. Jason OÂ’Brien

Submit Date: Jan 12, 2009

Outfitter Review: Okanagan Outfitter - BC

Outfitter / Owner: Marc Hubbard

Hunter: Harvey Hummel

Animals Hunted: elk

I hunted with Marc in September 2006 and was successful on my first ever elk hunt after 3 hard days of hunting. The guides worked incredibly hard to help me harvest my elk and were excellent at calling the bull in. I finished my hunt unsuccessfully trying to get a mule deer. Every aspect of my hunt exceed my expectations and I would hightly recommend hunting with Okanagan outfitters.

Submit Date: Jan 6, 2009

Outfitter Review: BC Safaris Ltd - British Columbia

Outfitter / Owner: Shane Black/Keith Connors

Hunter: Ed Swanson

Animals Hunted: Stone Sheep

I Finished my Grand Slam with a Stone Sheep in 2007. I was 67. Keith Connors was my guide and got me the ram I wanted. Everything was as promised and the horses were truly incredible. See article in "Wild Sheep" 2008 summer edition.

Submit Date: Dec 12, 2008

Outfitter Review: Bugle Basin - BC

Outfitter / Owner: Alex Smutny

Hunter: frank bubbico

Animals Hunted: mt.goat

my third hunt with alex and guide bruce.a very hard mountain hunt but had an opportunity at a nice billy near the end of the hunt and blew the shot.overall a great hunt and plan to return in the future for either moose or mountain grizzly.

Submit Date: Dec 12, 2008

Outfitter Review: Bugle Basin Outfitters - British Columbia

Outfitter / Owner: Alex/Lori Smutny

Hunter: Manny Reichek

Animals Hunted: Elk

What a great hunting experience and what a great Bull Elk I was able to shoot. Alex and Lori Smutny owners of Bugle Basin Outfitters showed me a wonderful time while hunting.Not only was the meals at the main camp a gourmet experience but the accommodations were first class. Alex was my guide and he worked hard to find me that 6x6 bull that I was in search of. If you wish to see beautiful country,see lots of trophy game,make life long memories and most of all make a new friend.

Submit Date: Dec 11, 2008

Outfitter Review: Tahltan Outfitters - British Columbia

Outfitter / Owner: Carmen Nyuli/Jim Peterson

Hunter: Kent Karolik

Animals Hunted: Stone Sheep

Had a great hunt. Perhaps the toughest, most satisfying hunt I've ever experienced. Jim and Carmen are both quality people who bust thier tails to get you on the best game possible. More than once I was told to hold my shot as they felt they could get me a better trophy - and they did. Their concession is absolutely beautiful. Not only did we see plenty of sheep but caribou, moose (one was 65+ inch), and mountain goats were all over the place.

Submit Date: Oct 30, 2008

Outfitter Review: Beaverfoot Outfitting - British Columbia

Outfitter / Owner: Troy Wolfenden

Hunter: Jack Shanks

Animals Hunted: Mt goat

I had a great hunt with Beaverfoot Outfitting near Golden BC in September 08. The food and lodging were first rate as well as all personnel in the camp. The owner guide, Troy Wolfenden worked hard throughout the hunt to get me in position to take a goat with traditional archery equipment. He succeeded in doing that but I failed to make the shot. I couldn't ask for a better opportunity than I had and was happy to settle for a nice billy with a rifle toward the end of my hunt. Great, hard working outfitter and crew!

Submit Date: Oct 11, 2008

Outfitter Review: Total Outdoor Adventures - BC

Outfitter / Owner: Vince Cocciolo

Hunter: dave bux

Animals Hunted: elk/mulies

i booked a elk/mulie hunt. when i got in my guides truck to go hunting there was a dvd on the front seat titled HOW TO FIND AND LOCATE ELK not a good sign.the guides woodsmanship skills were poor at best(good thing i had a gps)she had to radio in to base camp to get directions to the area we were going to hunt,i asked her what that was about and she told me I,M NOT FAMILAR WITH THE TERRITORY!not a confidence builder .the guide told me she was the horse person (wrangler)but was asked to guide by vince when another guide had quit in the middle of pevious week. that explains why she cared more about taking care of the horses than hunting.on the last day of my hunt i saw the only animal i saw the entire hunt a goat about 1/2 mile away,the guide asked me to get out my spotting scope (why she didn't have one?)so she could look at the goat i asked her why? she told me they had a goat hunter comming in next week!i asked her if she had a hunter last week spotting game for me? since this was the only game i saw all week and i was after elk/mulies. i asked vince about the dvd he told me that he also watches these dvd's i talked to vince about the horse senario and how it worked when i hunted in montana and he told me i should hunt in montana then! many more things feel free to call me about more details 267 253 8601

Submit Date: Sep 29, 2008

Outfitter Review: Findlay Creek Outfitters - BC

Outfitter / Owner: Mike Christensen

Hunter: Robert Whitehead

Animals Hunted: ELK

10 DAY ELK HUNT, 1 DAY IN AND 1 DAY OUT...SAW NUMEROUS GAME ANIMALS ALONG WITH GREAT QUALITY ELK. HARVESTED 6 X 5 BULL. THIS OUTFIT WAS MORE THEN WHAT I EXPECTED. VERY GOOD AREA. GUIDES WORKED WITH YOU, MADE YOU FEEL A PART OF EVERYTHING, WERE VERY PLEASANT AND FUN, VERY HELPFUL, HARD WORKING, KNOW THEIR STUFF 30-40 YEARS EXPERIENCE...FOOD WAS GREAT, HORSES VERY GOOD, SCENERY OUTSTANDING, CAMPS CLEAN AND LOCATED IN VERY GOOD LOCATIONS WITHIN HUNTING AREA WITH OUTFITTERS EXCLUSIVE RIGHTS. RECOMMEND HIGHLY

Submit Date: Aug 20, 2008

Outfitter Review: Kispiox Valley Outfitters - BC

Outfitter / Owner: Clint Larson

Hunter: Bill

Animals Hunted: Mountain Goat

This was my first mountain goat hunt but by no means my first guided hunt. This was an extremely difficult (physically) back pack hunt in steep terrain. Be prepared and get into shape and buy the best boots you can find! Anyway, I found Clint to be one of the most professional guides/outfitters I have ever worked with. He made sure I was well taken care of in all respects. The food was delicious and we even ate fresh vegetable out of his very own garden! I saw numerous goats just on my first day up on the mountain. I was fortunate enough to take a very nice billy which we green scored at 52". He looked more like a horse than a mountain goat! The scenery is spectacular in the area. I was very pleased with this hunt and feel comfortable highly recommending Kispiox Valley Outfitters.

Submit Date: Jun 7, 2008

Outfitter Review: Inzana Outfitters - BC

Outfitter / Owner: Paul Trepus

Hunter: Paul Andersen

Animals Hunted: Black Bear

My friend, Randy and I went to B.C. to try our luck at black ber hunting. To say we had a great hunt would be an understatement. We saw at least 20 black bears, and after a few unsuccessful stalks where we got busted by the wind, we did manage to get within range and we both got beautiful mature bears. Randy's was a nice chocolate bear that squared out at 6'3" and I connected on a black bear that measured 6'6" and made the mountain hunter record book with a skull measurement of 18 1/16". Paul Trepus is an excellent guide/outfitter and worked hard to make our hunt enjoyable and successful. I highly recomment him to anyone lookinf for a fair chase hunting adventure.

Submit Date: Jun 5, 2008

Outfitter Review: Inzana Outfiters - British Columbia

Outfitter / Owner: Paul Trepus

Hunter: R Stalter

Animals Hunted: Black bear

This outfitter did exactly what he promised.Paul Trepus knew exactly where to find the bears every day.My bear was a chocolate brown that measured 6'3" and my hunting partner's was 6'6" and it's skull made it into the record book.Paul runs a clean honest operation, he will tell you exactly what to expect.If anyone plans to go on a bear hunt this is the place to go ,I have never been so impressed with an outfitter before. British Coumbia is strictly spot and stalk and we were both done by the third day.

Submit Date: Feb 14, 2008

Outfitter Review: Shesley River Outfitters - British Columbia

Outfitter / Owner: Rudy Day

Hunter: Curt Babler

Animals Hunted: Moose, mountain caribou, mountain goat, Grizzly

Having harvested a 60" Canadian Moose, a B&C Caribou, a 10" mountain goat, a Grizzly and two black bears with Rudy I'll say this is a great place to go for a high quality game rich hunting experience! Guides GREW up in these mountains and know them better than most of the animals that live there!Cabins with stoves, hot showers and great food round out the trip!All costs were known up front so there are no surprises!

Submit Date: Feb 14, 2008

Outfitter Review: Shesley River Outfitters - British Columbia

Outfitter / Owner: Rudy Day

Hunter: Lance Green

Animals Hunted: Moose & Mountain goat

Bagging a 56" Canadian Moose and a 10" mountain goat were the highlights of a 10 day hunt! Weather was great until it was time to leave. Warm cabins and even the spike camps were awesome!

Submit Date: Dec 20, 2007

Outfitter Review: Back Country Outfitters - British Columbia

Outfitter / Owner: Mark Werner

Hunter: Jim Given

Animals Hunted: Moose/Bear/Elk

Very Disappointed with service and attitude by outfitter to hunters. Mislead all of us about type of hunt, and what to expect in terms of game. New website is VERY misleading, he has no float plane! Beware for Moose, would have to say he does have a good spot for Black Bear.

Submit Date: Oct 8, 2007

Outfitter Review: Indian River Ranch Hunts - British Columbia

Outfitter / Owner: Allan Larson

Hunter: John Brooks

Animals Hunted: Moose

This was a Moose hunt on the Yukon border in a remote area in the N.W. corner of B.C. acessable by float plane. This was my first and last horseback hunt. The mounts were good but I have discovered that I am no horseman. My guide was a second generation native indian biggame guide from the Yukon named Mike and I can tell you that he was well experienced. Over a 10 day period we saw 12 moose of which 5 were bulls. On the eighth day I shot a 55" bull that Mike called to my gun. I saw one larger bull the following day from camp. Good country, good outfitter, great experience. You can check out his website at www.irrhunting.com

Submit Date: Aug 26, 2007

Outfitter Review: Rocky Mountain Adventures - British Columbia

Outfitter / Owner: David Tremmier

Hunter: Richard Drewry

Animals Hunted: black bear

David Tremmier got the dates of our scheduled hunt messed up and I had to get the outfitters association involved to get the dates we had bargained for. After that happened he definitely had a negative attitude.I feel he could better serve the public as a "used car salesmen" I feel he is totally dishonest in representing what you will get on your hunt.

Submit Date: Jun 9, 2007

Outfitter Review: Backcountry Outfitters - British Columbia

Outfitter / Owner: Mark Weriner

Hunter: stephen heins

Animals Hunted: Black Bear

My father and I were hunting black bear.Saw tons of game moose deer grizz elk and blackies my father took a great bear.Do not plan on loosing weight asfor they cook good food and plenty of it.I am going back next year and taking my son!! You wont be disapointed hunting with these guys

Submit Date: Apr 28, 2007

Outfitter Review: Tall Grass Outfitters - BC

Outfitter / Owner: Tim Stevenson

Hunter: robert huratiak

Animals Hunted: black bear

i did an early spring bear hunt last year ( 06 ) with tim. i was very happy with the quailty & size of the bears; also saw a couple of different color phases. we used a 4 wheel drive truck & a 4- wheeler to reach our tent camps; which is nesecarry to get to the remote spot& stalk areas. i harvested a beutiful 450lb. black bear early in the week . which gave me an oppurtunity to purchase another licence. we went back out to the remote areas & one evening we saw a color phase; this first night it got to dark to take a shot. two nights later; not far from the same area; i got a chance to take an apox. 350lb. cin. color phase; unfortunately i missed. but that is part of what hunting is all about. i would like to go back next yr. for my color phase bear; if my work schedule will allow me to.

Submit Date: Apr 11, 2007

Outfitter Review: Liard River Adventures - BC

Outfitter / Owner: Chris Schippman

Hunter: Mike Lineberger

Animals Hunted: Moose/ Caribou/ Grizz

I spoke to Chris for 11 months before the hunt,My guide was his brother Ty, We hunted an areacalled Lost and Found. No other humans within20 miles of us. I took a near book Caribou,a Great Moose, and if I hand not been, $ tight,I would have also taken a 8 to 9' Griz. I willbe sick the rest of my life, for not buying the tag,..If every hunter,would have been preparedto shoot 350 to 450 yds. The hunt would havebeen 100 percent..This is the first outfitter that I have hunted with that backed up every promise. At the same time was honest.

Submit Date: Feb 1, 2007

Outfitter Review: Kettle River - BC

Outfitter / Owner: Melvin Kilback

Hunter: Kelly Shannon

Animals Hunted: Elk

Paid for 1x1 guided,didn't receive what we paid for, no game seen only 1 buck deer in 6 days, no legal elk Very incompetant guide all he wanted to do was go to the bars.

Submit Date: Jan 4, 2007

Outfitter Review: Canadian Guide Outfitters - British Columbia

Outfitter / Owner: Sean Lingl

Hunter: John Dunkle Jr

Animals Hunted: Whitetail

Sean is hunting an excellent area for trophy whitetails. My dad and I enjoyed the hunt and the guides. I predict 200+ class whitetails will be taken there very soon. John DunkleAltoona, PA.

Submit Date: Dec 24, 2006

Outfitter Review: Mcgregor River Outfitters - British Columbia

Outfitter / Owner: Eric Hansen

Hunter: David B Bogard

Animals Hunted: Black Bear

Eric does a very nice job as an outfitter. The accomidations were comfortable, the food was good, and I felt that Eric, his wife Kelly, and my guide were working very hard to ensure my hunt and my stay was a great experience.

Submit Date: Dec 20, 2006

Outfitter Review: Van Tine Guiding & Outfitting - BC

Outfitter / Owner: Ron Van Tine

Hunter: Alan Kloepfer (NY USA)

Animals Hunted: Black Bear

Awesome spot and stalk hunt. Numerous bears daily.Guide Bob Peable outstanding all around woodsman w/incredible vision. Bob's wife was camp cook and her meals were top shelf and not easily prepared without alot of prep and effort. Only 2 hunters in camp my week and the next week too. I was one on one after the other hunter tagged out. He has gone there 4 times. I took 2 bears that week. They both squared six feet but we did see larger. Did see cinamon and one grizz. Very exciting hunt. On last day I took second bear which charged right at me from 40 yards. Bob and I both opened up on him and he dropped at six paces. Unbelievable!!! My ears are still ringing.Expect shots from 250 to 30 yards. All spot and stalk w/ 4x4 used to get to the endless clear cuts.

Submit Date: Dec 10, 2006

Outfitter Review: Back Country Outfitters - BC

Outfitter / Owner: Mark Wernner

Hunter: Larry Johnson

Animals Hunted: Moose- Elk-Black bear-Deer

This hunt was everything we were told that it would be and more. I took my wife on this trip and she had a great time as well. Food was out of this world.I would have no problem sending any one on this hunt,you will be well taken care of.And should have several shot opportunitys.

Submit Date: Nov 20, 2006

Outfitter Review: Total Outdoor Adventures - British Columbia

Outfitter / Owner: Vince Cocciolo

Hunter: Dave Varley

Animals Hunted: elk, mulie, black bear, deer

I booked combo hunt. Many chances at different game? Wasn't pointed out that bear are mostly in the spring and mulies don't move down until usually around Nov. Saw a few very small whitetails. Touted as a spike camp hunt, but seemed they avoided that option once there. Not very organized. Took lots of stuff I didn't need just to stay in main camp. Guide issues:(one left and one hurt) so some 1 on 1 hunts ended up not being so. I was OK, but made it difficult on some hunters. I think they had some agreed upon compensation from Vince. I'd be very sure you discuss what you want and be clear about it. If not you may settle for less to fit the current situation. Some guides had preference for using horses, some didn't like to use them. As a result some hunters walked lots and some rode lots, didn't get a lot of hunter's input in making decisions as to which. I think they need to do a much better job up front as to defining exactly how someone wants to hunt, then giving them opened honest feedback on the option selected pros and cons, then make it happen! It was disorganized such that it seemed it couldn't happen that way. Maybe it's a function of too many hunters in camp at once? We came in a group of 8 and there were two hunters ( not counting wives and a guest ) in camp once we got there. Some guides were there all week and some for part of the week. I feel for that time ( first week Oct ) the spike camp option was the best. Walking very demanding ( FOR ME IN AVERAGE CONDITION FOR 60 year old ), but could be done using spike camp cabins for overnight. I saw some elk ( 4 bulls ) and a dozen or so cows, but at great distances 800 - 1500 yards ( guide's estimate ). Saw two that would have been shooters if we could have gotten close enough. Could only tell with spotting scope. Vince and Lisa are very good people, just need to manage things a little better. The horses were very good and wrangler was great! Of nine total hunters three got elk. Two of those camped out over night up high on the mountians to get theirs. One got his nearer the cabin he stayed in ( four hunters had to go to different main camp ). The tenth hunter was just after goat and he got his goat. Overall a neat experince, but a little disapponting as to the hunt. Would like to have seen something with a chance to shoot out of the 4 tags I had. ASK QUESTIONS, GET THE DETAILS. Be sure you know how you want to hunt, be specific and be ready to do your part. Walking up and down those mountains in a day is no joke and is a full days work for anyone! I rode horses mostly and don't know that I could have walked unless I overnighted at a spike camp cabin. E-mail me if you have questions or want any other details. Thanks.

Submit Date: Oct 28, 2006

Outfitter Review: Beaverfoot Outfitting - BC

Outfitter / Owner: Troy Wolfenden

Hunter: Armand Delgado

Animals Hunted: Mt. Goat, Elk, Mule deer, Black bear

I went hunting with Troy at the end of September 2006 for Mountain goat. During this time my confidence with Troy grew everyday. He always hunted to my abilities and showed great patience throughout the hunt. The food and coordination of the hunt was excellent, as well as the companionship. The scenery was spectacular. He also knows his hunting territory extremely well and is determined to have a successful hunt. On the last day, even after tagging out with a 12 year old billie, a 4 x 4 mule deer, a black bear and a 6 x 6 elk, he still offered to take me to photograph grizzlies. I strongly recommend Troy and Beaverfoot Outfitting, he is a top notch outfitter.

Submit Date: Sep 25, 2006

Outfitter Review: McKenzie Brothers Outfitters - BC

Outfitter / Owner: Bruce McKenzie

Hunter: Donald Benjamin

Animals Hunted: Goat, Moose, Bear, Wolf

My primary animal was to harvest a goat. After seeing several large goats, my guide and I made the final stalk. Unfortunately, I missed the shot and due to a sore knees I had to switch to moose hunting on the river banks. It's quite an adventure to hunt moose from a boat and then go into the swamps. There were lots of fresh moose sign, but the rut hadn't started yet. If you want to see lots of game and have excellent guides, then this outfitter is a must.

Submit Date: Jun 27, 2006

Outfitter Review: McConnell & Company Guiding Services - British Columbia

Outfitter / Owner: Brian McConnell

Hunter: Don Wingert

Animals Hunted: Mountain Goat

Brian had an opening for a mountain goat hunt this past October, 2006. This was a physically demanding backpack hunt where Brian did a wonderful job of pre-scouting. He knew the area the contained goats, provided excellent equipment for our spike camp, new tent,heater, and real food (steaks, sausage, rice) and guided me to a mature Billy.Brian is a young enthusiastic guide who is an excellent hunter partner and guide. He goes the extra mile in providing a comfortable camp and knows the area intimately. I highly recommend him and would hunt with him again, given the chance.

Submit Date: Jun 23, 2006

Outfitter Review: McGregor River Outfitters - British Columbia

Outfitter / Owner: Eric Hanson

Hunter: Gary Maschner

Animals Hunted: Black Bear

Spring Black bear hunt June10-14,2006. Overall this trip was excellent. Eric Hanson up front from the begenning about his hunts. He did not over or under sell the trip or accomodations. I personally observed 41 bears during the hunt and successful with an honest 7ft square boar. The food was excellent in taste and quantity. Meals were on time and hot. Lunches (sack) more than enough to keep you going all day. Camp as stated was rustic, very simple and typical of country life and comfortable. This is a newly purchased camp area and Eric is constantly (when time permits between hunts)working on improving the camp. THis is not a 5 star resort but a true hunting style camp. Along with his knowledge of the animals he hunts Eric Hanson and his wife were more than willing to share the culture of the area with all in our camp. I would recommend this outfitter to others, two out of the four in our camp have booked future hunts with McGregor River Outfitters/Eric Hanson.

Submit Date: Jun 20, 2006

Outfitter Review: McGregor River Outfitters - British Columbia

Outfitter / Owner: Eric Hanson

Hunter: David Bogard

Animals Hunted: Black Bear

I recently returned from Black Bear hunting with this outfitter. This was by far the best black bear hunting experience I have encountered. The local hunting pressure was not an issue at all. The accommodations were comfortable and the food was excellent, not to mention the cook was a total sweetheart. I felt very welcomed and also felt that the outfitter and my guide were going above and beyond to put me in a position to be successful.

Submit Date: Apr 27, 2006

Outfitter Review: McGregor River Outfitters - British Columbia

Outfitter / Owner: Eric Hanson

Hunter: Bob Mlszuk

Animals Hunted: moose/black bear

This Outfitter has changed his operation drastically. The camp is no longer within this guides territory, so there is cosiderable travel time required to legally hunt. Camp is situated in a residential area next to some very active train tracks that will wake you anywhere from 2-4 times a night. The area holds good quality game, but is less than 2 hours from Prince George, so the resident hunting pressure is enormous. The residents are better equipped and better positioned than McGregor River outfitters. Expect to road hunt the majority of the time. There is a new "cook" in camp who is in general a pretty surly person. You, by simple being there are an inconvenience. Every problem we experienced was blamed on everyone else by the outfitter. Our guide was contracted by McGregor river, and was an outstanding individual. He was able to somewhat salvage our trip. Unfortunately, we never came to any acknowldgement of shortcomings by the outfitter, and ultimately, the formal complaint process via he GOABC has begun.

Submit Date: Apr 2, 2006

Outfitter Review: Omineca Wilderness Adventures - British Columbia

Outfitter / Owner: Frank Badey

Hunter: Donald Benjamin

Animals Hunted: Black Bear

Frank and his father Bert run a great bear hunting operation with superb guides and camp personnel. Very laid-back, down-to-earth people and the atmosphere is very relaxed. The camp is on an island and motor boats are used for transport to the hunting grounds which were numerous. I saw numerous bears on the first day of the Spring 2005 hunt and shot a 7' 3" black bear in a meadow about 80 yards from me. I was able to get fly fishing instructions and then fished the rest of the week. I hope to go back to hunt moose with Frank and his father.

Submit Date: Mar 20, 2006

Outfitter Review: Sundown Outfitter - British Columbia

Outfitter / Owner: Randy Bedell

Hunter: Troy Lamy

Animals Hunted: Moose

We hunted with Randy at the end of the rut for moose. the rut was over and there was a 1ft 1/2 inches of snow. The bulls were herded up and it took a few days to located them. I shot a 51 inch moose and my dad shot a 55 inch moose. The guides are awsome and will run circles around you. Better be in shape. Willow bogs are hard to walk through and will pull your knee easy. Good boots a must. Quality hunt for trophy canadian moose. I mean trophy. Great hunt.

Submit Date: Mar 19, 2006

Outfitter Review: Nakalat Lodge - British Columbia

Outfitter / Owner: Joe Bowen

Hunter: Kevin Smith

Animals Hunted: Moose ,Deer and Bear

My hunt started three days late no guide.When he did show. His drug addiction hindered his guiding ablities.Lack of game due to lots of 4-wheeler activties.Had a great camp and good equipment.But lacked the staff to run the hunt.

Submit Date: Feb 6, 2006

Outfitter Review: Tallgrass Outfitting - British Columbia

Outfitter / Owner: Tim Stephenson

Hunter: R Spenner

Animals Hunted: Mountain Goat

Tim runs a very poor outfitting business and is constantly on the phone while your hunting with potenial clients or to find guides for his upcoming hunters. He tells you in his phone conversations prior to your hunt that there are many large bands of Goats in his area and that you can look over many Goats before getting your 10 inch Billy. Infact you will road hunt for days until you finally see a Youth Billy and one at best, Two of us hunted for 10 days and only saw 4 Billys of which only two were even in an area that was accessable to hunt. His guides are another problem, he scrambles for help and hires guides who have never hunted in his area or have to go back to work or do other things, thus leaving you with another new guide to finish your hunt. His guide had admitted this to me after the 3rd day of hunting. I further found out later that his actual quota on the number of animals in his area that he is aloud to harvest is three per year. That should give you an idea of how many Goats there really are in his area. Tim will tell you what you want to hear to book you on his hunt. He can never give you the hunt that you think you are getting. He is strapped financially and is barely making ends meet, thus the hunter is the one to loose out in the end. He rents a cabin that he runs his camp out of , which is also currently up for sale by a Realtor, the sign posted as you drive in. What would happen if you booked and the place was sold? Where would you go? Tim is a Bear hunter who wants to be a Goat guide. The reason he gets hunters is because his prices are lower than most, but buyer beware. After we booked he told us that there would be an additional charge of $100 to pick us up at the airport, we agreed and found out later that it was $100 each. So if your looking for a great Goat hunt go up north farther. I have been on Moose hunts with outfitters who have alot of Goat I saw in his area, I just wish I would have been smarter and have booked with him rather than TIM. Of course there is always more to the story...Feel free to contact me at any time. Good luck and hunt hard>>>>>>

Submit Date: Feb 4, 2006

Outfitter Review: Tallgrass Outfitting - BC

Outfitter / Owner: Tim Stephenson

Hunter: Ed Hoff

Animals Hunted: Mountain Goat

My hunt was early Sept 05. It was to be a backpack hunt and we basicly cruised the roads with truck or 4wheeler and the backpacked only after spotting a goat. We seen very few goats, in fact we seen more resident hunters than we seen goats. I also had a bear and deer tag and we seen a couple deer but nothing that was legal(horn) to hunt. I was bow hunting but ended up shooting a goat with rifle due to the lack of goats to try and stalk. I was stunned to find out that my guide had never skinned a goat for Lifesize mount when I told him thats how I wanted it skinned, we got it skinned but it wasn't how my taxidermist would of liked it skinned. When we didn't tent out then we stayed at a small lodge/cabin closer to town that was ok but nothing great. The outfitter was short on guides and in fact he didn't have a guide lined up for the hunter that was coming in to goat hunt the day after my hunt was done. Check your references and find a better outfitter!There is another review about this outfitter that is also from the same state as me and I have never met this guy. But his experiance sounds the same as mine was.

Submit Date: Feb 2, 2006

Outfitter Review: Rocky Mountain Adventures - BC

Outfitter / Owner: Bill/Dave Trimmier

Hunter: Bob Watson

Animals Hunted: Moose, Black Bear, Elk

I was amazed to see a negative review. We saw several Moose each day and Harvested a 53" monster. We also saw numerous black bear and harvested a 6' 4" cinammon colored bear. We saw good elk overall but did not cross the path of the one we were looking for. But I have no doubt that they are there. We are going back without a doubt. The guides were very professional. The outfitters are actually from Texas and seemed overly eager to please.

Submit Date: Feb 1, 2006

Outfitter Review: MacKenzie Mtn. Outfitters - BC

Outfitter / Owner: Stan and Helen Stevens

Hunter: Bonnie Friend

Animals Hunted: Mt. Caribou

We had an outstanding hunt. The outfitter was very professional, the guides were extremely knowledgable and worked hard to get you the best trophy. We passed up on some and took really good bulls. We covered alot of country walking and spotting and was well worth the effort and time. The flights to and from camp by float plane were AWESOME. Weather played a big part in the hunt re: arriving in and departingfrom camp. A trip to remember!

Submit Date: Jan 20, 2006

Outfitter Review: Tracks, BC - BC

Outfitter / Owner: Gary Drinkall

Hunter: Michael Bouton

Animals Hunted: Elk, Black Bear

I have been on several guided hunts. Gary Drinkall and Tracks, BC is by far the best trip I have ever been on. This trip is the complete experience. A 4x4 ride to the river, where you are transported to camp via a jet boat. Our camp chef "Bob" always had great food and coffee waiting. Assistant guide "Record book Blaine" was there for advice and photo opportunites. Gary promised me a big bull and said he could have me off the mountain in two days. Well first trip up the mountain, he called in a huge 345 class Bull, one shot from a Weatherby 300 with ammo from Superior AMMO and the freezer was full. Also hunted with "Record Book Blaine" who guided me to a perfect 375lb black bear.This is a hunt for someone who wants the best bang for thier hard earned money.

Submit Date: Jan 19, 2006

Outfitter Review: Golden Bear Outfitters, Ltd. - British Columbia

Outfitter / Owner: Dempsey Callison

Hunter: Michael White

Animals Hunted: Moose, Mountain Caribou

My hunt was a 14 day Moose/Mountain Caribou Combo while carrying Mountain Goat and Wolf tags in October, 2005. The hunt took place in breathtaking country and was a 1/1 hunt. I took a beautiful Mountain Caribou that I think is going to make B&C and my guide called in 4 wolves over a moose carcass from a previous hunter and I harvested a huge, almost solid white wolf that we estimated to weigh between 175 and 200 lbs (it out-weighed me!) and measured 7'1" from nose to tail. During the course of the hunt, my guide and I saw 8 grizzlies and numerous Mountain Goats. I did not harvest a Mountain Goat by choice because I wanted to concentrate on Moose after the Caribou. I did have an opportunity at a tremendous Bull Moose that we estimated at 62"+ with huge palms, but I somehow blew a 300 yard shot that I should have made. Dempsey insisted that I could stay as long as I wanted and I did stay 1 extra day. I did not harvest my moose but did have another opportunity to take another wolf if I would have had the tag on that extra day. All the guides that I had contact with had at least 8 years experience with Dempsey and the horses and equipment were all great. I hope to go back for Stone Sheep and my Moose in the future with Dempsey.

Submit Date: Jan 19, 2006

Outfitter Review: Golden Bear Outfitting Ltd. - British Columbia

Outfitter / Owner: Dempsey Callison

Hunter: Robert Veach

Animals Hunted: Mtn. Goat and Mtn. Caribou

Rob 2004This has to be one of the best areas to harvest a trophy Mtn. goat in the world. Lots of goats,and unbelievable scenery. Good crew and horses,wonderful experience.

Submit Date: Jan 19, 2006

Outfitter Review: Golden Bear Outfitting, Ltd. - British Columbia

Outfitter / Owner: Dempsey Callison

Hunter: Robert Veach

Animals Hunted: Stone Sheep and Mtn. Goat

Rob 2005Returned to Golden Bear for a sheep hunt. What a unbelievable experience. Looked at a good number of sheep and harvested a great Ram (36.5 x 14.5). Also, I killed my second goat over 10" with them. This one scored "net" 52 5/8 B&C.

Submit Date: Jan 2, 2006

Outfitter Review: BC Paradise - BC

Outfitter / Owner: Sheldon Reed

Hunter: Chris Smith

Animals Hunted: Elk, Mule Deer, Black Bear

I paid $5000 for a premium elk hunt on horseback in the wilderness on "game-rich" lands in a tent camp. The outfitter/guide claimed kill rates of 70-80% and "trust him" that I'll be completely satisfied with my hunt. What I got was a truck hunt on lands that were so over-hunted because we were only 15 miles from a town of 26,000 people. This hunt could have been bought for the price of a tank of gas. We never hunted more than 8 miles from camp, even though the outfitter claimed he had a territory of 1.6 mil acres (basically 53 square miles). And to boot, somehow my $650 Pentax binoculars disappeared up there, including the case they came in. No tents, no game, but we had horses. Yep, 2 horses corralled within a 100' of his "lodge" including big piles of horseshit to walk thru on the way to the outhouse. We ran out of running water on the 4th day. His kill rates are probably bogus also, and that is according to one his his happy clients the week after me. His kill rates may be 25% at best, not the 70-80% claimed. The authorities can determine if the kill rates are a lie.The other hunter I hunted with bought the same hunt I did and felt he got scammed. I did not know the other hunter before hand, and he checked 3 different references than me. And this guy's references gave him glowing reports. How 'bout that! So references don't mean squat sometime. I had to wake his ass up on Weds morning at 7:30. We didn't hunt that morning til 9:30, and after driving 2 miles from camp he never got out of the truck, jsut bugled out the window every 500 feet. One night after a 2 hr stint at trying to traverse an extremely poor road, we hunted for 15 mins. He and his guide smoked in the truck and in the field. "Oh that doesn't matter"...How about that. Ask Chuck Adams if smoking while hunting doesn't matter. Sheldon was nasty when I asked questions or made suggestions, and tried to run me down with the truck when opening his gate. I've been on numerous guided hunts with outfitters, and you don't have to be a genius to know youre being scammed.I pre-booked a moose hunt for 2006, and cancelled because of the poor quality of my elk hunt. He is stiffing me on the moose deposit even though the hunt was cancelled 13 mo. in advance. I filed an extensive claim with the British Columbia Guide Association. I'm still waiting to hear back on what they will do. Sheldon apparently quite the association shortly afterward. Avoid this guy like the plague. The guy that gave me the good reference for Sheldon never called me back after I contacted him after the hunt. How about that. If you've had a bad experience with this guy, call the BC authorities and guide association.

Submit Date: Dec 27, 2005

Outfitter Review: BC Paradise - BC

Outfitter / Owner: Sheldon Reed

Hunter: Dudley Shankles

Animals Hunted: Moose, Mule Deer, Whitetail

Primary booking was for Moose,outfitter indicated there would be opportunity for Mule Deer, Whitetail and wolves. I did miss an opportunity for a great Mule Deer. Hunting is from vehicles on Crown land that everyone has access to. No legal Moose was seen. Cook did not maintain sanitary conditions. Definitely would not recommend this venue. If you go be prepared to road hunt or walk areas without any potential of a shot opportunity.

Submit Date: Dec 23, 2005

Outfitter Review: Paradise Outfitters - British Columbia

Outfitter / Owner: Sheldon Reed

Hunter: Chris Smith

Animals Hunted: Elk Moose Cougar

This hunt cost me $5000 plus $900 in tags and it could have been bought for the price of a tank of gas. We were only 15 miles from a town of 26,000 people (Cranbrook) hunting on over-hunted public lands. We never went more than 8 miles from camp (usually just 3 miles) even though the outfitter claimed he had a territory of basically 53 square miles. His kill rates were most likely bogus according to another long-standing client. They were probably 25-30% (if that), not 70-80% This outfitter was an unhappy person and took it out on his clients. I had to wake his ass up one morning because he slept in till 7:30am. We didn't hunt that day till 9am and that day he just bugled from the open truck window. He and his other guide smoke constantly in the truck, AND OUT IN THE FIELD. I have been on many guided hunts and this was a total ripoff. I filed an extensive claim with the BC Guide Association. I believe he quit the association shortly thereafter. He refuses to return a moose hunt deposit for next year. I cancelled (13 mos in advance) the moose hunt based on the extremely poor quality of my elk hunt. And somehow my $650 Pentax binos disappeared up there. Didn't find out that til I got home. Even the bino case was gone. Even the other hunter on this trip, who I didn't know at all before the trip, was just as disappointed. We both bought a premium horseback/tent camp elk hunt in the deep wilderness. we both checked different references extensively. These references must have been smoking dope or his buddies that he only charges $1000. Avoid this outfitter like the plague, and spread the word to other hunters. I lost $10,000 to this guy in hunt cost, tags, travel expenses, and moose deposit. It left a bad taste in my mouth.

Submit Date: Dec 6, 2005

Outfitter Review: Kyllo Bros - BC

Outfitter / Owner: Scott Kyllo

Hunter: Matt Schroud

Animals Hunted: Moose, Grizzly/black bear

Was up in B.C. for a 10 day hunt (sept.26-oct 5?. This was my second trip in two years with scott. It was a grizzly/moose combo. We saw a total of 31 black bears, 7 grizzlies and 5 moose. I was mainly looking for the grizzly and not too concerned about the moose. Saw grizzlies on the 1st, 3rd, 5th, 9th and 10th day. A couple of really big bears, but couldn't get any shots at them. Took a 6'4 inch black bear on the 4th day of the hunt and a 52 inch bull moose on the 6th day. Shot a wolf on the 8th day, but it ended up getting into some thick timber and was never recovered. Missed a shot at a big blonde grizzly on the 9th day. We found the same bear on the 10th day about 2 miles from where we missed him the day before. Got to within 50 yards of him in the aydlers that night but didn't know he was there. Ended up geeting into the timber before we could get a crack at him, but it was something i'll never forget.It was a great hunt and i plan to go back with scott for years to come. There were 3 other hunters in camp. They took a 53 inch moose, a 40 inch bull moose and a 9 1/2 mtn goat.

Submit Date: Nov 22, 2005

Outfitter Review: Rocky Mountain Adventures - BC

Outfitter / Owner: Bill/Dave Trimmier

Hunter: MIKE MOORE

Animals Hunted: Moose, Elk, Black bear

This was suppose to be a moose,elk combo,and it turns out there was no elk even there.I had to spot everything because the outfitter had 40$ tasco bino's.We were suppose to be on a horseback hunt and it turns out to be a road hunt and to boot we were not even in the right territory.They bought another small territory and stuck us in there.I've been on over a 100 guided hunts in the last 20 years and this was the worst one of all.please make sure this review gets in this time.Because I've put in alot of good reviews on this site,and we have to take the good with the bad.Thank you!!

Submit Date: Nov 20, 2005

Outfitter Review: Tracks B.C. - BC

Outfitter / Owner: Gary Drinkall

Hunter: John Alvino

Animals Hunted: WHITETAIL/MULE DEER

First of all let me say this hunt is not for the first time whitetail deer hunter. This area is extremly dependant on the rut, and the weather. Without the coperation of either or both you will spend long days on stand. You MUST be willing to sit in cold weather all day.. I harvested a 165 buck on the 4 th day.. Other hunters in camp passed up bucks in the 150 class and another hunter passed up a buck similar to mine thinking it was too small, he was sorry once he saw my buck. Another hunter hesitated on a buck in the 190 class trying to make sure it was a good buck.. The area is very under hunted due to the fact of the very large areas of big timber where the buck hide and only really show themselves in the rut or heavy snow..Mule deer hunting was very difficult again due to no snow...If you want more info e mail me.

Submit Date: Nov 3, 2005

Outfitter Review: Bugle Basin Outfitters - BC

Outfitter / Owner: Alex Smutny

Hunter: frank bubbico

Animals Hunted: elk mule deer bear

This was my second hunt with Alex who is now affiliated with wild horse river outfitters and his hunts just get better.I was looking for an elk to beat the last one i took with alex and spotted one on day two but just couldnt close the deal although i had an oppurtunity at a smaller 6x6 but chose to pass.I also saw an incredible amount of mule deer and black bear but the elk kept us busy .Even though i didnt fill a tag this trip it was the best guided hunt i have been on.

Submit Date: Oct 31, 2005

Outfitter Review: Rocky Mountain Adventures - BRITISH COLUMBIA

Outfitter / Owner: Bill & Dave Trimmier

Hunter: Michael Moore

Animals Hunted: Moose, Elk, Black bear

I was suppose too be hunting Elk as my primary animal , well never saw one. It would of helped if I was in the right territory where I booked for. They bought another little area that was near the other territory they just bought recently (the old JECKS BROTHERS AREA).When we booked a year and a half ago the old JECK'S BROTHERS area was the area we were suppose to be in to hunt ELK,MOOSE,BLACK BEAR. Well we were not put in that area,we ended up in the small area. Guide was a nice guy but had a $30 pair of Tasco bino's and I had to spot all 3 animals that we saw.Also I did not want a road hunt,this was suppose to be a horse back hunt.Those 3 animals were spotted in a 8 day period.I've been on over 100 guided hunts in the last 20 years and this was probably the worst one ever....and I am the last guy to complain...

Submit Date: Oct 26, 2005

Outfitter Review: Tallgrass Outfitting - British Columbia

Outfitter / Owner: Tim Stephenson

Hunter: Steve Presnal

Animals Hunted: Mountain Goat/Deer

I booked this hunt through a Hunting consultant and feel now that the Consultant sent me with this new outfitter as a ginny pig to see how things went. First off the outfitter had told us that the guides have worked for him for several years, in fact the guide I had had never worked for him in the past and did not know the area very well. The quanity of animals was very poor. In 10 days of hunting I only saw 4 Goats and Kept seeing the same 6 to 8 Deer, of which only one was legal. I did manage to harvest a Goat and a Deer, to the outfitters credit. I was lead to believe that his area had more animals than it had and I was disappointed in this. His area has a lot of Bear if that's your game. The outfitter is a very nice guy and he means well, he is very unorganized and has given false and high expectations in conversations with him before the booking. There are other outfitters to go Goat hunting with.

Next Page >       Last Page >>

web application and database development by davidcdalton.com